Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Controversial autism article should be retracted – PSI

The Irish Examiner
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE PSYCHOLOGICAL SOCIETY of Ireland has criticised clinical psychologist Tony Humphreys over a controversial article on Autism Spectrum Disorders.

The article by Humphreys in the Irish Examiner last Friday was “not supported by the vast body of research” said Dr Michael Drumm, the head of the PSI.

Dr Drumm said that the asserts made in the article were “unhelpful and likely to cause upset” and that the article should be retracted. Humphreys is not a member of the PSI.

The article had been heavily criticised by Irish Autism Action, parents of children with autism and neuroscientist Simon Baron-Cohen, among others.

In the piece, Humphreys suggested that there was a link between autism and  parents not expressing love and affection to their children.  The Irish Examiner has since removed the article from its website.

The PSI said this afternoon that it does not support the assertions made by Tony Humphreys.

“Tony Humphreys’ assertions made in the article are not supported by the vast body of published research in the field of Autistic Spectrum Disorders and are unhelpful and likely to cause upset,” said Dr Michael Drumm, president of the PSI.  ”It is hoped that the article would be retracted”.

The Psychological Society of Ireland is the professional body for psychology in this country.

Autism  Spectrum Disorder affects one in every 100 children.

Irish artist’s painting to appear on UN stamp for autism awareness >

Read Next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• The One & Only 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Unreal and the upset it has caused to parents, that theory he used was throw out the window years ago

• Chris lynch 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

His next article will involve the old theory that the earth is flat and the center of the universe

• Karl Doyle 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

As an autistic I can tell you know that lad was shitting on for attention, none of that’s true and he knows bloody nothing about anything, all just a very unhelpful and hurtful PR stunt in my opinion, didn’t anger me or hurt me tho just made me pity the man if he needs the attention that bad, sad some people need to offend to get attention.

• As a nother to a beautiful child with aspergers i am deeply offened by this mans opinion and thats all it is his stupid outdated opinion, he needs to do a lot more research and a lot more soul searching.IDIOT.

• Karl Doyle 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t blame you being offended I know its not the parents fault as I said i’m autistic myself and I know for some it will be unhelpful and hurtful, I’m just saying it as it is as to why the idiot done this in the first place. We should really have a better regulator when it comes to this stuff otherwise we will only get more of his kind unfortunately.

• Michael Cuthbert 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“The new perspective we’re proposing is that the label of autism and the autistic spectrum disorder is not helpful and we should stop using it, and instead look behind and try and understand each person’s story and take an individual approach to constructing what might be a helpful intervention.” Dr Sammi Timimi.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2012/0209/ireland/parents-never-to-blame-for-autism-183181.html#ixzz1luJUZREG

• Karl Doyle 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’ve never being treated badly by my parents not once they’ve always being brilliant for me and supported me all the way, i have autism i know how i think and professionals have told me why I think that way, you are neither an autistic nor a person who works in the field, you are clueless tbh. You tell me how can an outsider solve a problem that requires the thinking of an insider? they can’t.

• Niamh Byrne 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael with regard to ‘ labeling’ there its the problem that once a child has been labeled with wotever the need is, this then fallows the child aol the way up through school and on. But bureaucracy loves a label, and thee problem is that if children are not ‘ labeled’ these children and families then get no help in the classroom or at home from relevant teams. I work in early diagnosis with children and as someone else said on this thread parents are some if the most dedicated parents I have met. They have the unenviable task of having to justify everything.so they can.access a service that can often take years. But without the label these children would not even get on the list. It is all well and good to say lets not label but I can’t see how its possible. Labelling is a double edged sword.

• Michael Cuthbert 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I know Niamh. I think, in a rather clumsy way, that’s what Tony Humphreys was saying. Interesting that when he wrote a similar article on ADHD it went un-noticed…

Report this comment

Well you have accepted a diagnosis from outsiders, Karl. The people I know with ASD receive, willingly or otherwise, the support and services of outsiders. What choice do they have? Tricky blighter this autism business…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well, as an autonomous adult Karl seems to see reason to agree with those particular outsiders, and not with Tony Humphreys…my guess is that as he knows himself better than anyone else ever will he is probably right.

• michael cuthbert 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Indeed. No question. Goes for all us us. Is it ok for other autonomous adults to see some merit in some of what TH said?

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

As long as they do not strive to manipulate and invalidate what Karl Doyle said at the same time…and, of course, do not mind looking like fools to most of the people here. :o)

Report this comment

Nothing personal like…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Of cource not Michael, that was the objective version..

• Craig Walters 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is typical of his new agey psychobabble he has a number of silly books out this guy

• John O'Neill 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Working daily for years with autistic children and their parents has shown me that the love these parents have for these special children is fiercer in all respects than anything I’ve witnessed. These type of ludicrous theories may have found favour with 1930s German psychiatrists and psychologists but not today’s. His next theory will endeavour to prove that caring mothers make kids homosexual and that children with
    blonde hair and blue eyes are a superior race.

