TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Garda body passes motion of no confidence in Shatter

Martin Callinan has arranged to meet with the Garda Representative Association as it calls for solidarity against pay cuts.

The GRA national executive has passed a motion of no confidence in Alan Shatter (left), and asked Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan (right) to outline his stance on proposed pay cuts.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 19:33

THE BODY representing rank and file members of the Garda Siochána has formally passed a motion of no confidence in the Minister for Justice, Alan Shatter.

The central executive committee of the Garda Representative Association passed the motion at a meeting this afternoon.

The association also passed a motion urgently asking the Garda commissioner Martin Callinan to “publicly addresses the negative effect to Garda morale resulting from speculative proposals to cut Garda pay and other proposed changes to working conditions”.

This evening Callinan said he had arranged to meet with the GRA and its members “very soon, to the concerns and issues raised by the membership to their representatives.”

Separate motions passed at today’s meeting also called on Callinan to outline immediately whether he believed a reduction to Garda pay would have a negative effect on policing.

The GRA, which acts in lieu of Gardaí being barred from formal trade unions, also passed a resolution stating its belief that Callinan was “unaware of the impact of pay cuts and lack of resources on his workforce”.

It has sought an urgent meeting to give the Garda Commissioner a “first-hand account” of the difficulties being encountered by Gardaí across the country.

Today’s news follows similar motions of no confidence being passed at district GRA meetings around the country in the past few weeks.

Several districts have passed motions backing industrial action – most prominently the so-called ‘blue flu’ tactic of encouraging staff to phone in sick – after the government indicated plans to change Garda pay and working conditions in preliminary talks on public pay.

The government has committed to finding €1 billion in further savings under the terms of the Croke Park Agreement by 2015.

Read: GRA national executive meeting to ‘consider all options’ following votes for industrial action

Read next:

Comments (190 Comments)

• Doctors and nurses could do the same for Mr o’Reilly

• Minister for justice without any confidence from his troops says it all

• His job is not to be liked by the Gardaí it’s to manage the justice systems in Ireland, of which the Gardaí are only a part.

• Actually what commander in history has ever suceeded without the backing of those they are in charge of.

Noone wants guards to take action but the state is forcing it on them. Do we wantour police, nurses or army starving not able to fuel their own cars? Last time I checked this was the west not a communist country.

• And do you think he doing that effectively

• yes Dennis he is managing the justice system not ,the justice system is in complete shatters the judges are on the take FF APPOINTED 90 PERCENT of them ,witnessed a judgement handed down by a high court judge to two brothers a couple of weeks ago i know the back ground to the case and it was nothing short of appalling the judgement,

• Well said Dennis. Too many of our stupid politicians would rather be liked than take tough decisions

• Don’t worry Denis, he is doing a shit job with Defence as well… Wait and see what’s coming down the road.

• @Dennis Laffey, you’re dead right Dennis, his job is to manage the legal systems in Ireland, of which the Gardaí in Ireland are only part of. But you don’t hear much of him talking about reform of the legal aid system, a grossly wasteful and abused system. You don’t hear about that because he won’t annoy his pals in the law library. What about the administration of justice, the courts system, the millions in unpaid fines/penalties, that go unpaid and ignored because the criminals to whom these fines are issued know full well there is no system in place to seize such fine monies (I’m not referring to fines issued to ordinary citizens for minor offences such as road traffic). What about the archaic courts system that takes years for cases to be heard all the while barristers and solicitors are taking huge fees, very often at State expense. No no no, that’s too difficult, that would require courage, forward thinking and real reform. No, we’ll just hit the Gardaí and Prison Officers again, sure that’s handy money.

• Hat is off John, most sensible comment I’ve seen here in an age.

• Liam 14/02/13 #

The best that could be said about Alan shatter is that he is a disappointment.

• You can chalk Callinan down for that also, he thinks he’s minister for finance, look after your men and women Martin.

• Which TD from the current Dáil should we put in his place?

• Gerry Adams dog would do a better job

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

You’re right Chris. If you look closely, you will see him flinch from time to time, I can only assume that its Mr Minister Shatter tugging his testicles. He needs to grow a pair and outline his position. He is either with his men and women or against them.

• A TD who favours not embracing austerity, and who doesn’t joke about it either..

• That’s true Jimmy, even in that photo Callinan looks like Shatters hand puppet!

• Thats offensive!

• In reply to leonard!

• Oh no it isn’t.

