TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Update: Nine stabbed at Phoenix Park concert

One man has been arrested as part of an investigation into nine stabbing incidents at the Swedish House Mafia concert.

Swedish House Mafia perform at Phoenix Park last night.
Image: MCD via Twitter

Update 4.45pm

GARDAÍ NOW SAY that nine people were stabbed at the Swedish House Mafia concert in the Phoenix Park in Dublin last night.

They’re continuing to hold a man in connection with the stabbing incidents. The 23-year-old man is being detained at Blanchardstown Garda Station under section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

Three men remain in Connolly Hospital in Dublin today following the incidents which occurred between 8.30pm and 1am last night.

The nine victims are all aged in their late teens or early 20s and are all male, Gardaí say.

Gardaí say that nobody died as a result of any of the stabbing incidents.

They have appealed for any witnesses to any incidents to contact them at Blanchardstown Garda Station on 01 666 7000, the Garda Confidential Line 1 800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

- Additional reporting by Emer McLysaght

Read: Three die from overdoses including one who collapsed at Phoenix Park gig

Read next:

Comments (196 Comments)

• Its a sad state of affairs when you cant just go to a concert and presume your own safety

• i went with my boyfriend yesterday and had to leave halfway through. It was scary how out of control the crowd was… fighting taking drugs in broad daylight, people collapsing all over the place. Just horrible to witness

• SMcB 08/07/12 #

What the fup were MCD at???

• Now lets not start swinging blame at MCD. I was there last night as a reviewer and it was one of the most well staffed and heavily policed security teams Ive ever seen at a gig, and they DID turf a lot of people out and deal with things strongly. The reality is the sheer scale made it impossible for them to counter everything (or even see everything).

• I left early as well I found the atmosphere of the whole concert very frightening you could literally feel the build up of Agro in the place..people literally trying to piss people the didn’t know off..people hugging others while covered in mud!? Didn’t go to shm to have a mud bath! Didn’t even get to see them play ? I don’t think there’s any one thing to blame but what definitely didn’t help was the gap in between acts there was people trying to cause trouble to pass the time!

• Who were you reviewing for, I wouldnt mind giving it a read.

• expected this. town was full of skangers off their face by two yesterday getting excira about going to de perrkk

• peter 08/07/12 #

Reminds me of an incident in the point many years ago when some nut job slashed people at a rave.

• KNACK ATTACK!!!!!!

• Davey 08/07/12 #

I reckon it was caused by over-simplification.

Seriously though, drink, drugs or repetitive music don’t make you stab people. Anything from a total lack of empathy to actual psychosis is more likely to be the defining characteristic. Being able to get lost in the crowd just makes it easier.

• Why can’t people just go out and have a great time? Imagine waking up this morning knowing you had badly hurt seven people and probably affected them for the long term .Do these people have no conscious? So awful!

• That’s the agenda for a popular phone in show on rte radio 1 at 1.45 on Monday sorted then

• holy shit… sounds like oxegen…messy!

• As with everything else if a person is stupid and nasty sober, they’re going to be twice as bad under the influence of something. What do you think they’re taking? Not into the drugs personally but I’ve been around people who are and nothing bad ever happened really, never seen someone off their tit on mdma punch someone for spilling a tiny bit of drink on them for example, I’ve seen this numerous times with alcohol. Surely in these recessionary times they all can’t be coked out of it? Pretty sure that some sections of society are not aware that throwing a shit load of chemicals down your throat in quick succession means your making a whole new and sometimes toxic chemical in your stomach. Surely its what ever they are taking PLUS alcohol that’s turning people into the barbarians you speak of. The young and dumb really need more education than drugs and alcohol are bad mmmm’kay…

• Myself & my mates had a great day yesterday, we stuck together & had the craic-weather was amazing, music was brilliant but jesus it was messy, I don’t think I’ve ever seen as many people out of their heads.. so many people even in the mid/back being dragged unconcious over the barrier to the security who were completely overwhlemed with what was happening. Too many limp bodies being pushed on top of them, at one point they were telling people to bring the bodies elsewhere…On the way out a young fella in front of me picked up an empty glass bottle & put it in his pocket.. I doubt it was headed for a bin.Such a pity .. the one day we have glorious sunshine & massive international artists playing in our fab park and there’s that bad press. Roll on this afternoon, hope it’s a more chilled out crowd, i’d trade the sun for that :)

