TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Garda Commissioner to meet GRA as plans for industrial action get underway

The GRA said plans are in place for members to “turn off the goodwill tap” from 22 February if the government refuses to budge on pay cut proposals.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

GARDA COMMISSIONER MARTIN Callinan is due to meet with the Garda Representative Association (GRA) as the body gears up to launch its first action against proposed cuts to garda pay.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this morning, President of the GRA John Parker said he was not aware of any time or date set for a meeting with the Commissioner but said the GRA was “ready and willing to attend any meeting”.

Following a meeting yesterday, the GRA released a strongly worded statement declaring it had no confidence in Minister for Justice Alan Shatter and questioning how in touch Callinan is with his force.

Parker said today that the general executive also agreed that members will employ a number of measures from 22 February which would involve “turning off the goodwill tap”, if the government pushes forward with its plans.

“The officer of the Commissioner has traditionally done what government has asked of them,” he said. “Members are now asking to be represented by the GRA but also asking management at all levels to stand up for them and speak out.”

Parker said the removal of goodwill would involve gardaí rolling back the extra tasks they take on as they “stop going beyond the call of duty”.

“It could progress to a strict work to rule in a short period of time with voluntary issues that don’t breach the Croke Park agreement,” Parker said today. “If it isn’t give and take on both sides then we’ll remove the give on our side.”

Both the Commissioner and Minister Shatter are due to be involved in the passing out ceremony for a group of garda reservists in the Templemore Garda College later today.

Related: Garda body passes motion of no confidence in Shatter>
More: GRA national executive meeting to ‘consider all options’ following votes for industrial action>

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• Its not just about the pay cuts, the paycuts were the straw that broke the camels back, its about lack of resources, reduced numbers in the force, reduced number of patrol cars. 3 years ago there was 7 patrol cars in the district where i work now we have 4. All 4 will hit the max mileage permitted within months and we won’t get 4 more cars! Its about fear that there wont be a patrol car available to come to my assistance when i need it. We have changed our shifts and now there are double units working at busy times, but in rural areas its pointless if we dont have cars to drive. In my station 6/26 drivers have a car course done, its been 7 years since someone went on a car course from the district. Its wrong that the gardai, the people who are there to protect the community are afraid beacuse of a lack of resources. I hate that it has come to this, but for the long term good of the force and communities around the country we have to show the government we need resources to protect ourselves and the community. I have emailed Minister Shatter and told him that if i am the next to be killed on duty not to show his face at my funeral.

• No offence to Martin Calliinan, but he should stand with his men. The Garda commissioner should be directly elected by the people, it would take all the brown nosing out of it.

• Pierce. You mean elected by the same people who elected this Government. don’t you think we’ve done enough damage, in fact I think we should all be banned from ever voting again.

• Maybe we need a monarchy, how about Bella from Fair City for King?

• Tony 15/02/13 #

Pierce that is ridicolous, this isnt a popularity contest. The position of Commissioner should be internationally advertised when next available and candiates should be selected and interviewed by a indepedant panel of policing experts chosen from further afield than Ireland.

• Can’t agree Tony, I think the Garda Com should be should directly accountable to the people, and not another line long bureaucrat.

• RODRIGO the people are brainwashed they get hit by the six and nine o clock news every night , people in this country can never be accused of being critical thinkers when it comes to the way our country is being managed not, i know a person who knows the RTE news is part of the goverment media machine but still sits down to watch the tripe at nine o clock ,i heard a woman asked a question on primetime to a goverment minister and the minister reply came of terrible with her reply and her question was edited from the show .

• Callinan Deserves As Much Bad Will As His Master Shatter, He’s Only A Lap Dog Waiting On His Pension. .He Does Not Care One Iota about The Garda On The Front Line.

• @Karolyn: A hate-based policy won’t help. You cannot cut one sector only to give to another. All public spending (civil service, entitlement, grants) should be cut. Compared to Spain and Italy, we pay more despite higher purchasing power and a reasonable lower cost of living in Ireland.

• Pierce, you will never find the top brass standing up to Government because all promotions are political appointments and each and every one of them are only concerned with the next step up the ladder. They all sell their souls to get where they are or where they want to be. THAT is the biggest problem. It is a bloody disgrace. None of them have backbone or conscience!!!

