TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Emotional Australian DJs talk about tragedy of Kate prank call

Michael Christian and Mel Greig apologised to Jacintha Saldanha’s family and said they were ‘shattered, gutted and heartbroken’.

Image: (AP Photo/Channel Nine) via Nine Network

THE TWO RADIO DJs behind the viral prank call to the London hospital where Kate Middleton was receiving treatment last week have apologised to the family of a nurse who died by apparent suicide following the incident.

Mel Greig and Michael Christian, who were taken off the air in the aftermath of the hoax call, gave an emotional interview to the Nine Network’s A Current Affair yesterday.

Breaking down in tears, Christian said they were both “shattered, gutted and heartbroken” about the nurse’s death.

“Our deepest sympathies are with the family and friends, and all those affected. Mel and myself are incredibly sorry for the situation and what’s happened. We hope they are doing OK and get the love and support they need right now.”

“There’s not a minute that goes by that we don’t think of her family and what they must be going through,” added Greig. “The thought that we may have played a part in that is gut-wrenching.”

Both presenters said that nobody could have foreseen or predicted the outcome of the show’s decision to make the call.

“The phone call itself…there was no malice on our behalf,” said Christian. “It wasn’t to agitate, or to offend or to dig at all. It was…the joke was our accent. We just assumed that the same phone call was made 100 times that morning.”

Asked whether the call should have been aired, the pair distanced themselves from the decision-making process, stating it was taken out of their hands.

“We did everything we normally do when we make those prank calls,” explained Greig. “We didn’t have that discussion. We just handed it to them and they had the discussion. I don’t know the process. There’s a whole team of people who work with us.”

“People far above us [make those decisions],” continued Christian. “We’re not privy to what happens. This call was no different to anything else. It’s the same process. I’m not aware of the filters. It’s passed on and we’re told yay or nay.”

Greig told A Current Affair that she does not want to “even think about going back on air”. Christian added that they were still trying to get their heads around the situation and it was “too early to tell” what would happen.

The call, which heard Greig and Christian posing as Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Charles, sparked outrage across the world after the 46-year-old nurse and mother-of-two was found dead. She had taken the initial call and, as there was no receptionist on duty in the early morning, she put them through to a colleague who divulged details of the Duchess’s condition.

The broadcasting company, which owns 2Day FM, has now suspended all prank calls across its networks. However, chief executive Rhys Holleran has said he was satisfied that the appropriate checks were conducted before the pre-recorded segment was broadcast. The stunt was also vetted by lawyers.

In a statement to the Australian stock exchange, Southern Cross Austereo confirmed it was also suspending advertising across 2Day FM and Greig and Christian’s Hot 30 show.

According to the company, “several attempts were made by the production team to discuss the segment with the hospital, but with no success”.

Holleran said a “detailed and rigorous review” of its policies and procedures will now be undertaken.

More: Australian radio station reviewing policy after nurse’s death following hoax call

Watch: the ACA interview with Michael Christian and Mel Greig>

Download: the full statement from Southern Cross Austereo>

Read next:

Comments (156 Comments)

• according to some English papers the hospital have her a terrible time over this. Her husband is blaming the hospital management.

• Was it really the prank call that made her do what she did or was it a severe telling off from her employers , its sad all round, for her, her family and the dj’s involved.

• If there hadn’t been the prank call there wouldn’t have been the telling off. It was the catalyst.

• Maybe she had other issues that we don’t know about. Whatever they were, those DJs and their ‘prank’ pushed an already troubled woman to commit suicide. All the crocodile tears and Oscar worthy attempts at an apology won’t bring that woman back, and that’s what they have to live with. Personally, I have no sympathy for those two.

• Trisha, if this was an already troubled woman as you say then I think that it is fair to say that if it wasn’t this phone call then something else could have triggered her suicide. People generally don’t just decide some morning to kill themselves out of the blue. In general there is a build up to their decision with something eventually pushing them past the point of no return. The call might have got her a dressing down by management but it would hardly be a trigger for someone who didn’t have problems already to kill themselves. A lot of lives have been ruined by what happened but I don’t think for one moment that if those 2 DJ’s knew what was going to happen as a result of their actions they would have made that call.

