TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Taoiseach: Property tax is “both progressive and fair”

Kenny said this budget would probably be the most challenging in the life of this government.

File photo of Enda Kenny.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said the property tax, the details of which were announced in the budget today is “both progressive and fair”.

The Local Propery Tax, as it is called, will be introduced next year to replace the household charge and will be charged at 0.18 per cent of the market value for houses worth under €1 milion. Properties valued at more than that will be charged at 0.25 per cent of market value.

Speaking in an interview on RTE Nine News this evening Kenny said the decision to introduce the tax was progressive and fair  because “everyone contributes to this” and the vast majority of money collected will be used by local authorities.

“For people who have real difficulties, and there are many, with mortgage difficulties and so on, there are a range of deferral options,” he said.

The Taoiseach said this budget would probably be “the most challenging budget in the life of this government.”

“We have had to tackle an unprecedented economic mess.”

He said the important emphasis has to be to move the country forward so that jobs can be created.

“Against a background of great difficulty at a European level, signs of confidence returning to the economy are evident,” he added.

Read next:

Comments (117 Comments)

• What happened to “It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a persons home”(Enda Kenny, 1994)???

• JayK 05/12/12 #

The recession happened.

• he is a liar

• Morals are not situational. Something is either wrong or right.

• JayK 05/12/12 #

They are relative though. He’s got a choice to tax homeowners or make cuts elsewhere. Would you rather further cuts to the carers allowance?

• I would rather see cuts to politicians over inflated wages

• JayK 05/12/12 #

Everyone would. It’s not going to pay for anything though. It’s like trying to pay a mortgage by fishing for coins down the back of your couch. If that’s all the money we needed it we’d be sorted.

• JayK 05/12/12 #

For reference. Property tax in France, 444e to 1162e. In Italy, approximately 0.4 to 0.7% of the value of the property. In Belgium, approximately 2000e. In England, 850GBP to 2550. In Germany, 0.35% of the value of the property.

The Irish property tax is dwarfed by these, and our household income is comparable or greater. Yeah, it’s still shitty, but these are shitty times. We’re not going to wish our way out of it. If someone’s got a better idea, I’m all ears.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0904/1224323571988.html

• Jayk they get free medical, education and garbage and water in most of them countries along with loads of other free incentives and a cheaper place to live and enjoy. WE GET NOTHING! WE GET NOTHING!!!….Understand a little better now why people are not going to pay this now???

• JayK your not comparing like for like though are you? Care to detail what the property tax covers in those other countries? I all ready pay bin charges – not covered by Kenny’s theft. Our neighbours get free school books covered under their property tax – not covered by Kenny’s theft. Just 2 of the top of my head can you supply or anyone else supply more advantages to the property tax?

• JayK 05/12/12 #

Deep breaths Martin, don’t hurt yourself.

Firstly, either they don’t get them free or we get them free too. Secondly, if they pay less for tuition but more for property then it’s not free, is it? The money has to come from somewhere.

I always hold Scandinavia up as a model society. Everything is “free” there. But the taxes are sky-high. It’s positively socialist.

• JayK 05/12/12 #

To Kerry; it doesn’t necessarily cover anything. Often it’s at the discretion of the local authority. It’s all in the article I linked to. Glancing through the France section, their property tax doesn’t include extra taxes for rubbish collection, street cleaning (!) and water.

The advantage of the property tax is it stops the country from going bust. Your property tax might not be used on your street, but when we’re cutting things like carers allowances then it’s going to help somewhere.

• @Jayk How much did those countries pay in stap duty? Ull find its Zero or next to nothing. If you want to compare our tax to other european countries then how about corporation tax?

• JayK 05/12/12 #

It’s turning in to whack-a-mole now. First people were angry at the property tax, but I pointed out it’s less than the rest of Europe. Then they were angry because it doesn’t cover bins and water, but it doesn’t cover that anywhere. Now it’s because of the stamp duty (it’s 50% more in Sweden, 500% more on the UK).

