TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Jill Meagher: Police in Australia release CCTV footage

Police say they have no suspects in relation to the disappearance yet but they want to talk to a man in a blue hoodie who talked to Jill as she walked home.

A still from the CCTV footage
Image: YouTube Screengrab

POLICE IN AUSTRALIA have released CCTV images which they believe will help them in their investigation into the disappearance of Irish woman Jill Meagher.

The 29-year-old has not been seen since the early hours of Saturday morning.

The footage shows the missing woman outside the Duchess Boutique on Sydney Road in Brunswick at about 1.40am. It also includes six other people walking by the store’s front door within a short period of time and detectives have called on those people to contact Crime Stoppers as soon as possible.

Detective John Potter told a press conference that they are “particularly interested” in talking to a man in a blue top who is depicted in the footage “and appears to be talking to Jillian”.

There may be a rational explanation to what’s happened but he certainly could help us.

He added that the conversation between the two appears “casual”.

“We don’t know whether she knows the man. It appears to be a casual conversation struck by looking at the footage. But we don’t know,” he said, adding that they believe Jill is holding her phone at the time.

The footage shows another man looking back over his shoulder shortly before Jill and the man in the blue jumper walk past.

“Particularly the man who looks back must have seen something going on. Whether it be a conversation we don’t know,” the detective told reporters.

The man that looks back obviously has seen something. We don’t know what it is but something’s caught his attention.

Police say they are already reviewing other extensive CCTV from the area, as well as details from more than 140 calls received from potential witnesses.

(YouTube credit: 3AWRadio)

Jill went missing after leaving Bar Etiquette, where she was socialising with colleagues, at 1.33am Saturday.

Potter said that police hold great concerns for Jill and her welfare as she hasn’t accessed her bank account or used her mobile phone since.

There are no suspects at this time and Potter confirmed that her husband Tom Meagher is not being treated as such.

During the press conference, it was confirmed that he made a number of phone calls to his wife in the early hours of Saturday morning before going out to look for her.

Investigations continue into whether the handbag, found in a laneway on Monday, was planted there, removed or missed during an initial search. Jill’s mobile phone has not been recovered. She had made a phone call to her brother in Perth at 1.45am about 400 metres from her home to check on the health of her father.

Her brother Michael, who has now travelled to Australia to help in the search efforts, said Jill had sounded uneasy on the phone and hung up abruptly. She had not answered when he tried to call her back.

Two searches have been carried out at the apartment shared by Jill and her husband. Six bags of potential evidence have been removed.

Yesterday: Jill Meagher identified on CCTV as police investigate ‘planted’ bag>

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Maybe the bag was left on the ground and some opportunist swiped it in the morning, then when they realised it was to do with the case, left it back where they found it. Because I can’t think why the attacker would put it back.

• It’s a fairly ok view of the blue hoody guy. He passes three times so hopefully someone will recognise him and he can help in some way even if he is innocent.

• Journal,
    Can’t you just delete all the comments from Michelle and in reply to her too (mine included) because its getting more attention that the actual article itself. Clearly it’s not supposed to be a free for all discussion about other unrelated topics

• Perhaps you can delete the video and just post a picture of the man that the police are intrested in.
      This is not an episode of a soap opera, a woman is gone missing on the far side of the world and the media are using video footage to titillate a bunch of voyeurs and keyboard poirots!
      Why?
      Because its cheap, in every sense of the word.
      Tune in soon for an update!

• Do you have a picture of the man Michelle?… This is getting ridiculous.

• Michelle – I suppose you could be trolling, but it sounds to me like you’re hurting a lot about something and have chosen a poor place to express that. Can I suggest that you get the support and help you need and deserve off line. Console and Living Links are two groups doing good work with those bereaved by suicide. There are also many other support groups that might be a more appropriate place to name your rage and hurt. If you need help its there – but fighting with people online won’t solve whats hurting you. Take care.

• She’s standing like she doesn’t know the guy (at least well). Maybe he was asking for directions or trying to engage her conversation and she was trying to get rid of him? Really hope she’s found safe soon, but as time marches on I fear the worst.

• Really not the time and place to be talking bout suicide when clearly this is about a woman going missing, public knowledge is vital in a case like this.. hope and pray this woman is found soon.

