TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Controversy over priest at centre of child abuse claims

The bishop of Kilmore diocese has issued a statement saying that the priest voluntarily agreed to step aside.

Image: Matt Kolf via Flickr

THE BISHOP OF Kilmore has intervened in a controversy over a priest in the diocese who is at the centre child abuse allegations.

Bishop Leo O’Reilly issued a statement saying that the priest in question had voluntarily agreed to step aside from his ministry. The bishop said he had personally addressed Masses in the area to inform parishioners about the case.

He said: “In September when child safeguarding complaints concerning this priest came to my attention I immediately informed the civil authorities.

“I spoke to the priest who voluntarily agreed to stand aside from sacred ministry. I informed the parish council that complaints had been received and I addressed local Masses so as to directly and personally inform parishioners.”

According to RTÉ, the priest in question has continued to live in a local parochial house since stepping down, despite being asked to move several times by Bishop O’Reilly.

Fr Seán McDonagh of the Association of Catholic Priests said he welcomed the “courageous leadership” from the bishop. However, he told RTÉ’s This Week that the Association was “very much opposed” to the public way in which priests are stepped down before any allegations are proven or disproven.

A recent report from the National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church commended Kilmore diocese for its child protection practices, which were found to be of a consistently high standard.

More: Diocesan reports criticise inadequate response to abuse allegations>

Read next:

Comments (12 Comments)

• In fairness – if true that the bishop of Kilmore did inform the proper legal authorities, then credit to him.
    I wish there had been more like him years ago.

• I don’t see the need to give him credit. He’s only doing what he’s supposed to be doing and what is expected of him by the law.

• Some say they will do it officially – others it seems actually don’t.
      So if someone actually does do what he’s supposed to, there’s no harm in giving them credit for doing the right thing.
      Its the ones that don’t, we should be still raising voices over more so.

• So far so good. So the venerable Bishop has done the right thing and reported this suspect to the ‘civil authorities’ by which I presume he means the Gardai.
    I am wondering has this suspect been arrested, questioned or charged. There should be more to this story.
    Anyone?

• Complaints about a priest abusing children, he is reported by a bishop and it’s considered “courageous leadership”

He is still living in the parochial house. Were is the investigation!

Another example why this organization should be removed from our schools and constitution.

• Well I’m sure any investigation your looking for, is probably being handled by the state authorises that have been rightly informed.
      I do agree that this organization should be removed from our schools and constitution.

• The Association of Catholic Priest Cop on. Cannon Law should not protect these child rapists and Anyone that goes under the umbrella of CANNON LAW SHOULD be ashamed to cover up such evil via the cover of Cannon law it us about time you all realise that Cannon Law has no place in our lives when a crime is committed and particularly CHILD RAPE how dare all who always try and use this excuse
    Fair play to Bishop for talking out along with Bishop Diarmuid Martin
    And to think that this B&@€):/d refuses to leave the parish house and remains ln the area

• I totally agree Biggins and he also has asked him to leave the parish house uf he is innocent after investigations so be it after all he has been accused of Child rape/ abuse and Children must always be protected we have in our history a deplorable record if NOT DOING ANYTHING till it is too late Just a year ago a mother was jailed for the torture she imposed and allowed her husband rape /abuse her children we have heard nothing but Clerical Abuse if children and a terrible lit if us knew either first hand or knew someone at the hands if the Church

• Aydo 18/12/11 #

Wait, I think the point is being missed here, or the point I want addressed, why arent these perverts jailed?

• I imagine he’s not in jail because he remains an innocent man? Allow me to introduce you to your new VBF, “due process”. By all means lock him up for twenty years if he’s found guilty in a court of law. But last time I checked, this isin’t Salem.

• A legal concept we have here in Ireland is “Innocent until proven guilty”. Though that didn’t apply to Fr Kevin Reynolds.

I think most employers would suspend someone accused of sexually abusing someone else, so I think the Association of Catholic Priests has it very wrong on this one.

• How come my posts are not appearing just my name

Add New Comment