TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Govt may change data protection law to collect household charge – Hogan

The Minister for the Environment said that people who don’t pay “won’t get away with it”.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR the Environment has said the government may change data protection laws in order to ensure the household charge is collected from every household in the country.

In an interview today Phil Hogan said that people who don’t pay the charge “won’t get away with it” and that the government is considering changing legislation to collect the €100 from households.

Hogan said there were protocols in place with the Data Protection Commissioner to allow the government to look at utility bills from electricty networks to target people who haven’t paid.

In an interview on RTE Radio One’s This Week programme this afternoon, the Minister said people who don’t pay by the deadline will face fines and court appearances:

The vast majority of people want to be legally compliant in this country, that’s always been the case, and I’ll be on their side. The people that will pay will know from me that the people that don’t pay won’t get away with it.

Hogan said he had the full support of the government to enact further legislation if necessary to ensure the charge is implemented in full.

“We’re looking at the Data Protection Acts, we’re looking at the Fines Act, and the Department of Justice, the Department of Finance and the Department of the Environment will be working closely together to ensure that this household charge is collected in full,” he said.

Comparison with the Second Home Charge

The Minister said that next year’s property tax which will replace the household charge will be fairer and more equitable.

Hogan compared the situation with the Second Home Charge which was introduced in 2009 and said that people who didn’t pay that charge are now dealing with accumulated penalties.

More than 250,000 households had registered to pay the €100 charge as of Friday last. The government has estimated that around 1.6 million homes are liable for the charge, meaning the majority of households have yet to register or pay.

Minister Hogan today reiterated that the deadline of 31 March will not be extended.

A nationwide campaign has been calling for people not to register or pay the charge. A protest is planned for Fine Gael’s Ard-Fheis at the National Convention Centre in Dublin at the end of this month.

Household Charge registrations pass 250,000 mark with two weeks to go >

Poll: Should utility bills be used to ensure Household Charge is paid by all? >

Read next:

Comments (225 Comments)

• Mr. Hogan and the rest of them in the government need to be reminded that they are public servants and are essentially hired by us to do a job….to run the country. They work for us.
    But they seem to think they have become rulers and that we have to do their bidding regardless. And they are using fear to make us.
    Fear of fines and imprisonment, fear of losing your home, fear of being hungry, fear of being cold, fear of being sick or old and there being nobody there to help. Many people in Ireland today are actually afraid of all those things happening…and creeps like Hogan are taking advantage of it.
    Time to draw a line and say NO.

Don’t pay.

• Sean 18/03/12 #

who’s liable for this tax if my landlord is living in the UK? he probably hasn’t heard about this tax at all

• You’re off the hook; it’s your landlord that’s liable. What’s more, if the building is sectioned into say 5 appartments, then he/she has to pay 500 quid.

• Wouldn’t say he’s off the hook. Rent can go up and his will probably got up €8.33 per month for 11 months and €8.37 on month 12 in order to pay for this tax plus extra to make up for the months in which he didn’t pay to facilitate this tax come rent review time and as rent reviews are upwards only his landlord in the long run will likely profit from this tax. Someones misery is another persons glory.

• Philthy Phil… How much will it cost to change legislation in order to violate our basic privacy rights? Give it up, the people have spoken and they wont pay. I’d rather burn €100 in your face than give it to you

• Devious scumbag.
    I just hope that this matter goes to court.
    Possibly European Court of Justice.
    It is a most serious intervention by this government into data protection.
    It just shows how disorganised this government is.
    They need to resort to bullyboy tactics to find out the number of households there are in Ireland.
    SHAME ON YOU HOGAN & CO.

• Why does Hogan say that non payers won’t get away with it?
      Why this major effort of changing legislation on data protection to ascertain the number of households there are in Ireland?
      He has already reiterated that non payers will be faced with penalties and a charge on their property.
      Something does not ring through about this guy and his threats.
      I feel that he is a desperate politician to fulfil EU demands.
      But in doing so he has overlooked certain aspects of this new tax.
      He has made the crucial mistake of not translating this legislation into Irish.
      If the truth was known I think this guy is on a serious backfoot.
      All these threats by him and the month of march is not even over yet.

• Remember David & Goliath ?
      Get out your slingshots! ( not in the true sense please ).
      But you know what I mean.

• If ever you wanted evidence that our elected politicians hold us in distain look no further than FG. This is complete scare tactics. Legislation has to be written within the confines of our Constitution.

There is nothing to suggest that changing current Data Protection legislation to favour collection of this immoral tax is in the common good or in the services of public order.

Another idle threat from a cornered rat.

• @ Stray Mutt,

Agree with you, all the way to the European Court of Justice and Human Rights! I hate bullies, never turn your back on a bully, never. Face them down, doesn’t matter if you get a nose bleed, can be washed away. Your pride can’t be washed away so easily!

• Your hunting down the taxpayer for a hundred Euro, like something out of Minority Report.

Yet you’re on the radio this morning saying its o.k. for the Mahon Barristers to be given blank Cheques.

Disgusting.

• Perfect protest for Irish people. All everyone has to do is…. nothing at all.

• @ HI SPRUIKER

Maybe he thinks, in doing this, Enda will call a new roundabout after him! Just like the gob daa Healy-Rae wanting Aherne to name the Lissivigeen roundabout in Kerry after him when Healy-Rae gave him backing for elections2007! EUR71million bribe (allegedly) to him and Lowry to get their vote.

Labour has no face any more. At least when they represented the people of Ireland before, they were speaking for the people. Shame on Mr. Gilmore. I can’t see Joan Burton, honestly, agreeing to this bullying for much longer. I’m sure she does not want to be part of any of this.

• This ass doesn’t seem to realise that anybody choosing not to pay the charge won’t pay the penalties either. I’m sure there are at least a hundred thousand others like myself out there, who will not be intimidated by the threat of a court appearance.. You might get some of us through the courts but, 100k of us? Not a chance… Bring it on!!

• how come they cant change the law to change contracts for the overpaid big wigs in hse who dont actually do anything but they can change the law to come after the normal folk??????

• the increasing disdane that these politicians have for the owners of this country ie THE IRISH PEOPLE , is almost intolerable.

• This effin prcik thinks it’s ok to change laws willy nilly to suit the IMF’s needs, yet;
    We are told,
    We can’t change pay and conditions for bailed out bankers, because they were agreed with prev gov and could be legally challenged.
    We will still pay unvouched expenses
    We will still pay for ministerial laundry
    We will still pay TDs for coming to work, on top of their salary
    We can’t change the conditions of bank bailout because they were prev agreed
    We will break the pay ceiling for advisors cos they are SO worth it
    We will pay as much as necessary to Anglo etc despite saying ‘not another cent’
    We will steal from your pension fund to pay for the Jobbridge exploitation fund, non passed on VAT reductions etc
    We are told that emigration is a Lifestyle Choice
    We were told that a tax on a persons HOME was unjust and immoral
    We were told you can’t tax your way out of a recesion.

ARE WE ALL REALLY IN THIS TOGETHER??????????
    Four legs good, my friends, but two legs definitely better.
    Big Brother Phil is watching you…………….

• Go away you hideous gombeen and spare us your idle threats.

• GRINDER 18/03/12 #

I never volunteered to pay over hard earned cash for the recipient to throw it away and I’m not going to start now.

If a public servant sent me a bill in the post and gave me a convenient location in normal business hours at which to pay, I might consider it.

But they are too busy and you know what, so am I.

• In this country an inept civil servant or regulator or banker gets;
    Option A: A promotion.
    Option B: A golden handshake
    Option C: An enhanced pension

Don’t forget, in the last Budget, disabled young people lost more in weekly benefits than Bertie (I’m a crook) Ahern.

