TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Swedish House Mafia fallout: MCD control centre ‘not fit for purpose’

The Garda Commissioner’s report also says the Phoenix Park is not appropriate to hold electro gigs in future; MCD says the report is “unbalanced”.

Swedish House Mafia perform in London in July. The band's gig in Dublin's Phoenix Park was marred by crowd disturbances, including nine stabbings.
Image: AP Childs/EMPICS Entertainment

Updated, 19:48

THE GARDA COMMISSIONER has said the event control centre provided by concert promoter MCD Promotions for the Swedish House Mafia concert at the Phoenix Park last month, at which nine people were stabbed, was “not fit for purpose”.

A report compiled by Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan also describes the Phoenix Park venue as being unsuitable for large-scale dance music concerts, and found that MCD had not adequately briefed security personnel on their responsibilities.

The report, published by justice minister Alan Shatter this evening, said Gardaí had requested additional accommodation in the event control centre that MCD had set up to oversee the three gigs it held at the venue in July.

This evening MCD managing director Denis Desmond described the report as “unbalanced” and called for the full report – of which only a summary has been published – to be released immediately.

The promoter said it was “surprised and disappointed” that the cover letter to the report was published without notice or consultation with MCD.

“This was despite agreement with the Garda Commissioner’s office on 10th July 2012 that further review meetings would be held between both parties prior to the publication any Garda or MCD reviews,” MCD said.

“The Concert Promoters [MCD] gave an undertaking this would be facilitated, but it failed to materialise,” Callinan’s report said.

The CCTV for the venue was controlled by a subcontractor on behalf of the concert promoters. Consequently, An Garda Síochána had limited access to its functionality.

This proved problematic as events arose at the Swedish House Mafia concert, as Gardaí were unable to directly monitor certain areas, and could not employ a Garda to monitor footage on a continual basis.

“An Garda Síochána had to request the contractor to monitor areas in response to reports of incidents, instead of An Garda Síochána being able to proactively monitor the crowds using CCTV.”

Gardaí will, in future, require priority access to CCTV systems for future events in the Phoenix Park, it said.

Security preparations

The report also suggests that while the deployment of two public order units at the gig was effective, if Gardaí had been fully briefed “on the likely conduct of patrons”, a separate public order unit would have been deployed as a “snatch squad” to arrest offenders, while Garda reserve units could be used to respond to more minor incidents.

The report also criticises MCD’s security preparations for the concert, which was the first large-scale open-air electro gig to be held in the Dublin venue.

While individual stewards were responsible for full bag searches and cursory pat-down searches of people attending the gig, the “high volume of incidents” at the entrance – “coupled with the large number of breaches in the perimeter fencing – indicate that MCD productions did not have appropriate security measures in place for the Swedish House Mafia concert and the associated crowd demographic”.

The report recommends that promoters review the quality of the perimeter fencing around the venue, and said Gardaí would require that steward be given specific instructions on their duties, including the requirement to stop drunken concertgoers from entering, and to check the ages of people entering the venue.

Venue not fit for genre

Elsewhere, the report says the Phoenix Park was too accessible to people who did not have tickets to attend concerts being held there – and is therefore not appropriate for electro gigs.

“The Swedish House Mafia concert on the 7th July was the first large scale outdoor ‘electric [sic] music’ concert held in the Phoenix Park,” Callinan’s report said.

“In the recent past, similar concerts were held at the Oxygen [sic] Festival, which is located in a rural location with limited access. This reduces the number of non-concert patrons congregating in the vicinity of the concert and the probability of potential public order incidents.”

There were no indicators during the pre-event planning process of the unsuitability of the Phoenix Park for this type of concert.

Gardaí will now recommend that concert promoters and local authorities “give greater consideration to the selection of concert venue for this type of music, its appropriateness for the anticipated crowd demographic, the potential to attract non-patrons to the vicinity of the concert, and the impact of inclement weather on the venue’s ground conditions.”

The force also now recommends that promoters seeking licences for gigs stipulate the artists to perform, or the genre of music involved, when doing so, and “to provide a detailed risk assessment based on the type of audience that is expected to attend.

In this instance, the report noted, the artists performing at the Phoenix Park – also including the Stone Roses and Snow Patrol, who also performed at the Phoenix Park in the same week – were not confirmed until March 7, four months before the event was due to take place.

The report points out that concerts which are likely to attract more people from the 17-25 age group will probably see crowds which have already purchased alcohol from an off-licence, due to their aversion to higher alcohol prices inside the venue, and that this may contribute to public order difficulties.

Signage and lighting

It also criticises the use of wooden staked signage at the venue to inform patrons of its layout – which could be removed and used as weapons – and says different signage should be used in future.

