Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Civil servant Sean Gorman retires with €634,088 package

Sean Gorman (left) with the former Tánaiste Mary Coughlan

THE FORMER SECRETARY general of the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation received a package worth €634,088 on his recent retirement.

Under the terms of the top-level appointments committee (TALC), outgoing secretary general Sean Gorman is entitled to a gross annual pension of €126,817.50.

The 59-year-old also received a gross severance gratuity of €126,817.50 and a lump sum payment of €380,452.50 on his retirement on 22 October.

The lump sum was taxed at a rate of 20 per cent on the excess above €200,000.

The details of his package were released after his successor was appointed. A statement from the department said Gorman had clocked up more than 41 years of service.

John Murphy took over the role today, becoming the first to sign up to a secretary general position without the pension perks that had previously come with the job.

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin said last week that the TLAC terms that apply to secretaries general on retirement had been changed.

For all future appointments there will be no added years; no pension payable prior to the minimum pension age and no severance pay unless no alternative post has been offered or the person is not of minimum pension age.

In September, the former secretary general to the Taoiseach Dermot McCarthy retired at the age of 57 with a package worth €713,000.

In a statement at the time, the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform said the Government was committed to ending such exceptionally generous pension regimes for those at the top of the public sector.

However, it added that it was not possible to change existing arrangements.

More: Future senior civil servants face pension changes from today>

Read more: Top civil servant received over €700,000 on retirement>

Read Next:

Comments (42 Comments)

• Cal Mooney 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Why did they not introduce a law that limited package payments day one in government. FF/FG/Labour have no problems bringing in laws to raid PRIVATE pension funds, so why didnt they bring in a law to allow them to raid all Tax payer funded package payments. They can still bring in this law today, because we all know, there are lots more of these guys to retire, who are in other top-level jobs. Its not that hard, a child could work this out. Bring in the emergency legislation TODAY to prevent these Tax Payer funded payments from tomorrow. The entire opposition (except FF) will support the government in this endeavor… but unfortunately, FG/Labour have no desire to impact the richest in our society.

• Neil 23/11/11 #
      Report this comment

They say it’s in their contract so they have to get it. Somebody with a greater legal mind than me could probably pick holes in that defence though.

• Sean O'Keeffe 23/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Cal because this government will preserve the public/civil sectors terms and conditions at all costs, while stitching up the rest of the country.

Report this comment

Secretary general of the Department of Jobs- He’s worth every penny then!

• sean smith 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This state of affairs is so disgusting it makes me ill just thinking about it. The poor are being bled dry whilst these shysters are laughing all the way to the bank

• Eire 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I can’t take anymore off this!!!!!! N it’s a Banana Republic we live in , can the IMF please step in & do a Robin Hood & help the poor & take from the rich put I guess that’s only a fairy tale…….

• Paddy O Gorman 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Legalised criminality prevails yet again in our fantastic country

• Neil 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The equivalent German bureaucrat isn’t getting as much money as our lot anyway!

• Dario Fo 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I wonder what the ordinary civil servant would get if they retired at 65 years of age?

• Niamh Byrne 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I actually feel physically sick. Seriously….excuse my expletives.now but jesus *

• Noel Beggs 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

One law for them and one for the poor working bastard

• Inda Kinny 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If he lives for another 30 years then he’ll have taken over €4,000,000 out of the tax payers pocket. That’s also probably indexed so it could even be €5million+ That is like winning the lotto.. which by the way is odds of 1 in 8,145,060

There seems to be a lot of these people in the public sector, perhaps at least 1000, which, if my very rough maths is right means that it is about 2500 times easier to become a millionaire working for the government than playing the lotto.

Free lotto tickets here: http://www.publicjobs.ie/

FML.

• Gis Bayertz 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Mafiosi – all of them

• John O'Brien 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

What can one say this is precisely the kind of thing that caused this country to take the nose dive of the past few years? You can be damn sure that if it did not set a precedent for politicians’ pensions they (the politicians) would find a way to curb this nonsense.

