TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Dublin City Council to charge for fire brigade callouts

The fire brigade’s assistance at a road traffic accident will cost between €485 and €610 per hour.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL is to introduce new fees for fire brigade callouts from Monday, 16 January.

The council released a public notice yesterday to inform residents of the changes in fire service charges.

It will now charge for any call-outs and fire-fighting services provided to domestic premises and road traffic accidents.

A fee of €500 will apply for the first hour of services supplied at domestic fires, false alarms and chimney fires.

In the case of call-outs to road traffic accidents, the charge increases to €610. For every subsequent hour, a further €450 to €485 will be charged.

The council advised that most home insurance policies will cover fire call-out charges and can be recouped by householders.

No charges will apply to local authority-owned properties. DCC also said there will be an appeal system in place for cases of hardship.

It has also urged people to continue to call for assistance if needed and not to be put off by the charge.

However, SIPTU fire-fighters have rejected these claims, stating their opposition to the charges.

SIPTU representatives have said they fear the introduction of charges will deter householders from calling emergency numbers, therefore endangering their own lives.

“Fire-fighters across the country already experience a situation where elderly people in particular will attempt to deal with a house or chimney fire themselves rather than face a possible charge for calling the fire-service,” SIPTU Sector Organiser, Owen Reidy has said.

The new charges will apply to residents of the city, as well as Fingal, South Dublin and Dun-Laoghaire-Rathdown.

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Why do I pay taxes??

• Yea real clever make people pay for doing the right thing and being a good citizen . It’s a bloody disgrace . People are going to avoid calling them out and most likely get injured by attempting to deal with it them selfs

• It seems these days tax only covers the salaries of the people who think up new taxes.

• Remind me again what the household charge is supposed to cover?

We are paying bin charges, and water charges, and now fire-service charges…

The insurance on my home has already gone up in the last year – if this charge is covered by my policy, won’t this push the cost of it up further?

• Insane. Taxes are supped to cover public services not bank debts.

• Nobody disputing the great work they do..but this is another blow most working people just cannot afford! Really where is it going to end?

• This is a joke ! Good God almighty what has this country been reduced to ?.

• doesn’t anyone in local authority housing have to pay for anything. i’am sure there house fire would be the same as anyone else’s house fire. sick of being taken for an atm by the goverment and local councils.

• This is scandalous! Ordinary working punter facing the brunt and asked to cough up AGAIN while AGAIN local authority houses don’t pay where im guessing the majority of calls for dfb come from.. Screw the worker and won’t even charge a token amount to local authority housing because a.) they won’t pay it and b.) Joe Higgins would organise a protest

• This is getting to breaking point, theres only so much the working man can give these scroungers before we break. Im sick of bailing them out and all the time breaking my backside working and spending years in college to better myself. Grrrrrrrrrr Lefties again!!

• the reason people in local authority housing aren’t liable for this charge is because they don,t own the house the co. council has the house insured for fire’s etc the tenant has to get content’s insuance themselves would youse insure something you did’nt own, instead of the typical begrudging of everyone you think has more than you, our country would be better served if you got up and did something to change it the people your talking about not all of them are the same

• Paul 13/01/12 #

We pay prsi,paye,usc, a house hold tax vat up from 21% 23% why do we pay all these taxes oh yes pay of banks,TDs and Sen but all the rest of can’t get a pay rise

• Agent. 13/01/12 #

A Life and Debt situation…

• Dont pay!! Simple.
    DFB will still respond. They didnt introduce this, Dublin City Council did. People need to say no and stop being so obedient to all these addtional charges.

• What about the poor sods who can’t get house insurance because of all the floods etc ?

• What happens if you are involved in a road traffic accident, an ambulance is requested through a 999 phone call, and DFB arrive in a fire tender to treat any injuries (which is often the case as they respond to medical calls when an ambulance is not available). Will there be a call out charge for this too even if the services of a fire tender are not required or specifically requested? Surely not….??