• It might be educational for you Phil.

While you are peeking through peoples utility bills and personal ”private” data
    you might see how much you are really squeezing your people.

Police State (for the hardworking locals only)

• Big Phil want’s to turn Ireland into a Police State?

How fitting on Saint Patrick’s weekend.

• Agree totally…’won’t get away with it’….Christ he makes it sound like murder. This guy is a political thug if ever there was one.

• I said it before and I will say it again – they are using and abusing the laws.
      And if they bullying thugs in government don’t get what they want by abusing already existing laws and breaking them, they then chance then to their liking!

How ar they going to change the laws on Data protection when the public is supposedly ALSO protected by European law too?
      …Are they going to abuse and/or ignore those laws too?

FG and Labour = Fianna Fail and the Greens Part Two – all over again!

• Forgive my typing error – I typed while still in anger at the b’stards that are just jumped up bullies and thugs in the government and thus, the Dail.

Corrected version:
      I said it before and I will say it again – they are using and abusing the laws.
      And if they bullying thugs in government don’t get what they want by abusing already existing laws and breaking them, they then CHANGE THEM to their liking!
      How ARE they going to change the laws on Data protection when the public is supposedly ALSO protected by European law too?
      …Are they going to abuse and/or ignore those laws too?
      FG and Labour = Fianna Fail and the Greens Part Two – all over again!

——————————

Let be honest, they have totally fcuked this thing up!

* They have failed to proper inform the public about the national tax.
      They failed to supply to each household the proper printed information about the said tax.
      (They have relied instead on TV and the internet in words, feck all printed to every home!)

* Apparently the company they hired to inform the public by mass documentation – has gone bankrupt and so they just dropped the idea!

* They have decided to raid information from state bodies if possible – then discovered that some of the public ARE actually aware they might be breaking data-protection laws – so guess what, now we have this grovelling edict today that “O’ we are going to change the laws to suit us!”

* They have underestimated the unwillingness of the people not wishing to pay the “we screw-up – you pay” tax.

* Now today even three of their own FG’s TD have come out and criticised FG, Enda and Gilmore over the whole bloody fiasco!

Its a right fcuk-up from start to finish!
      …But that won’t stop them from doing whatever the fcuk they feel like doing and continue to further make a balls of it!

Don’t tell me they are not Fianna Fail and The Greens all over again – just in different names, (too) high wages, perks and expensive suits!

• its just amazing phil that yuo the goverment will try and change the data protection act to crusify the middle and lower class but 5 people will not hand over codes for phones in the so called anglo investigation and nothing is being done to change this ,some democracy we live in.

• - “Hogan said he had the full support of the government to enact further legislation if necessary to ensure the charge is implemented in full.
      “We’re looking at the Data Protection Acts, we’re looking at the Fines Act, and the Department of Justice, the Department of Finance and the Department of the Environment will be working closely together to ensure that this household charge is collected in full,” he said.” -

How dare you, you horrible individual, you’re looking to change the laws because it suits you and your mates. You are nothing but a rotten shark. BULLY! No better than the ‘unofficial’ money lenders’ on the back streets. You say that ‘THE MAJORITY’ of people want to be legally compliant. Your head is where the sun does not shine! Only 250,000 scared electorate have paid. Those electorate were probably people that were bullied in school yards when young and you have terrorised them into paying. I can just imagine you as a child in a school yard. You haven’t changed. Of course the Dep. of Justice is going to ‘twink’ the Data Protection Act – your mates are running it.

I have no respect for Pat Rabbitt or Eamonn Gilmore. Seems theirs colours have changed since entering Government with this lot. (I wasn’t a supporter of either) I act as an independent citizen. I do what I think is right not what someone else tells me is the right thing to do!

• WELL said Sheila Byrne.

• A government that will remove small rights from people to get their way will remove greater rights to keep it that way.

• This ‘government’ has ceased to represent the people of this country. Simple as.

To introduce a law, it needs the support and mandate of the people.
    A tax on a persons home has no such mandate – evident by the 80% + who have so far refused to engage with it.

For a minister to publicly declare that they will change privacy laws just so as to suit their purpose shows how far removed from reality they are.
    As far as I’m concerned, if FG/Lab continue to push through this unfair and immoral tax on peoples homes, then the gloves should come off.
    It is the citizens DUTY to resist unfair and unjust laws. All forms of resistance should be countenanced.

• A pound to a penny they’ll spend €500 + trying to collect €100 .
    These lads are all brains .

• Go chase the bankers and politicians who put us in this mess. Change a few laws to scare the crap out of the them and arrest them for treason and political negligence. I have no intention of paying this illegal tax.

• Implement a law retro-actively to collect an unjust charge? Sad state of affairs. Freedom sang her last breath.

• More spin, during the week the week they said have the power to collect data already, now they re saying they shall change law, so which is it, do they have power to collect data at present or do they need to change the law to do so?

I know some people might of being a slightly frighened by this recent talk of going through esb bills/records, but just think about this recent threat a minute and aplly logic here.

Observation there was an Interesting report about the second home tax a few months ago

Google this article (Hundreds escape second-home tax)

Quote from it

Quote(HUNDREDS of people are likely to escape the tax on second homes after the authorities admitted it is too expensive and time consuming to pursue those who have refused to pay it.
    The Department of the Environment admitted resources were not available to pinpoint the identities of those dodging the €200-a-year non-principal private residence (NPPR) charge.
    A spokesman said it would be a costly and time-consuming task to correlate information from land registry records — a task beyond the capabilities of most cash-strapped county councils) Quote

To date many of those not paying the second home tax have yet to be pinpointed, now I know some might say what about the recent threats to track people through esb bills/records, why haven,t they gone down that route with those who never registered for the second home tax? Even if they do get someones information from the ESB they could not use that to actually prove that person is in fact the actual owner of the house-all that information confirms is that someone is a Bill payer.. it cannot be used to identify someone as the actual Owner, one estate I near where I live more then a third of houses are rented out, Im sure all those who are renting out their names on the bills not the landlords, a bill receipt won,t be enough to prove someone as the actual property owner.final point apply Logic to what the LGMA ceo said on rte news last tuesday, Byran Dobson asked him if after the deadlne a million plus or up to million don,t register and don,t pay does he have the actual money and resources to pinpoint the Identities of non payers and go after them on such a big scale, the ceo replied yes, Complete BS if the money and resouces isn,t there to pinpoint a couple of hundred not registered for the second home tax, the money and resources won,t be there either to pinpoint up to a million of property owners not registered after the deadline.

lets face it the very fact all of sudden near the deadline more then 1.5 million not registered the very fact they issued recent threats proves they are under pressure ans starting to panic, keep up the pressure on them, don,t pay- don,t register.

If you know a friend or relative anyone concerned about the recent threats please send them by above post to them in an email or on facebook to address their concerns. BTW sorry for long post.

• Well its quite evident saint Patrick forgot to get rid of this effin snake!!! Like how does someone on such a wage, who knows nothing of the struggles of our ordinary people, have the gaul to go around thinking he is head of the gestapo, and tell people what to do. They will spend more money “going after” people, than the charge is worth to them. These people are not us lads, they are of different breed, they are a bloody DISGRACE to our country.

• Phil Hogan The peoples hero, who is above even meeting with the homeless families from Priory Hall !!! These are the type of public representatives that we continue to elect folks… Puppets of the elite!!

• I suppose this will be a bit embarrassing in EU. I pretty sure using data collected by a private company for an alternative reason breaks the law.
    That either makes a scaremonger or an idiot. Either quality makes him unfit to govern the state.

• Signs of a dictatorship= Change laws to suit themselves!

• Household charge creates a database. Then min for communications can write to every owner and demand his new household communication charge too.

