TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

HMV’s Irish stores closed as NCA says they should honour vouchers

The National Consumer Agency has said that it has now clarified that the music retailer’s Irish operation is not in administration and should therefore honour gift vouchers.

Image: Wanderley Massafelli/Photocall Ireland

Updated 11.25am

THE NATIONAL CONSUMER Agency (NCA) has said that HMV stores in Ireland should accept gift vouchers having established that the company’s Irish operation has not entered administration or examinership in the Republic.

The advice came as HMV’s main Irish store on Dublin’s Grafton Street was closed this morning as was the case for its 15 other stores across the country.

A source said that the Grafton Street store would be remaining closed until an examiner is appointed as is likely the case for HMV’s other stores in Ireland.

The source added that it was hoped that it could reopen at some point later today. HMV’s head office referred queries to the administrator, Deloitte, which did not immediately comment.

The music retailer announced yesterday in the UK that was in administration with its 230 plus stores including 16 in Ireland and around 4,300 jobs, including 300 in Ireland, put at risk.

More significantly for consumers the company said that it could no longer honour gift vouchers as holders of these vouchers were classed as unsecured creditors under the administrative process.

However, the NCA said today that it has now clarified that HMV in the Republic of Ireland is a separate corporate entity to the UK operation and HMV Ireland Ltd is not currently in administration or examinership.

It is therefore calling on Irish stores to honour “contracts with consumers and accept all gift vouchers with immediate effect”.

HMV referred queries to the administrator, Deloitte, who did not immediately respond to a request for comment on whether or not the company’s Irish operation is accepting gift vouchers.

Read: People love HMV… here’s why

Read: Around 300 Irish jobs at risk as HMV expected to enter administration

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• HMV owe Lily Mae Fund €27,000 — The producers behind A Song for Lily Mae, the charity single released to raise money for four year old neuroblastoma sufferer Lily Mae are in limbo this morning as it is unclear whether the €27,000 owed to the charity by HMV will be paid.

• And yesterday we had Dermot “hard luck” jewell making his obligatory appearance rte saying you should tear up the vouchers, I wish someone would tear up his bloody contract! Waste of space!

• This is why you just give cash. Gift vouchers are a waste of time.
    Also I don’t get why they won’t honor them they’ve already got the money from the people who’ve bought them? It’s a bit stupid really.

• Yea I agree cash can be used anywhere for anything.
      Vouchers are limited to use the person still knows how much you spent and who really wants a poxy voucher

• Im into games and blurays so I always ask for vouchers. Ive been getting them since I was a lil boy.i prefered them to money as money could then be spent on things I didn’t want. Only recently I had 210 euro on hmv gift card and spent it on a wii u one week ago.. lucky…are the gardai really gonna stop someone in store if they just hand the voucher in and take the stuff. (Serious question by the way)

• If they do their job they will Philip.

You’re basically advocating looting.

• I don’t think your looting or stealing…. Your leaving your voucher behind in exchange for goods…

• They should even give customers half the value it will be of benefit to them if they come out if administration.

• Doesn’t work like that. Even if they have a pricetag on the CD/DVD or whatever whenever you go to a counter to pay for something you are simply making an offer, the store then chooses to either accept or reject that offer. In this case HMV have chosen to reject vouchers as a form of payment, so if you simply leave it there and walk out with goods it means you are taking them against their will.

It’s a shambles that vouchers don’t have tighter laws, but the law at the moment is that you would be stealing. Keep in mind how threatening this behaviour would be if you were a staff member too.

• Jencui 16/01/13 #

Likewise they have deemed your voucher worthless against your will and against the law… I’d be taking my goods.

• It’s not against the law in reality though so go on ahead but don’t come back moaning if you get arrested for it

• It would be a civil matter, rather than a criminal one. Basically you are willing to pay for the goods with a voucher valued at say €50 …
      If HMV refuse to accept the voucher,there is nothing the Gaurds can do and would have to leave as no criminal offence is being committed..

• Jack Nea 16/01/13 #

The problem with the vouchers is the they represent a contract between the person who bought them and shop. The buyer is giving the €50 money and getting in return this voucher with which a person can buy €50 worth of goods. The reason that the shop can decide not to honor the vouchers with such impunity is that once then voucher is in the hands of the person who received them as a gift, that person has no contract with the shop and so can’t force them to honor the voucher.