• Michelle McMahon 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Outrageous unfounded claims which do nothing to add to the current knowledge base. He also misquoted leading child psychiatrist Sami Timini who had to clarify his position on Joe Duffy. Humphreys has also declined to engage in ‘mature debate’ on this issue which is totally unacceptable and I support the PSI’s call for the article to be retracted. As a trainee educational, child and adolescent psychologist, I have studied ASD extensively and let me be clear- refrigerator parenting (the phrase disgusts me) does not cause nor contribute to a child having ASD. He does the profession a great disservice and more importantly those who have ASD and parent those with ASD.

Report this comment

Dr Sammi Timimi, on whose research Dr Humphreys based his article, said:

“The new perspective we’re proposing is that the label of autism and the autistic spectrum disorder is not helpful and we should stop using it, and instead look behind and try and understand each person’s story and take an individual approach to constructing what might be a helpful intervention.”

Read more:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2012/0209/ireland/parents-never-to-blame-for-autism-183181.html#ixzz1luJUZREG

• Tom McDermott 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If anyone is interested in raising money for Autism, Here’s a link to something unique http://www.autismireland.ie/news-events/399/768/

Here’s the facebook link http://www.facebook.com/100kfor100k?sk=wall

• Paul Nolan 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mr. Humphrey should hang his head in shame and then have a good hurl broke of his head

• Stephen Long 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I was looked after, loved and wanted for nothing. Explain my case…

Asshole

• Lisa Saputo 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have a brother with autism and I suppose I should feel upset by this article. But my overwhelming feeling is humour, the premise of the article was as ridiculous as the old priest’s tale that masturbation causes blindness.

• Gaye Dalton 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I am an adult Autistic, and I can tell you there is a lot of, deeply hurtful, garbage passed off as fact and research about Autism every day of the week, most of the time I cannot look, because it upsets me too much (and I admit I am a bit peeved nobody bothers to protest however hurtful things obviously are to Autistics), but even so, Tony Humphreys stood out alone.

The sheer purity of his garbage shone out like a blacklight. I do not think it was polluted by one, single fact.

But here is where it gets interesting, nobody seems to know where Tony Humphreys qualified, or in what? The Irish psychological association confirm he is not a member…so just what ARE his credentials? He must have some… after all he claims to be a clinical psychologist, though he seems to teach courses rather than treat anyone.

• Ken Mitchell 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

where did he get his doctorate from and what is it in? Where has he worked and in what capacity ? When he calls himself a “consultant”, does he mean he is consulted by his customers or is he a proper medical consultant?

Report this comment

Gaye. What in particular offended you about about Tony Humphreys article? Will you copy & paste the offensive statements he make please. I’m at a bit of a loss about the reaction to this…

Report this comment

Ok Gaye. That’s speculation. Please quote some of the offending statements in Tony Humphreys article…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Every word of it, along with some other exceptionally silly assertions I found elsewhere, to the extent that I really want to know where he qualified…and I think other people should want to know too.

He just reinvents psychology to suit himself…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

There Michael, I hope this satifies your curiosity, it is a copy and paste of my initial reaction to reading the whole article scanned and transcribed elsewhere…I most certainly have read it.
      ——————–
      I do not post on, or in any way affiliate with IAA and never will, but this article demands comment that very few people can give conclusively, and I happen to be one of them.

My father was a mining engineer, my mother is emotionally absent. I am, fully diagnosed, autistic.

I experienced all the negative things Tony Humphreys talks about in abundance through my childhood, no question, had it all, and then some…especially in that mother used Doctors as weapons and punishments, and I got slung with psychiatric diagnoses I never had a single symptom of, just to conceal the outward manifestations of abuse (eg, me screaming loud enough for the neighbours to hear when my father beat the cr*p out of me).

I left home before I was 14, and since then, life brought me through an ongoing emotional vacuum to a succession of very dark places indeed, full of other people who had only ever known similar degrees of abuse.

I knew I was about as thoroughly emotionally damaged as a person could be.

I began to notice something. These other people, some even more abused than me, could recover, socially and emotionally, to a degree, and in ways, that I could not, even though I was more intelligent and more self aware than they were, and in many, many ways, far stronger, and even, in the worst of adversity, far more functional.

I had to face the fact that I had a additional problem and it was very, very serious. My intellect was intact, my judgement was unimpaired, I was morally fully functional (I *get* right and wrong, truth and lies, control and responsibility rather more, if anything, than most people and have an almost driven preference for the side of the angels).

It took 10 years or so to face and identify that “other problem”. I am autistic…and once faced and identified it suddenly became ridiculously obvious. All the emotional, and other abuse probably had the effect of making me appear far higher functioning than I am.

There is a lot of toxic politics around autism…every autism org I am aware of would do well to note that being treated as outlined in the article by organisations who claim to support and represent us does us a lot of harm and really does not pass unremarked or go over our heads. We know, we just haven’t got a clue how to make them stop…so we mostly keep our heads down and avoid them. But there is just as much, equally toxic politics around a slightly newer concept, rapidly gaining ground, called “reactive attachment disorder” (this is what Tony Humphries is talking about).

