TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Four Waterford gardaí plead not guilty to assault

Four gardaí have plead not guilty to assaulting a man in the city in 2010.

New St, Waterford.
Image: Google Maps

FOUR WATERFORD GARDAÍ have pleaded not guilty to assaulting a man in the city last year.

Garda Daniel Hickey, Sgt Alan Kissane and Sgt Martha McEnery, all serving at Waterford Garda Station in Ballybricken, were charged with assault causing harm on Anthony Holness of 7 Belvedere Drive, Paddy Browne’s Road, Waterford, in January 2010, RTÉ reports.

A fourth garda, John Burke, is charged acting with the intention of impeding the apprehension or prosecution of another and perverting the course of justice. He has pleaded not guilty to the charges.

The charges relate to an incident which occurred on New Street in the city of 29 January 2010.

The trial will begin on Thursday.

Read next:

Comments (15 Comments)

• Dvonne 13/07/11 #

These guys probably did beat this guy up but I doubt if it was an unprovoked attack on an innocent member of society going about their normal business. Not that that’s an excuse but probably not the most heinous crime in the world here. If guards are going free it’s Judges and juries letting them do so. The guards themselves can hardly be blamed themselves for that. I know if I was one of them I’d be happy to walk free and not protest. I don’t think there’s any evidence of corruption here. If someone has it, like this Murphy hero whom I sincerely doubt does, I’d strongly encourage them to bring it to the attention of the relevant authorities. If you ask me the guards need to get more of a handle on criminals, I for one won’t shed a tear if one gets a box in the process.

• You cannot tar all the gardai with the one brush.

• You can’t tar everyone with the same brush is true. But I think the good cops should stand up against this crap. If they did, we would have a little new faith. It’s the same with religious orders, the lay people need to stand up and demand justice.

• Hmmmm sounds like typical anti-law sentiment here… Making abusive generic comments about the entirety of an organisation yet I’d imagine you’d be very quick to look for the gardai’s help if you were in trouble… And FYI, “irregardless”? You may provide a better argument if you didn’t use incorrect double-negative words ;-)

• As a foreigner I have to say Irish Garda is extremely good public service. For all complaining at Garda you probably haven’t lived in another country to have reference point and face some really nasty and silly police. I find Garda always extremely helpful and kind. Once at Garda station when signing passport form they let my little one in, allow him to play with police hat etc. and kept laughing when he swipe and spilled officers coke. I was utterly surprised for their approach and kindness. I understand this comment has little reference to article itself, but I just wanted to voice opinion as some people keep bashing Garda for no real reason. Id give them top score if was asked for opinion.

• You try walking the streets with frigging pepper spray and a baton, with scum all around you , abusing you verbally and physically, 30 years ago the local copper would give ya a kick in the arse, it may not have worked but ya had at least a modicum of fear and respect for him…. Problem here is NO respect for the civil power, I know many guards and there a class act, they put up with so much s**** you would not believe how patient some are.. It coming to a stage where people of my standing are talking about taking the law into there own hands , as the guards hand are tied…. I assure you, some scum bag who thinks that anything that belongs to me , belongs to him will be in for some shock… We should be helping the guards not berating them, yes one or two are corrupt arse’s but most are good guys and gals , who are also struggling with red tape, budget cuts etc

• I wouldn’t be so quick to jump to conclusions. This is actually a very interesting case.

The person who was alleged attacked is someone with zero convictions and was completely unknown to Gardai before that night. He was urinating against a wall after a night out and was spotted by the Gardai. He allegedly sustained his injuries after being handcuffed. Waterford City has a Garda controlled CCTV system and the incident was spotted on this. However, the Garda who was controlling this system allegedly contacted the Gardai at the time letting them know everything was on CCTV. He then allegedly moved the camera away from the incident as it was happening.

• Dvonne 13/07/11 #

As far as I’m aware a guard has no power of arrest for someone urinating against a wall so the situation must’ve escalated before he found himself in handcuffs.

• @ Dvonne
    If this allegation is true(and all the similar cases like this we’ve seen recently can’t all be made up) that means some Gardai are circumventing the justice system and people’s right to due process by meeting out extrajudicial beatings on the streets, by doing this they completely undermine their own authority and more importantly the rule of law. In a democratic society this is wholly unacceptable and I would argue that although not corrupt in the sense that they gained financially it is certainly morally corrupt and of course illegal.

• Serious grievance from a lot of people who have obviously been arrested before or have an underlying personal issue with gardai

• @Tony O’B: Well said on both counts!

• There is only one thing to remember it’s not what you know it’s WHO you know.
    When society can get around this then and only then we might start to get things going properly

• Good on you Tony well said . Keep up the good work….

• Are on going criminal trials not meant to be blocked from comments? This would be the policy of thejournal.ie is
    It not?

• The garda would say that. They always do get off .there is no law for them.

Add New Comment