• While on the other hand @Niall Noonan, HMV is effectively stealing from those who are in possession of vouchers by not honoring the voucher system. I’m no advocate of doing something that is against the law but this case is different. Go up to the counter with your CD, hand the person behind the till the voucher, give them your name and address and tell them if they want to go further with a civil case then they know where to find you. The gards will only come if they are called to keep the peace.

• In reality at least in my reality it is against the law. Shops do not have to accept theses vouchers and actually do not have to accept cash from anyone they don’t want to sell to.

• Just noticed an error in my previous comment. If you leave the shop with merchandise without HMV accepting your payment (which they obviously wont as they have been instructed to do so) then it is no longer a civil issue. It turns into a criminal issue which you can be arrested for. I believe there is already a gentleman in custody according to the thread over on boards.ie

What this calls for is stronger legislation around the idea of gift voucher contracts. Like many people here I am unaware of what protection there is in relation to this area and whether or not HMV is legally allowed to refuse to accept vouchers as a form of payment.

• I may be wrong but, it is classified as a contractual dispute, and is a civil matter. The Gaurds may take your details for a pending civil action, but they will not get involved as it is not a criminal matter.
      I do believe that there are certain terms and conditions relating to the redemption of vouchers with HMV, but they cannot change those terms after the date of purchase…( which I would assume doesn’t cover “administration/examinership!)

• Former employee here,

HMV Ireland cannot survive without the UK business as 99% of their stock comes through the UK warehouses etc (everything except RTE stock.)

The Irish branch only exists as a separate entity for tax purposes, other then that it is completely a part of the UK business. Ireland is considered a region just like southern enland etc and reports directly to the HMV head office in London.

• NCA is as effective as a three legged horse racing in the Grand National. Another quango that should be abolished. It’s a useless cash cow paid for by the taxpayer.

• Yes, the NCA is a joke – a three-legged and toothless horse. It should be put down, and some of the vast savings could then be devoted to an emergency fund to help consumers who are victims in these types of cases.

• Ben Gunn 16/01/13 #

The stores are closed. The stock probably belongs to suppliers. If the company has no assets then you just join the queue with the rest of the unsecured creditors.

Buying vouchers is and always will be a mugs game because there is absolutely no protection against default. The NCA are being both ineffectual and naive if they think their call for these vouchers to be honoured is going to be listened to or is even legal. If the company has gone bust it does not matter whether or not it is in recievership or examinership, it would be unlawful for the directors or managers to prefer one set of creditors (voucher holders) over another.

The NCA would be better advising people on ways of getting their money such as credit card recalls.

• Sorry but failing to honour a voucher which has already been paid for IMHO is nothing short of theft! The chain recieves a cash advance which should be honoured regardless!!!!

• This is a serious question if I were to go into the store and pick up items to the value of 100e euro that’s on the card, and demanded that I keep them, could I be accused of shop lifting? As I feel 100 euro is a lot and it’s just not fair.

• Of course they should honour the vouchers purchased by their loyal customers…..the life blood of their existence when so many others turned to online sources and even worse purchasing illegal copies.

• If their prices were not so expensive maybe people wouldnt revert to buying on-line or illegally downloading it

• When was the last time you were in there because it is not expensive, it hasn’t been for the last 4-5 years now

• Before Christmas, €25 for a Blue-Ray dvd, same one on-line for €12

• I’m not against buying online, it’s convenient and can be a lot cheaper. However it is nice to have the physical item and I enjoy exploring the sleeves, inserts and lyrics whilst enjoying the music. Album art can be amazing too, I remember trying to reproduce some of them as a teen.

I also feel patrons who have been loyal to the store and kept it open as long as it is should be that last to suffer. In my mind it’s a form of theft.

• Why in the name of god does anyone buy bluray there is feck all difference if u have a DVD player with good surround sound and a quality hdmi cable, but besides that ya the bluray is expensive but CDs and DVDs have been as cheap as amazon for the last few years in fact if your buying the 1 item it’s generally cheaper to do so in hmv, don’t get me wrong I buy a lot from amazon.co.uk but I always check the prices in hmv first as I would rather buy it in my local store if possible

• The thing HMV should consider is, if they are to come out of this and survive. Customers who have vouchers which are not honoured will turn their back on the new enterprise.