No question, there *ARE* reactive attachment disorders, they do happen, I have seen them with my own eyes, but they are *NOT* autism, and though they may appear similar outwardly, probably (as far as I can tell) feel very differently inside.

To try and give you an example, therapy for emotional damage focusses on getting you in touch with your social and emotional intuition, which, effectively, does not exist in an autistic. There is no option on any “lightbulb moment” of insight, just a steady descent into meltdown…until you stop therapy (I learned that the hard way too).

Autism is worth a lot of money and kudos, but it is oversubscribed, hence the new “reactive detachment lobby”. There is even an area of crossover where people make money and notice out of claiming that being involved with, or related to, an autistic causes a reactive attachment disorder called (singularly inappropriately) the Cassandra Syndrome (or similar, it keeps changing).

None of this stuff is about real caring, if it was, people involved would be behaving themselves. If you are the parent of an autistic and you were offended reading that article then you have some idea how it feels to be autistic and read the kind of agenda-driven cr*p regularly published on the subject.

The truth is, of course that autism exists, reactive attachment disorders exist, people can have both, or neither.

Even refrigerator mothers exist, I know, I have one (well actually, more of a “deep freezer mother”) but she did not make me (or my youngest brother) autistic…she just made sure I was well fecked up emotionally besides.

Here endeth the lesson.

• Gaye Dalton 12/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Where there is a question there is usually some kind of answer that pops up. It would appear that Tony Humphreys has a Batchelor and Masters decgree in applied (not clinical) psychology from UCC and a PHD in hyponosis from Birmingham University in 1983.

• Michael Cuthbert 12/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Rather focus on the issues than try to discredit the messenger…

• Gaye Dalton 12/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Until somebody dies and makes you the boss of me, frankly, I don’t think so…

Incidentally, Humphreys also distinguished himself as an expert witness for Darina Allen’s husband, on the grounds, I believe, that we all make mistakes.

• Val 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

That article has set back the fight for our childrens rights. It’s hard enough to get by with a disability in this country, even worse with an ‘invisible’ one such as autism and asperger’s, it will just fuel the people who don’t believe in autism anyway. It’s amazing a national newspaper even put this article into print. They should be ashamed.

• Darren Parslow 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why has the Irish Examiner not issued a full apology???

Report this comment

they are calling it “freedom of speech” as if that justifes everything. I believe the moon is made of cheese, i have no scientific evidence to prove my theory. Can i get an article in the Examiner please!

• Darren Parslow 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Irish Examiner should apologise for this article.

Report this comment

Seems to be a frightening appetite for castigating people who step outside orthodoxy at the moment. I’d say there must be a growing fear that free speech will eat itself…

• Killy Conlon 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Free speech great, slander not so good, big difference!!! Well done PSI for calling for a RETRACTION from the Examiner, anything less is an insult, in fact if they have any decency they will make a significant donation to an autism charity after all the publicity they have genrerated for themselves from the hurt they have caused.

Report this comment

I knew someone would tot out the auld ” freedom of speech” chestnut sooner or later.
      When it comes to medical and scientific matters, you are required to back up your comments with peer reviewed articles in established medical journals.

Report this comment

MC are you TH in a big hat??

Report this comment

Ok. Thanks for the confirmation of what I just said. I haven’t actually said anything in Tony Humphreys defence. Hard enough to find a reliable copy of the article. Examiner didn’t put it in on-line edition. Have ye read it? What’s it say that offends you? Anything in it you might agree with?

Report this comment

Ken. Don’t think the peer review requirement applies to daily papers. Doctors, scientists and other professionals comment in the media all the time. A few names immediately come to mind. Maureen Gaffney, Tony Bates, David Drumm, Simon Baron-Cohen, Stephen Hawking, Richard Dawkins, Dr James O’Reilly…

Report this comment

He did and whilst I have not read his book, based solely on his comments he is recognising the individualistic nature of how certain behaviours can manifest in a child with autism, it is false however to conclude therefore that autism does not exist. Every individual responds differently to everything, two people can have a headache or feel depressed for example, one may lie in bed and the other plough on through the day. You wouldn’t say there not depressed or they don’t have a headache though would you!!

• michael cuthbert 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

A headache could be a symptom of anything from dehydration, through diabetes to meningitis. You wouldn’t say to someone with meningitis, “sure, it’s just a headache”. Feeling depressed can result from bereavement, personal circumstances, post traumatic stress, bio-chemical imbalance etc. “Sure, you’re just feeling a down today”. An inability to show empathy features in the diagnosis of psychopathy and autism, among others. “So you can’t see this from my point of view. Sure it’s just a touch of autism”?

There are many behaviours and experiences associated with autism. That’s one of the difficulties with making a diagnosis. The article doesn’t take issue with Leo Kanner’s description of autism. Presumably Tony Humphreys also accepts Lorna Wing’s Triad of Impairments, long used as a diagnostic tool. The upset seems to come from the assertion that those diagnosed in the current epidemic doesn’t fit Kanner’s and Wing’s descriptions. And that this has more to do with parenting than genetics or whatever. Shame he said that because maybe there’s some merit in much else in the article.

