TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Noonan: Young emigrants ‘not driven away by unemployment’

The Finance Minister Michael Noonan said that emigration in most young people’s cases is being driven by “a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

Michael Noonan
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

MICHAEL NOONAN HAS said that most emigration by young Irish people is a “free choice of lifestyle” and played down the impact of the country’s unemployment rate on people moving abroad.

“It’s a small island. A lot of people want to get off the island,” the Finance Minister told the media at a briefing on the fifth quarterly review of Ireland’s bailout programme by the Troika of the European Commission, ECB and IMF.

He pointed to the experience of his own family saying that three of his five children are living abroad and that in their case it was a lifestyle choice to move away from Ireland.

The country’s unemployment rate is currently 14.3 per cent with over 180,000 classified as long-term claimants on the Live Register. A recent survey found that four-in-ten people saw no future for themselves in Ireland.

But Noonan said that unemployment was not driving emigration: “It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

Figures published last December showed that over 76,000 people had left the country in the year to April 2011 – an increase of nearly 17 per cent – with over half of those being Irish.

“There are always young people coming and going from Ireland,” Noonan also said while adding that the country needed to ensure that people leaving were well enough educated to seek employment abroad.

“What we have to make sure is that our young people have the best possible education, right up to third level,” he said.

As it happened: Noonan and Howlin discuss the latest Troika review >

Read next:

Comments (313 Comments)

• Let me tell Noonan, that my brother and three friends have left for work, not to see another part of the world to to actually feel useful and have a job.

• That would be news to the young people I know who have emigrated because they can not get work in Ireland. Noonan once again demonstrating the governments and his total disconnect from reality in todays Ireland.

• What an idiotic thing to say

• No, its because of unemployment.

• SMcB 19/01/12 #

Maybe in 2006 but not 2012. This man does not live in the real world.

• he makes my blood boil, of the several people i know that have left for canada or oz etc they all went because there is no work here

• I doubt a man on Noonan’s salery can compare the lifestyle of his children with that of the average young irish emigrant.

• Ah Michael…you know that isn’t true! He represents my constituency and the amount of people in my area that has emigrated in the last year is astonishing. I myself am an emigrant, happily living in London, but building up my work experience to come home. Not sure if others in my position will get that opportunity. Please wake up.

• If by “free choice of lifestyle” he means they need to emigrate to have one!

• nice that his 3 children get to decide to move away – for me it wasn’t a choice – if I want to work I have to move -simple. what planet is he on?

• Oh really Minister Noonan, i don’t believe you.

• What bloody planet is Noonan living on?
    What an absolute fool!

• He lives on planet Ireland. Your finance Minister Noonan unbelievably owns German Bonds.

http://irishtimes.newspaperdirect.com/epaper/viewer.aspx

It makes me so angry to see him cut funding to hospitals & hospices while attending meetings with his German banker friends yesterday promising them that Irish people will continue to suffer so they can be paid. He even got a standing ovation before returning back at his 5 star hotel. In case you Irish people forget, let me remind you of something…
      These Traitors are not truly Irish and do not represent you
      These Traitors do not care about you, only their pensions and future careers in Europe
      These Traitors are paid by you, you employ them!!!!
      These Traitors do what they do because they know they can. They know the easy going character of the present Irish generations.

These Traitors are LIARS, THIEVES, SCUM. They are giving away your future to their Elite friends
      Stand up, if not for yourselves, for the future of your children. It is your Ireland, it is your country, it is your people, it is your future!!!

Take your country back, please!

• The man should be sacked immediately for being so utterly stupid and clearly blind to actual reality.

• He lives on a planet where;
      He gets €3.5k unvouched laundry expenses,
      He gets an allowance on top of his salary for simply turning up for work.
      He gets a massive golden handshake at the end of his Dail career (even if he has done a rubbish job)
      He can claim a massive pension before retirement age.
      He thinks it’s ok to say anything before the election and then change into Fianna Fail Lite once he is sitting in their warm ministerial chairs.

Four legs good, two legs better.

• This smacks of Mary Coughlan’s echo that it is a life style choice or Brian Lenihan’s targeting of young Irish people to force them to emigrate, or his father’s echo that we are a small Island we all can’t live here, even though we are one of the least populated countries in Europe.

Emigration represents on average a 250k investment down the drain by the family and state. It is a massive financial drain on the populace.1000-1500k people leaving a week, you are talking some serious loss to the economy, never mind the social fabric of Ireland.

The downside to stopping emigration is that while good for the economy, good for society it would mean that FF/FG and the closed clique that they benefit would have to operate in an more open society and when they fail be held accountable for their actions.

But sure 60% of the populace will vote FG/FF at the next election and not bat an eyelid as they drive their children to the airport, shure isn’t that what their parents did, up Collins, Up Liam Lynch keep in the bubble and follow the leader.

Lynch and Collins must spin ever year as members of FF and FG commemorate them. It’s like the PD’s commemorating Marx’s, they are so different in political outlook and motivation.

• I dont blame Noonan. I blame the people who elected him. It’s time for people to realise they elect the same pathological liars again and again. Our political class love the 5 year amnesia cycle between elections. Time for a Swiis style electoral system.

• this is a ridiculous statement, he has not got a clue,

• Agreed. Daithi. If you vote for FF/FG with their unequaled in Europe records of economic failure, of driving people away, repeatedly bankrupting the state and throwing them scraps of tar for the road and expect that this time it is different, then you have no one to blame but yourself. It’s not much good to your kids though who have to emigrate. Don’t dare add insult to injury by mentioning men like Collins or Lynch as justification. FG are radically opposed to Collins policies, and FF are radically opposed to Liam Lynchs etc.

• So, of all the people thumbing up and down, how many of you actually listened to what Michael Noonan said and how many of you are just taking Hugh O’Connell’s / The Journal.ie’s word for it?

There has been massive interest today in how funding for our national broadcaster should be raised yet we have no idea how Journal.ie are funded. Are they funded by advertising on their site? Are they trying to drive up their readership by creating controversy?

To expand on Hugh’s reporting – Noonan also said that a massive number of emigrants are going abroad because our building industry has fallen apart and that we need to re-educate and re-skill these people since we will never again be in a situation were 20% of GDP is accounted for by the building industry. Therefore his answer was much more balanced than the views expressed by this article: an article produced by a news publication who’s source of income is unknown. And lets be honest here many young people do go abroad because they want to see the world – and by many I mean many, not a majority, not a specific number, just many.

So Biggins31 Noonan’s address is on planet earth, he is not “an absolute fool” – his views are much more balanced and connected with reality than this article would suppose – although I can see were you would get your impression from this article.

• Back to sleep Robert. Or back to FG HQ. Noonan couldn’t care less about Ireland or her people. FG make that obvious on a daily basis.

• So answer my question Réada. Did you listen to what Noonan said or are you just going by what is in the article? If you disagree with him fine. However, my point is that practically everyone would disagree with what was said in the article (including myself and probably Mr Noonan himself) but what is in the article is only part of what he said in his answer to the question. So? Did you listen to what he said? Have you read his full answer to the question (and not just the selective reporting of the Journal.ie)?