• No point in meeting the commissioner its Shatter doing the severe cuts. Not a Garda but there really going to town on the force.

• Itswhatitis
      And where do you obtain these so called facts because any proposed cuts aren’t even on the table yet and the Gardai won’t sit down and discuss them? Where’s the intelligence in that weird behaviour?

• I pointed out the proposed cuts to you last night. Did you not see them or are you choosing to ignore the proposed cuts to suit your anti-Garda agenda? To clarify to proposed cuts are Sunday and public holiday rate reduced from double timd to time & 1/2. Night duty reduced from time 1/4 to time 1/6. Twilight allowance, 6pm-8pm gone. Saturday allowance of €15 gone. A Garda will have to work up time to work unpaid on restdays to attend court or special events. If the hours arent worked annual leave will be reduced. The cuts amount to €326 gross a month. A 10.6% paycut. Thats fact, not fiction.

• My Average take home for last year was 1550/ month.that is a weekly ave of 358, give or take. If I was to sign on tomorrow on the labour if get 380/ week, excluding medical card, back to school allowance etc. the cuts won’t affect superintendent rank and above, who are on much larger salaries. We are not looking to be treated differently, just fairly.

I’d be better of on the dole as it is… Never mind another 80/ week reduction… Doesn’t make sense and the govt won’t listen

• Should have gone to Specsavers there Mr. Rodgers, take Mr. Shatter with you as he seems blind to reality too.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Not alone will you be working for nothing with this extra hour but it will cost you money to work. Fuel for cars to travel in, extra childminding etc

• here is rogers the goverment stooge spouting his bile again .

• The workforce isn’t making sense anymore. If they go ahead with these cuts then families on social welfare will infact have more income than a working guard, nurse, paramedic etc plus a family on social welfare are entitled to free medical aid, rent allowance and social housing. They’ve pushed everyone private and public to a point were (most) of us now can’t afford the basics to live, when your always struggling to pay the bills it’s not good on your physical or mental health especially in a profession where you need to be ready for action i.e frontline services. I think this government have completely lost the run of themselves and they actually think ordinary people have more to give?

• These figures were presented as the MINIMUM the government wants to cut over the next 18 months. That’s from basic pay & allowances. The allowances are paltry for what they are supposed to cover! Never mind that members are being assaulted & injured every single day, members are not able to afford to travel to work! A bit of reality is required from people!

• Fair play to the gardai for standing up to these snakes.

• Are snakes the people who are trying to sort out the public finances?

• Yeah willie, by protecting the rich and screwing the real workers

• How has the present government protected the rich? The rich in Ireland have been virtually wiped out by the economic collapse. The rich also pay a very high percent of all tax, far higher per person than the average wage earner. The governments have decided that Ireland and it’s population are far better off by paying off the debts and by introducing austerity. If we had our own currency then the public service would have seen an even bigger collapse in their buying power. The government are doing what they were elected to do. Ireland is a democracy. For the police to try and corrupt that democracy is very dangerous.

• And how, per se, are they trying to corrupt the democracey?

• No william, snakes are the people who are earning 4 and 5 times more than the people they are cutting but not cutting their own. Snakes are the people taking home more in expenses that the people they are cutting are taking in “gross” pay.

• Jason, Guards cannot strike, they are supposed to uphold the law and not break it. Pseudo strikes are breaking the law. If a Guard calls in sick when he isn’t, that’s fraud, a crime. The government must be allowed to govern without the threat of anarchy that a Garda strike would entail. If someone is unhappy obeying the law for whatever reason they should leave the Guards and get another job where they can go on strike if they’re unhappy with their salaries.

Vinny, unless you are a Communist, people getting paid 4 to 5 times as much is perfectly OK. The job of a minister with budgets in the billions is more on par with the most senior Garda levels. Gardai also get expenses. There’s nothing wrong with getting expenses. Only a simpleton would think there is. The TDs have taken pay cuts and also pay all the extra taxes they introduced.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

The police aren’t trying to corrupt democracy William. They are using it to defend their livelihoods. There are terminologies for scenarios where governments impose their unfair will on sectors of society that cannot defend themselves and I’m pretty certain that behaviour by government is not democracy.

