TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Pope not ‘abandoning the Church’ as 100,000 attend Sunday prayer

An emotional Pope Benedict XVI has delivered his last Sunday prayer in St Peter’s Square in Rome.

More than 100,000 people are believed to have attended today's service in Rome.
Image: Alessandra Tarantino/AP/Press Association Images

POPE BENEDICT XVI delivered an emotional last Sunday prayer in St Peter’s Square, saying God had told him to devote himself to quiet contemplation but assuring he would not “abandon” the Church.

The final days of his pontificate are being overshadowed by mounting scandal over two cardinals – one accused of covering up paedophile abusers and the other accused of “inappropriate acts” – set to to take part in the conclave to elect the next pontiff.

But tens of thousands of supporters turned out for Benedict’s final Sunday prayers ahead of his formal resignation on Thursday, often interrupting him with their clapping, cheering and chanting.

Vatican Pope
(Faithful hold up a sign with writing in Italian reading “Dear Pope we will miss you”, during Pope Benedict XVI’s last Angelus prayer, in St Peter’s Square – Pic: Alessandra Tarantino/AP/Press Association Images)

“The Lord is calling me to climb the mountain, to dedicate myself even more to prayer and meditation. But this does not mean abandoning the Church,” the pope said from the window of his residence in the Vatican, his voice breaking with emotion.

If God is asking me to do this it is precisely so I can continue to serve with the same dedication and love as before but in a way that is more appropriate for my age and for my strength.

The 85-year-old leader of the world’s 1.2 billion Catholics announced earlier this month he will be stepping down because he lacks the strength to carry on.

His shock resignation ends an eight-year reign dominated by the priest child sex abuse scandal and efforts to counter rising secularism in the west.

He thanked the crowd with a final unscripted call, telling them: “We will always be close!”

Huge turnout

The Vatican and Rome police estimated the numbers at more than 100,000 people – many times more than usually attend the traditional Sunday prayer.

“Holy Father, We Love You”, read one banner, while others said: “Thank You, Your Holiness” and “Dear Father, We’ll Miss You”.

Vatican Pope
(A large sign with writing in German reading “Danke!!!” (thank you) – Pic: Alessandra Tarantino/AP/Press Association Images)

“I have come to support the pope and to ask for his blessing,” said Joao-Paulo, a 26-year-old trainee priest from Brazil.

Birgit Marschall, 37, a teacher from Germany, said: “He is an intellectual who speaks in simple language, who writes what we have in our hearts.”

Claire Therese Heyne, a 34-year-old theology student from the United States, said the pope “must have had a very strong reason” to leave.

“It is an act of courage and humility,” she said.

Benedict will be only the second pope to resign of his own free will in the Church’s 2,000-year history, and the first since the Middle Ages.

But Gianpaolo, 33, said Benedict had been “less courageous” than his predecessors, and stressed the need for major reforms.

“The Church has to have a major reflection after this resignation. Something has changed inside the Church and this decision reflects this,” said Gianpaolo, who came with his two sons.

Forty-five-year-old Linda from Wales said: “He was not so open as the last popes before him. A new pope should be more open to people, to new ideas.”

There was tight security in and around the Vatican, with more than 100 police officers and snipers on surrounding buildings, as well as two field clinics and hundreds of volunteers to help pilgrims.

The event was being seen as preparation for the pope’s final general audience in St Peter’s on Wednesday where around 200,000 people are expected.

Some Italian media have speculated that Benedict’s health may be worse than has been revealed, and others have said an explosive report into the “Vatileaks” scandal may be to blame.

Some reports say a committee of cardinals into the leaks of confidential papal papers last year had uncovered allegations of intrigue, corruption and blackmail in the Vatican.

The Vatican’s Secretariat of State – the government of the Catholic Church – took the unusual step yesterday of issuing a statement condemning “completely false news stories”.

Conclave

A series of meetings of cardinals starting Friday will determine the date of the start of the conclave of cardinals to elect a new pope.

No favourite has emerged but many observers say the cardinals may plump for a younger candidate who is a more pastoral figure than the academic Benedict.

