TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

The table which shows how much property tax you’ll have to pay

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but here’s what homeowners are facing when the new tax comes into effect later this year.

THE LOCAL PROPERTY tax comes into effect later this year and the Revenue Commissioners has published details of what homeowners can expect when they become liable for the charge.

More detail about what to expect in the coming months is here but this table below will give you an idea of how much tax you will be liable for based on the value of your property.

If you are having trouble viewing this image, click here.

Read more: Revenue to send homeowners estimate of property tax

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• Who pays the tax when the property is reposessed I wonder.

• For once I am delighted my humble residence is worth a minute amount

• What’s worse is that I’ve read on Tipp Fm’s news feed that Revenue will be writing to people telling them how much their house is worth in advance of the introduction of the tax. Am I the only I who thinks this sounds a bit fishy?? How the hell will revenue estimate that or what system will they use to determine the value??

Shenanigans at play I think.

• The Government just recently set up a database of house sale price for the past 2 years, wouldn’t be hard to work out which bracket your house is in. I’d also be pretty sure that if you thought they overvalued your house you could raise a complaint about it and get it assessed more accurately.

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

Which is exactly what they want. By getting in touch with them you are giving your acceptance. ?!!!? Can someone clarify. The silence is eerily creepy and stinks of something fishy

• Of course it’s hard to tell based on past sales. Looking at that property database from last year the last 4bed houses that sold in my estate were 135k and 115k, yet there is one two doors down from me on the market for 60k for nearly a year and the extended 5 bed next door has been for sale at 75k for the same length of time. Ridiculous system for a ridiculous tax from a ridiculous government.

• I have a solution to this, the government through tax increases etc have already made it impossible for me to feed my children and pay my mortgage, so I will have to default on my mortgage. And when my bill comes in for revenue for the house tax I will default For the amount due to revenue, why should my children starve to pay back for an economy that’s not mine anymore. I will feed my children first and let the bank suffer, they are the ones who caused all this in the first place. Repossess my house, its worth nothing anyway, and ill live local authority pr in a mobile because there is no incentive to own anything anymore in this country.

• @ Simon, that only works if there were any sales in your estate in the last 2 years. I my estate all that was sold was 2 apartments, how does that help to value a house in that estate.

They are going to estimate on the high side and if you want to contest it you have to pay an estate agent to do up a valuation costing you more money. It’s a lose-lose scenario for home owners.

• Complete and utter BS. A house in Ireland is now only worth what someone is prepared to pay for it. Reality. An attack in those who didn’t cost the state a cent to house, while those provided with houses free gratis (and paid for by the rest) go untouched. Some animals more equal than others etc.

• OU812 07/01/13 #

So what happens if I value mine at €190k & next door values at €210k ?

Who’s right?

(Next door has a large extension at the back, not visible from the road).

• Fair Play To You De Badger.

Look after your children first mate,
      because this stoogeen government care nothing for them.

• Simon that might work in an area where there have been sales in the last 2 years. I live in an estate with 58 houses, we moved in in 1993 and we are nearly the newest people In the estate, in the 19 years we are here only 4 houses have been sold the last about 6 years ago. There is currently 1 house in the estate for sale and it has been since the summer of 2011. The asking price has dropped from €130k to €95k and this is for what I would consider to be one of the best houses in the estate. So how do you work out the value of houses in that situation?

• Yes Darragh it seems the will be writing out, but get this the will give you a valuation and if you dont agree, you at your own expense have to submit a certified valuation from a suitable person such as an estate agent or valuer. Which in effect the mean for all houses to be independently valued as im sure the will/ may be on the up side while reality is on the down side. Of course you could all do what happened with the council writing out over the house hold charge ignore it.The revenue have no more a clue who owns a home than the Management agency for the house hold tax did,apart from the people who volunteered the information. Now that the house hold tax is no more I wonder what happened to all the staff at the management agency set up to collect it????? Im guessing noting probaly kept on to tie up loose ends and some time in the next 20years some will cop on that the are still there tying up the loose ends. My advice to one and all, wake up and stand up for your self ,your family ,your kids and their future and the future of the country as a whole.Stop taking any thing the throw your way and when the declare its in the national interest you all line up like sheep unquestioning. As Christy Moore says “Stop being a nation of shite takers”

• Well, I’ll be interested in what they do in my area. The ‘official’ site says there were two sales in the reported period, 2010and 2011. One was an ‘in the family’ transaction after a will, for 55k the other a recently built 4 bed house with a sea view for 440k. My house is 70sq m two beds, septic tank, so what do you think they’ll do??