Outdoor lighting systems – which were affected at the SHM gig, when individuals were able to remove their keys – will have to be manned in future, while representatives from the HSE and ambulance services will also need to be present in event control centres so that responsibility for certain emergencies can be handed over to the relevant statutory agency.

Other shortcomings include the circular track around the venue, laid by the event management, which could not be used by Garda prison vehicles to carry prisoners because of the averse weather.

This meant some people in Garda custody had to be walked from inside the venue to the nearest gate. The Swedish House Mafia gig was, however, the first time that the prison section at Bridewall Garda Station had been used to accommodate people arrested in the Phoenix Park, a system which proved “very effective”.

The report also recommends the use of a physical marking system on the site of outdoor gigs, so that locations can be cross-referenced with the grid location system used at an administrative level.

“There are a number of lessons to be learned by all agencies in respect of the staging of large outdoor concerts in the Phoenix Park,” the report concludes.

“A full review of these concerts is being conducted with MCD Promotions and the other stakeholders. Dialogue is continuing with the promoters and others engaged in running of the concert to ensure, to the greatest extent possible, that the lessons learned are incorporated into future event planning”.

The report said Gardaí would insist that “all practical steps” were taken so that the events of the Swedish House Mafia concert could not be repeated.

In its response, MCD called for a “full independent public inquiry” into the events of July 7 and said it was continuing to conduct its own “full and comprehensive review” into those events, which it would publish in full in due course.

Justice minister Alan Shatter said he appreciated the “thoroughness and speed” with which the report had been completed.

“I fully support An Garda Síochána in the actions they propose to prevent a recurrence of the incidents which arose at this concert and, in particular, their determination that everyone lives up to their responsibilities in this regard,” he said.

In full: The Garda Commissioner’s report on the gig (PDF) >

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• The gaurds are as responsible, but its about time someone highlighted MCD’s lack of any consideration or planning for its paying patrons . let’s hope their legally held to a higher standard in the future as I don’t see what can be done about this or previous events ….

• They won’t be, all that could happen is even more ridiculous lines before shows, more expense on tickets to pay for more guards and less of a likelihood of bands deemed ‘troublesome’ by some aged civil servant granting licenses being booked to play.

• “Not fit for purpose”? Bit like the audience so?

• from another news site: “if the gardaí had been fully briefed on the likely conduct of the patrons of the Swedish House Mafia gig, they would have put an additional public order unit on site.”

the dogs in the bleedin street know what sort of crowd SHM would attract and the garda’s are saying that no one told them? jesus wept

• I agree Paul. I run in there most days and it was and still is in BiTS! The promoters can’t even take the hoarding down because of the state of the grounds. This never used to be the case in the park. Over the past ten years or do there have been concert after concert in the park. Most pass without incident but even approaching the park on blackhorse avenue the day and night of Swedish house mafia in particular I felt sorry for the residents as people were pissing and shitting and puking in their gardens. They were lying on cars, swinging on gates and pouring alcohol into plastic bags to sneak in and leaving the empties in the garden. Deplorable stuff! Take the hoarding off and scrape away the hay and look at the mess the park is in now.

• I was at the flo patrol gig and it was desperately organised, it is not just the genre of the music that is playing. the security had no control, the gardai seemed to be turning a blind eye to most people who were so badly drunk etc that they couldn’t walk.. the staff when i was walking in didn’t check me properly – which I thought was even odder since the previous night there was stabbings etc… MCD plus the Gardai are both to blame in my book, seems to me that neither wanted to take responsibility at all. I also think that blaming dance music is unfair.. thats like back in the 90′s when it was fashionable to blame grunge/metal for issues at gigs..

• FECKING ELECTRIC MUSIC !

I blame bob Dylan …………….

• was at tomorrow land in Belgium last weekend, Swedish house mafia where there, 200 dj’s and 120,000 people also, it was great fun, when it ended at night free buses took everyone into the city centre to get the train or bus to where they where living and staying, this all happened in the space of an hour and all those thousands of people where no more, no fighting or messing or even loud shouting, it was crazy to see the streets where empty so quick!!!!! even when you go on the beer in ireland you see loads of people still hanging around outside mcdonalds at 4 a.m, now thats a disgrace,

• Why does it take something serious to have to go wrong in this country before we realise it was a mistake to begin with ?

• Swedish House Mafia are rubbish.

• Guys it’s neither the fault of MCD or the Gardai. The fault lies with the gurriers who caused the problem. The Irish mantra is blame everything else but the culprits. Our society is in the sewer when we need heavy police presence at an outdoor concert.