• I feel so very angry.
    I get the feeling reading through the comments here that I have a lot of company.
    We need to get a grip on ourselves and start to put real pressure on these poisonous political thugs.
    The situation is critical.These theives are bleeding us dry and we lie down and take it.
    The 1761 effort by English landlords to apply the Enclosure Acts to Ireland ignited resistance, first in Limerick, then spreading to Munster, Connacht and Leinster. Crowds of Irish tenants dressed in linen masks and coats—hence their generic name, the” Whiteboys”— burned hayricks, knocked down enclosure walls, and hamstrung cattle. On occasion they pitched land agents into the local bog.

The Irish resistance to the Enclosure Acts was not unique, but a very odd thing happened in Ireland: they won. A combination of population growth and war had driven up the price of food, so even the small-scale agriculture practiced by the Irish was profitable. Plus the rent capital skimmed off the Irish peasantry was playing an important role in helping to capitalize the English industrial revolution. Add to this the resistance, and the English decided that it was in their best interests to back off.

The average Irish tenant knew nothing about international finance or capital accumulation, but they got the idea that if you dug in your heels and went toe-to-toe with the buggers, you could beat them. It was a momentous experience, and a collective memory that would help fuel more than 150 years of rebellion.

Can the current Irish resistance movement turn the tide against the austerity madness that has gripped the European continent? Well, the Left is on the rise (in some places, so is the Right). Sinn Fein’s support in the most recent opinion polls shows a 25 percent approval ratting, up 4 percent. In comparison, Fianna Fail—the party that ushered in the current crisis—has dropped from 20 percent to 16 percent. Labor has fallen to 10 percent, and Fine Gael is at 32 percent. Other Left parties are also doing well.

Indeed, the Left seems to be resurging in other countries as well. A center-left party in Slovakia ousted a right-wing government, and France seems posted to vote socialist. The Greek Left is fractious, but its various stripes now make up a majority.

If we can unite
    the Irish
    the Greek the Portugese Italian Spanish
    We have the communication platforms
    and we are all suffering the same abuse
    we are victims of the same abusers
    If we could some how organise as one pan european voice of the abused
    and demand an end to this cruel plunder of our society.

• Brian 18/03/12 #

I’ve paid every tax that has been hoisted upon me since I started working but nothing has enraged me more than this charge. The fact that the government has employed a low life piece of excrement like Phil Hogan to oversee the implementation of this fuels my rage even more.

Bring it on you good for nothing lapdog.

• Hi Tom, I agree with you. But unfortunately in article 6.1 the word ruler is there it says,

All powers of government, legislative, executive and judicial, derive, under God, from the people, whose right it is to designate the rulers of the state and, in final appeal, to decide all questions of national policy, according to the requirements of the common good.

So whose common good are they talking about, my guess is its theirs.

We need to change the constitution and get the word ruler out of it.

• He wants to change a law made to protect our rights as consumers just so the government won’t have to accept the fact that the household charge is unjust. I can’t believe we voted these muppets in.
    The charge in principle is okay, what gets me is an oap in a mid terrace house paying the same as someone in a mansion with stables on acres of land. Muppets. There’s no other word for them.

• Well said Barry … and now these FFG/Labour traitors, are going to create new laws to prosecute people regardless of ability to pay this totally unfair tax. They cant even agree within their own government, whether or not its a fair tax (Edna Kanny admitted its unfair, while Hogan and Howlin think its the fairest tax they could muster). So, even though they cant agree, they are going to prosecute 85% of the population anyway. And they call this a democracy. These guys are starting to make FF look decent. And trust me, FF are the biggest shower of crooks to have ever taken a seat in our government. We need a massive change in our political system. Peter Mathews (FG) last week was told to vote against his own oireachtas proposal, in case it annoyed his fuhrer (sorry party leader). FG/Labour are not able to vote with conscience. They are following their party leaders blindly. I remember the “I was only following orders” being used as some trials in Nuremborg. That excuse did not wash, and the savages were found guilty and executed. Our current day politicians need to vote for what is right and stop voting because they are so blindly loyal to corrupt party leaders.

• yes there is……. C**TS

• I stand corrected David.

• I absolutely Wil not pay this charge, they use whatever data they like, I don’t care, they can fine or add as much interest to it as they like and I still won’t pay it. I’ll gladly goto any prison in the country and cost the state €900 per week to keep me there, the fact is there are people in this country who owe millions of euros and are walking around laughing at the tax payers, and this bald headed bastard comes out with his threats like this, forcing people to stress themselves out over a €100 charge?? it’s getting beyond a joke, I Wil die before I give into this bullshit. fucking stupid bastard, he has no sense of reality.

• Ordinary decent people are suffering . We are all less well off now than we were six / twelve months ago and it doesn’t matter even if you have aa job or not . We are all paying more indirect taxes than ever before , and then they want us to pay this house hold charge , which is an indiscreet way of getting our property details so as they can charge us property tax next year and so on, and so Europe will know too.
      Petrol has gone up six cent over the past week and has there been anything said on the news or in the papers ?
      Not that I saw or heard .
      This government is a joke .
      I will not pay

• I’m amazed how quiet the Labour party are about this “Charge”.Also think Phil is getting worried,threats are coming thick and fast.Don’t register,don’t pay.

• The penalty charges for the nppr is horrendous . The reasoning for this penalty if applied to the household charge would ensure it would never be paid . No tax relief applicable and no appeals. Weimar tactics didn’t take them long to get the boots on

• Im not paying it and more shite like this only annoys me more. When I voted, I wanted change. I wanted people responsible held accountable, not excuses. Such a disappointment this government and for hogan to make threats of amending laws to screw us out of this sum of money, fuck you.wont be paid. Good luck

• What tax? What household charge? I have received no written notification from any government department.

• So Big Phil thinks he and this Government can change EU law by themselves. Especially laws that protect the rights of innocent people. Good luck with that Phil.

• I am absolutely furious at this! You cannot adjust very important laws to get around an issue. For the sake of collecting, in my opinion, a very unjust and unfair charge, they are putting individuals information at risk.

• You know Fine Gael have gone too far when a thread like this goes to 100 posts without the usual apologists trying to make excuses for their actions. It cannot be excused. Changing a law for convenience sake in order to impose an unjust charge on people already suffering the biggest injustice in the history of the state? TOO FAR.

• Oh hello, I think you mean me.

I can’t see a problem with allowing the state to collect tax in the most effective way possible.

I think the disagreement most people here have isn’t with the data protection, but the fact that there is to be a property tax in the first place.

I think we need to separate the two issues.

Utility bills could help the state catch those wealthy people avoiding the second homes charge on their investment properties or holiday homes. If the data protection change were ONLY for this purpose, the comments on this article would be about 10, not 100.

• So you think it’s fine to change irish and european laws to efficiently impose charges imposed at the behest of unelected financial institutions? Be careful how you answer this. You might want the run for election at some stage and your answer will be on the public record….

• In reply to David, I think you are underestimating the intelligence of the people and commentators.
      There is no confusion of the 2 points, the majority of people are disgusted with this unfair tax and now they are also aghast to hear that the new threats from government abuse their constitutional powers to chase people for the tax.
      If, as you say, the esb bills could be used to ‘catch wealthy people avoiding the 2nd property tax’ … Why hasn’t it been done before now????!!!????!?? Again, dont underestimate the intelligence of the people and also they do not forget the parties your made to win an election!!
      Why isn’t The government turning constitutional stones to get the 1m back off fingleton or the 330k over the bankers cap that Richie Boucher!?!? One law for the elite !??! Hhmmmm

• Any law that would give the government powers to take money off anyone is too great a power for the government to have. I think it’s worth having a discussion on it, but I doubt you can get legal wording which will go down the morally right route of taking money back from the banking chiefs, but that can’t be unfairly applied to other people.