• Robert LYNCH. I have paid close attention to this government and their disregard for my country. I have watched them lurch from one sell-out to another and myself sway from anger to despair. I am bruised but refuse to be broken. I followed the blogs here this morning and nothing I have read or heard has filled me with any sort of hope from FG. I cannot be everywhere and have to trust what I read and hear. I rely heavily on my intuition and it has rarely let me down. (I have always voted Labour so that rules out an unblemished intuitive record.) :-(

But I repeat that I don’t trust Noonan and he couldn’t care less about Ireland or her people. FG make that obvious on a daily basis, propped up by Labour who have forgotten their party’s ethos. RIP Connolly and Larkin. 

• Is it just my screen or is there a tear actually trickling down Mr Noonan’s face in that photo. Must be a crocodile one so…

• And yet despite not taking the time to check if I was correct you are willing to tell me to go back to sleep? Granted you have every right to tell me to go back to FG HQ since my comments could definitely be seen as supporting Mr Noonan, but how can you have the nerve to tell me to go back to sleep? I listened to the press conference and heard an answer from Mr Noonan which included the words above but also included several other sentences that made his opinion far more balanced than was reported. You are being led Réada, not by your intuition but by a journalists reporting. You are being consumed into the narrative driven by the media. I am sure you have very good intuition – and I believe you that you feel let down and beaten up by the current government – but however good your intuition is in the real world, no one’s intuition can be trusted when they base it on the opinion of a partial report by a journalist.

• Acording to the last Red C.. 60% of people would vote non- conventially tomorrow – Not FF/ FG

• Robert. I admire your passion and tanacity even though it’s misplaced. I explained myself and my feelings towards your party. I’ve recently found the journal app and after many years heckling the telly, I’ve finally found somewhere to vent my fury. 

I love my country but didn’t mean to hurt your feelings. You sound quite earnest. Join the good side and let’s try to create something positive for our country. A real inclusive republic where citizens come first, (even ex FG FF and Labour ones) not last place to bankers, corporations and investors. 

And do not believe a word that comes from Noonan’s lips. Now can you leave me alone. I’ve got to get the dinner on… :-)

• Can I just put in a brief comment to say that the Minister’s comments are not completely without basis. Mainly without basis but not completely. I am unemployed. Many of my friends are unemployed and many of them have emigrated. But many of them have also returned, not being overly fond of Australia or South Korea or the other places they had gone. Others, like myself, simply do not want to give up on Ireland just yet and are still hunting for the elusive careers promised so earnestly during the Celtic Tiger days. Even in the good times, a highly educated workforce was mobile. We don’t live in the Famine times when emigration was forever. If someone is an expert in their field the situation in Ireland allows them to leave, work for a few years on temporary visas, and then return having broadened their horizons. If what the Minister is implying is that the emigration figures do not necessarily reflect a total loss to the country, he is probably onto something. Many of these people will return if the situation improves and Ireland will be better for it. If he is implying that emigration has nothing to do with economic circumstances he is patently wrong.

I’m going to get thumbed down badly on this one and I’m only speaking on personal experience but from what I can tell, there are a number of factors behind emigration. The lack of potential jobs may be a big one but it is seldom the only one.

• @ Robert Lynch.

Yes, he is an UTTER fool. Lest we forget:

In 1994, the ‘Rainbow Coalition’ was formed and Noonan became Minister for Health. The department was embroiled in a scandal at the time regarding blood products contaminated with Hepatitis C virus, caused by the negligence of the Blood Transfusion Service Board.

Noonan consistently held an authoritarian line on the case of Bridget McCole and would not budge on his views, suffering as a result of the scandal.

He threatened to take Bridget’s mother Ellen to the Supreme Court when she wondered why her daughter had contracted the disease. Noonan was forced to establish the Hepatitis C Tribunal of Inquiry and to issue several apologies for his handling of the affair.

Noonan remained as Minister until the 1997 general election. The Irish Times said “the woman involved had been infected by a negligent State agency, in the biggest health scandal since its foundation.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Noonan

• Maybe Robert Lynch would like us all to have short memories!

• ‘justdieter’ you just put it perfectly ,just what i am thinking ,and we all need to start thinking like that ..thank you

• But Mr Biggins31, your comments were with respect to Mr Noonan’s comments today? Or perhaps you have been waiting 15 years to declare that “Noonan is an absolute fool”? Please read my points again – principally that Mr Noonan was only partially (and unfairly) quoted in this article, with the aim of getting people’s knickers in a twist. In addition, if you want to hold a grudge against Mr Noonan go ahead but regardless of your hatred towards him he is not an “absolute fool” – at least not now, 15 years after the shameful episode you refer to – and he deserves to be quoted properly and fully.

• Good points Justdieter, especially about the fact that Noonan is a German Bondholder as confirmed in article.

The number of hits and comments posted in response to this article is indicative of the fact that people are outraged by his comments and indeed this is further confirmation of the lunacy and the egotistical charade by this man.

What a joke that these elected representatives, whose salaries are paid by the taxpayer, pretend that they want to create jobs. Just look at what he did to the profitable Quinn Group-1200 jobs lost already with thousands more certain to go.

• Micheal Noonan has to be one of the the most ignorant men on this planet. What a stupid and totally blinkered comment to pass to anyone, I’m one of those mothers that had to say goodbye to my son at the Airport and see him going out to another country to hopefully get work something he could not get here Fianna Fail were bad but this new government is a lot worse and are getting worse by the day taxing this that and the other We will shortly be taxed on the air we breathe. My family is torn apart because of immigration I’m now just another statistic like many other parents of children living and working abroad this is not choice for these kids. Heart breaking totally heart breaking for them their siblings and us as parents letting them off to a country where they know nothing about the culture of whether they can get work or not I gave birth to four beautiful sons and now I’v one son at home he’s 12yrs old it’s like he is an only child will I have to say goodbye to him in the same way SHAME ON YOU MICHEAL NOONAN SHAME ON YOU

• what a pathetic, one side article see 33.00
      http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2012/0119/media-3172720.html#

• Correct, the Irish people ARE too quiet, but very quickly are becoming really sick and tired with these thugs in Government. the only thing we can look forward to now is the next General election, Kenny and his clowns must be dreading it, they will never again get any votes from me or my extended family. they have broken every promise they made before the last election. I will not be held responsible for the crimes of corrupt politicians and financiers. it will stop NOW, I want it to end NOW.Kenny and your clowns………..pack up and GO.

• Nob

• Now the circle is complete. They live in the same delusion as the last fail government. Cocooned in their privileged worlds of pay and pensions while the rest of us in the real economy choke a slow death.

• Rob 19/01/12 #

hmm – well no one ever said they were being evicted or anything??

it is their free choice to choose themselves to emigrate so that they can indeed have a better lifestyle and get off this island………. because there aren’t jobs here for them!!!!

• Iv never had the desire to travel or see the world, but cause of circumstances I’m left with no option, I was self employed and can’t even get the dole, and haven’t got a job in nearly 10 months. So I’m packing up and shipping out with what little iv left. Let’s see what his going to do when there is no one left in the country to do work.

• John 19/01/12 #

Noonan, denial personified!

• is he for real ??? what planet is he on !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    of course unemployment is driving people away ……

• franco 19/01/12 #

goes to show how out of touch with reality this government is , MR NOONAN my son and five of his mates headed to australia because they couldn’t get work here , come back to planet earth and get a grip..