• jimbo 13/01/12 #

this is daylight robbery and rediculous

• So if my house goes up and we make it out alive our best bet is to let it burn down to the ground so not to incur this extra charge. Good on ye DCC, bunch of cock heads.

• Having spent some time working with the ambulance service I’m surprised the charges weren’t introduced for those too. Many people treat it like a taxi service.

• Anything else you want to tax us on, the new McDonalds ad was not far off……..

• How can they not cover the cost of this service?

We pay for Ambulance Charges, Bin Charges, Household Charges, soon to be Water Charges, Septic Tank Charges for country dwellers, Road Tax to maintain the roads, Tolls to travel on roads, so what exactly are councilors spending their allocated funds on?

They have basically relieved themselves of the role they supposedly play in our respective counties. Roadside hedge trimming certainly does not eat up all the budget.

Serious issues here as not everyone has Home Insurance, it’s another excuse/risk factor for insurance companies to increase the cost of their policies.

Something is seriously wrong here and needs to be investigated, except we need an independent audit of how they spend their budgets.

• Yes charge the ordinary worker again and what about the 42,000 Euro extra payments to Independent TD’s – I’m alright Jack so screw the workers again. !

• If i see a car lose control & flip into a ditch on an empty road in the early hours of the morning & i can call the ambulance/fire brigade.. am liable to pay the charges, or is it the people dying in the car?

I could imagine someone approaching the car & just saying “now before i call emergency services for ya, ya wouldnt just sign this waiver agreement that states you accept all charges,cheers”

Or if someone crashed there car & would be able to get out of the wreckage…but couldnt afford it

This just another way of taxing of people, your just going to have people tackling there own fires & all sorts

• No point moaning about this if you plan on paying the household charge. There is a gilt edged opportunity to tell them enough is enough by not paying!

• Hang on, what is the household charge for then exactly????

• Taken from the Household Charges Website
      https://www.householdcharge.ie/

“The Household Charge
      The Household Charge is an annual charge introduced by the Local Government (Household Charge) Act 2011 which is payable by owners of residential property. It is a matter for owners of residential properties to register and pay the Household Charge on or after the 1st of January 2012.

The EU/IMF Programme of Financial Support for Ireland commits the Government to the introduction of a property tax for 2012. We are one of the last countries in Europe that does not fund local services through local property-based charges.

These services are essential to your community. They include: fire and emergency services; maintenance and cleaning of streets; planning and development; public parks; street lighting; libraries; open spaces and leisure amenities. These facilities benefit everyone.

A property tax, requiring a comprehensive property valuation system, would take time to introduce and accordingly, to meet the requirements in the EU/IMF Programme, the Government has decided to introduce a Household Charge in 2012.The Household Charge is an interim measure only and a comprehensive and equitable valuation-based property tax will be introduced as soon as possible”

• The fire service should be a right. I know there are cranks that call out the fire brigade and waste time they should be paying this money.Everyone should be entitled to call out the fire service when needed. It should be subsidised by the state. Everyone has not got money to pay for it.It seems even if you do not call the Fire Brigade now it is you will have to pay if it is your house that needs attention. Where is the value on life.

• Interesting that this comes in just as they roll out an emergency SMS facility (hey, basic commercial principle – get as many customers as you can, right?)

Anyone else expect that the next development will be moving from 999 to 1590-999 ?

• I’m so fecking angry!! My blood boils that these f@ckers are getting away with robbery!! When the hell is this all gona come to an end!! Forcing people into stark poverty, worry and depression isn’t enough but now putting people lives in absolute danger? Sick of nobody standing up to these fools!!

• Paula 13/01/12 #

How many lives will be lost by people trying to put fires out themselves in order to avoid paying

• The real sickener is the fact that those in social housing don’t have to foot the bill. That’s right, the same people who spend at least 3 nights a week in the pub, don’t work and can afford to light up there house like its feckin Vegas at Xmas!! Apologies for the extreme generalization but that’s simply what I see on a daily basis how I feel.

• I know. It’s just so sickening when poor people won’t go around visibly suffering every minute of the day! What good is it for them to be poor if they can’t learn a bit of decent debasement, I mean really! They really don’t deserve to be poor at all, when you get right down to it, they just don’t do it right!