We turned a constitutional stone to have a banking inquiry but it was rejected and it was for the reasons above, that it was a power too great for politicians to have.

@Too I don’t give a damn about elections so I’ll give you my answer straight up. We had an election last year during which everyone knew that if they voted for FG and/or Labour that the IMF and the EU would continue to have a fairly significant input into budgetary decisions. People voted knowing that so your argument about “unelected financial institutions” is nonsense.

Likewise people knew that FG/Lab would bring in a property tax!

• Ah, so you DO take everyone for gullible gobshites. So the phrases ‘not another red cent to anglo’ and ‘labours way or frankfurts way’ were never mentioned? People voted for promises which were broken, and now they’re blaming the people who broke those promises, plain and simple. By the way, love how I mention ‘fine gael apologists’ and you go ‘oh, he must be talking about me, better post something….’ LOL!

• Every dog has its day David. FG’s days are numbered, FF are finished. Thanks be to jaysus the civil war is over.

Said already that Ireland needed to be reminded for future reference just how bad FG were before the voters could take that walk on the wild side and vote for a socially conscience government. It’s Connolly and Larkin’s turn next…

• Aldo 20/03/12 #

David, you certainly do seem to be an unashamed govt. apologist. They more you post, the more I am convinced that you are a shill, sent forth to spin govt policy on this website with your daily parleys.

• I comment because I disagree with you and no doubt vice versa.

• The Apocalypse is upon us.. And by apocalypse I mean the great reveal.

For years our governments have been doing shady things behind closed doors to make life more comfortable for those greedy few for whom exploitation is a way of life, while squeezing everyone else.. The artificial boom was there to distract us all while they set us all up for this fall.. The longer we go without those responsible being held accountable the more people wake up and start to see the corruption and greed that dominates the “ruling classes”, the election of these clowns merely hammered that home.. The powers that shouldn’t be are getting nervous – we seem to be fast approaching the breaking point.. Hence the threats, the diminishing of our individual rights and sovereignty..
    The sooner this culture of corruption collapses like a poorly constructed tower the better..

Time for something new, something that is for the benefit of mankind and not just the privileged few. We need to remind these psychopaths that there’s a lot more of us than there is of them, and we have had enough!

• Comment of the week Shanti

• Shanti sorry to ruin your buzz a bit but, Fine Gael are leading in the polls and the odds are that FG will retain the most seats. Sorry just had to say that.

• Karl. Shanti doesn’t do ego buzzes. The social conscience is changing, thanks to the Internet and sites like this too. People are waking up.

• Karl, perhaps they are running high in the polls.. Polls are a poor thing to rely on, sample sizes are small and there’s no guarantee that they represent the wider society.
      Day by day these guys keep finding more rope to hang themselves with, there will come a point where not even the most politically ignorant person or staunchest party supporter will be able to ignore it any longer. They used to be able to cover things up – now with the Internet their old tactics of controlling perception have gone out the window, the veil is lifting – watching them scramble around trying in desperation to claw back the curtain is where we are now..

• Shanti, the fact remains they’re likely to get back into government. It doesn’t matter if we like it or not and this is a small mostly socialist website which isn’t the majority of our electorate. The internet doesn’t change anything in our situation, it only changes things in places like Libya, we aren’t in the position they once where. Once the deficit goes down people will all forget about these cutbacks and vote in Fine Gael again, that’s how our electorates mind works. However, if a euro skeptic conservative party where to creep up and this is not something I’d rule out just yet that is a huge problem for Fine Gael tho I doubt that happening Shanti so you’ll have to wait at least another 9 years most likely for Fine Gael to be presented with a problem that concretely threatens their governance of the Republic Of Ireland. Again tho, I wouldn’t rule it out, life is always full of surprises but I don’t see it happening, one of those wouldn’t say it will but wouldn’t rule it out things. So as things stands, FG will likely get in for a 2nd term.

• If we are to wait the full term, then now is far too premature a time to speculate on the outcome of the next election :)
      If they continue on in this fashion people might have to start thinking before they vote..

• Shanti, a lot of people are all talk trust me, FG will get back in unless what I stated happens but as I’ve said, life is full of surprises and that euro skeptic conservative party could be formed.

• Leaders are responsible not for running public opinion polls but for the consequences of their actions.
      Henry A. Kissinger

Have a general election and see how accurate their polls are !

• Susie, it’s not Enda that runs the public opinion polls. REDC, Behavior& Attitudes, etc do on behalf of the media.

• @ Karl. I’ve heard this assertion before, that this website is a mostly Socialist one. This seems to imply, that there is some restriction placed upon potential commenters, based upon their political allegiances, before the Journal will let them comment. I see no evidence of that. The fact that a lot of commenters on this site display compassion, empathy and a social Conscience, along with a healthy disregard for psychopathic chancers, is only indicative of the fact that the majority of people in this country are descent, intelligent and considering the pressures we have withstood, remain remarkably sane!.

• Well said Dhakina’s Sword. Although I do see where Karl is coming from, I personally did not want to vote any of the usual crowd into government in fact I did not want to vote at all because they are all a waste of space, but like us all I was stuck between a rock and a hard place, so I tried my best to keep the worst of them out. Sadly this did not happen :( What we need is a totally new lot of people to run for the government and we need to amend the constitution so they do what the people say otherwise they WILL be held accountable for their actions.

• Maybe we should not allow parties into office at all maybe we should have it that we employ individuals and like the rest of us, we have to do the job that is set out for us by our bosses or we will get fired with no golden handshake or big pensions.

We should also teach the constitution in our schools so that the next generation and beyond would know their inherited rights and could not be deceived by anyone.

As civil rights are privileges that can be taken away by the government but our inherited rights cannot.

• Dhakina’s Sword. I concur with your post except I would rather call them sociopaths in the main, although I might let the psychopathic term go for Phil Hogan. I think there’s another year’s play to go with these gangsters but I hope it will be hard lesson, one that we won’t forget in a hurry.

• @ Karl Doyle
      ….but are they resposible for their actions ?

• Susie not always and that’s not fair but how said life was? No one. If you don’t like the bottom work your way to the top. Dhakina’s Sword I said ‘mostly socialist’ which only implies that the majority of people commenting on this website are supporters of socialism not that The Journal censors otherwise I wouldn’t be able to comment from the perspective I have here. A lot of people i know that moan about FG often say they’re voting for them anyway at the next election, as I said a lot of people are all talk, they say they don’t want the cuts and don’t need them but they do need them so they’ll take them. We’re spending €20 Billion more than we should be per year even w/o the debt, it’s completely unsustainable. The Household charge wasn’t done under the best model but this is the first try, a lot of things don’t go smoothly first time round, it’s just part of life unfortunately. Furthermore you can’t say something isn’t sane just because they have different ideals than you. Breda changing the constitution in any way would do us great disfavors in the long run, believe me. Do you really want to alter the constitution which keeps you voting on amendments to it? You’ll have to make concessions to get concessions and it’s better just to keep at as it is than risk loosing it all together. However I agree with teaching it in schools, I do believe I suggested this before here:http://www.thejournal.ie/see-how-much-fianna-fail-fundraised-last-year-369458-Feb2012/#comment-285355 also your rights aren’t inalienable they are only inalienable if it doesn’t go against the common good.

• skeolawn 19/03/12 #

@Karl: don’t you know we are ALL socialists now that we’ve nationalised our banks? Step 1 in the commie playbook.

• @skeolawn we aren’t all socialists, FF choose to take on that burden and make it sovereign debt.

