TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Government unemployment scheme is ‘Pathways to Poverty’ says opposition

Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil have both criticised the government’s plan to tackle unemployment.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Social Protection Minister Joan Burton at the launch of Pathways to Work yesterday
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

OPPOSITION PARTIES HAVE criticised the government’s plan to get unemployed people back to work as “inadequate” and “no better than waffle”.

Social Protection Minister Joan Burton yesterday unveiled the government’s ‘Pathways to Work’ scheme which aims to get 75,000 people who are considered long-term unemployed back into work as well as reduce the time spent on the Live Register.

Those on social welfare will have to engage with the process of seeking employment or undergoing training or will face losing their benefits, the government has said.

But Sinn Féin said that the plan would be more appropriately titled ‘Pathways to Poverty’.

“Just like the Budget the emphasis of today’s announcement is on punishing the unemployed,” claimed the party’s social protection spokesperson Aengus Ó Snodaigh.

“This document offers them very little hope and instead threatens to cut their meagre incomes.  Much of today’s announcement is a rehash of provisions put in place by the previous government and objected to at the time by the Labour Party,” he claimed yesterday.

Ó Snodaigh said that the “the plan is no better than waffle” and criticised the fact that the Minister is cutting the budget for social protection and that no new resources were being allocated for the measures announced.

Fianna Fáil’s social protection spokesperson Barry Cowen said that the response to the country’s high unemployment was “incoherent” and said that the scheme was a “repackaging” of a range of existing measures already in place.

“This document raises more questions than it answers. It is jam packed with fluff and no real policy detail. There is no detail on how the department will ensure that work placements are effective for the job-seekers involved,” he said.

Read: Government unveils scheme to get unemployed back to work

Read next:

Comments (107 Comments)

• The unemployed are leaving this country in the 1,000′s every week and this government come out with they don’t want to work.
    Create jobs and people will work.
    When there were jobs we had almost full employment so people want to work.
    Red tape and high cost of running and setting up business are the problem not the poor without jobs

• It’s a bit difficult to get back to work when (1) There are still more jobs being destroyed than created and (2) State training agencies are still offering a tonne of useless courses.

FÁS website right now:
    -813 courses
    -122 construction related (Construction job creation 2007-2011: -60.8%)
    -133 computer related (Computer job creation 2007-2011: +6.2%)

Seems a bit lopsided to me. But who am I to question the €1 billion a year behemoth, sure don’t they go on ‘fact finding missions’ to all the best countries to find out what works.

• “We must recognize that there are no workablemacroeconomic solutions which can be laid down: that everything is a matter of functioning microeconomics building things up; that the diamond takes on its lustrous geometry, atom by atom; that the masterpiece hanging in the Louvre came into being brushstroke by painstaking brushstroke.

Only get the microeconomics right and all else will follow.

Make labor once more affordable and its terms no longer and indentured servitude for the employer. Ensure that entrepreneurship is no more risky than it has to be and that it reaps the full fruits of its success – as well as seeing that it bears the full responsibility for its failure – by clarifying law, minimizing red tape, and, once this is achieved, by resisting the bureaucratic urge to tinker any further.

Set prices free to perform their function, insist that markets are able to clear, and see to it that titles to property are both secure and simple to transfer. Under such circumstances, we will each help to build a lasting recovery for the other, one job and one company at a time, much more certain of our success – however much patience will be required in its achievement -than if we were to heed the thundering decree of some sweeping, Collectivist Five-Year Plan emanating from the mouths of the tin gods who frequent the Platonic centers of world power.”
      Sean Corrigan (The Wasteland)

• Your comments are right, and its a sensible sounding thing the government is trying to do, but its been tried in many countries and it never seems to make much difference.
    It smacks of politicians wanting to have something to point at to claim they are doing something about unemployment while not actually achieving much.
    Hope Im wrong

• Similar schemes running in the uk for years-all a waste of time,energy and talent..

• It’s a pathway to nothing people .

• More like pathway to hell in a basket!!..

• Pathway to Emigration more like it.

• Typical Young Fine Gael arrogance informing people in an inferior position than themselves as to what “they need”.

