TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Pic: The moment Obama learned of Sandy Hook shooting

The US president later described this as the worst day in his presidency.

8341737560_92bda72875_c (2)

THIS PICTURE, RELEASED by the White House shows advisor John Brennan briefing the US President in the Oval Office on the details of the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown on 14 December.

Obama shed tears in an emotional press conference later that day as he said the hearts of the entire country were broken by the tragedy in which 20 children aged 6 and 7 were killed.

In an interview with NBC in December, he said that it was the worst day of his presidency and he hoped the emotions of the day would not fade with memory.

(Image: The White House/Flickr)

Related: Sandy Hook massacre survivors back to class today>

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• An official photographer follows the U.S President most of the time

• Everyone is so cynical here, as well as being president the man is a father, of course he was genuinely hurt by these events.

Clearly it’s part of him trying to be an open and honest president and to that end having a photographer around is a great idea IMHO.

For people to say he didn’t care and this is all pr is clearly ridiculous, he is in his 2nd and last term as president so he hardly needs to garner any publicity.

• Alien8 05/01/13 #

I for one want a photographer to follow Enda around, and capture the “emotion” of being the Taoiseach… The tears (or lack of) when ministers inform him of cuts to careers, the anger (or lack of) when confronting bankers/union heads in the dail, and the passion (or lack of) when sticking up for the country on a sojourn to Brussels.

I have an old Canon 350D and would be willing to take this on (for the standard €120k a year fee, though) #LetsMakeEndaTransparent

• Don’t see photos of him celebrating when his soldiers play Call of Duty with people’s lives abroad. I’m sure his heart bleeds for all the innocents he murdered

• sean 05/01/13 #

The photographer is with the president most of the time, Obama commissioned him from day one to capture the emotions of the presidency. Saw a documentary on it last year. But I do believe that Obama is one of the most sincere presidents the US has had. To anyone hearing that for the first time would be hard.

• tom 05/01/13 #

This is being played out as gun reforms are on the way and public opinion is important if anything meaningful is to be achieve.

• PR stunt or not, if the honesty of the shot helps to change a few more Americans views on gun law, in turn saving innocent lives, it is only a good thing.

• Then stop writing crap….as for vendors writing stories others have also printed, do you think with the age of the internet that there is still a story available exclusively to anyone organisation? Do ye think rte has a crew in syria?

• Obama genuinely looked very upset giving his statement to America about the tragic killings of the young children. Some people forget regardless of his office the man is human.

Now unless your a psychopath or have some mental condition how could anyone not be upset about such events?

If he only released happy pictures he would be accused of bias, and when he releases negative pictures he is accused of a pr stunt. Some people seem to forget he is not from Krypton and hasn’t got an S on his Chest.

• Pity he can’t feel the same for the foreigners he kill. Oh wait that’s for the good of the country, can’t let the babies grow into terrorists. Don’t know why people actually buy into this photograph pr propaganda

• American life > Iraqi Life

• Doubt he sheds any tears for innocent kids murdered by his drone strikes.

• He knew in advance.

• And tell us Gearoid. What type of world you have us live in?

• fourth time leaving my comment here, it’s all bull$hit lads, complete and utter bull$hit to get us all to feel how they want you to feel, it’s great that so many are waking up to governments bullshit, maybe it’s not too late to take a good fight to them so they will quit this system they’ve been propping up for far too long. We can never say this was all staged, not 100% anyway but the world they’ve left us all living in is one where we couldn’t believe a word out of their mouths anymore, sad state of affairs in my opinion!! We need change but not the type Obama speaks about, he’s worn that word out and if it means anything to him it means making things worse!! Idle No More

PS. I’d love it if my comment wasn’t removed or censored again please. If you don’t like what I’m saying well then let me tell you I don’t like saying it but this is the world we live in and I am only calling shenanigans on Obamas propaganda!! Thanks journal.ie ;)

• so this 4th or 5th attempt at posting this comment is still up after 20 mins. I do hope it’s left up this time or at least someone from @ thejournal.ie can tell me why it’s being removed when the majority of the comments are calling this quite rightly for what it is? pure and utter propaganda and nothing else!!

• Well Gearoid;

You are not alone. I posted a comment saying that this was absolute propaganda and pointed out the fact that the US has, over the course of several presidencies been responsible for massive amounts of murders but my post was removed. I also stated that I didn’t believe the US should be given carte blanche to raise havoc around the world and be a law unto themselves in return for, as some suggested, their gifts of fast food and rubbish film and TV to the world.

What’s the point in a comment section where we should be allowed to express all sides and therefore get a balanced argument if the comments the Journal doesn’t agree with get removed? Feel free to respond, Journal comment censors!

(Let’s see how long this one stays up)!

• careful there Garrett, it looks like you’ve had too much to think

• Lads how do you know it wasn’t a technical glitch? I didn’t read anything in either of your comments that would have been worth censoring.

• Because, Kevin, it was posted and then it wasn’t.

And further demonstrating my paranoid tendency towards conspiracy I’m wondering… the guy who carried out this shooting, like the one in the Aurora cinema shootings, was due to testify in the Libor case. I wonder if there are any other strange related incidents?

• i know there have been many comments removed all day as I was watching this piece since it was put up and i was reading the clued up comments that started pouring in only to watch my own and many others disappear continually all day. i’m amazed this has been left up so long but also extremely disappointed that people aren’t afforded the right to read all comments that were put up during the day. websites can remove peoples comments but that will not stop the rising numbers who are seeing right through the spin and pr governments and news outlets are trying to feed us. Idle No More!!

• Regardless of a full time photographer being there .. This is nothing short of a PR stunt … Well timed shots are ok but not at a time of such atrocity

• How cynical is it to have a photographer there just as the news was broken?