• This is gas. If there was a property tax 10 yrs ago we might never had had the bubble and paid for overpriced houses/apartments. We the people would have kept the prices down instead of driving them up.

• Reg 07/01/13 #

It would be nice to think so. But there were so many people who thought they could create wealth (and taxes) by buying and selling property to ourselves at inflated prices with money borrowed from abroad that I have my doubts!

• Fozz 07/01/13 #

Spot on Reg but wont be a popular sentiment…suggesting that we, the people, are in any way responsible due to our own greed with property during the boom.
      Banks were complicit though which is why I believe the hurt should be felt by both entities.

On this tax, it seems fair and we can all be thankful that the prices of our properties tanked as they have done!

• problem is its hard for the people to admit they got it wrong when the slime bag bankers and the failed regulators and politicians refuse to take responsibility you can say the people did this and that but until those at the top hold there hands up why should the people who are suffering the most admit anything

• There was tax on property ten years. Stamp duty.
      The state helped itself to on average 100,000 on every new property sold during the boom.
      Most boom era property buyers are still paying this windfall tax through their mortgage repayments and now are being subjected to unjust double taxation.

• Tax should not have to be paid on my own house on my own land, with no local services which I don’t already pay a specific tax for. More money for a septic tank registration. Tax on an essential possession that does not generate an income is mad.

• I reckon this is going to cause rent prices to go up as landlords pass on the cost, so if you bought a house back in the day, you will have to pay. Or if you didn’t get caught up in the whole bubble, those that did are going to drag you into helping them pay for it (I had emigrated during the boom and had I not, I’d be completely screwed by now) I hope the landlords see sense and don’t price themselves out of the market

• Rents will rise the market is empty of good quality houses, do you think the landlord with all the tax etc they pay is going to suck up another €400 my shite, rents will rise because if this. Less money in the economy again clever stuff

• It’s bad news all the way, but give it two years or so and watch the costs go up up and up! When the councils can start setting their own rates.

• CAPTA , the Campaign Against Property Tax and Austerity (formerly the anti Household tax campaign) is organising the fight against this unjust tax and the austerity program being imposed on the Irish people to pay for the gambling losses of the financial speculators. Go along to your local meetings and get involved.
    http://nohouseholdtax.org/
    The County Councils had the legal authority to take people to court over non payment of the Household tax. There they faced fines of €2500 and penalties of €100 per day if they failed to register for the tax. None of this occurred and the threats and bluster from the authorities evaporated because the mass boycott made it politically unacceptable. The government eventually conceded defeat when they abandoned the courts cases and passed the parcel to the Revenue.
    In the same way, a mass campaign of civil disobedience including a boycott of the Property tax can make the new draconian powers of the Revenue redundant. They have the powers but they will be unable to use them if large enough numbers of people refuse to co-operate with them.
    We are also asking for the support of the unions in this battle. The bulk of the staff of the Revenue Commissioners are members of the Unite and CPSU trade unions. It would throw a huge spanner into the austerity engine if those workers engaged in industrial action and refused to administer this unjust Property Tax.
    We are calling out to the members of UNITE and the CPSU to stand beside us in this fight.

• penalties of €100 per day !!!
      The government eventually conceded defeat !!!

Where are you getting this stuff from.. LOL
      You do realise that we’ve practically paid off all the bondholders. saved and bailed out the bank. given all our money away and now were looking to bridge the hole in what the country take in tax compares to what it spends.

• As its going to be deducted at source, you’ll have to boycott your employer or social welfare office. Best of luck with that…

• Simon,
      Read the legislation if you doubt me. The courts had the authority to impose a fine of €100 per day on someone who refused to register for the Household charge having been ordered to do so by the court.
      Not one single person has been convicted in the courts over non payment despite huge non compliance. The government have now accepted defeat of their policy to have the Local Authorities collect the charge and so have passed it on to the Revenue.
      We have not practically paid off all the bondholders. Having had €20 billion stolen from us in 2012 to pay off the bondholders, we will hand over another €17 billion in 2013 to cover private banking debt.

