TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Protest over National Coursing Meeting to take place outside Dáil

The event is due to take place this weekend in Clonmel, Co Tipperary.

Hare coursing during the National Hare Coursing Championship meeting last year.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

A PROTEST IS due to take place today outside Dáil Éireann against this weekend’s National Coursing Meeting in Clonmel.

The protest will involve members and supporters of several animal protection groups, including the Campaign for the Abolition of Cruel Sports (CACS) and the Irish Council Against Blood Sports.

CACS said they are campaigning against the lack of a ban on live hare coursing in the Animal Health and Welfare Bill, which is currently proceeding through the Oireachtas. The protest will take place from 12.30-2pm today.

Hare coursing

The National Coursing Meeting is a three-day event due to take place in Powerstown Park Racecourse in Clonmel, County Tipperary. The event attracts people from around the country to watch greyhounds chase live hares on a track. Coursing greyhounds have been muzzled since 1993, but CACS says that hares are still injured by the dogs during the coursing.

The campaign to abolish hare coursing began in the mid-1960s. This is the 88th National Coursing Meeting to take place.

CACS said it objects to hare coursing as “hares are snatched from their natural home in the countryside, held in unnatural captivity, and then used as live bait for the greyhounds to chase”.

TDs

Two TDs who have expressed their support for the protest are Independent Deputy Maureen O’Sullivan and United Left Alliance TD Clare Daly. They expressed concern that hare coursing is dangerous for hare and dog due to injuries, and “contributes to a negative cultural attitude towards animals and their wellbeing”.

Deputies O’Sullivan and Daly have said they intend to introduce a bill to ban hare coursing in Ireland.

The coursing meeting organisers anticipate a large crowd at the event. This is the first time the meeting is being held at the weekend, having traditionally been held at the beginning of the week.

Read: Calls for an end to “inherently cruel” hare coursing>

Read: Opposition TDs propose laws to ban hare coursing>

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• If they really want to achieve something on the issue they need to clamp down on illegal coursing with lurchers..
    10 lads with 15 dogs, not a muzzle in sight, killing everything that moves.. cats, pheasants, foxes.. the hares too.
    no permission to be there.
    The government need to clamp down on these lads…

• Reg 01/02/13 #

No real problem hunting to eat or pest control within reason and legally but people who get their kicks by watching a hare getting chased around a field need to get a life.

• It has been said that a society can be judged on how it treats its animals and its elderly.

Sadly Ireland has largely failed on both counts.

• Hare coursing. Is banned in most countries …Ireland is in the dark ages…too many clergy and politicians and their cronies involved …big money…conservation my ass ..the hares are traumatised …thrown around..tossed In the air and treated like pieces of meat…as opposed to sentient beings…
    I live in the countryside and know all about it…it will be banned as the majority of Ireland’s good living people despite this cruel activity…anybody who condones this is in not humane or normal… Come on Ireland show. You care…see sense and Ban this cruel and awful “pastime”

• And I thought humans had evolved from being hunter-gatherers but then I realised that some people like watching animals ripped to pieces whilst being completely traumatised and get some sick sadistic pleasure from it. A great bunch indeed.

• here’s rarely get killed in coursing! they are all released when the coursing is finished back into hare sanctuaries where there they are safe from poachers! if anything the coursing society In Ireland are preserving the hare population in this country! All Ye tree huggers that think Ye know so much about rural life in Ireland and what goes on in it by what Ye read in articles like this!

• Ireland is in the dark ages…again i reiterate that cruel pastures like hare coursing are abhorred by the majority in thus country…it is banned in most countries…money…greed…the clergy …politicians. And their cronies are keeping this sick abuse of our beautiful Hare alive ….

• It’s a bloody disgrace.. How anyone can get their kicks from the terror of innocent animals is beyond me.!

• To those who actually enjoy blood sports, why not just put the animal in a blender, its pretty much the same result. Absolutely pointless and barbaric practice.