• I really hope this ends well but at this stage I doubt it. CCTV footage is always erie to view in my opinion. The thing with the bag instantly reminded me of the Philip Cairns disappearance because the same thing happened with his school bag.

• This gave me the shivers, mainly because it appears that she’s backing away from him. I hope she’s found ok soon but Unfortunately I fear the worst for the poor woman.

• As a father, this is a very scary and worrying story. May I please ask people (not only ladies) to avoid walking home alone at night and if a friend decides to, offer to accompany them or get a taxi for them. It’s a shame that the world has come to this but I’m afraid that this is the reality of modern life.
    Hope this story ends happily but I fear the worst.

• SMcB 26/09/12 #

I hope for a happy end here too but it’s not looking good. Would agree with your comment – Personally I’ve walked home myself many nights in the past but I no longer do this for my own personal safety.

• Michelle.
    I think you must be in need of some attention and you are just trying to get a reaction with stupid comments like that. If after reading this piece all you could think of was posting irrelevant comments to get a reaction !
    FairPlay you got my reaction but if I wrote it here it would be removed !!

• She appears disorientated & the man obviously aware of this returns for his reasons? Unfortunately the footage shows no clear picture of him to anyone who may know him to make a proper identification. I fear the worst for this girl!

• If you didnt know him It would very hard to recognise him , but if someone does know him and saw him at any stage that day they will have very good idea from his gate , size , hair colour , what he was wearing , if he was in the location to provide cops with a name , IF it is him or not ,I hope to they close in on the miserable cowardly animal real soon .Lets just hope that she may yet get out of this , our thoughts are with you Gill!

locality etc that it might be him

• She actually called her brother in Perth. He was in Perth, Australia, and flew to Melbourne from there the next day.

• Anyone who knows the blue-hoodie guy would recognise his head, gait and clothes. It’s a matter of doing the decent thing and picking up the phone. Even if he’s innocent, it’ll free up resources to find her. The man who looked back is recognisable too. What a horrible, despicable crime. Her husband and family must be going up the walls. May they keep up their strength and hope.

• After seeing that I fear the worst … it certainly does look like she is quite weary of him .. I hope my fears are wrong I really do but its not looking good for her … I hope the police can trace this guy he does look very shifty … prayers going out to the family hope shes found safe and well

• All very strange … Man in blue walks by alone then returns going back towards jill and then walks by again with jill .. She seems to be standin on edge of road as far back as she can from him as if he was giving out to her … Is he someone who was in the pub with her ? A work mate ? Was he wearing gloves ?? He looked very skinny would he be able to over power her alone ??? I think the police should be able to nail this soon .. Fingers crossed ..

• The guy in the red passes right by the guy in the blue hoodie as he walks back towards Jill – surely he knows something.

• Michele never heard such rubbish coming out of someones mouth, this girl is missing and your going on about suicide totally different matter and the wrong article to be commenting on about it.
    This is news and I hope this poor women comes home safe and that you keep your ridiculous comments to yourself.

• Of course everybody hopes she is found safe and well.
      I just know of a teenager who killed herself because of cyber bullying, no media coverage was given to her, this is a growing problem and I am just wondering how the media don’t give coverage to other stories?
      We can make a difference in some people’s lives but only if there is some discussion of it.
      I am not trying to hijack this issue in any way.
      I am just asking why?

• Because this is the appropriate forum to voice our opinions on this particular story. Now take your self righteous indignation elsewhere.

• reds 26/09/12 #

@Michelle- Are you actually for real?

There is plenty of articles on both cyber bullying and suicide in The Journal.

Again, for your lack of empathy and cop on, here is another link for you- http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-bullying-social-networks-608901-Sep2012/

And both of these have been topics in the last few days.

If you feel so strongly on those topics, post your opinions in those articles where your opinion might be listened to. Now move on and stop trolling and have a bit of respect!

• Micchelle, I presume you’re taking the pi55.
      Or are you looking for a suspension of all other news articles until the suicide issue is solved?