• Reilly,

Every deduction made from source will be another voter lost forever to FG and Labour. The political pressure on their TDs will be enormous as more and more of their constituency have their wages and bank accounts raided to pay for the gambling losses of financial speculators. A mass boycott has the potential to bring down this government and which ever party undertakes to abolish the tax will do very well in the subsequent election.
      There’s also the danger of people withdrawing their money from the Irish banks to prevent the Revenue from seizing the tax there. This has the potential to precipitate a run on the banks as the protest gathers momentum.
      On top of this political dynamite, there is the practical difficulty in implementing the tax in the face of mass non compliance. The Revenue have never faced a mass boycott before. This is a whole different ball game to chasing down a few scared tax evaders. The administrative task in identifying hundreds of thousands of people and trying to put attachments on their incomes will be massive and may well be beyond them given the huge holes in the public sector information systems. This assumes of course that the 6000 Revenue staff agree to implement the tax. It’s quite possible that the Unite and CPSU trade unions will make their stand on this issue. CPSU members in particular are not very well paid (under 30k p.a. I think) and this Property tax will hit them very hard.
      The government have given the Revenue draconian powers in an attempt to cow people into submission and quell the protest before it gets off the ground. It’s unlikely now that this strategy will succeed as the anti Household tax has shown people the power that they yield when they act in unison.
      All the above only addresses the won’t pay contingent. Many thousands of people who can’t pay will join the protest through necessity as they are forced to make the choice between keeping the power on ,food on the table or paying this unjust tax.
      2013 looks like it might be a very interesting year for the Coalition.

• Coddler,
      Seriously, but what planet are you on? Revenue cannot access your bank accounts!! And you say there’ll be a run on the banks to prevent a 300 euro deduction!! And then you expect 6,000 revenue staff to put their jobs at risk to save you a few bob. Why on earth would any union support such a ludicrous call? What’s in it for them? And I don’t care which TD is left standing at the end so long as they continue to make the tough choices the majority of us voted them in to do…

• Coddler – the protest you speak of needs to happen and fast – would be great to pick a day of a big EU meeting and block the streets …. If everybody sticks together this will fail , and that is a certainty … However it is a big ‘if’ because the Irish seem to have lost their fight and have turned into a group of YES men/women. A real shame

• I find its people with nothing to loose are the most outlandish in their calls. There’s 86% of the eligible population still working. Do people want to put that at risk to get even? If ever you need an example of what such action can do look at Belfast. The economy is gone tits up again and business is going to the wall. Those spanners calling for civil unrest need to wake up…because as long as were still working, you’re getting paid. Muppets…

• O’ Reilly,

The Revenue does have the power to deduct the Property tax from your bank account.
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/state-can-now-take-property-tax-from-your-personal-bank-account-3333199.html

They can also enter your property forcibly for the purposes of a valuation.
      As I said, the new powers granted to the Revenue are draconian but will not be politically acceptable if they actually try to use them against significant numbers of people.
      You may not care which TDs are left standing but they certainly do and that is why a mass boycott will exert huge political pressure on them.

• Sorry O Reilly, but Revenue can access your accounts and put attachments on your account to take any amount they are owed!!

• Codler, aren’t they trespassing if they enter your property without your consent/invitation???

• Laura,

It looks like a bit of a grey area according to the article I linked there. The Revenue have been given the powers to enter your home without your permission but this could be subject to a constitutional challenge. I certainly hope someone with the resources or the legal expertise takes a challenge as this has a real whiff of the jackboot from it.

• I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again . This generation should be ashamed of ourselves , we just take it up the rear every time , no matter what government is in power . No point moaning in here or broadsheet , it’s time to contact politicians , let them know your circumstances . Let them know you can’t pay and why . At some stage a massive march has to be organised without the union nutbags there . We need to fill Dame Street and block the EU ministers getting into Dublin Castle. Does anybody out there have balls anymore ?

• It’s all a bit irrelevant if you can’t pay.

• The Roots of Violence: Wealth without work, Pleasure without conscience, Knowledge without character, Commerce without morality, Science without humanity, Worship without sacrifice, Politics without principles
    Mahatma Gandhi

• Our House is Priceless , it is a Family Home and not for sale ! Evaluate that , By the way ,our home is protected under the constitution , No one is welcome over our threshold unless invited ! bring it on Revenue 2013 year of dissent ;-)

• I should not have to pay tax on my own house on my own land in my own country, with no services which I don’t already pay specific tax for already. More money for septic tank registration. Tax on an essential possession which does not generate income is mad. Good job government on getting as many people on the poverty line so we can pay your debt.