• I was there yesterday and to the people blaming the government or the gardai etc. I say they didn’t put the alcohol in these people’s hands or make them behave the way they did.
    These people were not as young as people on here seem to think either. What on earth has happened to irish society?? Grown men and women acting like drunken louts. I’m amazed there was nobody killed with the behaviour at that concert. I hardly saw a single person who wasn’t wandering out onto main roads and drinking on the street.
    A disgrace…

• Garda are meant to be policing these events and obviously they either don’t have the resources to clamp down on the drugs/ drink related behaviour or they need to re think the way these events are handled in the future. .. How responsible also is the promoter of the gig for these incidents??
      Incidentally I was sitting in the sun last Saturday in a park in Berlin, people about chilling with friends, beer bottles in hands.. Someone collecting empty bottles.. Possibly to get deposit back for the recycling.. No trouble.. Was so nice chilling there until my partner told me about the nose biting back in Dublin.
      Society is less equal here, there’s an underlying stress/ aggression in all classes, or often a basic lack of regard or understanding for others. Basic rights are being neglected by government on a daily basis in all areas.. If people would take a look at the regulations / directives from Europe as to our rights they’d see in many areas that irish governments have most likely been failing miserably re civic / social responsibilities.
      Banking crisis is only just highlighting our ruling class’s priorities /lack of regard there is for actually managing a country and that millions of people are directly affected by this negligence!

• I agree with most of your points Ruth but people knowing how to socially behave is not the responsibility of the system. People need to be made accountable for their own actions too.
      The banking crisis and political corruption had nothing to do with what happened yesterday.
      Blame games solve nothing, everyone needs to accept their share of responsibility including the people who actually committ acts like the ones yesterday by a very large number of people. The stabbings are the most extreme examples but I’d be more worried about thousands of people’s unwillingness to act responsibly

• Yes, it’s a free country and we’d all like to see people acting their age rather than their shoe size. I agree.
      But I still think the system we have here is pretty responsible, indeed I see a mindset across the board that doesn’t take responsibility, otherwise we would be witnessing radical changes in government. All were seeing are radical cuts.
      Here’s an analogy, the last government overdosed on the most extravagant self gratification and now there’s no money left for feeding the “Kids”, managing the “housekeeping” or administering some law and order.
      But that’s simplistic, the systematic neglect of communities has been going on for generations but, well I’ve had my vent…

• It’s unfortunate that this genre of music has adopted this crowd of followers. It was a similar story last year when Oxygen tried to get away from it’s indie/rock roots to something a little more chart which just brought the wrong crowd. We’ll see the difference tonight when Florence takes to the stage.

• Unfortunately it has little to do with drugs, booze, music, guns, knives, or the lack of a Garda presence. Humans are too quick to place the blame of the actions of humans on external factors. It has to do with the fact that the person (or persons) who carried out these attacks is, or are, psychopaths or sociopaths or a bit of both, and are unfit to be members of society.

I would be very surprised if, when the investigation is complete, whoever carried out this attack doesn’t have a crime record as long as me arm and shouldn’t have been even outside yesterday, let alone at a concert with thousands of other people. Its about time we kept people that have no intention of changing their ways locked up for good.

• Well, in relation to your comment, “It’s about time we kept people that have no intention of changing their ways locked up for good …”, I think that the incarceration system in this country is bursting at the seams as it is. The entire prison regime needs to be overhauled, such as house arrest/curfews enforced by electronic tagging for minor offences, e.g. non-payment of fines, etc, etc. There should be a dedicated prison for hardened criminals subject to a very draconian regime – some of these criminals have a very lenient time in prison – and minor offences should be invariably punished through community service, curfews, punitive fines proportionate to the net disposable income of the offender, and – controversially – capital punishment should be reinstated for a limited range of heinous offences. Therefore, prison should be reserved solely for persons engaging in very serious crimes, such as drug/people trafficking, homicides, organised criminality (upper echelons only), etc, etc. Petty offences would probably incur a “3-strike-rule” – 3 offences, and to jail you go, otherwise community service. And capital punishment should be re-introduced!