• Pity you would get off the island Noonan. Cretin.

• I couldn’t agree more Noddy, its a pity this gobshite we have for a minister wouldn’t take his own advice and go and see the world then maybe he’d meet some of the other Irish travellers who’re swanning around the globe. I’m sure they’d be only too happy to tell him it had nothing to do with unemployment here and the failed policies of his and previous governments. Fookin’ gobshite!!!

• reminds me of Brian Lenihan’s comments in the 80′s ‘sure we all can’t live here..’

• why is it as soon as politicians get elected they lose touch with reality. What a twat.

Roll on the next election, get a new bunch of morons in.

• Not only is this statement wrong, but how did he think that the people of Ireland would react to such a statement.
    Is he really that stupid?

• Out of touch. Not in tune with his country. An insult to Irish families. Cheek of him! Fuming.

• If there is one thing us irish are good at its telling stories and you mr. noonan should win a prize for the best piece if government fiction I have ever had the misfortune to read. Bullshit of the highest order. Please journal can you do a poll on why people emigrate so we can post the results on time noony.

• Noonan, I know your staff are reading these comments. I hope one of them turns around and informs you that you are now Chief Jackass of Ireland. You are some f’in moron to make such a statement. We’re you at the airport doing an exit poll or something?

Ass clown.

• How fucking dare he say that. If his kids emigrate he can afford to buy their air fare home for holidays and add them to record tourists numbers. Still fuming!!!

I hate him!

• Even if this was true, those that left to “see another part of the world” have no choice but to stay there now because they have nothing to come to home to except a long spell in the dole queue and an idiotic government!!! Bet his 3 out of 5 children are not worried about their futures should they decide to return!

• Maybe Noonan should stand at the departure gates in Dublin airport with a sign that says “No need to thank us, just enjoy the experience” and see how those happy emigrants react.

• See how long it is before someone leaving to see the world is so overjoyed.at their prospects of leaving their country behind that they punch him.in the face….ahhhh happy image…

• Bit like saying the dole figure are going down because people are getting jobs.
    no they aren’t getting jobs – they’re getting plane tickets

• Let them eat cake, eh?

• So 76,000 have gone on hols to Ozz and Canada in the past year without return? Well for some!

• My comment was deleted? I only called him a “c**t”.

• If he genuinely believes that, he needs to be dragged screaming out of Leinster house and locked away somewhere.

• I can’t believe this, I have moved away in recent months but I would much rather be at home, I had my own business at home which I wanted to develop further but instead I found myself emigrating not because I wanted to but because I had to!! Get with reality Noonan!!

• Like he’d know about a. Being Young b. Emmigration c. Finance d. Anything outside of being a well paid stooge of the financial spread betting ‘community’

Not Our Debt noddy!

RAGE!!!

Krossie

• Noone was slowly gaining my respect for the way he was handling a difficult job, but after this!!! it just goes to show you a few months in power and the new bunch are entering into the same twilight zone the other shower were inhabiting

• When I read comments like this I really do feel like I should leave this island myself. This is utterly ridiculous. Nonsense of the highest order. It is such a shame that the Irish people are reduced to this level of politician and representative.

Suggesting that young men and women are not leaving Ireland due to unemployment, ever-increasing taxes with ever-decreasing public services and a political class which simply REFUSES to “take the pain” along with the rest of society is either an extraordinary piece of spin or a worrying level of denial.

Our former goverment stuck their heads in the sand and refused to look at the real word as it was coming down around their ears. It is extremely disheartening that this goverment, which promised the people so much during the election campaign, is now doing exactly the same as its predecessors.

Minister, our best and brightest are leaving these shores because there is nothing here for them. If they stay they have a future of high taxes, poor public services, incompetent representatives, and the burden of paying off the unquantifiable negligence of previous governments at a time when the banking/financial sector has collapsed, the construction sector is finished, the legal sector is pushed to the edge and new business cannot get credit.

In short Minister – our young people aspired to great things during the boom years. They trained to be doctors, lawyers, accountants, engineers and architects only to find that, once qualified, there was no work, no prospects, greatly reduced salaries and finally the worst part of it all THEY WERE GOING TO SPEND THEIR ENTIRE LIVES PAYING FOR IT.

Thats why these young people are leaving Minister. Its certainly why the people I know have left. When I leave it will be for that reason too.

• Couldn’t have put it better myself. Pity Mr. Noonan doesn’t read something like this. His government is behaving exactly as FF were when they were in Government. I stupidly gave my No. 1 vote to a FG person but never again, I voted because they said they would change everything and not give a penny to the bondholders, etc. What a cheek they are exactly the same as FF. Why should young people stay in this country, if they could get a job they would be paying for something they had no part of. Get real Minister. If I could I would go as well.

• Michael Noonan out of touch with reality or just choosing to ignoring the facts?

Of course people are leaving the Country due to unemployment. Every single one of my friends who have bid farewell to these shores have had to leave because they just simply could not find work here. Of course you will have the casual travelers, those have always been there, using that as a reason for the huge numbers of Irish people emigrating is laughable.

• Ya Michael I choose to be living in the dump that is Hull, you know to see spread my horizons and all that. I have been trying to move back to Ireland for the past 2 and half years and not a sniff of a job in my profession.How out of touch can politicians be!!

• bit rich to be slagging off the place where u have a job, that you are taking from someone in Hull, understand your frustration but if you think it is a dump come back here and let someone in hull, (where I might add unemployment is quite high) have a job. lot of people on this site slag off England and the UK, but you do not mind taking their jobs and money,, shame on you

• Is Noonan for real? does he genuinely believe that our youth has left en masse just to see the World?
    He is so far distanced from reality it is hard to believe!

He and his cohorts in Gov really need a short sharp kick in the ARSE !

• There is no work Noonan, that is why I, and many like me, are going away

• Dave 19/01/12 #

Fuck it, look, let’s face it. They are deluded. Time for talk is over. Time for concerted action….

• Reading between the lines this is what Noonan and his buddies are telling us!!

‘Aahhh, Planet Dail – a wonderful place!! Where we can claim loads of expenses without question, go for a subsidised pint ‘n a bit of grub. Where full pension entitlements accumulate at the speed of light………..okay slight fantasy there, pension entitlements only grow 4 times faster than other (civil/public and private sector) workers who need to work 40 years, while in planet Dail it just takes 10 years with the bonus of not having to wait till we are 65, even better those feckers outside will soon have to work till 68! As I said it’s a wonderful place with a great views from the Kildare Street Ivory Tower and if you look closely enough you can just make out the poor feckers beyond the wall having their arse shagged by the German’s, French, my fellow Dail members etc…. Ahhh Planet Dail a wonderful place!!’

• Have to jump in here again, incensed by Noonans comments, its plainly a insult to all families who have lost their loved ones for whatever lenght of time they are gone to foreign destinations purely for some dignity and work .

And I am one of the lucky ones who has not lost an immediate family member.

Noonan you are a first rate F**king Twat !! plus all your other cohorts in Gov..

