TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Ireland announces €3.8m in funding for UN agencies and NGOs in Congo

Seven million people have died as a result of war in DR Congo since 1998 – making it the one of the deadliest conflicts since World War II, said the Minister for Trade and Development.

Congo Mass Rapes

A mass rape victim and her son in the town of Fizi, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) on Sunday, Feb. 20, 2011. Her identity has been concealed for security reasons and because rape carries strong social stigma. She was among nearly fifty women who were raped during a campaign by Congolese soldiers that took place on the night of January 1st 2011. Mass rape has long been used as a weapon of war in eastern DRC. (AP Photo/Pete Muller)

IRELAND HAS ANNOUNCED €3.8 million in funding for UN agencies and NGOs to respond to the humanitarian crisis in Democratic Republic of Congo.

Minister for Trade and Development Joe Costello said the funding will provide emergency food, water, healthcare and protection to millions of people affected by the conflict – which has already killed millions of men, women and children.

Costello highlighted the scale of the of the brutal conflict, describing it as one of “the world’s deadliest since the Second World War”. Since 1998, seven million people have died in DR Congo as a result of the conflict.

The war has also seen the forced recruitment of children into armed groups continue in large areas of the eastern Congo.

“The latest bout of fighting between the M23 rebel group and the Congolese army has increased the pressure on an extremely vulnerable population,” Costello said today. “The UN estimates that about 2.7 million people in DRC have been forced to flee their homes.

‘Blighted by one of the highest levels of sexual violence in the world’

The minister also noted the appalling levels of sexual violence endemic in the country. “On International Women’s Day it is important to highlight that DRC is blighted by one of the highest levels of sexual violence in the world. This is one of the worst places in the globe to be born a woman,” he said.

Costello today allocated €2 million to a UN-managed fund that will enable aid organisations to reach nearly four million people with food, water, shelter, healthcare and education over the course of this year. The remaining €1.8 million will be provided to NGO partners Christian Aid (€450,000), Concern (€450,000), Trócaire (€300,000) and Oxfam (€580,000) to assist them in providing emergency food, water, health and protection to the most vulnerable people.

Costello noted progress in efforts to find a solution to the crisis and welcomed the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework Agreement for the DRC and the Region signed in Ethiopia last month – an agreement reached by the Government of the DRC and 10 neighbouring and regional countries.

However, he said more work was still to be done.

“Over the course of our EU Presidency, Ireland will shine a light on the terrible abuses taking place in DRC and the enormous needs of the people, who have endured unimaginable suffering and loss of life for many years. We will continue to advocate for all those vulnerable populations caught up in long-running conflicts, which are too often forgotten.”

Read: 11 countries to sign DR Congo peace accord: UN

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• mart_n 08/03/13 #

Hopefully the money is put to good use though I’m not in favor of the likes of Christian Aid etc receiving money from the state / tax-payer. Humanitarianism is not their only agenda.

• The problems in DRC are of a different paradigm to the economic issues Ireland has. There can be no relativism here. People may not have a pot to piss in, but there is a state and donor funded infrastructure to help ensure all Irish people have access to at least the basics – there is a public health system, clean water, relatively secure society.

The people targetted for the benefit of the projects funded by these state donations would swap their problems for any Irishman’s negative equity in a heartbeat.

• am i the only one that thinks it wrong we help other countrys but we dont help our own what happened to charity starts in the home

• funding wars is all we are doing

• Barbara, please don’t donate items: shipping them over costs more than they are worth. Most often, buying the relief goods locally is cheaper, and has the added benefit of creating jobs locally too. See http://www.HowYouCanHelp.ie for more information.

• Shame on the government we borrow money to give to other countries so our ministers can massage their egos. All the while people are taking their own lives in this country because they are so poor and indebted. Why don’t the IMF make our govt cop on and stop wasting the money they loan us.

• The basic problem as i see it is that a lot of people see Congolese as ‘other’ and not as their brothers and sisters. Until the planet is seen as one common home of the human race we will see these attitudes. After all, what is the nation state but notional lines drawn on the map of the planet. By the ‘charity begins at home’ logic we have more duty of concern for people in Monaghan than for people in Fermanagh!

