TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Two assaults per day: attacks on Gardaí on the rise

The Garda Representative Association has called for the introduction of mandatory sentencing for such crimes.

File photo
File photo
Image: Photocall Ireland!

ON AVERAGE, TWO members of An Garda Síochána are assaulted every day.

That is according to the Garda Representative Association who also say the number of attacks is rising.

Calling on the Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence to introduce appropriate legislation to deal with such crimes, the GRA president John Parker said the stab-proof vest is not the only protection that the State should afford its frontline staff.

Welcoming the seven-year sentence handed down to Andrew Freaney last week for a brutal assault on Garda Helena Power in Tipperary, Parker used the opportunity to call for mandatory sentencing for assaults on all emergency services personnel.

He said that the severe sentence for Freaney is a “significant step towards an effective deterrent” to protect those on the frontline.

“In the absence of mandatory sentencing for assaults on gardaí we rely on the judiciary to maximise the penalty and send out a signal that gardaí will be protected and that an attack on a garda is an attack on the authority of the State,” added Parker.

In the Freaney case, the judge imposed an increased sentence because of the savage nature of the assault and the serious injuries incurred by Power.

According to local media, her right eye-socket was fractured in four places as a result of a kick she received at a Halloween bonfire in Clonmel in 2008. She required 14 stitches, as well as two operations to correct her eyesight.

Parker called on Minister Shatter not to wait until another “horrific incident” impacts a public servant before galvanising the government to tackle similar crimes.

“Any assault on a garda is a direct attack on our community,” he continued, “gardaí police by the consent of the people of Ireland and protect our democratic society from descending into lawlessness.”

Our profession is one of the very few requiring workers to routinely wear anti-stab vests. The GRA has repeatedly asked for greater protection for our members, both in terms of resources and legal challenges.

Freaney was sentenced to 10 years in prison last Friday but the last three years were suspended on condition of good behaviour.

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• Anthony, emergency services are exempt from the mobile phone law, they are not breaking the law when they use them driving. as someone pointed out, there are bad apples in every job, route them out and get rid off them. but to generalize as you have is bang out of order. the vast majority of gardai are hard working in ever more difficult circumstances, way beyond the call of duty. and if peaceful protesting in mayo is lying on the ground stopping ordinary people trying to go to work, well fair enough. you havent a clue!

• How about just mandatory sentencing for any assaults?…

• You are missing the point Gardai are more likely to get assaulted because they are frontline defence. They majority are unarmed and only have peeper spray to rely on or an asp. In the states the police pull out a gun. Don’t want that culture to creep in here stronger laws might deter first time offenders.

• Here, here.

• So Anthony did that Garda in clonmel deserve those injuries?

• and what about nurses. how many nurses today will be seriously assaulted. yes protection for the cops but let’s not forget about everyone else.

• Same for firefighters and paramedics who are assaulted everyday in this country with no protection

• This is completely true, in fairness to GRA they are looking for a law which involves mandatory sentencing for assaults on all emergency workers which will include firefighters and nurses etc not just gardai

• I think his speech included all frontline services, and there should be severe mandatory sentences for assaults on all frontline services

• Any one who assaults any frontline workers , Gardai, nurses, doctors, fire brigade, Prison staff, soldiers, teachers or security staff doing their jobs ,should get ten years minimum ,even for the first offence. People should be safe and if gardai / nurses doctors etc are assaulted it leaves very little hope for the rest of us …

• Teachers aren’t frontline staff!! While I appreciate they do an important job, and yes there’s a minute chance of assault, we need to differentiate between frontline & other level state services!! It’s the Guards, Firemen, Paramedics & Nurses that are the ones running the gauntlet at weekends!!! They’re the ones who need extra protection under law!!

• Nuffsaidthatsall
      fair enough about the teachers , but there are some teachers who may disagree , and strictly speaking they may not be frontline workers but there are assaults on teachers and as such should not be tolerated …in the same way assaults on gardai should not be tolerated . But I am sure you get the gist of my comment

• Not really Eileen! The article reports roughly two Gardai are gettin assaulted everyday! How many teachers out of how many in total nationwide are assaulted!?! And unfortunately the Gardai can’t just expel their offender from school & that’s it done n dusted! Please don’t class the actual hard-working frontline servicemen & women of the Gardai, fire-brigade & nursing staff the same as teachers!!! I’ve acknowledged that they (teachers) do a valuable job, but the front-liners don’t clock out at 4pm on a Friday evening for thr weekend or head off for three months in the summer!!