The upcoming conclave is under a cloud over allegations that one of the 117 “cardinal electors” – US clergyman Roger Mahony had covered up for paedophile priests for years in Los Angeles.

In addition, British cardinal Keith O’Brien has been reported to the Vatican over claims of inappropriate behaviour.

The Vatican said the pope was considering the case.

The Vatican has said Benedict will retire to the papal summer residence of Castel Gandolfo near Rome for the next two or three months while a former monastery inside the Vatican is renovated.

Vatican sources said he is likely to retain his title of “His Holiness” and will also be known under the previously unheard-of title of “Bishop Emeritus of Rome”.

The pope, who started a Twitter account in December and has stressed the need for the Church to be present on social media, has also taken to microblogging to say his final goodbyes.

tweet

- © AFP, 2013

Read: Britain’s top Catholic in ‘inappropriate acts’ row: report >

Read next:

Comments (105 Comments)

• What good did he ever do?

I am disturbed by the level of idolatry for a mere man. It is unhealthy to be overly devoted to any human being in this way.

Child sexual abuse is heinous and repulsive. Those who placed considerations of institutional protection before legal obligation are criminals. Open your eyes.

• He got out before he was arrested watched “Mea Maxima” Culpa on Saturday night and although it’s nothing I didn’t know already , it’s a real eye opener to see the corruption and association to peadophiles and sexual abusers Ratzinger was involved in. You think he’s bad if Dolan gets in it will turn your stomach. The whole cult should be shut down and cleaned out. If they were not in their so called separate state they would have been arrested years ago. The Italian government is the only country that should legally recognise it as a state according to the law, so whats stopping Interpol from putting warrants out on these nut jobs. Sadly they have been allowed to much power and will continue to spread their disease across the world.

• time to shut it down ! close the door on your way out Rats

• The church are entitled to their views like everybody else in society , they should not have to change their teachings to suit the latest “trendy” thing in society , I mean what will liberals be asking of them next , to speak at Gun Lobby conferences , to come out in favour of Drug legalisation , Its mad how people who dont have any interest in religion one way or another keep going on about rights but will not allow the church to express their freedoms and rights .

• The best Popes are those who have gone to their maker. I wish the Pope an early meeting.

• Cult in action

• Sometime in the future, society will look back on itself and ask “How did so many decent people continue to support the Catholic Church & the pope after the horrendous crimes they committed against thousands of innocent children throughout the World? I don’t understand how anyone can continue to speak out in their defence after what they’ve done.

• Münchausen syndrome is related to Münchausen syndrome by proxy (MSbP/MSP), which refers to the abuse of another person, typically a child, in order to seek attention or sympathy for the abuser. It is an obsessive want to create symptoms for the victim in order to obtain repeated medication or even operations. Courtesy of Wikipedia

• God told him……… So he hears the voice of God. Why is it this is an acceptable statement? If I turned round and said “God told me to quit my job and start praying all day, every day” people would, quite rightly, think I was delusional. But if I was male and wore a funny hat it would be an acceptable statement. That’s ridiculous!

• its scary how many of them there are

• Paul 24/02/13 #

Deluded people. Very sad. Still, my boyfriend owns a BnB in Rome and we decided to put up the prices 3 fold for the next couple of weeks to snare these clowns. Chi Ching!

• Thanks Paul. I will get on to the catholic networks and news groups for pilgrimage and spread the news for Catholics to expect high prices from hotels and and B and B s over the coming weeks. To avoid these places and seek out cheaper accommodation if needs be.

• He thinks he’s the official spokesman for the whole Roman Catholic Church and christiandom . Judging by Stevens comment I am of the opinion that some village somewhere is missing an idiot.

• @paul better in your pocket than the Vatican vaults .

• Paul 24/02/13 #

Stephen and Adrian, if you fancy joining the rest of the dullards at the replacement ceremony for Jessel the Unitard Im sure I can find you guys a good deal;-)

• Paul 24/02/13 #

Lol @stephen, the dark network you speak of will have to put their hands in their pockets in Rome these days. Not exactly the cheapest place to visit and when you have thousands of mentally deranged people flocking into the city at one time then good luck finding a cheap place to stay…I guess the men of the cloth wouldnt mind sharing their beds with a few of the needy ;-)

• Hey Stephen. Its called supply and demand. Better get on your forums and warn any catholic friends of yours visiting Ireland for st. Patrick’s day to expect high prices too.

