TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

HSE announces €130 million in cost-saving measures to meet Troika targets

The agency conceded that it is inevitable that the measures will have some impact on frontline service delivery.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE HEALTH SERVICE Executive has said that in order for it to avoid a budget deficit in excess of half a billion euro, it must implement €130 million in cost-saving measures over the remainder of the year.

Announcing the cuts today, the HSE said it has been set budget targets by both the Government and the Troika and “in order to deal with the existing deficit and to remain within budget”, it is obliged to introduce a range of cost reductions.

The measures have been described as non-operational and include proposals to make savings of €28.5 million in non-capital medical equipment, furniture, education, training, office expenses, travel and subsistence and advertising.

The HSE will also seek €35 million through 50 per cent reductions in the use of agency staff and 10 per cent less overtime across the system.

A 5.5 per cent reduction in the 11 million Home Help hours which cost about €195 million annually should give back €10.8 million to the HSE, while €10 million will be axed from the €1.4 billion Personal Assistants budget. Home Care Packages will also be affected but the HSE claims the impact of these reductions will be minimised through greater efficiencies and direct patient care.

A further €6 million saving is expected through reimbursements for certain products including glucosamine, orlistat and omega-3-triglycerides.

Explaining the cuts, the HSE said it has a statutory obligation to stay within its allocated budget of €13.2 billion for 2012. The deficit as of the end of this month is already €259 million.

“Detailed cost containment plans have been in place across the health service since the beginning of the year. However, there has been an increasing demand for services which has contributed in a significant way to the continuing deficit. Should robust cost reduction action not be taken at this juncture, the HSE faces a potential year-end deficit of €500 million,” it said in a detailed statement.

The HSE has said that “every effort” has been taken to target areas that do not impact on direct patient services. However, it said it was “inevitable that some impact on service delivery will be experienced” as a result.

Yesterday: Outrage at staff cuts and bed closures across Louth and Meath hospitals>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• What overtime??? What training???….. Perhaps empty a few offices and get rid of a few hundred middle managers and the frontline won’t be hit as hard….

• How does €130 million of cuts stop them being over budget when they are going to be €500 million over?

Surely they are still going to be €370 million over budget? Or am I missing something here?

• SNPA 30/08/12 #

It would be helpful if the HSE could put out the right figures. €10 million axed from €1.4 billion personal assistants budget! €1.4 billion is the cost of the whole disability spend, including providing funds to all of the services providers (and I would use the term ‘providers’ loosely).
    It might come as a suprise to people, that some adults with disabilities do have the ABILITY to be productive taxpaying members of our workforce. However, without the assistance of a PA in the mornings, they may soon find it impossible to get ready for work at all. Do we really want to “disable” these people by cutting this essential support to independent living?

• Stop being so sick, sick people ! Its too expensive!!

• The majority of people who actually turn up at A&E don’t really need to be there, it’s treated as a walk in clinic for medical card holders….

• @nocturnal paramedic. I wnet o A and E in limerick one Sunday in January. I had suffered with severe abdomen pain all year and I was told to cut back on drink. I haven’t drank alcohol in 5 years 9 except 1 glass of wine Christmas). After a cursory examination I was told to go home. Later that night I was on the floor and couldn’t breath with the pain. My partner rang an ambulance and he was told they were very busy to try go to the hospital myself. I was at the point of panic and sever pain that I could hardly breath. My partner rang the ambulance fearing the worst and the operator said to “stop wasting their time” and hung up. I eventually got an ambulance an hour later. They made me walk with no assistance to the ambulance and i was doubled over in pain. They took no reading, blood pressure, history ,nothing. I sat in a chair in absolute agony because of the movements of the ambulance on the road. When I arrived at A and E There were two ambulance men smoking outside the door in uniform and they joked and chatted with the driver who opened the back door and walked away and left me creep at a snails pace out of the ambulance and into the hospital. I collapsed on the floor and was helped into the waiting room. I was moaning on the ground and could barely breath and a woman who saw me there for an hour kept pleading for someone to help me. Eventually I was rushed to x ray and a doctor said this to me while I was on the trolley. She said your Pancreas is very swoolen and that is not good. Then she walked away and I was given injections of pain killers and then I passed out. I was in hospital for 9 days getting the inflammation down and 6 weeks later had to have my Gall Bladder removed. All I think about was the ambulance operator saying stop wasting our time. I am a medical card holder only for the last 6 months fortunately and I do now abuse the A and E but i was treated as if i was a non entity. You need to change your attitude as a health professional.

• apologies for the spelling mistakes. I meant to say I do not abuse the A and E.