• After reading all the above comments it’s fairly obvious no one has ever been to a coursing meeting. I think somebody even mentioned a fox? Do some research before trying to claim what’s right or wrong about the sport

• I have, I was brought up with it. There are a lot of ill informed people making wild assumptions on something they clearly haven’t a clue what they’re talking about. These are the same people who will use products and drugs that are tested on animals held in captivity against their will, but we don’t hear them banging on about that now do we? I wish they would educate themselves before opening their mouths. They should put their energy into protesting against the suffering of people right here in their own country.

• I was brought to a local annual coursing meet by my grandfather back in the sixties when I was ten. I was horrified by the treatment of the hares before, during and after the meet. There were many hares killed and re-run at that meet. It didn’t go ahead the following year because I took a crowbar belonging to my father and released the hares from the shed where they were kept three days before the meet. By the way they were kept in the dark in that shed for more than a week before the meet. I would do the same again today.
      Animals are not put on earth to “serve” us in any way other than by their beauty.

• That was 50 years ago. Also were you part of Famous Five? Your ‘story’ appears a bit far fetched

• Not at all. Check the records for cancelled meets in Edenderry in the late 60s and the reason.By the way I’m not a tree hugger or the likes, just not a Neanderthal savage like some…

• No time for wild goose chases

• Unfortunate term..”wild goose chases”. I thought you’d enjoy that sort of thing…

• I never referred to enjoying coursing. Part of my job to be there. I pointed out people should get there facts right about it before commenting nonsense. For example using an imaginary story from 50 years ago

• Part of your job to be there…so you have a financial interest in coursing. You cannot give an unbiased opinion on it therefore. Q.E.D.

• Similarly you cannot give an unbiased opinion as your experience is imaginary and didn’t occur

• well said….

• I’ve been to coursing meets, being brought there often when I was a child. I remember my grandfather putting his hand over my eyes when the hare was being ripped apart, but I could still hear the screams, and hares do scream when being savaged…you know that . I also did what I said. I don’t actually care whether you believe me or not.
      Yes all this happened in the 1960s when life was simple.
      I’d like to think that at least some of us have evolved since then.
      I will continue to give my unbiased opinion on coursing, whether you like it or not.

• I’ve researched it and I can assure you that hares are mauled, battered, tossed about like toys, apart from what happens hares that don’t measure up…

• I just give my opinion too. However I think your opinion is built on a fabrication

• I fabricated seeing hares killed and injured, or that I helped them, or are you possibly suggesting that all the photographic, video and other recorded evidence of the killing and injuring of hares is actually the fabrication upon which I’ve based my opinion?

• *cruel pastimes

• @Ian waters…your comment lacks any sense…and the majority of of Ireland’s people despite cruel so-called sports…like hare coursing…and i am not a tree-hugger etc…just a normal rural dweller…like many…do stipulation with your nonsense

• I’ll be there anyway. Coursing clubs around the country vaccinate and record every year. Overall it could be argued that we do more good than harm to the hares. It is one of the reasons why hares are not nearly as diseased as rabbits in this country.

• Time Ireland’s majority was listened to and all cruel horrific. Pastimes like hare coursing was banned…it will happen…Ireland. Is always a bit behind though…but the majority of will get their way eventually …

• great craic at this. brilliant.

• so we are all vegetarians on here are we? only ok as long as its not done in public? grow up people millions of animals killed everyday to feed us and clothe us. that’s the way life is. #hypocrites

• So how many of you with your stories n facts have actually been to the National Coursing Meeting or are actively involved in the greyhound industry? I’m going to guess none, ignorance they say is bliss and your comments show a complete lack of knowledge. Coursing clubs vaccinate hares, feed them so they are strengthened n release them into monitored areas to protect the hare population, without organised park coursing the hare population would at this stage be way below current stocks, dogs wear muzzles n are released from slips at a distance which ensures they do not catch up with the hares which are trained for over a week before meetings to take a safe path. The field is lined at meetings with flankers who rush in to protect the hare if the dogs do happen to overtake it. All this adds up to one of the most regulated animal welfare environments possible. As for the 1960s experience…welcome to 2013 and stop with the irrelevant stories. Next time I advise people to actually get their facts straight.

