TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Government unveils scheme to get unemployed back to work

Minister Joan Burton unveiled the ambitious plan today and promised that the Irish government will not repeat the mistakes of the 1980s.

Joan Burton and Enda Kenny launching Pathways to Work today

THE GOVERNMENT HAS unveiled its major plan to get unemployed people back to work.

The Pathways to Work initiative will introduce a code of rights and responsibilities where jobseekers must actively seek employment or engage with training services in return for welfare support.

“When new job opportunities come we want unemployed people to be at the front of the queue,” said Minister Joan Burton launching the plan this afternoon.

The plan aims to get 75,000 people who are currently considered to be long-term unemployed back into the workforce. It also aims to reduce the average time spent on the live register from 21 months today to less than 12 months by the end of 2015.

Social welfare offices will become one-stop-shops where jobseekers can access their entitlements and get support with planning their return from work. Four such offices will open by May with ten more due to open by tnd of the year.

Jobseekers will be required to complete a profile questionnaire when they register with the new welfare offices so that case workers can access how likely it is that they will get a job within the next year.

Claimants will also have to sign a rights and responsibilities contract and commit to a progression plan with the Department of Social Protection.

“We will not repeat the mistakes of the 1980s and 1990s when unemployment remained high even after economic recovery took hold,” said Joan Burton. “This time, our people will be job-ready when the recovery comes”.

The Minister said that the programme will engage with every unemployed person to ensure that their first day out of work is also their first step on the pathway back to work.

“No-one who loses his or her job will be allowed to drift, without support, into long-term unemployment,” said Burton.

Previously: Unemployed people “are not statistics” >

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• I was offered an internship at a busy food store and I was not shown anything new but used as an unpaid slave given the worst shifts and when I asked the manager when are they going to show me what was on the list of items that I will be trained in she said your here to work plain and simple. When I went to complain to the welfare office that sent me for this internship I was told I should have gotten more involved and learnt more. I told them what the manager said and was told there is nothing they could do. So this new thing the government is bringing in is just a new way of slave driving employers to get free workers who can’t complain because of fear of been cut off of the dole.

• DaveC 23/02/12 #

That jobridge slave scheme is utterly disgraceful.

• Dave, it’s an absolute disgrace! And I Can not believe its allowed when it’s blatantly being misused by employers such as tesco’s! Jobs bridge and this scheme are not going to do much in the way of getting people back to work, because quite simply there is not enough to go round. It’s all about shifting figures to make it look like the register is shrinking. A perfect example is every sept when people enrol back into college…. Always a drop in ‘figures’ then. But the actual % of unemployment is the same if not worse. I hate the way this Gov are penalising people like this, it makes my blood boil.

• CMD 23/02/12 #

I know of one girl who was sent to an insurance office through one of those internship schemes. After a few months they said to her to take the insurance exams at her own expense (about 600e) per exam. they then told her to register as self employed and theyd just take her on a contract. She would then have to pay her own prsi etc. So many scams out there and the unemployed is at everyone’s mercy.

• Its just another spin. Ready for work. They are ready for work NOW. The unemployed arent the problem, its the billions we are giving away thats the problem. We cant afford to stimulate growth because of it. SPIN SPIN SPIN.

• What a lot of nonsense been unemployed for a while now, been through Fas done what courses I could , been in welfare offices looking for training pass me back to Fas , who in turn have no worthwhile training , find great training courses guess what Fas won’t fund me …. so I’m stuck in this shitty rut ….

• Nice picture lol :) even enda doesnt believ it hahahah

• Well now, there’s a pic thats ripe for caption.

• Oh God I love that! “When new job opportunities come we want unemployed people to be at the front of the queue,” The problem is, Joan, everyone else in the queue is also unemployed!