• Well after this and GAME, I think people will learn from it and never buy a voucher from any store. By not honoring the voucher, it is bad for the entire retail industry. Think about the amount of sales which will be lost as grandparents don’t buy vouchers for grandchildren etc.

• A company like HMV goes into administration it’s actually illegal for them to accept credit notes, which is what vouchers essentially are, as customers and general staff members are bottom of the pile when it comes to regaining money owned.

I’d ask anyone tempted to follow Mr.Nolan’s lead from yesterday to remember that staff in these stores will, lost likely, lose money owed themselves and their jobs if HMV do go bust. They’re in the same boat as everyone else so treat them with some respect. Even if people are saying that this is HMV Ireland you should remember that staff are obviously hoping the company will be saved and that they will still have jobs. If they start giving out goods against the wishes of upper management there is no way that will happen.

• Actually staff members are preferred creditors do they will receive what they are owed ahead of unsecured creditors such as those holding those vouchers.

• tom 16/01/13 #

Sorry its not a credit note its gift card and once date is valid then there is no excuse if their door is open to do business. HMV shouldnt be allow to trade if they refuse to honour vouchers

You can be firm without being nasty or rude to staff.

Plus if you did get stopped by security call the police and charge the shop for false detention and demand goods are kept for evidence by garda. So when its resolved you’ll have your goods.

If the store had stopped trading I could understand their point of view but not while their tills are open to take money.

• Brendan 16/01/13 #

For all the talk about iTunes, Amazon, MP3s, etc leading to the downfall of high street music stores… Is there a more simplified explanation as to why HMV and others are doing bad?

The music nowadays is feckin useless!!!

• Are they legally obliged to?
    If yes then go to store and demand your rights, if they will not oblige call police and report theft.
    If they are not legally obliged to then not a lot you can do.
    If gift voucher purchased within last 60 days by credit card then ask for chargeback department in your card company and tell them contract has not been fulfilled by supplier (hmv) and you demand chargeback under consumer law.

• Sorry, just read bottom of article, hmv Ireland not in examinership, they are obliged by law to redeem gift vouchers, if they will not they are stealing from you.
      Ask to speak to manager, get name, tell him-her that they are breaking the law and that if they do not redeem voucher they are personally liable and you will sue them in small claims court. ( cost 25 and is added to their costs).
      Call Gardai and tell them “reverse shopping ” is going on and you want them to arrest culprits.
      That should get your gift voucher redeemed.
      Anybody got the balls to follow through on this?
      Get somebody from media to accompany you, great story and you get your 10 minutes ad fame!

• Read reverse “shoplifting” for shopping, feckin I phone!

• I heard hmv limerick had to close yesterday as people were picking up items and just leaving gift cards on the till on the way out.

• I heard that too but I don’t think it’s true I was on boards.ie and one of the staff said it did not happen

• Remember its not the staff’s or managers fault. Why should they care that you can’t spend your ?20 when they might be out of a job by next week

• Because that’s their job. They are in the customer service role.

On the flip side of the coin, they don’t deserve to be abused for a decision they did not make. The same applies to when you have a complaint with a company and you decide to shout at the first person you speak to on the phone.

• Stephen, not their fault but if management ask them to break the law by not honouring a legal agreement (gift voucher) then call the police.
      They have to honour gift vouchers.
      If my boss comes and asks me to break the law I am not going to do it, tell the bosses to come to tills and refuse vouchers, then they are breaking the law and can be reported to police. Not fair to order front line staff to break the law while they hide upstairs.

• What’s with the red thumbs???
      Please explain what part of standing up for your rights is wrong?
      Jazus, some people!

• Paul Mc,

Unfortunately it’s not breaking the law. A gift card is effectively a credit note and the second HMV goes into administration you become a creditor. That means you have to join at the back of the queue as you would be an unsecured creditor.

• I work in retail and I can only imagine how bad the staff have it in there now with customers “knowing their rights” or worse again taking advice of the fool joe Duffy.