• Do you think with the cuts the government are talking of implementing that €330 a week net is relative to the work a full time Garda does? €280 a week for any upcoming recruits. If you do then you are away with the fairies

• There was 11,000 applicants for Garda jobs a few years ago. People want to be Guards. If they don’t like the pay or conditions then leave. That is their only legal option. The current government was elected, no doubt many of the TDs were voted for by Guards. It’s illegal to go on strike. So they can’t.

• The public sector pay levels are financially in deficit. Where do you think the money will come from?

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Exactly my point William. Gardai can not strike unlike the British police and most other police forces. This leaves them in a vulnerable position when it comes to unfair decisions by the massively overpaid legislators. I again refer you to the part of my previous comment where I point out the situation regarding internal discipline and bad debts and the fact that the scope for extra earnings with second job is extremely limited due to Garda prohibition on certain spare time activities. I know Gardai signed terms of employment and salary scale contracts upon starting their careers. It’s amazing the way government can ignore those and yet are powerless to interfere with the contracts of bankers or deal with the multiple payments to retired and sitting td’s. I can categorically tell you that the vast majority of Gardai are completely against engaging in so called “blue flu” action but you have to realise the corner they are being backed in to (again refer to the part of my comment about bad debts and second jobs)

• Jason, this was put out by the BBC in January.

The starting salary for police constables in England and Wales is being cut by £4,000 to £19,000, the home secretary has confirmed.

The government is broke. The majority of it’s spending is wages and dole payments, so to save money they have to cut wages. I might add the dole for a single man in the UK is £60, here it’s about £120.

There’s no point joining the police force to earn lots of money. If you want to earn lots of money you need to start a business or become a top professional. At least they do get paid. The equally badly paid HMV staff didn’t.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Yes William 11000 people applied for the Gardai at reasonable pay rates. They didn’t apply with the expectation that their pay and conditions could be cut arbitrarily. Your suggestion to just leave is silly and doesn’t make sense. Oh and what you may not realise William is that Gardai work 58 – 60 hours per week which averages out over the year as 40 hours per week. The govt are looking to add an extra hour a day to that working week which will add up to 45 hours per week average ( a further massive paycut in effect). Last week it turned out they were looking for a 2.5 hour/week increase in hours for civil servants that were working a 36.5 hour week. Are Gardai supposed to just lie down and take it? Gardai have families to support too William.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Not sure Regonald. Perhaps if the government started by cutting Kenny’s salary in half or at least brought it below merkels and did the same to TD’s and made them account for “expenses” then we could talk about that. You also don’t seem to realise that govts are always in debt. It’s actually quite healthy as it allows for development and progress. The DEFICIT is another story . For the craic do a bit of research on the 3% deficit carry on that we are so anxious to comply with and take note of what Germany and France did a few years back when they breached it..

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Yes William. But take a look at this site http://www.police-information.co.uk and check out the rest of the salary scales there. Those cuts have been flagged here in advance already. As bad as the pay will be at least the people joining will know their salary scale and can make life decisions based on it. Those that have done that wisely to date are finding themselves cut down to poverty. I understand that it has happened to thousands in the country but it is only in the Gardai that there are serious internal consequences for failing to pay a debt. And regardless of the cuts William, the British police have the option to defend themselves with a union and all that goes with that privilege . Gardai don’t

• Jason, Gardai pay has not been cut arbitrarily. It’s cut because the government is broke. As I said, if we had our own currency, they would still get the same pay but it would be worth a lot less. We live in a different era. When the government is broke it has no other choice but to cut pay. If the TDs got no pay it would make no difference to the deficit. There are about 12,000 guards but only 166 TDs. Guards can only be paid more when the private sector earns more and pays more tax.

• Reginald, usual mantra again I see?

You were outed earlier as a shinner supporter, a party affiliated with an organisation who murdered Gardai in cold blood. You have no place on this topic.

I await your usual “don’t cut thee” quote :)

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Oh and with regard to the dole. The cost of living is cheaper in the UK. They have more bang for their pound. What those figures don’t show is that on top of that 60 a week they have a plethora of allowances (and a pretty good healthcare system ) and benefits that ensure that those on the dole don’t want for anything. The 60 pounds is a basic rate. Whilst you bring up the dole is like to make a point.. I would absolutely love if the CSO did a study and for once made it clear, fair and transparent with no proviso’s or caveats and did as follows. Check the statistics and show us how many people in this country are claiming disability benefit and have more than one CRIMINAL conviction. I am not casting aspersions on people genuinely claiming it. There are a huge number if criminals on this payment yet are not too ill or disabled to go and commit burglaries, break into cars commit drug offences etc. it seems to be a convenient social welfare bracket for criminals as they don’t have to sign on it pretend to look for work etc. Again I am not doubting genuine cases what I am saying is that I’m aware of plenty of criminals that are manipulating this part of our system..