Also worth reading his piece on ADHD. Seems the article from last week is a bit of a re-hash of that one: http://www.tonyhumphreys.ie/news/previous/080ADHA.html

• Norman Hunter 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Irish Examiner believes in free speech,i believe in peoples right not to buy a newspaper that promotes physcobabble as fact.

• Alison Wells 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

In case anyone is in any doubt about why the original article should not have been allowed to stand http://thesciencebit.net/2012/02/08/how-to-argue-illogically-tonys-ten-top-tips/

• Report this comment

It’s becoming increasingly more and more annoying the amount of people who only comment on articles and other’s comments with the sole purpose to antagonise people….seriously, do ye have to dispute and disagree with everyone’s opinions all the time!??

• Elaine Caul 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have linked a letter to the Irish Examiner from Kieran Kennedy from Shine/Irish Progressive Association for Autism (Cork). http://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/letters/attacking-messenger-does-disabled-community-no-service-183135.html

He does NOT believe the Irish Examiner should retract and apologise, and I agree, especially with this part:

[quote]Those of us who have been campaigning over many years for the rights of the disabled have been lucky that papers such as the Irish Examiner have allowed our views to be aired.

It is widely accepted amongst media analysts that the Irish Examiner is distinguished by its strong social conscience. It has given in depth coverage to issues related to intellectual and physical disabilities. It has supported changes to discriminatory legislation. In 2007, Inclusion Ireland gave an award to the paper for its coverage of issues related to people with intellectual ability.

The Irish Examiner “has a long history of promoting and reporting on the cause of people with disabilities and was at the forefront of all the national coverage of the campaign on the need for rights based legislation”, and “its journalists have courageously reported on issues such as the lack of standards for disability services, illegal charges, the appalling conditions in psychiatric hospitals in a sympathetic and non sensational way.” (Inclusion Ireland) [unquote]

The Irish Examiner has actively campaigned on behalf of people with disabilities, and commented on several issues such as those mentioned in the letter above.

Inclusion Ireland, for their part, have also actively campaigned for the introduction of Capacity Legislation which if enforced, will give people with intellectual disabilities the right to make decisions about their own lives and the services they actually want and need for themselves, the right to have control over their own money, the right to have a relationship, and access to a trusted advocate, if they are unable to express their needs independently.

Nowadays, there is more media coverage of Autism and Asperger Syndrome than EVERY other disability combined. With the 5th Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (www.dsm5.org) due to be published in 2013 – Asperger Syndrome and PDDNOS (Pervasive Developmental Disorder not Otherwise Specified) are expected to become obsolete, which means that many children and adults might no longer “fit under” the newly redefined criteria: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/20/health/research/new-autism-definition-would-exclude-many-study-suggests.html?_r=2&scp=2&sq=autism&st=cse

1 in every 100 children is now diagnosed with an Autism Spectrum Disorder – and this means that literally EVERY Joe and Jane Blogs wants a “piece of the action”. With the changes to the DSM5, undoubtedly, there will still be many people who need assistance and services, but who no longer “fit under” the autism diagnosis. This creates a “niche” in the market, which people like Tony Humphreys may exploit.

Undoubtedly, there is no better way to gain publicity than have some pr1ck like Tony Humphreys totally dismiss the existence of autism. I noticed that many parents and others commented on the fact that Tony Humphreys was looking for some free publicity for his book “All about Children”, on the back of their concern, anxiety and upset. And I agree with them 100%

But I know for a fact, there has been no shortage of individual “experts” and parent and professional-led organisations who have been exploiting people who DO have the autism diagnosis for several decades. In spite of all the media coverage, there is very little debate on anything other than “causes” and “cures”, “treatments” and “therapies”, “epidemics” and “existence”.

It is about time the discussion changed, so that those of us who do have the diagnosis can participate as equals, to the best of each individual person’s ability.

Report this comment

He says autism doesn’t exist, I think that wld ever slighty go against Kanner!!!

• michael cuthbert 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Agree with much you have to say there Elaine. There’s a whole industry built up around autism. Did you hear Liveline today. The 1st item covered this. The caller, Jackie, was understandably upset. But she admitted she hadn’t read the full article. It was sad to hear her saying she is always telling her 5 yr old son with autism that he’s special.

Having read Tony Humphreys’ article you’ll appreciate he doesn’t deny the existence of autism. He accepts Kanner’s description, but questions the way the diagnosis is being used today. This is clearly controversial. But as you say, a debate on this issue is much needed. I’m not a fan of DSM categorisations, but if autism is removed, it may prove to be of some service to those it currently labels ASD. Maybe we will then be able to address the specific difficulties faced by the individual…

Report this comment

Yes he does, he said last night at his meeting, I don’t believe in autism, seriously!!!