• It costs around €250 for a handheld metal detector and about 5 seconds to scan a person. There’s no personal invasion and if you have a metal object such as a knife you don’t get in. nNot a bad idea for the guards too a quick swipe front and back and arrest those carrying knifes.

• @amy it was a can you had not drugs or a knife, it’s called Garda discretion, I’m sure you were delighted to be let through the barriers! You’d have spent most of the night queuing at the bar otherwise. The guards are well aware of the different types of crowds going to stone roses and shm gigs and police both differently. You obviously don’t look the type to cause trouble or I’ve no doubt they’d have taken it off you. Just hoping I get the same guard at the gig tonight! :-)

• I doubt it after last night! In fairness, we were shocked. We had no intention of bringing cans in, we just brought one each for the walk from Myo’s, but because there were no bins along the way we couldn’t discard them. But as you said, we arent and dont look like trouble makers so maybe that was the difference. Hope you enjoy it tonight and theres no trouble!

• Was at the Stone Roses on Thursday…much older crowd……yeah there were plenty of people drinking but there was a great atmosphere and the crowd were brilliant……no lighting on the LONG walk out of the park…….very little flooring underfoot and the bars were ridiculously run……but the concert itself was AWESOME…..
    The SHM was always gonna attract a bad element in the crowd…….shame that these people should ruin peoples night out. I suppose children and alcohol don’t really mix…..
    I wouldn’t like to be up there for Snow Patrol today……less trouble I’d say but the mud…ooooh it’ll be really messy

• I’d say the roses gig was class. From what I can gather, techno gigs are always going to attract a higher amount of drug users, especially the harder stuff. Been to so many gigs before and have never seen serious drug abuse go on, evidently a very small minority. Rip to the young lads mind you, just out for a good time

• Darragh, techno gigs aren’t really all that messy, here in Ireland at least the techno gigs attract a slightly more mature audience less interested in making a mess of themselves and more interested in the music. There will most likely be drugs, but not very many going overboard. Kinda like those people who can have a few drinks without getting paralytic.

Trance, house and all their variations are a different matter altogether, while techno remains largely underground, these genres are more popular and have a wider audience – and so if you’re gonna see the truly muntered sucking their eyebrows and lying at the side of the floor it’s more likely a trance / house gig :)

• 2 stone roses gigs with no trouble…. Just goes to show music fans in their 30s and 40s are a better crowd…

• Emmie 08/07/12 #

I feel like an oul wan saying ‘I agree’. And I’m in my early 20s!

Really wish we could all go back to the 50s and early 60s style of enjoying ourselves.

• Sadly, the reasons for this carry on go back decades, when
      we have allowed this ‘element’ of society not only to develop
      in place like the so called ‘north side’, but to allow a generation
      living on benefit to have children. Drink drugs violence is now
      a way of life for an increasingly large section of irish society.
      It’s a way of life hand down from parents, and most worryingly,
      this demographic is the chief reason that ireland has still
      got one of the highest birth-rates in europe. Crow all you like
      about how ‘terrrible’ this is, but don’t expect it to go away,
      or to be dealt with by anyone in irish politics.

Aside from our profound ability to reproduce, ireland’s other
      great product is the brain drain. The only kind of imaginative
      thinkers we have in ireland, leave. They do not go into
      government. The government is for midlandian opportunists
      like sean gallagher, who want to drive their big cars, and sell
      housing estates, where we can spawn the next generation
      of party going welfare teens. Go Ireland.

• Mattser 09/07/12 #

Michael, I’d say if we put someone like you in charge, we would be looking at ethnic cleansing as the solution to our problems. I’d imagine you are all for breeding a master race of Dublin south siders and prior to anyone being permitted to proceed with a pregnancy, their bank account would need to be thoroughly checked to ensure they have an income exceeding €100k per year. You are an idiot.