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

Leonard. I would safely wager no member of SF will ever hold the position of Minister for Justice. Maybe in 100 years, but not in our lifetimes.

• These are merely bully boy boot tactics from a Trade Union and when they express a lack of confidence in both the Commissioner and the Member of Cabinet with Constitutional responsibility for the Gardai at policy level you know their behaviour is wrong and they need to be put back in their box and quickly.
      Why should any employee of the Public Services sector never mind the Gardai bring their Union negotiations into a public forum when they have refused to sit at the negotiating table in the first place.
      Why should we tolerate any suggestion of Union activity from a Force that is charged with upholding our laws when they talk of leaving their workplace on the pretense of being I’ll as a means of getting their way.
      Are the Gardai any different to employees in the teaching professions or at clerical levels of the Public Service?
      In the area of employment contracts the answer is no with the exception of being denied the right to withdraw their labour for the most obvious of reasons. To do so with threats and with lies demeans them and makes their contributions to our Society less than it should be.

• Oh yes they will.

• its time to imform the president of the issue bordering on treason and put the army on stand by for this is a gang acting with contempt for the rules of this republic.

• Any takers to suggest the next Justice Minister?

If there are TDs better than Shatter we should probably name them and discuss their suitability and alternative policies for the justice department.

• To his dog. Indeed

• Not one from your party anyway Dave.

• Ok so someone from Labour, SF, FF or the independents, but who exactly. Give me a name?

• Agreed. Plus everyone gives out about shatter which is surprising considering they also give out about property tax and the like. Paying civil servants less means less need for tax.

• Richard, the GRA is not a trade union, it’s a Representative Association. The Gardaí are not allowed join a TU.
      The rest of your comment is just blatant ignorance.

• Goodman harry. Stress pill for you. Army can’t police, still suggestion, not enabled by law and the mistakes madewould mean another bailout by the time 6he lawsuits end :)

Police don’t want to strike but no choice when your told your already slashed pay is going to be wiped out. Nobody public or private will stand for that. Guards would quit en mass.thats what shatter wants to get force down to 10k and will force people out till then.

But under estimated the frontline.

• its time to imform the president of this issue bordering on treason and put the army on stand by…. for this is a gang acting with contempt for the rules of this republic. ……………name call the minister Mr Shatter… as guardians of the peace is a verbal assault and a breach of their oath to this republic

• Ming. Because he is a hero with common sense :-D

• Well who would you like to see Dave?

• Same old rhetoric Harry…

• If not Shatter, Charlie Flanagan who was the previous Justice Spokesman. Both with legal backgrounds which is a big requirement considering the Justice Department deals with a massive amount of legislation.

• Jaysus Harry, same old trash that your spouting. Your a troll who has a serious axe to grind with the garda.

• But that’s just another lad out of touch with the people. Same thing all over again. We need a cabinet that have the balls to play hardball with the Europeans and not our own people

• The Justice Minister doesn’t have much dealings with Europe except in the areas of cross border policing and trafficking etc.

As for playing hardball with Europe, to extend your analogy, most sports are combination of strength and skill. Ireland is a small country and one with massive debts so our strength is automatically diminished. Our best route is to use skill of negotiation.

• limofax 14/02/13 #

Have you any suggestions David?

• Negotiation you say David. I think last weeks so-called deal on the promissory note, proved that we can’t do negotiation. Don’t you agree?

• You saying the Irish are weak Dave?
      Negotiation? Fine gael wouldn’t know the meaning of the word, look at that robbery you got us on the whole prom note saga

• Phil hogan !!!

• And your 100% they have underestimated the resolve of the 24/7 staff, we will stand united and that will be our strength, together.
      A Prison Officer

• Your obviously one of his fans

• legal background?

Reilly is doctor and look how that’s going.

Flanagan is in the Dáil twenty-five odd years and Shatter is thirty.

Politician backgrounds is all there lads have

• @Richard Rogers. Firstly, the GRA is not a Trade Union, the Gardaí have no right to engage in industrial action. That’s why they’re such a soft target. The only way they can express their concerns is in the manner that they are. Do you think they would be speaking out if Minister Shatter had not grossly misrepresented the true situation by suggesting morale is high, when the situation is clearly opposite. Second, you pose the question are Gardaí any different to teachers/clerical grades. Are you absolutely serious? Yes, they most certainly are. The Gardaí are the first line of defence, they are most certainly and absolutely not, in any shape or form, to be compared with teachers or clerical grades. They arguably should not even be directly compared to even other frontline workers due to the unique position they hold. If the fire brigade are in trouble, assaulted, need to gain entry to a property, under threat etc. do they deal with it themselves? No, they call the guards. If nurses/doctors have a sudden death, unruly/violent patient, are assaulted or in any danger etc. do they deal with it themselves? No, they call the guards. If a teacher encounters a child welfare issue, is threatened by a parent, is assaulted or harmed in any way etc, do they deal with it themselves? No, they call the guards. Get the message? The Gardaí are the first call by everyone, for almost every emergency situation. They are entirely different and unique to every other section of the public sector.