• Yeah just attack the manager that is only doing what he’s told to by the company. The gift cards won’t go through the tills. They’ve been turned off so even if they wanted to they have no way of physically putting it through. But hey let’s sue the manager of the shop in small claims court even though he’s waiting around to find out if they can pay their bills in the next week or not. Read your damn rights for when a company goes into administration, get off the Internet and shut up.

• They’re not in administration.

• Won’t work

• If I still worked in retail and was told I might not have a job next week I’d point and laugh in the face of anybody who told me they were ringing the police or they were going to sue me. I do pity those who have vouchers but complain to the group that took over, bot the HMV staff

• Billie, Irish operation is separate company and is not in administration.
      They are legally obliged to redeem vouchers.
      If front line staff say no ask for manager, if no manager call police, this is theft.
      Seems like Irish people love to just lie down and be ridden by anybody bigger than them.
      Stand up for your rights, don’t know why I bother posting, never met so many people unwilling to fight for their rights.
      Idiots.

• Manda Moo – duh!
      I think you have a touch of the Homer Simpsons

• Don’t call people idiots just because you don’t know what the rules are.

Even if they were accepting gift cards I’m pretty sure they’d still legally be able to refuse your custom.

Invitation to treat and all that. If they don’t want to accept your cash/voucher in exchange for the goods, what can you realistically do?

This isn’t the time to stand up. Save the business, save the jobs and then get your money back. Choose your battles.

• That’s right red thumbs, roll over and take it up the proverbial.
      You have no idea how to stand up for your rights.

• Paul you’re a typical Irishman. You realise an elderly couple died this week of hypothermia in their own homes? That cuts to charities mean lots may have to shut down? That Corrib are destroying our coastline? That cuts to carers’ allowances are driving thousands to despair and possible death? That our forests are about to be sold off to a foreign company with Bertie on the board?

Yet some HMV Vouchers are what you mark as the test of the nation, mostly because it hits you in the pocket. Like I say, typical Irish.

• Paul MC 16/01/13 #

Niall – wha?

1. Elderly couple died of cold, yes, this is tragic.
      2. Cuts to charities – what the hell has this to do with gift vouchers?
      3. Corrib gasline – wtf?
      4. Carers allowance – - huh?
      5. Cutting forests – where the hell is this going???
      6. Bertie , at last. Some common ground.
      7. Hmv – the test of a nation, nope, lost me again.
      8. My pocket, no again, don’t buy in hmv or have a gift voucher.

Try throwing in comments on cornflakes or the price of smoked kippers, would be more in keeping with the theme.

XXX. Paul.

• Paul MC 16/01/13 #

Manda moo, you are assistant manager in hmv, if they ask you to break the law you do not have to comply.
      I did not say attack the manager, i said force managers to comply with laws of the land.
      If you refuse to redeem legally held credit notes or vouchers of company not in administration you are guilty of breaking the law.
      Pretty basic stuff really, best of luck on your job hunt.

• Can you name the law that states they have to accept gift vouchers.

• Paul, I would love to see you call the police in store. Id also love to see/hear them tell you to go f/*k yourself and stop wasting their time

• Barry 16/01/13 #

National Consumer Agency really dropped the ball on this one.

Yesterday they said on the news that the vouchers were worthless and to bin them, now they say because HMV Ireland isn’t in administration they should be allowing the vouchers…..but now 15 of the stores are closed so people can’t even try get them accepted.

i will say though, as annoying as it can be not having your voucher accepted I do feel sorry for the staff and the amount of crap they likely took from people yesterday about the voucher issues. Whilst loosing 20e or 50e is certainly frustrating its no were near as bad as knowing there’s a very good chance you’ll be out of a job soon.

For anyone thats gone through redundancy you know how hard it is, having to deal with f*cked off customer’s makes a very upsetting situation even more of a nightmare for the staff.

• NCA 16/01/13 #

Hi Barry. Just to clarify, we did not advise anyone that their vouchers were worthless or that they should bin them. The person you most likely saw on the news yesterday was from the Consumers Association of Ireland, who has no connection to the NCA. In all our communications yesterday we advised consumers to hold onto their vouchers while we investigated the implications of the UK administration for Irish consumers.

