TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

NI census: Catholic population growing as Protestant numbers decline

Northern Irish figures show for the first time that the question of national identity cannot be directly related to religion.

Image: Brian O'Leary/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 18:48

THE CATHOLIC POPULATION of Northern Ireland has grown moderately in the last 10 years – while the Protestant population has fallen significantly in the same period, new figures have shown.

Census figures for Northern Ireland, published this morning, reveal that 45.14 per cent of the population of Northern Ireland identifies as Catholic, or as having been raised as a Catholic. This is up by about 1 per cent on the last census in 2001.

In the same period, however, the number of people who identify as Presbyterian, Church of Ireland, Methodist or another Christian religion – collectively regarded by the census as Protestant faiths – has fallen by 5 per cent, to 48.36 per cent.

When including only those who claim to still uphold a faith, as opposed to those who were raised with one they may no longer hold, the numbers are closer: 41 per cent say they are Catholic, while 41.8 per cent claim to belong to the various Protestant religions.

Meanwhile, the gap between proportions of the population who identify as Irish, British, Northern Irish or a combination of those splits along significantly different lines.

Asked for the first time about their national identities, just under 40 per cent described themselves as ‘British only’, and just over 25 per cent described themselves as ‘Irish only’. Just under 21 per cent, meanwhile, described themselves as ‘Northern Irish only’.

A little over 6 per cent described themselves as ‘British and Northern Irish’ only, while 1.06 per cent (19,132 people) described themselves as ‘Irish and Northern Irish’ only. Almost as many, 18,406 (1.02 per cent) described themselves as ‘British, Irish and Northern Irish’ only.

The inclusion of a ‘national identity’ question on the census shows conclusively, for the first time, that the national identities of the people of Northern Ireland cannot be assumed to be a direct reflection of the religion a person was brought up in.

The Northern Ireland census was carried out on March 27 last year, and discerned that the North’s population stood at 1,810,863 on that date.

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• Robert emmet
    henry joy mccracken
    Roger casement
    Charles parnell
    robert erskine childers
    james napper tandy
    sam maguire
    Theobald wolfe tone
    all republicans and all protestants!!!

• Protestants in NI today my Republican friend! Name one – just one – Protestant from NI who supports this United Ireland concept.

• Just look at Assemblyman Billy Leonard, an Independent Republican in Stormont. People aren’t going to start naming members of SF or other org’s on a friggin website who just happen to be Protestant.

Where the work on the ground is making a difference is that it is SF members who are doing the political weight lifting in for many Loyalist and unionist areas. The DUP and the UUP were like FF and FG respectively, they took the bottom half for granted and there are no other groups that bother to actually help them. From Shinners friends and family they have growing members from Protestant areas.

The longest lasting tradition that the Protestant faith have made in Ireland is Armed Republicanism and that support is still there in many quarters. A small but dedicated minority.

• I think you’re confusing Protestants with Anglicans. In the south, most of those we call Protestants are actually Anglicans, descended from the English. Anglicanism is only Protestant in the sense that it doesn’t answer to Rome but in practice it’s a Catholic faith. In the North however those we call Protestants are Presbyterians, descended from Scots. Presbyterianism
      is a true Protestant religion and is very opposed to Catholicism.

• I know more than a few…I’m even engaged to one.

• *gasp* a mixed marriage! The horror, the horror.

• what i wish for the people of Northern Ireland is everlasting peace and equality it took alot of guts on both sides to come together and i admire all of them for that as a republican i hope to see a united Ireland in my lifetime but it has to be the wish of the people on topic of equality we are mainly of one religion yet it seems we have vry little equality.

• During the Celtic Tiger years the South was a much better bet than Britain. Things could change again.

• They will change.

• Adam 11/12/12 #

Care to elaborate on how exactly we were much better?
      I cringe when Brits moan about the NHS have them check out our healthcare & see if they moan as loud.

• As someone that has a chronic illness, and I’ve live under the NHS and the Irish public (not private) health care, you couldn’t be more wrong.

It’s very easy to criticise when you only hear of the negative stories.
      My care here at home has been fantastic over the past 13 years.
      My care in the UK for the 8-9 years before that was abysmal.

But why would you read a positive story in the press, you’ll only hear the negative ones.

• Better interest rates, lower taxes, better pensions, better standard of living, happier people, much better opportunities, better wages, longer lifespan, all said I’m glad to be Irish .

