TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Swedish House Mafia: MCD chief links violence to cheap alcohol

Denis Desmond tells Today FM that he believes the availability of discount drink is to blame for increased concert violence.

MCD chief executive Denis Desmond believes a small minority of people will always seek to cause trouble at concerts - but that cheap alcohol exacerbates any disruptions.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE of concert promoter MCD has suggested that the availability of cheap alcohol, particularly to people of young ages, is the main reason for crowd disorder at events.

Denis Desmond said the prevalence of alcohol sales in general grocery stores now meant younger people had more and more access to drink – which then manifested itself in violence at concerts.

“We have 120-odd thousand people for Robbie Williams, or the Red Hot Chili Peppers,” Desmond told Today FM’s Ray D’Arcy Show, saying the Robbie Williams gig in the Phoenix Park – attended by an estimated 135,000 people – had been trouble-free.

“What is the difference… from when we did the Phoenix Park, ten-odd years ago with 120-odd thousand people, and now? I think the answer is cheap alcohol.

“There’s more shelf space there for alcohol than there is for food,” he added.

Although crowd trouble at concerts was not a new phenomenon – with Desmond pointing to riots at a Bob Dylan performance at Slane Castle in 1984, and similar riots at a Lisdoonvarna festival – the difference “was that alcohol wasn’t cheap” at that time.

Desmond said he believed it was the availability of cheap alcohol before going to a gig – and not the price of a pint of lager, €5, inside it – that contributed to the disturbances.

The MCD chief executive and co-founder also suggested that the attitude taking to policing the event by authorities, though understandable, had contributed to the alcohol culture at last month’s Swedish House Mafia gig at which nine people were stabbed.

The law of the land is, you cannot drink on the streets. But people were. There was no aggro – they were just drink there. People there, in the sunshine, having a drink.

But do the police take the attitude of, ‘Hey, you can’t do that’, and [cause] people [to] get aggressive?” [...] You judge the situation. To me, they judged it, and they go, ‘It’s going to be fine.’

If Gardaí and security had intervened at every point at which people had been seen openly drinking, Desmond said, “everybody becomes confrontational”.

Zero tolerance

The promoter insisted, however, that a zero tolerance approach would be taken to public drinking outside Marlay Park for Ireland’s next major electronic music gig, David Guetta’s performance at Marlay Park this coming Friday.

Though private security operators were legally limited in the extent to which they could search patrons at those concerts, special areas will be set aside at the Guetta gig to allow Gardaí perform more intense searches.

Asked by D’Arcy if he regretted promoting the Swedish House Mafia concert, Desmond said:

I regret the fact that nine people were stabbed, most definitely. And it’s a tragedy there were two fatalities over drug abuse. But no, I don’t regret doing the show.

Though security personnel had stripped some people of knifes and other weapons, Desmond said, there would always be a small proportion of people intent on causing trouble – and who would use umbrellas, commonly used because of the wet weather at the Swedish House Mafia gig, as weapons.

Desmond separately said that today marked the final day for underage ticket-holders to Friday’s Marlay Park gig to claim a full refund. Only people aged 17 and older will be admitted to that concert, a stipulation introduced after they had already gone on sale.

Read: Gardaí warn concert-goers of major crackdown at Marlay Park gigs

SMH fallout: MCD control centre ‘not fit for purpose’

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Well that doesn’t really make any sense seeing as other European countries have far far cheaper alcohol available in every fast food restaurant, cafe and supermarket yet they don’t have such issues! Attempting to take the spotlight off yourself there Mr.Desmond!

• How many points did he get in the Leaving Cert to work that out?

• The big difference between other contintental countries and ourselves is cultural: the Irish (and the British) believe that you can’t have a good time without getting plastered out of your head on alcohol. The contintentals have a more mature approach to drink with the result that they can sell beer in, for example, fast food restaurants without it being abused. That would never happen in Ireland or Britain – there would be drunken mayhem on a regular basis – so we will never see McDonalds selling beer in their outlets here. There is no doubt that cheap alcohol is behind a lot of trouble on our streets and I think Desmond is spot on in his analysis.

• You’re dead right it’s a cultural thing… But most definitely not a cheap alcohol thing!! He’s hopping on the ‘Ban alcohol from Supermarkets’ Bandwagon to take the spotlight off himself!

• Unfortunately banning cheap alcohol and hoping people consume less is far, far easier than changing culture. You can run ad campaigns etc but it’s very hard to change an existing culture – especially one that is so prevalent and that we, myself included, are part of or have been part of in some way.