• Was in the park last night and it looked like a warzone! hopefully tonight goes without incident.

• There was another rumor that a girl was beaten up by a gang of girls.

Agreeing with many of the sentiments here, especially about going to an event with the presumption of safety. Given the number of incidents, it certainly seems there’s an element who went simply to cause trouble and harm others. That in itself is disturbing. That element has always existed but it seems to have gotten larger and worse in recent times.

I hope those affected recover well. I also hope that those responsible for what has happened reflect on what they have done with remorse and guilt, for the benefit of all.

• Having travelled around the Phoenix Park at 4pm yesterday, I can only conclude that the Gardai have given up on trying to police the city. I witnessed hundreds of drunken teenagers descending on the park openly swigging from beer bottles and urinating in gardens with Blackhorse Avenue being particularly bad. The steps of the Criminal Courts complex at Parkgate Street were filled with teenagers – all drinking and many smoking hash. Some were smashing their bottles on the steps when they were finished with them! There were NO gardai – not a single one – on duty anywhere outside the park to maintain some sort of order. I encountered one traffic Garda stopped at traffic lights on Infirmary Road and, pointing to the steps of the courts, asked him if there was anyone policing this chaos. All he could do was shrug his shoulders. That said it all for me.

• I live on the Navan road and one guy outside my house last night at 8 pm who was absolutely wasted either on drink or drugs. He was shirtless, covered head to toe in mud, ranting to himself and staggering out in front of traffic. Clearly a danger to himself and others, there was a serious lack of Garda presence in the surrounds of the park.nnAnyone with half a clue could of told you last nights gig was going to attract a rougher crowd than the stone roses on Thursday. Gardai should of been better prepared.

• Brian 08/07/12 #

Stone Roses 1 Swedish House Mafia 0

• mcd are keeping quiet as they did when people were put in danger at Oxegen a few years ago ….heaven forbid they use some of there hefty profits to protect people ..sure whats a life or two?

• whoever has been arrested over this should have his face on the front page of every paper!
    next time people may think twice about doing such stupid and dangerous things!

• A certain element of our society love these kind of gigs and go with the intention to get wasted and cause trouble. I’ve worked at countless similar events and if it’s not stabbings it’s beatings. Im by no means saying everyone who went last night was in the gum chewing/ saucer pupils brigade but Its no surprise it happened.

• Roll on tonight, although I’d say there will be a different type of people!

• And I’m sure your parent’s generation said the same of yours and theirs before them! People haven’t fundamentally changed over the last number of years, and I’m sure the present crop of young people will complain that their off-spring are the worst shower since the beginning of time. It’s just a generational dance that we do!!!’

• Jim 08/07/12 #

I’m not surprised at this. I was on the Luas yesterday and it was 10 times worse than a frat party until Heuston Station.

• I think you will find that it was a 23 year old male who committed this crime, not one of those ‘unruly feckless teens’ you seem to dislike. Young adult not a teen!

• Lock him up

• terrible when you go to a concert to enjoy yourself and some nut job goes round stabbing people! didn’t something similar happen at oxygen a few years back?

(i can’t find any other news site reporting on this so far)

• It seems there’s a lot to be said for a Daniel O’Donnell gig …

• I foolishly went for a run yesterday in the Phoenix park around 12pm. Big mistake. Very intimidating! While a lot of people were clearly drunk (& smashing empty bottles on the road for fun), there was a huge percentage totally out of it on drugs. Im just glad I wasn’t still there 12 hrs later

• Different bands attract different crowds. I was working at Metallica few years ago. Best behaved crowd you could find. The next night the attic monkeys and every skanger in the city at it lots of fights. Rammstien had a great crowd to as did cold play and snow patrol. Snoop dog or eminem there is always gonna be trouble.