• not out of this shower.get rid of them

• And what makes you think the army won’t stand shoulder to shoulder,we may not be frontline but we always end up been relied on,each week there are deductions in my pay packet and threat of cutting allowances that also make up the bulk of my salary,go to fcuk,we also ave no union but a piss arsed no balls representative association,who as of lately actively promoted members to in there private capacity to attend the protest last weekend,

• @ Harry
      Why didn’t you get into the Guards again!?! Was it for being a short arse!? Or maybe it was that the then Commissioner of the force had concerns your local village could never survive without its resident idiot!?!

• Bring back my uncle Padraig. He would fit right into the fg set up.
      Best regards,
      Adebayo P. Flynn

• David a legal background is not neccassary at all they have tons of advisors that make decisions for them anyway. With all due respect( which is something shatter lacks) a lawyer hasn’t a clue not a notion of running a police force you need ex police officers either Irish or foreign or at least somebody with a background in criminal psychology.

• The Gra isnt a trade union, it doesn’t have a negotiating licence. Get your facts right

• Replace him with one that recognises the truth one that realises the obvious that moral within An Garda Siochana is on the floor and who doesn’t fly off on soundbytes saying that everything is fine, let him spend a few hours with those on the ground and he soon will realise how fine things are. Poor cars, poor equipment, getting abuse fired at you left right and centre, always being told by someone that they pay your wages and that as a result you are duty bound to give them a lift home from the pub. Shatter is an Idiot an totally out of touch with reality and the sooner the decent people in Fine Gael realise that the better!!!!!!!

• @Richard ! Is that why you hide behind a false name ? So that if you ever need the help of the Gardai they won’t know you have slagged them off on a public forum !
      What exactly is your occupation Richard ?

• @Stuart Hyland, my comment is made in the context of the above article and in response to Richards Rogers comment. I have a high regard for the defence forces but the reality is that the army are very different to the civil authority and the same may be said in reverse. In terms of your own campaign for better treatment, I support it, as I do all sections of the public sector. I was merely expressing my opinion in terms of Richard Rogers daft comment and his comparisons between Gardaí/teachers/clerical.

• Sharter the pompous git.

• So you want Martial law declared in Ireland? and if full scale Martial law is declared the highest ranking army office will become head of government. I think your in the wrong country

• David higgins
      I nominate you ! Minister of Justice David Higgins all in favour ….AYE.
      All against NEIGH …Ooops ,

Richard Mark Rodgers
      You have no idea what you are talking about….

• It isn’t

• You have an issue Mr Price

• A Garda with 5 years service working on the regular units is set to have their paycut by €326 gross a month and work for free on a rest day if given sufficient notice by their Superintendent. This Garda brings home €1600 a month David. How on earth can you justify such a drastic paycut for people who risk life and limb everyday?

• A Garda with 5 years service working on the regular units is set to have their paycut by €326 gross a month and work for free on a rest day if given sufficient notice by their Superintendent. This Garda brings home €1600 David. How on earth can you justify such a drastic paycut for people who risk life and limb everyday?

• There aren’t any, they are all inept.

• John
      I bet your message loud and clear.
      Gardai are a special case and come before Nurses , Members of the Fire Brigade , Social Workers etc.
      Now it must be your opinion that once you’re “special” and because you cannot go on strike then you can break all the rules and publicly attack a Commissioner as being out of touch and publicly express a lack of confidence in a Government Minister. On top of that you can threaten to go absent from work while pretending to be ill!
      And you have the temerity and gall for suggesting that I have a problem with being disturbed by these views and issues?
      Have we lost all semblance of logic and integrity in this Republic?

• Davy
      There is no proposal on the table at the moment. Where did you get this figure?

• Oh don’t worry Damian, the hierarchy in the Defence forces have the same political will as the pri*cks who put them there, nepotism is alive and well in the PDF.

• Well that statement is a big load of Sh##e !!

• An you know what about the Defence forces?

