TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Aaron McKenna: Where will Ireland be after two more Budgets?

The opposition’s reaction to Budget 2013 has been standard stuff. Will any party be credible the next time Ireland votes?

Aaron McKenna

BOTH THE TAOISEACH and Tanaiste made an interesting comment about Budget 2013, stating that it was the toughest budget this government will deliver; and was one of the toughest budgets in the history of the State. Hyperbole for sure, considering that the late Brian Lenihan had to deliver cuts of €6 billion in just one year, but it hints at a government approaching its midterm and starting to think out the game to election 2015 or 2016.

Perhaps from the point of view of Enda and Eamon, this will be the toughest budget. We’re right in the middle of their term, when government parties get the biggest pillorying from the electorate and opposition parties begin to soar higher and higher on their promises of doing everything and anything differently.

First and foremost in the ranks of those lining up to knock Budget 2013 has been the main opposition party, Fianna Fáil. It is right and proper that the largest opposition party keep the government to account and attempt to show the public an alternative path. Much of the opposition voiced by FF, however, has been good old fashioned populism that flies directly in the face of not only what they implemented in their time in government; but the roadmap they agreed and by which the current government is forced to steer in the bailout plan.

Ersatz rage

The same party that cut child benefit, raised income tax through the universal social charge, tore strips from public funding to the needy and first proposed the property tax was standing up last week to decry a government that has done much the same. It is fair and proper to point out that Labour and Fine Gael are breaking election promises left and right. It’s more than a bit rich however to jump up and down shedding tears of ersatz rage against measures that a mere 24 months ago they were rowing in behind when it was one of their own in the hot seat.

There were very few measures in the budget that Fianna Fáil couldn’t find fault with or tell folks they could have done better at. Any member of their party giving interviews rushed over the perfunctory ‘it had to be tough’ piece, alluding back to the bailout they ran us headlong into with their stupidity, before getting on to attacking whatever point of the budget was up for discussion.

They were trying to hit every high note, appealing to as broad a swathe of electorate as they could. If Fianna Fáil were in power, came the message, this would have been a far better budget for you. You specifically. Then you would tune out of the next point that comes up for discussion, and Fianna Fáil will promise the next person that they would be safer. It’s typical opposition baloney, and of course the others were at it too… But at least Fianna Fáil, unlike Sinn Fáin or the Socialists and their ilk, admit that there is a deficit at all that needs bridging.

Coping classes

Fianna Fáil wants to be all things to all people. In government, that can never be so and their record reflects that. The trouble is that beyond FF, we have a few looney parties that can’t add two and two; and nobody who will really stand up for the coping classes in Ireland. Fine Gael, the so-called conservative party of Ireland who promised us no rise in income tax, hit almost every worker for another €260 out of their pay packets.

This is perhaps why Eamon and Enda think Budget 2013 will be their toughest. They’ve both had to burn their constituents badly. They’re hoping that in two years time, with softer budgets, all will be forgotten and forgiven. Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil is making hay two years since their last budget; rising and holding a respectable position in the polls for a party that put half a million out of work and sent countless of our children to Australia.

They’re all a pack of disingenuous… Politicians, would be the only printable word. In two or three years time any promises from Labour to be the party of the poor will, they hope, be received by people who’ve forgotten how they feel today. Fine Gael will tell the middle class, “sorry, but we can do better…” and Fianna Fáil will tell everybody that the good times can roll again under them, and sure doesn’t everyone remember it was all Lehman Brothers’ fault. Sinn Fáin will eat into Labour and the other lefties will rage and jump around and get generally nowhere.

Crocodile tears

If these three or four parties are our only choices, we’re in a bad spot. There is no party to replace Labour in government or generally change the tone of politics away from the good old fashioned “We’ll cut nothing and raise no taxes…” until the election is over and the latter half of the statement is reneged upon to protect the former. We really do need fresh blood in Irish politics, because the broken promises; the looney economics and the crocodile tears are getting old fast.