• Brian, those DJs knew full well what results the type of ‘pranks’ their employers pulled would cause. Don’t forget, this is a station that pulled a lie detector stunt with a 14 year old girl, and all but forced her to admit she’d been raped at the age of 12; something she hadn’t even told her mother. This interview with supposedly sorry DJs and the hollow apologies from the radio station lack any sincerity and smack of a PR damage limitation exercise. Any sympathy I have is for the woman and the family she left behind; not two people who think that tears and a sorry will make it all better.

• Trisha how can you say ” those DJs knew full well what results the type of ‘pranks’ their employers pulled would cause.” Are you trying to say that those DJ’s knew that the phone call would result in a suicide but went ahead with it anyway? That’s a pretty strong statement to make.

As for the lie detector test well firstly any mother who straps her daughter to a lie detector and interrogates her live on air about her sex life doesn’t have a very good standing in my books. Secondly you say the station ” all but forced her to admit she’d been raped at the age of 12; something she hadn’t even told her mother.” These are the actual words that the girl said “The girl responded: “I’ve already told you the story of this and don’t look at me and smile because it’s not funny. Oh, okay. I got raped when I was 12 years old.” Listen from 2.22 on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLZzgbLCdFE The mother knew before hand and yet still brought her child on air, the presenter knew nothing about it, so who was at fault here? The mother or the presenter’s?

It’s easy to blame the presenters’s for an admittedly tasteless prank, how ever I don’t think it’s that simple. Why was a nurse on reception? Why was there no proper screening of the call for such a high profile patient? How often does the Queen ring up anyone never mind her own hospital? What support did the hospital give the nurses involved seeing as her husband is blaming the hospital as well as the DJ’s. How accurate is the reporting of the events before and after and how much is sensationalized? How much of this story is being milked to sell newspapers and deflect from media intrusion into the private lives of the Royal family.

I still assert the fact that unless these 2 DJ’s are absolute psychopaths there is no way that had they known the turn of events would they have made that call. You have posted comments on this website that can be accessed in Australia. How would you feel if one of those DJ’s, who are severely distressed, read your comments condemning them and those comments caused them to do harm themselves? Did you even think about what you wrote or is it only people in the public eye who should be condemned?

• To everyone who blames the DJs: What if one of those DJs read one of your comments on the Journal and decided to kill themselves because of what you said, is it your fault they are dead?

• Does nobody find it ironic that so many people are happy to give the DJs a hard time to show them how wrong they were to ‘bully’ the nurse? Eitherway, TV3s cock up of their headlines was funnier than the prank call: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpYUig9lglM

• While I don’t disagree with you, iI feel this is a case of “the egg shell skull” rule. When you taunt someone, it’s not unreasonable to think that perhaps she or he could have underlying issues, you have to take them as they are. And like it or not, they( along with whoever else, the hospital, the palace, were responsible for her death.

They were reckless as to whether or not this could do harm, because it was funny.

• SHE killed herself so SHE is ultimately responsible for her death.

• the papers should take a look at themselves too imo as it was them that sensationalised the story

• I don’t know why they made a call to a hospital where sick people are being looked after in the first place. From what I’ve read Kate Middleton’s condition Hyperemesis gravidarum can be dangerous for mother and baby so out of respect for her why even make the call. maybe if Charles was at the polo club pretending to ring to tell him his dinner was ready might be funny but ringing a hospital is just wrong. obviously the leveson enquiry has taught the media nothing about responsible reporting.

• Apparent suicide….leaving two children without a mother because of a phone call…. Something just doesn’t add up

• Ah for jasus sake, if even one person thinks she went home and killed herself because she answered a phone and passed it to a colleague who divulged details then you are a fuc**ng moron. Simple.

• Andrew 10/12/12 #

Diplomatically put. You should work for the UN.

• Niall
      You just dont understand how serious it is for a nurse to divulge confidential patients information – and it was a royal patient at that.
      On top of the confidentiality issue there is the hospitals wrath at this publicity ruining their reputation and the risk they could lose all high profile clients.
      These DJ’s had no care what would happen to anybody who answered their idiotic call –
      Their excuse that they expected to be cut off at any moment is no excuse at all

• It seems to me this girl was having other issues very unlikely the prank was the full cause of her taking her life Yes very sad but the media is building this up putting entire blame on the prank callers .