• Michelle your an absolute clown!! have you no heart at all?? front page news of the mirror about that poor girl who killed herself due to cyber bullying… no coverage? tragic story yes but this is not the place to have that discussion. show some respect please… to both the poor girls… one who is gone too soon and the other who Will please god turn up safe and sound

• If you look back through the articles in the Journal you’ll find that Michelle has form for this sort of thing. Don’t give her the satisfaction of a reaction (which I’m doing in an indirect way).

• She looks to me to be slightly intoxicated hence the unsure- footedness, and she also seems to be distracted by her phone. there are plenty of cabs passing by, one would think that if she felt in danger she might have tried to hale one. Very disturbing stuff!

• i was just looking at that too, counted 25 cars ( including at lease 6 taxis) and a bus, one taxi stops at the other side of the road at 1:19 and leaves at 1:36, drop off or pick up? the man enters the footage around 12 seconds later and seems to be looking back at the woman.

Hopefully this footage will jog the memory of those who passed by either walking or driving.

• I wonder if it isn’t the high heels. They’re very high. That was the first thing I noticed when I saw her. High heels can throw the centre of gravity off, especially while standing, and make it look like you’re drunk. When she started to wallk off she looked sober enough, imo.
      I think she must have been talking to her brother just then because she had the phone to her ear.
      This is just awful. So sorry for her family in Australia and back here and her father not well.

• Mary.. She was in the bar all evening,I dont think it was the high heels.The Aussies papers showed the road back to her house,even in the day time it looked dangerous never mind in the early hours of the morning.It also seems that other women reported been aproached by a stranger in this area aswell.

• Chilling footage, it looks to me like the guy in the hoody was stalking the area, walking back and forth & might have had an accomplice. If she walked down the lane & was on the phone she mightn’t have realised she was being followed. Really hope they find her, must be devastating for her family.

• He seems to be cajoling her to go with him. To me it looks like how I would reacte if someone I vaguely knew but didn’t particularly trust offered to walk me home. I would make excuses and more than likely phone someone. I just hope I would have the sense to thrust my instincts and hail a cab or something. She definitely looks nervous and unsure when she follows him away.
    It’s like he’s waiting for her, knowing she’s walking home on her own.
    Also, at the same time that the guy looks back over his shoulder towards them there’s a car (a cab?) pulled in across the road. I hope either the driver or passanger saw something.
    I really hope this CCTV means someone comes forward with information.
    The poor family.. I can only imagine the torment they are going through.

• Eh all I said was that Michelle was a TROLL. Which she clearly is. Why in gods name did u delete that comment? Over some sick woman leaving inappropriate comments on a missing girls article.. My god. Fix your priorities journal.

• Aine 26/09/12 #

There is an awful story from july, dutch backpacker was attacked after being told she was being followed. same area, time of night etc.
    http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/youre-being-followed-backpacker-sexually-assaulted-after-con-20120801-23dvb.html

• Looking at that story it seems quite plausible for the scenario in the CCTV. Especially the way she looks over her shoulder just before walking off with him.
      Also, just a small observation, the guy in the dark top looks over his shoulder twice. It’s hard to make out because there’s an obvious jump in the footage right when it happens. At 1.24 and 1.25. His curiosity was definitely caught by something.

• I heard on news awhile back they have identified some of the ppl in the footage … hope and pray we get some good news

• think the guy in blue may very well know what happened, from his gestures he’s more or less following Jill and insisting on talking to her, she looks uncomfortable. with the few drinks she probably didn’t realise the danger and thought he’d eventually leave her alone. id often rather walk home on my own than put someone out of their way but after this I think I’ve finally got a bit of sense. scary and chilling watching the CCTV hopefully someone will come forward with information to help find Jill.

• Yea definitely looks like she’s being harassed….by guy in blue…seems like he stalked her out as he passes by the window going opposite direction,turns back with hoodie up towards Jill then returns with her a moment later…mind u. .shes keeping her distance!
    Only thing that doesn’t fit in is…if this guy was responsible. ..would he return a day r so later and plant the bag…MAYBE? But surely the Police didn’t miss it on the initial search. ..Something isn’t quite right…as its a busy enough street. …hard to see how nobody would have spotted something. ..especially Taxi drivers who would always be scouting the kerbs for business ? ??

