TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Judge slams Quinn family’s dishonesty

Court extends freezing order on Quinn family assets in Dublin Commercial Court.

Bankrupt ex-billionaire Sean Quinn leaving the High Court in Dublin last month
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE QUINN FAMILY have presided over a scheme of mesmeric complexity that “reeked of dishonesty and sharp practice”, the judge presiding over the commercial court said today.

Extending orders to freeze the assets of Sean Quinn’s children and his two sons in law Stephen Kelly and Niall McPartland, Mr Justice Peter Kelly said that he was having to deal with an increasing number of cases involving “national and international fraud, sharp practice, chicanery and dishonesty”. However, he had never seen anything on the scale demonstrated by Sean Quinn and his family.

Mr Justice Kelly made the remarks as he granted an application by The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC), formerly Anglo Irish Bank, to appoint a receiver over the worldwide assets of various Quinn family members. He also froze the assets of Sean Quinn junior’s wife, Karen Woods, who the court heard had received more than €320,000 from Russian companies since April last year.

He will hear applications by the Quinn family on Tuesday next week for living expenses. He will also hear an application by lawyers for Peter Daragh Quinn to be allowed to stop representing him.

A nephew of Sean Quinn Senior, a warrant has been granted for Peter Daragh Quinn’s arrest for contempt of court. Sean Quinn’s son, Sean Quinn junior, has already started a three month sentence in Mountjoy prison in Dublin for the same offence.

He was jailed for three months last Friday for breaking court orders not to interfere with the Quinn family’s €500m international property portfolio.

Local GAA club stands by Quinn family>

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Just watching the 6 news , a Limirick mad gets 3 years for non payment of vat ,, 182,000 euro he owes ,,,, so Mick Wallace should get 20 odd years ,,, mr Quinn ???? Any one work that one out

• Dishonesty and sharp practice…now where have we not heard that before..?

• Lets hope he slams the doors behind them as well..

• Justice Kelly is merely pointing out a human trait that lives within most humans.
      It is called greed.
      Quinn is no doubt at the top of the greed scale.
      Where do you rate yourself?
      Or have you never evaded tax or accepted undeclared cash for a nixer etc?

• No on both counts mutt…difference here is that human trait has played a huge part in burying this country. I hardly think a guy doing a nixer on a Saturday mornng in any way equates to what this crowd have done and the consequences of their actions.

• Well stray mutt. Your name certainly suits you. You must have been down the road with some other dog when the story if Anglo is talked about. he invested in a fraudulent system hence he ain’t the one that should take all the blame

• He was a willing participant in that fraudulent scheme, the sole purpose of which was to dig Quinn out of the hole he had already dug for himself.

• I feel very sorry for the Quinns. I used to be a part of the red thumb brigade and I was anti Quinn until I read an extensive interview Sean Quinn gave to a paper last Sunday. To get both sides of any story is important. Let’s remember that this is probably Ireland most successful businessman ever who in the last decade paid over 1 billion in taxes to the state as well as give thousands of people good employment. He also had 30% market share of the UK car insurance market which is incredible for any Irish company. What did he do wrong? He unwisely chased his losses and borrowed from a commercial bank with an (alleged) criminal management team. He NEVER borrowed ONE CENT from me or any Irish tax payer. It was our gombeen Government who decided to save the faceless German bondholders from any losses at Anglo and instead pass it onto the Irish tax payer. Quinn was capable of paying off all his loans and with BDO accountants he came up with a very real plan to pay it back over 7 years. The Anglo board never met him!! Instead they needed a scapegoat and by the hatred on this site they certainly achieved that. They then broke up his successful companies removing his ability to repay. The man has paid his price, he deserves to hang onto something. He worked hard enough all his life and none of us would be any different. Remember he never borrowed one cent from the government or any tax payer. Red thumb away ……………..

• Well put Dec, nice to see a comment from someone who was anti Quinn retaining an open enough mind to have that opinion changed by further reading/research

• New Poll:
      Have you ever concealed 500 million euro worth of assets?
      [ ] yes
      [ ] no
      [ ] I don’t know

• Dec, did you even bother to read what the totally independent Justice Kelly said about the Quinns, not what his PR company got into a Sunday paper. It’s bad enough that he engaged in dodgy practices to try take over Anglo, but now that the taxpayer has those loans he is doing everything he can to put assets out of reach of the taxpayer. Without prejudicing a trial the judge came as close as he could to saying Quinn and his family are a bunch of crooks. He deserves not a jot of sympathy.

• @ our politically appointed independent judges?? Are those the ones you are talking about?… Yeah right

• “…However, he had never seen anything on the scale demonstrated by Sean Quinn and his family.”