• Well said Liam Nothing to add there only to say this whole government are a disgrace

• Every other frontline service can put forward that argument that they are unique and stand alone to the other frontline service. Have you been reading animal farm lately?

• Gerry for Minister of Injustice

• @ Richard Rogers. My wife is a Garda and ive seen GRA calculations on proposed cuts. Sunday and public holiday reduced from double time to time & 1/2. Night duty reduced from time 1/4 to time 1/6. Twilight allowance 6pm-8pm scrapped. Saturday allowance €15 scrapped. Public servants to work an hour a day for free. This hour will be banked and gardai will be be required to attend court or special events on a rest day for no pay. If the banked hours are not used up their annual leave will be cut accordingly the following year. It amounts to a 10.5% paycut on top of the 14% already cut. No wonder they are pissed.

• Spot on Suzy Chester.

• Did not know there were actually decent people in F/G or Labour or F/F or S/F maybe 1/ 2 independents.

• Gardai,Prison Officers,FireBrigade, Nurses,Doctors.,etc etc Should all stand Shoulder to Shoulder and should get the support of the public and I for one will support any action that is taken after all You work a roster which you all have to work nights days and Gardai have to attend cases to give evidence Prison officers are on coast escorts everyday or hospital duty with prisoners or whatever else they have to escort prisoners on funeral etc etc Fire Brigade personnel are out there doing another job that cannot be filled only trained in all aspects of the job same as nurses and doctors they see things that none of joe public would even imagine …. Yes they chose to do these jobs which 99% is a vocation choice it is not just a job . They do think of their income as all of do will my income pay my bills I know I did ask that when I was thinking of my own choice of career which was in the private sector will I be able to rear my children on my income will it even stretch to saving some for their education we all have the same worries we are after all paying our taxes and levies and Parsi and usc’s etc etc so come on folks they have a job we have a job but we as a citizen we really must stick together as one This Government have forgotten where their wages come from and who they should be working for since the took out votes and sat in their offices

• Always the same when someone mentions the public services… Soldier are always ” etc,etc”

• When I read “Garda body passes motion” I thought the article was going to be about that.

• Shatter should be made work a month of night shifts in Store St, Finglas, Moyross or some other joyous location. Let him break up fights, stare down junkies, chase burglars at high speed, and then finish his shifts by cleaning up the puke and shit in the cells where the pissheads have slept off their excesses. And just for good measure, five minutes before he is due to clock off, make him go and knock on somebodys front door to break the news that their son has just been killed in a car crash. See whether he thinks further cuts are justified then. And no, I’m not a member of the force, nor is any family member, I just happen to appreciate the job these guys have to do

• I wonder if all those who bemoan the frontline Gardaí this attempt to have their voices heard would like to do their jobs?
    Think about it. How much would you really like to be a Gard out on the street, on the bike or in the patrol car?
    How many of you would like to be shot at, spat at, and abused for trying to do the right thing? To have to break the news to relatives that their loved one has been found dead?
    Granted a lot of Garda time is wasted on some things for which the man power could be diverted to where it is more needed – but this is not the frontline Gardaís fault – this is to do with those sitting several pay grades up from them – who really are raking it in and haven’t taken nearly the same level of cuts as they have.

The guys out on the street are in it for the right reasons, just like nurses and doctors and teachers – they wouldn’t subject themselves to the level of abuse they do if they weren’t.
    Before you whine about their pay or their job security or whatever else – stop and think about it, would you do their job? If yes – then why don’t you? If no, stop whining about the fact they expect a fair wage for it..

• Time to stand up for your men and woman callinan . With your 185k salary I think it’s time u grew a pair of balls instead of lying constantly to the public .

• motions of no-confidence are the way to go, this government will not last it’s term..

• Good man neil..what do u think we make?

• Great to see the lads standing up to him.

• is there no confidence because, he closed 100 stations without any independent research on the effects, or is it because he removed uzi safety equipment and didnt replace them. Or could it be that he dived the units into five from four and didnt recruit to fill the gaps or could it be that he has already made cuts to the organisation. Or maybe it could be that he allows the courts to tear apart the hard work that has been done by giving inadequate sentences or maybe it is because he allows those prisoners to be released early from prison at the stroke of a pen or maybe its because ……………

• the minister has called this a spat, there is nothing petty about driving a workforce to poverty

• No GRA for Shatter on Valentines Day? ;)

• Shatter – time to resign ! ! ! Months ago !