• Hi, Reada. I take your point regarding sociopaths, versus psychopaths. I have avoided using the term sociopaths for a particular reason. Traditionally, the term sociopath referred to criminals, who had the ability to empathise with their families and criminal friends, but had no organic dysfunction within their brains. Because of the general populations perception of psychopaths as axe wielding maniacs, some psychologists decided to attempt to differentiate between violent psychopaths and the socially adept versions of them that are so more common. When modern psychologists refer to sociopaths, they are really referring to socially adept psychopaths. This in my opinion,just muddies the water. Regardless, socially adept psychopaths, have reached the upper echelons of politics, finance, religion and corporate power and routinely laugh at our attempts to control them.

• D Sword
      that is a terrifying assertion!

• Terrifying, but true .

• D Sword. At least it’s not technically a bad word so we won’t risk getting our comments deleted. Egomaniacs is too nice a word for them certainly. I’m giving them another year max and I see them disintegrating from within. GE13 Bring it on. :)

• Karl. I’m not letting that sentence go. “If you don’t like the bottom work your way to the top.” How many ppl will fit at the top Karl? It’s the carrot and the stick. Keep working harder and someday if you step on enough ppl you might be as rich as me.

So riches for the few. Not buying that brand. That system has had it’s day and it has failed all communities.

It’s time to tear up the page and start again. It’s not that scary. Or have we got addicted to fear?

• But It might be legally just as bad, when it comes to libel. I would tread carefully, just in case. Remember, it’s not illegal to be a psychopath, but it is illegal to call someone a psychopath, even if they are one. What is interesting to note, is that all over the net, are people talking about the existence of socially adept psychopaths, holding high power jobs within politics, finance and any other positions of status and influence. A global spring spring is coming, I hope!.

• Ok so D. I better take that back before Phil hogan sets Shatter on me. He’s neither a sociopath or a psychopath. He’s only acting like one. Phew!

• Réada, I’m not rich but I would love to be one day so will work as hard as I can to get there. The riches for the few brand is what keeps hospitals open and makes the medication which kills off your headaches, you don’t moan when the brand is helping you but you moan about it when they ask for something back. As I said Réada, you have to make concessions to get concessions, you can’t just take something out of a shop without paying just because you didn’t want to, it’s illegal and immoral. There won’t be a GE13, there will be a GE16 which FG will win and I’ll likely be voting for them unless a euro skeptic conservative runs in my area, the main thing I care about is having conservatives in there, our PS is too big and our budget spent €20 Billion too much last year which is intolerably excessive and the effects on the private sector are crushing, if we want more tax returns government has to get out of the bloody way sadly FF never realized this during their tenure however looking at the cuts on the public sector Fine Gael seemed to have copped on to this quite quickly which is very impressive.
      A global spring means instability, higher prices on oil which means higher prices on everything, all other energy prices go up, nothing is put into economies and consumer confidence goes right down, everything falls apart and we end up with a much bigger deficit, a global spring would be disastrous for every country but even more so for the countries in desperate circumstances such as ourselves.

• So he is looking out for the 7 bedroom house owning pricks by saying he will make sure the poor struggling home will pay the same household charge as those in the 7 bed are paying. That’s really fair. Everyday I forget this is still a so called “democracy”. But I will just keep writing about it on the internet. What can we do about it? Stuck with them for another 4 years. We will have nothing left by then.

• I disagree with you there, I am afraid to say. First of all it will only take a couple of crisies like the non payment of the household charge, and a no vote to the fiscal treaty to bring this government down on it’s knees. We can do something about it, like protest, the people elected this government, and they can take them down too. Wait till you see, they won’t last the year!

• Maybe. Yes the NO vote will be a big way in which we can protest against this government and make it clear thats why we voted no, as a protest. The household charge will be a difficult one, there are a lot of desperate people who dont want extra debt on there hands and the government knows this, that is why they are making threats.

• But it is all scare tactics and it is up to us to reassure the frightened people to beleve that the government CANNOT prosecute all of us. This is like economic terrorism . Terrorists threaten us and control us by fear .

• I totally agree with you Sasha, we are their bosses and we can fire them, we must never let them forget that. I said from the start i will not be bullied into paying this disgraceful tax. I am delighted to see all the great informative remarks that are being written here, it shows we are the fighting Irish and not the thick Paddies these bullies seem to be trying to take us for. PEOPLE POWER and the people say shape up or ship out.

“when small steps are taken by large numbers of people, momentous things can happen” Vandana Shiva.

• I am not paying it we have paid enough and enough is enough we have no more to give Phil hogan Enda Kenny Eamon Killmore Michael Noonan howling and the rest can just take it out of My Cold Dead hands as Eileens said yea sent no information out to me just talks on the radio and on the papers which I do not buy I do not have computer skills I do not know where or how to even pay it if I wanted to which I do not want to as far as I am concerned it is RENT TO THE GOVERNMENT ON MY AND I MEAN MY HOME THAT I BOUGHT AND PAID FOR IT DID NIT COME EASY BUT WE BOUGHT OUR HOME FOR OUR RETIREMENT SO WE WOULD HAVE NO RENTS TO WORRY ABOUT SO MR PHIL HOGAN I AM NOT PAYING

• In other words, last week’s threats were hollow because they were illegal. Now Govt saying they will change the law. I predict the final NON registration rate will be about 60% / 65%. If the government concludethat 65% of its citizens are ‘criminals’ and legislate to gather data to prosecute, then we cease to be a democracy and we truly become a Police State.

However, in reality this cowardly government will, in the end, obfuscate. Those who registered will be screwed for more money and the unregistered will not.

Tough luck if you register! Dont say i didnt warn you.

• I’ve said it before on this site. I was living in England during the Thatcher years with her bloody Poll Tax and many other impositions and control of the population. Thatcher even put elderly people into jail for not paying.
    Elderly Men and Women who had fought or lived thru the second World War, to save her sorry arse from the Fascists. Irish people will need to stand together against these similar proposals and threats, just like we did in the UK. Enough is enough! Everyday the ordinary people here are being squeezed more and more till the last drop whilst the Politicians don’teven have to pay the same charge themselves! Where’s the fairness in that? The F.F. crowd brought this country to its knees, then the likes of Bertie Ahearne, Mary Harney,Brian Cowen just walked away from the mess. Irish people have a long and proud record of standing up for its rights against the Oppressor. It’s sad that this time its not the British tightening the reins but Ireland’s own politicians! If this charge and the Septic Tank charges are allowed in, it’ll only be the start of more penalties.

• Hold on a minute, when were we told to pay this? I know many people who would not listen to any news or read any papers! How are they supposed to know about it? When did I receive a letter asking me to pay? I received nothing so how are you supposed to know about!!!!

• Ha ha Michael Mac
      Good point.
      A relative of mine only communicates through Braille.
      He knows nothing about household charges.
      I certainly won’t tell him.
      That’s the governments responsibility.
      R I G H T ??!!

• If only they’d put as much effort into getting the people who caused the mess the country is in.

• I will NOT pay this tax . It is unjust and unfair . I am tired of being afraid and this big phil hogan is a scare tactic to push people into paying this tax . No , No, No, . Take it from my cold dead hands .

• So Fine Gael intend to unilaterally change the law of the land so they will no longer be breaking it, just like they wanted to avoid giving people a referendum in case democracy broke out. We should make a movie about the kenny cabal and call it “When the blueshirts became brownshirts”

• This is so fucking wrong on so many levels.

*******I mean they actually want to change the law to suit themselves !!!!**

Can people just read that a few times.

Democracy my Irish arse!
      FG/LAB OUT!

• And to totally rub it in our faces. as a minister Phil Hogan is EXEMPT from paying the charge himself.

• Do you have more info on that Too Trueleft.