• What everyone is forgetting is that 4yrs ago we had unemployment at 4%. So 11% of the unemployed were previously employed and through no fault of their own, lost their jobs. By targeting these people and basically saying that they are scroungers is a slap in the face for all those who are really trying to get back to work. Being made to attend interviews is intimidating, and it always make you feel like your being called to the headmasters office for doing something wrong. People are not stupid and being called in to tell you what you should be doing as if you are a naughty schoolkid just feels wrong.
    Plus there are no jobs!!!! This money would have been better spent on creating jobs!

• Two ridiculous claims in that.
      1) There are some jobs, not a lot and not near what we need but there are some so you can’t say there are none.
      2) While a lot of people lost their jobs through no fault of their own, it’d be idiotic to assume that there wasn’t any who lost jobs through no fault of their own.

• *a fault of their own.

• It’s not correct to assume 11% were previously employed. You have to allow for graduates and school leavers coming on to the labour Market having a look around and taking the assumption feic it there’s no jobs I’m as well stay go on the dole.

• mike 24/02/12 #

Pathway seems to be FAS but with a cut of income for those on the course.

• One huge problem I have experienced with the social welfare system is that many of the ‘options/incentives’ are only available to people once they have been unemployed for over a year. Ie; The back to enterprise scheme, the back to education scheme, part time income supplement, etc. These incentives are great and the theory behind them is great but it does also incentifies people to wait it out, until they can avail of these opportunities. I was made redundant a few months ago, I would love to start a business. But I would be an absolute fool to start a business until I have been unemployed for at least one year, the financial security it offers for the first two years is too great to resist.
    Not alone that, but when you speak to the social welfare officers and the people working with the unemployed on the ground, many have advised me to wait it out as well. In the meantime, I shall continue to send of CV’s to jobs that pay a respectable living wage.
    I have no aversion to working for minimum wage but I will not be able to avail of any of the above mentioned schemes. I will truly struggle to make ends meet and not have the opportunity to avail of any of the free training courses, or any of the internships, thus further ensuring that I shall remain on the bread line forever more. It is not I, nor any of the 400 000+ individuals that have created this system but a bunch of individuals who insist on having such rigid guidelines and rules. There is so much discussion of getting people off the dole queues, perhaps if not all doors were to be slammed in the faces of people who take up dead end minimum wage jobs, there maybe a few more individuals willing to rejoin the workforce. The reality is that there are still a few jobs out there, but they’re not terribly good jobs and the prospect of promotion is slim.

• the light at the end of the tunnel has been switched off due to budget cutbacks

• mike 24/02/12 #

A Fair Day Work for a Fair Days Pay.

• The government are taking money from the sick and unemployed to give to the banks to sponsor Rugby, Football and hurling games. That says it all about Joan. Get real Joan you need to tear up the contracts with the banks and their sponsored events and stick to the contracts with the people who need help.

• the gov first need to create jobs for the long term unemployed to apply for in the first place before they start cutting them off.

• The Social Welfare budget is approx. 20.1 billion, of which, 4.1 billion is spent on job-seekers’ payments – that’s approx 25% of the total budget.
    It would take 15 years, not 3, to reach 60 billion spend mark – I guess accurate facts and figures are not your forte when they interfere with your misconceptions.

• Maybe when this coalition are voted out the likes of Kenny and Burton and their ilk should be put on some course before they’re entitled to their massive pensions?

• It seems to me that Ireland has suffered enough useless politicians interfering in things they will never understand.

Maybe its time that would be politicians are tested before they get into Dail Eireann and cause too much harm that we cannot recover from. Both sides of the house wasted huge amounts of European funds and do not begin to recognise what they did wrong.

If politicians were punished financially for what they do wrong then they would learn to stop making the same mistakes and picking on the victims of their mistakes.

• “If politicians were punished financially for what they do wrong and did wrong” they would owe the country billions of euro. Pity that will never happen.

• jrbmc 24/02/12 #

Maybe it time for governments, ministers and TD’s to upskill as well cause they clearly dont know what there there doing , They’re all wafflers who talk themselves into a job that their not qualified to do. Ex- what qualifies a teacher for instance to run a country?

• @ged_star: Agreed.

