TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

More gardaí on duty at certain times under roster changes

Changes to the An Garda Síochána’s roster and working time arrangements have been agreed and implemented, the Garda commissioner said this evening.

File photo
File photo
Image: Photocall Ireland

AN GARDA SÍOCHÁNA has introduced new roster and working time arrangements which the Garda commissioner says will see a 25 per cent increase in the number of gardaí working at certain times of the day.

Martin Callinan said this evening in a statement that this is the first time in over 40 years that rosters and working time for gardaí been “fundamentally changed”.

He said that the new measures have come at no extra cost the taxpayers and within the existing budget for the force as well as meeting its commitment to the Croke Park Agreement.

Callinan explained that the new roster provides for overlapping shift patterns which will see a 25 per cent in the number staff working at these times.

The overlaps increase in duration and coincide with periods of increased demands on the Gardaí, according to Callinan.

He said: “Improved flexibility is achieved by changing the shift start times to coincide, with increased demand for the policing of major events and investigations and with scheduled court attendance.”

He said that the process of designing and implementing the new roster and working time arrangements was ”very complex” and acknowledged the commitment of the various Garda staff associations to the measures introduced.

“The Roster and the Working Time Agreement are now agreed and implemented nationally and will be reviewed at regular intervals to ensure that it achieves it’s objectives in full,” he added.

Read: Gardaí announce 18 promotions, new headquarters

Read: Gardaí say plan to close stations will hit crime-fighting

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• pity they are still not enough cars to get the guards to the scenes of crime! what good are more guards in rural areas without the transportation resources?

• I live in a moderately sized town, population 30,000+ and there’s ONE car serving the town at any given time.. To say they’re doing the best they can with very little is putting it lightly!

• Reg 11/09/12 #

Excuse me for my sceptisism but I don’t belive you. A town of 30000 and one police car?

• I appreciate your skepticism Reg.. Believe me, I find it quite shocking, but I’ve had the Gards out 5 times in the past few months.. The first time response time was 2 hours, a tuesday afternoon.. When they said there was only one car – I assumed it was for that time of the day / week.
      The next time we had to call them was a Thursday evening. 3 hour wait (including calling back to see where they were after 2 hours) again, only car on patrol. I asked was this the regular situation and the Gard told me that yes, the town has a population of 32,000 and ONE patrol car (that’s how I found out my towns population in fact).
      Have had this confirmed by another gard as well as a sergeant who attended with two Gardaí on one of the occasions we had to call.

It is unbelievable, but it’s the truth unfortunately. How they manage to get anything done is a mystery..

• The Guards in this country are to be saluted. They are chasing criminals with batons and torches, cars with a couple of hundred thousand miles on the clock and then they don’t get the support of the justice system!
    The emergency services in this country should be admired. They are the public sector who have been hit the hardest in this recession between pay cuts and a lack of resources yet they still agree to a roster change which for some leaves them not seeing their young children for days at a time.
    I for one am grateful for everything they do. Fair play lads and ladies.

• great extra guards now all we need is a legal system that works and not the impotent farce that is our judiciary system at mo

• we dont need a “legal system that works”, we need a lawful system that works…you can be jailed for having a lobster that is too small !!! even if the lobster was attacking you and you killed it in self defense !!!…………… there are 100,000 ways to go to jail in Ireland “legally”….our “legislators” are gone physcho….remember when Michael McDowell used tell us he dreamed up new legislation……..

• This is a very imaginative initiative and both sides are to be congratulated for their agreement and implementation of these changes. If they coincide with timings of crimes such as home burglaries then homeowners in both rural and urban areas would be particularly pleased.
    Having unfortunately needed the services of An Gardai and the Department of Justice in the recent past I couldn’t be higher in my praise for both their sensitivity and efficiencies.
    This is exceptionally good news.

• Makes sense. Match demand to resources.

• The new rosters have been in place nearly 5 months now.
    There’s obviously more cuts to Garda resources coming if the government are putting this spin out there. (rte are reporting the same this evening)

• John, Comms. Callinan’s management teams are already admitting that these rosters do not work for specialist units and are frantically trying to make local arrangements to overcome their failings. He won’t admit this!

