TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Revenue to send homeowners estimate of property tax

Homeowners will be given guidance as to how much of the local property tax they are liable for but will be invited to self-assess during administration of the charge later this year.

Image: Peter Morrison/AP/Press Association Images

THE REVENUE COMMISSIONERS has confirmed that it will include a notice of the estimated value of a house and how much property tax is due when it notifies homeowners of their liability for the new charge later this year.

A ‘Revenue estimate’ of the amount of the local property tax homeowners are liable for will be sent out during March with the amount due calculated through ‘third party information’ according to Revenue.

This information is likely to come from stamp duty records, rental details and records from the payment of the €100 household charge which has been administered through the Local Government Management Agency.

Homeowners will be asked to complete a self-assessment of the market value band of their property, claim a deferral of payment if they are eligible to do so or elect for a specific method for payment and return it to the Revenue.

Where the liable person does not submit a return, the ‘Revenue estimate’ will become payable by default and this money will be deducted at the source, i.e. salaries and welfare payments, or through attachment orders.

Revenue says that its estimate will “automatically be displaced on submission of the return containing the self-assessed amount” but self-assessed amounts that deviate substantially from the Revenue’s estimate are likely to be queried by authorities.

Payments

The property tax will be levied at 0.18 per cent of the value of a house with the Revenue estimating that between 85 and 90 per cent of properties will be subject to an annual tax of less than €500.

The tax will come into effect in the summer meaning homeowners will be liable for half a year’s payment this year before a full year tax comes into effect at the beginning of 2014.

“The return that is submitted in 2013 will be valid for 2014, unless the liable person’s circumstances change or unless he or she wishes to select an alternative payment method,” the Revenue said.

Homeowners will be expected to submit their paper return by 7 May this year or submit their electronic return by 28 May.

Phased payments will begin from 1 July including direct debit, deduction at source through salary, pension of welfare payments, or else cash payments at certain service providers.

On 21 July anyone who elects to make a single, one-off payment of the tax will have the money debited from their bank account.

Revenue plans a public communications campaign throughout the first half of this year in order to make people aware of the tax and has published a detailed FAQs document.

Pic: The table which shows how much property tax you’ll have to pay

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• You just know they’re going to make a balls of this.

• Agree!

These geniuses and their calculatory processes. The house next door to me was sold in September and is fuly identified on http://www.propertypriceregister.ie, So I have a spot on valuation – as per the house sale.

Lets see what these spanners come up with!!

• Bank of Scotland Ireland sold their entire Irish comercial/development loanbook for 8% of its value.

So 8% of €200,000 is €16,000
      Minus stamp duty.
      Minus €120,000 negative equity.

So I think that the government should be reimbursing me.

• Picture this estate where the average house is worth 250 000 Euro.
      Now some house have extensions which bring the value up to maybe 350 000.
      Now there is also a house which has been totally neglected.
      No maintenance was every carried out in years. The garden resembles a war zone etc.
      How is the Revenue going to differentiate?
      Can’t wait to see how they deal with individual circumstances.

• I predict by the next valuation in 2016 most houses will resemble the war zone house Stray. I’m one of those people who took pride in my home and spent money on it’s upkeep thereby giving DIY’s and Garden Centres custom. I would have gotten my drive re-done last summer but I knew this Property Tax was coming up so didn’t why pay to add to my liability. I certainly won’t be giving my home any cosmetic licks of paint that I might have done in the next few years either. I have absolutely no intention of selling my home so can no longer give a toss about it’s kerb appeal and I’ll be more than happy for my neighbours to do the same. (Not great for tradesmen, business, or tourism but hey ho). In the States, neighbours get annoyed with people making improvements in their homes as it draws attention to their areas and their street can get re-assessed. It’ll be the same here. Put away the lawn mowers lads, leave your old furniture on the lawn, turn the heat up and watch Opera – the race to the bottom begins.

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

Watch opera?

• Sorry Damocoles who’s the American lady who tells us about her weight? Begins with O. If you don’t like her Judge Judy maybe.

• Oh … got you now.