Another tale of media twisting reality to sell

• What are you basing this on?

• @Sean basing that anyone that is mentally stable wouldn’t take there own life because of a phone prank There is a high chance there was other factors that contributed as well that may have been going on in her life

• That’s a fairly large assumption. I’ve seen nothing in the papers to indicate she ever displayed anything resembling suicidal tendencies before this call.

Being more fragile than others is not an indication of mental illness.

• Sean people don’t just kill themselves. It’s not a big assumption and I’ve definitely seen something that indicated that she had suicidal tendencies; she killed herself.

• So your evidence that she had suicidal tendencies before the event is her suicide after the event. Do you not see a flaw in that? Are you honestly of the belief that one event cannot be enough to drive someone to suicide?

• In many suicide cases there is absolutely no indication that the person is going to commit suicide. Many families have said that they had no clue, that there were no hints. So the fact that there were no reports of her having previous suicidal tendencies is completely irrelevant.

• I don’t believe you just commit suicide. Suicide isn’t something you do on a whim. You need to be in the right (wrong) frame of mind to do it. As Amy pointed out, people suffering from depression or other mental health illnesses do not always display symptoms that are readily apparent to those around them.

• If the phone call had not ended in such tragedy, no one would have batted an eyelid. Now, because the nurse in question is dead, people want a public hanging.
    It’s not the DJs fault that protocol wasn’t followed and information was disclosed.

• Of course it was their fault. No one forced them to make the call. They could have refused to make the calls. They must take responsibility for their own actions.

• I disagree. The story was pretty rampant before her death.

• The story was already all over the media- which probably didn’t help the woman in question’s mental state (seeing it on every front page etc).
      The DJs can’t have known this would happen- HOWEVER, the best case scenario to stem from this prank was that someone would most likely lose their job as a result. That should have been enough for them to not go through with it.
      I do have some sympathy for them, but it’s fairly limited. The press should back off now, enough damage has been done.

• @ Philip,
      yeah its totally their fault alright they totally should take the blame for this woman choosing to take her own life, do them for manslaughter, c’mon people lets ruin their lives, cause when they went to work that morning they knew exactly what they were doing eh, because this is what people do when they answer the phone, yeah totally their fault,…….. and the story goes on and on and on and on and on …………………..

• In my personal opinion I don’t think the prank should have been aired but it was up to the station bosses to make that call. I’m a bit disturbed how vilified the presenters are being. I’m sure they would have never for a second have aired the call if they thought this would be the outcome! Do people want them to commit suicide too??

• I don’t believe anybody could have forseen the outcome of this prank. However, at best the presenters and station must have known that the employee could have faced disciplinary action by her employee. They would have known that at least. The fact of the matter is that this prank had zero entertainment value – there should be an element of a wind up. There was none. As a result both the presenters and the station management deserve to get their asses kicked. What’s worse is that the decision to air this prank was taken after the station management OK’ed it. So the station manager or CEO should be clearing their desk.

• I’m sorry, but that’s ridiculous. The presenters reasonably expected they would be hung up on.
      Can the media please shift their interest away from these two and focus on the fact why a member of the public can call the royal’s hospital of choice main switchboard and with a VERY obvious fake British accent gets put through, no questions asked?
      You would think a hospital with such high profile patients would invest in media training for their staff and also that there would be a “special phone number” or an an agreed “code” when a member of the royal family calls.

In fact, whoever runs the hospital should be the one to go, not the station manager of a radio station doing what HUNDREDS upon HUNDREDS of radio stations around the world do every single day.

• The station had the pre-recorded segment and decided to play it, including all the confidential stuff. This wasn’t live on air.

Yes, the staff should be trained better, I agree. But the DJs and other staff at the radio station need to take their portion of the responsibility too- they knew this would humiliate those involved and possible lose them their jobs and they CHOSE to air it.