• Sibhs 19/01/12 #

I am wondering what planet Michael Noonan is living on. I have spent the past few months saying goodbye to young people from the town I live in. Over 500 of them have gone in the past year. The majority of them do not want to go and would much prefer to find a job here. Micheal Noonan and his ilk are living in ivory towers, over paid, over expensed and good for nothing.

• That must explain the suicide rate as well. The place is just rammed. We should build an extension.

• A lot of research has highlighted a direct link between the two; unemployment and suicide (not that you’d need a super-computer to figure it out). There are a couple of outliers though; the Scandinavian states who invest heavily in unemployment support and various back to work schemes, something that is barely visible in Ireland and the UK (Too pricey).

See David Stuckler

• its unemployment!!… noonan your a joke!! no credibility with statements like this

• He would be eating those words if they all came back from their holiday and signed on.

• CMD 19/01/12 #

As older people would say “what do you expect from a pig but a grunt”. Nothing that Noonan says or does surprises me after the callous and heartless way he treated Bridget McCole when he was minister for health. He basically waited till she died to avoid paying compensation for the damage done to her and her family by the then Blood transfusion service board. An ignoramus of the highest order.

• Noonan! Your nose is getting longer.did he have a straight face saying this? Fianna fail .. All is forgiven . Second thoughts feck that too!

• It’s hardly rocket science to see the economy has an effect.

Take the number of emigrants per year in 2003-2006 when there was no ecomonic necessity to leave. Those are your lifestyle migrants.

Subtract that number from the number of emigrants in 2011.

The remainder is the number of economic migrants.

• I generally detest out of touch career politicians but the likes of Noonan, Kenny, Gilmore, Burton..lets just say the entire coalition…..have me reaching new levels of hate, and by hate – I hate them personally, I hate everything about them, I abhor them, I detest them and I detest those who blindly follow them.

• Is he really on the same planet as the rest of us? I remember in the early 1980’s, a certain Brian Lenihan senior saying that it was only a small island and we all couldnt expect to live here, in the middle of the highest levels of immigration. Needless to say that the media backlash was appropriate and warranted. Looks like the same is going to happen to Mr. Noonan

• I cannot believe this. Huge percentage of my class in college (graduated in MechEng in 2007) are abroad solely because they could not get work here, and would come home again if they could get work. I’m not saying that this is the case for everyone, but the sample size i am using is a lot bigger than Mr. Noonan’s 3/5 offsprings

• That man is away with the fairies if he really thinks people weren’t forced to leave. It must be stupid comment week in the dail .

• I’m lost for words. Does he live on planet earth.

• Wow, disconnected from reality-I think so!!!

• 70,000 left last year because of what? A free choice of lifestyle Mr Noonan?
    …and another 70,000 expected this year also?

Noonan, your an idiot!

• And it wasnt hunger that had people leaving during the famine.Was it Mr Noonan???
    Probably just fancied a bit of sun………..

• “What we have to make sure is that our young people have the best possible education, right up to third level,” he said.

This has made me so angry. I did not go to college in Ireland, my home, for six years to up sticks and leave it. Seriously, what fucking hope does Ireland have when deluded twats like this cannot open their eyes to see that damage that has been done to the country on their watch, for fear they won’t sleep at night?! Fair enough if his children made a lifestyle choice and were happy to leave but do not be so profoundly stupid as to claim that every young person is more than happy to leave their family, their friends and their home to earn a living. I most certainly am not, so how dare you Michael Noonan. How dare you?

• What a TWAT!…SHEEEZZZ!

• The former director general of the International Labor Organisation, Juan Somavia, said that ‘if you look at globalisation from the point of view of people’s concern, its single biggest failure is its inability to create jobs where people live’,need one say more.

• F.O.A.D

• Is Mr. Noonan on medication? Because if he is, he appears to have forgotten to take them. :-/

• As a Civil Engineering graduate of ’08 I can safely say that almost 80% of my class are now living abroad or have changed career altogether to try and find work. Slashing capital projects willy-nilly at home definitely does not help our chances of returning. My profession is certainly not alone. Go to Clapham any Saturday night and the number of young Irish people you meet there is staggering. The vast majority of these are in London as it was the only place they could find work, from Constuction to Nursing and Lawyers to IT professionals. They are by in large dreaming of an opportunity to return home but have no prospect of doing so. Seeing the cabinets complete indifference to us, the exiled young Irish really would bring you down. If that’s their attitude to “raising our young for export like cattle” then I’m going to do all I can, even from a distance, to make this a one (not even full-) term government!!!

• that man might want to start talkin to some of his young constituents. if theres any left. cause i can tell ya, two thirds of my friends and family who have left it has been nothing other than pragmatism, and seeking employment. from a 22 yr old who’s been unemployed for 13 months. get your facts and perceptions straight minister.

• Has this man any clue as to what’s going on?

• I’m 23, graduated from University in 2010 and have been working different sales jobs since i left college, I want a career in the Police or Fire Service, but with bans on recruitment until 2014 in these sectors, I’ve been seriously thinking on moving abroad to pursue these goals. True, alot of other things like the weather, sense of travel and adventure are driving alot of Irish abroad, but permanent emigration has to be largely due to lack of opportunities in Ireland! No question..

• So agree David. Its sad that so many of our young people have to emigrate due to lack
      of jobs and not to see the world! What planet is Michael Noonan on? Does he think we are stupid?
      I’m actually offended by his comments! I wish you the very best of luck and i hope get the career
      you’re looking for.

• Thanks Miriam, totally agree with you, it’s embarrassing and insulting the face that he can come out and say something like that!
      Thanks for the reply too, have a great Michael Noonan-free weekend!

• Mr. Noonan, what’s the weather like up there on that cloud?

• A bad day for politics. Yes it’s a lifestyle choice I’m sure …. In the same way as eating food is! Very poor choice of words / statement – should know better!!

• He still has his mates to have a pint with in Merrion Sq, half of mine are in OZ because of the likes of him and his banker mates who ruined the country. what kind of airheads are running this country?

• Noonan should join Rabbitte and both consigned to community work for at least 200 hours each.

Their gross pay cut to 188 euros a week.

All expenses denied.

All pensions denied.

What a pair of gobshites. So out of touch from reality, and certainly have not considered the general mood of the people of Ireland.

• Rather than giving us the benefit of his undoubtedly wise insights, why doesn’t Noonan back up such an idiotic statement with some facts and figures? Who actually cares about his anecdotal evidence based on his own family (when daddy has an income his size if things go wrong) when people with considerably more experience of the “pain” we have to suffer are saying the opposite? What a fool.

• SF 19/01/12 #

Yes Mr Noonan, the comparison of your well to do kids living abroad with people who move abroad because there is no work for them here is completely apt.

I strongly suggest this guy just move from laces to velcro…he will have less difficulty with the later.

• Dear Mr Noonan,

Can’t believe your ignorance to facts. Obviously, another politican not living in the real world. You have been a politician for as long as I can remember. After 30 years in national politics, its fair to say that if you have had your chance.
    It is infuriating for Irish expats like myself that you feel the need to speak on our behalf to explain our rationale for leaving our beloved country.