• White House photographer follows the president everywhere, has unrestricted access. His job is to photographically document every moment of the presidency. US presidents have had dedicated photographers for decades. I seen a documentary on him before and he often stays in the room when everyone else has left even when the president is meeting with other heads of state.

• There is an official White House photographer that follows the president everywhere. It’s not like Obama said he you guys wait until the photographer gets here before you tell me some news so I can look emotional. It’s cynical to think that’s what happens. Have a look at the pics http://www.flickr.com/photos/whitehouse/

• Did the photographer ever a picture of Bill and Monica in the oval office??

• mister 05/01/13 #

There was an interesting National Geographic documentary about this. There is indeed such a photographer and he is almost everywhere with the president. The purpose, I think, is to visually document as much of the presidency as possible. Sometimes that will include big occasions and often just unguarded times such as this. I think the current guy is called Pete de Souza (or something) and Obama is not the first US president he has worked for.

• Amy 05/01/13 #

I have two things to say on this.
      1) The publication of this photo is nothing more than a PR stunt by the White House to gain support for Obama, “the real man behind the president”.
      2) Does the American government not have anything better to spend their money on than having their President followed around 24/7 by a photographer?

• @Amy

Your 2 things to say don’t actually contribute anything. Suggest you keep your deep insights to yourself in future.

• Adam 05/01/13 #

Lol Paul

• @ paul – and yours says even less. Perhaps you should take a bit of your own advise and keep it to yourself!

• Amy 05/01/13 #

Paul, my comment contributes a lot more than yours does. The comment section is there for people to share their own views, whether you agree or not. I suggest next time you should just give your own “deep insight” into the topic instead of wasting your time with completely useless comments aimed at other readers.

• It would be hard to tell whether the presidents reactions are real or fake when he knows there’s a camera on him most of the time! Either way, I find it hard to believe that he wouldn’t be saddened at this news, just as I find it hard to believe that he wouldn’t be saddened at hearing about innocent lives been lost in the war against terror!

• Bertie must have had one of them photographers too! Hence the massive make up bills

• He had to hide in a cupboard to avoid them, and even at that they still caught him on camera.

• He worked for Reagan as well.

• The official photographer is there all the time, I’m not 100%sure but i think he is informed by the chief of staff of highly emotive events to truly capture the exact moment. The same thing happened with Clinton when he was informed of Yitzak Rabins death, the photographer was there to capture it, it’s in his autobiography, it’s a really striking picture.

• Amy you are dead right, the people on this board have a hard-on for Obama even though they know nothing about his ruining of the country.

Don’t worry, they’ll play the race card soon, followed by the “Blame Bush” card, along with an intrinsic racism that states “because I support a black president I am therefore a good person, yet I have no clue about the fire economic shape the US is in”

They’ll get angry, but they’ll know deep down he’s a farce driving an already doomed country to a quicker failure.

The truth hurst.

• Michael 05/01/13 #

*hurts

• Getting kind of tired of seeing something on another unnamed news app, only to find it reported on the journal the next day as a new story. That’s at least the second one today and I’ve only started browsing this app.

• IMO this image and its release does not reflect as much on Obama’s presidency as on the fact that aspects of anyone’s personal life can now be photographeded/videod and online as they happen and the question is, how does that affect individuals, events and society? The US pres can manage his exposure a lot better than that girl whose dad works for kpmg…. but the open-ness and accessibility of the internet and technology makes both of these exposures possible. On balance I think it is healthy for society and debate that the internet is open and events can be seen widely very quickly and debated. It is an opportunity for greater social awareness and participation and I believe this is a good thing. We do need to be aware of the social manipulation capability of new technology and media and I believe that would be a lot worse if it was controlled by vested interests instead of open as at present.. Maybe not so good for individuals at careless moments, sadly, and this can have big cultural and social effects, if there is no privacy and no room to consider things before they go public then there are dangers there. People are savvy enough to assess the PR element in images. I would assume the release of this image means there will be a follow-up by Obama and the release is meant to introduce that. Saying the image is PR is not cynical, it is just being informed and reading the media intelligently.

• Im sorry but this is a pathetic PR excercise.

Released by the white house advisor….. LOOK! OBAMA CARES! HE CRIED AND HERE IS A PHOTO TOPROOVE IT….

Whatevs

• Disagree completely, your comment is quite crass and immature. it doesn’t show him crying! It shows him taking in the news like any head of state would, he’s in shock and not worried about composure. He’s a father and like any father, to hear that 20 children were massacred takes its toll.

• The moon landing was a fake!

• Correct, I am immature. Crass, hmmm maybe.

And I would consider you innocent and gullible.

boom boom boom lemme hear you say Adebayo! Bayo!

• @ Cholly ; it’s the fact that Obama and Michelle are both parents is what is most shocking when you read about what Obama has sanctioned against their own people. look at the patriot act and amendments to other acts designed to remove all rights of the American people and subsequently the rest of the world to live a free life. Obamas administration sign off on mass terrorist operations daily in the name of peace yet never once shed a tear for all the innocent people killed, maimed or psychologically affected by this war on terror (and drugs!!)!! Therefore, Obamas tears on the tv after the shootings amounted to no more than https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAl2-vWIH0 in my opinion.

• How do you know?!! And what’s the point?

• Ah HERE leave it out … Will yaaaa

• Dario Fo 05/01/13 #

Hey Brennan, let’s get down there ASAP. This is my best chance to stick it to those NRA ba@tards. And tell Jack to double my security detail..

• sean 05/01/13 #

How can real change happen when there are conflicting senate and house? I think it’s a shame because Obama started out with some great ideas and then ran into…. well, politics!

Add New Comment