• A crime? ?? How you make THAT out? Don’t you mean sick when not is disiplineary? But lf you have your entire force go sick how you going to disipline them all?? And if the entire force is walking out does that not signal that the pay and conditions are bad? 13,000 guards can’t be wrong

• Silly silly man.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

William it is an arbitrary cut because if it was independently judged it would be seen as an unfair attack on compensation for hard hours worked as anyone that work nights will attest to. They won’t cut basic pay because they would have too much opposition so this is their “easy touch”. We have this viewpoint in this country as I think you’ve eluded to with regards to saying “cutting that wouldn’t make any difference in the greater scheme of things” that is the problem. Cutting td’s and Kenny down to reasonable levels lead by example so makes a huge difference in the greater scheme of things. They talk about feeling the pain but that’s codswallop. You don’t feel pain going from 250000 even to 200000. You do when you’re talking about us on the pleb level. And another thing. Do the bemoaners in the private sector not realise that by cutting public pay they are 1. Being deprived of custom as disposable income is obliterated and thus knocks on to general business and 2. It’s facilitating cuts to the pay and conditions of private companies due to my aforementioned point and the fact that the bosses can quite public cuts as a template. We really do not think things through in this country

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Who Claire?

• Gardai do not get expenses i take home 353 euro per week and i have 15 years service there are td’s living in Dublin whose unvouched expenses are more than my pay. Gardai are undervalued by this government underpaid by this government and are still expected to but our lives on the line for equivalent money to that of social welfare

• William :)

• Claire, people have been jailed for claiming to be sick when they are not. Claiming to be sick when not and taking wages is fraud. Damien, I sympathise with anyone after 15 years in a job only taking home €353 per week. If you are not happy with that maybe you should have left a long time ago.

• Regonald = Jason, large male early to mid 50′s, wears suit, likes to dress up at the weekends

• Jason 15/02/13 #

William you’re not showing much imagination with your “then leave” mantra. Why should they just leave when they are being treated unfairly? I think no they shouldn’t leave. They should stay and fight for their rights and families and livelihoods.

• Regonald = William (sorry Jason)

• Jason 15/02/13 #

?

• Top stuff Jason

• Jason 15/02/13 #

No prob:) I’m a bit off that description yet:)

• Jason 15/02/13 #

Thanks John

• Look up what fraud is, your comment appears misguided!
      A quick question for you william, what do you think a fair wage is for the frontline worker is?
      The people who go into burning buildings. The people who save lives. The people who investigate horrendous acts of violence and depravity. The people who go to work and don’t back.

• Jason, my father was a Guard (retired as a Sargent) all his life and my mother rarely worked and yet he supported 4 children. We even went to private schools. He owned his own house and always had a reasonable car. He didn’t drink or smoke and I never heard him once mention his pay. In fact he handed the whole lot up to my mother each week. He wanted security. I’m the exact opposite. I work for myself. At times I’m loaded and there have been times I’m skint. That’s choice. If you join the police you don’t do it to be well off. It’s a vocation. By all means fight your corner, but breaking the law by striking or claiming to be sick when you’re not is wrong. I can’t devote any more time to this, I should be working :)

• Paddy, the pay for work is whatever it is. If you don’t like it then don’t do it. I agree from a sort of moral pov a barrister on €2,000 a day against a Guard who actually risks his life is unfair. But the world is and always has been unfair. I’m sure there are Guards who have become barristers. There’s always other options.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

I respect the difference of opinion and the manner in which you explain it william. I am in a very similar situation to your father Bar the rank. The big difference though William is that back then the cloth was cut with what he had and pay remained at the very worse stable. Recently people cut their cloth to what they had too (factoring in the necessity to buy houses at prices of the time) but their cloth is repeatedly cut and cut meaning people are being literally plunged into poverty. I won’t go into the problems debt causes internally in Gardai again but all I want to say us that this is not a case of Gardai looking for special treatment it’s a case of Gardai looking for fair treatment.. Oh and I knew I’d never be rich. And it wasn’t about security of a job. It was more idealistic than that with me. I did however expect to be treated fairly (which we’re not in so many ways) and have enough to get by (which a lot of us now don’t )

• I asked a fair question, you failed to answer it!
      Much like your da all i’m trying do is provide for my family.