• Des Lee 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

disgusting

• Justin Moffatt 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m delighted to see it’s business as usual in Gombeen Ireland !

• Frank2521 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

As a taxpayer for more than 35 years today I am hungry – no money for food. Glad to hear this guy is living well and probably spending his money in another country on holidays.
    Protest outside his house as all the protests directed at the government buildings get no results. Try protesting outside Enda’s house or Raoire Quinn’s house and something might just might happen.

• Ballyer Rules 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The government could have included the means to limit all public pensions to a figure in the recent judges pay referendum. A max of 1000 per week would be more than ample for any pensioner, especially when you consider that OAPs get 230 per week. Bertie ahern getting nearly 3000 per week?. All those clowns who ran this country into the ground are creaming it at our expense.

• Peter Carroll 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I see tat the Journal is picking up the spin figure for the package. His severence payment is actally about €506,000 and an annual pension of €126,000. For a man of 60 the cst of buying such an index linked pension with widows benefit would be at least €3.8million and the index linking would be limited to 5% per annum. In the public service, of course, there is no such limit.

So the actual value of the retirement package is a minimum of €4.3 million.

• Helen Gallagher 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

When will someone with a moral fibre rise up and take control of this beautiful little isle of ours

• Lou Brennan 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Legal Crime. Thats all this is. Laws made for their own gain. Here’s a law I just made. No one has to pay property tax or any other direct payment these thieving SOBs come looking for. Tell it to the bondsmen pal. Mass disobedience or protest will get what you want. Just ask the Medical Card brigade.

• David Flynn 23/11/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s great to see this man in his late 50′s getting a package worth €4-5 million for 41 years work. Did he get wages for the 41 years too…I wonder what qualifications he needed to get into the civil service in the 70′s … It must have been a tough choice …. Irish Civil Servant or Head of N.A.S.A

Report this comment

But how is this legal plunder to be identified? Quite simply. See if the law takes from some persons what belongs to them, and gives it to other persons to whom it does not belong. See if the law benefits one citizen at the expense of another by doing what the citizen himself cannot do without committing a crime.

Fredric Bastiat

• made 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Totally agree the government can shove their property tax and septic tank registration and inspection fee and their ?50 medical card tax and any other tax that I can withhold and let them drag me through the courts. It’s scandalous and sickening what’s happening, it’s about time the people said FUCK THE GOVERNMENT you’re not getting what we can’t pay.

• Niamh Byrne 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

There is no way in hell I’m paying…totally agree.

• Damien Conway 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Pretty soon there won’t be enough money to pay his pension anyway! We’re all f***ed!

• David Flynn 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I hope the money the irish taxpayers are being allowed borrow from Europe to keep this country going while we bail out the banks, is not being wasted…. WTF is the crowd that’s monitoring the government doing???? All bets are off on everything else… and this is a daily occurrence now …. Can’t wait for my turn for my pension to kick in when I’m 78… That €180 per week that I will be on in 2049 will be well worth waiting for…

• Tony Skillington 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Mass protests are the way people can express their fury at this. Peaceful protests in our thousands in every main city in the country. The OAP’s did it and achieved thir goals so any of us that felt revulsion at ths gus severence package…let’s stop typing and moaning about and lets get organsed and mobile. The next time we can eyeball the wonderfully committed to the public good politicans is the next time they come skulking around for our vote. There’ll be a referenum to make treaty changes to get te whole Eurobond idea in place…lets make it abundantly clear to them…..you want our vote..we want fairness and equality. Sort it..

• Be Mindful! 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I love Ireland but this is shocking! I keep visualising the pigs eating in Animal Farm!