• Delusion Central.

• Lambs to the slaghter. Just imagine following such hypocracy n worshiping statues made out of muck. These people are mad I tell ye.

• Who cares.

• Cult Fiction.

• ““The Lord is calling me to climb the mountain, to dedicate myself even more to prayer and meditation”

So the pope serves god,god speaks directly to the pope,god tells the pope to protect the pedophiles,god is evil.I rest my case!!!

• I posted a comment in this which was quite tame…where is it?

• All this so doesn’t matter

• Not a bad turn out for a farewell concert. :)

• Go team Jesus!

• Some session afterwards i bet. Few naggins.

• Great to see such a wonderful turnout and huge support for his magnificence.

• hahahahahaha sorry, nearly spilled me tea! ‘his magnificence’, truly hilarious

• .001% is a piss poor turn out by anyone’s standards . It’s even worse when you take curious tourists away .

• That’s 1.2 billion throughout the world – exactly easy to gather in one place!! I know you like quoting that percentage but it is meaningless as an attempt to say few support the Pope.

• Would you suggest 20-30 million converge on St. Peter’s Square? Think of the logistics before rubbishing in as usual.

• Ops silly me I made a mistake . let me see at 1.2 billion and 100 thousand turnout it should be .00008% even less than I originally thought . Pity the pope supporters didn’t point out my error!
      Considering Italy is 90% catholic it would amount to .001% of the Italian population showing up! Still piss poor no matter how you look at it !

• Klingon you have made a very interesting point St Peters square can only hold 60, 000 . So where did the other 40,000 come from ? Could the number that actually showed up have been exaggerated by the Vatican ! Back to the calculator for an even less %.

• A valid point about attendance. Its Sunday, a largely catholic country (Italy) and 100k come out to bid farewell. That’s a disappointing figure given the historic occasion. I’d have said 250k would have been a hugely significant show of support

• Yes @Dean , how many were genuine Catholics ?. A lot of non Catholics visit Rome as its an extremely popular tourist hotspot . And how many emergency services and non clerical Vatican employees were there ? not to mention the 800 or so who live in the Vatican who would have to show up so they didn’t piss the boss off. I’d say the number of genuine Catholics who showed up is a lot less than the reported figures. Especially since the square only holds 60 thousand. I looked at the images too and there seems to be a lot of spaces in the crowd.

• Rumours of the strength of the forces from the Klingon empire are greatly exaggerated .

• Oh how silly of me Valid point with 75765 capacity you’d probably find a better turnout for a ManU match than for the pope . Thanks for that you clever man .

• Hi Sean anyone ever tell you that you have a very effeminate vain priestly look by the way you pout in your photo. I see your also wearing a black shirt , where’s your collar hiding out ?

• And Sean if you can’t get the “pointless point” then your the biggest idiot to put a post on here !

• Brilliant point there sean, As for you Tony get a freakin life you low life working out percentages on attendances etc.

• Yes I’m sure Sean is delighted to have the support of someone who thinks that the concealing of child rape by the catholic hierarchy is ok @ Si Regano

• I’d bet the lads in the showers after a GAA match in Cork would be nervous eh Sean.

• You are a complete troll Tony … Get a life. You feel it appropriate to force feed your bigoted views – over and over and over again. It’s painful to the extreme. I respect any persons belief system , whether they be atheist , agnostic , Christian , Jewish or whatever – everyone is entitled to believe or support whatever suits them and the best of luck to them – its call tolerence. Unlike trolls like you , I don’t feel the need to lecture and pontificate needlessly and endlessly. As for the Pope , I wish the man well in his retirement . Amending a church with 1.2 Billion followers and with many of those followers disillusioned is not a role for an ailing 85 year old I would imagine.