Are you also going to stand on your front lawn in an old string vest and shout obscenities at passers by? What about inviting prostitutes and junkies to hang around? Some skanger kids drinking cider?

• No need to attract law breakers. A general reduction in house and estate maintenance should be sufficient to lower your liability.

• Hear hear Paul.
      Valid points

• If, when the house is sold, the Revenue’s estimate of the value of the house is shown to have exceeded the selling price of the house, will the excess plus interest be repaid?

• Take it out of the 9% stamp duty I paid and come back to me when that’s gone !

• I has to be a two way street,
    There have been a lot of demands from the incumbent government on the people. They have continued the last governments policies with this austerity programme and we have taken the pain. The troika demanded we introduced a property tax as one of its conditions of the bailout programme. Now heres the problem, very few people would begrudge paying a property tax if we got the same level of service that other countries with the same tax get, but we dont. The budgets for local authorities were slashed last year and the monies from the property tax as we are told will be used to bridge that gap in the future so really we are back to square one i.e. money being spent but services are still third world. If I’m going to pay a property tax I want to see where the money is going and how it is being spent. I want to be able to hold somebody to account if my roads are full of potholes and my bins are not collected on time.

• My point is…… What’s the point busting my balls everyday to earn a shit wage already raped by the government when I can be like most of the others here where I live and just claim everything I can legally and illegally… Head to the pub for super Sunday football, maybe get a new car, free medical and avoid some taxes….. Sure sounds like the life to me…it’s not worth working anymore.

• Reg 07/01/13 #

New cars? Where can I get one?

• Julie 07/01/13 #

I feel for you even working now isn’t paying but trust me surviving on social welfare is very hard, I know a family of 5 two adults 3 young kids I was talking to recently , they are receiving €320 altogether a week to live off. Now you take out electric bill, phone, food, oil, kids school lunches, mortgage ! Now these people had good jobs paid taxes were bringing in income of above 1,000 a week. Break down that 320 feeding 5 etc you do not want to live on social welfare and can someone tell me where these people are going to get the money to pay property tax THEY DON’T HAVE IT !!!!!! CAN’T PAY WON’T PAY. REVOLUTION !

• We have 2 FG party trollers licking each others Ba**s here lads……

• Julie 07/01/13 #

Sorry now David your comment was implied at me and I don’t understand it really , FG party ? Maybe you could try be clearer

• No Julie not at you!? read the comments above, not hard to see which two I mean: “Reg” who ever he/she is hiding behind stupid pseudonym and “Simon Barns”.

• Julie 07/01/13 #

Well it came up that u replied directly to me , I wouldn’t support FG traitors, liars and self centred idiots.

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

“David Stephan” … let’s look at facebook … it’s just a name and an indication of gender, no other information at all not even a picture. Is that a real id?

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

What’s the point damo? Many people like to use pseudonyms, including yourself. He has a valid point, or do you think other wise? Want his blood type too!

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

Yes, of course people use pseudonyms. I was merely pointing out that while he was throwing rocks at Reg for using an unverifiable identity he was doing the same thing.

• So now the revenue are qualified estate agents?

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

Is Riis not a sneaky way of making you register?! They value your house either way too high or low so you get back to them with the correct valuation. Bingo thanks for your acceptance!

• Said that exact thing before ryan, also when valuing your home we should only value the bricks and mortar,not the lovely hardwood flooring you paid for and expensive light fittings that you paid for,the garden shed that you paid for the list goes on and on, bricks and mortar only.

• I pay over a 1000 euro a year to my property management company who take care of bins, parking, maintenance etc… Whats the point….

• well maybe when your maintenance agreement pays for street lighting, main public roads. hedge trimming public bin collection. road sign, library’s, public parks and the well keeping of them. ect ect ect .. maybe, just maybe then you might have a point. !!!!

• Reg 07/01/13 #

Property management fees have nothing to do with the services provided by local authorities. Homeowners also have to pay their own maintenance costs, rubbish collection, insurance etc.

What is your point?