• Commissioner Callinan should also have said that the State cannot be properly policed with the resources being made available to him by this Govt. Shatter will say that offences of public order, possession of drugs, drink driving, possession of firearms and assault are all down, but the fact is that, in the main, these have to be detected before they are recorded as crimes and because there are far less Gardai on the streets, these are not being detected. Just look at the burglary rates to get an idea of the true state of things.
    Also where 4 units become 5, then common sense tells you that there are LESS not more working at any given time

• Vito, simple maths tells you that 4 units of 10 gardai and 5 units of 8 garda both equal 40 gardai.

You clearly don’t get the new roster so allow me to explain, they overlap. This means that say, on a Saturday night at midnight you have unit A AND unit C working together (2 units = 16 Gardai on duty) compared to the old system where unit A would be on their own (1 unit on old system = ten Gardai)

The times that there are less working are the slower periods like early Monday morning but theres only so much can be done if your not going to increase Garda numbers. If you need more on Saturday night those Gardau have to come from somewhere. Its just a sad reality that we always needed more Gardai to actually offer a decent police service, not less

• The Commissioner would be out of a job if he said that.

• This roster was implemented a few months ago at this stage! I wonder why they only sent out a press release today?

It involves most guards working 58-60 hours over 10 days. Usually 6 days on, 4 off. Makes sense to match resources to demand!

• it may seem great but its not. its not family friendly at all and its both physically and mentally exhausting. typically 6 on and 4 off and no, there is no o/t.

• Is it not less physically and mentally exhausting??? No more quick changeovers… Mandatory rest days… More consecutive days off together (same number of hours-before anyone comments)…. Any gardai I know much prefer the new roster.

• So the Croke Park agreement is working then!

• hi mom

• I am not sure if Commissioner Callinan is living in a ground hog day situation but this is very old news? This roster change happened in April! Or did he send this by email back then and it went to a spam folder?

• Yes it did but the ‘terms and conditions’ were only agreed last week. The roster has operated nearly five months without built in safeguards to ensure adherence to legislation such as the Organisation of Working Time Act. This Working Time Agreement gives those safeguards to the people working the roster. Such safeguards includes issues surrounding time off, rest periods, health and safety, changing working hours etc.

• The working time agreement is not suited to police work end of

• I’m in a rural community where there are 5 small stations a large rural area and only 1 patrol car manned by 2 or sometimes 1 roster changes don’t seem to make any difference where I’m from

• I’m going to burst some bubbles here:

A, Gardai have always hated the old roster, finishing at 10pm and back in for 6am the next morning + possible an hour drive each way. It was Gardai that were crying out for a new roster and the government was forced into making the changes because the old roster was against new health and safety regulations which until now did not apply to Gardai. The new roster was written by senior management to be used as spin and suit their own needs. Its still a better roster but if you don’t have the numbers, no roster is going to change that.

B, All workers take leave, cases rarely require the same officer to keep working straight otherwise you would have officers working for weeks non stop! If it needs you to stay on, you do and you claim the additional hours back from your next shift. Simples

C, Most investigations are NOT done by detectives. You would assume they are, TV tells us they are and there’s no reason why they are not but its a sad fact that unless its a murder, gangland crime or receives a lot of media attention chances are its the uniform Garda talking to you that will be investigating while also manning the station, protection posts, responding in the car or walking the beat. Trust me, serving uniform Gardai of which I am one, don’t understand why its this way either.

• Rosters started in April

• New roster = fewer Guards in the evenings and weekends, especially Sunday!

• A unit of officers unfortunate enough to deal with a serious incident and commence investigating (rape, robbery, abduction, murder for example), due to new rosters, may not in some cases begin their enquiries until up to six days after the event by which time – well lets just say the first 24 don’t seem to be that important anymore do they

• This seems unlikely – can you back this up? Is it a presumption or an extremely unlikely possibility?