Now don’t get too upset, but have you considered the fact that you just want to be angry, logic be damned?

• @ JayK we are cutting careers allowances because next year we will pay €5.1 billion to Anglo and Irish nationwide and for no other reason then that.

• plato 05/12/12 #

If we pay that bond.. People will down tools and take to the streets.. Which part of “unsecured bond” do those tosser TDs not understand ! :-/

• Remember Enda is a politician. Everything he says is bound to be suspect. Nobody is convinced and we should just hope that by some miracle a new breed of public representative will emerge and make politics respectable.

• @JayK. Home ownership is extraordinarily high in Ireland so the analogy that a property tax that works elsewhere can’t be applied here.

This is the adult version of vat on children’s shoes

• @Plato
      I wouldn’t get my hopes up! Nobody cared last year, or the year before, or the year before so I doubt they’ll care this year or the next few. Out of the last few budgets this isn’t even the worst, not even close!

• In Sweden PAYE is 48% no added USC or prsi nonsense. At the moment if I get a €100 extra next week I’m on higher rate so ill get €49 & €51 to the government. Sweden also get a detailed report every year town by town of where their taxes have gone.

• @ Anne. Very nicely put.

• Enda, Gilmore, Rabbitte – they’re all sold out. Kenny is a fake, a lame ‘Premier’ parading for himself and the EU. What damage FF did is now being exacerbated by an equally inept, corrupt and traitorous bunch. The EU is our problem.

• Oh Kenny can’t wait for the next general election you snake ..

• Property tax will be abolished at the next election if people give the alternative parties a mandate. Taxes on the top 10% are at a 20 year low. The top 10% of own 80% of the country. They can pay to keep the lights on.

• Jayk I don’t think it’s necessarily anger at the tax rates or who has the cheapest, just frustration in general. A high% of people are barely making ends meet and to add €300+ (the lowest band) onto yearly bills is going to be tough for a lot of people. Add onto that the soon to be here water charges which could go up to €400 per household may just be impossible for many. Yes the property tax may seem like a fair % to an outsider but when people here are just about getting by it’s a lot of money to take at what seems like the worst possible time. Regarding the politicians wages, they need to be cut now..it all helps and you can bet it’s more than we all think but whatever it is it’s only fair and much of the anger of the people stems from this. Why do we pay/suffer when they don’t? Maybe the 17.4 million they’re using to improve a children’s detention center could be taken from their wages rather than punish say the care givers or farmers.

• @all… good points Jayk. .. I live in Belgium … pay 50% effective tax on my income, 1200 per year on property tax, we pay bins, we also pay about 10% higher for electricity and gas than our neighbours etc. similar cost categories to Ireland. yes, if you go to the doctor it doesn’t cost much, but we still have to pay for medical insurance. we are also purposely over-taxed by the government so they get more tax in and then they play with the time it takes to claim that tax back (1 – 2) years… I have done the comparison numerous times between Ireland and Belgium and would have about 20% more net income in Ireland than here (all included). After this budget the difference would go down slightly – but you still pay less in Ireland. also then doing our tax returns here you nearly always need an accountant because it is so complex. people who say it’s better outside of Ireland need to look at the facts – it’s difficult everywhere at the moment…

• How dare you point that out!

We don’t want facts, nor reason,we want revolution and anarchy.

• @Arbitrasure, indeed it’s apparent that people would prefer to rant rather than look at the situation objectively – it’s amazing that I have more dislikes on the previous comment on likes – when I’m just stating facts and my guess is that those who disliked my comment probably have never experienced life outside Ireland… I posted another comment this morning giving some examples of the other taxes we pay: living tax( if you’re alive, you pay), Rain tax (for the rain tha falls on your roof), our water is metered and because rain goes into the drains we also have to pay extra tax for that – so rain is taxed twice…. Belgians are masters at this – they have taxes for everything …

• JayK 06/12/12 #

Steph, I agree with everything you said. I’m not trying to present the tax as fantastic or morally flawless. But the complaints on here are becoming ridiculous. You’d swear the government was kicking down their door and pawning their heirlooms. The indignation is based on either hollow populist nonsense or simply fallacies.