• Lou Mac 10/12/12 #

“It wasn’t to agitate, or to offend or to dig at all.” Sorry but if this was any Joe soap in hospital it would have been seen to be incredibly insensitive phoning up when a woman is quite ill in hospital to have a laugh at her expense. The fact that it was the Royal family somehow seems to entitle the public to take the piss at will. It really bothers me that people feel they have a right to bombard anyone with a public profile like this and laugh it off. Hospitals should be treated like funerals, OFF limits to journalists. This was always in bad taste and it backfired big time. I’m sure those hacks feel awful for the rest of their days, but having a bit of cop on beforehand would have avoided all of this. After all, who prank phone calls hospitals? People die there every day and it’s known the world over that staff are overworked. How could anyone at the end of the phone not be mildly agitated by some idiot wasting their time? If you ask me the lawyers who okayed this call should be sacked. Muppeteering of the highest order across the board.

• Ger 10/12/12 #

She was hardly “quite ill”. It was known at the time she was in hospital for bad morning sickness.

It was in poor taste, but the idea that they are directly responsible for her death is unfair. This could have happened to anyone with any prank. TV programmes of the genre do far worse to people, and I’ve never heard of them killing themselves over it.

Don’t see why you want the lawyers of the station sacked. They aren’t asked for their personal opinion’s on things like that; they’re asked for their professional opinions. And they were of the opinion that airing the call was legally okay. Which (so far) it seems it was.

• We don’t have all of the details of the case. Anyone here making judgments in relation to the mental state of the woman who died or the DJs and radio station are casting hasty dispursions.

But some of the comments were ARE outright ignorant of things we do know.

It most certainly IS possible for a psychological injury to be sustained by a person that alone drives that person to take their own life. The assumption that there must have been something wrong with her prior to this is wrong. There may have been, there may not have been.

• Blaming these two people solely for the death of that nurse is naive.

• I think this is a unique case where we should not look to make someone directly responsible but rather learn a valuable lesson as a society to ensure we all think twice about playing pranks and their potential to go wrong.

• Very sad for all involved, especially the poor family the lady left behind. What a silly ‘prank’ to make though, calling a hospital, it’s the last place a practical joke should be made. The radio presenters must have no common sense whatsoever..’dumb as’ as they say down under.

• It’s unfortunate incident, let’s be honest this two DJ’s never believe it could lead to someone could take her life simply because of taking a phone call

• I find it interesting the way all media are slowly but surely turning this around to blame anybody but themselves .
    I have no problem whats so ever with these prank calls but I always presumed that permission from the victims had to be given before publishing or airing .The fact that there was not or there does not have to be a legal requirement is outrageous and shows how far down the ladder these stations have gone to make a buck .
    RTE are equally culpable as they had no problem airing this garbage the following day either ,
    If I were that girls family or the second nurse involved I would have writs taken out on all the stations that aired it without seeking permission for the pain and humiliation caused
    People seem to forget that what was not aired was the original phone call but a digitally enhanced version with special affects to make the victims look more stupid .

The crocodile tearms from the presenters and spin from the stations PR dept is sick

• When I heard the call I didn’t find it funny at all. I immediately cringed thinking those poor nurses are going to be in so much trouble. So I don’t buy the “nobody could have expected what happened to happen” line being trotted out by the DJ’s. They messed with people’s livelihoods, their reputations. I also blame the media for contributing to the hysteria of this awful “prank”.

• I agree Beth. This way of getting a cheap laugh at someone else’s expense is pathetic and puerile, and in this case tragic. They sure as hell didn’t think the nurses they duped were going to get thanked for falling for it. That kind of international ridicule could realistically have driven a sensitive person to drastic measures. And it wasn’t even faintly funny. That guy called it his ‘career highlight’ before it turned sour. Sad bloke, if tricking someone to answer stupid questions is his career highlight.

• well said Beth…

• They run off into cover for a few days legal and spin briefing (notice how there is not one apology in the piece), meanwhile the station tried 5 times to get permission (indicating they really felt they needed it) and then went ahead and published anyway. Bollixes.

• Mike 10/12/12 #

This is a disgusting choreographed emotional interview being given by the two DJ’s. It is obvious it has been rehearsed endlessly with PR people. Note how they don’t name anyone involved, lest anyone get into legal difficulties. They don’t apologise. They accept no responsibility.

Their excuse is “we never thought we would get through”. The problem here is they did get through, in a PRE-RECORDED interview, and decided to broadcast anyway for their ratings. That took utter precedence over ridiculing staff involved and compromising patient confidentiality.