• Some don’t, SOME, but by and large a huge amount will have been sent by their GP ! It’s an awful thing for someone to say on an open forum , as a member of emergency staff, to off handedly claim
      that most do not need to be there!

• Exactly Brendan. I know some people may look like they are not hurt or in pain but some are and need help. Who in the name of God would spend 4 or 5 hours waiting in A and E for a minor injury? I think the statement is totally unprofessional and an open forum as you rightly put it is the wrong place for a comment like that. Thats the kind of sweeping statement that only serves to dismiss people in waiting rooms.

• My sister works in an A&E in dublin. Believe me there are a lot of people who should not go there but they do.

• @ Chris. I don’t work in or near limerick so I wouldn’t have any dealings with that part of the country but you are right that was an appalling way to be treated…. Wouldn’t happen in my ambulance!!!

To the people who are lambasting me, if you actually came along on a few shifts you would actually see the rampant abuse of the system. I’m not saying ALL medical card holders abuse the system but there are certain sections of society that use an ambulance as a free ride to the hospital with minor ailments… These people do NOT need to be in an emergency department. I’m sorry of it sounds harsh but that’s the FACTS

• Well next time don’t bring them if your positive that they don’t need it! and if you find yourself unsure maybe the patient is unsure of what to do! Im in no doubt people do abuse it , but a paramedic shouldn’t be talking on a public forum saying a lot of people shouldn’t be in there, it spreads a bad image of medical staff as uncaring and more bothered by patients who they have deemed to be abusing the system! That’s all!

• Ok Brendan, sure we’ll all just close our eyes, stick our fingers in our ears and pretend its not happening….. And you wonder why the hse is over budget???

• What you on about? Close your ears and eyes to what?

• Hey brendan its not the paramedics you should be directing anger at its a combination of the people who make the rules and the people who for instance ring an ambulance to take them to outpatient appointments, or the ones who ring an ambulance to bring them to hospital so they can get a lemsip. These are the idiots who are tying up an ambulance when they dont need one and the people in charge are the ones who say every person that an ambulance goes too has to be brought in just incase they get sued for neglect or whatever! These people should be fined very heavily for wasting an ambulances time.

• Not saying it doesn’t happen of course it does, every system and service is abused everywhere! But people can often be hesitant about calling for help , and a paramedic stating that most people don’t need to be there isn’t a positive message or good public image to send to send out!

• Micheal 31/08/12 #

Nocturnal Paramedic is right, there is rampant abuse of the system, both by patients and GP’s.
      A&E is what it says it is: Accident and Emergency. Turning up with hip pain that you’ve had for the last 10 years or high blood pressure that you’ve had for 20 years is neither an accident or an emergency.
      There are other units that look after that kind of stuff: AMAU, MAU, or hell, instead of taking the ticket to your A&E, how’s about going to your GP.
      There should be a GP clinic positioned at every A&E in the country to attend these sort of attendees, as it would free up a lot of resources, beds and money.

• The reason people go to the A&E rather than the GP nowadays, is that medical card holders are treated as second class citizens at the GP stage of the system.
      Tests ,if ordered at all, as many doctors seem to have been instructed to reduce the amount of tests for medical card holders(children with eczema for example are denied allergy tests), may have waiting lists of 8 months or longer!
      Going to the A&E you definitely get improved treatment and necessary follow on services as the consultant sees fit .

• Cuts to home care packages and home help are appalling. People depend on this help to have some quality of life. I’m not been dramatic but with winter coming soon people could die because of these cuts. Home help is often old people only contact with the outside world. Home care packages are mainly geared towards children,here again cuts will have a serious impact on they life of the child and the family concerned. It’s not just the child who needs to home care it’s the whole family. If they want to lead a some what normal life with a sick child, family’s need those hours to interact with other family members and especially other kids who those few hours are precious as mam and dad can devote there attention to them alone and not having to
    Attend to the sick child.

• On a similar note. If anyone has ever listened to the boss of Jack & Jill on the radio. The HSE barely give them much funding. A J&J baby ‘costs’ €50k a year, a HSE one €200k for full time care. They cannot look after children beyond age of 4. If the HSE funded them to the tune of €4 million it would save HSE €16 million a year and still they won’t give them funding. I may have got some figures slightly wrong as the interview was a while ago but the gist runs true. Madness!!