But they still judge the unemployed as being wrong by using opinions when the truth and evidence says something else, which is perverse.

• @jrbmc: Agreed.

Democracy does not set standards or test for skills for whom gets in to Dail Eireann.

Sometimes the system should be designed to keep them out of positions of responsibility before they do harm.

• The real problem is if we had an honest politican standing for election, who said it as it is, didn’t make false promises etc, He would never get elected, most people would vote for the guy who promises i’m gonna do this or i’ll never do such an such. I’m a dreamer because what I would love to see is politicans of all colours working together for the country, forget the showboating. A really good place to start would be to come together around the creation of jobs. Also prosecute the corrupt banker, I’m no fan of the usa, but if the same thing happened there, they would have prosecuted those responsible immediately. I listened to a smug lawyer say on radio that most cases couldn’t be prosecuted because they would be to complex for the ordinary lay man to understand, what arrogance, If the political will was there prosecutions would be happening. At least then we could Start to put this behind us

• @Tom Kenny: They won’t prosecute in Ireland because they have been using opinions to circumvent the rules for so long that the rule books are meaningless when applied to the rich.

They are quiet good at applying law in social welfare tribunals to defraud social welfare recipients, who do not get protection by law.

• It would be an attestation to logic and commonsensical to withdraw from the global pyramid scheme once the global banking system has been exposed as such.
    Unfortunately, our political leaders – like yourself – refuse to acknowledge the power of sovereign independence and autonomy esp. in fiscal and policy matters.
    We are an island nation without an island mentality – introspection is what’s required.
    We are Irish – a people so different and unique; to succumb to the financial pressure put upon us at this time is anathema to me at least.

• ^^^^^^
    Meant that as a reply to David Higgins’ first comment.

• Pay the unemployed an extra €20 for every job they apply for and DONT even recieve an acknowledgment of their existence.
    Pay them extra money to go on courses which help them to deal with daily rejection.
    Pay them extra money if they turn up for the interview with a smile and a joke to tell.

The benefit allows people only to be in poverty with a bit of dignity.

When will the people on 100 grand plus realise this,

• The whole thing is like the UK’s ‘New Deal’ plan from around 1997/8. Bet the Gov didn’t just copy it, no they spent mony on consultants, analysis & advice first

• jrbmc 24/02/12 #

Well said melanie!

• I don’t think this iniative will work, I’m not fussy about the kind of job I can get, after all i’ve worked in butchers,supermakets, desktop publishing, furniture removals, clerical work and cleaner. I would like to think I have a decent level of experience, but the way I look at it is if you cant get a job in Tesco’s with that kind of experience where else can I find work, there no jobs out there

• @Mark Rodgers – above post – damned phone!

• There would be far more unemployed only for the emigration exit door. The government would be far better off arranging fast track visas in coordination with countries that require skilled Irish workers. Better than shovelling money into this path to work program.

• Aydo 24/02/12 #

They are trying to get people to work for very low wages…it’s no surprise the opposition would pounce on this and take it to an extreme.

• As Ian Duncan-Smith said last week: “It’s better to be stacking shelves in Tesco than day dreaming of stardom on the X-Factor” Not a fan of the conservatives, but the man has a point.

• How can you stack shelves at Tesco when Tesco have had a recruitment freeze for the last two years( in the west at least)?
      Simply, there are no jobs to be had and if you want evidence, look at the amount of people leaving Ireland for work with the possibility they will never return.

• It was a metaphor Sid. I’m pretty sure that IDS was’t referring only to X-Factor viewers. Or to stacking shelves at Tesco. I think he was probably aiming at the entitlement culture that is so prevalent in the UK, but can also be seen here.

The simple fact is that here are jobs out there. Yes, they may be lower paid and less glamorous than what you really want, but I can assure you it is a hell of a lot easier finding something better when you are gainfully employed than it is when you are out of work completely. Or you could take the traditional view- start at the bottom and work your way up, just a quick heads up- this can take a few years.

• More doom and gloom from the opposition. Nothing changes.

• Tom

You are trying very hard to be a schmuck ( Uloo ka patta, in Hindi )

When a learned High Court Judge Michael Hanna says that Judge Windle’s convicted the bank for misleading advertising and not fraud, the Taoiseach should set in motion the mechanism to impeach Hanna for stupidity,

You know what happens when you piss against the wind.