• Just tell them it wasn’t you that called- all you know is that they just showed up… must have been a passer-by.

• Was just walking past Leinster house and it was burning like Dante’s inferno our leaders were all howling at the moon huddled inside and the flames getting higher it was quite shocking but I thought to myself I better not call the fire brigade I’d hate to burden the state any further.
    Then I remembered that song ‘ring of fire’ and I thought to myself great song.

• So, you’ve had the misfortune to have your house ‘overheat’, or your car has a mishap through no fault of your own, or you’re suddenly taken ill and are a stretcher case ….. so you need the services of a fire tender, ambulance or whatever …… what happens if you don’t have household insurance? … like say you live in private rented accommodation? ….. are unemployed? …. self employed with an income so minimal it flies under the Revenue radar? ….. Previous columns I’ve read on this matter described how following on from a fatal car crash the bill for attendance and the use of cutting equipment has been sent to the relatives of the deceased victim of the crash. Someone needs to get a grip on all these charges soon ….

• Over insure your house let the place burn and reap the benefits :)

• Don’t see why we pay taxes for this ‘service’ then. Seems more like a business and would probably be cheaper as a business because there could be other competing businesses to drive down prices.

• We had to call the fire brigade because some gombeen thought it was a giod idea to set their own car on fire….don’t ask me why but it obviously wasnt kosher. So who would pay in that situation? Or if its arson? Is there a charge if the fire service is required to lift someone, or if they are the nearest to someone who is having a heart attack, and they are first on the scene? Anyone know?

• Absolutely shocking

• Is the charge not absorbed by home insurance? I wonder would dcc have charged the residents of prioryhall if their place went on fire?

• Barty 13/01/12 #

Just be aware if you don’t call the fire brigade to any incident you might have your insurance policy is void.

• As I understand it, the Gardai and the HSE Ambulance Service are “Essential Services”, I.e there is a statutory basis under law for the state to provide them, there is no law mandating that any local authority must have a fire service. That’s why they feel they can bill you. I notice some people have mentioned ambulance charges. There is no charge for the HSE Ambulance Service.

• Martin 14/01/12 #

Fuck it. Get out and let it burn. It’ll make a good car park.

• I can understand fire brigade charges for call-outs. However, what appears not have been considered…. Is the fact that many in this country do not have home or personal insurance which may cover the cost of an unfortunate calamity. In the US…. most have insurance and for those who do not…. Costs are absorbed by the services that have called out. We don’t have these luxuries. So to insist such a fee and to increase it is ridiculous. Further…. Where will the money go which is collected. Do not assume that money is going to pay for the call out…. It has been shown the mismanagement of money is an on-going characteristic of our councils.

• It should be pointed out that Dub City Council is dominated by Fine Gael & Labour; this is v much their brainchild!

• The rest of the country has been paying this for years along with bin charges. Just pay for it like the rest of Ireland @ Dubs

• What happens if my chimney goes on fire and I dont call but one of my neighbours do… who gets charged?

• next thing you know, you will dial 999 and the operator will ask for your credit card..

scammers

• As far as I am aware most if not all of the rest of the country has paid Fire Brigade charges for years
    I know that in 2008 I got a bill for circa €2k for a domestic house fire in Clare
    Most house insurance policies will not cover that amount, my current one covers up to 1,500 but some don’t cover FB charges at all so everyone should check their policies!!

On a side note
    AFAIK most councils do not charge for road accidents involving a fatality
    You can check local rates for the fire service nationwide on the relevant county councils’ websites

• I know it seems like a lot of money, but compared to rebuilding your house and losing everything you own it’s good value. My neighbors house went on fire last Sunday and with out the great work these people do we would have lost everything. now if only the insurance companies were as helpful.

• I heard recently when there was talk of this been introduced that god forbid say your car caught fire and you didn’t ring the fire.brigade but the police instead you wouldn’t be liable for the charge,

Add New Comment