We have another two to three years for something to shake loose in our political world. Otherwise we’ll arrive at the next general election with more empty promises, middle of the road and go nowhere policies and ‘solutions’ to the national problems.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (101 Comments)

• The only person I would have any faith in is Stephen Donnelly who sadly is an independent. If he were to form a party I’d give it a chance.

As someone who voted FG at the.last election I did so knowing we were screwed, but I voted like a.lot of people for change. Change in the way the State is run, an end to cute hoorism and stroke politics, and begin the process of making us a grown up country.

How wrong was I?

• Agreed. Very impressive any time I’ve listened to him. On Vincent Browne during the week he let Pierse Doherty rant and rave. He then came in very relaxed and thoughtful, and put forward some well put together and properly delivered arguments against this budget. I also commented to my wife that its such a shame he’s an independent.

• Stephen Donnelly seems to know his stuff,could he form and lead a new party he would get this households vote.

• Not at all. What needs breaking is the party system that clamps on independent thinking and imposes orthodoxy and cowed conformism. Democracy is SUPPOSED to be about argument; but reasoned, not ideological grandstanding like the present polemical musical chairs.
      We need independent thinkers who have done a little homework; and who are prepared to work for the people for an average wage, followed by an average pension. People who will use public services themselves, rather than sell them off because they have private transport and health insurances.
      Equality has to go back on the democratic agenda from which it has been airbrushed by the Liberty uber alles brigade, whose financial leverage ensures they can then monopolise that liberty for their own vested interests.

• Pearse Doherty does not rant and rave everytime the man opens his mouth there is someone shouting him down .Why ! because he’s a threat to the machine that is politics in Ireland the same ol same ol .Stephen Donnelly is an honest man but he comes across well because he is aloud speak because he is not a threat.The more i see Pearse Doherty getting pissed off the more i see someone who cares about the people and his frustration is a clear sign he wants to turn this country around quickly not achingly slowly. He knows what a year of struggle is like nevermind 10 15yrs .If the left obtain power Doherty Donelly there is room for all .The right have ruined our country and they still have the gaul to boast and put down others it would make you sick.Stephen Donnelly is advocating burning the bondholders something Doherty has been advocating from the start he has seen there is no other way out than to enact real change and there is room for all in a left Government if people gave them a chance.I find it a bit rich and down right ignorant for a right wing journalist like Arron to come on thrashing the left only 3 days after the Budget it really is astonishing the way they are indifferent to any blame for selling the country for nothing.Astonishing.

• Jack Daniels, Doherty can’t manage his own finances. You expect him to run the countries?

• I wouldn’t leave Doherty & his crowd in charge of a stall at a Car-Boot Sale let alone this Nation’s Finances!!

• Nuffsaid & O’Reilly yere obviously going to say that but did ye have a look at yere shining lights .Crippling the country handing over billions and paying worthless Special advisors and gangster Bankers huge salaries.Michael Noonan is an old man that has been corrupted by power and wealth over the tears he is out of touch with people and modern day financing .FF Michael McGrath smart gut denounces everything Doherty says and then copies it.Ye would’nt let Sinn Fein near finances because yere way of life might be altered in some way and that’s not on but it’s ok for people in dire straits to keep living like this.People who are happy with this government are happy for a reason.They are in the minority and we will see how much more people can take before the Austerity wave breaks and comes crashing down on everyone.It would be in yere interest to listen to the left too.

• O'Reilly 08/12/12 #

No seriously Jack. This grown up man with wife and kids earns a good wage but has it taken off him by a party leader who has two houses. There’s something wrong here on so many fronts, not least the fact that he allows it. How can someone like this make the right decisions for all when his own judgement is clouded by a forced austerity?

• Cui bono?Who benefits?

When I hear or read scatter-gun dismissals of SF(rather than their actual policies, which do merit scrutiny)the light always flashes….FF or Labour tools nervous of encroachments on ‘our’ territory’.