• Apologies for the delay Reada, please read the following: http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/01/26/00111.asp

142. Deputy Finian McGrath Information on Finian McGrath Zoom on Finian McGrath asked the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Information on Philip Hogan Zoom on Philip Hogan if houses in the rental accommodation scheme are exempt from the household charge; if a landlord who has a few of these houses and is making a lot of money is also exempt. [4518/12]

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government (Deputy Phil Hogan): Information on Philip Hogan Zoom on Philip Hogan The Local Government (Household Charge) Act 2011 provides for a number of exemptions and waivers from payment of the household charge. The exemptions from payment of the household charge are—

Residential properties that are part of the trading stock of a business and have not been sold or been the source of any income since construction,

Residential property owned by a Minister of the Government, a housing authority or the Health Service Executive

• Too Trueleft (love the name), thanks for getting back. I’ll have a look at that. ;)

• Todo 18/03/12 #

I wonder if all of the people who are intent on not paying were to donate, say €10, throug an online fund set up for the purpose of assisting anyone brought to court for non-payment how would it change the ballance of power? If the government saw that fund heading towards €6,000000, how would it react? What would happen if ordinary people pooled their remainig resources rather than their indignation? Will the day come, assisted by the net, when the ordinary people can use their pooled wealth to take on the big boys?

• Hi Too Trueleft, You are right about people in a republic are equal in the eyes of the law, but unfortunately contrary to popular belief Ireland is Not a republic, that is just the description of Ireland, we are actually a democratic state.

Article 4 says The name of the state is Eire, or, in the english language, Ireland.

Article 5 says Ireland is a sovereign, independent, democratic state.

• More scare tactics, they would want to be very careful as there is only so much one can take, as what goes around comes around!

• Hogan is a lazy man. Won’t meet anyone. Hides in his bunker. Makes all the demands. Let’s others do the dirty work. You elected him. …

• I didn’t get a letter either in the post or a leaflet, and there is only two weeks left. The government are so disorganised, that the company who printed the leaflets are gone into recievership, if it was so important for them to make sure that all households in Ireland got the leaflets, then Fine Gael should have put their hands in their pockets to get money to pay the company to make sure that they didn’t go bust in the first place, it just shows you that they are not prepared to pay for anything themselves, and they expect us to foot the bill.

• do you think that it is stange that this printing company did go into recievership maybe its that the people who did receive these leaflets posted them back to hogan and he seen that theire was no point sending out more as he would be showered under with them.this govt keeps contradicting themselves first they say that it will be added on to your house then they say that you will be chased down and taken to court and a find they cant make up theire minds. so what if they add it on to your house come next elecion we will only vote for whoever will abolish this shite of taxes that this govt takes in. dont let these f…..ers stay in for any longer voteing NO in this treaty and the collapse of the househole charge this govt will have to go and with him all the other gobshits with him

• I’m so sick of these blue shirt bastards selling us out it’s time for us to take to the streets we the people own this country not a political elite I’m surprised they haven’t told us to eat cake and why is there no way for us the people to vote these corrupt bastards out I have no confidence in this government and no one I know does they are traitors to the Irish people and should be removed from power.

• Would we just put the same type of representatives back in again though i.e Fianna Fail again!?!? Our complete political and electoral system needs reform and us as an electorate need even greater reform away from a century of failed politics and administrations! We have been brutally poor at ruling ourselves..we as a people must bring about a change and a true republic!

• I agree we should be allowed to vote on a no confidence on this government and boot them out and boot them out as traitors for trying to sell us off

• jimbo 18/03/12 #

Fcuk off hogan
    Its great to ee the editorial skills of some guys here they leave the fcuk off spelt the correct way when it suits..
    Data protection os data protection for reason so take a hike hogan..

• If the ESB are a partner in crime with Filthy Phil, they too should be made to pay. I’m not paying the €100, I’ll also be moving my account from ESB if they share my data with these scumbags. If the ESB what to play silly buggers, hit them where it hurts. And, yes, I know the ESB are called something else now, but not bothered to recall.

• It’s the esb meter reading company he’s talking about. They are a different company to the esb company that provides electricity. You can move your account to any provider but the esb meter company still reads your meter. You can’t move from them. Though as we’ll soon not have money for esb perhaps we’ll be moving from the meter reading company after all.

• Looks like this thug has gone to far, time for decent Irish people to come together, and let these fools know we are on to them. There are families in this country who have been making decisions “heat or food” while these fools are talking about ( rockets) and changing laws. Anything to keep themselves in power, power for powers sake, they are a disgrace. is there not one decent politician left, is principle a thing of the past. Mick Collins will be turning in his grave, and if he was still here these thugs would not sleep easy

• Registration is contracting to pay the charge. The government can not make the charge without a contract to pay, so it is quite simple, don’t register! The government know this full well and this is why they are turning to ‘spoiled brat dirty tricks’. They will never get a cent out of me, and I will fight this one to the death, in the UK we had the hated Poll Tax and now the council tax there is getting challenged. Also in an Irish context the Constitution has protection under Article 43, people must wake up to their Constitutional Rights and must start applying them. The government are in a fix for sure and I see a whole lot of nasty coming at them if they continue to bully people-the country is run by thugs!

• Just spoke to a solicitor and he said unless you received a letter posted to you with your full name printed on the letter and envelope you have not been told anything and you can simply tell any court that you got no correspondence and had no idea what the charge was about, simple as that.

• That doesn’t sound like good legal advice to be honest, Martin. Every household in the state is liable for the charge, unless you’re living in social housing, a ghost estate, a house owned by the government or the HSE, on mortgage interest supplement, or have had to leave your home due to illness. That argument is unlikely to hold up, especially since the government has said that it has been making people aware of it through an information campaign.

• What if there Is a fine imposed by late payment, just like a speeding fine? Will this attach to your property and must be paid before your house can be disposed of? I’ve heard that that’s how it will be enforced. If so, there will be no one in court, there will be no single event that might galvanise a mass protest..it’s just something that’ll be sitting there like a time bomb waiting for you to sell your house, or inherit one.

• I do not believe they can attach your earnings or your property without a court appearance . They have to idetify you as the owner of the property before they can do that.

• Thumb’s on Christine’s comment shows the loony nature of opinion on this site. Yes disagree with the household charge, but if you can’t even accept that it IS a law like any other then there’s something very wrong with you lot.

• Dear Christine Bohan
      Please consider the circumstance where an individual genuinely has been oblivious to the household charge.
      I am sure there are many.
      I am sure there are many who simply don’t understand this new tax.
      Martin Mac has a very justifiable point.
      Everything considered.
      I still find it preposterous that an individual has to register (set themselves up) for a tax which has detrimental consequences in the future.
      This amounts to concealed blackmail of a fiscal nature.

• I get where you’re coming on this one Stray Mutt but there are two separate points here.

1. People can choose not to pay if they want. It’s a legitimate form of protest and it’s been very successful so far judging by the number of people who haven’t paid.

2. However the idea that people don’t have to pay because the government hasn’t notified them or because there’s a legal loophole is inaccurate. It’s the law. Every household is expected to pay it (unless you’re in a ghost estate or social housing or some of the other categories I mentioned in the last comment).

So basically: it’s fair enough if you want to protest and not pay it – but you’re mistaken if you think there’s a loophole which means you don’t have to pay.

I know I’m going to get red-thumbed for this comment (it hurts, guys. It hurts), but I’m worried about some of the comments here. I don’t want our readers to get the idea that they don’t have to pay and then face penalties. It’s fair enough if people have chosen not to pay as a form of protest, but there’s a lot of misinformation out there telling people they don’t have to pay it at all.