Yes, perhaps people leave Ireland because there is a better quality of lifestyle in other countries. Prudent economic management, sensible regulation and astute investment in the growth of any country can give its citizens a lifestyle that is attractive enough to keep them at home. This, just incase nobody told you, is your responsibility as an elected representative of the people of Ireland. Herein, therefore is a direct link between your failure in your duties and the plight of so many people leaving the country.
    I suggest, if you really want to know what peoples motives are for leaving, you dispatch some of your underlings to the departures area of Dublin airport. Ask them five questions:

1. Why are you leaving?
    2. How long will you be gone?
    3. Is the “island to small”, and do you just “want to get of the island”?
    4. Are you leaving all all of your friends and family? Do you hate them?
    5. What would attract you back to Ireland again?

When your underlings report back, I would be interested to see the results. Its not rocket science to run a country properly. You can even plagiarise a successful country like Switzerland where I am living. Of course, come election time, you will attribute the relatively low 14% unemployment rate to your own success in government as compared to Greece and Spain where the rate is even higher. Just make sure that the underlings factor in all of those Irish people who have left the country as they had no prospects and no confidence in you and your lot to sort your mess out.

For the record, we expats are leaving the country because we don’t want to feel like losers walking around with nothing to do all day. That would be bad enough, but listening to your bullshit every evening would be the last straw.
    99% of Irish people are proud, hard working folks, drawing dole is not what we want to do. Our country needs serious change and you are incapable of delivering it. Resign and leave the country with the rest of your cronies. Then you will get to see what it is like to have to restart your life with no family around you.

Good riddance,
    Dave

• that is f*ckin hilarious!!! no we’d much rather stay here unemployed whilst the govt and various other retards tell us were all “work shy” lazy scroungers

• NOONAN. GO AND ASK THE BUTT END OF ME UNCLE BILLYS BULLDOGS BOLLOCKS…. GO GET A JOB YOUR ACTUALLY QUALIFIED TO DO…. GROW MUSHROOMS,

• Dave 19/01/12 #

He would have been right five years ago…but not now! While a desire to see foreign shores is undoubtedly an attraction for many, it’s lack of a bloody job that pushes them out in the end.
    This government really is developing a nasty habit for saying the wrong thing at the wrong time. I cant help wondering if they actually want us to revolt….

• I dont know how any FG/Lab person can defend this! Noonan is a disgrace, cowering to the Troika and now saying people are leaving as a lifestyle choice!!! Why did we vote for these clowns? FG were always going to cower to Europe but i’ve lost all respect for Labour! Disgraceful and Embarrassing – I dare him to say that to the countless parents and friends left behind

• As a member of the Irish Democratic party I should for party sake, bite my tongue and watch my language – I do not want to bring bad light onto the IDP due to any words of my own.

..That said, I HAVE to say, Noonan is a right bloody, utterly stupid fool!

• If you’ve ever wondered what it feels like to be on LSD, just imagine what it would be like to be locked away in Michael’s tiny little mind for 6-8 hours.
    Yes boys and girls, it’s THAT level of detachment from reality!!!!

• To have the nerve to use his own children as an example. Yes, because all of our parents are sitting on a Ministerial salary. Not to say that his children are not providing for themselves but they’re never exactly going to be in fear of having to sign on the dole or have to worry about how to pay the mortgage next month.

• A free choice in as much as one can with a gun to your head.

• is he crying in that photo

• And a lot more people would love to leave Ireland, except they are trapped in negative equity…..

• They are so dumb it is scary!! The reason why all my friends that have immigrated was down to the fact they could not get work here!!!

• Noonan is once again proving how disconnected our politicians are, what an Assehole!!

• Between comments like the this one by Noonan and FG’s pre-election promises (U-turns) I don’t see how they are ever going to be re-elected.

• Common sense is obviously being tightly rationed in government. Perhaps Noonan should ask any parent whose sons and daughters have emigrated why they left? Doubtful if the abundance of jobs in the country will occur in their answers. Noonan’s ineptitude is matched by Howlin’s defence of public sector increments as reasonable, rather than a pay freeze. As days roll into weeks and months, the government’s incompetence and high handedness is approaching FF values.

• What a stupid comment to make. It’s easy to know you have no loved ones the other side of the world unable to return because of hungry politicians and greedy bankers. You clown noonan

• I would say arrogant moronic good for nothing useless shit bags like our minister for finance is another reason why young and old,people are leaving these stores. what hope has Ireland with a prick like that in finance?

• To be fair, I’d get the hell out of the country too if I was related to Noonan…

• What fcuking planet is he on. At this stage all you can do is laugh. “When ignorance reigns, life is lost”

• They all live in a cocoon up there in Leinster house not knowing what is going on outside in the REAL world… Wake up and smell the coffee Mr. Noonan…We are at our wits end here… I like thousands of others are personally suffering this.. with loved ones living overseas because of no work in this country…

• Dirty rotten scumbag…telling us the country is broke while ravenously helping himself to massive wages, huge expenses and the safety net of a golden handshake at the end of it all. Hopefully he won’t be around long enough to be a burden on the state after he retires.

• This comment is an insult to all the people who have been forced to go abroad for work. Appalling rubish talk from Mr Noonan.

• Yeah, my brother went to work on a building site in London as a “lifestyle choice”. Not because he couldnt get a job in Ireland doing what he’s qualified to do. Mr. Noonan, you are a jacka$$.

• Noonan is off his rocker, unemployment would be closer to 25% if you include all those on training courses. Indeed it already is 25% in Donegal for the 18-30 age group.

The Irish youth are doing the government a favour by emigrating, not the other way around as Noonan seems to think.

I used to have respect for Noonan but the last 12 months have proved he is as out of touch as any of the FFailures.

• Local soccer club just lost 5 unemployed 20 yr olds. All inemployed >3 years. Moving abroad is not a choice for them. Kids left behind as well.

• Perhaps I would have emigrated, as a lifestyle choice, if my dad was Michael Noonan…..

• Another stupid comment from him … What planet is he living on !!!!!

• His comment has made my blood boil. I normally do not comment on here but enjoy reading them. How naive and ignorant Mr. Noonan speech about why so many young Irish people are leaving. It is because of them they are in this situation in the first place. All political parties that have been in charge of running Ireland have contributed to its downfall. A bunch of cronies with no regards for anyone but themselves. I say we the people of Ireland should form a new party. We should stand up and form community groups and focus on issues that are close to us. Then we register our party with these issues and rid our country once and for all of those rotten to the core leaders who have left a stench in the air and have dishonored us with their rhetoric.
    This is what I would like to see the Irish people do. We are passionate about our country as our comments show that. We are sick of those out of touch politicians making a mockery of us. But I know that we are smarter than them because we have the power and it is us that keep them in their bubble. It is time to burst it! Are we willing to face the changes that are ahead? I could put hundreds of questions on here right now of why we should not stand up and be counted for. But I hope that we can prove to each other that it can be done if we stand together. A quote from a leader who had through strength and a person of the people said “Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it” by Mahatma Gandhi.

• I wish I could give lots of thumbs up to this comment ….. Well said .
      Noonan you are a fool , deluded,and ignorant of the realities that we
      ordinary folk, who are paying the price every single day for the decisions
      you and your cohorts have made.
      What is your vision of Ireland Mr Noonan??

• jimbo 19/01/12 #

talking through his hoop again trying to cover up the truth.