Report this comment

“A clear distinction needs to be made between the autism described by psychiatrist Leo Kanner in 1943 and the much more recently described ASD (autistic spectrum disorder, often referred to as Asperger’s syndrome). The former ‘condition’ was an attempt to understand severely emotionally withdrawn children, the latter concept, which is being used in an alarmingly and rapidly increasing way, is an attempt to explain children’s more moderate emotional and social difficulties.”

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/02/08/that-tony-humphreys-autism-article-in-full/#comment-121631

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Though that is an exceptionally offensive, and groundless, statement in it’s own right (engineers and mathmeticians are as likely to have a full on emotional life as anyone else, and there is no reason to suppose otherwise) let’s get a little deeper into the rubbish shall we?

A clear distinction needs to be made between the autism described by psychiatrist Leo Kanner in 1943 and the much more recently described ASD (autistic spectrum disorder, often referred to as Asperger’s syndrome). The former ‘condition’ was an attempt to understand severely emotionally withdrawn children, the latter concept, which is being used in an alarmingly and rapidly increasing way, is an attempt to explain children’s more moderate emotional and social difficulties.

Asperger syndrome (or Asperger Disorder per DSM IV) is not, and never has been, an alternate term for Autistic Spectrum Disorder, which is, in fact, the new proposed blanket term for all forms of autism in DSM 5 (I would have thought the dogs in the street knew that at this stage, but, apparently I was wrong). It is also not about about emotional withdrawal, which is quite a seperate issue, that may, or may not happen as a coping skill and an indirect result of Asperger Syndrome.

Asperger Sydrome is primarily a communicative and interactive deficit. A great analogy, in social terms, would be trying to fly a helicopter through fog, without the use of instruments, while wearing boxing gloves.

We are literally blind to the various non-verbal clues that you take in quite unconsciously and automatically – in a simple transaction like buying a paper, this doesn’t have to matter, but the more complex the transaction becomes the greater the deficit, because interaction is a transaction – action and reaction, turn and turn about. When I cannot read your action properly, my reaction becomes skewed, EVE in the unlikely event I can *write* the non-verbal language I am unable to read effectively and that doesn’t seem a very realistic proposition does it?

You

take my, already skewed, reaction, misinterpret my nintent, and react in turn, partly in a non-verbal language I still cannot read and so it goes on, until we would probably both be better off sitting in different counties and guessing than interacting.

This, in itself is quite enough to lead to social withdrawal, I would have thought? It makes healthy relationships virtually impossible to develop and social problems almost impossible to resolve. All you can realistically do is either take people literally and decide whether to comply or defy, or try and memorise and analyse every interaction and do your best to “catch up” in between interactions (highly stressful and not very successful).

The greater the emotional connection or investment, the harder still this becomes…particularly as our minds work a little differently. It is far harder for us to attach, or detach, from any concept, whether intellectual or emotional. Change, of any kind, in any form, is absolutely overwhelming, concentration, emotion, connection and interest all either become involuntarily obsessive…or they don’t happen at all…

“Pray for me mother that I never fall in love”…because if I do, the most likely end result is a barring order, whether I will or no…

People cannot connect with us in turn…we lack the normal capacity to induce empathy, or sympathy in others…we just don’t have the “cute cuddley” factor that makes people feel instinctively bad if the hurt you…instead we feel alien, often interpreted as threatening, and, like anything else perceived to be alien and “outside the tribe” are usually treated with near psychopathic disregard as an automatic and unconscious default. Never quite perceived as human, even, and sometimes ESPECIALLY by those who lay claim to expertise.

Because of our Asperger Syndrome, and all it entails, we grow up, even in the most healthy, loving and connected of families, as a seething mass of of frustratations, resentment, unfulfilled dreams, stifled emotions, and anger…and, as yet, nobody has a real clue how to understand us, let alone how to help us…just a lot of lucrative, half baked ideas that often make life even worse for us while they make somebody else very rich.

Putting an Aspie “in touch with his emotions” in a world that does not even see us as fully human, where there is no help, and no hope, and no sign of any in the forseeable future is one of the most dangerous, irresponsible things anyone can do…

Because if you do that, most of us would kill someone, if it was only ourselves.

Report this comment

Not sure this kind of public forum is the place for such as this Gaye. Sorry for your troubles…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Then why raise the question Michael?? Because once a question like this is raised the only appropriate answer is the truthful one.

Report this comment

Does it have to be quite so personal. Tends to make reasoned responses very difficult…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael…I gave you a clearly objective, if informal, description of asperger syndrome to counter one of the core the misrepresentations in the article, which you attempted to treat, and undermine as a personal statement instead.

I believe that is a little game ye normal lot sometimes play, when your ethics are out to lunch, called “gaslighting” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaslighting …especially when you follow it up by taking a brief, abstract, never mind objective, answer and accuse the respondant (rather preposterously) of “personalising” the issue?