• I think you may have that back to front. The Gards work a 6 day week with 4 days off.
      Bearing in mind that’s 10 hour days, except on Sunday’s. It can be frustrating when the gard dealing with your case is on their time off, but I still wouldn’t begrudge them having it. Most work quite far from where they live and can’t have much of a life on the days they are working.

• Well since nearly all investigations are carried out by detective units you’d be wrong there, and for any serious crime the gardai involved still have to work overtime and probably just get time off in lieu instead

• Wits end: spot on . This roster is certainly good news in terms of saving money but it is certainly not conductive to properly investigating crime . And we know that this fine Gael government has no interest whatsoever in fighting and solving crime . It’s about money folks . Dont think that this roster will improve detection rates . All it will do is reduce the overtime bill .

• Yes the majority of breaks, from what I can see, are four days off after six on. However there seems to be occasional five and six day breaks.
      Detectives are guards too and have the same days off. So in theory and given that there isn’t any over time, or so we are told, – the guard who takes the report of a child being abused may not be involved in the case for another four, five or possibly six days. This doesn’t allow for annual leave or sick leave. I’m sure other officers would take up the slack but it’s not the same is it

• Ya cause when the murders happen the guard at the scene is allowed head away for “6″ days, good one

• There is no 6 day break and there is overtime for major investigations. there is one 5 day break every 10 weeks.

• Vinny, I’m having difficulty finding a definative link to this new roster to see exactly what lengths of break periods there are. If you have one i’d appreciate it. If you say there is no six day break but there is five I accept that. My point remains that it is a long time to be away from developments in a major investigation. I am informed that major investigations are no longer carried out on over time though.

• Mick 11/09/12 #

Do you know this or are u spoofing too?

• @wits end maybe the roster is on the GRA website – not sure but worth a look. With regard to major investigations they are not been adversely affected and while your source re overtime may think he/she is correct I can assure you that while overtime is at a premium it is still available where necessary for major investigations.

@Mick if your question is directed toward me I can assure you I’m not spoofing

• its not 4 days off…. on the so called first day off gardai work until 7 am that day from 9 pm the previous night …. so it is not a day off , they have worked that day..

• This is good news. Up until now there was as many Gardai on duty in the Dublin 2 district on a Saturday night as there was in the same area on a Monday morning. Given that there are the best part of an extra 100,000 people in pubs and clubs within Dublin 2 on a Saturday night than there is on a Monday morning this makes total sense. Front line Gardai should welcome and embrace this change as they themselves are now safer on the streets as they have increased numbers. And the public too of course.

The London Met implemented a similar change as far back as 1982- it took us a further 30 years to follow suit. That fact alone is enough to show us how much power the GRA have held in stopping these long overdue roster changes.

But at least we have them now and the Croke Park Agreement has shown at least some value.

• These changes came about with absolutely no resistance from the GRA or anyone else. Gardai have been looking for change for years.

• The changes may well suit the police officers, particularly uniform personel, but – in my opinion – its to the detrement of investigations and consequently the victims of serious crime.

• @ Wits End
      You’ve stated the same after other comments further up the thread & Im having trouble seeing where you’re coming up with these ideas that there’ll be no investigative units working in the event of a serious incident taking place!!! With the new roster implement there are five units instead of four now in place!! There will always be detectives working!! That said, if I’m wrong & you can show me something to back up your claim, I’ll stand corrected!!

• @nuffsaid. You’ve missed my argument throughout the thread. I’m not suggesting there wouldn’t be police officers / detectives there for four or fiver days. I’m simply pointing out that the officer (s) who begin the investigation could then be absent for a lengthy period and I believe a lot of first hand knowledge and continuity of enquiry is potentially lost. By the time they return to follow up the investigation the momentum is lost. My opinion

• No, I picked up on what you were saying alright! But surely most stations would have a pool of do many detectives / detective sergeants all as capable as each other where only so many are going to be off at any one time!

• Taling out of your backside but then when does that stop people? It was the GRA and Gardai that have been pushing for change not fighting it.

Now off you go and believe all the media and government spin

• Sure no one gets attacked or burgaled on a monday morning only sat nights! The countries gone to shit

• Fluff.

Add New Comment