• it’s funny, apparently they had no trouble getting thru on the phone, for the prank, but could get thru to get approval on several occasions afterwards – ehh, yeah right, and who are the lawyers that vetted this – they should have known that it breached the crimes act, the surveillance devices act and several other matters – they ought to be answering questions on this

• Why is no-one mentioning the role of the Royal Security team? It was up to them to protect all aspects of security, including protecting sensitive information. This was a Royal Security FAIL. The Royals will always be a source of intrigue & while I don’t condone what the DJ’s did, I think the blames squarely on the security team. If they have followed basic security protocols then none of this would have happened

• NOt convinced that the security officers answer the phones.
      Not being an expert but… i suspect there was at most 2-4 officers within close proximity to the duchess at the most. I understand that call first went to the main switchboard/reception at the hospital… I dont think that a royal security officer will be manning the “public” phones there… the call was placed through to a phone on the ward.. which i ssume had any noumber of patients on it. even thge dutchess does not get a whole ward to herselft. I expect she had a private room on the ward. once again security manning a ward phone … probably not thats what the nurse/receptionist do at all hospitals.

At most the security person might have answered the phone in the dutchesses own room.

• I found this ‘prank’ callous and utterly disrespectful. Why did the DJ’s feel they had the right to pull a joke on someone who is only going about her work and then broadcast it it so that practically the entire world can hear it? Did they for one minute stop to think what the nurses involved felt? You do not have the moral right to do this to anyone in my opinion. Absolutely sickening!

• Media jumping to conclusions as usual.

• I’m from the Uk, and find it interesting the stark contrast of responses. This ladies’ mental state beforehand is totally irrelevant. They should have known their actions could lead to serious consequences, but went ahead anyway. Their crocodile tears now are pathetic. They should have laid low; their careers are over, and rightly so. The radio station bosses are also to blame. There is no excuse at all for this despicable act. Would you gate crash a funeral?
    There are lines you don’t cross, and they crossed it.

• The strawberry alarm clock lads do stuff like this all the time. To blame the DJ’s is poor form. It was a silly joke not intended to harm anybody. This woman most likely had issues before this prank and this was unfortunately probably the last straw. Or maybe it was something else all together. Did the woman leave a suicide note?

• Ive never seen a story to split public opinion so much, also people don’t sem to realise that this woman was not the one who spoke on the call, it’s hard to see why she would have done this based on this one incident which her employers had already said no action would be taken, blaming the djs is wrong, there is no one to blame, her demons got to her and unfortunately her sad death is now upsetting for her family on an even bigger scale because of all the media attention

• Nobody would have batted an eyelid if the joke hadn’t ended in tragic circumstances. It was just a bit of a laugh, obviously there were other things going on in that lady’s life.

• What are you basing that on?

• He based it on the same thing you’ve based all your shite talk on.

• Mike 10/12/12 #

Bit of a laugh compromising someone’s career. Did they not stop when they realised confidential medical information was being released by an unsuspecting nurse in her place of work.

They obviously knew they were on the edge, given they ran it past the legal department, before gloating about it for days as being the “greatest royal prank ever”.

The call was never funny. I listened to it on Wednesday morning – I turned it off after 30 seconds hearing the nervousness of the second nurse going into detail about a patient. It was obvious they could threaten the careers of those involved, but all they cared about was ratings.

• If you’d like to dispute a point I’ve made then go ahead Damien.

• @Sean beag.
      Well you do keep implying she had no other underlying problems. You have absolutely no proof to back this up. It would seem pretty likely that she had some kind if mental issues.
      I am in no way condoning the actions of the DJs. They are morons who should lose their careers for this.
      But you do talk some shite Sean.

• I’ve said there is nothing to suggest she had any mental issues or suicidal tendencies beforehand. i think it’s pretty wrong to say she must have when you don’t know her. And even if she did have some hidden issues that nobody knew anything about it’s really irrelevent. They had to have known that broadcasting this call would cause serious problems for those involved and they went ahead anyway. It backfired big time and in the most tragic way

• “Nothing to suggest”
      The poor woman killed herself. I think that pretty strongly suggests.