• Well said Caoimhe. We had an open air David guetta gig here in the centre of Munich last month. People brought babies and toddlers and there was plenty of alcohol at 3.60 a beer available at the event. The problem is not drink drugs the type of music, the level of security, the gardai etc. the problem is the people and the society.

• Everything these days is apparently as a result of cheap alcohol. These people are like broken records. It’s culture, not price. I lived in Germany 3 years ago where 6 litres of beer cost about €1.70 in a supermarket and people used to go drinking in city squares and parks on nice summer evenings. The result? A nice, relaxed fun atmosphere without violence, excessive noise or litter. People, education and the system are the problem; not cost.

• I couldn’t agree with you more I grew up in Dublin and live in France. When I’ve bought French friends to Dublin they are always surprised at the ” tanking up” attitude. Here they’ll drink of an evening in an unrushed way as of it were a cup of tea, not like water in a dessert.

• I still do Graham and couldn’t agree more with you. Society here does not accept or promote that type of behavior therefore people simply behave responsibly and surprise surprise it makes for a spectacularly civilized place to live. By the way I buy 20 half liter bottles of good Bavarian Beer for 6 euro. I know. I don’t know how lucky I am.

• Cheap alcohol didn’t out the weapons in the pockets of those involved when they were leaving the house. Cheap alcohol can’t be blamed for people being able to bring weapons into the grounds. Cheap alcohol can’t be blamed for the security failing to spot a single one of the incidents in question.

A cheap grasp by Desmond. Oxegen fell apart because little knackers were allowed in and ran riot all weekend a few years in a row. Now his phoenix park event falls apart because of the same.

If there is one Irish person I am gunning to see fail its this miserable, egotistical pr*ck.

• Brian 20/08/12 #

If Desmond wants to talk about things being cheap let’s start by talking about him hiring ‘security’ people who couldn’t handle a fight at a crèche.

• I think this detracts from the real issue which is in fact a highly visible and violently antisocial, welfare-literate subculture within irish society. Journalists and politicians have tried to blame it on MCD, alcohol, the music, as if somehow they exempt individuals from guilt of being absolute savages.

• neo1 20/08/12 #

That’s it,them scobes went out for trouble regardless of cheap drink or anything else if drink prices are increased it will drive it underground even more.This in effect will give rise to even more madness.

• Hate it if I’m the only one, but the only reason I pre-drink for these things is because of the extortionate cost of a pint once inside, not the affordability outside…More security won’t do much, more common sense? Now, then..

• Not to mention some gigs and festivals don’t let you bring any alcohol, you can only buy it in there.

So naturally are going to drink as much as they can outside the venue.

Hell, i’ve seen people go to festivals with beer and everything else, only to find out at the gate they can’t bring in their alcohol. People have literally turned around and went home! Or stayed the entire time in the car park with their friends and have fun there listening to the music.

And while they are doing that, the festival site lays half empty!

• Where is all this cheap drink that he’s on about? Also I don’t remember our society being so perfect before you could buy a can of beer I your local shop.
    The real problem in my eyes is increase of uneducated lower social class people who as a result go to these events with a knife in their track suit pocket.
    Education is the long term solution so that people see the world in a different light and improve themselves.
    I know this will get lots of red thumbs but these “skangers” are just ruining our country.

• phil 20/08/12 #

If thats the case there should have been an all out riot in Cavan town, 80,000 people on the streets, drinking cheap drink. Very little trouble

• JTHM 20/08/12 #

Visit the continent and you’ll see that a sentence with both “cheap alcohol” and “Ireland” in it is most likely an oxymoron. The cheapest beer I’ve seen in Berlin is 18c per 500ml bottle. By this logic Berlin should be in the midst of a massive riot. It’s not. It is over 30 degrees, though, so cheap beer is a very good thing. ;-)

• Desmond has a neck. If he spent the money to police the event properly things might have been different. And the choice of venue was a big factor.

• Where is this “cheap” alcohol ?? Seems to be about the same price as years ago when I was buying 6 cans for 5 punts
    Ireland is one of the most expensive countries in Europe to buy alcohol !!!
    But the price keeps coming up in the media as the cause. Bull****

• mcgoo 20/08/12 #

Denis is in denial. As usual.

• bath salts!

• Hmmm. The countries largest entertainment company, who are licensed to sell alcohol, giving out about the sale of cheap alcohol. That’s got to hurt the profit margin Mr. Desmond. Nothing to do with with the under resourced security at all.

Too easy to pass the buck. I wonder if the Mr. Desmond is supporting the proposed min price of alcohol the government look set to implement?