• What in hell are they thinking!! We are being crucfied at home with taxes and levys and they are giving away money like the Celtic tiger is still roaring.
    Africa is mess. Not our fault or our problem. Africa by rights should be the Richest continent on the planet but due to Corruption,Tribal conflict and Mis-management its the poorest. And you lot of commies dont start blaming the old imperial powers because the natives have more than enough time to get their house in order since they left.

• We need to sort out our own country first before we sort out others it’s common sense

• Money never goes to the needy. For every $1 donated to a UN agency a report of 80 cents went on admin costs. Recent scam with regards Irish foreign aid should serve as a warning.Charity bandwagon in full flow.
    Cut backs due to austerity the Irish people should come first.Charity begins at home.

• Some of comments on this page are depressing. People in Ireland spend 2 billion euro on gambling, and yet when our Govt. offer 2 million to give water, shelter and food to dispossessed humans all ye can say is it ain’t our problem? Are ye that self absorbed? Our population was halved in the 19th Century. But what do we remember? The people that helped. Native Americans, the Sultan of Oman, the workers all across the UK, people who gave money to help ease our suffering. People who had little, but knew that they could afford to help, and that this help would go along way. Have some perspective on life, for god’s sake.

• We have given time and time again. We have more than repaid any help we received during the famine years so don’t try pull that old chestnut out.

• I didn’t realise humanity was measured on a ledger. How far over the top are we now? Did you take inflation into account?

• Humanity won’t pay your mortgage or your bills other put food in your belly. It might do for someone else thousands of miles away but when the Government comes looking for extra revenue and takes what little money you have left maybe you can feel good about yourself but don’t expect the rest of us to feel the same.

• Mick, you do know that the average industrial wage in Ireland increased this year to €871 per week? Increased. We can pay alright. Our country is becoming inequitable not poorer.

• I and most of the workers in the country would love to know what companies are paying that much and are they recruiting? As I have already let them get their own house in order. Africa has more than its share of natural wealth. Time for them to stop waiting for handouts and making their own way.

• Handouts? I wonder were you complaining about handouts as we received grant after subsidy after grant from the European Union. Our entire agricultural sector is still dependent on handouts. Or are you a free market evangelist? Is that what’s behind your argument?

• And by the way, referring to ‘Africa’ as a singular nation does your argument no favours.

• Liam I am using the Generic term Africa because there too many countries on the Continent that receive hand outs.
      The Government gave over 600 million in over seas aid last year. But yet they are telling Garda, Nurses,Firemen etc to tighten their belts and take the 1Billion in cuts. Stop all over seas aid and there is half the money saved already

• Mick, the Irish Aid Budget has fallen in line with our circumstances. It’s over €300 million less than it was in 2008. Croke Park 2 does not cut core pay for Frontline workers, it affects those on €65,000 and over. No Garda, Fireman or Nurse (or any frontline public servant) is on that kind of money.
      I am bemused at your obsession with cutting the Irish Aid budget to make up these numbers. Do you only think of people with an Irish passport? What are your views on direct provision? I suppose that should be scrapped aswell and all these people deported?

Also your comment re: ‘too many countries’ shows a degree of flippancy about the names of the countries we assist and what the outcomes are. Have not seen the progress reports on Malawi or Ethiopia? The emergency relief provided for in Japan, Mali & Libya?

Since it is your money though, perhaps you should look more closely at what it is being used for, you could start with Bord na gCon, FAS & RTE and by the time you get to Irish Aid we can continue the debate.

• This is more an article than a comment, but there you go….

1. “We should fix the problems in Ireland first.”

Ireland will always have problems. People will always be homeless, hungry or in need of help. There are organizations (some of whom are partially funded by the Irish state) to address this such as St Vincent de Paul, The Samaritans, Simon Community. People fall through the cracks in society in the wealthiest of countries, if we were to wait until everyone single person fully fed, employed and housed before a penny was sent to assisting in developing countries, that penny would never be sent. Less than 1% of Ireland’s GNP is distributed as foreign aid.

2. “All of the money gets stolen by corrupt officials before it reaches the people who need it.”

If this were the case then no projects would be completed. It is a fact that thousands of projects funded by Overseas Development Assistance are completed every year. The successful completion of such projects tends not to make much an impression in our national media – stories of the rare occasions when funds are misappropriated are far more appetizing for the media. It’s hard to say why, but it probably has something to do with people enjoying having their preconceptions reinforced for them and the media knowing that these kind of stories always generate heat.