• @ manonthestreet,
      Once again just because she killed her self does not mean that she had other issues at all. She was married with two kids but away from home, she was probably a bit lonely, she MAY have thought her job was under threat (but the hospital say she faced no dicaplinary action she WAS being slaughtered in the worlds press. Frankly i think this could very well have been more than she could take.

• I agree Robert. But its just as plausible that she may have had underlying issues. I believe that to be very possible. But we will never know.

• How can your heart go out to these DJs, when is it ok to target someone who is ill in hospital. Morally never mind ethically they crossed a line. Hospitals should be off limits you would think. I’m no fan of the royals, but they still should be allowed to be ill in private.

• Shane 10/12/12 #

too late now. crocodile tears.

• I don’t understand why they did a press conference. The best thing they can do for themselves and everyone involved is to vanish for a while. The station did a despicable thing in broadcasting that call and it had tragic consequences.

Even if they couldn’t have predicted her suicide it would have been obvious they would be putting her job at risk and opening her up to international ridicule. That alone is a horrible thing to do.

• In my opinion they should never have given this interview . What did they hope to achieve ? They are rubbing salt in the wound of the family of the nurse !
    I for one am not interested in their attempt to wiggle out of their share of the responsibility !

• if the dj,s hadn’t played such a stupid hoax on the hospital staff, that young nurse would be alive today and 2 little children would have their mother for christmas,shame on those dj,s,its their fault,end of story.

• They are looking to save their careers.
    Crocodile tears I am sure.
    Don’t fall for these Aussie theatrics!

• No phone call no suicide tragic for all involved

• never have i read such shit in my life the people who made the call r to blame if they didnt do it that mother would still b alive do yous relize that a daughter and sister and mother this one person took her life because of this prank call what is the matter with people when they think thats its ok 2 do something like then put it up for dabate ….

• So strange! The women would of made of fortune if the management sacked her over something so trivial which could happen to any business or to anyone and does all the time. It was only a bit of fun and the circus act which is the royal family who are a tourist atttraction at the end if the day and that is all.

The hacks of the English media turned this into a farce. The women should off just put it down to a mistake and moved on she got dupped not her fault.

I hope her family get millions in a pay off for all the abuse they are receiving from the media.

mad mad world.

• the male Dj is in denial and more concerned with his saving his own bacon and not saying anything that could remotely be used as evidence of admitting guilt, the guy is a reptile. the woman seems to better understand what shes just been involved in. but sorry folks, someone has to punished, but for their actions would the nurse have killed herself?

• I hope they live with this for a long time . her family will have to.
    All this just for a laugh

• RuaRi 10/12/12 #

Radio to blame. That call should never have been put on air. Was immature and now two kids without a mother because of it. Regardless of what was going on in her head, this was a factor in her death. Radio stations and shows like these need more regulation.

• Very tragic situation. The DJs can’t have known where it would lead. And the phone call alone could hardly have been the sole reason this woman took her own life. She must have been under immense pressure as it was, and no doubt hospital management had stern words about it when the news broke. After what happened with Diana, all the nude photos of kate, the general media hysteria that dogs them- privacy is no doubt a sensitive issue and the strictest requirement for the royals- I find it hard to believe the hospital didn’t let the nurse feel the severest backlash for compromising their ability to deliver their service. They would have been humiliated.

• I’m so sick of all the misinformation around this story. If you listen to the clip, it was the woman at the beginning who’s dead now, not the second lady who gushes all the patient information.

Secondly, I agree with those saying that there must have been something else going on in her life to prompt this action. If it was purely the call which drove her to it, how sure are we that she wasn’t getting grief from her colleagues or the hospital itself? Something doesn’t add up but at the end of the day the people I feel the most sorry for are her kids but also the DJs in question. Wasn’t their fault and they shouldn’t have to carry this on their heads for the rest of their lives.

• How many people here can say that they have never pranked someone. It’s the media and embarrassment that drove her to suicide

• Rob Hunt 10/12/12 #

Lots of readers of The Sun here I see.

• I think people should contemplate what the effect may be on these djs of the public vilification of them. Show the compassion and foresight you believe they should have stop demonising them people make mistakes

• somebody needs to get chopped for this decision. normal phone pranks do not put people’s careers at risk.

