TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Only 61pc of families to receive full child benefit payments under new proposals

The two-tier system, as recommended by the Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare, would contain both a universal and a selective payment.

Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton (file photo)
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocallireland

A NEW REPORT on child and family income support payments has called for a two-tier system in which families would need to be means tested or below a certain income to receive the full payment.

The report, by the Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare, does recommend the continuance of a universal payment, however.

The chairperson of the group, Ita Mangan, said that low income families should be better targeted in order to “reduce poverty and minimise labour market disincentives or improve incentives.”

In keeping with this focus, taxation of child benefit and the implementation of a two-tier payment system were examined.

Proposals

Having agreed at the group level that taxing child benefit in isolation would not be of benefit, the main change, as proposed by the group, was related to the implementation of a “two-tier child income support payment” proposal, as follows:

• A first-tier payment, which would maintain the universal aspect of the system, with it being made to all children.
  • An automatic supplement, which would be paid to parents in receipt of a social welfare payment. While those who receive a social assistance payment would have already undergone a means test (and get the payment automatically), those who receive social insurance payments would be required to be means tested first.
  • A means tested supplement would be made available to low to middle income families in the case where parents are not in receipt of an adult social welfare payment. This would be withdrawn as their income increases and would act as a replacement to the current Family Income Supplement.

Potential new payments

Working off the current combined child benefit and Qualified Child Increases (QCI) rate of €63 a week, the group proposed that 40 per cent of this (€25) would remain universal, with the remaining 60 per cent (€38) becoming a selective payment.

It is estimated that approximately 61 per cent of families would continue to receive this ‘selective’ payment.

This guaranteed monthly payment of €100 per child per month is down from the current payment of €130 for the first three children.

Households with a gross income of €25,000 would also receive the full supplementary payment, to be withdrawn by 20 per cent once gross income rises above €25,000.

The various cut-off points for CIS integration payments are outlined below.

CIS payment
(Image: Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare report)

Proposed savings from the adoption of the two-tier system would be in the region of €200 million a year.

Commenting on the report, the Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, said that it would be used to contribute to future discussions on policy debate and proposed that the report would be considered by the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Social Protection in the future.

Read: Budget 2013: what measures kick in today >

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• Very soon the people who need support the most in Irish society will be people who work.

• We have been there for some time Dave . Workers get very little from this state . The vast majority have no access to medical cards despite many having had to drop out of private health insurance leaving them in total limbo, we dont get Fuel or back to school allowanes , if you have children you want to bring up reponsibly either a parent dosent work or you spend alot of your income on childcare .PRSI is virtually worthless with one teeth clean a year , we’ will have to pay for water , property , USC , will get childrens allowance cut , it endless . Governemnt plase get you F8cking boot off our throats!

• I feel I’m working for nothing , depressing

• “Workers get very little from this state”

Isn’t that because people vote for conservatives? Do people make the connection there?

• Businesses and companies should pay taxes when they purchase a vehicle, like the rest of us do.

• Reginald
      At the moment the Irish State has to borrow twelve billion every year to make ends meet and there are really only two large State spends with Social Protection being the biggest. This is followed by Health.
      I don’t really care whether you put Che Guevara or Fidel Castro in charge of the Government I just wonder what in reality they would change within Democratic norms.
      If we look at Northern Ireland where Sinn Fein a manifestly Marxist Party shares power in the running of the a province they behave no differently to what you call Conservative Parties down here.

• The economy was growing when Sinn Fein were in power up north. Also, SF successfully opposed and helped repeal water charges from being introduced up north. There is nothing different in their policy down here despite what the conservative parties regularly say.

I agree with spending cuts to entitlements provided this is compensated for by abolishing property and water taxes. I also favor ending the tax breaks on the top 10 per cent such as:

- tax rebates on company cars
      - group company tax breaks
      - discretionary tax reliefs
      - tax anomalies

• Reg- Are you in the Dail, or running in the next election for some party?

