TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Firefighters suspended as Roscommon requests Defence Forces assistance

Roscommon’s fire service has requested assistance from the Defence Forces for later this week as a precautionary measure.

File photo
File photo
Image: Photocall Ireland

FOURTEEN FIREFIGHTERS HAVE been suspended from Roscommon Fire Service as the chief fire officer today confirmed he has requested assistance from the Defence Forces as a precautionary measure.

Firefighters are in dispute over a breathing apparatus refresher training course which was due to take place today but which 14 firefighters did not attend leading to their suspension in what Chief Fire Officer Cathal McConn said was an “unprecedented” move.

The firefighters argue that they have concerns about the standards of the test but the fire service, operated by Roscommon County Council, says the course is necessary under health and safety requirements that need to be fulfilled in accordance with legislation.

As a result, the 14 firefighters were taken off the payroll, as well as having their pagers and access keys removed from them this morning. A hearing is scheduled at the Labour Relations Commission tomorrow.

Roscommon’s Chief Fire Officer Cathal McConn has told TheJournal.ie that Defence Forces’ assistance has been requested as a “contingency” and insisted that there was presently “adequate cover”.

“You wouldn’t be able to mobilise Defences Forces immediately,” McConn said. “They have to plan their resources as well. As of today and all day tomorrow we have no problem with our standard of cover. It’s only if things get worse.”

Implications

The Defence Forces have been requested to assist with emergency fire cover in Roscommon Town from midday on Wednesday, it is understood.

Roscommon has 58 firefighters in total across six stations in the county but with 14 now out-of-action, services will be stretched with the Irish Firefighter and Emergency Services Association (IFESA) warning of the implications this may have on the service’s ability to operate properly.

An IFESA spokesperson told TheJournal.ie it had concerns that it was fire officers and not firefighters who were delivering training.

“These instructors have never worn a breathing apparatus (BA) in a house fire and they’re trying to tell somebody who has been wearing it for years  how to do it,” the spokesperson said. ”They’ve never worn it in a real-life situation.”

Concerns have also been raised about the stringent conditions which mean that officers who fail the refresher course cannot operate. McConn, rejected these complaints.

He insisted that the instructors who are fire officers “have been trained to the highest level” and that those who do not pass get another opportunity to do so.

“If at first you might not succeed then try and try again. They are always given that opportunity. It is never envisaged that they will be stood down,” McConn said.

Read next:

Comments (30 Comments)

• Why does Munster need more fire chiefs on whopper salaries than serve the entire greater London metropolitan area?
    As cutbacks bite, fire stations have shut, firefighter job vacancies go unfilled, and millions have been hacked off the fire service budget — yet there are hundreds of high-earning senior fire officers, research by the Sunday Independent has discovered.
    “Compared with other jurisdictions the droves of senior managers is extraordinary,” one source in the sector said.
    Greater London, population 7.7 million, has one chief fire officer (CFO) and six senior staff.
    For the six counties of Munster, with a population 1.1 million, there are 10 CFOs, 20 senior assistant CFOs, 40 assistant CFOs, and up to 20 assistant FOs.
    Ireland, with a population 4.1 million, has 29 CFOs. Scotland, with a population of 5.1 million, has just eight.
    Chief fire officers earn between €78,000 and €95,000, “but many take home well into six figures when allowances of as much as €30,000 are added”, our source said. Then there are 82 senior assistant CFOs earning €73,000-€87,117.
    There are layers of top brass job titles across 37 local authority fire service areas: CFO, senior assistant CFO, assistant CFO, senior executive FO, second and third FOs — six grades where pay and allowances can pass €80,000.
    It all adds up to an annual pay bill circa €20m.
    Firefighters earn a fraction of this, with pay rates starting at €24,821 and stopping at €44,148 after 17 years of duty.
    In total, there are 272 senior fire officers. There are 2,459 firefighters, full and part-time. That’s one senior manager for every nine firefighters. The recommended ratio is one in 20, according to the Irish Fire and Emergency Services Association (IFESA).
    “We have the most supervised fire service in the world,” says John Kidd of the IFESA, “Yet there are cuts in budgets for training and frontline positions are not being filled.
    “In Co Offaly three part-time fire stations closed in order to save €100,000, yet there are seven assistant CFOs earning close to €100,000 each in the Laois-Offaly area.”
    Mr Kidd says that €1 in every €4 in the fire service is spent on management.
    “An integrated service with fewer managers would save €70m,” he maintains.
    Fine Gael TD Terence Flanagan says numbers must be cut. “I think there could be four or five CFOs for the whole country. These positions are an extravagance we can’t afford.”

• i think geographical size needs to be considered also here Barty. 1 chief couldn’t possibly cover the size of Ireland. That being said, your points overall are very valid and is very representative of a lot of Irish state run entities; i.e.
      So many managers; so little management.

• Why not? We only have one Garda Commisioner…

• Of the firefighters say either the test or BA is not up to scratch, I’m with them! They deal in real life scenarios. H&S is important, but you cant beat the real thing.

• I’m a truck driver and we as drivers have to sit for 7 hours “training” every year. The person doing the training may never even have sat in a truck in their lives, yet they are telling us, the professional drivers, what to be doing.

I’ve been driving trucks 14 years and yes, I am still learning things, but that’s usually from another driver and I hope too that I may pass on some of the skills that I have learned to others.

It’s yet another way to squeeze for money from workers, but in the disguise of training.

• Firefighters have to attend and successfully complete a 2 week initial BA wearers course. Every 2 years they must attend a 2 day BA refresher course, firefighters get to wear BA at car fires house fires etc they will also wear BA approx 20 times throughout the year as part of there weekly drill programme.