• Sorry Sean I misjudged you it was your opening post . I mistook you for an over eager sports fanatic that thought I was some kinda nerd quoting figures who you just wanted to bully . I didn’t actually think that you supported a regime which covered up catholic child rape globally . How wrong was I , when you do so publicly support that regime by your last post. Still your tolerant of others beliefs , like most other people on the planet .So sorry no kudos there ! Just stick to the sport and supporting the corrupt regime ! I’ll keep supporting the thousands of catholic victims of child rape and abuse by the Roman Catholic Church .

• By the way Sean I’m no troll Im just a Cork man like you with one distinction I believe in championing the underdog and fighting for truth and justice for the victims of the RCC

• Tony – Obsessively polluting message boards like this with your hyperbola will go along way to “championing” whatever it is you are promoting. If you took your head out of the ground and read back on what I said , you wouldn’t be so quick to bully your misguided views. I said very clearly , an 85 year old ailing man was not the way to go to resolve the ills within the Catholic Church – of which clearly there are many. Suggestion Tony , read more – talk less .

• Sean your opening post was a direct assault on me so much so that the journal removed it. You immediately lost all credibility as a rational intelligent human being . Such stupidity could be excused by lack of understanding and youth and its almost forgivable . However I disagree with your views that the popes should have sympathy because if his age. His age does not excuse him of his crimes and his culpability in covering up child rape of catholic children internationally . His crimes are against humanity they are inexcusable . So I suggest you take your head out if the sand . I know first hand how terrible the church can be you clearly don’t !

• You reported the post Tony and that’s why it was removed. I could have reported your reference to your highly insulting reference to being in the shower with men after GAA marches , but I didn’t – and then you pontificate about rape – your some hypocrite. You speak out of both sides of your mouth clearly.

• You read into that post what you choose to ! It is the workings of your own mind that you should consider . Not mine. You foolishly engaged me and made yourself look foolish in the process . Clearly you were the one with hatred and your meagre attempts to portray me as some kind of bad guy are comical at best . Your the one who supports and sympathises with a man who protected and effectively facilitated child rape ! Not I . You are the one who is intolerant of truth and justice . Not I . I don’t condemn ordinary decent Catholics who know no better for their just as much victims of a corrupt hierarchy . It’s a pity your views are so blinkered I’m sure your not a bad person just a gullible one . Someday maybe you’ll understand and show an inkling of sympathy for those people who were raped and abused by clerics as young innocent catholic children . Although I wouldn’t hold my breath . Unfortunately gullible people like you feed the hierarchical beast of the RCC .

• Tony, Ever think of doing copy and paste for all your comments regarding the churchand have them saved and ready to paste when you feel like it. You must be worn out typing at this stage.!. Its like a broken record at this point,

• So Regano you took your time with that response you must have been wracking your brains for ages to come up with that . I never grow tired if the truth and I’ll never rest so long as theirs individuals like you that support men who protect child rapists and hide behind the cloak of religion.

• Tony – where do you get off? . If your so passionate about your chosen topic of Child Rape – why then use an insinuation to that same desperate despicable crime in a truely awful post towards me (showers and men post) Answer that? Such blatant hypocrisy . I guess you wont have an answer to that but another unconnected tirade. I’m sorry Tony , I don’t see you as anything but a man with a warped fanatical agenda. P.S – where did I defend anything about the Catholic Church anywhere?? . Read Tony , Read what’s there and not what’s in your head – good man. Over and out ( no doubt you will have to have the last word – why change the habit of a lifetime )

• Read you own post Sean ” As for the pope I wish the man well in his retirement ” I think that statement is pretty clear cut and shows your support of the RCC hierarchy . Who do you think your kidding , you can’t back pedal now .

• and the award for the most deluded post of the year goes to…..sean gregan!!!

• I second that ! @ revolting peasant.

• I bet he wont be left living in poverty oh yes God only works for the rich

• baa baa go the sheep religion is just a club for badly behaved bouncers who work for the real corrupt every belief system has them

• Psalm 1:1

• We need a good traditional pope who is even more traditional than His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI. Because what makes a great leader is someone who obeys God instead of obeying men out of fear of somehow offending them. I would love to see a eastern byzantine Pope and His Beatitude Sviatoslav who is the youngest eastern patriarch ever elected would be a good choice from my own perspective. But Gods choice is always the better one. It is understandable that God always picks a western pope who is considerably more in touch with the biggest ritual rite in the church which is the roman rite and the west who is very morally depraved at the moment needs that western Pope.