• franco 23/02/12 #

ha ha that photo is worth a caption…

• jesus christ, before this effin recession hit we had excellent all round employment, the figures on the live register were very low. It’s not their feckin fault they can’t get work! It seems to me that lately, the unemployed are cast as part of the problem….they’re not, they’re just a victim of it! spend the time and energy on attracting new business to the country for godsake, the rest will follow.

• I so agree with Idontcare as there were a few jobs around here parttime which i was looking for and I applied – had all the skills for it. Then they told me we dont know yet but will come back to you if we know how it will be in the end. What is the end? The JOB dissapeared and reappeared as INTERNSHIP for NO MONEY! that is so great for employers you get an employee for about 9 mths for FREE and no commitments as you can change after….. IT IS SLAVERY not good not good…..

• Same thing happened to me, tis’ a sad state of affairs we’re in really.

• They should stimulate employers to OFFER that job and not use them in ADVANTAGE FOR THEM – this bad climate makes the worker suffer not the employer! Its all about the money. And also – dont get me wrong I love the country and prefer it to the cities – but very bad if you know someone you get the job if not…well even worse if you are an outsider…. and if you get one, like i have the ce scheme til the end of the year you get always laughed at or made jokes at as you are a “foreigner” out of village lol even your english is muuuuch better than the ones living and dying in the village. WELL HOPE IS ALL….

• I think the picture for this article should be the caption competition photo. Lol
    Enda Kenny thinking “Oh God, here she goes again!”

• It looks like Enda himself is facepalming there, even though it’s such a fantastic idea, penalize people for not having jobs when there are few jobs around…

• franco 23/02/12 #

wonder will it be an unsecured contract , sorry joan but jobsbridge ,pathways to work , what new buzz word will be next….

• I’m not signing any ill-thought-out state contract without legal advice – slavery contracts at best.

Where’s Enda’s contract with the people of Ireland now?

Broken of course, along with all his bullshit promises and 5 point plans.

Stick to your own contract first.

• She is very quick to pick on the vulnerable yet no comment on the banks sponsorship of Rugby, Football, etc she dosent mind giving taxpayers money to the banks to support the better off. Get real Joan. The welfare system needs an overhaul but not the most vulnerable in the welfare system. Some of these people can’t fill out the forms they are do distraught.

• On your bike, Joan.

• Here’s the facts; people who don’t want to work never will. They know the system better than any government ever will. And the other 400k who actually do want work won’t have their lives enriched much by the constant tirade of press conferences for the latest jobs initiative.

• More Social Welfare bashing. Its only the poor who need to be judged.

These people are going to use any method possible to keep people in ignorance including breaking the law to get people off the live register and massage the figures.

These people are stripping the Irish people of all recognition in law and will leave Irish People to starve while they finance themselves, pretentious American corporations, bankers and the pretentious.

Force these people to observe your rights as citizens and human beings.

• It seems Joan Burton forgets that the majority of those on Welfare are there through no fault of their own. Also why do people pay Social Insurance? Irish people need to put a stop to this bullying.

• @Yvonne Byrne: They also seem to forget that parents and grand parents and the generations before pay into these systems.

I agree that we need to stop them abusing peoples rights but they also set up the legal board to sit as judge and jury by using opinions. Its nearly impossible to get legal aid to challenge these people.

• Going by that pic even Enda’s not too impressed ;)

• “Social welfare offices will become one-stop-shops…”

“One-stop shop” certainly has an air of spin-doctor guff about it!

There’s been an interesting debate going on in some UK papers this week about their version of Job Bridge. According to Iain Duncan Smith, young people taking part in their scheme should learn to “… value work and not sneer at it.”

Just a shame that the companies that take on workers in these schemes obviously don’t value the workers at all – given that every penny of their wages is provided by the public purse.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2104027/Stacking-shelves-better-dreaming-stardom-X-Factor-says-Iain-Duncan-Smith.html#ixzz1nE1Tu74A

• I remember the bullshit lectured in Britain by the Tory Government under Maggie Thatcher. The two buzz words then were ‘ scheme ‘ and ‘programme’, as in Job Creation Scheme and Community Programme. You basically worked for your dole plus ten pounds extra for expenses. They weren’t real jobs and certainly not long term. Because I rode a bicycle at the time I was offered a placement taking cycle parts out of cardboard boxes and putting on the saddles! A job for life there!!! Looks like Ireland will go the same way.