And we still probably don’t know the half of what they were up to and/or hidden away!

• There’s a Facebook page out there hailing this guy as an “Irish Legend”.

It’s like Stockholm syndrome, and it seems to be affecting a percentage of lickspittle idiots within the counties of Cavan and Fermanagh in particular.

Buy ‘em a hurling pitch and you can do what you like, it seems.

• I don’t live in Cavan or Fermanagh and yet I feel Quinn is being scapegoated. Does that put me in the ‘lickspittle idiot’ category Ryan? Mr Kelly has been pro Anglo from Day 1. These guys like to stick together!

• Yes it does Edel. Anglo is the only problem here. Quinn is equally corrupt (and inept)

• Ryan,

You have obviously an in-dept knowledge of the Quinn Group on the border region. In a region that is economically deprived, the Quinn Group provided thousands of jobs. While the IDA has provided a net loss of jobs in Cavan over the past ten years, the Quinn Group provided hundreds. They have provided thousands of jobs to the area since it’s inception. As for your very descriptive language, “lickspittle idiots”, I think your level of knowledge on the topic indicates your ability is below par. Probably a low achiever, who spends his time trying to validate himself by putting others down.

• I am not from Cavan I think Quinn will get justice in the end for the evil tricks been played on him. All you begrudges should be ashamed.

• Brian 25/07/12 #

The question is: did they break the law? Not: what have they done for their region/locals?

• Halfwit ii

• Suck it up lads. You were greedy like lots of other people. No reason you should be exempt from suffering like everyone else.

• finbar m 26/07/12 #

The name says it all !!!!!!

• One way of sorting Sean Quinn Jnr and the father out would be to transfer him to Portlaois and stick him in a cell with John Gilligan for a nice romantic weekend guaranteed dad will have the 1/2 billion back to Anglo by friday if not just stick seanie senior in with some of the Mc carthy Dundons .
    We seem to be pussy footing about with these people for years and getting nowhere

• He has already paid more than half a billion back…

• Only 2.5 billion to go so…

• Y.F. 25/07/12 #

A much disputed 2.3 bn. Of course Anglo have to show the population of the country that Sean Quinn has done wrong. They have to make him out to be a crook before his case against THEM comes to court. If Quinn wins his case against Anglo (ie. the government), they’ll will be dancing round the courtroom like Rumplestilskin, in rage. How dare a country bumpki, like Quinn take on the government? Who does he think he is? I hope he wins!

• Y.F. 25/07/12 #

* bumpkin

• Jerry,

You say Sean Quinn snr should share a cell with John Gilligan for a “romantic weekend”. You are obviously trying to imply male rape. You are obviously a very high brow person. As for pussy footing about with these people do you mean, people who have been successful. The nature of entrepreneurs is an inherent disregard for money. So why not return to a bar stool in your local pub where you are spout your dribble. The likelihood is that no one will question you. If that is the case, the reason for that is they are not that intelligent.

• LOL Tom, you’re a laugh riot.

• Tom
      The reason for the Quinn families present difficulties are not due to there financial circumstances or there row with ANGLO but there complete and utter disregard for our judicial system That is the only reason one of them is at present in jail and the other is on the run.
      Sadly I have to leave the bar stool at closing time as I to have to abide by the laws of state

• Jerry,

The reason the Quinns are in the situation they are is because the previous management of Anglo lent money to the Quinns to manipulate the share price. They then also got them to sign guarantees after the fact in a very dodgy manner. And after that they got them to sign documents saying that they received legal advice. One to the people involved was around 19 at the time. That is the reason they are in this situation.

• Yes Tom and they held guns to the back of their heads while they signed. What rot! They were over 18, had their own legal advisors and did it anyways. Their attempts to hide assets which legally the taxpayer, through IBRC, are entitled to shows them up for the crooks they are. I’m delighted Justice Kelly is on the case, in the past few years he has shown himself to be one of the fairest judges around taking on banks when he believes they were being too harsh on people in difficulty. When you hear what he said in court about the Quinns you realise just how bad they are.

• He gambled by knowingly removing monies that should have been held in technical reserves to cover the costs of insurance claims as they arose & used it to invest in other, frequently highly risky, businesses. Basically gambling with peoples livelihoods.

• Edel,, well if he has paid half a billion back good for him , il call in a few weeks for the other 2.3 billion

• Little history for everyone Quinn got himself into trouble trying to buy Anglo Irish Bank, nobody made him, he did this himself. The money trying to be recovered is on behalf of the Irish taxpayer lets not forget.