• I hear you. I’m a massive arctic monkeys fan and couldn’t believe the ridiculous behavior of some of the crowd in both malahide in 2007 and the point in 2009. Seems like more mainstream acts (not that Metallica aren’t popular but they wouldnt dominate the airwaves like the arctic monkeys used to or eminem does) seem to get more of a rough crowd

• I know. I was at that Metallica gig and it was great bant. funny thing is; I went to see SHM in Ibiza and it was a great atmosphere too. It’s just something about our psyche that this crap happens over here.
      Ive been to a few overseas festivals but I’ve never seen anything as bad as the skangers who go to some concerts here (most obvious being Oxegen).

• There’s something very wrong with this country and it’s young people. The people involved with these stabbings brought a knife/weapon along to a concert with the intention of hurting some one else. This really is disturbing.
    Plus I’m not too sure about the laws here but, all drinking in public places should be banned and strictly enforced.
    Security on the gates for these types of events should be stepped up with stricter searches.

• How about the parents having some responsibility for the values instilled in their off spring.

• Same old nonsense there Eamonn. Tens of thousands of well oiled souls roamed the streets of Galway this week and no stabbings. Next thing you know you’ll be blaming the daemon drink for last year’s burning of London.

• I don’t get it, Mr. McCann. What does that mean? What is that going to accomplish? What is it that parents can do to bring back the dead, to heal the stab wounds? What is it that “accepting responsibility” is going to do on the ground in Phoenix Park? Are they supposed to get up on the stage and rend their garments? What the flock are you talking about? The stabbers and most of the dead were of legal age. Do your grandparents accept responsibility for any run-ins you have with the law? Are you talking about parents paying fines because their offspring misbehaved? What exactly, are you talking about?

• I don’t think that’s what he is trying to say Seamus, what he’s saying is that parents are responsible for bringing their kids up to know that, lets say, stabbing someone is bad, umkay!

• I mean Seamus I have 5 sons and they are good lads. I know they are not saints but I also know that they would never behave in such an antisocial manner. I have hopefully taught them to be respectful of others and behave like men. Society should expect that parents bring their kids up in a manner that produces well adjusted citizens as most people do. Love and support work best and the odd clip round the ear helps underscore the occasional point.

• Down with this type of thing

• Was it me or could I hear music at 12 and im in rathfarnham

• wow. face the facts peeps, theres a massive problem with our society. we have thousands of these fkrs roaming the streets. dont blame the music or the drugs, they are not the root cause. iv been to loads of festivals and now only hit the picnic every year due to these aholes. its about school, jobs, accountability, punishment and not the boghole we live in where law only applies to people who respect it. honest to Jesus, I find this sht more depressing and scary than anything to do with the economy. no dole for anyone whos never worked, and having to say that makes me sick. truth of it is, its always young scobes and im fkng sick of them.

• What kind of sick bastard actually brings a knife out with them in the first place? I hope he gets buggered daily in prison.

• there was a guy doing that at oxegen last year going around slashing people but he was never caught , wonder is it connected

• Amazing contrast between the peace and love atmosphere of the Roses and the almost murderous rampaging of last night. I think a lot of the answers can be found in the lyrical content. I’d love to sit down with the most ardent of snoop fans and song for song discuss the merits of his music. “I’m a Bad Boy, wit a lotta ho’s, Drive my own cars, and wear my own clothes”… Well done, snoopy.

• Arrived at concert via luas that had no security on it at all ? On the long walk to the entrance there was only traffic controll police, on entering the gig we were give a very light pat down not enough IMO. Yes we will always get problem people at large events it’s the place of policing and event security that was lacking no bag search or pocket search THIS is what needs to be addressed !

• Where were the guards? etc etc…
    Well, the ones who were due to work were up to their eyes with the normal weekend crap, every station in the city, already madly under staffed, had to send people into the park and it wasn’t even close to enough, and where were the guards who were off duty? at home with a calculator and a stack of bills trying to figure out how they were going to make their next mortgage payment because the Garda overtime budget is gone for anything but murders and high profile fraud cases. ()

• not that people being able to walk the streets of the capital on a Saturday afternoon and feel safe should be a priority or anything! had the money been spent on overtime to help prevent things like this then much less would be spent in the long run when you take into account the cost of the resulting investigations and the damage to the reputation of the city regarding tourism etc.