• Nuffsaid Thats all
      I worked as a frontline worker and was forced to retire through ill health ,and there is no excuse what so ever for any one to be assaulted the way Gardai / prison staff /fire personnel or nurses are assaulted But teachers do get assaulted and by their students ,No excuse there either . All I am saying is that if some one is attacked because of their job ,then the full weight of the law should be brought to bear . I do not see the length of time some one has for holidays … has to do with being a victim of assault. I was not a teacher and I worked nights days weekends , birthdays christmas, newyears etc etc. I saw the worst and sometimes the best of people’s characters… But to suffer an assault for doing your job or for any other reason is not nice and can take some time to recover….. I know !

• You’re missing the point Eileen! Surely as a former emergency services (???) worker you can see the difference!! Gardai, fire-brigade & Paramedics go to hostile situations!! Teachers aren’t getting assaulted in large numbers!! I’ve no idea what the numbers would be but I’d hazard a guess it would be less then 1%!! Why do you keep pushing that they’re of the same grade!?! I’m not attacking the Public Sector here! I’m just saying others (Gardai, fire-brigade, paramedics) need the protection!! Teachers aren’t a priority! Our frontline are!!

• OF course our Gardai / prison staff and fire personnel are priorities . After all there is no one to call upon when they are attacked .I am very well aware of this and I am not missing any point . I could only call on my colleagues when or if I needed help and prayed to God there would be enough on hand if things really got out of hand . Gardai and Prison staff are more likely to be assaulted because of their jobs , by yobs who feel hard done by in society or by do gooders who truely believe that the yob is a misunderstood individual. If I had my way these idiots would serve time hard labour . But society has gone soft and deplores any kind of retribution …….. Any way , I am not working anymore and there is not a day goes by that I do not thank my lucky stars that I am out this side, because from what I hear things have got very bad…. Bless all frontline worers they will always have my total respect

• @ Eileen My husband was also a frontline worker and was assaulted and was out of work for 18 months and was in hospital for 2 months and I know what it is like to receive THAT phone call as do my children and to see how Ill he was and to see him suffer…. I also feel that if a frontline employee isassaulted on duty the full force of the law should be applied.The day my husband was assaulted he left home a very healthy man and by evening he was a very ill man and turned our world upside down. Thankfully through time and the good work of the Doctors and Nurses and the love and support if our family got him through the toughest time in his and our life Eileen you say 10 years I would personally say at least 15 years with no early release. Yes I may sound tough but walk in our shoes and recover from his assault as good as he did was a pure miracle and we all got strength to bring him where we are today. The guy that turned our world upside down was sentenced to 4 months and Never served 1hour inside.12 years on our children are adults now but they often talk about it and how worried they were about Dad and they at that time they were too young to fully understand the whys of why it happened to their big strong and gentle and kind man. The perpetrator that assaulted their Dad did not think for one moment about his family at home and the effects his ( perpetrator ) actions would have on anyone’s lives and really they do not care at all

• What about free legal aid… Isn’t it time that it comes out of these thugs Social Welfare, the state is paying for them to fight cases in court, these cases are generally offences against our people and state

• I am just waiting for loyal Irish Citizen to comment on opinions in law.

• Red Ed 03/07/12 #

I was just reading on RTE news that a PSNI officer was denied compensation after losing his leg from a bomb planted in his car BECAUSE he was on his way into work and not on duty! It’s an insult to front line workers everywhere

• ha ha ha anthony roper, did you ever wonder why you only have 1 person following you on twitter, talkin out of your . . . .

• Hmmm android app doesnt seem to be posting.

Harsher punishment for attacking anyone in the emergency services is a good idea imo. Harsher punishments for any attack would be great but obviously the guards are more likely to get attacked than us average joe soaps.
    Twin borther got kicked in the face a while back while arresting one fella lol, maybe they should also get helmets.

• I am shocked 2 assaults a day I thought more.They have what I see one hell of a job and no back up from Judges who are living in another planet.

• No Alan she did not

• Are you sure about that Anthony? Im pretty sure you were delighted. Anybody who talks like you do about Gardai would have even over the moon at a Garda getting battered. You’re full of generalisations about ALL Gardai. Have you read your earlier posts. You said ALL GARDAI. You’re are a disgusting disgrace.

• What about the two Gardai in Donegal that were killed in recent years trying to protect the public from maniacs behind the wheel!?!?

• If they armed them like they do stateside they might be more hesitant to try and cause a punch up

• I’d say your massive craic on a night our

• If the people rose up against the institutions of the state, would the gardai protect the people or protect the institutions?

• Well aware of the process Seanbeag. Largest party elects Taoiseach . Taoiseach forms cabinet which makes up laws, hands down dictat to the party whip to order every party TD to vote for, or else. Democracy in action, I dont think. The good people of Mayo’s representative lords it over us all. My representative has no say. Can I assume by your answer to my question that the gardai would protect the institutions of the state rather than the people, as the laws are made by the institutions to protect the institutions and not the people
    . Also I cant understand 5 (sofar) thumbs down to a question!!