• My earlier post re. hospital security and why no questions have been asked about a nurse on the switchboard seems to have been ‘lost’.

• My heart genuinely goes out to the two DJs. They played a seemingly harmless prank and had no idea what it would lead to. The whole thing is so sad for all involved, particularly the nurse and her family of course.

• I feel sorry for the DJs. They were just doing what they normally do, same as any radio DJ who makes a prank call. I didn’t hear the call but I thought it was very funny at the time and I thought how silly both nurses were to be taken in, both by the silly accents and the fact that the Queen would probably never make a direct phone call herself to the hospital. If this was a suicide it seems like a completely disproportionate reaction. There were obviously underlying issues. The second nurse is still alive and well afterall.

• You didn’t hear the call, but you thought it was very funny?

Wow…

• Lou Mac 10/12/12 #

I feel sorry for the dead nurse who took her own life because she got lambasted for giving over private information about a patient because of 2 idiots ratings hunting. The fact that “they were just doing what they normally do”, highlights the acceptance of the dumbed down media everywhere. If you look at the nurse’s name is highly likely that she’s not a native Englishwoman. This goes a long way to explain how she wouldn’t have detected the “silly accents”. Can you imagine the pressure on the hospital to take disciplinary action regarding such a high profile patient? The woman would have been sacked. How you can judge on the disproportionality of her response is just as insensitive as the gimps who prank called a hospital. I thought certain teenagers were the only portion of society stupid enough to do this due to their still developing brains.

• people are hypocrites, everyone blamed that nurse for putting the djs through until this (tragic) outcome! In fairness it WAS the nurses fault for putting them through to Kate’s ward, it should never have happened, she didn’t do her job properly! but there must have been something else going on in her life because you wouldn’t kill yourself over being embarrassed, she apparently wasnt being disciplined for it and there was no serious information given out! people would have forgotten about it in a week! I feel sorry for the djs, they’re never going to forgive themselves!

• Have you seen the interview with the DJ’s Siobhan? They do a pretty good job of blaming everyone else for what happened. Saying they just did what they do. That others check to see if its moral/legal. What a cop out!
      The more I think about it the more I feel it was in such bad taste them giving an interview. Imagine the nurses family watching that? At them with their token crocodile tears saying they could never have foreseen what happened. At the very least they were jepordising someone’s job.
      Oh and Siobhan, who are you to say what drives someone to suicide? To say what counts as enough of a justification to do such a thing. I honestly wonder sometimes!

• I feel sorry for this two, nobody could imagine the result of this. I mean how selfish was that woman? Leaving two children behind, two radio presenters devastated hopefully those two will not do anything stupid. We are living in such a hush hush society that soon enough to commit a suicide it will only take for somebody to look at us the wrong way. It will be that easy.

• You’d be best staying out of adult conversations, especially on topics you seem to know nothing about.

• Eehm and what do you have Phd in suicidal actions?

• No. Did you finish school?

• Sean…. Again get over yourself.

• Niall 10/12/12 #

Ironic Sean considering you don’t know the actual fact, all she did was answer the phone. It isn’t her voice you hear in the prank. You fool of a man.

• @Niall Who is maintaining that the woman that took her life is the one that divulged the details?? She put the call through, I don’t see anyone saying otherwise. How do you know that the woman didnt feel immense guilt, that by putting the call through to the nurse that actually divulged the details thought the call had been screened and verified? That perhaps she felt responsible not only for her actions but for the other nurses? That she felt shame? I’m speculating of course but there’s more to it then “shur she only put the call through” argument youre pedaling.

• You’re a pitiful, ignorant human. Circumstances regarding this woman’s death are all very hazy. But belittling the woman by how her death occurred is disgusting. Suicide does not mean that a person is weak or selfish. You don’t know how this woman suffered. You don’t know how others suffer with similar issues. Mental illness is so terribly stigmatised in this country an in the UK. People, more often than not, suffer in silence and don’t seek the treatment they need. People like YOU are the cause of why most mental illnesses are seen as such a taboo in society. Watch your words and stop being a horrible, nasty person.