• ill offer a counter to that, when my niece was one week away from her 1st birthday, my brother brought her into hospital because she was listless and very ill, drogheda hospital sent her home 3 times, each time she got worse, 3 consecutive days he brought her back, eventually she was diagnosed with swine flu, was given a prescription or paracetemol and sent home, unfortunately she was prescribed an adult dose, after she was given the meds her liver collapsed, as there are NO Facilities in ireland to deal with this accident she had to be immediately air-lifted to kings hospital in london, she spent 4 weeks waiting for a replacement liver and was given an hour to live every hour, she was placed number 1 on the worldwide priority list for liver donation, eventually she did get it, the operation was ultimately successful with some complications, she is almost 3 now but will spend the rest of her life in and out of hospital, my brother frequently describes to me the awful amount of wasted hours attending ‘appointments’ where you show up on time but arent seen for several hours, persistent failures to correctly diagnose conditions, over-worked medical staff at the end of their tethers, he tells me the contrast between the service in the 2 countries couldnt be more extreme

• Glad she got through it. Sounds abysmal!!

• thank you, she also happens to be a genius, she is not yet three and has taught herself to read words up to 7 letters long, she can spell the words backwards too and read them upside down, she can also count backwards from 100, its incredible in such a young child

• I’m glad she is well RP.
      She sounds fun. She’ll running rings around her parents.
      I hope they spoil her rotten after her ordeal.

• cheers Danny, i hope you get well too

• I’m only as well as I’ll ever be RP, but thanks for the thought.

• Better education, cleaner environment , having the Craic, welcomed the world over, better food, were not perfect but if I had to choose which nation to belong to, it would be the Irish nation.

• Better education than the north? Hardly ,there was a report only today saying how well the north was doing in this regard

• Its time for the British government to do a Hong Kong on NI. Name a date, say 20 years hence, for withdrawal. It’s time for all the people and leaders of this Island to begin dialogue on how we develop a system of governance free of repression of one culture by another. The labels of Unionist/Nationalist, Protestant/Catholic are for a different era. Ireland will never reach it’s true potential, economically, politically or socially while partition remains in place.

• Religion does not necessarily dictate personal politics in the North. Religious affiliation across the UK is down across the UK with over 25% of people citing having no religion. A factor that could explain the increase in Catholics is that young people from a Catholic background are more likely to study at university in NI and stay in Ireland where young people from a Protestant background are more likely to travel to GB for education and they never come back.

• That is the big one. The Orange see Britain as part of their home so they see nothing in going to college in Liverpool or London, they get jobs and settle down there. Their parents also are more and more tending to retire in the sunny south east of England, a place they also see as part of their country.

As is the Unionist population is top heavy in the 70+ while the younger you go the higher the Nationalist populace is.

Belfast, Derry, Newry, Armagh city, Counties Fermanagh, Armagh, Tyrone, Derry and South Down are all Nationalist majority and in the next 10 years heading to absolutely massive majorities.

• One also interesting thing in the North is that given the historical nature and still somewhat existent discrimination against Nationalists, many were forced to be self starters. Unionist voters are either pensioners or working in some way for the State. Business starters and self employed tend to be over weighted to Green side as a result of this.

You can debate about the economy here,there d all that but if your a 12 year old in the North and you see that over 65% of your age and under group are Nationalists with Republic of Ireland jerseys bar a few suburban areas and Antrim,and all your local politicians are either SF or SDLP then Unionism will be just a historical footnote for you.

That is why Unionism is so worried by the massive changes. Instead of Unionist politics being opposed in most of the North in a very short time it will not have a functioning political structure or support base. Unionist political parties are still very hostile places if your Catholic, no much you love the Union. Their own bigotry will ensure that they will always be a bridge too far for most Cats.

• @ Srephen
      Well said Stephen, I’d like to add that the brits know that their future relations on this island will be with Nationalism, not Unionism, expect Britain to love bomb Ireland over the next ten years.

What’s happening in Belfast right now is the death pangs of Unionism/loyalism. In truth loyalists don’t know who they are, they’ve always had conflict in one form of another, now that there is peace they have no idea what to do.

They’re are like people who have worked for a company for 40 years only for that company to tell them that they are not needed anymore. Sad really, but there future lies in their “mainland”. Their children who have went to college in England and haven’t come back know that. It’s only a matter of time before loyalists start moving en masse back to where they came from.

• @AJ Finnin – I think it’s simpler than that. Britishness has ceased to exist in any meaningful form. It is something which now lives only in the heads of people wearing bowler hats. The vast majority of people on the “mainland” would dump NI on Thursday morning if they could. And they don’t even try to pretend otherwise any more. Oh, and the public sector which makes up more than 50% of the North’s economy? That could be eliminated at the stroke of a pen in Whitehall.

Meanwhile, the Republic has ceased to be a cold place full of papists and dancing at the crossroads. We might love to slag it off as often as possible, but it is nothing like the country which unionists despised 40 years ago.

If I were a northern Prod, I would be looking for terms. I reckon I would get a better deal in Dublin than London.

