TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Health Minister comments on National Broadband Plan, quiet on HSE cuts

James Reilly is expected at the Department of Health offices this morning.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

FOLLOWING A HSE announcement yesterday about imminent cost-saving measures which could see elderly patients lose Home Help hours and force hospitals to reduce staff levels, the Minister for Health has been criticised for his failure to address the developments.

Opposition parties have accused James Reilly of going into hiding, while RTÉ this morning made it clear that it had wanted him to appear on Morning Ireland to discuss the impact the €130 million worth of cuts will have on frontline services. The broadcaster was told he was not available for the show. A senior HSE official, Laverne McGuinness, moved to defend the cost-saving measures in his place.

As questions about where the Minister is continued to surface online, Reilly’s constituency office issued a statement to welcome his colleague’s National Broadband Plan.

Attributing quotes to the Cabinet member, the press release commends Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte for his “hard work and dedication” in getting the plan to fruition. Written yesterday – when the HSE issued its own statement – the statement says:

I am delighted with today’s announcement as Fingal will finally have access to high speed broadband, particularly in rural areas. Today’s announcement means that individuals and businesses will have access to a minimum 30 megabytes per second (Mbps), with more than half the population receiving 70Mpbs – 100Mpbs by 2015.

In this day and age, having access to high speed internet is a basic requirement for people in all walks of life, be they school children, college students, professionals and small and big businesses. It will enable the people of Dublin North to compete on a much wider scale, and give them access to information, products and services right across the world, bringing economic and social benefits across Fingal.

Public funds will be invested in the Plan to ensure that sparsely populated areas are included and Minister Rabbitte has committed to engaging with commercial investors for financial support so that speeds of up to 100Mbps are made available to as many households as possible in Fingal. The Minister has also committed to providing the correct regulatory environment so as to remove any obstacles to private sector investment.

Ireland’s population is more broadly dispersed than that of many other countries so reaching the target will require State investment to encourage the private sector to offer services which would not otherwise make commercial sense.

TheJournal.ie contacted the Constituency Office to inquire whether the Minister would be making a statement on the HSE cuts but no answer could be provided.

A Department of Health spokesperson said that Reilly is expected at department offices this morning and more details would be available later today.

The HSE has said that all decisions on service and staff reductions were made “in collaboration” with the Department of Health. It has argued that the cost-saving measures are required in order to meet targets set by the Government and the Troika. Currently, the health budget is running a deficit of €259 million.

More announcements about further hospital bed and operating theatre closures are expected next week.

Earlier: Health Minister accused of ‘going into hiding’ as HSE makes cuts>

Yesterday: HSE’s €130m spending cut ‘will be vigorously opposed’>

Announcement: HSE announces €130 million in cost-saving measures to meet Troika targets>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• I took the liberty of modifying a portion of the ministers statement.

“In this day and age, having access to high quality medical intervention, facilities and services is a basic requirement for people in all walks of life, be they school children, college students, professionals, the elderly or the disabled.

People should email it to him.

• Done, email sent. Think they should be bombarded with this absolutely disgraceful that he can say high speed internet is a basic right, think the majority would prefer a working health system over internet.

• Reilly is an ass. No wait, an ostrich..

• Mad Taoiseach – I think the word u are looking for is weasel.

• all of those things

• Sinead, may I propose a poll where people agree to answer 100% honestly. Point is that no one wants cutbacks. But, the money is in short supply (if available at all). The funds can only be raised by increasing taxation and reducing social welfare payments ( neither category could do it in isolation). The , Honest ,poll would then be , at a random guess, “are you willing to support a 10% increase in income tax across the board , and a 10% reduction. In all social welfare payments ?”.
      The honesty aspect would be interesting.

• Add coward to that list….100% pure typical Irish gombeen politician who thinks this country will forget his and his fellow politicians bowing and scraping to the troika to pay bondholders and reduce deficits at absolutely any expense. But that isn’t the case…we won’t forget!!

• @ Rory. Money is NOT in short supply. 4 times the amount of the cuts being made to the HSE will be shovelled out to unguaranteed unsecured bondholders, on october 1st another SIX times the amount of the cut will be flushed away. Wake up.