• I refer you to Mattoid’s excellent link which completely punctures your arguments http://www.indymedia.org.uk/en/2012/05/495952.html
      Hares are believed to be the first mammal species to arrive in Ireland. They did ok for tens of thousands of years without your “protection”, which, frankly, amounts to captivity in preparation for the next coursing event.
      What’s the difference between coursing and greyhound racing? It’s not anything about ” turning the hair” or anything like that, it’s the primeval atmosphere of bloodlust that permeates coursing meetings.
      It’s noting short of an abomination and ranks down there with badger baiting and cock fighting, ” sports” you might also enjoy.
      To not participate in such barbarism does not preclude one from offering their opinions on the matter. I’ve given mine at length, to people that I would, if they engaged me in discussion, swiftly walk away from.
      We are, unfortunately the only salient beings on the planet that kill for ” sport”.

• Typos * hare, * nothing

• All hares used in coursing are victims and they all suffer the fear and stress of being violently snatched from their habitats, thrown into crates, transported to coursing compounds and kept in captivity for months. Among the hare injuries and deaths recorded are:

A hare “squealing in distress” after being caught by a muzzled dog
      A hare suffering with “a badly broken hind leg”
      A hare “carrying a hind leg”
      A hare with “a damaged hind toe”
      A coursed hare with a “badly broken hind leg [which] seemed to be in great distress”
      A hare in agony in a coursing enclosure with its leg “almost completely broken off”.
      A hare destroyed by a vet after it was found suffering with a dislocated hip
      A hare that died “from knocks sustained during coursing”
      A hare released back into the wild with a “damaged leg” that “could be broken”
      A hare found dead in a coursing compound after succumbing to pneumonia.
      A vet treated three hares for “minor abrasions” and “witnessed three other hares that appeared to die after coursing without any outward signs of injury. One of these was sent to the local regional veterinary laboratory. Post-mortem findings included internal adhesions, suggestive of an old condition.”
      Seven hares badly hit by greyhounds, with three dying as a result of the injuries.
      An injured hare with “marks on its back and bare areas”.
      Two hares found dead in a coursing club paddock. An autopsy showed that one died from well established pneumonia while the other died from so-called “natural causes”. Another died “during transportation from Loughrea to Westport.”
      13 hares hit by dogs and 1 put down because of injuries and 3 died from injuries. Veterinary opinion was that they died “from knocks sustained during coursing the previous day.”

• Until both of you have actually experienced coursing your arguments count for little as they are based on biased articles and hot air instead of actual experience…your accounts are exaggerated and have too many non truths to correct.

• mattoid 01/02/13 #

Nice try Aine, but all of these events are recorded by neutral NPWS rangers, not ‘tree huggers’ as claimed by other posters on this thread.
      But I suppose you’ll say the rangers are all liars too?

• Doh! Did you not read where I said that I was brought to coursing meets? Are you trying to say that things have changed?
      If so, how have you managed not to terrify the hare?
      Does battering rather than tearing the hare really count as change?
      If there is such a thing as reincarnation may you return as a hare, temporarily transfixed as it’s released into daylight for the first time in days, with screaming animals,( coursing fans), lined up all along a field, forcing it to make a confused dash through the valley of death to be suddenly set upon by two dogs, slipped off the leash twenty yards behind,before the hare has time to recover it’s senses… You can then decide whether it’s a sport or not from your new perspective…
      Oops, but then again you may just reincarnate as an inanimate object such as a stone, seeing as you show no signs of having a heart in this world.
      Dress it up however you try, it’s barbaric cruelty, plain and simple.

• yiz be protesting about pulling carrot’s out of the ground next !! what a shower of WAN*ers ! hahahah,..least yiz get some fresh city air…. thank jeasuss I live in the country!! .. see ya there!

• Animals are on this earth to serve us, how anyone could have a problem with hunting, coursing , lamping etc… Is beyond me, its all a bit of sport and good fun.

• I presume Seamus Healy will be supporting the campaign?

• Ya enter coursing can be cruel but at least there are safety precautions in the form of the dog wearing a mussle

• How many of you anti establishment folk actually went to Leinster House today? Majority of citizens by ***

Add New Comment