• Paddy, I did answer. Leave if you think that you will not be paid enough to support your family or marry a rich women. :) It does sound that if a Guard isn’t promoted or doesn’t do a lot of overtime then it’s a poorly paid job.

• I married a nurse, happily and thankfully a baby on the way, i live in the real world, i can’t and won’t leave. Imagine the chaos if 11,000 gardai took your advice. I wonder what you’d think is a fair wage then?

• Apology accepted ted :-(

• Willie Grogan Wears A BLUE SHIRT a Na Na Na a Na Na Na.

• Grogan your Talking Pure Shite

• William Grogan 166 TDs is 100 TDs To Many For Such A Small Country. Their Nothing Short Of Parasites.

• Lane, you’re obviously an intellectual giant. It’s clear from your clever use of capital letters at the start of each word. Who wrote your post, you or the monkey on the car behind you?

• Tony 15/02/13 #

Callinan would do well to remember he is a member of An Garda Síochána first and foremost – his tenure as Commissioner has been diabolical, the members he is charged with managing are massively under resourced and moral is at a all time low – these pay cuts are the last straw fro many…Im sure at some point in his career he wasnt a politifcal lapdog but that is all he will be remembered for now.

• Not his fault the last government screwed up the public finances.

• Live life in the present. That excuse isn’t good enough any more.

• Always nice to have a FG perspective David ;)

• Not his fault the last oppisition were weak as water either

• @david, here is an idea to take back to fine gael…..if the goverment are insisting on pushing through serious and severe cut backs on the frontline worker could they not reduce the cost of living at the same time.
      Introduce a cap on professional payments doctors, solicitors etc
      Stop paying high s/w rents to landlords. A main reason why home rents are kept artifically high.
      Reduce energy costs state bodies profiteering on the back of the average joe is wrong.
      The state own 2.odd banks some solicialist lending policies wouldn’t go astray!
      Basically the goverment have their hands in alot of pies and their answers of we can’t etc arent good enough.
      A bit off topic, apologies.

• David that crap is getting tiresome at this stage, this government have been in place 2 years and have bettered the last in terms of arrogance and inflicting pain on the people. Their own precious salaries and allowances arent being mentioned but those of us who work on the ground, often to protect their sorry asses, are the ones being kicked like dogs. Cut this tripe that our glorious Enda Kenny, Gilmore and that jinnet Rabbite are constantly filling us with that its not their fault. At the last election they knew exactly the situation and what the future held but they made promises they knew they couldn’t keep they made promises to ensure they got in power and now the people realise they are no better, in fact they are worse, than the last lot. And yes the Commissioner is first and foremost a member of An Garda Siochana, it’s time he acted like one

• Public sector pay cuts were inevitable. We cannot afford to pay these pay levels.

• t fanis 15/02/13 #

I agree totally

• Cuts to the cost of the public is inevitable! One state body pays another state body for a service, post esb etc thats madness! Robbing peter to pay paul!

• “Every day, all over England & Wales the international bankers are unlawfully evicting
      We the People from our homes, in what has to be one of the biggest scandals currently facing this country. In 2011 alone at least 36,000 repossessions were executed by the banks. However, as you will see, they do this based on a gigantic criminal scam.

On the 31st May 2012 in Potters Bar, England, the Bird Family were facing an eviction based upon deception, threats intimidation, and ultimately by way of crime, because if a man or woman peacefully objects to being evicted then the bankers must use unlawful force and commit a crime if they are to take possession. Something the have been getting away with for centuries…

So a small group of determined people decided to stand in solidarity with the Bird Family and resist the violence threatened against them.This film is a testament of
      what can be achieved when we stand together…

The issue which has swept down the centuries and will have to be fought sooner or later is…The PEOPLE vs The BANKS – Lord Acton 1875″

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=FPKOa-5GPPg

• We can if we increase income tax the public and private employees take the same hit. Dont like that regonald do ya

• Can you prove that with facts please – not a reference to the deficit though – or if you do please distinguish between the current account deficit and the deficit that is mainly composed of interest payments on the banking bailout – how about some comparative figures relating to GDP and the proportionate cost of the public sector across the developed world – you might be shocked at the results – or how about you look up the proportionate numbers employed in public sector – again you will be amazed – could provide the figures but would be wasting my time I know – look them up though – simple google searches will suffice! But facts I know are not wanted where they go against the party line !