3. “There was a load of money stolen to pay for fighter planes in Uganda, why should we be paying for that?”

We’re not paying for that. This theft was identified by an auditor who’s position was partly funded through Irish Aid (the section within the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs responsible for managing Ireland’s Official Development Assistance). The money was later returned.

4. “Ireland is broke. We are borrowing money and then giving it away.”

There is a political aspect to this in so far as Ireland is committed to the UN Millennium Project target of contributing 0.7% of GNP to Official Development Assistance. Only a handful of countries – mainly Scandinavian – have achieved this so far. The agreement was made in very different global economic circumstances. There is perhaps an element of being a good global citizen about it. Ireland seems to have a reputation as a nation that will dig in to its pocket for the greater global good. There is also a pragmatic motivation beneath the veneer of a good gesture perhaps – that it is strategic international politics to accentuate any positive perceptions that the international community has of Ireland. To give a little when you only have a little to give can plant a very positive seed of perception – not that I’d agree with such a motivation for overseas funding, but I’m not naive enough to think its not a factor. Plus there are potential mutually beneficial trading opportunities in developing countries which the state would like to be well positioned to take advantage of. Ireland is also in the spotlight with the EU Presidency, and you’ll note that this project in the DRC is a United Nations managed fund, again its about how you hold yourself when the hat is passed round and all eyes are on you. There’s more to it than Irish state altruism. It’s a cost of doing business for foreign policy.

5. “Look at the money that the big charity CEO’s earn. Why don’t they donate that to charity?”

That’s a fair question. But becoming CEO, or – a similar position of high responsibility – of a major Non Government Organization takes a great amount of expertise, experience, and a broad skill set. Presumably salaries are set high to attract the most able candidates.There has to be a pragmatic incentive if you are trying to lure talented individuals to switch from another sector where they already have significant financial commitments due to their existing salary. In most cases I expect that the highly paid staff members of major NGOs would be better remunerated elsewhere. You’ll find at the lower levels of most NGOs that positions are very modestly paid despite many entry level positions requiring a degree to even get invited to an interview.

6. “There’s enormous overheads in charities, that’s where most of the money goes.”

There are significant overheads to every major international operation, yet Concern report that over 90% of their money is spent on Relief and Development, less than 7% on Fundraising, 2% on Development Education & Advocacy, leaving 0.5% spent on ‘Governance”.

7 “The populations are booming in Africa yet we keep sending money?”

Funny what happens when you improve medical facilities and work to alleviate famine. If the new pope could get real about contraception it would certainly help with the demands of population growth outstripping infrastructure in some regions.

AND FINALLY! …..

Aid is not the sole answer to the problems of the developing world. Trade relations misleadingly described as ‘free trade’ keep developing markets insulated from the free market as agricultural subsidies neutralize the comparative advantage of cheaper production that many developing nations would enjoy. There are corrupt tax regimes which ensure that some multinational companies extract natural resources without paying the tax which would develop the national infrastructure and allow some of these “resource rich but regime poor” nations to stabilize.

That Ireland contributes to development throughout a period of great economic adversity is one of the few reasons to be proud of the modern state. Our adversity knows no comparison with those living in failed states who have no number to call when the gunmen come to town.

• Very well put, but im afraid most people wont want to hear this. Read a report some time ago in the German Spiegel (equivalent to the economist) that European nations, through the help of multinational corperations, extract far more wealth from Africa in the form of cheap minerals, high interest rates on bank loans, etc, etc, than it gives back in aid.

• Exactly. Padraic mentions an essential truth, that makes for uncomfortable reading for all the righteous isolationists commenting on this thread.
      Have you heard of the 5:50:500 ratio?
      Each year NGOs have contributed at least $5 billion to the Developing World.
      Each year Governments have contributed at least $50 billion to the Developing World.
      Each year the Developing World loses an average of $500 billion as a result of the unjust international economic system.
      (OECD & IMF based figures – from research by Bertrand Borg & Colm Regan)

“So in short for every $55 billion transferred to the Developing World by the Developed World, $500 billion is transferred in the opposite direction”

• A major problem for most African countries along the west coast in recent years is the overfishing of their waters by large trawlers from the EU, depriving millions of families of an income, who then ironically become dependent on our aid. I can understand that this 3.8 million sounds a lot of money at the moment but it must be seen in perspective. Many European countries (GB, France. Belgium) primarily,owe their wealth to the exploitation of Africa in the last few hundred years, and this continues today but with different and not not so transparent methods. I lived in Africa for two years and was always treated with respect. Many African people have a great respect for us because of our own history. They ar also very aware of the many aid projects that Ireland support accros the continent, and I am shure that one day this will bear fruit for us.

