TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Local councillor says Dublin City is ‘turning into a dump’

Steve Wrenn wants the City Manager to tackle the problem of illegal dumping.

DUBLIN CITY COUNCILLOR Steve Wrenn has asked the City Manager to urgently address the problem of illegal dumping across the capital.

After noticing a number of “hot spots” across the city, the Labour politician compiled a photo collection of dumping incidents and provided it to TheJournal.ie.

“It’s shocking to see large piles of old rubbish lying around street corners where children play,” he said.

Local councillor says Dublin City is ‘turning into a dump’
1 / 12
  • Finglas South

• Willow Park Glasnevin

• Sillouge Ballymun

• Richmond Avenue, Fairview

• Mellows Avenue, Finglas

• Marewood Ballymun

• Georges Avenue, Inner City

• Finglas South

• East Wall

• East Wall

Wrenn believes the issue stems from the privatisation of the city’s rubbish collections last year. It has led to an “illegal dumping mentality”, he claimed.

He has asked the City Manager to set up a task force, including members of An Garda Síochána, litter wardens, council legal staff and local area office employees.

“This task force could support our public domain officers who do a great job but need more support to tackle illegal dumping,” he said.

“I have serious concerns about the spread of diseases and a rat infestation.

Unless this problem is tackled immediately, it has the potential to be very embarrassing for our city to be seen in such a dirty state,  especially when we are depending on the Gathering to promote our country and when we are hosting the presidency of the European Union.

The councillor also raised the issue of the placement of illegal signs, which display offers to buy cars from people, that have become common sights at junctions across the city.

Bring me your weapons: Dublin councillor announces knife amnesty

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• It’s not about companies and government, people who dump stuff and litter are just parasites who were never thought life by their parents. There is probably dump inside their houses too. You want fun fact quiz? Get into McDonald’s in Dublin and see the mess and get into McDonald’s say in Zurich (Switzerland – been there couple weeks ago). It’s world apart how people clean after themselves and would pickup stuff that fell on the floor etc. Almost like different planet. And then look like Swiss cities look like and their landscapes. You can hardly find empty cans and used nappies in the park like in Dublin! I don’t think this is purely services thing, I think this is society thing mainly.

• It’s f**king disgusting to see rubbish lying around.

Any rubbish found should be gone through to find some evidence of where the person who left it there lives (they tend not to be too bright so it should be there) and the rubbish should be shoved through their letterbox.

• Its free in the north to get your runbish lifted,comes out of your rates(property tax that is)

• And he’s right, it is.

• No matter if it privatised the individuals who dump are lazy self centred parasites. There is no way the people who dump can’t afford it given what they dump.
    Even when it is free they will dump. TVs and Christmas trees are free to dump yet they will be dumped in parks etc.

• That is the sad truth ,I spent most days last year in the beautiful forests of Ireland all around the country ,nearly every place I went to was covered in recyclables,and most of it was there a long time by the looks of it,with our councils not taking on new blood ,nobody is doing a tap!(sorry double negative)

• If a small deposit was put on glass and cans people would be more apt to recycle. In most US states, one can get up to 10c per bottle, jar, can etc. Some states pay by weight.

• If deposits were introduced on glass and cans, some fecker will import rubbish from elsewhere to reclaim the deposits while charging the source for rubbish removal.

• First off, Conor, no one will import their cans and glass to get the deposit back. It’s too expensive. Second, those cans and glass wouldn’t end up in general house refuse or even restaurant/pub refuse because there’s money in returning them . . . either to a designated drop point or to the shop where you bought them.

Years ago when I still lived in California, we crushed and saved all of our cans into a 55 gallon bin. It was all done behind our house. Woke up Xmas morning to find the bin in the neighbors front garden, empty. Neighbors two houses down were outside having a huge BBQ and laughing at us. The bin was nearly full, probably a thousand crushed cans in there, all worth 5c at the time, about $50 (about $100 in today’s money). Yeah, we bought their Xmas meal that year. Lesson learned. Put the bin in the garage! But it shows how some people can be dedicated to collecting cans and glass with deposits.

The biggest problem the Republic would have with instituting a deposit scheme is getting the North to do the same thing, otherwise, you’re right, some eejits will bring their stuff across the border to return. There’s always one in the crowd, and always people looking for ways to buck the system.

• So embarrassing for our capital city, can’t imagine what visitors think! We look like slobs with absolutely no class/values. I hope people get highly fined for doing this; this is disgraceful.

• If only they had an incinerator…

• Fairview and east wall pictures have bin tags stuck to them!

• The road from my house to the top of the cul-de-sac is turning into a dump! Empty wine bottles and the works! And I don’t live in Dublin. What is wrong with people? No sense of responsibility for the environment. I will have to go and clean it up myself and talk to the resident’s committee. But that should not be necessary if people were more responsible.

• I was appalled by the amount of rubbish lying around the north inner city last week. Surely it was obvious that this was going to happen, when the council decided to completely privatise rubbish collection. I think the council reckoned that once they signed up private contractors to collect rubbish, the illegal dumping problem would become someone else’s rather than theirs.

• Workfare. Get long term unemployed slovenly lay abouts to clean up and keep clean their own neighbourhoods in exchange for the dole.

• The pictures make it seem like it is a problem that is confined to the so called “lower class” areas, which is completely wrong way to portray the problem of littering. I live in Castleknock, and every week there is about 5 or 6 bags dumped in the entrance of my estate. It is the whole city that needs to clean up and take responsibility, not just certain areas.