• Self-employed person who is a voter for progressive parties.

• Let me guess how this breaks down: working parents hit, non-working protected.
    Are the government actively trying to push people onto social welfare?

• They seem to be making it as attractive as possible

• Julie 20/02/13 #

I wouldn’t say being low income is attractive but don’t for a second think that families in welfare are any better off. Life-time recipients ya their fine. Government it seems trying to put a massive divide between rich and poor and they want the rich to stay as they are and the rest of us to be pushed into poverty.

• mammy 20/02/13 #

Feck that. I’m getting fired from my job and going to sit on my hole and reap the benefits. I will get a medical card, dole and full child benefit. I’d be about €200 per week better off.

• Might as well stick a notice in FAS or whatever its called now.
      Job Description – Dole
      Hours a Week – 0 hours
      Pay – €188 plus Benefits which include Rent Allowance, Medical Card and other financial goodies
      Candidates must be willing to fill out forms and be prepared to sign on once a month.

• read the article again before you make presumptions please

• Julie 20/02/13 #

I would give anything for a full time job maybe we can swap, family with mortgage and 2 kids working or unemployed unless you are a top civil servant and I emphasise TOP, politician , majority of the rest if us are trying to keep their head avocet water. It a really bad state of affairs that someone working is in the same boat as someone on welfare. But welfare is a struggle too we all know that.
      People on welfare don’t want to work no hours they want to work there are no jobs.

• Once a year now i believe

• would you rather children of families on welfare starve to satisfy your scenario?

• Its amazing how people who work think the dole is great. If you really believe it then leave your job then and go on the dole. Ye haven’t a clue what its like so don’t make stupid dumb comments about those living in poverty and make a joke of their suffering. Begrudging people here would rather see these people starve on the streets would ye. Sick people.

• Well go leave your job and give it to some one on welfare and you see how easy it is on the dole,until you are on it you do not know what it is like,it’s a joke and depressing and you are certainly not better off on it.

• The dole is acceptable, all the extras aren’t , money for communion clothes, money for back to school, money appliances deemed to be necessities ie television, that’s if your long term on the dole,
      Accept you new people don’t know how to milk it yet, hope you find work and don’t have too

• The idea is good the income levels too low. Workers , in the private sector , have no job security. They are living at their wits end. OK, they could reapply in the event of change of circumstances…………. and get a decision at some remote date. ALL those who are in employment and three children [ or any children], with a large mortgage are relying on this benefit to keep a roof over the childrens’ heads. This will crucify them.

• Rory job security is becoming a thing off the past for public sector also, this payment is vital for many

• The hatred against the unemployed here speaks volumes. Perhaps the government was right when they implemented the USC. Perhaps it wasn’t a bad idea afterall…

• Mark , benefits aren’t upfront, bit like politicians extras,
      Nothing against the unemployed, but lets stop paying for extras and give people enough as a basic payment,
      At lest then we know what we’re paying for

• Phucking joke. I’ve 2 kids. 12 and 7 weeks. Big gap due to finances. We both work. Both pay plenty of taxes in every area. It seems the more we put into the system the less you get and the less you put in the more you get. I’m sick of this and other govts turning us on each other. They love seeing us tear each other apart. Cut your savage high pensions and save treble that. And end double jobbing you lot can’t even do 1 right so why get paid to phuck up 2 jobs. Seriously. There is no room left for manoeuvre and they are only warming up the tax machine. It’s not about take home pay. It’s about disposable income which for the majority is now zero or negative. Tipping point closer than it looks great leaders.

• if your children go into a pyschologist and display symptoms of “behavioural anaomalis” …they will qualify for 281 euro per month and I don’t think it’s cut! ……… If you pinch them while you’re in there the “crocodile tears will help alot ……

• Irrelevant if whether you receive welfare or not can anyone afford a single penny to be cut further ??