• @ Avon Representatives, if you were made redundant from Quinns then Quinn gave you the job in the first place. He created thousands of jobs. If the Quinn proposal had been accepted by Anglo then Quinn would have had the 2.8 billion paid off in 7 years and have created 1000 jobs. This proposal was passed by the Deutsche bank. Anglo’s decision not to go with the Quinn proposal cost you your job. Also it has been proven since that they had enough cash reserves. Please God the Quinn V Anglo will get to the courts.

• censored 25/07/12 #

Damn ingrates.

• alan 25/07/12 #

You have to laugh at all those people who still support Quinn. Because Quinn certainly is

• Edel a hard working person of this country that’s who I am and why should I and my kids pay for the quinns greed

• You are paying for Anglo’s greed…..40 billion.
      Anglo are trying to blame Quinn although even they claim that he owes 2,8 billion…..this fact is being disputed.
      I agree with being angry for having to pay for others’ mistakes but I don’t see why Quinn gets all the flack and Anglo none.
      And, yes, I agree that he was greedy.

• Y.F. 25/07/12 #

Finbar, i think people are getting very confused here. The propaganda that has been shoved down our necks for years now via the media is taking hold people are mistaking the (disputed ) debt that Quinn has with the entire debt Anglo have left us with….. When Quinn’s case has come to court and a ruling has been given on it let us complain about the 2.8 bn that Quinn either owes or not….but let’s not forget that Anglo owe 40 billion. Anglo ( The government) are trying to make sure that everyone in the country is crying about the amount the Quinn allegedly owes them…thus forgetting what Anglo owe us. Bolscaireacht at it’s best!!!

• i agree edel this bank is stink with corruption if the ordinary people only knew the truth with what has gone on in that bank

• edel: Quinn is not the only one getting the flak – but he is only one who is being defended by “the plain folk of Ireland”. Who is defending Anglo, Fitzpatrick or any of the rest?

Y.F: nobody is confused about what happened with Anglo, and what Quinn’s part is. You are just trying to spread propaganda portraying Quinn as a victim.

• Y.F. 25/07/12 #

censored
      are you following me? People are confused. One message has gotten out there loud and clear. A lot of the finer details are being skipped over and ignored. OUR GOVERNMENT bailed Anglo out and took on the debt. Quinn’s debt ( disputed amount that it is) was a debt owed to Anglo. So why are we not taking it up with the government on why it was so important to nationalise this rancid bank?

• Tom Mc Manus, I no longer have a job & it’s because of Sean Quinn, there ate many of us made redundant because of him & purely because of his greed, he knew he should have maintained adequate reserves & his failure to do so cost many of us our jobs & houses!!!! However Sean Quinn hasn’t lost his house, he’s still living in his Cavan mansion & he’s the one who did wrong, we were very good employees & he gambled with our futures like he was playing a game of poker!!

• Avon,

That is a complete lie! If you worked with Quinn Direct and you are now redundant if is because you took voluntary redundancies. You saw the money being offered and you took it. No on forced you to take redundancy as there were no compulsory redundancies. As for the adequate reserves, the gap is reserves has being overestimated. I know there were plenty of good employees in the Quinn Direct. I worked there! But the difference between me and you I got a job. I didn’t take redundancy and I left. I made the choice to leave. The same way you took the choice to leave your job. But you could learn the violin when you are home.
      There were plenty of good people working in Quinn Direct. But there were people who were very stupid. I wonder which you were. I would say the person who didn’t take the money is smarter. And last note. You talk about greed and you took the money because of your greed.

• Great news .

• If a drug dealer lied in court to keep his money or property from CAB would we be on here with different comments don’t think so and he is no different to anyone in the eyes of the law . ppl gave there lives in this country to give Irish people to give us that right Sean Quinn is not above the law no one is ,,

• One of the most hated families in Ireland The Quinns.

• Yes I am paying for Anglos greed your right but I’m also paying for the quinns greed and the other 10 /14 mixed up with him only time will tell , why is he lying through his teeth the courts have proved it or is the hole country just bullying them you tell me you seem to know more than most ppl of this country,The point you make of others are making a 1000 a hour reminds me of a kid a school getting punished and complaining that others have done worse It’s just bull shit

• Well said Finbar…this is gombeen politics at its worst. The numbers here are not matched by anything in Irish corporate history even with the inclusion of Anglow Irish Bank. I say that carefully because this was theft on a grand scale with hundreds of millions in funds that did not belong to the Quinn family being removed from the accounts to prop up a massive gamble on dodgy bank shares. This wasn’t business . This was either an addiction or pure naked and sickening greed.

• By others, I mean the new Anglo. And they have done worse…..and they have been let off so far and are continuing to wreck our economy.
      I agree that Quinn should be punished. I am with you on that but let him not be the only one!