• MCD have one thing & one thing only as a priority, making money, it’s about time they were exposed, for years they laughed all the way to the bank whilst their customers were herded like sheep through muddy fields, had there tents ransacked & were attacked & beaten up by thugs who had free reign to do what the liked as inadequate security looked on & did nothing, llyThe OPW & Minister Brian Hayes FG also behaived discreacfuly regarding the Phoenix Parg

• delighted with Garda Commissioners report on the phoenix park gigs last month ” park not suitable for large electric music concerts ” it never was & never will be, I hope you hear that Minister Brian Hayes FG, ..I’m a local resident & believe me the police did all they could to control the puking, pissing, rubbish dumping mob that attended all 3 gigs, happy days again in the park.

• I disagree with you Paul, many cities around europe have concerts in capital parks just like here in London, Hyde park, i have friends that went to that concert in the Phoenix park and they said Garda presence at the venue was very few. I think security at the park or lack of it is the main problem. In London at these venues they have alot of officers paid for by the promoters like MCD. That is the problem at this venue.

• The Phoenix Park is completely suitable for gigs and it should be used for every year – there’s been great gigs there over the years – Robbie Williams, Tom Waits, Arcade Fire, Coldplay, The O2 in the Park gigs, . It’s a public amenity for the people of Dublin and not just those who happen to live beside it. Perhaps you should ask why the pubs in the communities around the park were plying people with booze and selling it from gazebos? The NIMBY’s don’t seem to remember that bit.

As for the hoarding being still up, you’d expect that after 120,000 being in the one spot in wet weather that the ground would be under repair for some time.

I’ve been to Hyde Park. The crowd behave themselves (unlike Ireland) and the police act in a really professional and organised manner (unlike the shambles that is the Garda Siochana).

• I wasn’t at it but i heard there was little Garda presence at the venue. Maybe this needs looking into also.

• Ah sure someone in M.C.D. is probably related to a politician so nothing will happen.

• paul 02/08/12 #

just ban music so

• It has nothing to do with the genre. I listen to & am starting to produce dance music and I don’t cause trouble when I do go out. There were over 30,000 people at that gig and only a small minority caused trouble. Can people not take responsibility for their own actions when they go out? Do not blame promoters, musicians ,guards etc if you cause trouble you are the culprit blame yourself!! People should behave when they are out in public! Have a laugh and a bitta banter by all means but don’t cause trouble!

• Know nothing about Swedish House Mafia at all only the trouble in Ireland and parts of the Uk was not replicated in other European Cities.

Should the reasons for this not be fully examined and sorted.

But then maybe we will find that MCD, Gardai, judges who think they’re funny but not, the RSA, financial regulators, bankers, politicians and every one else is not responsible for the actions of the minority in this county who through good times and bad times just want to cause trouble

• Ah hindsight, what can’t it show us? As I understand it the Guards are not exceptional in their dealings for these events and make it quite costly for their services. Given the pressure MCD are always under for their pricing, I’m sure they were trying to do what was best for everyone.

At the end of the day, someone committed to senseless violence will find a way. Without everyone suffering the consequences (eg – airports) a ‘will’ will always find a way.

Just typical politics – find a scapegoat to blame rather than focus on the p*ick with the knife.

• Have the guards no policed hundreds of concerts in Ireland over the years without any major problems?

MCD a commercial organisation are gonna cut corners to increase profit if possible.

• Have MCD not staged thousands of gigs for more than 20 years in Ireland? 1 incident doesn’t detract from that and they shouldn’t get the blame for one persons insanity just because the Garda need a scapegoat. Blame the stabber!

• It is the stabbers fault of course Robert . but this is far from a once off from MCD! They’ve just managed to gag people from speaking about the other times!

• Wasn’t at it either but have no doubt there was little Garda presence, MCD gotta pay for the Gardai and the government pay the balance and I can’t see either of these two wanting to pay up.

And I agree MCD have hosted many concert without incident but hosting is different to policing and you did say the Guards are not exceptional in dealing with these events I just wondered what u mean

• Ah I don’t know, I’ve been to well over 100 MCD gigs since 92 and never saw any trouble (apart from the occasional transport mess up – AC/DC). Almost always well organised, great shows.

The guards are passing the buck far too much in this report. Must be nice to have MCD to blame, whats their excuse for not protecting major trouble spots around the country every other day?

• Hi Vinny, I’ve heard from people before how much it costs to have guards on air and it’s pretty ridiculous. If any promoter or Gard wants to jump in with rates – feel free.

• @robert was your first concert Guns n Roses by any chance 1992?

• I wish, but better. Def Leppard @ The Point!

• First concert for me was slane 92 Guns n roses, and the only problem I’ve ever had at a concert in the 20 years since was guns n roses walked off in the 02. MCD refused to refund people even after the house lights coming on and MCD stewards telling people to leave. And to be honest the whole “they played the set was a cop out”

• And yes at the end of the day it’s the trouble makers and no one else that needs to be dealt with

• Ahhh, I best not comment on that one. I thought Axl should have stated off after people starting bottling him. Did you stay till the end?