• Poor Enda. His mind is on his meeting in Berlin, tonight, with Angela Merkel. Instead of being prepared and coached for it by his goons he has to listen to a load of nonsense and self serving spin from La Burton. And you wonder why he’s holding his head in dispair?

• That’s great Joan, now all we need are the jobs,and not the slave labour ones !!!!

• jimbo 23/02/12 #

Bruton was on drivetime earlier talking through her hoop AS USUAL…CLOWN!

• Sean 23/02/12 #

This is a load of crap. Before the company I worked for went bust I was threatened at being let go and being replaced by someone through job-bridge. Eventually it happened. My employer let me go and had someone else in doing my job two weeks later for free through job-bridge.
    Why would employers pay people to work when they can get them for free.

JOKE

• jj 23/02/12 #

A picture is worth a thousand words!!! All of them…. Blah blah blah…..

• It can only be a positive thing to retrain the long term unemployed. I am sure the majority will take it up, it will weed out the lifers…

• Surely it should read ‘ get support with planning their return to work’ and not ‘ get support with planning their return from work’ Journal:-)

Poor Joan, she really has no clue. Her integrity must be shot from all that haranguing she received from Vincent pre-election:-) What part of there are not enough jobs for people do these cretins not understand. Instead of thinking of more ways to castigate and blame the unemployed they should be trying to improve the conditions for creating employment and providing real and meaningful training for those who find themselves out of work through no fault of their own. Their smokescreenings and demonising of the ordinary citizens of this country is staggering.

• When your government treats you like misbehaving children, it’s time to get a new daddy..
    Tell me, why IS the Labour Party called the Labour Party? Did they represent labour at some time in the distant past? I’m new at this Irishness stuff.

• ”Pathways to Work”!!! I’m cracking up here! Drone Drone Drone. Please lord make her shut ta fuck up, I’ll be a good boy, I’ll even stop telling porkies…pleeeeeez make her shut up. I’m awful sorry for slagging the pope…plezzzzzzzze tell her to shut ta hell up…i’ll even stick happy in that villa….plezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzze

This crowd are a howl!

• If they steal form the private pension schemes again I know the path they should be led up. Reading about O’Donghue considering the next election is bad for the old bp.

• SHIFTING THE GOALPOSTS

• Which is better…………… Opposition JOAN BURTON and In-Government JOAN BURTON? There’s only one way to find out….FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIGHT

• De peeple she screeches giving poor Inda a headache

• Great idea. Maybe now all those lazy people who refuse to take up all those jobs will get off their arses. Sure why don’t we just cut all forms of social welfare, that way we will have 100% employment straight away. Simples.

• Staggering that the average time spent on the live register is 21 months and the target is a reduction to 12 months. Isn’t 12 months the threshold for long-term unemployment?

• seems to me this is nothing more than a thinly disguised stick for the majority of unemployed who do genuinely want to work. There is very little evidence of a carrot in the shape of a credible job stimulus. Anyone who can’t see that clearly has very little first hand experience of how the system works.

• Fair pay to them for trying to improve peoples lives in the long term. About time they tried something rather than do nothing. Better to try and fail and try again rather than do nothing at all. There is no quick fix to the situation people are in and they need to take action step by step. It is clear that the current system is outdated, broken, open to abuse and does not serve its purpose. So it is a small step in the right direction!

• I agree and if we all see it a bit positive like you Robbie we are even one step further ;-) Lets stay positive and stop moaning (me included lol) ;-) !!!!