And of course, the latent unionist sympathisers that never went away down south, you know. Witness the prostrations before Missus Lizzie Windsor recently. Green(and red) Tories. But then, thems the Mayo colours.

• I dont know O’Reilly all i see is the same faces stiching us up all the time i understand the class system but you would think the wealthy would have a more progressive mindset for the country and culture rather than just accumulating wealth hoarding it and keeping the status quo into the next generation .To be a part of something new and beneficial to society would be a motivation for me if i was a wealthy man alas i am not and the future is bleak and the people we rely on have given up and only think of themselves which is what historical man has always done .We are in stagnation once again a new train of thought must be ushered in for the good of an ever increasing population.Take it easy man.

• Trouble with these people, Jack, is that not only can they not perceive the general good, they are not even capable of seeeing their own ultimate interests.
      Enlightened self-interest would make them recognise the unsustainability of their present course, but ancien regimes always awaken too late.
      The atavistic unionism of the north missed the way forward when they dumped O’Neill for just talking to Lemass. It took half a century of mayhem to half wake them. Our southern tories are no different. Still following a 19th century imperial economics that has been discredited(literally, by credit implosion)multiple times in many nations. Their creative-destructive capitalism is run on an internal logic of war of all against all.
      It is already dead; zombie bank is more than an empty figure of speech.

• ‘Where will Ireland be after two more budgets?’ On the front of Trocaire boxes in East Africa!!

• It really is quite simple – any political party that fails to honour or does not implement 75% or more of its pre-election promises while in Govt automatically disqualifies ALL of their current elected TD’s from re-election in the next GE. That prevents these ‘out if touch’ career politicians who will say anything to your face but who turn their backs on everyone & their own word the minute they get into power. Lets start holding these bastards to account – they work for us, we pay their wages for Christ’s sake! Make them answerable & accountable!!

• mattoid 08/12/12 #

Nice summary. I’ve been saying for the last three or four years that the ground is fertile for a new party to appear that will genuinely represent the centre voters of Ireland (who I firmly believe to be the majority) who feel completely let down by the larger ‘established’ parties but who have no confidence in the economics of some of the smaller parties.

• I guess I can speak for Ireland when I speak for myself, we’ll both be broke.

• What if ministers only receive a pension if they get two consecutive terms in office?

• Excellent article Aaron. On the money! What do we do at next election. I did the same as you, gave FG a chance at last election. I even warned the guy canvassing for Phil Hogan that if I hear once the excuse that “our hands are tied cause of the last lot…” don’t ever call to my door again. His response ” if I hear it I won’t be canvassing for him again”! I’ll hold him to that as I know him! What FG don’t realise, I think, is everyone knew FF destroyed the economy but FG PROMISED change! And pretty much done the old political trick of telling the people what they wanted to hear! And it worked. But it won’t work next time. Which leaves your question very interesting. Who to vote for next????

• Labours way or Frankfort’s way. looking more like frankforts way.

• Frankfurt(Frankfort is in Kentucky)/City of London/Wall ST/Federal Reserve banking cartel spliced to a network of neo-liberal cadres across the globe and serving post national corporations bigger than most national economies. IMF, World Bank, WTO and central banks are just their implements, for implementing their acquisitive monetarist gluttony. (try ‘The Globalisation of Poverty’, by Michel Chossudovsky for an outline).

Its the 21st century, the raft of problems(some of then tied in knots of vested interests in Doha at the minute)are planetary, we will not begin to solve them until we shed the nationalist shades. Nationalism is just one of the divisive devices used by these post-national entities to ensure our financial servitude.
      Your national politicians, like your elite-owned media and captive public broadcasters are also implements for the control of debate and channeling it within their chosen confines. Elevate your sights, if you ever want to crack it.

• Not a supporter of SF, or any other political party but what really annoys me is when commenters refer to left wing politics as “loonies”, “lefties” or any other such derogatory term. What is so loony about left wing policies? The “righties” have done a good job of ruining the economy with their loony economic policies. Would the situation really be much worse under a left wing government?