If you want to change something, your argument at least has to be loosely associated with reality. The bondholders are being paid back. Deal with it, move on, it’s not going to change. Otherwise you’re going to waste your energy banging your head against a wall. Pick something else.

Finally, don’t get swept up in the mob mentality. Analyse the situation yourself and decide what’s justified and not justified. Research the facts. Half the complaints in this thread were dismantled by spending 2 minutes on Google. No one’s going to take you seriously if you can’t present your ideas properly. I suggested the property tax, low as it is, is a superior alternative to cutting services for the needy in society, like the carers allowance. 96 people disagree. So 96 people would rather keep their 250e and take away the holidays of full time carers? My cynical self believes that these people may have just voted my down because they don’t like the property tax and will vote down any justification, no matter how reasoned. And they expect themselves to be taken seriously?

I think this thread is the perfect proof that most people’s opinion isn’t based in reality. Well Enda Kenny has to deal exclusively in reality. If he thinks he’ll save 3.5bn by cutting a few hundred thousand from expenses, then we’d be in serious trouble. But he doesn’t because he’s a professional and that’s populist nonsense. Kenny has to maintain an entire economic system where everything works. Literally every euro in the budget has to be assigned. He can’t just pick one phrase like “cut politicians pay” and expect the economy to be fixed. It doesn’t work like that. It doesn’t fix itself. Everything has to make sense from start to finish.

It’s fine to be angry. It fine to protest at injustice. But consider the entirety of the situation, and differentiate injustice from difficulty or inconvenience. I think politician’s pay is a good place to start. It won’t fix anything, but at least we’ll all be struggling together. However if you’re just angry at everything, everyone is going to ignore you.

• If I had this gangsters wages I would think the property tax was fair,your a rogue Kenny but the Irish people will show you the long road back to Mayo.

• i want to give him a kick.

• Tommy 05/12/12 #

No Enda it simply isn’t. Stop lying to us!

• Has my comment been removed? i cannot see what the issue is calling him a coward…

• Can’t see how this is going to be most difficult of this miserable regime’s lifetime. They have to rape another 3.1 billion out of us next year and unless our deluded leader is expecting massive economic growth, he’s yet again lying throught his teeth to us….again!!!!!!

• Never thought I’d be saying this, but I really am starting to hate what this country has become. To all the young people who have emigrated – don’t look back – there’s nothing for you here.

• Luckily for Enda there isn’t a halfwits allowance as a quarter wit would not be eligible! Watching him on the news as he said this there is no doubt in my mind that he really does not understand the reality & complexities of the situation. Is it any wonder that only IBEC are happy with this budget. Says it all for me.

• Traitor…..

Only word for him!!!

• Bruce 05/12/12 #

Enda, what is progressive about a pensioner on ?180 a week being asked for 300 – 400?

The same elderly people whose prescription cost has been increased by 300%. Fair and progressive?

The same elderly people who will have their electricity and phone allowances cut.

Carers respite allowance cut. Fair and progressive? No, sly and sneaky.

TIME TO HIT THE STREETS.

• Complete crap from the crapmeister himself. It is not progressive and makes no allowance for where your home is located, your ability to pay, or what it owed on your home. Noonan is trying to push the position that your taxed on what your home is worth while ignoring the fact that its only worth its value to you if you sell it and leave yourself homeless. Thats not even going into what people owe on their mortgages and the huge numbers in negative equity.

Sac up enda and call it what it is….the Anglo tax.

• Paul 05/12/12 #

Kenny is only saying what our german masters what him to say

• God he’s so full of it !

• Theres no such thing as a progressive tax

• Why worry about Kenny at this stage it’s pretty clear that he doesn’t have a clue and in fairness it’s probably good news for a lot of ex school children that he became a TD because otherwise their education would have been ruined with him in the class room. More worrying is the fact so many other TD’s support him….

• How am I going to find an extra 1k Nxt year enda??