• Report this comment

I understand people’s anger. There is so much injustice and you feel there is nothing you can do about it. It’s the government, the IMF, the EU, the French, the Germans. But take a minute and think. We all bear responsibility to one extent or another. We voted for this government, we voted for the previous government, we spent during the boom because we thought it would never end. There are so many ways we are all to some extent responsible. Okay, we all played our part so where do we go from here? We need to feel that if we have to make sacrifices then all levels of society will do the same in accordance with their means. If this happens then no matter how bad it gets at least our need for fairness will be met. That is what we need to communicate to politicians. Show us that this will be done fairly. If you can’t or won’t do that then we will find someone who will.

• declan matthews 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Dear fellow contributors, I have read many comments from some of you more regular commentators but find myself tonight singularly aligned with the views expressed here. what can we do collectively? I as well as you all do not buy the drab drivel our government dishes out about being unable legally to change the system…its utter nonsense. what kind of fools do they think we are? we voted for Lisbon twice so 2 points….1 they can change anything they want & 2 they regard us as fools because we turned out for Lisbon 2 & voted the way they wanted. We as Andrew states are complicit & truly have the government we deserve.

• declan matthews 23/11/11 #
    Report this comment

sorry I meant Mark Andrew Sachs. good point Mark & good points all! I also agree so much that collectively we have power. we are too supplicant…..we pay all our taxes. to the contributors who suggest withholding taxes I agree completely. the government would shit their drawers if we acted collectively & withheld their finances! boy oh boy they would sit up & listen then

• Eileen Gabbett 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This is utter crap ! I am so angry ! No man/woman is worth this pension, No man/ woman.Especially when they didn’t even do their jobs well, they are responsible for the mess we are in .

• Brian Walsh 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I couldn’t agree more about telling the government to go and get IMF’ed and tell ‘em to whistle for their taxes. The problem I suspect is they thought of this and may have found a way of deducting it at source, we’ll see, with regard to mass protests I don’t see that working. It’s gotten so bad these days hardly a week goes by without some group or other having a protest, we’ve just become numb to it. It really has become a disgusting country to live in, where the elite ensure their lifestyle isn’t interrupted at the expense of the little people. What does one high end Civil Servant pension cost these days… well about an extra €1.50 on prescription charges if what we’re told is accurate but what the Hell, he’s worth it. Right? Who is he exactly… and what did he do again?

• Yosser Hughes 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Ha ha.

• Dee Ferry Kennedy 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Name the place I’ll be there we have to take this country back. One headline 10 a child being taken off of the poor higher tax house tax water tax septic tank tax and this underage pensioner is being given it for screwing us in first place. Let’s stand up to this and stop it now. Name the place and I can guarantee I won’t be the only one that’s there

• Anthony Nolan 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Wtf!!!!!! Seriously!?!?!?

• cavanbythesea 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Seriously, I’ve haven’t read so much bulls?it in a while, … Go on then, withhold your taxes and levies, take to the streets, lynch a politician…. Senior bureaucrats do not come cheap, whether you think it or not, they are some of the brightest and best brains in the country, to compete with multinationals they have to be offered salaries and conditions which on a parity with the business world… But from what i’ve read most people think that politicians and bureaucrats should work for free… Utter b s

• Ed Appleby 24/11/11 #
    Report this comment

It just goes on and on, the gravy train rumbles on whilst the people of Ireland revert to their peasant status of 150 years ago only this time it’s not the big bad Brits and greedy landlords who are bleeding the people dry it’s our own greedy political class and their civil servants and semi state/quango crony’s. The country is being taken to the cleaners by the very people who have caused the crisis and were found wanting when it came to fixing it. Secretary general of the Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation? Wow, he really deserves his big pay off then, good job well done? I don’t think so, talk about rewarding failure! Staggering! when so many are unemployed and so many young are having to emigrate to find work that this muppet is rewarded with a package worth €3.5 million all to paid for by YOU the tax payers still left in Ireland. The last 3 ‘top’ civil servants who retired will cost you circa €10 million in pensions payments and that’s just 3 of them!

Add New Comment