• So the GRA have voted no confidence in shatter, I’m glad to hear that somebody had a chance to tell him exactly how they feel about him.
    I wish to God there was a public vote to see how much confidence there really is in any of the current government.
    I reckon if there was an election tomorrow there would not be one of them in employment by monday.

• We had an election. Live with it.

• Mike
      Your comment confirms the dangers of the Gardai publicly behaving in the manner now witnessed. This is in breach of all codes of behaviour and obligations under the Constitution. When the rabble rousers begin to join them the GRA need to know how much they have transgressed.

• Caboose 14/02/13 #

Scary thing tho mike is who else can we elect? The whole bunch that sit in the dail. FF? nope. SF are looking attractive st the monent but still doesnt sit comfortably with me. Independents like Clair daly, Ming and mick Wallace. Jesus it’s so frustrating looking at and listening to them.

• After you read this check that the back door is locked.Ps. I’m on the Guards side Mr.Shatter is wrong.

• Would like to see a similar motion called for in the Dáil in light of this.

Let’s see if the rest of the government TDs disagree with the GRA.

• That motion will shatter him

• Bring back Fachtna Murphy! A gentleman who knew how to look after his men and women

• When he resigns from been minister of justice he will have himself been minister of defence to keep his salary intact.

• The function of the Garda is to keep the peace as their name suggests. Because of this their role is crucial not just to individuals in the state but also central to its economic success. The rationale of private industry as well as its methods cannot be used. Cost reductions have a detrimental effect on both morale and consequently their effectiveness. This has a knock on effect of a rise in criminal activity which ends up costing more than any savings gained by cutbacks.

• Some shite being talked on this site. .as usual the wrong facts getting out there

• I remember reading how the Department of justice saying that it “tweaked” the law to allow the current commissioner to stay on past the official retirement age! …. I love living in a country where the law can be “tweaked” (their words source irish independent ; breaking news , the word did not appear in the story the following day) which in effect means that any guard that was due for promotion is now disadvantaged for another two years ( not sure on this two years working of memory so don’t take it as gospel) …..

• Shatter will lead by example and take a wage cut .

• Bring back former Justice Minister Michael McDowell, the best minister for justice equality and law reform yet. Had common sense, strength against Provos and gangland and stood by the men and women that work the uniform.

• And this vote of ” No confidence ” is going to do what exactly? Do you really think Shatter cares? Do you think he will back down on proposed cuts? GRA stop wasting people’s time, we know what you are at! Man up FFS and fight the fight…stop with these stupid votes. Action not words….

• Must be very stressful for the gardai. I know its harder when you have a family to support and mortgage to pay. Hopefully your take home pay wont be hit too much.

• Why didn’t we think of that, when private sector employers was cutting our pays and befits…

• how about a confidence motion on the gardai from ordinary people of Ireland…..

• How exactly will that work now? With no police force or a new one with lower wage? Just wondering cos I’m not mad on the idea of a ‘blue flu’ but at the same time no Gardai at all ever kind of scares me and I’ve heard it takes 2 years to train a guard so if we’re getting rid of what we’ve got what do we do?

• Bill Clear a motion of confidence in the Gardai would be carried 99.9per cent in favour of. Get a life .

• Public Servants throwing the toys out of the pram again…they need to realise the days of blanket pay rises ( not linked to performance,like in private sector) across the board are long gone thankfully..I get no allowances & bonuses for doing my job or working unsocial hours..

• From what I can make out Barry they’re not looking for blanket pay rises and the allowances they’re trying to keep are the result of the last ‘blue flu’ and were given instead of pay rises which were long long overdue at the time. Whilst I’m not a great fan of the public sector and I think it should without a doubt be made more accountable, I think the emergency services such as firefighters, nurses, Gardai, prison officers etc should not be tarred with the same ‘lazy public servant’ brush that admin and clerical staff are brushed with #justmyopinion

• When I’m on duty for 24hr shift,for that duration I’m away from home whilst others are tucked up in bed,the following day i don’t rest cos kids to dropped and collected from school etc,and for that duty after tax I will come out with €23,less than €1 an hour,no fuel card for me travelling to and from work,no company car sitting in my drive.

• No one earns less than €1 an hour after tax in this country..

• Yes they do Barry….