• I am very shocked to note how racist so many Irish people have become in the last few years.When I visited London in the 70 s I was equaly shocked to note how many pubs and restaurants around the Knightsbridge area carried a sign on the door “No Irish”

• And furthermore If I am a corrupt (average) banker in London I can earn 3.8 mil in a few days if not minutes by manipulating the libor,etc. without any fear of consequences or criminal charges. And if I am caught I have made a million and must pay a fine of aprox 100,000. So I am laughing. The bank goes broke, the taxpayer foots the bill. And we are all happy ? Where is our sense of justice ? Why dont people get angry at this ???? Because its easier to blame the Africans.??

• Padraic. UK France the Netherlands Germany Belgium have plundered other countries and particularly Africa for their natural resources. We are a small country trying to survive and have a suicide epidemic, which the government try to play down. Our population is tiny due to both emigration and the famine. We didn’t invade anywhere and asking us to pay huge sums of money every year is a bit like asking us to help the Germans pay compensation for the war

• how does one make donations? i’d really like to donate blankets and bedding…is that possible?

• Good and generous attempt by Irish government to help Congo. One thing worries me immensely. What ever happened to the million or so Rwandan Hutus who fled to eastern Congo at the end of the Rwandan civil war/genocide. I would presume many of them are still in camps there, of whom many would be open to recruitment by extremists. This would be very dangerous for the fragile peace now enjoyed by the Rwandan people. Or is the UN planning on ignoring future problems in Rwanda as they did the genocide

• Aoife 08/03/13 #

Most of the Hutu refugees went back to Rwanda in 1996-7, when Rwanda and Uganda invaded the Congo to chase down the perpetrators of the genocide. There are Rwandan Hutu extremists and genocide perpetrators in the Congo still (the FDLR) – they’re part of the wider conflict. The Rwandan military easily have the upper hand on the FDLR though, so I wouldn’t worry too much about them.

• Thanks Aoife for your enlightening reply. Good to hear that situation is under control. I can’t for the life of me imagine why my comment got 19 red thumbs. Interahamwe sympathisers. ?

• A Modest Proposal For Preventing The Children of Poor People in Ireland
    From Being Aburden to Their Parents or Country, and For Making Them Beneficial to The Public.
    By Jonathan Swift (1729)

http://art-bin.com/art/omodest.html

• AND WE ALL KNOW WHERE THESE MONIES REALLY GO?!!!!!!!!!!!!

• I would strongly feel that for the next few years that we should stop giving aid until we as a country are in a better position financially. Those that disagree…nothing is stopping you from donating directly from your earnings!

• While irish mental health jobs are few, and the oz planes are many.

• Absolutely no money should go on overseas aid when the Government are penalizing the tax payers to the current extent..

• Good to see the ultra left wing pinkos like Liam are out in force.. More than happy to distribute the hard earned taxes of fellow country men to foreign aid… Perhaps Liam should hop on a plane at his own expense and fly over to offer his services in the good fight..!

Get real you idiot.. These countries make their own problems and they should fix their own problems.. For far too long these issues arise in Africa and we all start wringing our hands and dishing out billions in aid that is usually stolen or abused by corrupt officials..

Enough..!!

• The irony in your argument is obviously lost on you. This country had been in debt and relied on loans and assistance since it’s formation. Not only that but we destroyed our own economy and have had to be bailed out. Perhaps we should just give back the money and close the hospitals?

I have been a volunteer overseas on numerous occasions, but perhaps people like yourself should be sent instead. We can set up a podium for you in the middle of the refugee camp and you can pontificate about how they are all on their own and how the tents are going to be collected by the end of the day? Perhaps you may even put forward the argument that instead of receiving ‘handouts’ they should eat their children. It would cut our bills significantly and reduce their population to a sustainable level? Surely you can’t argue against that suggestion?

