TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Taoiseach in Rome to meet Monti ahead of papal audience

Mario Monti will greet the Taoiseach after meeting with another bailed-out premier, Greek leader Antonis Samaras.

Enda Kenny and Mario MOnti last held a bilateral meeting in February.
Image: Pier Paolo Cito/AP

THE TAOISEACH Enda Kenny is in Rome today to hold discussions with Italian prime minister Mario Monti, a day ahead of an audience with the Pope.

The meeting comes in advance of a two-day meeting of international Christian Democrat parties in the Italian capital this afternoon, at which the world’s economic troubles are likely to be a key topic for discussion.

The perilous state of the European economy – and the need for larger countries like Italy to return to a sound financial footing if Ireland is to return to full economic growth – is likely to be discussed by Kenny and Monti ahead of the summit.

The summit will also be attended by Spanish premier Mariano Rajoy, Hungarian prime minister Viktor Orban, and Greece’s Antonis Samaras.

Tomorrow the centre-right leaders will attend an audience with the Pope, Benedict XVI.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (30 Comments)

• enda should give the pope a good kick in the balls and tell him that’s what he deserves for protecting child abusers

• I can only give you 1 thumbs up, I would give you more if I could

• That would take balls to do Jay,something Enda Kenny doesn’t have.Maybe the pope will pray,that god gives Enda some balls,or a backbone.

• AlMar 21/09/12 #

Eh, that would actually be the pope who has actually done more than any other to remove abusers from the church.

But I suppose we shouldn’t let the facts get in the way of thrashing the Church.

• @AlMar prior to becoming Pope he spent years covering up child abuse scandals. Only when the heat came on did he do something about it. Why do people have an ‘audience’ with Ratzinger? Can’t he have a meeting like any other statesman/politician/gombeen……….

• AlMar 21/09/12 #

Marist ’59 – the reality is that it was only in 2001 that the CDF, of which he was the head, was given jurisdiction over these cases. Prior to then, it didn’t come under the authority of his office. Also, prior to that time, cases were not routinely referred to Rome, it was up to the local bishops to handle it. Unfortunately, it was clear that local bishops were not up to the task. (And that was also true here – the abuse crisis in Ireland was an IRISH crisis, not a ROMAN crisis). Post 2001 much more vigorous action was taken by Cardinal Ratzinger to dismiss clerics accused of abuse.

Have there been mistakes? Almost certainly. And those mistakes, whatever they are, are not good enough and are inexcusable. But there always will be mistakes in every system and in every State. It doesn’t excuse them however.

Cardinal Ratzinger/Pope Benedict has done more to clean the Church than any other pope.

• @ AlMar

LOL.

• Watch out, watch out there’s an AlMar about! Guaranteed mention of the pope and his staunchest defender is on the case like a fly on a fresh piece of dung! All the usual carping about how much herr benny has done to protect children blah blah, we all know the man covered up abuses during his time as a cardinal just like his Irish bishops tried to do. Irish, US, Australian, Belgian children and many more from numerous countries had the same experience at the hands of this evil cult and all the AlMar’s on this planet won’t change that fact, Ratzo is just as culpable as the rest of them. As for Kenny, not that long ago in the aftermath of the latest Irish abuse scandal report being published he was all beside himself to show how much he was outraged and disgusted by what had gone on in the various catholic run abuse centres up and down the country, now he’s in Rome fawning over it’s leader, kow towing to him like some subservient peasant to the lord of the manor! what a joke! The report into the religious/state run gulags has yet to be published and no doubt we will all be treated to another bout ‘faux rage’ by him when it too details the abuses meted out to the vulnerable women and children in these hell holes! He should be demanding that the CEO of Catholic Church Inc. orders his various overseas operations pay the victims the compensation they deserve for the damage inflicted on them by members of HIS clergy and the other battalions of so called ‘holy orders’ implicated in the vile abuses that took place. It’s no good using the old post war nazi excuse of “i was only following orders” to get out of it. AlMar you really need to stop defending these child raping cover up merchants!

• I hope it’s fruitful.

• It’s farcical. Countries having diplomatic relations with a medieval state, consisting of a few acres in the middle of Rome, frequented by old men wearing female clothes and wearing party hats. It is the year 2012, isn’t it?

• I don’t believe I’n God to let what happened to children happen. When e
    we die we will just die and that’s it

• Kenny’s hard-hitting statement regarding Church’s role in abuse was just populist bullshit. If be meant a word of it he’d have expelled the nuncio and nationalised all church assets

• Even God could’t do that, omnipotent as s/he’s supposed to be.

• John Charles Mc Quaid would be turning over in his grave at the thoughts of this. An unelected Italian PM, a failed nazi as pope and Enda. It’s hardly the Yalta conference is it.

• “An unelected Italian PM, a failed nazi as pope and Enda” and not to mention the Christian Democrats…….

it’s like a really bad parody of what reality ought to be like. Bad quality entertainment. And these muppets are dictating a major portion of reality for us- in the 21st Century!!!!!!!!

Come on. We’re in the future and this just isn’t good enough.

Self sufficiency (food, water, energy), technological innovation, and local/global community. That’s where we should be at. Not this crap.

• John Charles McQuaid turning in his grave? Really? Sure, he’s the archbishop who scuppered the Mother and Child scheme and, I’m sure knew exactly what the nuns and priests and brothers were up to in the Magdalene laundries and the Industrial schools. He’d be delighted to see Enda bending the knee to this Pope who was complicit in the coverup of the child abuse scandal.

• There was once a time when all people believed in God and the church ruled. This time was called the Dark Ages. Faith, as well intentioned as it may be, must be built on facts, not fiction – faith in fiction is a damnable false hope.

• What is the point of all of this?

• Here we go again.
    Our ”fine leaders” go around licking up to an organisation that raped children, just as they do with royal families that raped the planet.

• tim 21/09/12 #

He should stay there,he’s not wanted here!

• I did not vote for him to waste time and money in visiting the pope. We are broke and borrowing money for this redicilous behaviour. He sold his soul and his integrity a year ago. He is a liar, cheat, bully, and corrupt.

• LOL. The usual suspects spend their day waiting for this site to publish an article that mentions the Vatican so that they can get themselves some mental masturbation with the ‘nazi’ pope as the target.

• AlMar you need to go back and read the history of Rome need I say any more

• Dario Fo 21/09/12 #

Benda and every TD..should not be allowed outside the walls,of that great mental institution…Leinster House.. Save the country a fortune..it should be turned into a concentration camp…an ran by pol pot. nnThe state is already ran by european civil and public serpents…

Add New Comment