• Yes we do,look it up,been public servant our wages are there for all to see,full accountability to the tax payers,have the pay slip to prove it,dave been PDF will back myself up with that statement,I would hardly fcuk that kind of statement into the public domain with having solid proof,we even get little diarys each year to remind us all how much each other earns,it’s that transparent .
      Look up defences.ie Entry grade rates of pay and allowances enlisted personnel ,look for sda,security duty allowance. Mon -sat (24hrs). €47.59
      Mon -sat less than 24 €23.81 before tax

• What do you work at? Whats your wage? Gross and net? Have you a health plan? Have you a work phone? Work laptop? Company car? Are you on call? Have you ever been assaulted at work? How much have yours wages been cut since 2006? Whats your commute to work? Are you prohibited from seeking extra work? Do you get a bonus? Do you try and contribute to society??? Answer all of above truthfully pls…. Fair wage thats all.

• I think the Gardai will lose the respect of the nation if they go on strike. We need to realise that with nearly half a million unemployed, going on strike merely runs salt into the deep wounds of these delinquents.

• Interesting. An Garda Siochana have a strong opposition to Shatter and Clare Daly. That’s a nice political balance.

An Garda Siochana should be given an official mandate to run Ireland. We need a police state and the politicised Garda Siochana show a keen appetite to get into the political arena.

We need a more authoritarian, repressive and forceful police force. Democracy is an indulgence and personal freedom is an optional extra.

How long before stories emerge about Mr. Shatter?

• I would feel sympathy for the Gardai…but I just got hit with a fine from their blatant speed trap going into Buttevant, Co. Tipp from the south (check it out on Google street…100kph straight down to 50kph on a bend) so they can go suck eggs.
    Don’t expect sympathy from the public if you treat us like crap.

Not that I’m siding with Shatter either, mind you. Like the rest of the cabinet the guy literally makes my skin crawl.

• If your too stupid to slow down and get caught speeding then your also too stupid to understand that the fine payment doesn’t go to the coppers’ pocket… So your statement is ridiculous..!!

• Is that not a go-safe van that site there Tom?

• It’s a fact that speed traps save lives. If that’s treating you like crap, as you put it, well you’re living in a different world to most of us. In future, stick to the limit and you’ll be richer…and safer if that’s of any interest to you.

• Go safe vans have nothing to do with Gardai they are manned by civilians.

• Go safe vans are privately run. Either way sticking to the limit would save you 80 yoyos

• jrbmc 14/02/13 #

No they don’t save lives !!! Cause their set up in stupid areas where know one has died which proves its just a money making exercise , how many people do you know have died on Victoria Quay just before Heuston Station yet the van is always there , or just after Petrol station on the Chapelizod bypass ? , but never on the dangerous road where there has been multiple deaths

• Off topic there, stick to the limits and they won’t be of any concern to you:)

• Tom, just so you know the gardai didn’t put them camera’s there. The RSA and the government did so as to generate money for the government. They are manned by a private company.

• Youre dead right tom, if a garda got into my car and put his foot on the pedal while i was driving id be pissed off too

• Simple two reasons. Line of sight, need a certain distance to click speed so back roads are out. Also its about safety they need to park where you want cone around a bend and smash into a go safe van.

Also compared to the uk we have little speed checks. I’ve a clean license as I drive under the limit. Simple really

• FYI the Speed cameras are a privately owned company. Google gosafe. Not Garda operated.

• I’m a little baffled here – does the original commenter think that 100kph is a suitable speed to be going around a bend? So the speed limit goes down at a time that you should be slowing down anyway.. If it was a straight stretch, like say a motorway with no roads joining it, and the speed limit was cut in half for no reason whatsoever (not even the danger of animals crossing) then you would have a point..

And the other one complaining that speed checks have been put where no one (not “know one”) has died, surely the reason that they have been placed at these areas as there is a reason to think that an accident could realistically occur? Like perhaps a blind corner – just because no one has died doesn’t mean that you should throw caution to the wind. Would you prefer that some one does die before a speed check is put in place? Surely prevention is better than a horrific accident?

• @tom goss, buttevant is not anywhere near tipperary.

• jrbmc 15/02/13 #

I do keep to the limits but you obviously didn’t understand my point , or your not from Dublin and haven’t a clue where I’m talking about !

• Interesting that the no confidence is based on how much they get paid, rather than decisions about closing rural offices or reform plans. Can we conclude the union doesn’t disagree with Shatter’s strategy for better policing, but specifically just on how much the gardai get paid?

GRA should propose very clearly what fair pay is and then compare themselves with other jobs in the state and other police forces. I smell a Union trying to justify itself.