• Would love to have some of what he is smoking, it’s easy for him to say his kids left because of a lifestyle choice .
    Were they unemployed here for 3 years and getting 188 on the dole before they left. Did he give them a handout, it’s pretty easy when your earning 150,000 plus a year. Just another example of the Government not having a clue of what is really go on, or maybe they do and just don’t give a shit. Probably the latter. So get used to it guys there’s going to be alot more of this from shit spewing Politicians.

• The sad reality is Noonan is just another DELUSIONAL politician. The Irish government are still living way beyond reality and their feet are a long way off landing back on solid ground!!!

• Just another example of how “out of touch” these people are with reality living their sheltered lives!

• Noonan is either a liar or a fool. He is either completely oblivious to the reality people face in this country or he is extracting the urine. Whatever the answer he should not be in the position he is in. Ah Democracy, its great to be free people. Free to leave.

• Let the gombeen make nonsensical statements like this and let the electotate remember come polling day, hopefully sooner rather than later…

• Hahaha, XD I was in serious need of a good laugh today…

• hilary 19/01/12 #

It makes me very angry to hear a minister sprout such utter nonsense. I am overly qualified and working a rubbish job just so I can stay in Ireland. My family had to emigrate to the UK in the 1980s and both my sisters never returned; it meant that we are irrevocably separated. I can’t have my parents lose another child to emigration, so I am staying. Nobody leaves their home without good reason. Get a brain.

• Excuse me minister but this isn’t a f**king episode of LOST…!

It’s blatantly clear that the majority of people leaving are doing so due to a lack of employment opportunities and the fact that their chances of getting work in the future are just as grim! Especially those involved in the construction industry! With the live register at its current level how could he possibly utter this nonsense? personally know a lot of people who have emigrated for employment purposes, I also know people who have left to explore the different lifestyles! However the ones that left to explore are not returning because their chances of securing a job on their return are slim! I came close to leaving myself a year ago but didn’t go in the end!

• Look, until this gobshite is removed I would put him on warning that at some point he will be charged with treason for blatantly abusing his Ministerial Office for personal profit at the expense of the Irish nation. Now folks will you please get a move on and install a government that at least promises this course of action?

• I will soon emigrate due to lifestyle choice.
    I will chose to live in a country where the possibility of continued work is greater,
    where I can buy a house,
    have my future children be given good education,
    where I wont be left on a trolley in a hospital hallway,
    Where my taxes are not spent on lining politicians pockets or paying for their dry cleaning.
    I never wanted to walk away from Ireland but after seeing the ethos of this government as well as the last, I have to do what is in the best interest of my family

• where does Michael Noonsn live? his children might have had a choice about emigration but mine don’t. they like so many young people have a choice alright, life on the dole in Ireland or emigrate. working in Ireland is not an option now with so much unemployment. no future in the land they love

• This pig needs to apologize immediately for his ignorant comment. Of course his spoiled spawn have a choice to migrate abroad for fun. With their connections I’m pretty sure they wont be lining up on any dole queues if they were here. As someone who has had to migrate in the recent past because of his father and his ilk’s mismanagement of the country I take immense offence to this.

• That man is clearly a fool, I know of at least 10 young people who are in Australia and would much prefer to be here if there was any jobs for them, so there must be thousands of them unhappy about being abroad.

• Earlier in these posts…. respondents asked what planet is he on??? …. well Mr Noonan has form in the planetary stakes… here’s an excerpt from Wikipedia..

“In 1994, the ‘Rainbow Coalition’ was formed and Noonan became Minister for Health. The department was embroiled in a scandal at the time regarding blood products contaminated with Hepatitis C virus, caused by the negligence of the Blood Transfusion Service Board. Noonan consistently held an authoritarian line on the case of Bridget McCole and would not budge on his views, suffering as a result of the scandal.He threatened to take Bridget’s mother Ellen to the Supreme Court when she wondered why her daughter had contracted the disease. Noonan was forced to establish the Hepatitis C Tribunal of Inquiry and to issue several apologies for his handling of the affair. Noonan remained as Minister until the 1997 general election. The Irish Times said “the woman involved had been infected by a negligent State agency, in the biggest health scandal since its foundation.” “

• Of course arrogance is not just limited to Fine Gael cohorts… DURING THE 1980s, when Ireland was in the throes of a dreadful recession and high unemployment, the then minister for foreign affairs (the late Brian Lenihan), famously observed: “We can’t all live on a small island.”

• Agreed. Séamus.

To clarify that would be the Brian Lenihan who sold army commissions while based in Athlone, who was Charley haughey’s right hand man, who went on to rob Lenihan’s sick fund, while prominent FF’ers turned a blind eye to it. Not to be confused with the other Brian Lenihan, who turned his back on his father by refusing to point out that robbing a dying man’s sick fund is not on, and that FF were devoid of morals or decency so he could get a cabinet seat, where he stayed and played a massive role in destroying the economy for generations while protecting his friends.

What a lovely family they are.

• Tim… for both the ‘houses’ of Government and Opposition I am reminded of the lines from Romeo & Juliet

MERCUTIO: I am hurt.
      A plague a’ both your houses!

• Face palm

• we are to assume that it is everything but our septic political system that drives our citizens away……………….

• WHAT a F..ing INSULT to People, Of course he is correct about his own Children, DADDY are we RICH or POOR ? Why LITTLE DALINGS ? Oh well I think we are Middle Class, That is what I tell every one when they ask especially the PEOPLE but they are total gombeens the TRUTH is we are RICH. Why dont you make a little life choice and spend a little time out of this Ireland of ours while these so called POOR suffer, I dont like you to be upset by them, Sure why wouldn’t you go on a little trip aren’t ALL THE POOR UNEMPLOYED only making life style choices, You Darlings are in titled to a bit of that. I SAY SACK HIM AND TAKE HIS PENSION AWAY FROM HIM HE IS A DISGRACE .

• Kerry 19/01/12 #

Thanks for the education! I would have loved to stay in Ireland but my future is in the UK.

• Amazing. They went to see the world… The sad thing is that soo many people in this country genuinely believe that leaving is normal. They did it 30 years ago we are doing it now. Where is the trouble? It is so sad Mr.Noonan. The city is empty and only fills up for Christmas. Your investment in educating the irish youth is like money thrown out the wondow. And you don’t even care :(

• is that gobshite on some sort of a trip? yea my only child is in australia for the last 4 months working,am i happy NO I AM NOT MR NOONAN. how dare he insult the kids who have had to leave their familys and friends through their incompedence.that man spouts nothing only verbal crap.

• It’s a shame he didn’t feel that urge himself, but then where else would HE have it so good

• It’s difficult to like Michael Noonan.

