TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 26 January, 2015

#Roads

# roads - Today’s News

Teenager charged after 81-year-old man killed in hit-and-run

81-year-old Wexford man James Brennan died in the crash.

# roads - Tuesday 20 January, 2015

The Meath councillor dishing out grit from the boot of his car

Paddy Meade has gone against the advice of the local authority in delivering the grit.

# roads - Monday 19 January, 2015

There’s ANOTHER weather warning in place, this time for snow

The ice, frost and fog isn’t going anywhere in a hurry.

# roads - Friday 16 January, 2015

New warning extending: Rachel may be gone but the snow is back

Snow and ice are causing problems on some roads across the country this morning.

Elderly man dies after his car crashed with a tractor and feeder

The driver of the tractor was uninjured.

# roads - Wednesday 14 January, 2015

More women may feel anxious on icy roads but men lose control of their car more

It seems heightened anxiety may result in more cautious driving.

# roads - Saturday 10 January, 2015

Red Rock, Eddie Hobbs, and “Al” Shatter: The week in numbers

Plus: How many extra seconds will we be getting in June?

# roads - Wednesday 7 January, 2015

‘Four beautiful school friends’ to be laid to rest after tragic Kildare crash

Funeral arrangements have been made for three of the young women.

One person injured in multi-car collision in Longford

Diversions are in place.

Drivers told to give cyclists some space when they overtake

Campaigners want a minimum overtaking distance.

# roads - Sunday 4 January, 2015

Watch your step: Icy paths and roads after freezing overnight temperatures

It’s a cold one this morning but it will get a little warmer as the day goes on.

# roads - Friday 2 January, 2015

Get the thermals back out: Temperatures will drop to -3 tomorrow Brr

Get the thermals back out: Temperatures will drop to -3 tomorrow

There will be widespread hard frost, icy roads and fog tomorrow.

# roads - Thursday 1 January, 2015

# roads - Monday 29 December, 2014

Ever wonder why traffic jams sometimes happen for no reason?

You probably have while tutting and cursing other drivers.

Man killed as car crashes into pole in Donegal

The crash happened at around 9 o’clock last night.

# roads - Sunday 28 December, 2014

Cyclist fights for life after two-bicycle and van crash in Dublin

The collision happened near Blake’s Cross on the old Dublin to Belfast road.

# roads - Friday 26 December, 2014

Roads deaths for 2014 have surpassed last year

With just under a week of 2014 left, 195 people have died.

# roads - Wednesday 24 December, 2014

Woman knocked down by lorry as she crossed a road in Birr

She remains in a critical condition in hospital.

Elderly pedestrian dies a day after being struck by a car

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses.

# roads - Tuesday 23 December, 2014

Man in his 20s dies after his van struck a tree in Longford

He is the 192nd person to die on Irish roads this year.

# roads - Thursday 18 December, 2014

Man in his 20s killed in collision involving car and truck

The man was pronounced dead at the scene.

Motorcyclist in his 70s dies in Templemore crash

He is the 188th person to die on Irish roads this year.

# roads - Sunday 14 December, 2014

These morgue workers don’t ever want to meet you

So be careful on the roads.

# roads - Saturday 13 December, 2014

Woman killed and two teenagers injured in Kerry road accident

The incident occurred shortly after 9am this morning.

Woman in her 20s killed after being hit by car

The woman was hit by a car in Glasson, near Athlone on Wednesday.

# roads - Thursday 11 December, 2014

60-year-old pedestrian killed on Kildare road

The female driver involved in the incident was unharmed.

# roads - Wednesday 10 December, 2014

Pedestrian knocked down and killed in Clonard

He is the 39th pedestrian to be killed on Irish roads this year.

# roads - Tuesday 9 December, 2014

Woman (86) dies after being struck by car in Sligo

The collision happened on the main Sligo to Bundoran road.

Emergency legislation may be needed to close penalty points loophole

Thousands of points could be cancelled.

# roads - Monday 8 December, 2014

Pedestrian killed in morning road crash

The man was pronounced dead at the scene in Mayo.

# roads - Wednesday 3 December, 2014

# roads - Monday 1 December, 2014

Cavan driver is the 180th person killed on Irish roads this year

The man’s car hit a tree last night.

# roads - Thursday 27 November, 2014

New drink driving laws come into effect from today

The laws close an old loophole.

# roads - Friday 21 November, 2014

30 cars broke a red light on this junction in half an hour

Motorists are being urged to pay attention to the lights.

Woman dies in early morning car crash

The woman was the only occupant of a car that struck a lamp post.

# roads - Thursday 20 November, 2014

Young man in serious condition after being knocked down early this morning

The 25 year old has been taken to St James’s Hospital in Dublin.

# roads - Tuesday 18 November, 2014

Young girl dies after being hit by truck in Waterford

The toddler was hit by a truck on Manor Street.

One Irish county has way more roads than all the others. Guess which one?

Perhaps predictably, it’s Ireland’s biggest county.

1 2 3 4 5