• That would be because I don’t use it

• I’ve a friend who was attacked by Gardai a couple of months back. He ended up being convicted of assaulting them because they lied in court. If there had been any mandatory sentence he would have been locked up for a long time. I’m completely against mandatory sentences anyway because there are different circumstances behind any crime, and I don’t think every case can be treated in the same way.

• Let’s not forget the guards are partial to the odd assault themselves how much jail time did the coppers in Waterford get for battering Anthony holness? The coppers in this country are a joke there brutal and have no respect for the average citizen. There is footage on YouTube of a 12 year old girl being arrested that would break your heart to see the violence inflicted on her by the guards. Thugs they are nothing more nothing less

• I don’t agree with that at all. Why should the Gardai be treated any different under the Law than the rest of us? It seems to me that the ‘some are more equal than others’ mentality is very very dangerous.nIf there were greater transparency within the Gardai regarding how they discipline their members rather than, in my own opinion, the way they are allowed to conceal and hide a lot of their own breaking of the law then I might reconsider. I know a lot of Gardai on pure power trips because they are untouchable by the law (or nearly untouchable) and it makes me sick. Roll on the thumbs down but a lot of people know I am right. These people take an oath to SERVE the people of Ireland and uphold the law, for many of them after they’ve been recruited through someone in the family pulling for them they could not give a shit about the law, their oath or even being a law abiding citizen. It’s a power trip. The Gardai in this Country are no better than heavies and debt collectors for a morally challenged govt of pigs.

• Excessive force of a minor by an Garda is the name of the clip

• So Anthony you’ve no issue with gardai being assaulted?

• I got one off those clips when I was 15 …. Believe me it’s not nice

• I watched the clip you were talking about on youtube and all I saw in it was a very aggressive 14 year old resisting arrest, what exactly were they meant to do to arrest her? She wasnt assulted, hit wit a baton, pepper sprayed etc she refused to put her hands behind her back to be handcuffed, in fact I didnt even hear the guards so much as raise their voices, if this had been the uk or usa they would have tasered her or pepper sprayed her, something I would have totally disaggreed with. Is it the case that if someone doesnt want to be arrested and becomes aggressive towards gardai and decide to resist then gardai should just walk away and do nothing? Id like to know how you would have dealt with this incident on youtube differently

• mattoid 02/07/12 #

I’ve just watched your video, and I didn’t see any ‘violence’, ‘thugs’ or excessive force.nAll I saw was a young girl (certainly underage but not sure why you are adamant she was 12?) resisting arrest and gardaí taking reasonable steps to complete the arrest.nThey didn’t even raise their voices to her! And we don’t know exactly what she had done to warrant being arrested.nHow do you propose the gardaí keep the streets safe? Politely ask if someone minds being arrested and let them walk away if they decline??nI had to laugh at the commentator in the video going on about a police state! If he thinks we live in a polive state he should try living elsewhere for a while!

• My point is why should they have more protection than the average citizen when they already break the laws of this country anytime they feel like it

• blinkered

• “they already break the laws in this country anytime they feel like it”
      Lovely generalisation there Anthony. The amount of people I have spoken to through the line of work im in who bitch and moan about the guards yet have no problem picking up the phone and ringing them when they need to drives me nuts. Of course there are unfortunately some bad eggs in the guards (as there are in any profession; nurses teachers baristas plumbers……) but the majority of them are hard working people who do their best to protect us and help us out. 

• A very dim view of a very dim person.

• You must also be baffled by the radiographer hiding behind a screen while you’re getting your x-ray. Ever wonder why that is? If you can work it out, you might find your answer to why gardai and other workers might need extra protection from assaults.

• Don’t waste your time with logic on this lad Ferg. He is clearly just a bitter, bigoted nobody taking a shot when he thinks he has one. He’s just trolling and venting his ignorance for all to read. Such a generalisation is indicative of his ilk.

• useless policy inforcing revenue collectors. Providing security for foreign companies to steal our resources and protecting the banker agents when they invade people’s homes. We all know where this is going: ”lets give em tazers to make those jobs even easier and stop the crusties from protesting”

• How many times a day will you see the coppers driving whilst using the phone? Head down to mayo and see how they treat people exercising there right to protest and having a laugh about how they should be raped. Ya there the boys for upholding the law in this country alright. There a joke of a police force

• What the assaults gardai cause every day like ones on a power push

• I did Gerry ..what I said is what about those gardai that go around on a power push beaten up people and doing what they like I don’t mean all gardai but most are just culchies power trip

• Yes I agree!

• Thats ok mattoid

Add New Comment