• well that’s one pint less for me on a Saturday.

• Living and working (if lucky to still have a job) is like pushing treacle up a hill. It appears to be virtually impossible to make a decent living. The banking debts are being firmly put on the shoulders of the citizens. A new year and new taxes and more to come. I don’t want to leave this country but the govt are making it easy for me. I just don’t see a future.

• More money down the drain.

• “For example. If the system be established on basis of Income, and his just proportion on that scale has been already drawn from every one, to step into the field of Consumption, and tax special articles in that, as broadcloth or homespun, wine or whiskey, a coach or a wagon, is doubly taxing the same article. For that portion of Income with which these articles are purchased, having already paid its tax as Income, to pay another tax on the thing it purchased, is paying twice for the same thing; it is an aggrievance on the citizens who use these articles in exoneration of those who do not, contrary to the most sacred of the duties of a government, to do equal and impartial justice to all its citizens.
      – Thomas Jefferson

• good luck with that Ted!!

• MONE oh oh MONEY .We want your mind your dignity your heart your house and your MONEYoh oh MONEY.

• Just making people move out of ireland I’m sick paying out all the time and it’s my family (children) who suffer HATE living in ireland now

• sorry to hear that mary best remedy is go join a group fighting these cuts, austerity measures etc, whether it be the anti house hold charge campagin or what ever is close and you will be surrounded by like minded people and you will feel better being in a position to fight back. hope things are better soon always an upside!!

• damian 07/01/13 #

Doesn’t affect me. Will not be paying it!

Howz about taxing ‘lies’ and ‘broken promises’ in the Dail instead!
    How much would that raise in revenue?

• hope the local TD’s and the revenue have good health and dental insurance, one does feel someones going to be taking a trip to the local A&E when the fallout from all this kicks off and I for one wont be giving any sympathy if they do end up there you lads were warned the people will only be pushed so far before someone loses the head!

• At the end of the day, we are animals with brains that trick us into thinking we arent (blades of grass quote!). Trap an animal and push it to it breaking point and it will snap. Blood-shed , violence, pain and suffering is what will ensue. Its the only way we humans get things done. This shite of being nice ankle grabbers will end.

• Luke 07/01/13 #

Is it true that if you haven’t paid the property tax then you can’t get a tax clearance certificate?

• Yes….. So that’s a big problem for self employed…. Especially if u government work…. Which I do occasionally… However I will not be paying this tax…. EVER…. And when I say it I mean it…. Lets march…. Peacefully and lawfully….

• Don’t pay for as long as possible!

• Lu 07/01/13 #

And how much is your house if you can’t sell it?? Worthless!! I’ll happy pay 0% of a cardboard box that’s not worth a bob!!

• What’s the point of putting 50k as a valuation, If they aren’t going to believe your estimate and enter your property? Are we living in a Dictatorship, It’s a tax on your income!

• NONE! COS I HAVE NO NOTION OF PAYING!

• Seem reasonable.

• Ok, so the government have set this tax at 0.18%, yes? Which according to the table above, if your house fell into the first bracket, you would have pay €90 tax in a full year.
    But didn’t Noonan say in the budget that in 2015 the local authorities would set the rate and they can increase it up to a maximum of 15% ??? And how many councils will just say “15% Thank you very much” ??
    So 15% of 100,000 would see your annual tax go from €90 to €15,000 ???
    WTF??????????????
    Please someone tell me I’ve got this wrong…………………………………

• It would make it a maximum of 1.15 * 0.18 the value of your house

• Niamh.. you got it worng

• You can be deciphering and wondering and debating and procrastanating all ye like ..at the end of the day were all been robbed the sooner you we everybody even the people advocating this Tax realize we are been robbed yet again by a puppet government that has no interest in you only that you should pay for everything that their Friends in higher places decide you should pay for.Even the people who can pay and want to for some strange reason are still been robbed so it would make one wonder where does it end and i would say its only starting so prepare yourself for serious hand in pocket manouvers by a Government elected to help people but choose to drive them so far into the ground peopl we will be burried keep debating and scratching your head .

• Thank Simon!