• @beth I totally agree,

She could have felt like a burden, an embarrasement, an idiot, pathetic, useless the list goes on and on. There is no saying in how responsible she felt for transfering the call and bringing her workplace in to disripute. She may have felt like she let down her work place, her work mates, the patients, the royal family and her family, maybe even the whole of England

Thats so much to bare.

It was not a trival matter to her, even though it may seem so to others, she no light at the end of the tunnel. RIP Jacintha

• @laura

Well said!

#Empathy

• I did know that Niall. Don’t really see how it changes anything.

• Are you for real? these two clowns, put these two nurses careers at risk at the very least..and probably landed her in a whole world of sh1t with her seniors. They knew well what they were at but just cared about ratings..surprising really because, in oz they are very strict on that kind of thing..how tackless they were.

• Am I being blocked?

• This woman must have had underlying mental health problems. It was a silly prank but hardly crime if the century. The british media are disgusting with how they have carried on and whats with the irish medias new fascination with the royals?????

• I can see that people are very quick with judging everyone, DJ’s are obviously the evil force in this situation, and poor nurse is a example of devoted mother loving her children, being hard working woman setting examples and all this bla bla bla, well there is a news for you, She Has Committed a Suicide. Not sure how many people believe in God I’m certainly not one of those people, but it is said that those who are taking their own life are never going to see a lords kingdom (well unless you are extremist Muslim). She did something terrible, she was pushed to do an ultimate thing. Don’t tell me people that it was because she has picked up the phone and said I will put you through ma’m. Her life must have been a mess, or maybe Prince William was so upset about all of this and decided to get rid of her. Because that phone call on its own could not push anyone to do anything, except lough.

• Are you not judging the victim?

• you are a foolish person for typing that garbage.

• Strange comment there krystian. First off committing a suicide is insinuating that’s it’s a criminal act and as from 1961 in England and 1993 in Ireland it ceases to be so. You have no idea why she did this, what might have happened in the aftermath with the hospital management, I’ve heard all sorts including the threat of being done for treason, anyway saying her life must of been a mess just shows the ignorance of your comments. Mental health has a
      massive stigma attached to it unfortunatly, people feel sick they go to the doctor to address physical health but our mental health is just as important! Talk to someone , it can get better. Samaritans provide 24 emotional support 1850 60 90 90

• i dont see what harm they caused it was a prank call, there was no malice or evil intent in the call. i think this women had issues and it was coincidence or she might have been told off buy the hospital management for giving information out about a Royal to be. “if you listen to the call all she said was that Kate didnt feel to well and was resting” i don’t see any National Gov secrets being divulged by the nurse. and maybe she had a fear of loosing her job. i feel sad for the Djs as it was not there fault and i feel sad for the nurses loved ones. may she go to what ever god she was devoted to.

you don’t commit suicide because of a prank call. she had this in her head way before that call just sorry that she had to take that way out. a waste of a life and she was a nurse so waste of a good and Caring life.

• What? This women had other issues obviously and perhaps this prank by the two halfwit presenters pushed her over the edge. It want any national gov secrets but by Jesus the media frenzy that followed it may as well have been. She obviously felt she’d never find piece of mind. Bottom line a woman is dead as a result of a nasty, borderline bullying prank.

• Let them back to work. It seems the women had issues before all of this happened. Not to take anything away from the grieving family but this just is not right. Lets all put this into perspective. Seriously !!!!

• I live in Oz have done for many years. I heard the broadcast. Didn’t think it was very funny or malicious if I am honest. The Dj performed a act that has been done by everyone in the world. “playing a practical joke “. It went wrong she killed herself but no evidence has yet come to light that it was solely based on the Dj prank. It’s a terrible tragedy for all concerned and my heart goes out to her family and friends. But the Royal family is only sacred to the English and now for some reason certain Irish media. The rest of the world couldn’t give a shit and see them as celebrities and as a celeb we have the RIGHT to see and read every aspect of there lives. The DJs made a silly mistake and will pay a high price but they are not murders. She took her own life very very sad but true.

• I’m in total agreement with Sean!! On a lighter note, any chance Tony of putting on a pair of trousers there! Ha.. Jaysus!!

• Let the DJ’s back to work. It seems there were other issues with the individual who took her own life. She potentially could have gained from this. Let it go. And let her go.

• No sympathy for the djs or the mother

Add New Comment