• Killy Conlon 10/02/12 #
    Report this comment

TH clearly and heavily implied that parental emotional neglect caused behaviours we classify as autism as causing autism. To deny that is what was presented in the article is plain denial! Did he mean to imply that, don’t really care, different issue. Every academic he cited has publicly denounced his “perspective”. The article is poorly researched, inaccurate and possibly slanderous! That is why a full retraction at the least is what is required. No one ever questioned whether the examiner has previously been kind to disability, again different issue. No one said we cannot have free speech, again different issue. Whether or not there are flaws in the diagnostic procedures for autism is again a different issue. The chairman of TCH more or less said the article lacked credibility. The article has been completed discredited and for that reason as well as the others I have mentioned above a full retraction is the only reasonable course the examiner can take!!!

Report this comment

Oh I was tired when I wrote above, hope my point is clear though, let’s not fog the issue by piling other issues into it, jeez soon everyone will think ppl with autism and parents with autistic kids are against free speech, treating their kids as individuals, and just plain don’t Like the examiner….why, well cos we are cold, in our heads and heartless of course. And if we have autism, well we don’t really have autism we are just emotionally troubled!!!! Seriously TCH do the decent thing print a full retraction!! Goodnight

• Gavin McDonald 10/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Mr.cuthbert are you tony humphreys alter ego? Tell me how my sons label can be removed? And in future how can parents have diagnoses and not a label placed?

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That thought crossed my mind too Gavin…

Report this comment

Dr Sammi Timimi, on whose research Dr Humphreys based his article, said:
      “The new perspective we’re proposing is that the label of autism and the autistic spectrum disorder is not helpful and we should stop using it, and instead look behind and try and understand each person’s story and take an individual approach to constructing what might be a helpful intervention.”
      Read more:

Report this comment

Gavin. Did you read Elaine Caul above:

“Nowadays, there is more media coverage of Autism and Asperger Syndrome than EVERY other disability combined. With the 5th Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (www.dsm5.org) due to be published in 2013 – Asperger Syndrome and PDDNOS (Pervasive Developmental Disorder not Otherwise Specified) are expected to become obsolete, which means that many children and adults might no longer “fit under” the newly redefined criteria: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/20/health/research/new-autism-definition-would-exclude-many-study-suggests.html?_r=2&scp=2&sq=autism&st=cse”

Report this comment

However. It would seem the problem here is parents’ fear of losing services if the individual loses the diagnosis. That’s the fear in the US where the DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is put together. So, rather than shooting the messenger, how about addressing the issue. If someone has some kind of persistent difficulty getting through the day, could we have an approach where the specific difficulties are addressed, rather than remaining dependent upon medical diagnosis for what is essentially a social developmental problem?

• Niamh Byrne 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Its great in theory michael but you know as well as I do that the system likes pigeon holes and you don’t want to mess with the matrix. I agree in some respect but I cannot see how if we removed all labels the services would be accessed. It would prove extremely expensive and time consuming to assess. As it stands there are certain characteristics that children within the defined spectrum have in common. Why should we ignore this rather than embrace it? Every child is of course an individual but it can sometimes reassure children to know that they are part of a group who they can identify with. This can also be very reassuring for parents, who thought they were the only ones to suddenly find that there are others in the same situation and can then share information and support. Rather than eliminating labels (which will never happen) there should be more general acceptance and education about the positives of asd. As well as more support and help for families.

Report this comment

Great to have a reasoned discussion with you Niamh. Agreed that the current set-up would be very hard to dismantle. Particularly as it involves medicine and the massive health and social services edifices. So many vested interests. One promising development, already working elsewhere, will be ‘money follows the service user’ model. This could open the way to individualised care packages. Working in service land, one sees that, however hard the organisation and the carers try, so much is done to meet the needs of the service and the budget (much of from the State). While PIPs exist, there’still a lot of lip-service paid to them. Even if it will take along time for change to take place, it will come quicker if we argue for it, rather than saying it can’t be done.

Your point about collective action requiring a label is a good one. Marx comes to mind (Karl, not Groucho). Something about the ‘withering away of the State’. How’s about the withering away of the label. Evolutionary change…

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The Autism Industry, with all it’s wealth and politics, has no real help to offer and, ultimately, only exploits autistics and their parents (who often wind up onboard and clinging to it simply because they have no idea what else to do).

In the current political and economic climate, the “main chance” for anyone who chooses to make their fortune in autism is in finding ways to subjugate, jettison and/or demonise the verbal autistics who are rising in droves to challenge the questionable credibility of that multimillion dollar, multinational industry.

That is attracting a lot of “new theories”…howevber, in my experience, sincere people really do tend to check their basic facts and sources and get them straight first. Tony Humphreys did not.

• Niamh Byrne 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Gaye I agree, there is a specific branch of teaching verbal communication that is so heavily completed that you would be afraid if you sneezed you would be in breach, the materials are very expensive to but and their seminars are very expensive to attend. If they were truly motivated by the success of the treatment they would make it more feely available. Its frustrating to see that the real motivation is to make money from people who are vulnerable because they are looking for an affective treatment ands so are willing to spend the money.