• @emily
      So true Emily, but shouldn’t we welcome our Unionist brethren with a glass of poitin and a dance at the crossroads, under the watchful eye of the Bishop?

• That is a very interesting point by Emily. Britishness as an identity is dying in Britain, never mind in Ireland. In Britain most people see themselves as part of their national identity first. The only difference in non-whites who see themselves as British first. They having grown up with the media saying that little Englanders were whites only and that was true at the time.

How can you be British when very few in England consider themselves to be and they all call you Paddy.

The GFA is just a long game plan to disengage England from Ireland and there are none so eager to do that as London.

The reality of politics and economics is that London knows that all it takes to destroy London as a Finance centre is to have one lorry lead of explosives driven in to Canary Wharf once or twice. It would force the locking down of the city and make it toxic as business location. That is economic reality and London looks at its budget no’s and sees that the city is all that keeps their economy afloat and says screw the North they aren’t even British what ever they think.

• I don’t know anyone in Englandwho doesn’t consider themselves British. Or Wales for that matter.

• I really enjoyed this thread. Open discussion and no silly remarks about a ‘West Brit’ etc. it’s a shame most threads can’t be like that.

• Alan 11/12/12 #

Time to start teaching all of them the scientific theory of the Big Bang?

• “The inclusion of a ‘national identity’ question on the census shows conclusively, for the first time, that the national identities of the people of Northern Ireland cannot be assumed to be a direct reflection of the religion a person was brought up in.”
    Wolfe Tone, Robert Emmett and Erskine Childers were also clear examples that ‘national identity’ and religion are totally unrelated.

• I really hope ‘the rev’ is still alive when protestants are eventually in a minority in the north….seeing his disgusting bigoted face at that point would make me very very happy

• He can see the facts on the ground. The union flag is no longer flying over Belfast because it is no longer the flag that the majority of Belfast feel comfortable seeing above them or feel any association with. That is the level of change that this census means and that is only the start.

If you do not have kids, or those kids leave for London then you cannot pass on your political beliefs. It roughly is that simple and no matter of broadening your electoral appeal can change that, it could if your populace have the money and a growing population to define the future but not when your running no’s like 30% of kids from your background.

• Anything that makes loyalists unhappy :)

• it’s time that the tricolour was flown alongide the Union Jack, on public buildings, in the Six Counties.

• Both flags should be flown I agree

• Those figures seem to show only 1/2 of Northern catholics descride themselves as Irish only. Could you blame the rest for not wanting to be ruled by the shower we have in Leinster House?

• Is one not Irish, if born on the island of Ireland ?

Just as one is British, if born on the island of Britain.

If one happens to be born in the 6 counties. Then they happen to be Irish but in the U.K. That does not make them British. Jeepers it’s basic geography !

• Are we not all praising the same God ?

• Eamonn 11/12/12 #

We are Stephen if the god is mammon. It’s a long, long time if ever since there was anything dignified or noble or holy about this demonstration of mans capacity to be manipulated.

• Glen 11/12/12 #

many people want a ‘united Ireland’ (why is a different question) but under terms that are just short of ethnic cleansing of the (Irish) Unionist population. There seems to be a narrow definition of what defines ‘Irishness’ and that’s Catholicism, Republicanism and a total rejection of anything ‘British’. To suggest anything different gets some people’s heads in a spin.
    “There’s only two things I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people’s cultures and the Unionists”
    The historical context and national identity is much more complex, as this data shows.

• I know I’m going to get a lot of red thumbs for this but I simply don’t care what happens in Northern Ireland.

• What ever about a united Ireland, there was a desperate attempt by the Irish made to come under British rule as soon as the extent of our financial disaster was realised. Here is the Queen’s dignified reply to Bertie as revealed in: http://www.ottosbunker.com at the time…

Buckingham Palace.

Dear Taoiseach,

We are surprised to receive several newspaper cuttings pinned to a note from you asking: ‘What do you think?’

On perusing these clippings we assume you are soliciting our thoughts concerning a suggestion that the Republic of Ireland be handed back to Our Majesty with an apology for its current state.

It never occurred to us that such a suggestion would carry much currency in your country, but we are now obliged to take it seriously, as your inquiry intimates to us the possibility of the matter being raised formally sometime in the future.

At this point we would like to pronounce in the most solemn terms our great great admiration and friendship for the people of Ireland and commiserate with them wholeheartedly at this time of grave economic difficulties.

However, in the almost 95 years since you decided to go your own way, we have grown more and more relieved that you had done so.

Recently hardly a day goes by but that we do not give a collective sigh of relief.

We know that this may appear spiteful but looking back over 800 years of rebellion, slanderous remarks and vindictive songs, we are quite happy to see you off the premises, so to speak.