Most Gardai will tell you, Ireland is an extremely quiet country crime-wise relative to pretty much every other; excepting a few tax havens and principalities. There are stresses and confrontations on the job, but statistically very low compared to UK, France, Italy, Germany, US etc etc .

• Here is a quick comparison for you a Garda with 18 yrs service take home pay after statutory deductions (tax/prsi/usc/pension levy) is 33k out of which they have to pay mortgage and medical insurance and bills . Unemployed person with 3 kids has 26k and will get rent allowance medical card back to school etc (and an increase in welfare if they have another child). So after costs are met the Garda will have less disposable income. Now I appreciate this is not comparing to another job but its a state hand out for no work (even if that person wants to work).

The Garda wage bill in 2012 was just under 1bn. The Welfare Bill was 20bn yet no proposals are afoot to cut this. Gross pay in An Garda Siochana is down 25% since 2007 yet welfare is down just 5%. Due to restrictions in protest options open to Gardai they are seen as soft targets so why not hit them again instead of tackling the hard issues like the 90m of estimated fraud in the welfare system. Tackling welfare abuse will alienate many potential voters and is the elephant in the room but at 40% of overall spend on Welfare it will have to be tackled at some stage.

Gardai on the ground are struggling with some in receipt of Family Income Supplement and some not being able to afford medical insurance for their kids due to large mortgages and these people have medical cards for the kids. I can’t make sense to be cutting at one end and handing those cut welfare at the other end. Those who are are not yet at this stage fear for the cuts and what the consequences they may have. This added to the reduced numbers, lack of transfers and promotion opportunities and lack of resources combine to drag morale as low as it has ever been in the job. When in the face of all of this the Minister takes every opportunity to state morale in the job is high it is a small wonder that the members have expressed no confidence in the man.

This is no union trying to justify itself it is merely the expression of the reality on the ground and the thoughts of a group of workers that have given all it has to give.

to quote Martin Luther King Jr “Whenever men and women straighten their backs up, they are going somewhere, because a man can’t ride your back unless it’s bent” the GRA are just straightening up their backs.

• @Arbitrasure, you’re in cloud cuckoo land there lad. The GRA, AGSI and many locally based Gardaí were extremely vocal and forthcoming in their views opposing the closing of rural Garda stations and their views are on the public record. They voiced these concerns during the first and again during the most recent traunch of station closers. They were dealing with these issues before the current pay issue arose. And as for your stats on violent crime/confrontation, you haven’t got a notion my good man.

Get your facts straight.

• The irish tax system takes no account of disposable income , cost of living or DEBT …even though most people’s biggest debts are held by banks that are owned by the State! ………
      I remember a report some time ago about a family who were receiving 80’000 or 90,000 in benefits!
      It is almost the Government are deliberately trying to break the country to everyone’s detriment except themselves and their friends and anyone involved in the Horse (both) industries! ….. What does “CORRUPTION” mean?

• Shatter is a disgrace but also at the end of the day the average garda is commanding a salary much more than almost everyone I know personally! I have little sympathy and do not buy the reasonsing with the poor hard done by me stories being banded about like garda sleeping in cars and unable to pay mortgages! Scale back like the rest of us are FORCED to do!

• Out of interest, what salary is the average Garda “commanding”? Do you know? I don’t, but I’m willing to bet it’s not enough for the work they do.

• Are you for real??? My brother works in boots and earns more than me! Maybe do a bit of research before making an outrageous, sweeping comment like that!

• My estates full of Guards. They’re still driving BMW’s, although I did see one of their wives wearing the same clothes two days in a row.

• An intelligent commentary on the debate…

Plenty of bmw’s parked outside the dole office today as the drivers were signing on… Doesn’t prove anything.

• You still trolling roddy

• Nah Stuart. Just injecting a bit of humour into a subject that’s starting to become boring.

• Green thumb for that one

• Are they 131 reg BMWs? If not then what relevance does it have to anything? So someone bought a car a few years back when the wages were decent (and they were even better in the private sector) – they bought BMW as they have a high resale value and are generally worth what you pay for them. Same with Mercs. It doesn’t mean that their wages haven’t taken a hammering since..

• @ James Connolly – you will find the Garda pay rates on the GRA site. They provide Gross and Net payments for all Garda grades.

• James
      You didn’t know the salary levels of a Garda but you ” bet that it isn’t enough”.
      How could that be anything but an unthinking and illogical statement to make.