• So with a house worth ?600,000 you can’t find ?20 a week?

• Derek, there’s plenty of unemployed/hungry people living in houses that were once worth a lot more than they are today.

• Creamy it will obviously be based on the current price, not what it was bought for.

• That’s irrelevant James.

If you live in a house worth X amount of money (be it €50k or €500k) it doesn’t necessarily mean you have money these days.

And guess what, if you don’t have more money…you can’t pay more tax!

• yea but they pay a mortgage based on the price it was valued at then not now… its called negative equity and plenty of people are in that situation.

• I know but the way he said it sounds confusing.

• Which we all have paid taxes on.Each block and bag of cement, each rafter window door and frame, each roof, floor and wall tiles. And Enda is still taxing us on our Homes which are worth nothing. Our homes were for our security in old age or so I thought but now I will never own my own home Enda and his ilk have seen to that Thank you Enda and Eamon yea are doing a great job at destroying the home owners of Ireland Happy Christmas and a very Happy new Year to you all but please give a thought to the devastation you are personally responsible for.none of the hard working people of Ireland caused this recession. It is you and your ilk along with all your overpaid over the top “bonuses” your friends “the bankers and your over paid salary,bonus and Expenses that now sees such hardship with your people The very people you say you have their best interest in all you do Shame on you Enda Shame on you. You have proved yet again you are the lowest of the low Well Enda you are finished you may never look for a vote from the people again but then why would you worry after all you can be Cosy with your hand shake and your pensions Good man Enda you provided for your family very well but what about us that did provide for our family also but you have taken it all from us with robbed votes and a stroke of your pen.Shame on you and Shame on you all who sits at the same side of the house with you You are a gutless spineless lowlife

• Sorry about the multiple posts
      @Journal what is it with the multiple posts please

• Tommy 05/12/12 #

No Enda it simply isn’t. Stop lying to us!

• We the people of Ireland can and will defeat this unfair property tax by ONLY electing candidates who oppose it at the next election

• You won’t see penny one from me you slag.

• Kenny is that far up Angeles arse he will have to pay the property tax for living there, don’t worry we will catch this rat.

• Don’t be fooled, this sly government will have property tax increased to thousands in no time just to pay for their pay rises…. I hate to say it, but it may be time to give the skinners a go at the wheel….

• The so called ‘elite’ of Ireland are as clever and as slippery as they come!

Here they have us all arguing and getting hot and bothered about the individual attacks they are launching upon us.

From various angles we are being attacked and we are almost forgetting at this stage to mention the bondholder/political class/developer bailout that has us in the mess and economic war that we are in right now!!!

I say, the people of Ireland must down tools for as long as it takes to collapse this government of the rich for the rich and make it a priority whilst doing this, to take back our gas and oil resources from the private companies which have been given them.

There is no time to waste and we must all believe we can do this because anything less will simply encourage the present political and financial groups to continue their onslaught upon us, they will not stop their attacks as they dont want to stop and their aim is complete and utter control and domination over the people of this country and the theft of our natural resources.

Icelandic people stood up shoulder to shoulder and they did it, they collapsed their government and refuted the private debt being hoisted upon them IT CAN BE DONE!!!!

We can and we must show eachother solidarity NOW and peacefully collapse this government as Democracy no longer exists in Ireland and we must realise we are in an economic war with merciless ruthless dark forces and up to now we they have been beating the the crap out of us.

Now is the time when we must show eachother solidarity, stand with eachother, defend ourselves defend eachother and take our country back and free ourselves from this bondage of debt and trickery.

There is no other option, there is no cavalry coming to save us, we the people of Ireland are our own cavalry and we must defend ourselves from this ruthless/merciless onslaught and WIN THIS ECONOMIC WAR that the political/banking groups have been waging against us all.

Its with this sense of fighting for our freedom and for democracy to be truly born in Ireland that i copy here Liam Mac Uistins poem WE SAW A VISION, in the hope that the people of Ireland, find their fighting spirit so as to free ourselves.