• maura 31/08/12 #

Stop the waste in HSE by office staff. I have seen them collecting children from school and in the local supermarket during working hours. I know most of them and they think this is quite normal and do not see the connection to costs. sorry not in private industry.

• @Rory or NOT bailing out the bond holders. There’s billions saved right there.

• Cutting funds to health services and closing beds while complementing broadband speeds.
    How did this man get so far in politics…?

• Someone managed to find him then? It’s always nice to see these missing persons stories resolved.

So where was he?

• Hang on , I thought Reilly was Minister for Health, whats he doing messing around with broadband ?.
      Oh I know, since the troika is running our country , he has nothing else to do.

• Nationwide Broadband!?
      Yeah right.
      To date we have seen nothing but Fraudband in Ireland.
      That aint going to change.
      You know what?
      If we didn’t have our frigging politicians we wouldn’t need any HSE because nobody would be sick anymore listening to these morons.

• He was hiding with Big Phil, as always a devastating decision made and announced, but the people responsible for decision/area are never around to be held accountable or even answer questions they just roll out some mid-mgt public servant to announce.and read of a sheet,, is this Democracy in action???

• This video would indicate that he may have been in the process of “walking away” or “retiring”.
      http://youtu.be/CDY9dG89iBU

I quote:
      “The day that we don’t keep that promise; the day that we let you down; the day that we let your local services go when there’s nothing to replace it – that’s the day I’ll walk away , I’ll retire.” – Dr. James Reilly

• New rule, Ministers that shy away from making statements about very important public matters get the boot. Correct me if I wrong but is that not part of the role of being a minister. Red Pill or Blue Pill Mr Riley.

• Ryan'O 31/08/12 #

Broadband or hospital beds for the sick…..I know which one I would choose (hospital beds) but then again I’m not a highly paid, over weight, self serving, private nursing home-vested intrests, Fine Geal U-turning lier! Roll on the budget final nail in the coffin for the wannabe blue shirts!

• And roll on the next general election. That’s the only way the majority of the Irish sheeple seem to able to show their anger. What a bunch of cowards we are these days…….

• Yes Enda I have to agree.Courage is rare these days. Some people just will not go out on the street and protest. Like its some kind of disgrace to object to a corrupt government and be seen to do it.

• Reilly wasn’t appointed to fix our health service, he was appointed to implement cuts and impose the german diktat of austerity while making sure the wealthy like himself aren’t touched. Just like the rest of the cabinet, taoiseach included. He’s a bottom line man, like every doctor who makes millions from medicine to the detriment of the doctors and nurses who actually enter medicine to help sick people.

Remember your oath Reilly?

• Hey, he’s turned up, must be a blue moon. Just hang in there minister, another few months and the pensions are secured!

• I get the feeling O Reilly will either resign or be redeployed when the Dail resumes. His handling of the health portfolio has been disastrous.

Plus his money problems are looming their ugly head again. According to the Matt Copper show yesterday Bank Of Ireland have taken ownership of his farm.

• I think you shouldn’t have reported his comments on the Broadband, he shouldn’t get the publicity for them unless he comments on his relevant sector. To be honest, I wouldn’t be asking a networking engineer about the standard of hospitals in Ireland because his answer is irrelevant really! By all means mention that he was available to comment on the broadband, but not available for any quotes on the HSE situation.

I get that he’s representing NCD/ Fingal with these comments – but I just feel he has much more pressing matters to deal with.

• Where’s Enda and Eamon? It’s Labour that will pay heaviest for this particular minister’s ineptitude, standing over disgusting cuts to the elderly and disabled.

• Funny you should mention Gilmore. He was just wheeled out in front of reporters to do reillys dirty work. He just kept repeating “government will ensure those who need care will get it” despite the blindingly obvious fact that this was wasn’t even happening before the €130 million cut.

Shameful

• Actual quote ““My priority and priority of the government is to ensure services needed by the people who need care, assistance and have disabilities are provided.””

……….and to do so we are removing €130 million from the HSE budget and cutting services for older people and those with disabilities including home help.

