TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Rising food poverty hinders students’ ability to learn

The IPPN said primary school students are faced with new forms of disadvantages including losing their homes, cyber-bullying and early sexualisaton.

Image: School students image via Shutterstock

FOOD POVERTY IS hindering some primary school pupils’ ability to learn basic literacy and numeracy, according to the Irish Primary Principals’ Network (IPPN).

In his speech at the organisation’s annual conference today, IPPN President Gerry Murphy said the incidence of food poverty is rising, with as many as one in five principals surveyed reporting that more pupils are arriving to school hungry.

Other conditions from which more pupils are suffering include depression, emotional disturbance, attention disorders, violent behaviour and family trauma, according to IPPN’s surveys of primary school leaders.

Murphy described food poverty as a “worrying function of the recession”, and urged policy-makers to better understand the link between learning and physical and mental wellbeing.

“In concentrating on the three Rs – reading, ‘riting and ‘rithmitic – we can neglect the new fourth ‘R’ in education – relationships,” he said. “Our children’s ability to form and sustain relationships, manage conflict, build self-confidence, and develop interpersonal and problem-solving skills is fundamental to their physical and emotional wellbeing and their development as human beings.”

He also said children are faced with complex social challenges, with new forms of disadvantage affecting their school experience, including middle-class families losing their homes, cyber-bullying, early sexualisation, and parental drug and alcohol abuse.

Read: Department to issue bullying guidelines to schools this week>

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• Could we not have canteens at schools for kids so they can get quality food and be part of the educational system? Children are our future, we should invest in them and no better way that food and education. Just a thought!

• That would cost money, but there are plenty out there who would rather have children go hungry than countenance adjusting our tax regime to give a break to low/middle earners, with higher earners picking up the slack.

• Also, look what happened when Jamie Oliver brought up the subject of canteens in schools serving more nutritious food. You’d get the ‘oh this is a nanny state too far’ brigade out in force.

• I hear you both but aren’t we suppose to look after our kids, we can be a nanny state for our children, they are our future, yes? Sure, it will cost money, would need to come via tax plus we would have to make sure that no cowboy caterers would be involved (as in mates of the TD’s!).

• No I agree 100% with you Tom. I’m just saying watch out for the Nanny State crowd if they did bring in a scheme like this.

I’d be all for diverting our taxes into sectors like this, for what we pay in this country with get very little in return.

• So using public money to cover some kids school books & clothes is not enough now we should cover their school lunches?! Should we also pay for their weddings and funerals? No wonder the place is broke.

• @Cian, in fairness that is not what I’m suggesting and it is a cheap shot to suggest otherwise. We’re broke as our governments waste money on many other items that add very little value to this state.

• Headline could just as easily be ‘ Rising food poverty hinders peoples’ ability to live ‘

• So upsetting in this day and age to hear of children going hungry, very sad. Wouldn’t it be lovely if those of us who are lucky enough not to be in this position could work with the schools to perhaps send in extra food with our own kids lunches to be given to the hungry children, it wouldn’t cost us that much to take turns sending in a few rolls etc. I know it doesn’t solve the problem longterm but it would help somewhat.

• tom 24/01/13 #

Sounds kind hearted but it might create stigma and very unlikely to create a balanced diet. To reverse something like this the unjustly cuts in chrildren warfare would have to be reversed. I aways thought benefits should be means tested achieving same if not bigger savings to the state. But sadly nothing will change and the poorest will make the biggest sacrifice

• john duggan does not have kids, i do not see veg on there one apple,, i dont spend much money on food as dont have much left at end of week, but i can say it would be more nutricious than john would feed his,, and if that is what he feeds his children i do feel someone should inform someone to help those children, i will go without the meat veg and fruit but make sure my children get a well rounded meal, yes i am unemployed for the last year or so, yes i struggle, trying to pay mortgage, mortgage insurance, house insurance, elec, little bit for heat, not much but we have heat every other nite, and around 20 for food, but one can make a fine pot of soup with veg, and my kids love hot soup, and my one word of advice is if there is no colour on your plate it aint healthy,

• Hard to believe we are talking about Ireland and not a third world country . .