• Unfortunately in this country you try bring your kids up to be honest and true to themselves and to work hard but if you apply these actions to the system in this country you get…… NOTHING!!!… Even after working hard all your life paying taxes and you need some support until you get back to working fulltime from part time again you get NOTHING!!! So all the Irish system in place right now teaches you to be is dis-honest & too lie and tell them nothing cause thats how you get things done and things given to you. Shocking system in place…they know who the chancers are and who the honest people are yet they are too scared and lazy to filter them out and pay the people who really need help.

• OU812 20/02/13 #

Yet no mention of cuts to government salaries or expenses. Strange.

• don’t find that strange at all.they are always the same. Hitting the working people while they remain on their big salaries. I assume you were being sarcastic!

• The Russians say that the fish rots from the head. That concept appears lost on the Irish.

Just recently your elected reps ripped you lot off to the tune of €100 billion plus and they were pissed to the eyeballs when they did it, still the Irish nation stood back and watched with one hand tied around their collective balls. One of the biggest financial frauds ever perpetrated upon a nation breezed through your parliament by way of a legislative instrument designed specifically to rip you off.

The social welfare system is the least of your problems.

• Further Proof for the Long Term Unemployed that working and contributing to society is a fools game!!

• boo hoo. nobody is forcing you to work. Be thankful you have a Job. The unemployed are not to blame for having no work. What do you want for them to starve is it. Pathetic comment.

• You do realise Christopher if We all had your work ethic there’d be nobody to fund the lavish welfare system!!

• John F,

Wealthy must pay their fair share of taxes which are at a 25 year low.

• Hardly a pathetic comment… I come from a one income family and make just enough money every month to pay my mortgage, the bills and feed my kids. It’s very seldom there is anything left over. The childrens allowance regularly goes towards a weeks food shopping and paying for extracurricular activities for my 3 kids. My kids play sports and take part in various after schools projects, it keeps them fit and happy!! I live in South/West Dublin but the local school is in an area that isn’t “deprived enough” for any of the activities to be free or affordable. While a quarter mile away the local school offers free music lessons to kids of junkies and everyday wasters. I’ve toyed with the idea of going on the dole, but as a sufferer of depression being employed just about keeps me sane. I’m constantly skimping on essentials for the house so that my kids can have training gear and boots that fit. Anyone with more than one child knows that hand-me-downs only last so long. Now thanks to the clueless, overpaid morons governing our country not only can I not afford to put cloths on their backs but my kids will have to sacrifice the sports they love. This government and their predecessors have already forced one generation abroad and it looks like my kids and many more will be next.

• Well said. The present system encourages unemployment and punishes the hard workers

• Sorry now Christopher but a lot of the long term unemployed didn’t have a job during the boom either when jobs were plentiful, no one is asking for people to be starved but its like someone said its all the extras that go with it and there are plenty of unemployed out there who know the system inside out claim everything going and are far better off than my house where 2 of us are working, maybe all the bleeding hearts on here shouldn’t be so naive all the time and think that everyone on the dole is bad off Cos Im telling u for a fact they are not.

• No Ann, that is merely an urban myth. Unemployed people during the “boom” had different skills so it’s wrong to assume all of them should have been working on a building site if their area of qualifications was for example science or other.

Did you take out the mortgage and get YOURSELF into debt? Maybe it’s time you took some responsibility for the situation you purport to be in, instead of picking upon people at the very bottom of society, namely the unemployed.

• Yes i did take out a mortgage to house my family we also go to work to provide for ourselves and our child i dont expect anyone else to Do it for me, my point is if i don’t do nobody else Will but i know people who have NEVER had a job in their lives and their in their 40,s they didn’t have a different set of skills they had no skills cos they have no intention of ever working because they have the sw system all worked out and don’t need to work. Also what situation do i porport to be in Im just pissed off at the same people getting everything for nothing while myself and plenty of others go to work to pay for them.

• Also i pay my mortgage and all bills in full every week/month so don’t dare tell me Im not taking responsibility for my situation.