• Can we forward this tread to Mr. Noonan and ask for a reply :)

• I haven’t had a chance to look at my phone today until now and I honestly can’t believe someone who holds a position like him would come out with a comment like that. Imagine the mothers and fathers ,who worked so so so hard to give their kids and education see them leave this crumbling island because no jobs can be found, reaction to this comment?? To IRISH families up rooting kids to move to canada, australia, middle east to earn enough to give their kids a decent and proper life….mr noonan do you really honestly and truthfully think that the reason why so many families have been broken up is because they need to “see the world and do a bit of sight seeing??” How much longer as a nation can we put up with this?? How much longer are we going to take our, yes, OUR countries ruin at the hands of so called custodians of or state. We have enough fire in our bellies at this stage to take a stand and demand changes that suit us for a change. Demand we have a say in how our country can be saved. There is enough talent left here to pull us through, we need to get rid of this coalition first. We have too, if we’re going to survive

• Sorry I misspelled the word representatives in the reply I sent you :-)

• I think that is everyone’s opinion , they have to go , but how do we do it, nobody will listen to the real people any more, do we Have to wait for the next general election to throw them out or is there another way? I want them gone but NOW, it was announced on todays news that the €100 household charge will be used to give 1 point something billion euros to the bondholders of Anglo Irish Bank, are we idiots or what, we are being dictated to by a crowd of foreigners we have never met , nor have we ever received any benefit from them for our money.how can we get rid of this rubbish we stupidly elected ?????.

• TALK ABOUT DENIAL

• ████ ██ █ ████ everything ███ █████ is █████ ████ ████ fine ████ ███ █ ██████ love █████ ██████ your government. ;-)

• hahahaa look at the thumbs downs on all these comments, yet not one comment in support of noonan and his delusions, whoever is doing the thumbs down seems afraid to comment, is it his staff? his family members? or maybe the great man himself?

• The question I would like to ask him is this how many emigrated when there was full employment in this country?? would really like to see those figures ..

• Joan burton also said welfare was a lifestyle choice

• why does this comment remind me so much of brian lenihan sr’s comment about there not being enough space on this small island for everybody. his political career didn’t last too long after that statement. why should noonans. out of touch, overpaid, and unfortunatley over here

• I’ve never seen fewer thumbs down on any other thread on this site. Speaks volumes.

• i would be gone in 10 minutes if i had the money to go

• totally agree with ya there, between Noonan an Burton making us feel like misbehaved children, and Enda and the rest saying dig deeper, its enough, if I had the cash id jump ship too, a lot of my friends have already gone

• Spot on noonon there not driven away by unemployment, there flown in planes from unemployment, you really are a 1st class Moran!

• ████ ██ █ ████ everything ███ █████ is █████ ████ ████ fine ████ ███ █ ██████ love █████ ██████ your government. ;-)…………………………………..

• Noonan – what an idiot ! Out Out Out !!! before we are all destined for decades of austerity.

• What springs to mind everytime i hear comments from our current politicians is…..dissolve the dail…….dissolve the dail!! Mr Kenny, if there’s one thing you get right in your time is admit that it’s too big a problem for your inept coalition and make a phonecall to mr president and ask to dissolve the dail.

• Thoughtless.

• The arrogant Bastard…SACK HIM NOW or there will be as much left of Fine Gael as there is of the other FF’ers.

Jayziss I Voted for this lot

• JR 19/01/12 #

It’s wishful and delusional thinking. Sure, emigration was part of Irish culture even during the boom. People — especially young people — do want to get off this island. Part of it is now cultural — their parents and aunts and uncles did it. They’ve heard the stories of the so many years in America or London or whatever. So the existence of substantial emigration isn’t attributable to anything other than history and culture and yeah, how incredibly small this island is.

But the increase is directly attributable to unemployment and hopelessness. They don’t see a future here, and it’s an easy decision for Irish kids to make, because it’s something that’s done anyway.

LOL at his message that we need to educate the Irish kids who are going to leave and get jobs in other countries. Really? Can we get those countries to pay back the fees for those students when they become doctors and nurses there? I mean, obviously, we have to educate them, but hopefully not for the benefit of other countries.

• is yer man for real!!!

• NOONAN living on planet make believe the moron really believes people are leaving their homes to see the world ??? total gobshites these politicians

• Have another look Noonan you gobshite.People are leaving because they are getting bled dry.Seems to be something new every day in one department or another.Ridiculous statement to make.
    Free choice of lifestle me arse………Wake up……

• Noonan you are a deluded fool.

• made 19/01/12 #

It shows the arrogance and ignorance of this government, they do not and will not ever care about the people of Ireland, they’re only interest is in themselves.

• what a lot of shit ,kids are not leaving out of choice but because they have no choice you gobshite ,you should be sacked immediatly if not sooner because you are not fit for the job ,but what can we expect from a man who dragged a dying woman trough the courts ,i demand that you apoligise at once for these stupid comments and then you should be put on a slow boat to china never to return

• Is this man really living on the same island as the rest of us? What a load of hogwash!!! Just shows on in-touch with the people this Government is. Time for them to go methinks!!

• There was a reason he left the front bench of Fine Gael. Kenny was an idiot to bring him back again. Goes to the heart of his leadership.

• Re: that first sentence: ‘MICHAEL NOONAN HAS said that most emigration by young Irish people is a “free choice of lifestyle” ‘

Where did he say the word “most”? I can’t find that anywhere in any direct quote. Or the word “majority”, either. Have I just missed it somewhere?

From what I gather, all he said was that there was a non-specific proportion of those Irish living abroad who left Ireland for reasons not related to the economy or job market.

Which is …………true.

Whether it’s insensitive for a government minister to bring this up, when there are so many people who have had to leave the country less than willingly, is one thing. But what he said wasn’t factually inaccurate. This article’s first sentence, which claims that he said that “MOST” Irish abroad were there as a lifestyle choice, does seem fairly inaccurate, on the other hand.

Again, this is all riddled with vagueness. All I hear about are “a large amount of my friends” or “loads of people I know”.
    Has anyone done any proper research into the motives of those emigrating?
    Until someone can present some stats, can we all just agree that, of Ireland’s emigrants:
    1) a non-zero number of them did so because they had to.
    2) another non-zero number did so because they wanted to. ???

…..I would also, possibly controversially, suggest that there is also:
    3) a non-zero number of emigrants who did so because they wanted to, but whose saddened parents/family left behind maintain that it was because they had to.

• I have some first hand research for you Mr Ding. Two young people who are very close to me left for the UK two years ago. Their choice was motivated by the need for employment and to make an effort to move forward in their lives since that option has been made unavailable to them by irresponsible bankers and politicians here in Ireland. Ireland is now the bitch of the Bundestag.

As the Mother of one of these people, I actively encouraged him to leave Ireland. Of course I am saddened but deluded I am not. I know of many more instances of forced emigration like this. I realise this may not amount to research but it is my experience and the experience of many other parents and offspring in this car wreck of a country.

Personally, I have always planned to leave Ireland for my retirement. That is purely a lifestyle choice and one which has been reaffirmed by the events of the past few years. Unfortunately my son and his friend have not had the luxury of making a choice but have been forced to make their decision to leave.

• Thanks for sharing your experience Martina.

As I said, I’m aware that many people have have been forced to emigrate. I suppose my issue is that no one seems to be able to say how many is “many”!

The experience of those around me has been quite different. Of the 12 or so friends of mine who have emigrated recently, all but one did so quite willingly. The majority left steady jobs in Ireland – or turned down offers of jobs in Ireland – in the process.

Obviously I’m not going to claim that this 90+% rate of “lifestyle” emigration among my friends is representative of Ireland as a whole, but I don’t believe that the number of people Michael Noonan was talking about is insignificant.