Please go through the blog again and the penny will drop.

Cheers

• If only Enda would uphold the law and look after the vulnerable. Further details by searching in the biggest search engine starting with the letter “G” for ‘William Fagan Desmond Windle’

Cheers

PS: Fagan couldn’t help himself. A certain streak, which Dickens wrote about runs deep in his blood.

• @Devrajan Srinivasan: A few more details on how you achieved this action would be helpful.

• Devrajan….you seem to be suggesting that Enda Kenny is not upholding the law.

Perhaps you might elaborate and give us all a good laugh as to how Enda Kenny is breaking the law and where you obtained such information that Enda Kenny is breaking the law.

• Tom Neville, LoyalIrishCitizen

All Enda as the PM has to do is direct Central Bank to order Permanent TSB to pay the “outstanding interest”, to use a polite expression to the depositors (mostly widow and orphans) who have been underpaid between 1958 to 1993.

This will bring a lot of money into the economy and some red faces at the bank where you are a ‘VIP’.

How apt that judge named Windle put a stop to the swindle, pardon the rhyme

Cheers

The lowly common informer who failed in maths at school a la Bart Simpson

• I think you might be a little confused between the powers of the Taoiseach and the powers of the courts.

The Taoiseach cannot make make a finding of illegality. That is a matter for the courts.

So you are saying that the Taoiseach should usurp the powers of the courts and by not doing so he failed to uphold the law? I’m pretty sure that you have just defamed the Taoiseach though I doubt very much that he will sue. :)

• It’s funny you say that Tom, because where does that line between Courts and Dail exist?????

Kenny and Ahere before him, have made many attempts to twist the law, and take court power.

Most recently there was a referendum, with the elections, to make one of these powers they were after legal.
      Thank God, it failed, but he will not stop there.

And Lisbon, from what I read, they took alot of powers into there own hands then.

And Cowan with by-elections, trying to hold on to power. so, where is that line exactly????

• Tom,

My apologies for adding a new comment instead of replying to your comment. It will not allow me to copy and paste the new comment. So, please see my new comment below.

Devrajan

• About time, were the only country in Europe to throw a blind eye to the long term unemployed. Whose paying for that! Probably costs the tax payer more than all the banks put together.

• Incredibly unhelpful comments from the opposition. Their main criticism is the unemployment rate but that won’t change for some time and it’s a separate issue to what was announced.

In the meantime people need to be incentivised into what jobs are available and they need to be upskilled so that they are job-ready for when the recovery comes.

I see no criticism of having a one-stop-shop for the unemployed or for the incentive of benefit cuts for those who refuse to train or take work.

Secretly the opposition probably agrees with these aspects.

• Why would people need to be incentivised to work? Work and a decent income are incentive enough, if the work is there…

• Let’s say 100 staff interview 5 people a day and write up reports 5 days a week 48 weeks a year that 120000 people anyway so if there are say 480000 people to be interviewed once it will take 4 years to interview people.
      Interesting figures to be achieved

• With such a small gap between welfare and work there is unfortunately a lack of incentive to work in Ireland in some cases.

Personally I work 18-20 hours part time and only earn slightly above the basic job seekers rate. You then factor in free medical cards and other benefits and there is a real potential for welfare traps!

Reducing welfare rates for people who don’t engage in job seeking or training is a must but is only for the small few who find themselves in that trap.

• The amount of tax working people pay is ridiculous we should have a scheme called Adopt your own unemployed person

• Shinners, with one of their own TDs convicted of serious welfare fraud have no credibility in this area; plus their only experience in job creation was in undertakers and building reconstruction thanks to their IRA buddies.

• Tom

I do wish you would stop trying so hard to be a schmuck.

For the last time, Windle stopped the swindle. Please re-read the blog and the penny will drop.

Cheers

Devrajan

ps: My Da said to me, when I left home at the age of 16, “Son, common sense is not common.”

• What are you on about?

• Tom

TSB has either paid the advertised interest or not between 1958 to 20 Feb 1993.