• These are the kids of junkies and alcos. We need to introduce soup kitchens and foos stamps in place of the dole. One had to as, what are these negligent parents spending the childrens allowance on? One can easily feed a child a fully nutritious diet for €3 a day.

• One should not neglect ones spelling and grammar either!

• Julie 24/01/13 #

John go away and get yourself updated on the fact there has been a recession and people Are poor and put out of work , god some people are so tuned out of reality so instead they jut make disgusting comments!

• Eleen 24/01/13 #

Are you kidding me 3 euros a day? It’s 3 euro for a pack of oranges. 7 euros you can make a decent stew for dinner. But that doesn’t cover breakfast, lunch or supper, drinks etc.

• €3 a day? What kind of food are you feeding your kids?

• Drinks = water. Free.
      Breakfast = tesco brand cereal =.30c a serving
      lunch = sandwich (homemade) + apple = €1
      dinner & tea = potatoes or rice with cheap cut of meat = €1.50

Or just eat noodles all day, I don’t care once I don’t have to foot the bill for your negligence.

• Mt kids eat proper food by the way, branded foods. I actually spend child benefit on my kids unlike the majority of those in receipt of welfare. You have to have priorities.

• Julie 24/01/13 #

Listen you obviously don’t mind footing the bill for the pensions of Bertie and cowen etc costing us millions a year, like private sector they should find their own pensions. The ones who caused this mess no you would rather attack innocent suffering kids and family shame on you

• I certainly do mind footing the bill for those cowboys. Personally, I dislike footing any bills that aren’t my own but especially when they’re being mis-spent on substance abuse.

• Julie 24/01/13 #

So your saying all kids who are hungry is because their parents are substance abusers, you must realise there is a recession and people are struggling , people’s kids are going hungry because they just don’t have the money, educate yourself a little on what is going on before you make such disgusting comments! Your views are very simple minded .

• tom 24/01/13 #

@ john you say out of your taxes yet you claim children’s benefit. I wonder how much of a real positive tax contribution you and your family really are to socity,
      When all the benefits and state subsidies like schooling are considered probaby little if any at all and certainly not in a position to be belittling others with lesser means who claim slightly more.

• A fully nutritious diet for €3? Tap water? Tesco cereal? 1 piece of fruit or veg? Doesn’t seem terribly nutritious to me John.

• John where does it say that in article don’t your remember before christmas a kid was hospitalised suffering from malnutrition in cork ? And she wasn’t the child of a junkie , wake up its happening In every corner of ireland these days

• @John If you can feed a teenager a dinner for €1.50 then i can fly

• @john are you sticking to that €3 a day fully nutritious diet yourself??

• You don’t claim child benefit, you just get it. And quite frankly, any parent who doesn’t spend it on food for their children and instead spends it on bills or whatever is being negligent if their child is hungry. I know there’s a recession but your given the money to ensure your kids don’t starve.

• John, you can feed children cheaply enough, but you cannot compromise on the nutritional value! Sure you can feed children tesco noodles only for a year, but don’t be surprised if they turn greenish and start glowing in the dark. Not mentioning the cost of the GP and the dentist that would be skyrocketing.

• John – I was with you 100% until you said ‘branded’ foods. What a stupid asinine thing to say. You’re a marketers wet dream

• Julie 24/01/13 #

After reading the article before this about Enda in davos spouting crap, oh I am so great I had such a mess and I cleaned it up , what you forgot to mention is that you merely jut covered it up , took from the poorest in your country to pay for the mistakes of the rich including you and ye are the only ones not suffering! You have children going with out food you have not sorted anything you little rat. Lads we are being screwed over so badly and we are letting them do it actually some people are still supporting them! Suicide on the rise, kids going hungry, people freezing with no money to heat houses, empty cupboards, homelessness , 1 in 4 in mortgage distress, mass emigration , unemployment 20% , u have done nothing only screw your own people, you will be written into the history book as a traitor! How can you sit back and allow so much suffering, disgusting human beings

• Anyone know why some schools provide lunches for their pupils and others don’t? Always wondered why!