Again, this is all very vague…

• I am sure the ministers children are abroad as a lifestyle choice , most irish people with money send their kids to live expensive lifestyles off the old sod. But even if they were living here they would not have to worry about finding work or prosperity as they are part of the inner circle. I am sure a lot more people would be leaving ireland in search of work if they had the money to move and they weren’t under water on their house loans

• Weird he had a completely different opinion in 2010, mentioned something about an unemployment i believe….not like a politician to tell lies??

http://research.finegael.org/news/a/3531/article

• Stupid ignorant fat ugly pig

• Looking lose at the photo
    Is that a tear running down his big fat cheek ?

• You have to hand it to that “man” ex Secondary School teacher Michael Noonan. That man is absolutely deluded but then again I am not surprised. He walked away from my door when I challenged him during the last election nearly 12 months ago so it’s no surprise that he would be so rude and ignorant to say it’s a voluntary decision. Yes, technically it is but it’s a forced voluntary decision. Much like it will be technical “voluntary decision”, if and when the Common Consolidated Corporate Tax base is introduced which will result in the Corporate Tax base of the state being eroded, when the Government don’t have a choice but to increase corporate Tax rate if they wish to maintain the tax take. They will have put it up and so the treaties will not have been breached. But they will have been forced to put it up if that comes to pass so the rate will have been pushed up via the back door. People need to be aware of this.

• Betcha nearly half his mates haven’t been forced to move abroad… Grrr…

• I would never ordinarily put anything like this in print on a public forum, but … I hope that Michael Noonan chokes on an enormous deluge of Beluga Caviar laden vomit tonight.

• Clearly there are some people who want to travel/ emigrate but there should not be ONE single person who HAS to for economic reasons

• Noonan should be held under the mental health act for his own good, he is so out of touch with reality living on Planet Fine Gael there are more sane people in mental institutions !!!!

• put him in a straight jacket& throw a way the key

• *close !

• Hi. I urge you to watch this movie, regardless of your position on the economy or society. It is a lesson of economics. the First 15 mins are a revelation on the global banking system.

http://youtu.be/EewGMBOB4Gg

• Who is he kidding. Has he looked at the live register latly.

• Ming must have given him some waccy bakky

• Yes, emigration is a lifestyle choice, as if it’s like a decision to join a gym instead of a home entertainment system; to do yoga instead of GAA…

…yes, just thinking of people i know, like middle-aged people leaving their families to seek construction work in Papua New Guinea and Poland, others out in the Arabian deserts with no hope of coming home to stable employment, nurses and teachers being trained for export: yes, all of them made simple lifestyle choices, no different from the decision to drink tea or coffee. Lifestyle choices.

• Would love to have some of what he is smoking, it’s easy for him to say his kids left because of a lifestyle choice .
    Were they unemployed here for 3 years and getting 188 on the dole before they left. Did he give them a handout, it’s pretty easy when your earning 150,000 plus a year. Just another example of the Government not having a clue of what is really go on, or maybe they do and just don’t give a shit. Probably the latter. So get used to it guys there’s going to be alot more of this from shit spewing Politicians.

• when noonan cried on the pat Kenny show . over his wife’s alzheimers . condition every one felt sorry for him . because of how he felt . he told people if he got in the government he would look after the people of Ireland in anyway if F.G got in .well he has a very short memory .well now he is not crying for the Irish people that put him and his cronies in government they are laughing at us now .god rest his wife. and may god save us from them amen .

• Is having a job a lifestyle choice?
    I am currently a postgrad reasearch student in maths, and emigrated to France for two main reasons:
    1. Nobody in Ireland was doing research in the area I was interested in, and I could not learn what I needed to there. The maths departments in Irish universities tend to be smaller than those of other universities in the US/UK/Canada/France/Germany/etc.
    2. Maths postgrads in the UK, US, Canada, France and Germany are effectively employed by the university they work for. It normally works out as a moderate salary (although the top places the US and Canada can sometimes give out quite a bit), enough for rent, food and clothes. From what I understand, the opposite is true in Ireland, namely you pay the university tuition and sort everything else out yourself.

It depends on how you define choice. If neither of the above were true (I could do the work I wanted to do in Ireland and live on the salary I get from it), I would not have emigrated to France, where I know nobody and the language is not my mother tongue. Of course it is an interesting experience, but it is not a holiday.

Also, Michael Noonan says that some young Irish people “want to see another part of the world and live there”, but this does not account for the 17% increase. It annoys me because it suggests that the increase is down to the fickle desires of the young or something. Just as an anecdote, a friend of mine who studied engineering had two choices: retrain as an accountant or go to London. He chose London because, according to him, he wanted to do something that mattered, rather than sitting behind a desk all day (I don’t mean to insult any accountants; that was just the way he felt about it). That was his choice, but it was not as easy as Mr. Noonan puts it.

• Weird he had a completely different opinion in 2010, mentioned something about an unemployment issue believe….not like a politician to tell lies??

http://research.finegael.org/news/a/3531/article

• Robert Lynch might ask himself whether 76000 people a year were leaving Ireland in 2004 or 2005 or even 2007. If not, maybe he could explain the sudden surge in interest in other cultures and countries. Noonan says Ireland is a small island–yes, if you have a free driver and the use of a jet. Must be nice. What a maggot.

• Oh FFS

• I moved to New Zealand last February seeking work so I could pay my mortgage at home. I ended up homeless and eventually moving to Auckland to live on a bus and working at Pak n Save. I contacted the Irish Society in Auckland and they have got me back on my feet. I also missed out on Christmas because the wage I am earning would not of been enough to pay for my flights over and back. “free choice of lifestyle” What a CocoNUT . Not everyone’s parents earn a ministers salary and can afford to give their children such lifestyle choices.

• Haven’t we heard this before….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAYpxOrhJT0

What a joke Noonan!

• Its a mix of both. From what is being quoted above, he’s being a bit delusional. But certainly there is an element of people wanting to get out of Ireland for a while, which is the category that I fall into.

• I’d say your in the minority Andrew, Noonan is deranged to even say this, when he must know in his heart of hearts it’s not true!

• Agreed Andrew, it is a mix of both…. which is actually what Noonan said.

He said that many people are emigrating to see another part of the world (as young people do) and that many people especially in the building and related industries are emigrating because there is no longer 20% of the GDP of our economy associated with the building industry. That is what he said – a balanced statement. But balance does not suit the media, because balance does not produce controversy.

He also said that the government must have the aim that ‘those who go abroad are well educated so that they do not end up hanging on by the skin of their teeth when abroad (as has happened in the past)” and that “those who stay at home should be reskilled – if they have worked in the building industry – since we will never have 20% of our GDP connected with building again”.

• Very confusing statement. Makes very little sense. Although I agree that there may be a “mix”, Noonan seems to have chosen to discuss a very small group in detail while downplaying a large proportion.

Generally speaking, unemployment has caused some strange developments in Ireland, the likes of which have rarely been seen. With people willing to commute large distances daily (Galway-Dublin) and in some extreme cases weekly (as far as London) to maintain a 9-5; why should emigration be “untouched” by something that’s having a major influence on “the island”?

• Me thinks that this goverments plan is you keep throwing shit at the wall it may stick

• Jim Farnan 20/01/12 #