• Our taxes pay for everything you mention Simon, always have done, nothing has changed apart from a pack of lies to try and convince people this scam is acceptable. Jesus, what part of this do people not get?

• Reg 07/01/13 #

@Ronan Existing taxes stopped paying for everything when the great Bertie property ponzi scheme hit the rocks a few years back, haven’t you heard?

• well said Reg.. hence the budget deficit of 14 billion that we are now trying to make up, what part of this do people not get. ?

• I think Simon its probably the part where the funding for these services happened to fall when we starting paying back the speculating unsecured bond holders. Funny that isn’t it?

• Exactly. Out income taxes historically paid for these services.

Our income tax is now used to pay the bank recapitalisations and its resulting debt repayments FIRST, then whatever is left over towards our services.

Thus the property charge is essentially a proxy banking recapitalisation tax.

Do not pay it. Do not sign any contract.

• Just wondering if you are in a joint Ownership home with the Council. Who Pays the property tax?

• 07/01/13 #

I’ve never received a letter about the property tax or household charge. I don’t read or listen to the news. I honestly don’t know what this is….

• Do you own a car, how do you know you need to pay Motortax?
      Do you own a tv, how do you know I need a tv licence?

Playing ignorant will only get you so far.

• Well neuromancer you get a reminder from the motor tax office so I presume that would cover your 1st question. As for the tv licence I would presume you would watch the tv and they do advertise how to pay, also letters are sent out and inspectors call around. Hope that clears it up for you.

• Yeah, a reminder to pay it of you have paid it the first time. All county councils have sent letters to people’s homes about reminding them to pay.

So you watch enough tv to know about the tv licence, but during that time you’ve seen nothing about the house hold charge.

Sure aren’t you on here bitching and moaning about it, and you don’t know what it is.

Anyway, the revenue will catch up on you, and ignorance won’t matter a crap then.

• Sorry neuromancer but I never claimed I had heard nothing about the tax, I was just answering your question about how the original poster knew to pay his car tax or tv licence. And no every county council hasn’t written to everyone to remind them to pay. I haven’t received a bill from the council and no one I know has either.

• I have been told mortgage holders are actually described as tenants in their mortgage contracts. Get a copy and have a look. That coupled with the fact that you cannot be a property owner in this country, you can only have a freehold, should provide interesting challenges in the courts.

• How much will the tax be in 5 years at least double what it is now

• CAPTA , the Campaign Against Property Tax and Austerity (formerly the anti Household tax campaign) is organising the fight against this unjust tax and the austerity program being imposed on the Irish people to pay for the gambling losses of the financial speculators. Go along to your local meetings and get involved.
    http://nohouseholdtax.org/
    The County Councils had the legal authority to take people to court over non payment of the Household tax. There they faced fines of €2500 and penalties of €100 per day if they failed to register for the tax. None of this occurred and the threats and bluster from the authorities evaporated because the mass boycott made it politically unacceptable. The government eventually conceded defeat when they abandoned the courts cases and passed the parcel to the Revenue.
    In the same way, a mass campaign of civil disobedience including a boycott of the Property tax can make the new draconian powers of the Revenue redundant. They have the powers but they will be unable to use them if large enough numbers of people refuse to co-operate with them.
    We are also asking for the support of the unions in this battle. The bulk of the staff of the Revenue Commissioners are members of the Unite and CPSU trade unions. It would throw a huge spanner into the austerity engine if those workers engaged in industrial action and refused to administer this unjust Property Tax.
    We are calling out to the members of UNITE and the CPSU to stand beside us in this fight.

• Fair play and well done, there will be 10,000′s behind you. Keep up the good work. Ill donate my 100 to your organization.

• Those who dislike this, either don’t own a property, or did not buy in the last 10yrs. A property tax is unfair and unjust in this country. We get absolutely nothing for it. Our government conducts its business like the mafia, continually looking for their cut!

• Martin,

Thanks for your support. Much appreciated. Please talk to your family and friends about this also and ask them to go along to their local meetings over the next few weeks and months. A grass roots campaign with people standing shoulder to shoulder with their own is an extremely powerful force. If the ordinary people are prepared to draw their line in the sand on this one, then this unjust tax will be defeated and may well bring our puppet government down in the process.