Regardless of what music, type of crowd, drug culture, security was under resourced, gardai were ill prepared and misinformed and nobody is will to accept the blame. The response for the Marley Park gig will be disproportionate and expensive. Expect €6 beer price minimum. A good gig though hopefully.

• I think it’s more down to the type of music that is being played attracts a different audience Robbie Williams and Swedish house mafias fans are worlds apart ! Just beef up security at these type of rave/dance concerts or festivals and have metal detectors at the entrances !

• Just out of interest SHM had a hit last year with a song called ‘Antidote’ this was a collaboration with a duo called?
      ‘Knife Party’……….Just saying thats all. We all can draw our own conclusions

• Fergus I’ve seen as many knackers thrashing the place at Oasis gigs etc back in the day so it’s not just dance music. Can I ask have you ever been to one? Find it very patronising that people believe it synonymous that dance music is followed by a degenerate crowd.

It’s by far my favourite music and I travel the world to various events and DJ’s. Rarely have I had any issue. In fact I’ve seen more violence etc at non-dance festivals etc.

Personally the worst I’ve ever seen was Oxegen last year, hardly a dance event by any means yet I’ve never seen so much trouble amongst a young crowd.

• Of course, also, the internet and mobile phones… It’s all of those things too… Oh and poor people… Cop On.

I am a massive EDM fan, music that you refer to (wrongly) as “Rave”, I also drink very rarely and hold down quite a good job.. There are plenty of examples of much bigger EDM festivals that go unhindered, stop with the think of the children crap, it’s insulting.

• Swedish House Mafia: MCD chief links violence to cheap alcohol?

Is that why it normally costs €5 for a drink inside a concert?

Good excuse to charge a tenner a drink Denis?

• jrbmc 20/08/12 #

Drink doesn’t do this to people , drugs does !

• @jrbmc- It depends on the drug surely. there was a piece in the independent recently that made reference to crystal-meth. but im not sure how “in-touch” they’d be about these things.

• A lot of MCD gigs are sponsored directly or indirectly by big alcohol brands such as Heineken or Budweiser who in the main do not want to sell their product for cheap prices. You won’t be able to buy a cheap pint of Dutch Gold at any MCD gig. It’s a cop out for MCD to blame cheap drink on the violence, the Garda criticised their handling of the event and that they should address this before looking to blame others.

• Not one comment about the drugs being openly used at SHM concert..this was also a big factor in the trouble..and a phenonemon associated with dance music fans.

• Well Ned, as a garda on duty that day i think i DO know what happend.
    Are you seriously telling me drugs werent a factor ? Or that they dont play a part in the dance music scene ?
    Get real.

• Depends on the drugs in question. E and marijuana don’t make people aggressive. Mixed with drink, yes, but that’s the drink playing its part.

If they were using Ireland’s dodgy coke, bath salts or some of the head shop stuff then certainly, but this can basically be nailed down to drunken knackers who woke up that morning having already decided to cause trouble, before they’d even had a drink taken.

The problem here is the people in question and it was no surprise that they ended up being from areas such as Ronanstown, clondalkin and blanch. A quick look at yesterday’s crime stats released paint a picture of a massive problem pertaining to the people in these areas.

• he should arrange comedy gigs, certainly writes good material… oh wait. he was serious?

• The Phoenix Park is not a suitable venue for such concerts. they are next to impossible to police and due to the fact that this concert led to the deaths of two people should be enough to call a halt now. We have enough theatres and stadiums custom built to hold such events, use them for Gods sake!!!!

• Why not? It works in Hyde park, it is well policed and organised. The same could be done in the Phoenix park if organised properly.

• Hyde Park is much smaller in comparison to the Phoenix Park and therefore is a lot more difficult to police. Don’t forget, Phoenix Park is one of the biggest parks in Europe. Hyde Park covers 350 acres and Phoenix park covers 1,750 acres.

• The venue in the park is enclosed. I don’t think the size of the park is the problem, it is the lack of security. Once it is organised properly the Phoenix park can be a good venue for concerts.

• Typical, its everyone else’s fault but his own.

Yes there people there on drink and drugs, but you know what?

You see them every weekend in pubs, clubs, and at other festivals around the country and they are handled properly.

• wa like?? cant enjoy a bag a cans and bitta music anymore??? are yous not iresh like me like?? stupid like i pay da taxes im aloud do wa i like noo??? yeah grand do wa yous like ill still drink my cans an get the country outta tha recession da the govverment caused like. whos with me in fairness like??

Add New Comment