• Exactly so Now is the time to pull in the Reins Reginald. Kenny 100 Thousand Per year more than Adequate. Gilmore 75,000 per Year More than Adequate. The Rest of the Ministers 65,000 per Year More than Adequate. All Tds 50,000 per year More Than Adequate. Vouched Expenses Only For Doing Government Work more Than Adequate. No Perks eg travel Expenses To / From Work / No Rent Allowances for Meeting Constituents at Home / in Pubs. They Should get Nothing More in the Way Of Perks / Expenses than an Ordinary Front Line Worker Gets. There’s Millions Saved Already the Country is Broke So Start At The Top, Government then Top Civil Servants and work their Way Down. If They Don’t Like It They Can Always Leave.

• Look Shatter, remove your treat to premium pay, nights/ weekends and public holidays
    Don’t single out frontline workers
    Remember the cut given to basic pay also reduced the premium pay bill, it’s based on our basic pay

• Mr Shatter or Minister to you!

• Or Dick rogered me up the behind to you ya mug

• Mr Shatter, etc etc etc

• If the gardai herein cant controll their angry ways and want to use insults on people with a differant thinking on the cuts how then can they be fit to be guardians of the peace ,this country is broke and you lot have a job. With anger you can not be impartial and do you job as prescribed….. thus the insults ,.You can allways leave and let other persons with a wish to uphold justice and their oath to this republic do the job….. Many insults have been directed at my character`herein““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““… that i live alone… that im mad… that i hate people, off with the fairies …go to sleep and let the adults have ……. …talk talk……. I have news for the writer that used the pulse and then said herein that i lived alone its removing my right to be private and endangers me……………………………………………………………………………….. Commissioner Callinan please take note………………………………………………………..harryprice2@live.ie

• Hi Harry, usual tripe again?

Your anti garda bile is not welcome.

When the govt go after the nurses allowances will u be on here condeming the nurses too??

Back to your crèche you child.

• Richard, Ass Hole Shatter Or Minister Turpin. ( Dick Turpin ) More Like.

• Here’s Harry Someone pass a Blue Shirt.

• The only way the position of Commissioner will be objective and effective is if you remove shatters hand down from Callinans arse!! From the rank of Superintendent up they are political appointments who have not seen pay cuts and do the ministers bidding!

• Alien 8 there’s not 15000 guards there’s around 11300 and management brings the total up to 13400 i am a serving Garda with 15 years service and i take home 353 euro per week… Last week i was threatened to be shot and two days ago i was involved in a car chase that could have went either way…is that enough weekly compensation gore this sort of work….and by the way my wife is a nurse and we are struggling financially

• Stop this rubbish about the terrible things you have to put up with, it’s boring. It’s your job and you earn a wage for it. You weren’t forced into the job.

• Alan Harte, when you are snuggled up all cosy in your bed and the wind and rain are howling outside who do you think it is that keeps you safe. it is the Gardai who may pass your door unknown to you three maybe four times a night on their patrols. the work that is unseen. threats to be shot, family harmed are nothing new. and we take them, why? because we gave an oath to protect and defend the people of this country without fear, favour malice or ill-will. simple as that. but in return we want our pay and conditions protected. we are not looking for a pay rise, we are owed 6% since 2008 but we accepted that couldn’t be paid given the dire financial crisis at the time and presently. hands off the gardai, the nurses, the prison officers, the paramedics, those who have a 24/7/365 career.

• Reduce the force to match the crime rates, well if you ever have your house burgled or your seriously assaulted dont give out to the gardai if they cant respond immediately to your cry for help as crime figures in your area are low, so as a result no gardai in the area. Policing is unpredictable, criminals dont ring up and say “by the way im on the way to such an such a place, will you make sure that there are gardai in the area”. Some of the nonsense coming from people that claim to be intelligent is actually shocking.