Our latest statement is available on our website http://www.nca.ie/index.jsp?p=100&n=101&a=970

• Barry 16/01/13 #

Apologies NCA, I stand corrected, thanks for clarifying.

Its a pretty concerning thing for anyone that’s supposed to represent consumers to say yesterday before all the facts had been verified,

• say you feel like a spa now!

• Are they not breaking a contract,, sign on door is an Invitation to treat , you offered to buy the gift voucher and they accepted by taken your money. Surely they are in breech of something. It’s so wrong and unfair

• i know a manager in hmv..they knew about this since before christmas…he was even job hunting,and yet they kept selling vouchers even though they knew they were closing…thats theft plain and simple…

• When you say ‘know’ do you mean he got a memo from head office saying we’re shutting down after Christmas? Or did he ‘know’ in the same way that we all knew that high street stores were in trouble and that HMV was on the verge of going bust (was in the news last Autumn)?

Because I have a few friends working with HMV and they all found out their jobs could be gone over places like Facebook, RTE and the Journal, so stop making out like the staff are part of this.

• The staff can’t have not known that this was up.

• It happens. When the company I previously worked for went into receivership the staff who were in work didn’t know until the receivers walked in, told the customers to leave and the managers to pull the shutters. The managers were told not to contact staff at home to tell them what happened,and those of us who weren’t in work found out from the news.

• Wow seriously people. Think of the staff themselves. It’s not their choice to not take vouchers, they don’t even know if they’ll have a job at the end of it, but yet they are the ones who are in the store taking abuse from people over gift vouchers. Didn’t anyone learn from the Hughes & Hughes administration and all the other businesses that went belly up back in 08,09,10 that have gift vouchers and cards? There were even tv programmes about the risks of buying them, especially in our current economic situation where a lot of retail businesses are struggling.
    I’ve been an employee in this situation only a few years ago and I can tell you, it’s not a pleasent experience. We had people travel from different parts of the country just to hurl abuse at us because the administrators wouldn’t allow us to take vouchers. Deloitte don’t do vouchers. They can’t regain money from them and that is what they are there to do.The name above the door of the store might be HMV, but it’s not HMV anymore. You may as well call it Deloitte.
    And before you go calling the “guards” for “shoplifting”, please stop and think about the people who are working in those stores who could be part of the unemployment statistics next week. You might be loosing 10, 20, maybe even 50€, but they are potentially losing their livelyhood. Have a heart.

• I’m capable of doing two things at once. Just because people are losing their jobs doesn’t mean that the consumers who got ripped off should just take the hit.

I agree with not taking it out on the front line though. It’s not their fault and they are in an awful position. They deserve empathy.

Did any of the other companies that did this choose the same timing as HMV? They knew they couldn’t honor those gift cards when selling vouchers over Christmas. That is fraud.

• A few of them did, yes. H&H for example went in the February.

• HMV Grafton st closed until further notice

• Last Saturday I bought an xbox for 250 euro. I bought it in the swords store as I have been shopping there for years & knowing that the company was struggling thought that I’d do my bit to keep them afloat as its a great store & the staff are a pleasure to deal with. Anyway I bought an Xbox bundle which included a number of games but they didn’t have one of the games in stock so they gave me a voucher & advised me to return this Saturday when they are re stocked. Needless to say I feel for the staff there but this fiasco is deplorable. Consumer rights are cast aside & I believe the administrators are blatantly stealing. Now there closing the stores as I’m sure they fear a backlash from the customers they have ripped off & yet again the law is an ass,aided and abetted by a consumer agency that’s almost as toothless as a newborn baby! Good luck to the staff – I wish them well whatever happens but it’s no wonder the hmv group is in trouble considering their disregard for their consumer.

• @Philip, in the HMV store in Dundalk yesterday people were dropping their vouchers on the floor beside the till and walking out with goods, security didn’t stop them. It is quite a quandary as you can’t advocate looting and it seems horrible unfair to write off those vouchers as bad debts…

• It is not the people working in the stores fault. They have been instructed by the administrator not to accept them. There would be no point getting on to them. How would any of ye that are given out about the vouchers be if you were in there postion. These people might be losing there jobs. Some people have no respect for other people as I witnessed myself after Christmas as I work in retail.