• Laura 26/09/12 #

There’s a gap of 5 seconds in the CCTV footage. It covers the moment the man walks away from her. You can see him through the glass of the window up to 47 seconds before he disappears and the tape continues to 52 seconds. Did anything happen before he walked away from her? Just an observation.

• Oh j just hope she is found Safe Nd well please god !! They have to chat to the guy in the blue !!!

• I reckon the guy looking back over his shoulder is so important in all of this. The guy in the blue probably isn’t going to come forward, innocent or not, out of fear. But the guy looking over his shoulder could tell the police what was happening before they moved into view. My thoughts are with Jill and her family.

• he does look to be bothering her, he defo wasnt with her coming up the street because he came back past the shop, prob with a few drinks she prob taut he was just annoying and being so close to home taut she d just walk on, we have all been stopped by peole on nights ot looking to share a cab or looking for a cigarette, ud usually just brush em off but the scary thing is shes on her own, but as a few people have said 2 guys walked directly past him, one even looking back surely he wud remember if they were just aving banter or if this man was hasselling her, and i thing its a big possibility that sumone randon took d bag next morning and wen they realised how serious it was put it back. Poor girl not looking good but you wud never know shocking as people said there were taxis passing and someone has to have seen something think as the time goes on more info will come to light.

• It’s hard to tell with no sound, but I know this is how I would look if I realised I might be in danger – looking back up the street, contemplating just going back, and I think her phone is in her hand, like she’s about to call someone. But there could be a logical explanation. Maybe something was happening up at the top of the street and that’s why she and the other passer-by were looking back.

• Worryingly he seems to have one hand in his pocket at all times. Is he concealing some form of weapon . Undoubtedly she is troubled by him but decides to take her chances and continue on. It seems the short remaining journey involved a dark alleyway and a rail tack. On can certainly identify some of his features on freeze frame. One has to fear the worst.

• @Aine – just had a look at that article you posted and the efit of the attacker in that story is worryingly like the man in the blue hoody who appears in the CCTV footage of Jill. :-(

• Sinead 26/09/12 #

I have the ‘uh-oh’ feeling just from watching that – god love her poor family! I hope to god they find her soon and that story of the Dutch backpacker was just a one off….

• I think the two of them know each other. They had an arguement and he storms ahead , then goes back.

It is too public a place to be making an abduction attempt.

• I regret to say that was a hunch I had too when I saw this! If she was really fearful at this time – start screaming or hop in a taxi, there’s plenty passing!

If this has ended tragically and this guy is responsible – the next step is extremely difficult for him to take in such a public location!

All very very strange!!! :(

• i doubt he knows her you can see she is backing away from him and pausing hesitantly and you can see his right hand gesturing like he’s trying to say….its ok calm down…i hope her family get some news soon but it does not look good

• js1711 26/09/12 #

Does this article infer 2 possible abducters?nhttp://mobile.news.com.au/national/missing-woman-jill-meagher-seen-on-cctv-speaking-to-man-in-blue-hoodie-before-vanishing/story-fncynjr2-1226482146903

• I really don’t think this article needs any amateur Sherlocks commenting or talking about this case like her family/friends aren’t reading it. It’s not for us to dissect the what ifs and maybes…let’s just spread this so that anyone who might recognise the people involved can get a chance to see it and leave the sleuthing and speculation to the people who are trained in it(and who know how to be sensitive about it!)

• i dont know this cctv looks funny the guy walked past 2 times like he is waiting for som1 the 2nd time he is walking with jill like she knows him he even stoped just at the end of the shop saying something to her its hard to understand she has her mobile out as well why didnt she call someone

• and for the guy to look back at whats happening there is an argument going on bettween her and this guy

• Well his interviews demonstrates nervousness moreso than emotion. That’s all I’ll say on it.

• I am deeply sorry for this woman and her family but I don’t understand how the media gives so little time to people taking their own lives.
    everyday my children are coming home from school and telling me about another teenager they know is dead.
    These are the issues that should be discussed, or should at least be given more coverage.

• I think one woman who goes missing in Australia is given more media time than the thousands of people who are dying every year is a travesty.
    We can’t do anything to help her, we can articulate our sadness that this has happened and that is how it should be but perhaps media forums should spend a little more time discussing the issues that are a daily issue and maybe less people will die.

Add New Comment