• I@ Robbie: If they were trying to improve people’s lives in the long-term Robbie, our governemnt would not be constantly putting forward the impression that the majority of people on welfare are on it by “choice”, with no intention of looking for work. This is untrue: the vast majority do want to work, and the fact remains that the jobs are not there. That is what comes with a recession- higher unemployment, and lower job opportunities. Pressuring the unemployed into training and jobs that have no relation to their previous qualifications or work is not going to help and shows a complete lack of respect for their daily efforts and for the struggle that they and their families are going through. It will lead to further strain and stress and quite frankly is a waste of real human potential.

I MUST emphasise: when jobs were available a few years ago, unemployment was c. 3%, i.e. almost everybody wanted to work. Now that there is mass unemployment, this hasn’t changed- it simply means that the work is not there.
      @ Karl: I doesn’t matter how many jobs initiatives are launched, as long as the ACTUAL jobs themselves do not exist, unemployment will remain high.

As Eimear says “People who don’t want to work never will. They know the system better than any government ever will. And the other 400k who actually do want work won’t have their lives enriched much by the constant tirade of press conferences for the latest jobs initiative.”

I am glad that most people here realise that this latest announcement is entirely unhelpful and insulting. For the remainder, don’t be fooled into thinking that this is anything other than an attempt to justify further cuts in social welfare and give the impression of lower unemployment levels by placing people on FAS courses. The greatest success of this government and the last has been creating a division between many groups in society- public and private sector workers, employed and unemployed, local and foreign, etc. This has served fantastically to divert attention away from the real problem of resources being pumped into the wrong places. When we wake up to realise that any of us could one day be part of one of the above groups, we will start making real progress.

• Iain, just saw this now there isn’t no jobs what a stupid idea, there are some jobs, not a lot and not near what we did but there are jobs and it’s not insulting.

• Mx 23/02/12 #

Anyone unemployed who criticises these schemes Jobridge, pathways, BTWS need to get a reality check, if you’re not bothered to participate then don’t give out about those who are successfully getting full time jobs out of them. Of course an internship at a sandwich shop is taking the pi55 but there are plenty of genuine companies offering work after the internship or training programme

• I also said it is good that something is done and has to be done – good step better than nothing and I am also sick of all the moaning, doesnt bring us anywhere! I also believe that we are far better off than Greece for example as we have a kind of structure and government which greece lacks totally! And I also always had many thumbs down lol due to my comments that I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT IRELAND ITS GONNA MAKE IT!!!! With the flexibility the irish people have and I personally admire and a bit of correction of mind and thinking…IRELAND IS WELL ABLE TO STABILISE ITSELF IN ITS OWN STRENGTH!!1 Thumbs up!!! ;-)

• @Kerryspirit Chris Good and we will make it if people endured it. Everyone hates being told No on things, its human nature but we are designed to live on needs not wants and it’s time we realized that before we find its too late like Greece have now found out.

• Also Mx, very good points.

• But I disagree re:sandwich shop.

• It’s good to see the government making an attempt on getting unemployed back to work. I mean if they get 3 months paid work at least that’s some money and something for their CV so who ever is moaning about unsecured contracts, it doesn’t matter, work is still work.

We need to do something, all these people moan but no one actually says any suggestions bar ‘get rid of the bank guarantee’, news flash that only gives us a few billion a year and we don’t know what the effects of it will be(people seem to forget Permanent TSB holds a good portion if Irish mortgages and is propped up by the government, your house could be lost if we stopped the government doing that).

I say fair play to the government for this initiative.

• I agree the ones who see unemployment as lifestyle they should be MADE to go back to work if there is work – spot on! The minority more and more though and most of us just want to work to pay their bills which is not enough WITHOUT a job…..

• Kerryspirit Chris I agree some are needy but you can’t say there aren’t ones who genuinely need some money but not all they get from government.

I’d reckon the majority have some form of discretionary spending(i.e they probably drink coca cola, get dellys ham,chocolate bars etc when they can get water and daily basics food and not a bar of whole nut) while it may be small bit of help and while they would still require government aid as Tesco says ‘every little helps’.