• Oregon is a state in the USA not a country on its own as previously stated if can draw down unlimited assistance federally. Ireland has the gardai who do it all from immigration to crime from traffic to drugs, all 1 organisation, no completely separate budgets all one. It should also be noted Ireland is the only EU country that had a moratorium on recruitment for the police force so the lads that were forced to retire we’re not replaced. The duties have to be done so those still in the job got much more of a workload. Would anyone be happy getting paid 25% less already and doing Perhaps 40% more work. This with more pay cuts hanging over everyone

• The social divide between the Garda and the gouger is narrowing! Maybe this is Shatters answer to the closure of stations, make sure that they have to live beside each other… That’ll sort it all out! Though the gouger will have more spendable income…..

• Gardai serve and protect the most vulnerable in society, yet they are the ones who are vulnerable, no one to protect them, they don’t even have a union, very ironic

• We have the best paid government in the EU and one of worst paid police forces. We are under resourced, if people only knew some of the equipment we have its a laugh. Your talking about expenses the government got 72 million euro for traveling to the Dáil last year and they want to take Gardai allowances how dose that make sense. The fact is that Gardai and nurses teachers have given enough. And for joining the Gardai to become rich, no one did but they joined to have some sort of life to be able to pay there mortgages and bills some Gardai can’t afford to put Fuel in their cars or even bye food untill they get paid the next day how dose that make it a good paid job. But don’t worry they’ll still be there for the public listen to all the problems people have when they can’t even provide properly for there own family’s. And to rub there faces in it they want them to work for and hour extra for free. It’s not like there looking for a pay rise just leave them alone. They’ve given enough.

• Damien Ur Dead Right Why Don’t The Trioca Insist On Our grossly Over Paid Muppet Government Accepting Austerity Measures And Cut Their Self Appointed Wages and Perks To Realistic Amounts

• @Alien8, do you REALLY know a couple who are working as a Garda and a Nurse or are you just making that up to suit your agenda? Because I know a number of couples who are both in front line services and I can assure you they are NOT living comfortably.

• William grogan you are missing the point my wage his been decimated and is not what it should be for the job that i do. i am a garda its what i always wanted to do why should i have to look for another job

• Embrace the change says Shatter be proud of the uniform says Callinan comply and complain in other words but do as your told or we will take the big stick out time to stand up to bullies lads and lassies

• Get your passports signed now folks.

• I know it’s been said before but I’ve noticed it myself now on a few articles. Regonald and William are the same person. More than one twitter account.
    Its very noticeable if you look at the comment pattern.
    Spewing his rubbish from multiple personas.

• In Greece, there was strike after strike.Yet the Troika led govt continued with their cuts. It’s gonna happen. Our govt are hell bent on driving the austerity measures down everyone’s throat until we all are on a plane out of air. Escaping this island is the only solution.

• The final solution?

• Your right but greece is broke. We are not. Millions spend on gathering. This horsemeat thing they are about to spend millions on advertising beef. And for broke country amazing when the queen and obama came app the stops were pulled out including resurfacing the routes all the way to kildare. If foot and mouth turned up tomorrow millions would just appear. Screw this bullcrap, do not accept any more from this fg shower of muppets.

When YOUR house is broken into or your assaulted in street or your car is stolen just remember you can thank shatter and kenny for cutting down on guards who monitor these people

• From the minister down to the guards who are represented by the GRA, this system is not fit for purpose. Every single recent report has been based on what the cuts will do to someone’s ability to pay a mortgage and take a holiday – is this what guards signed up to? I actually respected guards due to their commitment to protect without prejudice, but all of the recent discussions are about how much they ‘deserve’ and supporters stating they deserve it because they put their lives at risk, without saying how much this premium should be. I think once the GRA initiates strikes, and starts behaving like a union, and guards are simply civil servants, then the whole structure needs to be broken down.

Just to compare, Ireland has the same population as Oregon in the US, lower crime rates yet Ireland has over 10 times the budget for policing. Our justice department should be split into administration and protection. All administration tasks – signing licences, entering reports, dispatching etc… should be tendered to other departments and the frontline numbers reduced to match the requirements of the crime rate in the country, not the requirements of individuals.

• Oregon is not the same as ireland! Compare like with like. Oregon can call on the near infinite resources of a federal goverment if needed, the fbi etc….