• Ireland will not be in a good place. We are just about surviving at the minute. FG and Labour will be wiped out at the next election. People do not want any more FF so this will end up with a lot of No. 1 votes going to SF…
    Hard to believe, but Irish people have been screwed over by the other political parties so much in recent years I can see this happening.
    I’m not a SF supporter or supporter of any party for that matter. I think we are at tipping point as a nation..
    Emigration , Suicide, Default , Food banks… Is this what we have become?????
    Families needing handouts to survive….
    Sounds like 3rd world to me..

• Rubbish. Fine Gael will hold its support at the next election. Fundamentally they have done what their core support expect, ie tightening belts and steadying the ship. By then, the Troika will be out of Ireland, interest rates will be lower than they were when they assumed office and there will have been some sort of bank deal. The electorate will look across the aisle at a menagerie of crazy leftists in denial about the trouble were in, Shinners who think there’s a magic wand solution in us walking away from Europe and the party that got us into the mess we’re in and they’ll go with the party that has made steady, if not spectacular progress. Labour won’t do as badly as people think as they’ll play that “put us in to keep them honest” card.

• We will see Vincent, when the time comes we will see! Then I will take great pleasure in ripping into the demise of the FFG party. LOL your delusional, slip sliding awayyyyyy…

• Yes, we will Ryan.

• I thumbed you up for that

• #Ryan- that’s a disturbing turn of phrase.

• That’s because your a sick twisted individual…..but half my comment is missing…it went something like this…
      Need I remind you that FG are down -6% points on the last red c poll and that was BEFORE the budget….yes Vincent we will see soon enough

• I’ll not contest the sick & twisted bit. The 6% drop in FG support in the last poll, however was in the immediate aftermath of the Savita controversy. The incumbent Government was always going to get a kicking on the basis of that story. Abortion will have zero influence at the next election. FG will come in over 30%, probably more like 34% as people by and large reject the uncertainty of the loony left and reflect on the progress made. They will not risk upsetting the apple cart by voting left wingers who are too busy fighting amongst themselves and it will be too soon for them to forget the gross incompetence of FF.

• By the way- re: the budget- I don’t know if you’ve noticed but its Labour that have been carrying the can on that one. By & large those in FG’s natural constituency, those who would ever conceivably vote FG were ok with it.

• Hugh Diamond. It will be rough in 2 years time but enough of the fools and hoods in Ireland will vote for FF to give them a chance at getting back and we’ll be back to corruption and graft everywhere.

There are a lot of developers and bankers that are going to throw walls of cash at FF to get them back in. The thought of Bankrupture and jail concentrate the mind wonderfully.

• Sorry Vincent I stopped reading after the first line FG support blah blah the rest if what you said is bull crap. Sativa, bankers budget, X case, Fiddling public funds re Cref, failed 5 point non existent plan, Lies, No bank deal…..
      Need I go on….
      There is ALOT more to FGs dwindling support, they will have no one left but supporters like your self who try to decent the indefensible. Now you can continue with your constituencies work! Back to your blue shirt work.

• #Ryan- do you ever tire of the anti-Government , “we can’t take it any more !!”rhetoric? Seriously? Have you anything else in the locker? Anything at all? It’s just so boring. And to be frank your posts make you sound like a crier. I suppose it does not harm. Whinge away. Leave the serious stuff to serious people and you satisfy yourself by standing in the sidelines, making yourself feel better by pumping out populist tripe.

• Ahh now in true Vincent style unable to muster up a decent reply when the truth is pointed out you go and start on a rant of personal insults to which we have become accustomed to. Says it all really….you could do better c-

• Very nice summation of how Irish political parties based on historical grievances is failing the country at the moment. Thanks, Aaron.

• The answer to your question is that we, the public will be at the economic level of some of our Eastern European neighbours while our politicians etc will still be at the top end of world pay scales. Our national recovery plan was based on national and international economic growth and that has not happened. In order to continue to be allowed to borrow to meet the deficit we have to close the gap between spending and income by increasing taxes and cutting exchequer spending, both of which kill the domestic economy. Unless we can balance our national budget we are in a weak position to negotiate our way out of the bank debt burden.

