TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Dissident republicans ‘attempted to acquire rocket launchers and missiles’ ahead of Queen’s visit

The developments will mean that, controversially, British police protection officers will carry firearms on the streets of Dublin next week, according to The Times newspaper.

Queen Elizabeth II
Image: Christopher Furlong/PA Wire/Press Association Images

DISSIDENT REPUBLICANS ATTEMPTED to acquire rocket launchers and missiles sparking fresh security fears over the Queen’s visit to Ireland next week.

The Times (subscription required) is reporting that security has been stepped up in response to the development that dissident republicans were seeking to buy arms in recent weeks. There is increased surveillance of dissidents in light of this development.

Such are the security risks, the paper reports that the British Metropolitan Police royalty protection officers who will accompany the Queen will carry firearms on the streets of Dublin – a highly controversial move that comes following “difficult negotiations” with the Irish government.

Dissident republican activity has been increasing in recent weeks ahead of the historic visit – the first by a British monarch in 100 years.

The duration of the four-day visit of the Queen is already reported to be some cause for concern amongst security services.

Whilst, the scale of the operation is made all the more complex by the overlapping visit of British Prime Minister David Cameron.

US president Barack Obama will also visit the following week. On Friday, a man was arrested in connection with threats to kill or cause harm to Obama during his two-day visit.

Up to 10,000 security services will be deployed for the two visits – 8,000 gardaí and 1,500 members of the Irish Defence Forces.

There will be road closures nationwide during the visit, details of which emerged yesterday.

Meanwhile, manholes and drains have been searched and sealed by gardaí over the past week with rubbish bins also removed along the route which the Queen and her husband Prince Phillip will travel.

Read more from Sean O’Neill’s exclusive story in The Times (subscription required) >

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• mart_n 14/05/11 #

I really hope that nothing happens, but as the day of her arrival approaches I am becoming more concerned that some idiot will attempt to derail things.

There was a story last month about landmines reaching Ireland, the story remained under the radar for most part.

http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/news/5landmines-imported-into-ireland-says-garda-intelligence70/

• OMG please don’t let these people living in the past make a show of our country!

• I expect that the views and wishes of the nation of Ireland will be respected and that no violence of any kind will occur. Those who deal in threats and hate do not speak for this nation. The cowards in balaclavas who don’t have the liathroidi to sit in government are an obscure dead end with no support and no credibility . It’s long past time to grow up.

• Totally agree. The whole island of Ireland subscribed to the GFA, the ‘troubles’ has been resolved through political means rather than the gun,

I cannot comprehend the mindset who want this derailed…

• Should it not be, no loss of life full stop??

• These people do not realise the significance of Britain as a trading partner. If something were to happen Britain could impose an economic boycott on our goods and services. If we think the country is bad now, that would finish us off.

• I don’t see the controversy of Royal Protection Officers carrying firearms. The US Secret Service will be doing the same thing

• Boo-urns to you idiots! We’re a civilised people, hope the crackpots stay under their rocks…

• The Queen was -10 that’s minus 10 or hadn’t been born in 1916, she had nothing to do with any wrong doings. When are these militant morons going to stop using the British as an excuse for their failures in life. Just because they are good for nothing more than thieving, violence and destruction all while sponging from the rest of us as they’re too lazy to work.
    There should be a €100,000 reward for information leading to the arrest and conviction of any of these so called dissident republicans. Lets see how loyal their supporters are to them when cash is on offer.

• I don’t agree with any attack or with these dissident groups but your comment here is just not based in reality.

She hadn’t been born in 1916 but she did physically pin medals on the soldiers that gunned down 14 innocent civil rights protesters in Derry while at the same time she described them as “heroes”. She has refused to cooperate with the investigation into the Dublin & Monaghan bombings.

Suggesting that dissidents are in someway just “criminals” is also stupid. That’s the same line that was trotted out in 1916 and 1981 about the IRA. The reality is that the majority are very hardline republicans who believe they are right. Comments like that don’t work – what does work is sitting down and talking to these people. At the end of the day that is what has to happen and will happen.