• Stay till the end? I drove out the north side of the Port Tunnel and heard they were back in stage. Was sick but went to their show in the MEN Arena a few weeks later. Their recent gig in the 02 was great, he really made the effort to make up for the last one. Saw a couple of Guards chillin with the fans too which is good to see

• @Robert, I don’t want to be getting off the point here, but how the Christ are def leppard better than guns n roses

• Easy Brian, Def Leppard are the greatest band of all time so they’re better than everyone :p

• I was at The Stone Roses gigs in Heaton Park and Pheonix Park within a few days of each other. Same band, same aged fans, similar venue etc but the difference between the two crowds was HUGE!!!
    We have a serious social order problem in this country and people need to wake up and stop trying to pass the buck! It’s not the job of MCD or the Gardai to teach people basic manners and how to behave when out in public!!

• This is Garda report is a sham. Note that it makes no references to the presence of their own police plan for the arena and the environs, who their event “commander” was and the number, role and deployment of Gardai on the day. It makes no reference to the Gardai that MCD were paying for and public duty Gardai. There are no tables of arrests or Garda activity on the 7th compared with the other two events (or indeed benchmarked against an average).

What is really important to note is that the Garda had FOUR MONTHS notice of the Swedish House Mafia gig and yet claim to not have known about the audience profile. Yet, they admit to deploying two public order units into the arena (presumably at the promoter expense) on July 7th. This is seems to be a badly thought out move when you generally only deploy public order units in confrontational situations. Where were the regular Gardai doing general visible police work? Nowhere to be seen it would appear.

• What this report is trying to say without saying it (using words like ‘demographic’) is that while its not applicable to everyone, a large part of the crowd that is attracted to dance music are the type who have no problem about pulling out a knife at the slightest provacation. MCD have hosted hundreds/thousands of rock concerts without major incident. Dance music listeners tend to of a different socioeconomic class for whom drugs,drink and casual violence is commonplace.

• Mike 02/08/12 #

Incompetence, ignorance and inexperience from both sides. Total shambles. Dysfunctional Éire.

• It’s up to MCD. they are organising the event and it is their responsibility to ensure the safety of the people that come into their events. They are responsible for the security and should have organised it accordingly with the guards and increased their own security.

• I saw gangs of kids drinking in public on the streets outside the park and in the carpark of a well known pub from early on the day of the gig, that’s not MCDs problem, it was a public order issue which the guards fail to act on, despite complaints from residents.

• IMO it was impossible to police the amount of people attending all 3 gigs, there was a marked difference in the way people were allowed to access the phoenix park during the July gigs, in the past the vast bulk of fans were directed through the main gates at castleknock & parkgate street & not allowed access the park through the smaller gates along blackhorse avenue & ashtown which happened in July, this was a major mistake & local pubs cashed in on this & made a killing by setting up outdoor bars selling cheap cans of beer to anyone who could pay for it, a lot of attention has been paid to the violence at the Saturday gig but the Thurs & Sun gigs although not marked by the same violent behavior were as bad in every other respect, pissing, craping & dumping empty cans & plastic beer glasses in residents gardens & damaging residents cars. The music volume at all 3 gigs was far louder then in the past & the staff at the local Daughters of Charity facility who care for people with intellectual disabilities reported that the residential service users became extremely stressed as a result of the loud music & it was some days before things at the centre returned to normal. The Minister with responsibility for the Phoenix Park is Brian Hayes FG & he has stated that gigs “will continue in the park & we should not let the behavior of 1 or 2 people ruin it” he would not say how much MCD paid the OPW ( his dept ) for the use of the venue because he said it’s “sensitive information ” ….what an arrogant little man.

• MCD oversell their venues everytime. They are a money machine. but their gigs are overcrowded and not enjoyable because of it. I learned my lesson years ago and avoid mcd gigs like I avoid flying Ryanair. As much as possible.

• So was it not fit for the Stone Roses & Florence either?

• As often the case there are too many voices and too many decision makers with too many people to be satisfied and at the end nobody is truly in charge and responsible while the blame game goes on and on .

• We will continue to see licences being issued to these kind of promoters for unsuitable venues along with poor regulation of our banks and other corporate affairs when large amounts of money are involved and there’s a lack of transparency regarding corporate financial support of political parties. It’s that simple.

• I think it is high time we stopped giving out licences to these dance events. Every time I open a paper I read about drug oding and people off their heads fighting to kill each other at them.

• The gardai are bloody useless! Too busy in rossport making comments about rape and beating people!

Add New Comment