Surprise, surprise, the trustees, employees and agents of the bank helped themselves to the full advertised interest. ( It must be rather painful to defraud yourself.)

The corollary from the convictions and fines imposed by Dublin District Court and affirmed by Dublin Circuit Court is that the advertised interest rates between 1958 to 1993 were fraudulent.

We are not talking about opinions here. One of the few things perfect in life is maths. Regardless of your political leanings, nationality, education etc, if Hanna is stupid, let us call him stupid and if TSB has defrauded most depositors from 1958 to 20 Feb 1993, let us call the Harry Lorton, Gerry Walsh fraudsters and thieves.

You know a shop keeper is a thief, if he or she gives you the incorrect change all the time.

No depositor has given his informed consent to TSB to hold monies on deposit in the savings or investment account for up to 60 days without earning a penny in interest.

Documentary fraud is easy to trace.

So, please do not piss against the wind

Cheers.

Devrajan

• Seriously, what are you on about?

• If I had a euro for everytime someone said that they didn’t possess the skills/academics/training to do a job thay was available, I’d be a rich(er) man.

If you want to make money, train ad an IT developer.

• Every three years this country spends more on Social Welfare payments than we did on bailing out the Banks. In this context I demand better and more efficient use of taxpayers money and I deeply resent the criticism of Sinn Fein who should be treading very carefully given the differences in weekly payments just three miles from Dundalk where they participate in the Administration.
    We should be rallying around the Government in ensuring continued protection for the unemployed but continuing to incentivise those with an opportunity to unskilled themselves or accept a job to snatch either when offered.
    I appreciate the new measures being introduced.

• mike 24/02/12 #

Rally around a Government where Enda earns more then Obama in the USA. Tds earn more then british MP. Maybe they should show a example. But NO. Instead they look to see if they can employ people on JobsBridge so they do not hace to pay a Fair day Pay. Typical

We had a National Training Agency Called FAS

• Mark, in other words preserve the status quo. That’s really working for us. A fair day’s wage for a fair day’s work is plenty incentive for the vast majority of people. More efficient use of taxpayers money is needed in more areas than just social welfare.

• Mark- SF are part of the Stormont administration not Westminster, where that particular decision is made

• No Mike, they are PAID more than their Westminster counterparts, they certainly don’t earn more!

• Seb
    I apologise for not replying sooner but I don’t camp out on websites such as this.
    Your acidic response to my post is inaccurate and inarticulate. My data were correct in my post above as we do spend sixty billion Euro every three years under the heading of Social Welfare. This spending includes many things from unemployment benefits to administrative salaries etc.In that short period this sum directly equates with the amount of the Bank bailout so please identify any error that my statement contains.
    Within that twenty billion a year or sixty billion every three years we make support payments to people unfortunate enough to lose precious employment during a severe and prolonged recession . The sums paid are either a multiple or substantially in excess of payments made by our nearest neighbours where Sinn Fein are participants in the Administration . They in turn have a damn cheek to criticise the Government for the introduction of incentives to recipients when offered courses to upskill themselves or jobs which they may turn down.
    For the long term unemployed and the State this Policy seems logical , necessary and common sense.

• Three words for you Mark..
      Cost. Of. Living.

The payments are lower in the North, but so is the cost of everything. A tin of bachelors beans, made in Ireland, are cheaper in the UK than here, substantially cheaper..
      Fuel is cheaper, utilities are cheaper. And their housing benefit is a little more realistic (and not nearly as misunderstood) as ours. So it works out as pretty much the same.

If anyone thinks that unemployement benefits are enough to live comfortably on, or that rent allowance is too high, I would invite them to try it. It’s not all its cracked up to be.

• Recently TV3 programme showed there is now very little difference in prices between Republic and Northern Ireland

• Stephen, I find that very difficult to believe. The dole in the UK is £67.50 (according to the guys talking about the UK equivalent of our jobbridge scheme last week).
      That’s roughly €80 per week.
      Ad the maximum pay out of rent supplement which is €35.70 (around Dublin, it’s far less in areas where rent prices are lower)

Tell me, could you feed yourself, clothe yourself, pay your bills and your rent / mortgage on €115 or less per week down south?

Add New Comment