• You’re totally right Richard, I mean we all are overpaid, underworked, over resourced in the public sector.
      I’m betting on experience – but of the Gardaí but of nurses. The two careers are not dissimilar.
      Also, just in case you think I am underworked and overpaid, I’ve been in my hospital since 6:45am. I dare you, tell me I’m underworked, overpaid.

• James
      You’re on overtime and have boasted about earning seventy five thousand a year when four hundred thousand have no job and many many hundred of thousand will never see that kind of wealth. And to rub salt in the wound you earn that money as a public servant while bitching about it.

• Richard, I didn’t boast about earning 75k, I said I earned close enough to it when you include overtime.
      I am currently not getting overtime, and haven’t done since January 1st, which means that for my 70-90hr weeks I earn 54k, of which I take home 40%.
      That is a little bit over minimum wage, and before you throw the fact that I should be contributing to my pension, I should, I agree. Unfortunately I don’t have a choice, and as the reality is for many frontline public service workers, many will leave the service before they qualify for any of that pension contribution.
      I have 3 diplomas, a masters and a PhD. I hold other current certifications which I am legally bound to hold – as to not hold them would render me unqualified to do my job. I pay for those certifications myself, I am reimbursed for a small percentage of the cost which in no way resembles a sum even close to the actual cost of these certifications.
      I didn’t invest so heavily in my career to A) be treated like a slave (given that I’m not being paid o/t and that I’ve already worked my 40hrwk this week, along with 12hrs o/t and still have another 24hrs to go before I finish work) and B) take on the responsibility that goes with my job (which is massive) to take home the same as your average shop assistant.

• @james well said .

• @James Connolly, basic gross starting salary for Garda, day 1 is €24,550 rising incrementally to a maximum of €44,116 after 17 years where it remains to retirement at 30 years minimum service. For those working nights, public holidays etc, that would be enhanced through allowances.

• do the garda think the private care if their wages are cut.did we not see what the garda think and do to the people peacefully protesting which is their right. Garda grow balls and stand with the people not bully them.all it takes is unity and then we will defeat our greedy lying leaders..man up garda its easy to push the people around now push the politicians

• Who do the GRA think they are to vote confidence or otherwise in a democratically elected minister for justice?

• Wouldn’t 400,000 on the dole or private sector workers with increased hours and lower pay than Garda Siochana love the luxury of going on strike knowing that they cannot lose their jobs.

• well done Mr Shatter keep the bullies down we the people need a police force that polices and not a gang thats intent on treason call in the army for this is a serious attempt to subervert the rest of us in this republic

• liam kelly … go into pulse and take a look at my files as u have and see I have no criminaL INTENT or do I intend to have treason as a goal

• Harry, i wouldn’t waste any of my precious time on you.

You don’t comment on any article on the journal save for the ones talking about garda pay . Your so called solutions border on science fiction ( call in the army etc )
      You never have any constructive criticism, you only spout bile and poison which leads me to conclude that you either are a troll, or someone who has a serious gripe with AGS..

Either way, your comments are met with mostly ridicule , as the total number of red thumbs on ALL of your comments suggest.

Keep posting your muck, I will gladly retort to them all!

• Good man Harry, rock of sense you are. You even look crazy…

• ColindeB 15/02/13 #

Newsflash for the guards. It’s the people of Ireland who select our elected representatives, not you.

• GRA here’s an idea: would the Gardai accept a 20% pay rise in exchange for foregoing their pension entitlements?

Could save the State a huge amount of money given the 8:1 ratio of pension benefit to what they have to pay in

• Arb, the public service pension is part of the contract , you can’t opt out,
      Many wanted to opt out during the early 90,s but weren’t let do so,
      The perception at the time was that an individual could invest the money better themselves
      Half wages is the norm , plus lump sum, however the old age pension is taken out and used as part of the calculation for half wage
      If you low payed the job pays little on retirement, the well pay do well , I accept

• Do you know the life expectancy of a guard on retirement, they give a hell of alot more than they get:-(

• Was just gonna say, every guard I knew growing up always died just before or shortly after retirement, usually of a heart attack. They say its something to do with their working shift patterns and the stress of their job.

• @ karolyn …excellent point …. the best explanation I heard to try to explain this phenomenon was , and no offence meant to anyone, that when someone retires they are surplus to requirements and that it’s just nature getting rid of the excess …. i know this sounds cruel … but it is a general comment designed to help …as in if you are coming up to retirement geta hobby or some interest that ay “maintain the purpose of existence” ….. sorry if I offend but it’s a very difficult point to get accross !

Add New Comment