Your claims that they are “too lazy to work” are also ridiculous. You claim not to know these people yet apparently you know that they are on the dole. I’d also say that the hundreds fo thousands of people in this country who are on the dole and can’t get work find it highly insulting to be described as “spongers” who are too lazy to work.

It’s also a bit hypocritical of you to complain about people on the dole and then suggest that €100,000 should be given to anybody who provides info on these people. With an estimated 300 active members your plan is to waste an awful lot more money.

• Mexican – its not stupid to call them criminals. The overwheleming majority of people, north (75%) and south (94%), approved by vote of the 1998 Belfast Aggrement. This made its provisions law. Thus, anyone carrying out acts contrary to it, and thereby against the democratic will of the people, is a criminal.

What would you prefer, one hundred thousand euros, or a life, saved?

• if it only cost 100K to neutralise each and every dissident terrorist (even if there are 300 of them which i doubt) i for one would consider it money well spent

• I’m working in trinity the day she visits.. I really hope my name doesn’t end up on some memorial plaque due to the actions of some sadistic clown still living in the past

• Maybe some of us care so much that we want this conflict to stop so NO OTHER IRISH, or any other person, has to suffer anymore!

• In 1916 the Crown didn’d respect the will of the Irish people now it’s the so called Republicans who won’t respect it! O’ the f***ing ironey of it!!!

• I’d be careful about going against the crown on here. You might be called all sorts. There are a whole lotta Royalists on here.

• 1916 was the will of a small number of separatists , 1919 was the will of the people. The civil war was anti “the will of the people” of the people and finally the 1937 constitution handed the “equal rights of the people ” to the church , especially women .. Who were led to believe they had equal rights under the 1916 proclaimation but ended up resigned to the kitchen and having babies. The IRA have never listened to the people and neither do the present shower of fascists.

• They’d never strap themselves to the rockets, aim towards space and f off would they?

• I would have thought they’d be armed by default. After all it is a pretty significant political figure who’s visiting, irrespective of what you feel about her. I’m not sure it’s ever good to let it be known that you’re armed though – I think the Americans found that out many years ago after briefing Russia and the world on their nuclear stash?

• Morons living in the past. Strap them to their rocket launchers

• They wont Luke. Of that you can be sure. But i support this visit, and believe me, i am no royalist. This country is fighting for its economic survival, the last thing we need is the world perceiving that we are incapable of getting on with our lives peacefully.

• Once again, I apologise for being anonymous. Why is everyone mis reading my comments for. I am only saying that I hope there is no loss to Irish life! Where’s the harm in that???!?!? Come on, at the end of the day, nobody wants bloodshed, I don’t know why I keep having to defend that comment. Jeez, how irritating. I’m a fecking Fine Gaeler, I don’t even support Sinn Féin. What is wrong with you people, seriously.
    I HOPE THERE IS NO LOSS TO LIFE. (FULL STOP).

• Good on you for clarifying it Luke. But most of us want this conflict to stop, and it doesnt mean we don’t care about our country. We cant keep it up forever, ya know?

• But it’s not us Dave. It is the masked men that go by the name of the IRA that are keeping this up. This is what I don’t like. It’s unfortunate you said it like that, but outsiders are thinking the IRA have ties with the Irish people, which as in general, THEY DON’T! And some people obviously think I’m a person that wants to see the Queen shot dead. That is not the case. These elderly folk should be treated with respect as they are visiting the country of céad mile fáilte. Lets just hope the people of this country don’t line the streets with Union Jacks. That is all.

• 14/05/11 #

lets just hope there is no loss to irish life during these visits.

• I welcome the Queen’s visit. Hope she has a great time and that we look modern and professional in the eyes of the world.

• Eire 14/05/11 #

8000 Gardai deployed to protect the queen on her visit from a force of 12000 ! Jesus I can just see Rural Post Offices & banks getting done over as the security of our Public & state is been stretched & diverted as they Bus the Local Guards up to Dublin to stand in airfields, road sides & the Park ………..

• @Eire
    Like a plot from killanascully. Sgt. Dick would sell some stuff that week. He’d have a hot dog stand on the go for all on duty.

• This clearly went really well…

• 14/05/11 #

is it only me who cares about this country and the people within it?

Add New Comment