Senior officers who instruct on BA courses attend a 2 week initial BA wearers course they then attend a 2 week BA instructors course, the next time they wear BA is instructing on a refresher course. Depending on how many BA instructors are in a county some might not wear BA for 4 or even 6 years.

A BA refresher course is to refresh the skills in which the firefighter is qualified in.

• One CFO could look after all of Ireland but I suppose 4 would be enough just to be on the safe side.

• Are these full/part time or volunteer fire fighters ?? I would have expected any instructors will have life experience to teach these fire fighters. At the end of the day the fire fighters lives depend on the quality of the training being given…. There seems to be a lot of contradictions on this issue.

• The problem and it is a very serious one is that the instructers are not active serving firefighters but only pen-pushing bean-counting office clerks, they may have done a course where they were shown how to wear the equipment but have never worn any such equipment in an actual fire!

How many more firefighters have to die before all this red tape bullshit is done away with and most of these fat-arse fire officers get made redundant with only statutory redundancy?

• I agree with you foggy_lad
      At the end of the day the fire fighters lives depend on the quality of the training being given…. If you read my post again you will see that I agree with you …..

• Yes their a lot of issues that the Maia have not mentioned but one is that the coarse there were being sent on this morning was not adequate Roscommon County Council has not upgraded to proper standard so what do they do in the RCC only go and SACK 14 Men bully boy tactics being used? On the part of management I am 100% behind THE BRILLIANT FIRE FIGHTERS OF ROSCOMMON CHIN UP PEOPLE POWER ARE BACKING YEA. BEST WISHES X X X X

• Still….Only one Commisioner!!

• If the firefighters are wearing this gear day in day out, surely they’d either pass the training or fail en-masse?

But the army are expected to take up the slack? A bus strike this isn’t!!

Attend the training lads and get back to work!

• The majority of those figures in that Sunday Independent article are incorrect. A chief fire officer is on the same pay scale as a senior engineer in local authorities. And how do assistant chiefs in Laois/Offaly earn more than a chief fire officer – that is a basic lie from John Kidd. Also for a chief fire officer to earn 30k in expenses he/she would have to be away on business every night of the week.
      Also the ratio of officers to firefighters doesn’t paint a full picture. Half the officers in a lot of counties don’t deal with the brigades day to day and are involved in fire prevention, building control major emergency management etc. i.e. an engineering role. This is something fire authorities in the UK don’t do. The UK is not the same as the Irish Fire Service either – chiefs are paid twice as much for a start. The London Fire Brigade is it’s own entity, with it’s own finance & HR departments. Fire Services in Ireland are part of the Local Authorities.

• It’s nit a case of GET BACK TO WORK LADS at all it is a case of going on the right coarse and it is remember PEN PUSHERS that are deciding what the coarse that Our Un-Sung Heroes The Fire Fighters are doing These same Fire Fighters that go to the scenes of Road Accidents House Fires they have even gone to train crashes it is these people who witness these tragedies that none of us the general public could not even begin to imagine and the pen pushers either LOOK AT WICKLOW 2 OF THESE FIRE FIGHTERS WERE KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY SO I say to Roscommon County Council do the right thing get the proper coarse up and running get these men back to do what they have trained to do.Let them do it with The skill and Professionalism that they do carry out their work
      God bless All Fire Fighters and doing a very hard job wonderfully Thank you Lads I am 100% behind you

• Kev Mak 22/11/11 #

@tabnabs. Is that a case of just do what you are told regardless of any flaws or concerns raised? Stay blind,keep quiet,do as your told as we know better.How dare anyone question what we say about how little your opinion counts! Or is it just me.

• What i would like to know is, where is this “adequate cover” coming from and who is doing the cover??? and if the Army stands in, on what grounds, and how much training have they done to inable them to go into house fires in B.A. and are they trained to use the equipment in the fire station, not only fire equipment but also RTA equipment??? Remember Army, their trying to close your Barracks too you know!!!

• Andy 21/11/11 #

Quit your moaning lads. Sit through the couple hours of training and just get on with it.

• And if there right bout the breathing app. No good finding out its useless in the midge of a fire.

• Andy 21/11/11 #

Second paragraph Cormac…They have a problem with being made to do the refresher training course and being lectured by a training officer who has never worn the breathing apparatus in a real life. I don’t see where it says there is a problem with the breathing apparatus and their refusal to use the equipment due safety concerns.

• Unless you have to use a piece of equipment to not only save your life but to rescue others in danger you have no right to tell them to get on with it. If someone who has no practical experience is trying to teach you about a dangerous environment that can’t be accurately recreated in a training facility, it will only lead to one thing, injured or even fatalities in the fire service. They aren’t refusing training and jeopardising their income for the craic.

• Kev Mak 22/11/11 #

@andy. Just take it like a man ,eh Andy? Mizaru,Kikazaru and Iwazaru .See no……Hear no……Speak no……Blah blah blah!

• A firefighter with 15 years service who has gone back to college attained a degree in Engineering will have to leave the service to get the engineering experience to allow him to get back into the service as a senior officer in firefighting.

• No he wouldn’t. There are many firefighters who have stepped into roles of senior officers after obtaining a degree. By obtaining a degree they’ve shown they have an aptitude for analysis, reports, projects, inspecting, the paperwork side of things. There are many station officers and sub officers who are instructors too. It’s not a closed shop for firefighters to move up, it’s just the majority of them are retained and have day jobs so probably don’t wish to. And not every manager or engineer in a factory has worked on the factory floor.

Add New Comment