• Ten out of ten for this Governments consistency in showing its utter contempt for those it hoodwinked to get into power!
    They can’t even face their own electorate yet some people still think they are capable of defending our National interests in Europe. It beggars belief!

• Dr. O Reilly took the hippocratic oath when he became a doctor .I think he should read it again and dont get it mixed up with being a hypocrite.

• reilly is the worst health minister since , er — the last one , at least with Mary Harney everyone knew she was driving the private health agenda, we thought when we actually got a doctor in charge of health he would understand the needs of patients .oh what a buck we got ! he is totally invisible when any bad news is been announced , he sends civil servants to do his dirty work . lets face it the thing is not fit for purpose, to much excess baggage ,slow moving and in need of a good overhaul , Im not talking about the health service — i mean Reilly himself !

• One word springs to mind “Coward”

• I do enjoy going back and finding statements made by politicians.Like the one below from Doctor Death O Reilly,when he was in opposition :

“We spend roughly the same on our healthcare as Holland. They have an excellent system and we have a terrible one. The money is there, but there is waste in a range of areas. When the HSE was set up there were 13 “grade eight” admin staff, but now there are 716. There is huge waste in hospitals, with people needing tests kept in far too long.”

http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=17307

• Of course the “plan” is nothing of the sort, it’s just a bunch of wishful thinking with no commitment to actually do anything except to hire a mapping guy and that’s all that is in there. More smoke and mirrors.

A real plan would be the promised NewEra plan (and Labour plan) with commitments to fibre throughout the state but this?
    Some half-hearted attempt to roll out 4G services and say “there you go”, 4G cannot deliver a guaranteed anything so wishing for it to do so is just plain silly and lazy in the extreme.

• “minimum 30 megabytes per second”
    now everyone knows that there are 8 bits in a byte. and broadband is measured in bits per second not bytes per second. Dr Reilly’s press release claims minimum 30 megabytes which is 240 megabits per second. That would be the fastest minimum broadband on planet earth.

note: Mbps = megabits per second. Reilly’s press release refers to Mpbs which stands for nothing, a lot like the rest of the Fine Gael party

• wonder how many deaths will be caused from lack of funding but what do fine gael care anyways they are writing there own obituary. this must be the tenth broadband scheme been talked about in recent years and still no interweb for many .spend more time laying new lines rather than upgrading those who have good speed already. can’t wait for the next broadband plan

• I’m sure even the most committed blueshirt and smoked salmon socialists are beginning to cop on just how inept this FG/lab government is…

• Great, faster broadband. Soon to be followed by the ‘broadband maintenance scheme’ at €500 a home…you know it’s coming.

• he looks like he needs to see a doctor,minister for health my arse

• Would be very satisfying to discover that Reilly was actually missing while waiting on a trolley (or outside on the steps) in a recently downgraded A&E department.

#Healthcuts, #Missing Minister, #Reilly

• alan 31/08/12 #

and all eamon gilmore could say was that the cuts are ‘regretable’

he should be reminded that he is actually a part of the government that is implementing them

• If his farm is taken from him because he can’t manage his affairs how in Gods name could he manage the Health Portfolio????

• Feckin traitor!

• The new minister for death and lies worse than the last minister for death harney!

• Glad to see you are feeling better Dr Reilly.

• G 31/08/12 #

The whole process is the wrong way around, services should be kept the same and departments made to keep within a budget to provide those much needed services. If that can be done by working smarter and voluntary redundancies for non critical staff while keeping existing pay levels, well and good. If it can’t then pay, which makes up 70% of the budget has to be reduced, as simple as that really. This basic model should be in place across all of the public sector.

• Coward…

• Broadband = Jobs…okay. Slash and burn tactics in health service…..more jobs ,if your an undertaker.

• Truck drivers have tracking devices so why not politicians? That are paid enough and we could see which ones are calling to their girlfriends/ boyfriends houses.

• God that man looks ill in that picture!

• Just like the rest of this government, he’s a troll

• If his farm is taken from him because he can’t manage his affairs how in Gods name could he manage the Health Portfolio????

• Surely he is in breach of the Hippocratic Oath, Doctor Ryan

Add New Comment