• Henry I would never insult any one in a store. I understand they have a job to do and I feel sorry for them. The point is that the store will win all round they have the money and they have the goods. It’s not that I want the cash back just the value of the voucher. How would you deal with them if they leave you 100 euro or more short in your wages?

• I would be fairly p***ed off to be honisit. But it is just plain disrespectful the way that staff are treated by some people. I went on to HMV facebook last night and there was a few people on it giving out about the staff and saying to go into the store and basically shout abuse at them. I find that highly disrespectful the staff are only doing there jobs and only doing what they are told.

• I just read that about the grandad in henry street. Also consumer agency said that hmv ireland have to honor the gift cards as they are a not in administration and they are not part of the UK branch. Which means to me that HMV Ireland are robbing people who have vouchers.

• Section 295 of the Companies Act 1963

If any person, being at the time of the commission of the alleged offence an officer of a company which is subsequently ordered to be wound up by the court or subsequently passes a resolution for voluntary winding up—
    (a) has by false pretences or by means of any other fraud induced any person to give credit to the company;…
    he shall be liable, on conviction on indictment, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years or to a fine not exceeding £500 or to both or, on summary conviction, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to a fine not exceeding £100 or to both.

• If they do come out of administration do they really have a future anyway? Can a bricks and mortar music/media store really survive in an age of online sales? For books, dvds and music why would you bother going to a shop out of anything other than nostalgia? The disc or book you order online will be exactly the same as in the store only probably a lot cheaper and delivered directly to you. Hmv missed the boat when it came to e-commerce and should have been the first in with an amazon style web business but they were too shortsighted. Amazon/play etc have hoovered up their business while they’ve done nothing. If this isn’t the end of hmv it isn’t far off. Is the administration process only delaying the inevitable? As regards vouchers it is basicly theft. The laws around vouchers have needed tidying up for years. Some companies are real cowboys when it comes to use by dates etc. If money has been handed over no closing date should be allowed. Give us your money but if you aren’t quick we’ll keep it and you can f*ck off. Downright criminal!

• The irish hmv is not in administration. They were told by the NCA that bye law they have to accept the vouchers and because they were acquired by law they then shut shop.. ireland hmv is different to any other hmv. By rrfusing the vouchers they are breaking the law.

• HMV in Ireland is a part of the UK branch and therefore are in administration. I think the problem is that the group didn’t assign Deloitte in Ireland to administer the Irish Stores and only went to the UK group seeing HMV as the stores in the UK and Ireland as one. The fact that they are shut means the administrators went in and told them to shut the doors. If they did that, regardless of what the NCA are saying, they are in administration.

• That could only happen in Ireland.. Sad as it’s part of going in to the shop, have a good look around, I always came out with more than I planned to, but shopping online you won’t be able to have a laugh with Billy or Maggie, this is the world we have now sleep walked into.. Billy has access to a computer but Maggie does not.. Can you imagine ten years down the line, no one shopping in the high St because there won’t be one…

• HMV in the crescent limerick is “closed until further notice” according to the sign on the shutter

• Im not suprised they are gone ,staff never gave a toss about wanting to help etc and management couldnt care less,now they have their anser,they should be made honour there vouchers

• The voucher situation is horrible on the consumer. The best thing to so is wait it off and see if they reverse their decision.

If we go in and take the products and leave the vouchers on the counter, all that will achieve is guaranteeing the stores will shut down.

I’d prefer my voucher to be void if it meant these people will keep their jobs in the end than taking the products and taking away their jobs.

People need to see the bigger picture. Save the jobs first and when they are in a position to, accept the vouchers again.

• Boycott them and force them to close if they won’t honour peoples vouchers,after all someone handed over hard earned cash for something they assumed might have a value

• If you have a 40 euro voucher and you went into store and took goods of that value to the counter and offered to pay for them with said voucher. If they refuse and you walk out with the items and you were arrested I seriously don’t think HMV would bring you to court. And if they did,do you think a judge would convict you after you tell him you offered to pay for the goods. I honestly don’t think he would.
    Anyone with knowledge of the law reading this??
    I would love to know if you agree or disagree.