‘We Saw A Vision’, by Liam Mac Uistin.

In the darkness of despair we saw a vision, We lit the light of hope, And it was not extinguished.

In the desert of discouragement we saw a vision, We planted the tree of valor, And it blossomed.

In the winter of bondage we saw a vision, We melted the snow of lethargy, And the river of resurrection flowed from it.

We sent our vision aswim like a swan on the river, The vision became a reality, Winter became summer, Bondage became freedom, And this we left to you as your inheritance.

O generation of freedom remember us, The generation of the vision.

• John 05/12/12 #

Yes, it is time to hit the streets and why not do it now. This shower has got to go.

• Are government ministers exempt from this form of the household tax too?

• We had Bertie. We had Cowen. Never in a million years did I think we’d have a leader hated more than either. I was wrong. Vote DDI. At least you’ll be able to f@ck them out (and any future govt)

• He said in his manifesto it wasn’t fair. Feb 2011 p.60. (Noonan hasn’t read the manifesto obviously he just said on RTE that they had committed to a property tax) It’s also discriminatory as not everyone contributes to the services that everyone uses, just home owners. It’s also uncolstitutional as the right to private property is protected in the constitution.

• Reg 05/12/12 #

Your constitutional argument is rubbish Anne. There was domestic rates based on values previously.

• I disagree Reg. We have the right to private property and though it may be interfered with it must be deemed to be in the ‘public interest’. So if it was neccessary for a motorway to cut through my land and this was proven in court to be in the ‘public interest’ a CPO would be made but I would be compensated. Interfering with your rights to private property is not a small matter. I’ve just noticed but don’t know if it’s accurate yet a quote from Mark McCrystal on the web (as I say I don’t know where it came from so am not depending on it) also saying that this property tax is constitutional. I’m interested as he was proven right in the Supreme Court with his referendum challenge last month so his instincts and/or intelligence is good.

• He is so full of it !

• Send the gombeen clueless lying hall monitor back to his rock he crawled out off in mayo. Bye bye FG

• If I had this gangsters wages I would think the property tax was fair,your a rogue Kenny but the Irish people will show you the long road back to Mayo.

• Enda’s statement is neither progressive or Fair.
    How is it progressive when it’s just a copied model from another jurisdiction?
    How is it fair when a person living in a 2 bed terrace on the edge of D4 has to pay more than someone in a 5 bed, 3 bathroom “mansion” on the outskirts of Clonmel?
    Progressive and fair would have been if an algorithm had been applied to Google maps to calculate square meter-age and tax that.

I Hate these taxes especially when we receive very little in return
    Other than the local library and some tree felling I don’t see anything that the local authority do for in our community. The charge is just to pay the wages and pensions of the many bureaucrats in county hall.
    My Car tax pays for the roads and lighting, the car park charges pays for the parking walla. Business rates pays for the street cleaners and the drains. All other services are paid for in general tax.

It’s gone way past the time to tell the bond holders to to run of the Moher cliffs and take our politicians and their bloated salaries/pensions with them.

• Politicians need Fear. But there is only one way these bastards who would govern us will fear. Get everyone in your family with a vote. Bring granny in her wheelchair and off you go on Friday or Saturday to your TD’s office, one this week, one next week and the other the week after if you are unfortunate to have three. Mak an appointment and tell them -even better leave them a by hand delivered pe
    rsonally letter – informing them that you and all your kin will not vote for them again if they pass the budget. The more this happens the bigger their fear. Local councillors need the same treatment. The more widespread their fear the better. NOW is the hour!!! Now is also the hour to stand – that’s you there – to stand in the next local elections against every party hack – FG and Lab for following blindly the political manifesto of FF since the last elections. Let them smell the fear!!!!

• Can’t Pay Won’t Pay No Way !

• Vouched/unvouched expenses shouldn’t even be part of a budget – lead by example ya greedy feckin’ pigs. We’re all royally screwed whichever way you look at it..

• Disgusting excuse for a human being.

