TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Mike Murphy warns RTÉ about the dangers of ‘too much news’

Murphy said there was a lot of “nervous nellies” around Donnybrook yesterday before his guest slot on Pat Kenny’s radio show over what he was going to say.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland!

TELEVISION PRESENTER MIKE Murphy has warned that RTÉ may be damaging the national psyche.

Speaking to his colleague Pat Kenny on Radio One yesterday, Murphy said that the broadcaster’s “blanket coverage of news and current affairs” is “too much”.

“I honestly think it is damaging the national psyche,” he said, adding that RTÉ is one of the only European channels to show an hour of news during the prime time hour of nine to ten o’clock at night.

In a more jocular tone, he quipped: “The truth of the matter is…much of the current affairs output in RTÉ – as in many other stations – is fifth rate radio on television.”

Speaking about his latest show, Masterpiece: Ireland’s Favourite Painting, Murphy said that “as a whole, RTÉ did a good job”. Previously, he had criticised programmers for scheduling the documentary “past most people’s bedtime”.

He said the competition had struck a chord with the Irish population, even beyond the programmer makers’ expectations.

Footfall at the country’s National Galleries has gone up by about 20,000 people on this time last year, after the airing of the show.

President Michael D Higgins will announce the winner of the Masterpiece vote tonight on The Works at 10.15pm.

More: What is Ireland’s favourite painting?

Read: The 10 celebs championing ‘Ireland’s Favourite Paintings’

Read next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• RTE is slave to current affairs for many reasons – it is very very cheap for a start. It also gets a lot of free wafflers from across the road in UCD. I doubt if RTE was down the country it would be drowning in so much academia speak, especially on radio.
    The shocking thing I think is that that is zero programming strands like natural history for example – programmes that could easily be exported abroad and RTE could make money from, the way the BCC does Coast and a myriad of other programmes about UK history, heritage, nature, etc,,
    This is shocking especially for such a beautiful country and heritage, folklore history etc., that we have. Yet I barely see any programmes annualy on RTE. If anything more programmes pop up on BBC about Ireland that from RTE.
    For example, where is the 5 part series on Connemara, or the Shannon etc., there is endless content that could be garneder quite cheaply from Ireland but it just does not seem to happen.

Also there is a huge remit in programming on European life. Most current affairs and general programming is US focused. Yet you have to watch BBC4 or whatever to find out what is happening in Scandanavia. And the UK are supposed to be the ones antagonistic to Europe. I’m amazed RTE doesn’t have a base in Europe reporting on ordinary life and educating us more about various countries.

Lack of funding is no excuse. RTE needs a serious wake-up call about how it is shaping the country with our license fees.

• Fagan's 24/05/12 #

Look at the quality of programming that TG4 put out, excellent documentaries etc etc. RTE is just a junket to convert tax funds in to a few people’s accounts, lots of friends producing crap TV, and selling it 2 friends.

• His programme in the 70s/80s was excellent. The arts show was excellent. He’s right about rte, too much talk shop current affairs not enough investigative stuff and piles of reality shite. Thats why I watch bbc4.

• Too many Properties proved to be dangerous Mike :)

• A very good point.

• Gay Byrne still on out screens, getting massive pension, and a 6 figure sum each year for TV work still, “ahh help out aul Gayboo, the piggy bank is empty again”. 60 years after he started working there. Pat Kenny there nearly 40 years, Marian Finucane nearly there 35 years. Mike Murphy in his 6th decade of working in RTE.

Typical Ireland, get in there, block all others from competing or rising up, pull strings get back in. Change is bad, change is bad.

This kinda crap is as destructive to Ireland as Fianna Fáil innate corruption, FG’s desire to maintain the status quo at any cost.

Time for these scobies to step back and play with the Grandkids.

• Stephen 24/05/12 #

Jimmy Mcgee must be 102, Tom savage must be 80, Gay byrne 77 or 97, Ray Darcy’s got to be 60 odd, Pat Kenny nearly 70, Marian Finucane sounds older than she is but shes still about 70 odd, Marty Whelan 60ish 200000 grand piss off, Anne doyle (gone) is 60 odd, and then the condescending voice of opinions of 70ish year old Olivia O’leary on Drivetime, ughhh. New blood please!

• To the people who thinks he has money.. http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-man-in-the-canali-suit-2926697.html
    Only reason he’s back at rte is for the handy cash

• I would tend to agree. Sense I got into Twitter I don’t buy any more newspapers . Y pay for yesterday news ? I also not watch news on tv anymore . It’s normal a few hours old

• Mike Murphy is an arrogant ass. Just because he has a few quid he is making himself out to be something that he isn’t i.e. cultured and intelligent. He and Gay Byrne should sent to the knackers yard. They are both arrogant, big mouth know it alls.

• He’s just bitter cause he lost all his money and now has come back to work

• howzat 24/05/12 #

Sorry he had the trash program in the eighties where he dressed up to wind celebs up
    How the fock can he complain now about quality

• He should keep his mouth shut and be thankful he got one of the “jobs for the old boys”

• does anyone ever retire or leave rte? ever?

• You do know he is a very rich man? He doesn’t need the job. He did it because he wanted to. I also pretty sure he doesn’t work for rte and did a show that rte bought/ commissioned.

• Yes.

• In fairness, Mike Murphy did very well for himself outside RTE and is his own man. He appears very little on TV in comparison to others. Nor do I think he was ever a member of the RTE mutual admiration circle so fair play to him !

• Mike Murphy, no more than Gay Byrne WERE very wealthy dudes, but Murphy’s great empire, which he took great pleasure in telling us all about some years ago, has since gone tits up, and for the second time in his life, Gaybo has no money either ! His first time was when it was stolen from him by his accountant and this time, he made some bad investments and along with his (and everyone else’s) pension, he is now penniless – THIS is why they are back on our airwaves and TV’s, trying to get some moolah – and RTE have the neck to foist them on us AGAIN !! And don’t get me started on George Feckin Lee !

• alan 24/05/12 #

all very well for him to say that. but what about the dangers of ‘too much mike murphy’?

• This from the man who helmed “Murphy’s Micro Quiz-M”???!!!

• Why not bail out Murphy and Byrne? We bailed out the banks and we might as well bail out RTE.

Add New Comment