• Is if worth taking that chance for €40?

The administrators might take you to court. Their business is taking in as much money as they can.

Taking the items will guarantee the staff will lose their jobs. It’s not a good situation.

• If they prosecuted you the judge would convict you as they actually follow the law and not their emotions.

By law, when you bring a good to a counter and offer payment for it, even in cash, the seller has the right to turn you down. If you walk out of the store with the good and just leave the money on the counter that is stealing, as no agreement of purchase took place. If that was brought before the judge you would be convicted of shoplifting, no judge in the country would simply let you go as it would set a precedent in law that would mean anyone could just walk into any store and take what they want so long as they left whatever they felt was a suitable amount of money on the counter.

• I don’t agree its a guarantee people would loose their jobs if you took and offered to pay by voucher Billie.
      I’m 100% sure I would take goods to the value of a voucher, even if it was for a fiver.
      We are getting screwed left right and centre in this country. Do you not think its about time we made a stand and stood up for ourselves.
      It’s despicable they took the money in the first place knowing they were not going to honour them. And I’m convinced that is the case.

• Thanks for your opinion Niall and I see your point.
      But judges do use their discretion at times. And if it was me, I would still take the goods to the value of the voucher.
      But right or wrong, that’s only my opinion.

• I agree that it’s despicable that they took money knowing they wouldn’t honour the vouchers.

Here is why I believe it guarantees the jobs will be lost if you take it into your own hands.

3 shops (at least) have had to close for shop lifting. That means no new money is coming in.

HMV don’t own all of their stock. They only pay for what they sell in most cases. That means if you take the stock yourself, HMV can’t get the money back for that product as it can’t be returned.

In order for those jobs to be saved, they need to bring money in. If these stores are closed or getting fleeced then they won’t be bringing in money.

• They did take in the money.
      When people bought the vouchers.

• Don’t get me wrong Dwicked, I’m not sticking up for HMV.

My point is that by honouring the vouchers now will cost them more money than if they don’t as they don’t own most of their stock. They can simply send it back. They need money coming in to keep the jobs. Taking the products ourselves will only close the shops and cut off any money coming in.

It’s not fair on the consumer, but the staff might not even get paid if the stores are closed.

• dear people of our great country,
    we are the republic of Ireland. Our forefathers fought for our right to be a republic, and with our recent found freedom what have we, the people of our great country done? Any time our government does something that goes against the interest of the people what have the vast majority of our citizens done? We have bent over (with the minor exception of a few) and took the subjugation. With the recent HMV scandal and horse DNA found in supermarkets I must ask, how far will we the people of Ireland allow our dignity and our rights to be raped and defiled? Large businesses seem to have an immunity to the law whilst we the people are harassed daily. I think it’s time that we the people unite and stand together for what is right, against HMV and any other organisation that feels nothing about taking our money with the intentions of not giving a product/service in return, we must stand up for basic rights such as this or when will this theft of money and dignity end?
    I propose we hold a protest outside HMV(Grafton street) on Sat 19th @ midday, but I am not our great country, we are! This is why we must make a stand together- for the sake of everyone before us that fought for their rights-and for the sake of our country and our childrens future.

• sarah 16/01/13 #

I thought they would have mentioned in the article that they closed the Limerick city store this morning due to customers leaving their vouchers and walking out with goods…

• The owners of HMV never really gave a mi kids about , they could have some changes , online download site etc ,
    Use to be pleasure to go into HMV on Grafton st. an spend hours in the store listening to and browsing thru music , especially underground music , shame really

• Blockbuster is just gone into administration in the uk, the whole situation Is getting messy in the entertainment industry, 8000 jobs in the uk alone this week could be gone madness

• Brave statement from the NCA I applaud them

• if you have a voucher just go into the shop and take items from the shelf to the value of your voucher then proceed to the counter hand over said voucher and walk out the door

• Well done all the moaning about the vouchers has killed any hope of saving Irish jobs

• apparently they owe lily Mae 27,000 quid

• The Government should come down HARD on these retailers and meat processing plants, handing out MASSIVE fines sending a strong message that we will not have our meat or reputation compromised.

Add New Comment