• @ Christine. I take your responsible and legal stance, as necessary and genuine. Your devils advocate approach is understood. However, I can’t see any judge fining, or jailing a person for the non payment of a bill that they have not physically received. The governments position is that they have informed the citizens of Ireland,that they owe a particular tax, and have informed us through various media that we have to pay. This form of communication is based on chance and has no legal basis in law. It is akin to McDonalds advertising a special offer on various media and then an individual is brought to court,on the basis of not availing of that offer. My McDonalds analogy would be thrown out of court and rightly so. This so called property tax needs to be seen for what it is and should be shown the same amount of contempt.

• Thanks Dhakina’s Sword, appreciate that.

The problem is that right now we don’t know how strictly the penalties will be enforced. The household charge and the way it has been communicated has absolutely got a basis in law and I’m concerned at the amount of misinformation that’s out there. Basically I don’t want people reading internet comments and thinking that it will be fine for them not to pay it because of a legal loophole – and then getting a shock when they end up with having to pay a financial penalty or other punitive measure.

• Hi Bingo Bus, I agree with you, that is why we need to step up this campaign and make sure this tax is abolished completely now. It will take time but it will be stopped by the power of the people.

• I agree with you Christine legally I don’t see martin’s solicitors advice as sound but I was amused and pleasantly surprised to see you got 50 dislikes and only 20 likes.

I’ve always been fascinated at how a commentator fares when taken on by one of ye. Even when they are right the mob smack them for taking on the establishment (that’s you, Christine ;) ).

I’m sure you don’t mind being a test-case. Fine Gael better watch themselves. If the Journal moderators are feeling our annoyance I can’t wait to see what FG will get. Love you Christine. :D

• The bottom line of asshole Hogan; f off, we’ll change any law that will stop us satisfying the IMF.1984 is alive and well in Ireland 2012.

• First, Phil Hogan, who do you work for? Yes, the citizens. Second, whose laws are you entrusted with making? That’s right, the citizen’s laws. Did you ever familiarise yourself with your employment manual – Bunreacht na hEireann? I’ve written to remind him of all this, attaching a copy of the manual, and recommend others do the same.

Thirdly, ESB has a commercial relationship with each person who pays for a connection to the grid (even if they pay another power company). I’ve written to the ESB denying them permission to share my details with the government and threatening legal action if I find out they have. I also recommend others do the same.

• made 18/03/12 #

Anyone watching Spartacus on tv lately? Reminds me of Ireland, those in power take what they want from the people and then murder the people at will which is exactly what this government and Europe are doing to the people of Ireland. It’s called suicide but I call it murder by government.

• I have seen the application form for the household charge, and they ask the most stupidest questions on it, like your mother’s maiden name, your pet’s name, your place of birth, and surely the questions should be about the house itself, and I don’t see why these questions are relevant to the issue. I am very happy not to pay, as I look at all those bankers getting away scott free, laughing at us as if we are idiots. If all the politicians, bankers, developers, barristers, rich irish rock stars, eg U2 and Enya were paying the same charge, I would gladly contribute, but it shows that it is one rule for the rich, and another for the poor. I don’t think that the coalition will last the year, with these crises on the horizon, as the people are very strong, especially in the non payment of the household charge, and later on the no vote of the fiscal treaty, and I really mean that the people will vote no, as they will not give in to threats either from the government or the eu. If people are filling in the form, as a form of protest, DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MOBILE NUMBER OR EMAIL ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE NO, BECAUSE THEY WILL KEEP ON HARRASSING YOU FOREVER! Beware they ask youf for those things, so don’t be naive and put them on. Everybody in the country should think about not registering at all and not paying. If this money issue was so important to the coalition, they should be here making sure that this is payed, by the people themselves, instead of swaning off on our money to some foreign land, trying to sell us. They should be in the dail on Tuesday, and like everybody else at work. Finally I will write that if they go investigating electric bills, they can’t be expected to be voted in at the next election or labour either, and don’t bother to come to my house, as I may have a rottweiller guarding it, especially if they come to bring me to court for non payment of the household charge. shame on you hogan and co, may you burn in hell for all eternity!

• jimbo 18/03/12 #

I seen that form and filled it in the way i thought its in my gallery basically it says fcuk you all over it lol…
      No household charge is the answer full stop…

• ……Your pets name ? ……………………………….
      I have not seen the registration form . There is no need for me to look at it . Not Registering , not paying.
      If they expect it through my electric bill , I will sit in the dark, If they go to my phone bill I will disconnect . I am not paying this charge Do you hear me Phil . NO means NO.

• Look on the bright side everyone. An unjust property charge, the poll tax, brought down the mighty Thatcher government. As Inda is basically Thatcher with a todger and the household charge is also unjust, we should work towards making sure they suffer the same fate.

• Hogan and his bully boy retoric again, ye can’t get blood out of a turnip, it has to stop ye are terrorising the people ye are elected to look after, ye have no idea the pressure the average household is under and care less.

• I meant to post this comment earlier but life, as it sometimes does, got in the way. Last August, Hogan was at a golf meeting and was asked by a property owner, if she was going to be screwed by the government. His answer.” I have no problem screwing you. Hasn’t Mairtin been screwing you for years?.” this comment says so much about his personality. Previously, I had been of the opinion, that he was a bit of a buffoon. Not now. I think, It was more of a clever mask. I think that he is one of the two, to three per cent, of people that are not like the majority of people, ahem!.

• Fill This mate. Hitler and Stalin would be proud as punch of this little fool trying to threaten people to register to agree to be ripped off. The reason they need you to register is because if you don’t agree to the contract they cant touch you. Don’t be fooled by this fear mongering corrupt idiot

• Hitler, Mussolini & Franco were very proud of the forerunners of Minister Hogans Party, something which has been written out of its history by the present incumbents. In the 1930’s Germany could boast of its Brown Shirts, Italy of its Black Shirts and Ireland of its Blue Shirts led by a discredited officer of the Gardai who bullied and intimidated any opposition and who sent a detatchment to fight on Francos side to overthrow a democraticly elected government because the landed gentry and the church did not agree to Spain being goverened by the ordinary people of that country and we know what the concequences of that conflict were. Minister Hogans party are no strangers to bullyboy tactics. Why do you think Enda feels so much at home in Germany.

• @ too true, thank you so much for sharing that unbelievable piece of information on the exemptions from the household tax ! further proof of the dispicible inequality of this government and the protection of an elite status!

• Hi Todo, you can do exactly that, the Campaign Against Household & Water Taxes has a 5euro membership that all can avail off, what this money is used for is for funding the campaign and for legal support if necessary, we need as many members as we can get to win our fight against this unjust tax and bully government. You can get a membership from the campaign office at,

nohouseholdtax.org

or phone 1890 98 98 00

They will be able to put you in touch with someone in your area.

• The mans a bully and an idiot! If they had done this properly in the first place maybe people would consider paying it ,yer and my names Noddy. Time for a new government me thinks,bet the next one will promise to over throw this law. lol Leave Hogan to sweat it out and listen to him squirming :)

• If I receive an official letter from the goverment or local council signed and made out to me with the proper address of my house I will then pay the 100 euro, but I will not log on or go into any post office and do the work for them and register my private details. If they go down the tv licence line of sending a man around door to door then goodluck as I have a mini camera in my door so I know who is ringing it & dont answer the door to anyone but my family. As I said if I receive and official letter made out to me outlining what the money is going to be spent on locally I will pay it, as of today I have received nothing…NOTHING…I dont read junk mail and I only read mail thats written to me with my full name and address on the envelop. As far as Im and my neighbours are concerned…. ALL of them….. they know nothing of this new tax and have received no official letter and until we do Im not paying a penny to anyone. Just because you say it on the news does not make it official. I deal in signed contracts and official letters & I dont listen to the media BS spin.

• I wonder if people offered to give the €100 directly to the local council to fund the libraries, public parks etc, would the government accept that? After all, that’s what the money is for right? I can imagine the objections already…God knows what this money is really for. I am not going to pay it and that is that.