• But Ann:

- weren’t your liabilities transferred to the Irish Taxpayer in the form of a Bank Guarantee?
      - who is covering the Bank losses arising from mortgages and so on?
      - who went on a credit fueled binge with profligate spending?
      Taxpayers paying for Mortgage Interest Supplement: perhaps we should cut Mortgage Interest Supplement.

You aren’t necessarily paying for “others”. You are merely paying into a social system that benefits YOU if you retire, get ill, laid off, need Mortgage Interest Supplement, the list goes on. Tell that next time you lose your job or your company closes. A hate-based attitude creates class division and you seem to advocate a certain degree of animosity towards people lower than you. Did you pick that up during the celtic tiger?

People in their “40′s”? So you judge someone by the way they look? Maybe those people in their “40′s” are working seasonal shifts/ part time? Maybe they worked most of their lives?

• This is my last reply to u cos Im getting bored writing posts that are not getting read correctly. I personally know people in their 40,s who have never worked a day in their life but they continue to get everything for nothing, Im not looking down my nose at anyone i come from a council estate originally i work in a supermarket and i live in a 3 bed house so don’t know why u get the impression i think Im better than others, but i am and Will continue to be pissed off when i see people get everything for nothing having never contributed a penny on their life. So just incase i didn’t make myself clear i have no problem with those who genuinely need sw to survive my problem is with long term unemployed who never have and never will have a job because life is too easy on the dole. By the way i wasn’t off spending money i didn’t have during the boom and as far as i know the only person responsible for my liabilities is me.

• Ann,

‘I’m not a racist but…’

• I strongly object with Joan Burton being called the Minister for Social Protection.

Minister for Social Destruction more like it.

• Aldo 20/02/13 #

And this from a Labour minister? She should hang her head in shame.

• Why not tie the children’s allowance into school attendance. Children turn up to school parents children’s allowance is paid, child does not turn up to school its not paid.

• sean 20/02/13 #

Sock it to the workers again,
    These blueshirts either don,t get it or they simply don,t give a hoot
    Between myself and my wife we have a combined gross income of €59,000pa,
    And we are just barely surviving (last week in order for me to get to work on Friday I had to borrow 15eur from my dad to put diesel in my car so as I could get to work),

FG/FF/LAB , THE IRISH WORKERS HAVE NO MORE TO GIVE …………WE NEED HELP

• Sean

Would €15k free per year help you?

Cause that is how much each TD can claim in unvouched expenses. To me this is a clear case of theft and ensures we have the most corrupt politicians in the world.

• Once again working parents are being targeted, it’s getting beyond a joke now, if these or any more cuts, taxes etc are introduced targeting people who work, it will make no financial sense to work as at the moment between the cost of childcare, petrol and toll fees I am just breaking even, I certainly won’t be paying for the misery of having my kids reared by someone else, seriously don’t understand how forcing people out of the workforce is supposed to help recover the economy, surely the loss in taxes will be more than what they’re saving with all these cuts, joke third time in four years children’s allowance has been targeted!

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

The article states that households with an income over 25k will now not receive full child benefit. Welfare / benefits – are they treated as income?

• Yes there should be two tiered payments – one higher tier for people who have worked and unfortunately lost their jobs and a lower tier for those who never worked and couldn’t be bothered to provide for their own children but expect everyone else to do so. Yet again it’s workers who will be hit by this cut.

• Why not stop the allowance after X number of children?

Simple to understand and cheaper to administer. Yes, it would hit large families and upset the Catholic Church but everyone would have a choice.

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

Might be worth considering but you would have to flag it for implementation more than a year from now, in order for it to be fair.

• Agreed.

• Reg 20/02/13 #

I think that receiving child benefit for a maximum of four children at any one time would be fair enough. Why should the state subsidise more that that?

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

Reg – 4 does sound like loads to have. It would certainly cut out the albeit rare cases of people having 6/8/10 kids that they cant afford to look after.