• Stop moaning! I have to pay over £3,000 per annum in the UK.

• I pay €2250 in management fees a year and now this so I’m paying enough. In the uk you get a lot of services for your property tax which we don’t get. When property tax was abolished here income tax and other taxes were increased to compensate so we are now paying double for nothing!!

• In the UK you get water & Refuse collection along with numerous other services..
      Here we’re paying for all those services as well as property tax..
      Road tax in the UK is £165 , where as the average road tax is twice that here. (Including the exchange rate)
      Income tax is also higher.
      Where is the value for money for this property tax??

• When we bought our house six years ago we payed the property tax, only then it was called stamp duty….

• Reg 07/01/13 #

@David What have property management fees got to do with a local property tax? Homeowners also have to pay their own maintenance costs, rubbish collection, insurance, gardening services etc etc.

• Reg 07/01/13 #

@ Ronan Yes high stamp duty rates was a mad form of property tax for many reasons. At least you should be clawing some of it back through the extra mortgage interest relief introduced last year, if you have a mortgage.

• @Colm my council tax bill every year is £2,575 /€3180 and water rates is £700/ €870, my car tax is £270/ €340. I have been paying these rates for many many years.

• At least in the U.K. you have a mature property market with regulations, enforced regulations!

Unlike the Crapshoot in Ireland.

• @reg because the council doesn’t provide any amenities for the area. The roads aren’t even maintained by them. The only thing I get is water which they are bringing in charges for separately. My estate is a massive unfinished development but because there is one builder with a drill on site we have to pay. There are no libraries or parks, all green spaces upkeep is paid by management fees and all road lighting and maintenance is paid by management fees so why should I pay for a property tax!!!!

• David,

Do you ever leave your estate and go elsewhere in your county?

• @Damocles So I should be happy to pay a property tax for other people to have these services but not me? I just pay double and be happy about it? If there is a tax linked to my property I would like to think I was paying for services where my property is located not elsewhere in the county.

• If you go elsewhere, out on public streets, then you are using those services.

• It’s like saying, “I don’t have kids so why should I pay the portion of taxes that go to schools or child benefit?” or “I’m not at war with anyone, why am I paying towards the military?”

• I understand your argument but the other taxes I pay go towards the council also especially car tax which is a general pooled tax which goes towards all council departments not just roads. So my argument is if they want me to pay a property tax for local services provided for my area my argument is those services aren’t provided in my area where my property is located.

• Paul 07/01/13 #

If I go outside my door the streets are paved, lit, cleaned etc by our management fees. If I go to a more established area of town, where richer people live, their streets are cleaned, lit etc by the council. So I should contribute towards the upkeep of parks, greens, flowers in the roundabouts where rich people live, but when it comes to taking care of my own area, the rest of the county or city don’t contribute a cent? I’ll pay when all residential streets and estates are privatised or covered by the council tax. I’ve had enough. The squeezed middle can’t take any more.

• Hello to one and all. Two articles were published in 2007/8,(Irish indo / Sunday indo ) they mentioned that in western societies that had property boom/ bust; the actual value of property when the market bottomed out and settled is 14 times the annual achievable rent.

For example; a property that can be rented for 1000/month – 12k/ annum x 14 is 168k. As a mortgage holder myself, it is a bitter pill, but in reality they are only houses/ apartments so if this logic was passed to the next generation they will be well guided and will not end up as slaves to a few bricks and furnishings.

2 things I do not understand from our present government are:
    1) WHY aren’t mortgages limited to 20 year terms?( this will control loan amounts)
    2) WHY don’t we have a 20 year plan for self sustainability from use of natural resources and tourism? ( I am pro europe but we’ve got to have a real plan B)

Be positive in 2013 – be proud to be Irish – Happy new year to one and all…..

• John 03/04/13 #

Reg I contacted this E99 company but they don’t collect our bins

• John 07/03/13 #

Meet at the Garden of Remembrance monday morning at 9am. This is the only way the property tax will stop. People power will stop it. See you there.

• I can’t believe there are still people who think that if you ignore it and feign ignorance it will all go away.

• I can’t believe that there are still people who allowed the government to get away with thinking “ah sure, the protest will die down after a while and people will just accept it”.

• So … they put a quid on a bottle of wine and there were calls for an Irish Arab Spring. That never happened.

How about now?

Add New Comment