• I was there last night… Unfortunately u are right… I have seen so many inappropriate behaviours, absolutely disgusting. i feel so sorry about Ireland’s future..

• random 08/07/12 #

I’ve never seen anybody on drugs do anything violent. Not that there aren’t some drugs that might cause that effect, I just haven’t witnessed it. On the other hand, I was walking to work in a Galway nightclub one night a few years back and some drunken lout punched me in the back of the head for no reason. I was nearly assaulted once while working that job, and witnessed more assaults by drunken people than I can count. Another time on a night out one of my friends, a friendly, reasonable guy when sober, was threatening to glass somebody after a confrontation that he himself provoked with his idiotic behaviour, and he had only been drinking.

• random 08/07/12 #

This was supposed to be a reply to Paddy the Penguin above, but it seems the comment thread has become all messed up.

• I know of one person who stabbed someone while out of his head, a friends cousin.
      They’d been drinking and taken a few pills and they started arguing over the music and he stabbed his best friend.

The problem there wasn’t so much the drugs, nor the alcohol, nor the music. It was the fact that in his mind violence was an acceptable way to end the conflict. That was in his mind one way or another. He regretted it, his best friend died – and he’s gonna live with that for the rest of his life, as he should, because stabbing someone else is wrong. Getting violent with others is wrong.

How on earth do we have such a large portion of our society who don’t understand that?
      This is evidenced by the amount of aggressive, violent kids we have. They don’t even need to be inebriated in order to be shouting abuse at people on the street, getting in people’s faces and smashing things up.. Give them something that lowers their inhibitions? That’s just asking for trouble.

The violence is a problem all by itself, you could make Ireland a 100% dry country and you would still get violence. So perhaps we should be trying to deal with that.

• It looks like you are making this point:
      Drugs are ok, Drink is bad.

That is a pretty helpful comment.
      Well done.

• random 09/07/12 #

Nah, I’d never express an opinion that lacking in nuance. I was in fact responding to a comment that made the exact opposite claim to what you said, i.e. drugs are bad, drink is ok. My actual position would be more like “some drugs are ok for some people sometimes, drink is ok for some people sometimes.” Both alcohol and drugs can have negative effects on the individual and society, I think it’s a bit ridiculous to try to deny that.

• That’s exactly right Random.

• Bryan 08/07/12 #

Anyone found even carrying a knife should be severely punished. I saw an attack years ago where the girl carried it for her boyfriend in her bag. Gardai should be randomly searching as they walk the streets. If you carry a knife it should be thought of as murder that the crime has already been committed.

• MCD say that people were searched at the entrances. Not so. Only those carrying backpacks were required to show the contents. At no point did I see personnel searching customers for prohibited objects on their person.

• Such boorish behaviour

• It’s funny how people jump to the conclusion that drugs are behind it, when it’s most likely alcohol would be the cause of aggression . . . .

• How can these things happen,? especially at an event people attend to enjoy themselves. What sort of society have we created?? Something needs to be done.

• Should have been renamed Skangerfest aswell as the majority of people going to this are gurriers who are on the dole, yet can afford tickets, booze and drugs.

Oh the joys of my taxes going to pay for their lovely interest in music of an exceptionally sh1te nature..

• We should also appreciate those that saved for their own tickets & transport with money honestly earned & attended just for the music, succeeding in avoiding trouble, which was easily achievable yesterday & I’m speaking from experience. Not all of us went to act the fool, some of us enjoy electronic dance music, so fear not, your money certainly did not pay for my ticket or many many others’ for that matter.

• I think we already are in fairness, sure all the youngsters are on the ketamine these days

• That shm was a recipe for trouble

• Why are there no metal detectors at these gigs? Airport like security could be the way forward to stop this happening again

• they had metal detectors at the roses gig Thursday but were only screening random people and not every single person passing through the gate. to be honest i think mcd do have alot to answer for in regards to their concert organisation but can’t really blame them for drug over doses and some mad man going around stabbing people for no reason… i hope all the victims recover speedily especially mentally, it Will be hard to get over something like that! and condolences to the family of the drug od victim we all make mistakes…

• Liberal?