• I don’t even know where to start on this comment? Did you think about what you were about to right beforehand?? No matter the reason for a guard joining the organisation, the fact is we have bills to pay and we are working in a career that the minimum expected is we be able to afford to live!

Is your solution that we work in an Garda Siochána for free and take a part time job to cover bills?? I’m not saying I deserve anything, I’m saying I cannot take another cut or I won’t be able to travel to work nor have a home to return to. What’s so hard to understand about that?

• What an apt name.. you certainly are alienated alright..alienated from reality

• Only in ireland could a government employ people, make it an offence for said employees to be bankrupt and the in on swoop bankrupt about 30% of them

• Alien8 15/02/13 #

So Denis, tell me what this figure is. Everyone who works has to travel to work. Everyone who works has to pay their bills, so please tell me what is this sub-minimum wage rate that is paid only to guards? I seriously do not know, and I can’t locate it anywhere, so in the interest of clarity what is the salary of a mid career guard and what is the value of the ‘big cheque’ and overtime that is proposed to be cut? If it is a small figure then we ( the non guards) will give you support; if it is a hugely inflated salary, then we have to look at the value.

And the point regarding similar size countries still applies. If this dispute is just about front line resources, then it should be separate from the pool allocated to specialist services, with each district handling its own budget – do Dublin metropolitan guards get same basic pay as rural Galway guards? If not then some rationalising should be completed.

By the way – we are on your side, but a strike could change that very quickly – put the facts out before you lose that support.

• Jason 15/02/13 #

The point is that the “big cheque” as you call it for a mid career guard varies depending on the work done. In the same way as out of hours payments in private sector businesses work. There are differences though. For one, private sector companies are generally paid their out of hours or shift allowances weekly in a timely fashion. Gardai will get them every 4 -5 weeks in general. There is a huge chunk taken in “pension levy” as a proportion of the cheque. The USC is also taken proportionally which means Gardai for the most part are paying over the odds did the levy once per month with no recourse for getting the overpayments back. The whole point of paying people for out of hours work is that it affects quality of life. It is acknowledged that nights seriously affect ones health, Weekend work and public holiday work affects family life. Gardai join the job accepting that these hours and conditions are part of it and unavoidable. Do not forget however that the Gardai are also aware that they will be paid similar to the private sector for these health and family effects. They are trying to cut the wages of the people doing the hardest hours that cause the most problems. And what you may not realise is that Gardai are under threat of serious internal discipline measures if they have bad debts. Furthermore they are prohibited from taking on a huge range of second jobs so that’s not an option either. How dare they fight for a bit of fairness!!!!

• Alien8 15/02/13 #

Thanks for the response Jason – the “big cheque” term was used on radio last week by guard spouses, not to insinuate a lotto cheque. It is a bit clearer from earlier posts what the breakdown of the cuts are (double time becoming 1.5 time etc), but it is still unclear what the rates are, hence the reform need. If a guard is expected to work 60 hours, I.e. 40 hours at normal + 10 hours at double time, then this should be the base pay at a fair rate, not part of a consulted system that cannot be planned. If every guard is on a take home pay of €1600 a month, then there is a problem, but I do not believe that the average pay of the majority of the rank and file members is €25k to warrant this. I personally know some Dublin based guard/nurse couples and they certainly aren’t struggling, so what figures are we talking about? All we have are the numbers of front line guards (around 15000), a budget of €1.5 billion and operational costs, so what is the average pay? Not take home, not after the mortgage, but something we can equate to and say that it is fair or not?

• Jason 15/02/13 #

But that’s the point alien. Everyone’s pay is different. There are basic salary scales but the problem is that they are cutting the premia that compensate for the unhealthy and unsocial/family unfriendly hours. The salary scales don’t factor in Garda pension contributions to their own pension which are around 7.5% or something. The pension levy which is not a contribution but a penalty for having the pension I think that’s another 7-8% that obviously rises proportionally with the “big cheque”. That’s not including prsi and USC that most others pay too. It is also not including the pay cuts that were imposed over the past few years.

• Alien8 ur lost in Space
      Somewhere do us a Favour Stay There.

• Alien8. So you are the Man On the Moon.

• NEWS AT one ,The Commissioner can not condone the actions on the gang in the gardai that are angry …………………….please note you angry writers…………………………………………………………………………………………….harryprice2@live.ie

Add New Comment