• Think some of the comments on here are very sad. Where’s the support and kindness for your fellow human being or is being unemployed and having more than one child the new plague of society. I have 4 children – anyone care to meet me outside….and tell me to my face. There is a class war going on people and you’re just playing right into the governments hands.

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

Breda obviously people who are receiving payments for 4+ children would have to remain doing so but new entrants to the child benefit system should be restricted. Do you not think it pertinent to raise whatever children you have in your care without state aide? And I mean ‘you’ in a general sense.

• So you think its ok for the state to support your children once you have under four of them, but its not ok for the state to support you if you have five or more. You made the choice to have one child the same way as some individuals made the choice to have five or more.

Reg: ‘you said why should the state support any more than four’, but why should they support one. What happens to a family where they have three children and decide to have one more because they both have well paid jobs and are doing well and end up pregnant with two or more thus leaving them over your thresh hold, and then one of them loses there jobs, but you are saying because they had more than four they are not entilited to have any more support.

• Neasa, it’s the culture of entitlement that’s wrong,
      I’m entitled to state payments for the children I decide to have,
      I’m entitled to a TV if unemployed
      Etc etc etc
      Resources are limited , any help from the state is a bonus
      Children’s allowance is justified as the only payment made by the state to the main home Carer , however there are limits to everything

• A saving of 2 million a year you say. 2 million less being spent annually by those in receipt of this payment , less money being spent retail sector ect leading to job losses !!!!

• If Ihad ten children and lived in a 230,000 euro free house and those children all received the 281 euro children’s allowance I would have plenty of money for horses ! I would vote for this government every five years and laugh at the ordinary people who think their kids are smart …no cut to the 281 euro payment was there …..Dat’s discrimination Sir! …and al da special needs teachers that are dare to tech the childer , why do i need dis payment …oh yeah to buy da horses!

• Got a feeling this is going to be the straw that broke the camels back.

• Geez what’s with the red thumbs is it because I had the gall to have 4 children -(the labour force of tomorrow I might add) I should clarify that while I have 4 children only 2 that are entitled to Children’s Allowance, 2 are in college (paid for not by the state but by us) and while you may disagree with that – it is my right to have as many children as I like – this is a democracy the last time I checked – and not China! I did not pass the law on Child Benefit when it was introduced – I wasn’t even born – I did not have 4 children for any State Aid – it was given to me freely by the State and had no bearing whatsoever in our decision to have children. So Scarr I hope this answers your question. Again, I would like to reiterate that some people here lack human kindness and are quite happy sitting in their judgement seat – well – judge lest ye be judged!.

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

Breda of course you can have as many children as you like – have 20 for all anyone cares – it does not infringe on your human rights or turn us into China – but don’t expect tax payers to pay for your choices. As I said, 4 kids is plenty, have more and you better have the resources to fund them yourself. As an aside – I’ve long since thought that the human population is spiralling out of control. Resources people. Resources!

• There’s no way this is gonna happen. Just kite flying again. They always roll out this bullshite & then cut it by 10 euro across the board. Thus making people think it could of been worse.. It’s called “cute hoor” politics.

• Savings from this further crippling of families will amount to €200 mllion per year. The government hands out multiples of that amount every couple of months to unguaranteed bondholders. They are literally robbing our children to pay bondholders.

Theres a special place in hell reserved for Joan Burton for not pulling the plug on this new attack on children.

• ahh Scarr I feel very sorry for you for I fear you will die a very lonely person with that attitude. You definitely smack as does some other comments, of being Anti family and you know what – that’s ok – because that’s your opinion and I respect it because this is a democracy and we are all entitled to lead our lives in whatever way we choose just as long as we abide by the common laws. But just remember my children will be paying for your old age!
      It’s not the Child Benefit recipients that caused the recession instead, you should be looking towards this government who are insisting on the people of Ireland paying this odious debt.