Furthermore, the government launched this initiative, they’re doing something and somethings better than nothing.

If you want to get back to work use every government initiative, the JobsSearch in the menu of this site, jobs.ie,HireLand etc and hope for the best, it might take a while but eventually you’ll get there. I’m just pointing out if you look at the comments people comment on Enda and criticize the government and banks,etc but forget about the PTSB thing and that government is actually doing something rather than sitting on their arses like FF/G. I understand you’re looking for work and trying to pay bills, it’s not easy and it does cause you pain maybe you are telling the truth and on genuine basics but there are a ton of resources and people aren’t aware of them always and I believe from this article government is genuinely trying to make people aware of all the initiatives. I’m not criticizing those on unemployment who absolutely 100% genuinely need it but those moaning about government(especially when it’s just because of the banks) and private companies alike helping as they are but people aren’t always aware of it or they’re put off from them due to false accusations made by someone who never even used the schemes they are moaning about.

• How would people lose their homes if PTSB wasn’t propped-up by the State? Don’t think it works that way. If a bank went belly-up its loans would be transferred elsewhere. Probably bought at huge discounts by other institutions…

• No bank will take toxic loans Michael, the goods one they’ll take them but the toxic ones, keep dreaming lad.

• Hence the big discounts, Karl. You may be a bit out of your depth here. You’re a rational type. If you owe a bank money and the bank goes bust, who do you owe the money to?

• The receiver Cuthbert and they’ll do anything to get it including taking your home of you if you owe so much.

• You also have a binding contract. A receiver couldn’t change that. As long as you keep up repayments, no-one can touch you. If you can’t keep up payments, is doesn’t matter who you owe the money to. But there are statutory protections in that case…

• Yes Michael but if you aren’t keeping up which a lot aren’t even with the protections they can take the home and they would if it meant a profit for them, that’s the bit you don’t seem to see.

• We seem to agree then. If, like a substantial majority of people, you keep up the payments, you’re fine, whether the bank is solvent, nationalised or in receivership. If, like a significant minority, you can’t keep up the payments, you’re in not such a happy place, whether the bank is solvent, nationalised or in receivership. So what’s your point?

• My point is if the bank goes bankrupt the receivers could become more vile(as in repossess at a speedier pace) and that’s not a gamble I’d take.

• Also, remember a lot of people work in those banks and they loose their jobs how do they pay for their homes? They can’t , adding to those not keeping up and decreasing government tax revenue.

• Many bank employees have lost their jobs. Many more will go in the future. Remember, the banks aren’t lending so much these days. There’s less work to do and as they’re making losses, so they’re cutting costs. Anglo/INBS will employ no one once wound down. EBS is in with AIB. We can expect branch closures. There’s a steady decline in numbers employed by the banks. That’s not making headlines. Your original point was that if the PTSB hadn’t received State support, people would lose their homes. My point is, if a bank, or any entity owes a heap of money and goes belly-up, the bank’s lenders lose. If you borrow from a bank and the bank goes belly-up, who do you lose to?

• The receiver who takes your home when you can’t keep up Michael, some banks ended up in situations because or partially because they weren’t repossessing homes but receivers do repossess, they only say cash on a scale a lot worse than the banks. Average mortgage arrears: close to €1,500 Average mortgage behind its contract arrears: €15,000, do you think with those losses receivers are going to keep those current tenants? Of course they won’t.

Of course people are going to loose their jobs anyway but if PTSB goes(which it’s not thanks to the guarantee), there is everyone in one of the states largest banks unemployed. Are you telling me you would of let everyone in every bank except BOI(profitable) loose their jobs, even the little struggling old lady at the counter?

• Sean
    Given the crap above from literally everyone maybe you have a good idea!
    Well done.

• Welcome by tradesmen. You won’t have to be looking over your shoulder while nixering

Add New Comment