• Bruce 05/12/12 #

Enda, what is progressive about a pensioner on ?180 a week being asked for 300 – 400?

The same elderly people whose prescription cost has been increased by 300%. Fair and progressive?

The same elderly people who will have their electricity and phone allowances cut.

TIME TO HIT THE STREETS.

• Vouched/unvouched expenses shouldn’t even be part of a budget – lead by example ya greedy feckin’ pigs. We’re all royally screwed whichever way you look at it..

• Bruce 05/12/12 #

TIME TO HIT THE STREETS.

• No streets! Waste of time! Freeze your wotsits off and no notice taken by your politicians!! Politicians need Fear. But there is only one way these bastards who would govern us will fear. Get everyone in your family with a vote. Bring granny in her wheelchair and off you go on Friday or Saturday to your TD’s office, one this week, one next week and the other the week after if you are unfortunate to have three. Mak an appointment and tell them -even better leave them a by hand delivered pe
      rsonally letter – informing them that you and all your kin will not vote for them again if they pass the budget. The more this happens the bigger their fear. Local councillors need the same treatment. The more widespread their fear the better. NOW is the hour!!! Now is also the hour to stand – that’s you there – to stand in the next local elections against every party hack – FG and Lab for following blindly the political manifesto of FF since the last elections. Let them smell the fear!!!!

• Taxation should easy and simple to calculate, be fair and cheap to collect – Father of modern economics – we need a Irish Modern Republic revolution – opposition need branding – where are we ‘the popes children’ the cubs of the ‘celtic tiger’ – Time to get off the ditch and get- INVOLVED!!- enough comments from the puppets of FG/FG & other hangers on from the Civil War!!

• Ah here.. 7posts – even though an error occured it still posted!

• two face p$#&k

• Who will be valuing the house? I bought mine three years ago, since then two other houses have been sold on my street, one for half what I paid and the other for a third! Clearly it’s not worth what I paid for so I don’t really want to pay the tax based on the price I bought it for. Actually, dont wanna pay at all but that’s life.

• It’s grand on Enda wages, what about us on the bread line some joke of a country I’d be better off on the dole.

• of course enda views salary as fair and progressive, just like his salary…..

• Is it true that after tax a retired bank manager who retired 3 years ago after giving out loans without a second thought is taking home €2,200:00 per week ??

• Martin mac get ur facts right!! In uk i pay rent, council tax, electricity, water in to house, water out of house (both separate) tv licence
    Education is free (same as ireland) college can cost £20,000 which is a goverment loan doesn’t include food sometimes accommodation
    Health is paid separately in a tax out of my wages! Council tax is roughly £1500 per year pays for bins street lights
    Car tax is separate again and it pays for roads
    Ireland has had it handy for a long time we need to come in line with Europe!!

• Been away from Ireland for a long time Diarmuid? When you say education is free in the UK. Does that mean your kids get their school books for free? Because that does not happen in free education Ireland. Health is a tax in my wages I also pay additional fees to a health insurance company to ensure that if I or one of my family fall sick and require medical attention that will happen rather then being told to join the end of the queue. Car tax in Ireland is about treble what it is in the UK and it doesn’t pay for the roads. We in Ireland have always paid our way but now the Irish government has decided to destroy us as a nation to pay other nations ill advised lending.

• Jeez, what the heck is happening over there?? Everyday it’s something else !

• No need to wait for the next election!

You can Vote on the Home Tax Petition site.

75,000 signatures should do the trick.

You’ll have to search for it .. this forum doesnt like links in posts me thinks!

• Reg no Enda is paid 200k while Obama is paid 306k but government ministers were exempt from the household charge, so it’s a fair question to ask are they exempt from this to. Especially since laughing boy Noonan said, that those who were exempt from the household charge, will be exempt from this. It was confirmed in the Dail during leaders question time by the way, just in case you want to look it up, before dismissing it as a conspiracy theory.

Endas wages are somewhat similar, to the manager of a local bar getting paid the same as a CEO of google, if you want to make comparisons with Obama.

Add New Comment