• Breda I agree with most of what you have said on this article, but disagree with your statement that your children will be paying for other people’s pensions. I have four children and expect that they will all probably end up working and paying for pensions outside the state, it’s obvious the government want our young out of the country.

• sean 20/02/13 #

Sad state of affairs when low middle income earners can no long afford to have 2working parents .
    What a country

• I wounder will enda be shedding any crocodile tears for the children of 2013 that he intends robbing. Children in this country are going to school hungry every day because their parents cann’t afford to feed them and what does the government do? They take more money from parents

• I wonder does Joan think its ok for banks to keep spending millions on sponsoring sports like Rugby, Sailing, Tennis, etc plus lots of special awards when she is cutting benefits to children. The banks demanded we bail them out then we see them sitting in corporate boxes with politicians. It’s immoral to see our politicians allowing the banks carry on as normal.

• I’m sick of hearing some (and only some) long term unemployed people saying they’d love to have a job but would need to earn €600-€700 a week to be as well off as they currently are on social welfare. Get real, most of us that are working are lucky to come out with that amount plus we don’t have the benefit of medical cards, mortgage interest paid, back to school allowances, money from the “social” to pay for broken appliances etc. etc. Get up off your ass, have some pride in yourself and set an example to your children.

• Most people are unemployed by no fault of their own. Since 2008, Ireland suffered a credit crunch resulting in layoffs in the construction and retail sectors, to name a few. The domestic economy is among the biggest employers in this state, in case you didn’t realize. This is a European crisis also, for example in Spain where unemployment rate is about 26% while in Greece is about 27% approx. Few jobs are available, and I’m guessing the FF policy of allowing the EU accession members access to our labor market since 2004 contributed somewhat towards domestic unemployment when the crisis erupted four years later.

A hate-based policy against the unemployed won’t bolster your argument.

• Setting a cap at 25K is ridiculous. Middle income families are struggling just as much as low income. Paying mortgages, tax, USC payments, medical, college fees, pension charges! If thus money us reduced again the children from middle earners will be the new poor.

• Dont get angry with the taxman (actually your TD) …….. GET EVEN!

- Car Tax: Tax your car only when you need it …….. skip a month or quarter if not in use.
    - VRT: Dont buy new cars …… no VRT on used cars.
    (This also keeps €6bn p.a. in the Irish economy for jobs …. instead of sending it abroad)
    - VAT: Stop smoking …. it won’t kill you … but it will “kill the taxman”!
    - Bin Charges: Share a bin with your neighbour or family member!
    Better if your bin partner has an exemption…..!!!
    - Parking disks: Only park in out of town shopping centers .. they are FREE!
    - Excise duty: Brew your own.

• So first of all – they are going to get the tax from somewhere. So if you stop buying things (lets say houses for example) they will introduce more taxes to compensate (lets say a household tax, for example!)
      - Car tax: If you miss a month you still have to pay for it. You don’t get off.
      - VRT: No one is buying cars anyway and loads of jobs are being lost as a result.
      - Bin charges: some good ideas there. Not everyone can do it though.
      - Parking disks: We can’t avoid paying parking charges. Could cost jobs too if you stop parking in towns and only shop in retail centers. Maybe we should walk more?
      - Excise duty: great hic…. idea hic… dskufw iuhfls laks hflkjsd hf (but you still pay VAT on the brewing equipment.)

So if you want lower taxes – go out and spend! This will help employment too.

• You forgot a wealth tax, a dividends tax, an exit tax (similar to the U.S), and rolling back tax breaks which cost the taxpayer millions (if not billions) every year.

• I’m getting a little bit fed up of working for everyone’s else’s kids while I CAN’T afford to have any!!!

• Wouldnt want to be on the dole…but if I did I would survive….but no stress from a busy job.

• Why not implement the French system whereby they only pay for 2 children but pay more in order to give the children a better chance in life. We do the opposite as the allowance increases by the numbers of kids you have. Then we take the special teachers for the traveller kids away from them. Seems mad to me on one hand we encourage large families and on the other hand we take away their education needs. Where are the pro lifers when you need then. I don’t suppose they care about certain children.