• Matthew 7:15-20
      15 “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves

• The other day you were praising Benedict saying you were naming your kid after him. What a hypocrite !

• This is a favourite of mine it reminds me of you ! Demons can take any desired appearance, even that of an “angel of light” (2 Corinthians 11:14).

“13. For such men are false apostles, deceitful workmen, masquerading as apostles of Christ. 14. And no wonder, for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light. 15. It is not surprising, then, if his servants masquerade as servants of righteousness. Their end will be what their actions deserve.”

• Are you an Angel of light ?

• Well if Steve gets his wish and the next pope is an even bigger crackpot nut job fundamentalist more and more people will be eye rolling and guffawing than are at present.
      Bring on the crazy eastern christian zealot, sounds like Stephens wish is for a Christian Taliban, sounds cool Steve, you rock.

• I was not insulting His Holiness or saying he was not a great leader. He was certainly great and very traditional. I am sure His Holiness would agree that he would even like to see someone more traditional than himself elected to be the next pontiff ( and that is saying something because His Holiness is extremely traditional ). Most liberals within the church walls complain that the current Pope was too traditional. Not traditional enough i would say and I think most honest catholic people would agree. So yes an extremely traditional Pope like Benedict is someone I am proud to honour and name my son after. Nay hypocrisy there because its certainly going to be hard finding a more traditional Pope than Benedict.

• Hey Steve, any opinion on Cardinal Keith O’Brien, leader of the Catholic Church in Scotland been reported for inappropriate acts. He was gods choice too wasn’t he.

Your Church is the most morally depraved aspect of western society at the moment, it’s the darkest, sickest and most evil of organisations.

• @ Stephen

Can you explain to me in your opinion,the differences between a “traditional” and “liberal” pope,and how one is better than the other for the church ???

• Stephen, – I agree Benedict is a lovely name for your son.
      In the fifth century there was also St Benedict, was also the founder of western monasticism, – & founded the famous monastery of Monte Cassino In Italy. I have visited there, it is beautiful. Pope Benedict was considering retiring there.
      Like you I wish him well in retirement, & was good to see the huge crowds in Rome today. I think his physical health played a big part in his decision to retire. Hopefully he will have many happy years ahead in retirement.

• There was so much rutting going on he probably couldn’t get any sleep.

• I also agree,Benedict is a lovely name for your son,if you are planning on home schooling him,for the rest of his schooling life,that is ???

• I understand from a previous post of Steves that he homeschools his other child because he doesn’t trust strangers.

• Stephen. You are the holiest dude in Ireland, got the jesus like beard going on, a benevolent and somewhat beatific christ like twinkle in the oul eye and I’d bet next weeks salary that the traffic parts for you on the m50 in peak hour.

How’s that Ark coming along?

• May I suggest Thorazine, Prolixin, Haldol, Navane, Stelazine, Trilafon, and Mellaril.

• sheer & unmitigated Hatred.
      If comments like this, were being daily made about Jews, Muslims, or any faith or ethnic group, – there would be uproar.
      Its the same as saying ”ALL muslims are terrorists or suicide bombers” etc.
      Constant stereotyping, caricatuting & ridiculing the same group of people.
      I wounder if there were no catholics who would you hate then?
      I suppose you’d just have to find someone else…..

• @ Zoe
      “Its the same as saying ”ALL muslims are terrorists or suicide bombers” etc.
      Constant stereotyping, caricatuting & ridiculing the same group of people.
      I wounder if there were no catholics who would you hate then?
      I suppose you’d just have to find someone else…..”

WTF!! When did anyone posting here EVER describe ALL catholics as child abusers or anyone saying they hated catholics ? Never.

If YOU were paying attention you would have noticed most of the posters critical of Ratzinger are so because of particular reasons like his protecting of Child Rapists and abusers and other associated crimes, oh and the archaic views on homosexuality and contraceptive use. These are issues many people are upset and angered by, you however turn it around and express anger towards posters who complain about these issues.
      So in that case I understand you support Ratzinger on his stance and treatment of child rapists, you agree with how Ratzinger dealt with the abuse. Nice.