• I would consider paying if I saw some intelligence at work here. That is, if I am due to pay which I don’t know because I have not received ONE piece of intelligent communication about this whole thing!
    It feels kinda like being ordered to go out, buy yourself an axe, go in the corner and cut your own head off… Or you’re in big trouble. ?!?!?!

• Just who doe’s hulk hogan actually think he is . Maggie Thatcher had Norman Tebbitt as her bully boy and we all know what happened there.Does half a brain (smiley) Enda think we are all going to be intimidated by some a$%%*£e who refused to take a paycut when he was’nt being threatened by a new law to pay up or else. I HOPE HE KEEPS GOING THE WAY HE IS because he’ll make people wake up(if they hav’ent already) to the way we are being treated and really tell them where to stuff it!!!!!!

• made 18/03/12 #

REVOLUTION REVOLUTION.

• I know I might be going slightly off topic here but I am so disappointed in not only this government, but Irish politics in general. It is getting to a stage where I do not want to vote come the next general election. There is nobody (in my constituency) that holds views anyway similar to mine so why should I waste my time.
    I had high hopes for Labour before the election and (as embarrassing as it is now) campaigned for my local Labour candidate. How wrong was I then! Not only did they sell me out as a student but they have gone away from what the Labour party means for so many under privileged members of society.
    Goodbye Labour and goodbye Irish politics.

• Been through all this before in Scotland when the lovely Maggie Thatcher inflicted the Poll Tax on us and look what happened there. It was the ruin of Thatcher and the Household Charge will be the ruin of this lot. Not paying, not panicking.

• Welcome to the Facist FG/Labour party, How far will they go before you say enough is enough? When they rise the price of drink or starve your family?

• Roll on the next election (sooner the better). When SF get into power, they will remove the facist laws that FFG/Labour bring in/will bring, to eliminate personal freedoms. 2 weeks ago, we had that FFG muppet minister bring in the restriction on internet freedom of speech, and now, we have this muppet looking to eliminate our very own rights to personal data protection. FG know no bunds when it comes to eliminating the rights of the individuals. I know of a leader in the 20th century who made new laws to suppress the rights of the indivuals. If Labour support this terrorists efforts, then they cannot claim innocence at the next election. The main concermn right now, is that they still have another 3 years in power. Will they find a way to get around having open and fair elections in the mean-time??? Was the last election, our last time to be allowed to vote freely?

• #WeWantAGeneralElection and next time please vote for someone who doesn’t see you as a consumer or a statistic but as a human being.

Ireland is a country of people – a large collective family. Not a corporation.

• Réada and how does family magically make the grass greener? Oh wait “the grass is always greener on the other side” Sorry all countries are markets which are effectively corporations and it’s getting the money in the kitty that matters.

• Unfortunately Reada the Country of Ireland is a corporation, We the ordinary people know it as a country of human beings, but as a country we are registered as a corporation. :(

The Garda, Army, Courts, Health service, Country etc are all corporation. You can check this out on http://www.dnb.com

• Breda. This Ireland Inc thing has been doing the rounds for a while now. I warned my twitters today that if I saw that phrase used they were for the chop. ;)

As you said Ireland is made up of people. It is one collective family. And whether immigrant or native we are all siblings imo. Our politicians forget this and we need to remind them.

• What the fuck is the point in having laws at all?

• I seem to have made a mistake…. Emmm where is that 3 billion I misplaced….

They guys couldn’t organize a good piss up in a brewery….. We’re absolutely gonna go down with muppets like hogan in charge but not before all the bond holders have been paid back…. Sad

• No problem Nigel, I thought it was well known. GUYS, CAN EVERYBODY HERE ON THE NO TO THE HOUSEHOLD CHARGE CAMPAIGN PLEASE PASS ON THE INFORMATION TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS POSSIBLE, ESPECIALLY PEOPLE OF INFLUENCE. In a republic, citizens are equal in the eyes of the law. Seems now that some are more equal than others. This is reason enough to refuse to pay.

• No problem. I will be telling everyone at our local meeting this Thursday! Just so people again know- GOVERNMENT MINISTERS AND SENIOR HSE OFFICIALS ARE EXEMPT FROM PAYING THE HOUSEHOLD TAX!!! Now if you surely needed any further reason to refuse to pay!!??….

• jimbo 18/03/12 #

@susiechester We will show em all how its done….

• random 19/03/12 #

Sure the ESB don’t know who owns what, so what are they going to find out from them, merely what houses exist in the country? And then what, they put a threatening letter through everybody’s door? If it gets ignored they’re no further ahead, and in many cases it wouldn’t even be going to the right people, renters etc.

• When you give personal information to any body or orgaisation, its your private property! They are obliged under law not to leak/share or volunteer your personal info to anyone, because of ID theft mostly. So remember next time, its your private property and no-one can tresspass on it without your consent!

• The people will make the changes as soon as they get the chance to vote, bye bye Hogan and co.

• They should use utility bills to collect the second homes tax. A lot of people are getting away with declaring their investment properties and holiday homes.

• Ah, trying to change the subject so the unwashed masses reading this will turn their focus to people with investment properties instead of your fine gael mentors. You learn that tactic at a Merkel Youth meeting?

• Well I’m curious to gauge whether people have a principled opposition to the use of utility bills to find who hasn’t paid any charge, or whether they’re just against the Household Charge and are against this because it’ll be used for that purpose.

And my point above played on people’s class consciousness against “the rich” so I don’t know what made you believe I picked it up from a centre-right “Merkel Youth” meeting :)

• Can any one tell me why Ministers are exempt from paying the household charge ?

• Are they?

• David David , why didn’t they do that previously then? People can see through ALL the spin now my friend! They had a hope of change based on promises pre-election but this government again refuses to be up front with the people and neglects the ordinary majority people in favour of protecting the elite and powerful

• It was mentioned in this thread above ….
      I do not honestly know . That is why I am asking . Does any one know ?

• Hi Susie, please read the following: http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/01/26/00111.asp

142. Deputy Finian McGrath Information on Finian McGrath Zoom on Finian McGrath asked the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Information on Philip Hogan Zoom on Philip Hogan if houses in the rental accommodation scheme are exempt from the household charge; if a landlord who has a few of these houses and is making a lot of money is also exempt. [4518/12]

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government (Deputy Phil Hogan): Information on Philip Hogan Zoom on Philip Hogan The Local Government (Household Charge) Act 2011 provides for a number of exemptions and waivers from payment of the household charge. The exemptions from payment of the household charge are—

Residential properties that are part of the trading stock of a business and have not been sold or been the source of any income since construction,

Residential property owned by a Minister of the Government, a housing authority or the Health Service Executive

• Too Truefelt
      Thanks for that .
      They can ask my A** for it now . In all the meetings I have been at and all the discussions I have been involved with , today is the first time I have heard that Ministers of Gov are exempt ……
      I am sickened by it . No one should pay this or register for it .

• I paid the household charge. Wasn’t happy about it but paid up as I am a law abiding citizen. If you can afford to pay then you should pay.

• You are a fool.i use to think like you, c’mon Ireland, lets work through this, lets pay our dues. Whatever I loaned from a bank is and has been paid-except my mortgage which will eventually be paid as im still working. Our politicians, whom we elected/voted for, for change.to get rid of the browne envelope culture, to hold people responsible for the mess we are in. all we have got is saddled with debt from others and in this case, a threat of amending the law to take our data,so they can take our money from our accounts. All this why other people took risks with money and they are getting their money back… For fuck sake, wake up!! There is something bigger happening then 100quid

• How could anybody’s information be at risk? It’s just one department exchanging with another; or is government held info inherently insecure?

Add New Comment