• You’re blaming the pro-lifes for what? Not objecting to parents getting child allowance for the 3rd child?

Or for taking away special needs teachers for traveller kids? What about special needs teachers for non-traveller kids? Do they not count?

I really can’t see the link between abortion and special needs teachers for traveller kids. Are you suggesting travellers should abort their special needs children?

• Yet another attack on working middle Ireland by this Govt, most struggling parents who bother to get out to bed to work will be worse off, yet the lifestyle dolers will be given more tax payers cash to spend in pubs and bookies!

• To be honest do not understand what will this new sister will give or take off from me. family of 3 (one child) one not working, salary 336… If they replace FIS with that crapy selective benefit it will be robbery… Start to think seriously to go north…

• good. Having kids is a responsibility and if you cant afford to raise them then you shouldn’t have them.

• This is just another set of forms to be stamped in another civil service quango that will cost the working person more money , using up the overstaffed civil service to try and justify themselves , taxing the working to death and giving the ling term scroungers as comfy a free ride as possible.

The only way to fix this crisis is to cut spending , and making 2 tiers for child benefit does not cut spending

• Scarr 20/02/13 #

Moronically put. Clap clap.

• stephen, how about you place the blame with the people who are responsible for this mess?

• Stephen agree with the last line of your waffle

• Werejammin – I do , the people who took out mortgages they couldn’t afford, the people willing to pay mad house prices , the now longterm unemployed builders who haven’t retrained , the longterm unemployed who weren’t working even in the boom , the labour party who refuse to cut spending now , and the government for bailing out the banks that should have been let fail.

• werejammin

The Government would place the blame on them but they are either bankrupt in Ireland or other countries.

• Yes, we should cut spending. The only way to bring everyone on board is to introduce a wealth tax in conjunction with steep spending cuts. We should also be closing tax breaks on the top 10 per cent such as:

- tax rebates on company cars
      - group company tax breaks
      - discretionary tax reliefs
      - tax anomalies

This would help compensate the need for property tax or water charges.

• A wealth tax doesnt work , the irish government should already be able to get us out of debt with spending cuts only , no more taxes.

You cant tax the wealthy job creators and companies who are the only ones keeping things going here

• Stephen , profits should be taxed , give over with the rubbish that job creation would cease if reasonable taxes are imposed ,
      Trouble with larger companies is that they don’t pay tax anywhere because people are brain washed with this drivel

• “the irish government should already be able to get us out of debt with spending cuts only”

You cannot cut your way to prosperity. Tax breaks on the top 10 per cent outlined above should at least be rolled back if you’re opposed to a wealth tax. It’s not a one-way street. Wealthy cannot have it all their way. It doesn’t work like that in a country with a roughly 50:50 left:right population.

• As usual S Church, you lack the knowledge of the world financial markets, and base all your comments/thinking on the micro economy that is Ireland

Wake up

• censored 21/02/13 #

Oh yeah right, it was all down to them cowboys in lehmans. Isn’t that the party line?

• Oh yeah all the single mothers are living the dream …the reality is there are no jobs … I think both the working classes and those reduced to collecting benefits are getting a raw deal … Can people accept that at least it’s not that single mothers are all lazy it’s just that it’s not fiscally possible to juggle rent food etc when your alone raising a child … Maybe the attitudes that made it acceptable to stick unwed mothers in laundries isn’t as in the past as we would like to believe

• skoda 21/02/13 #

Joan Burton, her new name the (grave robber) should either resign or be sacked forthwith. To continue with this type of person in power is not going to help her party.

• Catching the thousands of people who are scamming the system and cut down on the hand-outs to certain sections of society might be more in their interest than trying to screw everyone

• Ministers have qualified for pensions now, so they are looking for the exit and stay tuned!

• That’s a very misleading headline and photo combo.

Add New Comment