P.S: thanks for categorising my views as ‘left’ I am sure it makes it easier for you to dismiss what I have to say when you can nod to yourself that I am ‘one of them’.

• ?1.8 million wasted on the leaking pyramid scheme NGOs. I dont want them to have our money.

• It would make more sense to put that money to good use in this country first!

• I’m not being
    Insensitive but I really couldnt give a shit what happens in foreign countrys we have major problems here we should be lucking after our own people first and getting this country up and running again then when everything is in order then give those countrys money or supplies that need help… Africa’s population geta bigger and bigger every year its ment to double by 2027 so are we ment to borrow more and more money every year money that we dont have and will have to pay back on interest tax layers money……….. Nothing but gangsters running our country at the moment

• It’s devastating what’s going on in Africa but lets get real here. People in our own country are suffering, loosing their homes, taking their lives, leaving their country, struggling to feed themselves… The list is endless and the cuts in jobs/wages and added taxes keep coming. Who is looking after the Irish that are suffering?? Certainly not those in power. As others have said, charity begins at home. Look after your own first and if there’s anything left, by all means send it where it’s needed. I wonder would our government donate any of their Own cash to overseas aid??? I think not, how dare they decide to use Ours!!

• obviously the Irish government has never heard the saying ” charity begins at home”. Here is a thought how about they use that money to sort out the mess in ireland, but that’s too much like common sense. probably more interested in looking like the big I am to the Germans and Americans.

• Since billions in aid have been pouring into Africa the population has increased 5 fold. Here in Ireland couples can’t afford to have a baby. When our generous and dwindling population have been diminished I’m sure our african brothers and sisters will still be in need

• A version of our ‘charity at home’ was the Magdalene Laundries. Africa (a continent btw) does need nor ask for charity. Certain countries need to be assisted in their development. The case in the DRC is an extreme example of disaster management, hence the recent announcement. To not act would be unconscionable. This money is not about poverty, it’s literally keeping people alive. Or would you prefer it be spent reducing our deficit? That would be akin to prioritising mortgage payments over feeding your children.

• No I would prefer money to be spent on keeping people alive in Ireland. These countries were carved up by Belgium France Germany and the UK Surely we contributed enough when we could afford it

• We didn’t actually. Even during the boom years when everyone was or wanted to be a landlord (Michael Davitt must have loved that!) we never fulfilled our commitment to overseas development.

• Liam – the money is not “keeping people alive” as you put it. It is being squandered – as is the majority of aid to “Africa”. Get a grip man.

• And as for your landlord generalisation……..says it all about your outlook really. You care more about those abroad than your fellow Irish citizens.

• Good on you Liam.. Volunteer wherever you like, but it does not make the rest of us liable to assist these nations.. Refugee camps are not our responsibility.. The problem in Ireland was caused by people living beyond their means.. You are correct.. But perhaps the other nations should not have poured their cash into Ireland and then the problem would not exist..

Let Ireland sort out its issues and Africa theirs..!

• Liam. You’ve obviously been there and it’s an emotive even watching it on T V. But have u walked through Dublin recently and seen people begging. Do you think these lads are doing this because they want to? Do you think they have a choice? There is a whole lost generation in Ireland. Your obviously articulate and capable and maybe you help some of these people volunteer to go to Africa. I’m sure they’d prefer it to walking round and sleeping rough

• What makes you think that the two are mutually exclusive? Why pit them against each other? Thousands of volunteers & millions of euro in taxes and donations are put towards dealing with homelessness. Social Welfare spending in Ireland increased in 2013 by €150 million. During the boom we did not spend adequately to end long term homelessness. In relation to begging, this is complex and is not necessarily related to homelessness.

• You displaylittle by way on comprehension when it comes to homelessness. an individual will end up on the street with a drug habit having lost everything, family job home and maybe their business. There is a complete breakdown and lack of facilities and these people end up in jail. You seem passionate about Africa and I can imagine saving starving people is a more attractive option for u. So good luck to you but don’t try heaping guilt on people who don’t agree with you

• Train a man/woman. Handouts are useless

• Zaire it’s gonna go to a good cause

• What poor old Liam Hogan does not get is that the vast majority of Irish people now want their taxes used at home.. They are not interested in your desires to help others over the needs of your fellow country men.

It’s Africa’s problem, not ours.. If you want to help them go and do so..!

Add New Comment