• Diarmuid perhaps you could detail the areas where the saving could be made. That would be valuable rather than just telling us where they should not be effected. I have always been a major critic of the HSE because it is overloaded with Management and lacks the agility of a small Team that can take appropriate decisions as fast as they need. Added to this we have the highest paid doctors and nurses in Europe who are the most highly unionised in Europe. So the chips are stacked against any change. The real problem is that General Practitioners are paid whether they see patients or not and in those circumstance why would they see them? This in turn leads to a thronging of Casualty units where everyone expects to be served as quick as McDonalds and defensive medicine is practiced so that a patient with chest pain stays in to avoid litigation. On top of this old people who should be discharged are allowed (let’s worry about the word later!) to use the Acute Hospital as a Nursing Home because it costs twice as much to run a Public One compared to a private one!.
      Should I apply for a position as Health Supremo because you really need a bastard of the highest order who can take the urgent decisions without interference.

• Get this – I had to see my GP recently to document an assault for a criminal charge.
      My GP wasn’t there, she has left the clinic, so I was told I could see a different GP as it didn’t matter who saw me.
      So, I meet a stranger who has a look, sees that I’m bruised, and cut inside my mouth. Writes a line of text on the pc and charges me €50.
      I am then informed that the Gardaí are charged up to €200 to obtain that one line of information for the purposes of pursuing the case.

Er? WTF?? I can’t be alone in thinking that’s a tad exorbitant..

• This is crazy. Front line services are already at breaking point. People will be neglected and die if front line services are cut anymore. Cuts to Home Help hours means that older, more vulnerable people will be rushed out of bed in the mornings, falls will be more likely, general hygiene care will be rushed which will impact on infections, UTIs etc., and our elders who were told by Enda last Christmas”You did not cause this crisis, you are not to blame” will end up suffering in understaffed geriatric long stay hospitals. This is an outrage! Tear up the IPHA/HSE agreements that make us pay 10-20 times more for our medications than they do in the UK. Will they? Like hell they will, too cosey a cartel!

• Thats right Michael. Its more than an outrage, its sheer bloody minded stupidity
      Cuts to Home Help also means people who could be discharged from hospital wont be and will ‘block beds’ which cost far far more. Home help needs to be developed, which will save huge amounts of money, and result in better care for the patients. Its not rocket science, and it has been done in countries like Australia to good effect.
      If they dont want to spend so much on agency staff – hire full time/ part time staff as appropriate. The recruitment moratorium has not saved money, it just mad some half wit HSE manager look like they were doing something

• God help us all. That translates into 100 people getting an early grave left to die on waiting lists.

• Disband the HSE.

• Micheal Martin’s baby? He wanted a way to distance himself from the political heap that was the Health Ministry, so it wouldn’t have harmed his chances of becoming Taoiseach down the line.

If he had played straight and acted in the best interests of his country, he may have been reviled by FF for doing so but he would not be the toxic has been in most people’s eyes that he now is.

Honesty is the best policy.

• Barry 30/08/12 #

Yes, and then we can have the south eastern health board, western health board etc etc…it’ll work perfectly!
      again……

• The HSE remains a good idea, central decision making for the good of all, however it was badly planned, why throw the baby out with the bath-water, bring in good people and remove the wasters

• Disband the goverment

• Does the Troika realise the Health boss is in Stubbs?

• Zoltar 30/08/12 #

‘According to the Chief Medical Officer of Ireland, a 30% reduction in alcohol- related harm would result in a cost saving to the Exchequer of €1 billion’

‘If we reduced alcohol-related harms by 30%, we would save 30 lives per month and 600
    overnight hospital admissions per day’

Chief Medical Officer of Ireland, Dr. Tony Holohan

A former government adviser on drugs has told MPs that alcohol consumption would fall by as much as 25% if Dutch-style cannabis “coffee shops” were introduced in Britain.

http://alcoholireland.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/aai_pre_budget_submission_2011_and_the_case_for_minimum_pricing1.pdf
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/jun/19/david-nutt-alcohol-cannabis-cafes

• Neil 30/08/12 #

Another cut that will cost lives.

• €130 million to be cut from the HEALTH service and that tosser Leo Varadker or whatever his name is wants to spend millions on wifi for public transport how can that possibly make sense?

• After the disaster of Cowen’s cronies, it was so exciting to see the new govt. in place 18 months ago. But where are we now? Health is a bigger disaster than it ever was and the Minister responsible seems to have more personal problems that deter him from “biting the bullet” in the job he is being paid to do! God only knows what awaits us in the December budget – I assume Angela has started to frame it by now!

• The irish Management of the health system is obviously shambolic and needs serious fixing , but i know its populist to blame everyone but i completely fail to see how or why having a cut at Angele Merkle has anything to do with how we got things into this mess , ah yeah let’s blame the Germans , the Europeans , the IMF , Jesus lets blame anyone and have a cut at them , but it ignores the facts , the irish health system has been a political football for successive Irish Governments for years…..I’m pretty sure Angele Merkle had sweet FA to do with it.

