TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Firefighters threaten legal action over faulty breathing equipment

Firefighters in Dublin have expressed repeated concerns about oxygen sets which have failed on a number of occasions.

One of the sets in question, with ice visible on air tubing.
Image: IFESA

A GROUP REPRESENTING firefighters in Dublin is threatening legal action over what it says is Dublin Fire Brigade’s reluctance to deal with an ongoing issue over the safety of breathing apparatuses being used.

The Irish Firefighter and Emergency Services Association (IFESA) claims that there have been “at least 8 catastrophic episodes of equipment failures” reported by firefighters.

Though no injuries have occurred as a result of these incidences, IFESA has has asked that the sets be withdrawn immediately. Dublin Fire Brigade (DFB) did not return repeated requests for comment.

In letters sent to Dublin City Manager John Tierney, every city councillor and senior members of Dublin Fire Brigade this year, IFESA – which claims to represent some 500 firefighters and paramedics working in the capital - has said the matter requires “immediate and urgent attention”.

It has repeatedly called for the breathing equipment to be withdrawn from service saying that air supply is cutting out, causing the collapsing of masks in firefighters faces potentially leading to suffocation.

TheJournal.ie has seen pictures of ice forming on sets during testing, caused by excess moisture in the oxygen cylinder, which could potentially cause problems with air flow.

“The staff have expressed their fear that the next malfunction may occur in an environment where the Fire Fighter is unable to extricate himself safely. The risk to our members is extremely serious,” a letter, dated 4 January, said.

Dublin Fire Brigade has so far not responded to the letters and does not recognise IFESA as an official union. It negotiates only with SIPTU and IMPACT. IFESA claims that it is entitled to negotiating rights under its affiliation with the Psychiatric Nurses Association (PNA).

DFB did not respond to repeated requests for comment for this article but told RTÉ last month that the issues had been resolved. However, IFESA currently believes that a potentially fatal injury to a firefighter is “wholly foreseeable” unless further action is taken by DFB.

Last month, a spokesman from SIPTU told TheJournal.ie that there was “a crisis of confidence in the kit” referring to the breathing apparatuses. He said the matter needed to be resolved collectively to ensure all aspects of equipment was fully operation.

Firefighters call for withdrawal of ‘potentially dangerous’ breathing gear

Firefighters raise concerns after breathing equipment ‘collapses’

Read next:

Comments (15 Comments)

• It’s a disturbing feeling when you have to enter a fire wearing one of these sets. I always had full confidence in the old sets we had but now I am filled with fear. I don’t need distractions like that when I’m trying to do my job. My wife doesn’t need the extra fear saying goodbye to me as I leave home to start my shift. The citizens of Dublin don’t need this when I’m called out to rescue them and save property.
    If you want to experience what an airflow stoppage feels like, put clingwrap on your mouth and nose and breathe. It’s a bit dangerous really. It may kill you. When you take it away you can take in a big deep breath. A firefighter cannot take off the mask in heavy smoke conditions. Toxic smoke can kill with one breath. Damned if you do and damned if you don’t.
    Let’s all hope that egos get put to the side and common sense and decency can prevail before we bury a firefighter or member of the public due to this.

• Willie Birmingham…. It is a disgrace.and I wish you and ALL your colleagues a speedy resolution to this issue… All of the Councils are letting each and everyone of you down and will it really take 1 of you to get badly hurt or worse for “THE POWERS THAT BE” ( pen pushers) to do their job where is their Safety First for their well respected FRONTLINE STAFF
      I Wish You well and be safe It is People like you that we take for granted But At all times you are well respected Best Wishes

• That’s awful! U hav such a dangerous job to do, u risk ur life everyday,ur safety is meant to be top priority!! How many lives hav been saved thanx to u!
      I hope they fix this problem a.s.a.p before god forbid sumone dies!

• They won’t be happy until there’s firefighter / public fatalities resulting from this, and then they’ll fight it all the way in courts pleading ignorance!
    How dare they be so cavalier with people’s lives, have they learned nothing???

• I live outside Dublin, many years ago there was a house fire near me, some fool told the firefighters there was children in the house and two of them got kitted up and went in. Now I can’t describe what they went into, you see these buildings on fire on TV but it is nothing like that in reality, even 30 feet away you had to shield yourself but these lads went in. I have to be honest, nothing would get me to go into that.
    If we expect our firefighters to do things like this, and we do every day, then the very least we can do for them is equip them with the best gear that they can rely on. This is shameful to say the least, and whats worse is that they have to go to the media and threaten legal action to get something as basic as this sorted. I’m begining to think Eamon Dunphy was right and this is a kip of a country, though I hate to admit it.

• It’s appalling in the extreme to have a situation like this. These brave firefighters deserve much better. Shame on those in charge for allowing this to happen.

• What exactly is the fire services call out charge for? Is it to pay management large bonuses for placing firefighters lives at risk and profit from bad deals!

• Dario Fo 19/02/12 #

With all the money DCC got from non residential tax you would think they could purchase the equipment, instead of 12-D rubbish collection vans. Both the equipment and D.C.C not fit for purpose. Where is the legendary Health Safety Executive when you need them.

• And what is the manufacturers response?

• Sadly this sounds all too familiar a tale, kit that doesn’t work properly and a dismissive attitude from those who should be dealing with it and getting it sorted, only when there is a fatality or a serious accident will the people responsible do anything about it, usually after the event and then it will be the usual bullshit, legally drafted apology, insincere bleating about the ‘tragedy’ and the old “lessons learned’ chestnut. The ones in charge know full well that in the ‘republic of unaccountability’ their jobs are safe and they won’t have to answer for anything, such is the way of things in Ireland, the culture of the gombeen and the cute hoor will always protect the incompetent and reckless, they have learned nothing and they never will. It’s going to take a massive shift in the Irish psyche to change the culture that allows this sort of reckless incompetence to go unchecked. Firefighters deserve better than this.

• Which manufacturers have you tried to contact? – Although most users would lay blame at the BA manufacturer, the fact of the matter is that internal faults are most commonly the caused by poor air quality – look first at the BA compressor, air quality testing and compressor maintenance, particularly moisture levels. Ice on the outside, as you can see pictured is quite normal in heavy use – as the air expands it cools causing outside moisture to condense and often freeze on the outside of hoses and fittings. It’s ice on the inside which causes problems and is difficult to identify as it melts by the time any investigation starts!

Add New Comment