• John it’s the law end of story ,, he gambled and lost the only one he can blame is him self .S Quinn got his family to sign bank papers and received a very nice wage for there names .The bank did not bring family into this he did that .your right in one sence the government should be going after every who had dealings with these shares. He was the one who broke a high court order by trying to hide money so I do not feel any way sorry for him . I would never get my kids to sign anything shady it just goes to show what sort of a man he is

• DIRTY FILTHY LIARS

• I’m not destroying thousand of lives ,, history will tell his story as one of the biggest enemy’s to the Irish. state ,, I’m not the one hiding money ripping of the ppl of this country edel

• I honestly cannot respond to that last comment Finbar. If that’s what you believe, fair enough!

• You are destroying lives. Business like Quinn’s are being wrecked. There is massive brain drain that has left the young with no work and no future in ireland. Any one with get up and go has got up and gone. You have supported a corrupt government which in turn is pouring money into bond holders. Brian Hayes an Irish minister is trying to steal assets abroad with no court order. You and all the other stupid sheep voted for fiscal treaty. You buy the indo when the dogs in street know its all lies. Wake up because you are to blame and guess what you could be next

• censored 26/07/12 #

The mistake you are making is in equating Quinn with the victims in this. Quinn is not one of us. He’s on the other side.

• Yeah Aidan, how dare we not thank the Quinn family for giving us jobs & then gambling with our careers, after all who cares how good our cv’s are, we’re only pawns in Sean Quinns Narcacistic games!!

• Business and gambling go hand in hand. He gambled by taking on insurance and that resulted in thousands of jobs. … This one did not pay off obviously and boy is he paying for it!

• John he is hiding money every , it’s not a witch Hun it’s the law of the land land . That man in limerick to day 3 years in prison for 181,000 Euro .why is Mick Wallace not in mountjoy I could name a lot more . Witch hunt my arse

• so would you if a corrupt bank wanted to steal your lifes work, refused to negotiate. Threatened you with jail, lied to all about your debt as well as provide false legal advise. going after quinn helps no one.

• It’s laughable to hear Mr Justice Kelly say that what the Quinn’s did was done to ‘feather their own nest’.

I would simply like to pose this question. When the judges were asked to take a 10% pay cut in line with public sector workers, many of them refused to do so.

So Mr Justice Kelly, in that case were the judges not ‘feathering their own nest’?

• its very funny that people are supporting the quinn family after they where part of a massive scam operation that ruined irelands economy
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sean-Quinn-is-an-irish-legend-we-support-him/110325058985239

its very funny that these people where his minions helping him make millions whilst he was defrauding banks getting loans that could not be paid back in perpetuity,

idiot sheep! thats what our country is built on, that mentality

best of luck supporting him, you or anyone else in your community are going to benefit from it.

• Tom,

You call Sean Quinn’s supporters “idiot sheep”. However, in your synopsis you describe Sean Quinn defrauding banks getting loans he knew he could not pay back. Firstly it in Anglo’s interest to give him the loans. They were manipulating the share price! They were not that interested in getting paid back as there was no security on these loans. As there is no security on the loans given to the Maple 10. Anglo however, got the Quinns to sign documents they did not read which were for security. So before calling people idiots you might be better knowing some of the facts.

• Sean Quinn Rises

• finbar m 25/07/12 #

And to that comment to me about stones , I’d have to through thousands of stones to keep up to Sean Quinn

• why are people so keen to strip Irelands most successful business man of all he has built up in order to pay off banks so that they can pay off foreign bondholders? Sean Quinn created ’000′s jobs and brought millions into yhe Irish economy. chasing after him, has set back Irelands recovery years, but don’t let the facts get in the way of a good witch hunt

• Well I hope you live up to being so perfect in every way. Let he who has not sinned cast the first……

• finbar m 25/07/12 #

Is that tonya Quinn ,,,,,,, how you lol

• Got to say I was amazed at the continuing defence of this family on the Joe Duffy show during the week, absolutely astonishing there are still those in Cavan and surrounds who still claim butter would not melt in the quinn family mouths, indeed we even learned Mrs Quinn was such an ordinary person, she availed of vouchers in her local supermarket. Now we learn Daughters, son’s, wifes etc etc where in receipt of salarys in excess of 300k from their Ukranian friends, its astonishing stuff. When a high court Judge uses phrases like devious in his summing up of the Quinn’s behaviour, it pretty much sums it up. Look after number one me thinks.

• Ah, here… leave it out!!!

• denism 25/07/12 #

Is that mutt, think you should change it to mutley he he he he he, ur moral equation is ridiculous

• Greed is where their former employees show no thanks for the years they gave them employment. They take and take and give nothing at the end. Not all of course.

Add New Comment