• @ Zoe

As an anti theist,I am against ALL religions equally but the difference is,the Muslims,the Jews or any other faith,have not facilitated and protected,the brainwashing,rape, torture and murder of little children for decades in my country. If you are so brainwashed that you can’t see what’s wrong with an institution that is guilty of crimes against humanity,then you have bigger problems than a random person posting stuff on the interwebs that you don’t like.You are to be pitied more than anything else!!!

• Well said Will ! I suspect Zoe is stevies alter ego . These people remind me of the flying monkeys from the Wizard of Oz and the pope reminds me of the wicked witch . They hunt in packs these monkies known as Stephen , Zoe , Su Regano , worf and newbie Sean.

• I know I’ve hit a raw nerve, – with all the exclamation marks, block capitals & outrage of your reply.
      Iv’e never said the church was perfect, – far from it.
      However many of the comments here, have moved on from honest comment & debate, – into ‘incitement to Hatred’. Hatred with a capital ‘H’
      many ordinary catholics now, not just clergy being attacked.
      There has to be someone to hate, – what if there were no catholics or clergy. – Who would you hate then?
      If I saw there remarks being constantly made about say, Muslims or Jews, I would not stand by either.
      Many if the comments above fall into the category of Hate speech’ – and You know it.
      Only you don’t want to be confronted by that, – just to continue with the Trolling.
      I won’t be replying any further, – no doubt you’ll have the last word.

• @Zoe once again where is this ‘incitement to Hatred’ who posted something of that nature, I haven’t read it, which poster Zoe come on name them…hate speech! do you mean hatred of child rapists? well then yes I imagine so.

Back up your allegation with proof instead of just waffling spoof talk..the only hatred seems to oozing from your own thoughts, how do those thoughts make you feel Zoe…holy is it?

• Rorys not included in the flying monkey group he’s to intellectually challenged to fly so he’s in the crawling monkey group instead ! No offense to monkies ! LOL

• Zoe out from the shadows again and attempting to turn attention away from the real oppressors . I think you creating incitement to hatred for anyone critical if the RCC hierarchy . You never said the church was perfect and you never condemned the hierarchy for its crimes against humanity . You’d prefer to silence its dissenters . You clearly support the oppressor , not the oppressed . You don’t give a flying s€&t about the victims , do you ?

• @ Zoe

No outrage here at all.The exclamation marks are free,there’s no quota on exclamation marks,or maybe I have OCD,who knows ??? As for the block capitals on the word “ALL” that was to signify me encompassing all religions.

“I won’t be replying any further, – no doubt you’ll have the last word.”

I hope the irony of you firstly saying things like “honest comment & debate” and then using a very poor tactic,that is used to stifle debate,like the one above.You constantly accuse people of “hate speech” and think that they will give you the last word,when you support an institution that breeds Hate(“with a capital ‘H’”) ??? LOL.

“Iv’e never said the church was perfect, – far from it.”

No,you’re right,it isn’t.It’s an evil institution that defiled, humiliated and destroyed thousands of child lives,that you still support and feel the need to defend.Maybe you hate children ???

• Zoe I hate child rapists ! I hate those who cover up the crimes of child rapists ! And I hate those who wilfully support child rapists ! How’s that ? Does that hurt your feelings ? It shouldn’t unless you fit the profile of any of the above !

• I think you hit on something there @ru Ni digs “maybe she/he hates children ” .

• I think you might be right, oh dear…

• Like it or not Ru has a valid point. That’s what it comes down to. What do you expect Zoe?

To actively defend and an institution that has been found to have participated in and subsequently covered up sex crimes against children places you on a pretty low rung on the evolutionary ladder.

• I do hope you continue to post Zoe. Your a shinning example of a past, a past in this country at least that has absolutely no business contaminating the present.

• @my dawg barks some , I’ve taken your observation on board and I’m relegating her/him to the crawling monkey group with Rory . LOL Sorry I’ve an odd sense of humour .

• @zoe begone back to the shadows where your kindred spirit Lamia awaits .

• Come On You Boys In The Catholic Hierarchy!

Add New Comment