Another reason is that the salaries, perks, pensions and expenses you pay yourself, your ministers, public representatives, civil servants, medical consultants, accountants, economists, lawyers and public relations advisers would make this Sceptred Isle as broke as your own country.

In retrospect, it is quite fortunate it has turned as it did or else, we daresay, you would have attempted to pass the bills on to us.

We can assure you that our loyal subjects are as one on this and, if there is the slightest public wavering in satisfaction at your absence or a hint of sympathy for the idea of your return to the United Kingdom, rest assured that BBC television will be commanded to transmit on a daily basis ‘Today In The Dail’ and those clips of Senator Donnie Cassidy currently appearing on YouTube.

So, Taoiseach, thanks, but no thanks.But do not become downhearted. Have you tried ebay?

Her Royal Highness,

Elizabeth II

• Ian Paisley closet shinner

• I can fully understand why Catholic people of Northern Ireland would not join a united Ireland. They have equal rights up there now, we are a total mess down here and they have free health care up there amoung other things they would have to give up to be in a United Ireland.

• why does everyone assume that its only down to the nordies to decide whether they should join the republic? Its a breeding ground for nutbags, and its costly to run. They would stay in the UK a anyway no matter what the ratio of the religions is. If they had any sense.

• Go down South Circular Road on a Friday evening , and you will a new emerging sectarian force.

• I don’t believe those statistics to be honest, not because of increases or decreases but because I think significantly more than 6 odd percent of people are no religion or other religions but are afraid to declare such in NI

• Andrew – I should point out, for the sake of clarity, that people were asked their religion ‘or the religion they were brought up in’. This probably accounts for the smaller-than-expected proportion of people who answered as having no religion – anyone raised with a faith that they no longer claim to have would not have answered ‘none’.

• Its the same when applying for jobs and you have to fill out an equality form, some will state, you may no longer practice your faith but which one were you brought up in. Also I know of someone who put none on one of these forms and was brought in by the HR department to see if he had made a mistake ticking none because he went to a catholic school and they wanted him to state catholic on the form

• Catholics traditionally did not declare their faith as the state was quick to mark them out as a result or the RUC might come knocking on the door at night with their Loyalist Para hat on rather than a police cap. It wasn’t safe to let the authorities in the North that you were a Taig.

As said above, Religion is only a way of marking out what you see your cultural heritage is.

• That’s retarded, you honestly think companies HR department were sharing people’s equal opportunities forms with loyalists?

• No some probably did. It has been shown though that the authorities and security forces in the North worked very closely with Loyalists in passing them information, providing finance and support.

• That’s moronic. No ones equal opportunity form was ever shared with loyalists, if you have an example of someone’s equal opportunity form being shared with loyalists please share

• You could have 65% Catholics in the North and the overall vote remaining in favour of the Union. Most Catholics support the Union. Fact!

• Religion is a personal set of beliefs and should not be measured in a census, it’s like asking the population what their sexual preference is

• why would anyone in their right mind want to get involved with this country? We’re broken, bankrupt and backways. They stand up for what they belive in up there and we would shame them! Im totally for an united Ireland but can you imagine those gombeans in the dail trying to run that place up there? They are way out of their depth already for god sake! on the other hand though, it would make our national debt more sustainable as the Government would have another 1.8m people to rob!

• You aren’t following the English economy.

Thing is, London couldn’t give a toss what the economy of the North is like. The English overwhelmingly want rid of it and that is what is going to happen. Votes on the ground are secondary to that, power will continue to be off loaded to the North.

The British will have consultative rights, same as Dublin had under the Anglo-Irish Agreement.

So to cap it off, a minority in the North now see themselves as British. The Unionist population is old and leaving the North and most people in Britain, of whatever political shade view Unionists as red neck fascists. Nationalists be their very history of being refused jobs based on religion tend to be self starters. Unionists are civil servants or retired ones while Nationalists are over represented in business start ups and the self employed.

• damian 11/12/12 #

I saw a comment on an English friend’s facebook page… It was from a mate of his (also English) and the subject was about the riot in Belfast. The comment was along the lines of “LOL look at those Irish people pretending to be British”….

They couldn’t give a damn about Northern Ireland…..

• Eamonn 11/12/12 #

The truth Michael would be a lonesome chap if it ever made an appearance in politics particularly northern politics. Wiping loyalist noses in it was a politically irresponsible act and bad manners to boot. I hope no one dies.

• as someone that would love to have the resources or opportunity to get out of here and start afresh, its difficult to understand the desire for re-unification, arent both countries’ political elite the exact same?

• Eamonn 11/12/12 #

Just saw Dobbos interview of Naomi Long Alliance Party on six one. He should get an award for leading questions. When politicians light a fuse they have a cheek blaming the bomb for going off. But when they are led by the nose in that direction by a newsreader it becomes offensive.

• Means nothing

Add New Comment