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I totally agree Naive…far too many of the therapies around focus on training autistics to be hypervigilant about superficial social skills (not much more than appearances) – and do not seem to acknowledge there is a person inside, who’s interactions go two ways, and who is not only presenting an appearance to his environment but also reacting internally to it…and not always positively..

…and, of course, autism acts on things like hypervigilance much like a turbo charger…the sheer stress of such “training” can be phenomenal.

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Do you know, I think what would help most would be if people admitted that?

There are two ways to approach a problem:

* You can strive to find out what the problem is, and how to control it.
      * You can take a quick look at the problem, pull out a generic olution you made earlier and start trying to force the problem to fit it

There has been WAY too much of the latter around autism…

Report this comment

Now I have a headache, and it’s just a headache!!!! Sometimes it is just what it looks like!

Report this comment

Look Michael cuthbert you believe what you want. I’ll believe what I want too. People that are born with conditions/ disabities are labelled. Full stop. 99% per cent of children diagnosed with autism are are done so before the age of 3. So tell me how can a story be told about this child, and from this then the right interventions can be put In place, without saying that child has autism.

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s true Gavin…a diagnosis is just a piece of shorthand that means you don’t have to sit and explain what is going on, in detail, every time.

I am an autistic, I am also a Grandmother, a liberal, a atheist, a gardener they are just components of me…and OF COURSE every one has a stereotype or two attached…and autism more than most, some of which are wied to the moon…but the pure truth is that without that label, and the acknowledgement that goes with them (even when it is totally misguided) that child will spend his schooldays going through hell and picking up a new second label – PTSD.

That will work :(

Report this comment

Fair enough Gavin. But what are you going to do when ASD is removed from the DSM-5 next year? Sorry if you find my position in any way offensive. I don’t agree with everything Tony Humphreys said in his article and have made that clear above. People with ASD and their families/supporters are rightly afraid of the changes coming down the line. But why shoot the messenger? I offer a solution from my perspective. TH has his views, which I think should be considered as part of the debate. We can free ourselves from labels and challenge the services to support the difficulties people have, rather than relying on medical diagnoses (labels) to define the “treatment”. Dream a little…

“It was DSM-4, the current, gargantuan edition that added Asperger syndrome as an autism-spectrum disorder in 1994.

Since then, the number of reported cases has exploded and the man who headed the task force that created DSM-4, Dr. Allen Frances, currently professor emeritus at Duke University, has been highly critical of his own work.

He told Ronson that the inclusion of Asperger was a mistake and he has also had some sharp advice recently “for the task force working on DSM-5.

“Anticipate the worst. If something can be misused, it will be misused,” Frances told National Public Radio in the U.S. “If diagnosis can lead to over-diagnosis and over-treatment, that will happen. So you need to be very, very cautious in making changes that may open the door for a flood of fad diagnoses.”
      False epidemics

Dr. Frances told Ronson that he and his associates had created three false “epidemics” — childhood bi-polar disorder, autism and ADHD.” http://societyforhumanisticpsychology.blogspot.com/2012/01/are-we-over-diagnosing-autism.html

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael

Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD) will be appearing *IN* the DSM 5 for the first time as an umbrella term, not being taken *out*, and beyond that, ICD 10 (more commonly used in Europe, the DSM is really USA specific) will be retaining the terms “Autism” and “Asperger Syndrome” in their present form for the forseeable future.

None of which was remotely related to the thrust of Tony Humphreys article.

Your attempts to stir up panic have no basis in reality at all.

Report this comment

Another baseless accusation Gaye.

Anyway. I can assure you the DSM is used in Ireland and is highly influential beyond the shores of the USA. If you stood back from this and started to actually read what I’ve been saying, you might take a more considered view of my position. The sad thing about this whole discussion is the way so many people are so quick to attack the person rather than address the issues. You are clearly very capable of doing the latter…

Report this comment

Would you like to address what Allen Frances said?

• Gaye Dalton 10/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Michael, will you please stop mischief making?

• Elaine Caul 11/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I was diagnosed according to DSM 4 and my college disability officer told me that the disability service does not provide assistance for students unless they are diagnosed with Autism/Asperger’s according to the conditions in DSM 4. Personally, I found my assessment rather humiliating and degrading, which makes me rather reluctant to seek help from any autism-specific services again.

The assessment was entirely verbal, which of course does not suit the needs of autistics with little or no speech – who are often written off as “intellectually disabled”. Verbal IQ tests pose a challenge for most autistic people, even if they are fully verbal, because they rely too heavy on social and cultural knowledge. If you are a non-native English speaker living in Ireland and seeking a diagnosis, you are probably not going to know what proverbs like “one swallow does not make a summer” means, for example. The Raven’s Progressive matrices, which is an entirely pictorial IQ test could provide a solution, but it is very rarely used.