• marcoop 24/01/13 #

Small schools should have allotments for growing fruit and veg. All schools should have fruit bearing trees and plants on their grounds, I’m not saying there’s enough to feed a school but there’s enough to change a culture of ‘go to Tesco’ for everything because picking it yourself means you’re poor or a hippy.

• I know of a school in Waterford that supplies free lunches for their pupils so it’s not just up the north! I’m just curious.

• I work in a DEIS (disadvantaged) school and all students are offered (not all avail of the option) a free lunch that includes a bottle of water, a piece of fruit, a sandwich/ portion of pasta and a healthy snack. This was introduced a number of years ago and is one of the most important initiatives in DEIS schools. Some students even take home the spare lunches for their dinner. It’s not footing the bill on the same level as paying pensions to Ahearn and co. when you are actually feeding children the only nutritious food they receive in a day.

• @JohnDuggan if you think potatoes or rice and a cheap cut of meat is nutritious for a child’s dinner then you won’t be on Come Dine With Me anytime soon. As for your generalization that it’s only junkies and alcos whose kids go hungry then you should be giving thanks that your obvious lack of knowledge on the subject means you can wallow in your ignorance and make sweeping statements like that. If only life were actually that black and white eh?

• The race to be categorised as disadvantaged is a corrosive influence on individuals, schools. Etc.

• John Dugan was your dad or mom an alcoholic or something you seem to be demented by it

• For a country that pays a lot for “our stuff” between taxes and over priced everything, we get so little in return although I suppose the council house family I know with all their iPads and new house decor are making sure they get their bit for the rest of us all. While us ejits pay for it all and have nothing ourselves. I can never understand it, work hard and get nothing in return, don’t bother working and get everything free.

• tom 24/01/13 #

You need to readjust your comparison towards the elite who pay very similar taxes as you but earn vast higher amounts. Its the hidded taxes like vat duties on basics that distorts your disposable income. Then you’ll realise % of your income that is taxed is far higher than the elite who you are subsidising in this wealth transfer.
      Bottom line if your comparing yourself to those on benefits your working poor.

• ECP 24/01/13 #

@ All Of You who think that you’re ‘footing the bill’ for people to smoke drugs and buy iPads your cozy up bringing and good education didn’t do much for your understanding of life and culture and that is so very sad and positively pathetic (that last bit was called alliteration incase you were to comfortable in class to learn that) . Quite frankly you should be ashamed of yourselves not to have considered that it is a cultural problem and an economic one. COP ON.

• ECP 24/01/13 #

This is absolutely disgraceful and makes me sick. People on this country are making billions in profit. Children are starving. Middle class people NEED TO GIVE UP the childlens benefit. Get real for once, this is serious and will effect access to third level meaning poorer people no matter how smart won’t get to third level – their gov. will have worn them down into submission. Why do you think there wasn’t enough of an uptake in the grant to justify our government protecting it? Because they WEAR POOR PEOPLE DOWN and the circumstances are not created on which access measures, like the grant, can succeed. If we are a nation of smart critically minded people – why do the middle and upper classes not stand up and cause a fuss? The poor often don’t now how and you as citizens need to take responsibility. Please.

• 800 years of oppression has made us too compliant, it is time we stood our ground.
    The health and welfare of the Irish people must take precedence over everything else.
    - Get your priorities straight Edna….!!

• GET YOUNG BACK TO WORK

• ECP 24/01/13 #

@ Simas- they deserve the opportunity of an education system that is equal. Some of them will be doctors professors scientists – but instead they quit and get jobs due to lack of support from every corner of our society while other kids go through college and doss about because their parents can afford it. It’s total injustice. The poor and the old are no ones concern today. :(

• ECP 24/01/13 #

All students should be treated the same and the feeling that young people from disadvantaged areas have that they are not entitled to education needs to be addressed.

Add New Comment