• John it suits our politicans to let you think outside forces are framing our budgets,this is BS the troika dictate the bottom line but how they get there is all the handiwork of our homegrown idiots.

• I see Enda kept his promise!

5. Healthcare for All
    Radical Reform of the Current Health System (2011–2015)
    Universal Health Insurance (2016–2020)
    Making the Current Health System More Efficient

• Just cut the hangers on and reduce them “consultants”hire real staff not friends of friends who know someone. The thing is on its last legs and the powers to be don’t seem to give a damn once their friends are all right jack.

• Outrageous!!

• oh yeah cut the homehelps and the accident and emergencies will definately be packed ud think james reilly would have more since being a doctor and all

• Cut all the public nursing home beds!nReal patriots like the minister have private beds they need to fill??

• Why does it cost twice the cost to provide a public nursing home bed compared to a private one. If some of the arch critics on this site just paused for moment we could provide twice the beds of we ran these homes as private owners do. We could then call them Private Nursing Homes and everyone would want a bed in one……am I missing something? Ah yes let’s just blame the Minister for Health as he should have sorted all of this out after eighteen months! Let’s get real.

• Well said Niall

• If we keep on with these sort of cuts we will soon have a health system that treats no patients but pays a lot of expensive medics and their managers very well indeed.

SCRAP CROKE PARK NOW!

• R⊕B 30/08/12 #

What kind of country do we live in that the Government do not value or look after the elderly and the disabled. These cuts are disgraceful. My heart goes out to those people whose lives will be affected directly.

• TNR 30/08/12 #

Reduce number of visits a medical card holder can make to GP unless patient has a condition requiring regular visits, reduce flexi time option, have a clock in system for social workers and mental health staff, get rid of mileage, don’t cut paramedics and nursing staff or no of beds. HSE admin staff, IT people are completely spoiled in their jobs and know it !

• Diarmuid 30/08/12 #

Yes saving must be made but as usual Govt are targeting the wrong areas. It’s not rocket science to work out that it costs a lot more to keep a sick child or elderly person in hospital in hospital yet the very services that provide home care are been cut. Tackle cost of drugs,GP costs tackled,theatres open for longer hours, having them closed is an inefficient use of costly equipment. Another area is the issue of hospitals The CUH in Cork should the centre of a spiders web of trauma centres. Everyone should have to attend these first with only the most serious refered to CUH

• its the same old story.
    The HSE managers fcked up the accounts, and who are they punishing?
    The vulnerable and the front line staff.
    the very people the HSE is supposed to protect and support.

I dont know what the full solution is, but it seems obvious that if there are major budget over runs, someone/all of them in management are
    NOT
    DOING
    TheiR
    FREAKIN
    JOBS (sorry for shouting but really…..)
    and the cuts must start with them
    Simples

• It needs to be cut from the top down not up! Too many chiefs not enough indians!

Ridiculous that front line services be cut when all the fat cats are laughing at the top!

• The State id spending €70bn this year, surely there is a better way to save money than cutting home care for older people.

• Home helps have no contracts, so the HSE can do what they like to them. Hours have already been cut by 50% in some cases. Thats half a persons wages gone at the stroke of a pen with warning. Now another 5.5%??

• It was funny in the 80′s in the UK, not funny any more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-5zEb1oS9A

• If we had a central doctor triage system for everyone who wishes to go to a and e or call an ambulance we might actually get the proper accidents and emergencies into a and e departments. If everyone had to ring a central number and if there was a bank of suitably qualified doctors screening all the calls they could advise on appropriate action 1) this is an emergency which needs urgent paramedical / medical care :we will send an ambulance to you 2) this requires you to attend an a and e in the next 4-5 hours so please make your way there. 3 ) this condition needs GP review and does not require a and e input Please contact your GP or your local GP out of hours service which can deal with your problem 4) I understand your concern so let me give you some advice which may help.

I think this kind of triage linked closely to ambulance control centres would reduce the numbers just showing up at A and E with sore throats etc.

• The simple answer is paramedics should be allowed to treat and discharge. Ie if we attend a patient and we deem they don’t need to go A&E we can refer them on to the appropriate clinic/gp. This is happening in the uk. At the minute we are obliged to take the patient even if they have a broken nail….

• If they are cutting the HSE what will happen the poor sick people.
    In time of emergency or need of home care or ambulance.
    Is a good idea of the Minister cut the health and increase the cemeteries and the funerals.

Add New Comment