• Trev 08/07/12 #

Regarding searching at the gig, I’ve been told the majority of incidents happened in the public area of the park not the concert zone

• @ ferg. Totally agree. Been to concerts like this the world over and never seen anything like the crowd I saw on saturday ( clearly not everyone- I met nice people there too) Yes the stabbings are awful but so many other sights I saw at that concert were horrendous- ashamed to call myself Irish and watch tricolours being waved at the concet!

• Careful now.

• And this is why I don’t go to gigs or festivals in Ireland anymore.

• Yeah but just those nut jobs go to oxegen too just because they can cause huge problems and hide easily. Stabbing a and at least one reported rape at oxegen last year.

But really it’s the type of music that can really attract them. I don’t think we would get same problem at celine dion or west life gig :p

• I went to one of these concerts many moons ago and it was wall to wall drugs and from what I hear it is still the same way.

So much for the modern Irish society, supposedly well educated and cant use their brains and say oh I am going to consume posion which could potentially kill me..

Oh modern idiot society..

• Not a blade of grass in the place either. *sighs*

• This sounds like a case for The Hardly Boys.
    Two young whippersnappers with a knack for solving mysteries!!

• the whole thing is a mess !

• Looks like a new wave of drugs driving kids nuts. Was it last week, a girl was bitten in Dublin. Something not tight.

• I can perfectly understand people’s anger and upset – somebody could have been killed of course! But its surprising and disappointing how people are just simply making the presumption drugs and/or alcohol were responsible for this. Thats very simplistic. Who knows? Why were the other thousands who were drunk or stoned not stabbing people all round them. Clearly a very unstable young man in need of help himself. Doesn’t help to blindly judge.

• i don’t understand all the red thumbs its scandalous behaviour are people condoning it or something.

• Was in a&e in blanch hosp lastnight and seen for myself what happened at lastnights gig in the phoenix pk. Stab wounds broken bones you name it came through those doors. Some had been attacked early in the evening. I seen parents arriving in worried sick cause they got phone calls from their kids saying they were in hosp after being attacked. One poor lad got stabbed in the back for no reason! Plenty were brought in cause they made pigs of themselves with drink and drugs and took up valuable hosp beds to sleep it off. As a result of this the likes of my mother who was genuinely sick had to sit on a chair for 8 hrs while these pissheads slept off their hangovers!

• Blanket on the floor and turned on their side followed by a phone call to their parents (if applicable) is all the attention they should get if they overindulge.

• It’s an illness of society. You give people nothing but shite estates with no hope thrown together and treated like criminals before they do anything in the first place, while the rich take the money and run, there’s bound to be some lunatic who goes out and crosses the line. Focus on more facilities and care for the poorer areas and maybe people won’t act like animals against a society they don’t care about anymore, cause they don’t feel they’re any part of it. You look and point at a problem while blaming drink blaming drugs blaming music blaming everything except the fact that it’s the divisions between the haves and the have nots. And the haves couldn’t give a crap about the have nots only to make sure their portion of the pie is getting larger. It’s totally messed up people can’t go to a gig without being stabbed. It’s not what the music is about. There’s a serious illness that’s only gonna get worse if the underlying core issue of equality isn’t sorted out. A society unequal is a society at odds with itself.

• Are the have nots the employed or the unemployed in your mind?
      Ireland has one of the most generous welfare systems in the world for people who either can’t or won’t work and it’s terribly regulated and widely manipulated by these “victims”. Too many excuses being made for these people. They’re a disgrace and no amount of facilities will change that. Spend a few years around them rather than watching from the sidelines and you’ll know that

• @jim one of the few comments that actually makes sense …..!!