• Ok so Greyhound have the contract, I can’t get tags anywhere I ran out of recycling bags a month ago someone needs to take responsibility, I’d have about 4 bags of recycling to every half bag of waste, greyhound are blaming dublin corporation and the corpo blaming greyhound.

• I’m actually on the watchout for junkies because they continually give me and others hassle so i have to say i haven’t noticed the rubbish. Shouldn’t he be more worried about this??

• The Bins on the street were not emptied in Wicklow till yesterday, why does the world come to a shuddering halt just because its Xmas? We are a laughing stock most other European country’s have people working through Xmas to do this jobs, like the property tax what exactly are we paying for?

• Can’t understand why the only public service department that ran efficiently was sold off. The privateers that have come in offer a much poorer service at a much higher rate. It was bound to cause illegal dumping. And it is such a horrible sight.

• Turning into a dump? Has this story been time delayed by 20 years? Its a total cesspit. North inner city is like a dump with houses built on top of it.

• Anybody travelling on a train to Sligo or Belfast out of Connelly Station will see how filthy the Irish are. From the moment you leave the station until you reach the countryside it is squalor. People’s back yards ate rat infested and a health hazard.

• Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t think leaving a bag out with a tag on it is illegal dumping.
    I would tend to call it putting the rubbish out for collection.

• Problem is that people leave bags out on the street that then get ripped open by seagulls leaving the place looking like a dump. Happens everyday on hatch street. Then someone clearly put poison on the bags and the place was strewn with dead birds. Looked like a plague

• Over the last two or three months there has been a huge amount of rubbish dumped on the lane up to my house, not just bin bags but tyres, mattresses, washing machines etc.. The council keep cleaning it away and the next day more rubbish is there again. I saw a programme on tv3 last night where a company called tec put hidden cameras out and caught the illegal dumpers and brought them to court. I wonder could I do this myself and would the footage stand up in court? Catching them and getting them fined is the only way!

• They should get people on the dole and people sentenced to community service to clean it up… Too many people are getting sentenced to three to six months in prison only to do a week and be released, they should get 240 hours community service instead. Sur we would have the cleanest little country in Europe

• Wonder if he or his party backed it to be privatized in first place

• Aaron 03/01/13 #

What’s that got to do with anything? If its your rubbish then you pay to dispose of it properly. You don’t get to just dump it because you don’t want to pay a private operator.

• Cllr Wrenn is absolutely correct, there has been a large increase in illegal dumping since DCC privatised bin collection. It is particularly noticeable around the north inner city. (Also some people who’s bins are collected on Tuesdays left the rubbish out on Christmas Day and New Years Day – were they not notified of alternative collection days?)

• Actually , you do! That’s the problem, see?

• Bobby 03/01/13 #

Biggest tip in Ireland

• I blame the Wombles!

• maybe if you had to produce your bin receipts every month to social welfare or your employers before you get paid this problem would go away ??

• It says it all when Dublin Councillors only raise concern about the city’s image because of The Gathering and EU Presidency. They should be worried about it anyway, no matter what is on.

They can’t start using the same old “we’ve no money” excuse at this stage given the household charge etc.,
    It is well within their powers to sort these issue out. The are the ones in control. They should just get on with their jobs and stop moaning to the press.

As it stands Dublin has a lot more issues than just bags of rubbish if they are worried about it’s image. The city is filthy, smelly, with sticky beer soaked pavements and strewn with chewing gum. Never mind the safety concerns, druggies, and general fall in standards of shopfronts and cheapness they have allowed to spread. Spar and others seem to have been allowed run the place at this stage.

The sooner Dublin gets a proper Lord Mayor with power the better. The councils are just lazy and care little for the city they are in charge of from what I can see.

• “Wrenn believes the issue stems from the privatisation of the city’s rubbish collections last year. It has led to an “illegal dumping mentality”, he claimed.”

Wow it’s only taken a year to realize this,even though plenty of people were saying this is exactly what was going to happen a year ago.

• ROBERTO 03/01/13 #

I find recently that the city centre is especially bad. Walking along any main street in the centre you encounter mountains of rubbish/recycling ready for collection sitting on the foothpaths all the time. It seems as though the bags arent collected soon after they are put out or something? does anyone know what the story is with this?

• If Stephen Wren and the rest of the Labour Councillors had used their large majority on Dublin City Council or engaged their colleagues in Government this could have been so easily avoided. Now it is the tax paying, law abiding citizens if Dublin who must pay for Labours incompetence.

• ah jaysus….pic 9 isnt rubbish…thats bleedin’ Antos crib!

• Its sean quinns fault sure why not blame him cause he gets blamed for everything else
    Its a disgrace and we are supposed to be having a gathering
    Gathering of what rubbish!!!

• I only blame Sean Quinn for the billion euro his reckless gambling cost the State, and that separately everyone will have to pay a levy on every insurance policy they take out for the next 30 years because of him, not to mention his contempt of court and disposing of assets in Russia and the Ukraine which are assets that belong to the taxpayer.

• Jesus joe do you repeat everything that comes out of enda kennys mouth!!!
      What billion euro are you talking about no evidence to back this up
      How much did the irish taxpayer sell quinn insurance to liberty??
      Also the irish taxpayer is in control of his companies that are worth 4.6 billion euro so its easy to say they have alot more than theyr owed

Add New Comment