Rose Eveleth, who has 2 younger brothers on the spectrum, wrote an article about one brother’s assessment. The psychologist asked him: “You find out someone is getting married. What is an appropriate question to ask them?” To which he answered “What kind of cake are you having?” http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=the-hidden-potential-of-autistic-kids

The reason why I wrote in my other comment that “there is more media coverage of Autism and Asperger Syndrome than EVERY other disability combined”, is because of the so-called autism “epidemic” and the increasing numbers of children receiving the diagnosis. Another reason there is more coverage is because autism is not like other disabilities like Down Syndrome or Spina Bifida, which we can actually SEE, we know what CAUSES them and in many cases, we know how to PREVENT children with these conditions from ever being born. Autism, is also perceived as inherently “tragic” and “devastating” – how many times do we see the words “trapped inside his/her own world” etc

The current mission of the majority of autism research, to develop a prenatal test which will detect autism in the womb. In the USA, out of a total of $314 million dedicated for autism projects in 2010, between both public and private bodies, only 3% was spent on providing therapies, services and supports for children and 1% was provided for adult services. The remaining 96% was spent on researching the causes, cures and prevention. This does nothing to help autistic people right now.

The trouble with the DSM 4 and the soon to be published DSM 5 is that psychiatrists and psychologists seem to be making up the rules as they go along. Even grief and bereavement, which EVERYONE experiences several times in their lives, may be listed as a psychiatric disorder. Allen Frances is also worried that “the revisions will medicalize normality and that millions of people will get psychiatric labels unnecessarily,” http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/25/health/depressions-criteria-may-be-changed-to-include-grieving.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=grief&st=cse

I do not believe that autism is a medical or psychiatric disorder, and so should not be listed under the DSM at all. In spite of all the changes, I do not believe that parents of any children who have previously been diagnosed with autism in Ireland have any reason to worry that their child will “lose” the diagnosis. It certainly seems to be more of an American thing, where people must purchase private health insurance even to cover the most basic of services. Labelling seems to be a double-edged sword – autism and Asperger Syndrome are still widely misunderstood and heavily stigmatised in spite of all the “awareness”. But without that label, a child or adult will not receive adequate support and assistance. There certainly needs to be a fully informed debate on all the changes to the DSM and not just in relation to autism. Scaremongering gets us nowhere.

• Michael Cuthbert 11/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Another thoughtful contribution Elaine.

As you say: “I do not believe that autism is a medical or psychiatric disorder, and so should not be listed under the DSM at all.”

Agree wholeheartedly. It is also important to recognise that those already diagnosed using DSM-4 will not lose that. My point was that DSM-5 will change the approach in the future. It is for policy makers, service providers and families and individuals with ASD to ensure the supports are there and tailored for each individual. The move from institutional care to congregational care settings has been welcome. We’re in the next phase which involves person centred planning. With ‘money follows the service user’ and individual support packages things can only get better. No scaremongering. No finger-pointing. The future is bright. Dream a little…

• Daniel Murray 10/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I read this article after hearing the controversy and the excuses. It was shocking to see such an extremely ignorant view being expressed so strongly by someone who should know there is no reality in the idea of autism being caused by environmental factors or that it is in the “normal” spectrum of human behavior.

The article tries to play it safe by being equivocal for later denial of the content and say he has a right to his view. However it clearly goes along the line that autism or behavior “labeled” as autism is a child’s reaction to emotionally unavailable parents. The results of being raised with one or more parents like this, alcoholic parents etc. is well documented and the results are well known, no one has seen this upbringing resulting in behavior that would lead to a diagnosis of autism.

Excuses and denials by the examiner are rubbing salt in the wound. His article suggests that autism is a reaction to a form of poor parenting. That’s it. It’s disgraceful, completely wrong and insupportable, no one who knows there business in the mental health community except a tiny misguided minority, similar to creationists, would agree with his view. He cannot have any idea of how severe autism can be and how early it can present itself to hold this view.

The article is written in a sly covert way, or attempting to be covert. It’s contents goes on about children with intellectual and emotional problems (this is what they are calling autism) it suggests this ridiculous possible cause. Then in the second last paragraph it says he is not trying to suggest there are no children with emotional and intellectual problems!! Why does he say this when the whole article clearly states there are children with emotional and intellectual problems?

The examiner removing the article after it’s slippery denials and deliberately missing the points people are making is cowardly in the extreme.

Report this comment

Michael I’m not interested in talking about things I have no knowledge of. Once I run it past our support group and investigate things I can commen.t any de classification of diagnoses or labels which are only used as references for conditions/disabilities will open a can of worms for the while medical profession not just the area of psychology, psychiatry or children. I have read his piece over and over again and it really is so cowardly and unfounded and deeply hurtful.

Report this comment

T humphreys has another agenda. Brainwashing the next generation of students so that in 50 years time there will be no such as an intellectual disability. I would not be surprised if he I actually working for the government as everything is being cut (from services that don’t currently exist at the moment anyway) to allowances to carers across all disability sectors.

• Barbara MacArthur 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What a dinosaur! My auttistic son was born in 1953 and I remember in the late 1950s a doctor asking me was I ‘a refrigerator mother?’ and I replied , ‘no, I was a smother-mother’. Cannot believe a psychologist could be so out of date!.

Add New Comment