TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 6 May, 2015

#India

# india - Today’s News

Bollywood actor jailed after drunkenly ploughing SUV into homeless men

Salman Khan faces 10 year in prison following the hit-and-run.

# india - Monday 4 May, 2015

This ‘divine son-bearing seed’ drug has nothing to do with sex selection, apparently

“If the name is misleading, we will include a disclaimer from the next batch onwards.”

# india - Sunday 26 April, 2015

Indian sisters say their mother knew older brothers raped them

The girls say their mother would beat and burn them whenever they complained or refused their brothers’ demands.

# india - Friday 24 April, 2015

Three Indian police officers arrested for raping a model inside a police station

It is being reported locally today that the woman and her boyfriend also had €7,360 extorted from them.

# india - Wednesday 1 April, 2015

# india - Tuesday 24 March, 2015

An Indian billionaire has to raise €1.4 BILLION in bail

The judge said he can sell three of his luxury hotels to do it.

# india - Monday 23 March, 2015

Policemen bring convicted murderer to brothel, get caught, allow murderer to escape

You’re not supposed to do that, in case you weren’t sure.

# india - Saturday 21 March, 2015

Students expelled after parents scale high school walls to help them cheat

Indian police were deployed outside schools but couldn’t use force against parents.

# india - Saturday 14 March, 2015

Nun (75) gang-raped after burglars break into Indian convent school

Local residents have taken to the streets in anger.

# india - Thursday 12 March, 2015

India refuses to lift ban on BBC gangrape documentary

The Delhi High Court will hear the case on 18 March.

# india - Tuesday 10 March, 2015

From The42 Ireland unable to contain rampant India as race for quarters goes down to the wire CWC15

Ireland unable to contain rampant India as race for quarters goes down to the wire

Phil Simmons’ side suffered their second defeat of the World Cup.

# india - Monday 9 March, 2015

From The42 History beckons – what do Ireland need to do to reach the World Cup quarter-finals? State Of Play

Dozens charged over killing and lynching of India rape suspect

Syed Farid Khan was dragged from his cell last week.

This country became the world’s biggest weapons buyer last year

It may not be the place you expected.

# india - Friday 6 March, 2015

Angry mob drags rape suspect from prison and lynches him

A second man has also been killed in another lynching.

# india - Wednesday 4 March, 2015

Indian government questions how interview with bus rapist was shown on BBC

Police say the film could cause public disorder.

# india - Friday 20 February, 2015

Miraculous escape: Pilots manage to land planes after hair-raising mid-air crash

Photos taken afterwards showed significant damage to one of the plane’s wings.

# india - Thursday 19 February, 2015

From The Daily Edge Couple to leave all their money to their pet monkey Chunmun

Couple to leave all their money to their pet monkey

They say they have raised the monkey ‘like a son’.

# india - Wednesday 18 February, 2015

From The Daily Edge Indian groom has fit at wedding, so bride marries someone else I Thee Dread

Indian groom has fit at wedding, so bride marries someone else

She says, “I do.” He says, “You’ll do.”

# india - Monday 9 February, 2015

Woman who is 95% genetically male gives birth to twins

Her doctor said this is akin to a man delivering twins as the woman did not undergo puberty and has never had a period.

# india - Monday 26 January, 2015

Indian prime minister wears suit with his own name written all over it

That’s not a suit, THIS is a suit.

# india - Friday 9 January, 2015

From The Daily Edge Indian government worker sacked after pulling a 24-year-long sickie Work It Out

Indian government worker sacked after pulling a 24-year-long sickie

The civil servant took leave from work in 1990 and never came back.

# india - Monday 5 January, 2015

India has elected its first transgender mayor

Madhu Bai Kinnar beat out a rival from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party.

# india - Sunday 4 January, 2015

Which countries do Irish people adopt children from the most?

The most popular locations for inter-country adoptions have changed due to new rules.

# india - Saturday 3 January, 2015

Two brothers arrested in India over rape of Japanese tourist

Two brothers arrested in India over rape of Japanese tourist

She was reportedly held captive for almost three weeks and repeatedly raped.

# india - Tuesday 30 December, 2014

49-year-old Irishman held in connection with murder in India

He has been remanded in police custody for six days.

# india - Friday 26 December, 2014

# india - Monday 22 December, 2014

From The Daily Edge This monkey rescuing its electrocuted pal is what friendship is all about Rescue

# india - Friday 12 December, 2014

Irish man (24) dies after being found unconscious in Mumbai hotel

The man has been named as Brendan Devenney.

# india - Monday 8 December, 2014

This city has just banned Uber after claims a driver raped a passenger

The 26-year-old woman had fallen asleep during the trip home.

# india - Wednesday 26 November, 2014

Teenage girl set on fire by gang after resisting attempts to molest her

The men dragged the 15-year-old into her house, doused her in kerosene and set her on fire.

# india - Friday 14 November, 2014

Column: ‘My father told us our mother was gone. Her plane had crashed into the Atlantic Ocean.’

Victims’ families – like mine – need better protections and their voices heard.

# india - Tuesday 11 November, 2014

Eight women have died in India after a government sterilisation programme went wrong

Another 64 women are in hospital, with 24 of them in serious condition.

# india - Sunday 2 November, 2014

Suicide blast kills 45 spectators during Pakistan border ceremony

The incident occurred at Wagah after the ‘flag-lowering’ ceremony.

# india - Monday 20 October, 2014

From The42 Chaos as India marathon leaders miss turn, take the bus Running

Chaos as India marathon leaders miss turn, take the bus

They had to borrow money for the fare.

# india - Wednesday 24 September, 2014

The US and Russia tried it but India is the first country to enter Mars on its first attempt

Indian Prime Minister Nahendra Modi said “this is better than the cricket team.”

# india - Monday 8 September, 2014

Indian and Pakistan floods becoming “national emergency” as hundreds die

Thousands more have been left homeless.

# india - Tuesday 2 September, 2014

From Business ETC Google places its bets on India as it prepares Android One launch Market Grab

Google places its bets on India as it prepares Android One launch

The company is expected to announce its budget smartphone platform for the Indian market on 16 September.

# india - Wednesday 27 August, 2014

A leopard took on this 56-year-old woman and it was a bad move. Really bad.

India’s news channels reported that the hero battled the beast with ‘almost her bare hands’.

# india - Wednesday 20 August, 2014

If you do yoga, it’s probably down to this man who has died aged 95

The Indian guru is credited more than anyone else for taking the practice worldwide.

1 2 3 4 5