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

The pound of flesh more like for the sick twisted care/disabled cutting, bondholder paying, bank cap breaching, unvouched expenses seeking, no balls to Europe, blue shirt wearing TRAITORS! Is this cyber bullying?

• It’s difficult, no question, but we’re the only country in Europe who don’t pay property tax. And, yes they also pay stamp duty on sale. They have property tax in the US too. In Europe, tenants pay substantial habitation tax. Owner occupiers pay both the habitation and property tax. They do, however, have very good services. I think here it’s a chicken and egg situation, i.e. poor services because we don’t pay and reluctance to pay because services are so bad.

• Gerri – services will still be poor after they collect all this money!

• Good comment Gerri
      if this charge is paid by the people can the government give us a commitment that services will improve.
      Can they give us a breakdown as to where the money is spent each year

• Frank, (if only that were really you! We could do with your wisdom now)
      the very least we should expect is to know where and how the money is spent!

• Gerri I hear you, one of the last great men! God bless him, he would be in total despair at the way his beloved Labour Party have sold their souls.
      I am a bit suspicious of this charge as its a Troika based one.
      I have no problem paying a tax like every other country but i want to see exactly where the money is going

• They also speak French in France and drive on the right hand side in the U.S, will we copy them also, just because everybody else is doing it?

• And we’re the only country that pay VRT on cars, and the only country that will get nothing in return for paying a property tax. It’s just a dash for cash.

• Apologies Gerri but I’m sooooooo sick of the ‘other people do it so we must too’ argument. I wouldn’t take it from a child. We were envied around the world for our economic freedoms here. We scored highest in Europe on the Heritage index of Economic Freedoms untill a few years ago. We slipped to 2nd last year as this government tried to interfere with the two scores which we beat the other countries on namely our lack of property tax and our independant judiciary. I’m sure we’ll fall lower again next time it’s published. Is that what you want? To go from being the best to one of the crowd?

And which country is it you wish to emulate? Germany maybe? Do you know they are paying their property tax based on 1974 valuations? The politicians there won’t touch it they know there’d be war. Though most Germans are renters they wouldn’t accept an update to the valuations as their rents would increase. Angela Merkyl certainly won’t touch it before September as she’d have no chance of getting re-elected.

• Pity they didn’t do this during the boom, would have saved paying for a surveyor.

• My neighbour lives in England but has a massive house which he visits from time to time.

If he ignores the Revenue, how will they get the money from him? Then there are the Germans at the other end of the road: do they even know about the tax?

This is more complex than Baldy and his boys think.

• HOME TAX PETITION

- US home tax is so oppressive ($6979 p.a. in New Jersey) millions of them live in Trailer Parks to try to avoid it and live.

- France AVERAGE home tax is an oppressive €1,800 pa so many cram into little hovels in little villages to try to reduce it and live…. tourists think the little red roofs are quaint!

- Yep, Germany doesn’t really pay home tax, 200 – €400 pa and only 46% own their own homes. 77% Irish.

Don’t forget to sign the Home Tax Petition at:- http://www.HomeTaxPetition.net

CAPTA well done.

• House across the road from me sold for 80k last year. That’s just under a third what I paid in 2007 for my house. Wow.

• Get a estate few estate agents to value the house and use the lowest valuation. But if there guide is lower go for it.

• For any maintenance to my house to keep in line with the locality appearance, I will be invoicing the council. Whether they pay or not.

• I wont be paying my landlords property tax. I will simply move to a cheaper place out if the city centre.

• Lamb 07/01/13 #

I presume you can use the property register for a guide of the value of the property sold close to your home of a similar design and quality to your own property and this should be sufficient if challenged by Revenue. I presume they would come after you for more if you sold your property and got higher than quoted on your self assessment though.

• Do social welfare none home owners have to pay this ?

• I have every confidence in Revenue and I am sure that they will do an excellent job.

Add New Comment