• I’m being idealistic to be fair. I have lived in Dublin for years. Wasn’t on the sideline, working in many areas, but I’m a have when it comes to being lucky enough to have folks that put me through college. I’ve travelled since. I’ve been lucky. This might sound ridiculous, tree hugging, and I might be wrong, but one thing I noticed when living in Dublin is how little green life there is in the poorer areas. Richer areas, but especially outside Dublin, covered in trees, kids could grow up a bit more natural. For a country as green as Ireland is, the estates are concrete, grey, lifeless. I remember reading how there was an attempt to get trees growing on one of the worst estates, but the kids there pulled them all up! Not knowing what an effect an area full of life can do. By facilities I mean state provided, and business provided, same as in richer areas, but also natural facilities. Get some trees up there for kids to climb, young adults to relax a bit in, older people to enjoy, rather than living in concrete grey lifeless areas, cut off from all things natural and green like the rest of the country gets to enjoy. I’d imagine if there was an all out plant the crap out of the place, a lot would be destroyed before chance to grow, there’d be heroin addicts od’ing amongst the bushes, under age drinking, all the rest of it, but if it was there now, would be a nicer place to live in. It’s a complicated issue of course and takes more than planting a few trees, but it is one thing I noticed. The greyness isn’t good for the soul!

• Have the Irish people gone mad, really I know times are tough get your bloody act together.

• My comment seems to have been removed I presume it was by mistake…….

• Was it the same person that stabbed all 9 people? Guess that would make more sense really, and it could have happened anywhere.

• @Thinkshpake I’m assuming they haven’t,I’m sure a bloke that goes around stabbing 9 people is going to be spotted by someone at some stage !!!

• did it occur to you that there might be more than one?
      All watching each other’s backs? that’s obviously how it happened.
      There are plenty of decent young lads in ireland who will
      help out when they see a crime happening.

I would really like to see these guys given some corporal punishment
      in the street.

• Choir Boys comes to mind!!

• Going into the stone roses gig on Thursday with a can in my hand, fully expecting to have to give it to the three gardai manning the first gate, I was told “if I don’t see it, it isn’t there, hide it in your pocket or something”. If this was the guards attitude at the gig last night too, the trouble does not surprise me at all. Ffs they are there to police the event!

• Conor I have nothing but compassion and understanding for the victims in this. You are (again) making the presumption that I’m not. If you read again, I said I understand people’s anger and upset – if it was my brother, son etc that was stabbed I would want justice and asking the same questions – where was the control and authority , and how was someone with a knife let in etc ? BUT my point being that people are making a hell of a lot of presumptions and passing judgement based on those presumptions that don’t help. Look on the other side Conor – if it was your brother or son that did this … for whatever reason and whatever was the fuel. He could possibly be a down right nasty individual and all was premeditated, may be that he’s not – unstabled, paranoid …. As I said who knows? Just doesn’t help being self righteous ;)

• Fair enough, but today is the day to look after the victims. We can deal with rehabilitating the criminal tomorrow. Clearly something has gone wrong in our society where an individual has been allowed to get to a point where he can commit seven heinous acts in a short time-frame. He does however have to bear some personal responsibility for his actions and needs to display a level of empathy towards his victims and society at large for his acts. As citizens in a society we have fundamental rights, but in order to maintain this entitlement, individuals have responsibilities to bear too!

• You can make choices in life, that guy made the wrong choice and I hope he gets punished accordingly and if my son did that it would be no different but some how I think I’ve been a good enough parent to teach my kids right from wrong

• Rumours going around twitter that it was a lot more stabbed and two died!

Hopefully there’s no truth to that!

• the teens of 30/40 years ago have ruined this country already there wont be much left to mess up when these teens reach an age to run a country

• It is about time the young people of today and the older people also, realise the importance of integrity, Integrity begins with Love, Respect, and belife in God the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Lets get it right, in this day and age; their are so many hypocrits out their, and society plays along. Lets stand up for the real; and true Irish, like Saint Oliver Plunkett, who gave his life for his Faith. Saint Oliver Plunkett, please pray for all the young; and not so young, of Ireland today. May God forgive them “They know not what they do” Jesus said at the age of 33.Amen

• Every action causes a reaction these poor boys didn’t get the right one and for the stabbing who brings a knife out to go and enjoy themselves

• Not a mention of this on any other website or news corporation, drama for the sake of it from the journal maybe? Wouldn’t be the first time.

• Is there some way we can send the young fellow to Stanford and enroll him in that class…you know, the one that costs $47,000?

Add New Comment