It’s clear then that the policy is not working, three more years of stagnant economic conditions and three more budgets that take about €3bn per year out of our pockets will make Ireland a very dismal place indeed.

What’s the odds on Enda going on TV telling us that as a nation we are living beyond our means and that we need to tighten our belts?

• Fooked :(

• Wouldn’t it be great to have a new fantastic utopian society , lead by caring and ethical people….will rising from the ashes of this disaster be a shining new system…….Not A Fookin hope…..keep doing the same stuff and getting the same results…….Transfer votes…where would you get it…..I didn’t like, believe or trust the guys that finally got my vote…… NEVER AGAIN……no matter how many times you smiling face appears at my door, spootin FALSEHOODS……
    All I Can say is THANKS ….

• I would just like to point out that Fianna Fáil are no longer the main opposition party after the last election as referred to in your article. They have lost any credibility after presiding over the most prosperous time in our history without leadership, vision, wisdom, foresight, humility, servant hood ……I’m too tired to continue with the list.

• Exactly Derek FF have nothing to offer this country only criminal activity ,what ever chance after the next GE of finding out what went on of the night of the bank bail out if those crims get back in were fcuked.

• But they are like the church…so deeply embedded in our media and state structures it will take time to first understand how they operate. If you don’t take the trouble to do that homewrok how will you prevent it recurring under a different disguise?
      I see no-one mentioning the PD neoliberal philosophy that drove the whole unregulated fiasco since the ’80s. If you think it was not sick when the Tiger was rampant, you do not understand the scam.

• “Hyperbole for sure, considering that the late Brian Lenihan had to deliver cuts of €6 billion in just one year”

Factually inaccurate. Nobody HAD to deliver the cuts. They GAVE the treasury of Ireland to unsecured market speculators. They gave the money to gamblers who placed losing bets. Once the treasury was empty, there was no money to pay for day to day operation.
    So please stop painting it, however subtly, like the poor, dead Lenihan was somehow forced to act against the interests of the state and condemn generations to austerity. It’s like saying, “He was forced to run over those people because he was drunk. poor man!” Subtle revisionism is beneath contempt.

• sinn Fein get my number 1. scare the shit out of all the right wingers, I love how scared they are of them, it truly amuses me. I will take great pleasure watching the social climbers being asset stripped. anyone earning under 50k a year who votes right wing is a Larry.

• Get some ambition man instead of bitching about what others have. It’s people like you that remind us why there can never be a Sinn Fein government – most hard working people have hopes for themselves and their families. People like you with clearly no aspiration want to take everyone else down…

• You sound like Bertie there O’Reilly .Aspiration and achievement can only come from solid foundations and pragmatic thinking in an equal society where we all can have ambition. Boom Bust and the debt trap sound familiar.Jim Power saying to Pearse Doherty you hate rich people you hate rich people what a stupid comment from a so called intellectual.The same man who missed the crash too busy counting Government cheque’s.

• O'Reilly 08/12/12 #

Jack,
      aspiration and ambition comes from peoples values and work ethic. There’s many people on here think those with anything over the minimum wage were purely lucky!

• O’Reilly no there has to be a platform where people who are innovative and ambitous get their just deserves because of hard work and fair play it will push the boundaries of what people can achieve and progress the country along with it raising the bar but everyone has to be giving a fair chance to succeed .The big myth is that people less well off hate wealthy people that is not true the truth is the ever increasing inequality and the system itself is what people who want to aspire hate and it is a justified hatred.

• Where will Ireland be in two years? Try ten or twelve years. We’ll be worse off than we are now.

If Britain is saying that they’ll have to extend their policy of austerity until 2018, then we can be sure austerity will last much longer here.

Frankly in two years time, I hope to have settled into a new, decent quality of life after emigrating.

As for this author, well anyone who takes Fianna Fail seriously, they must have a IQ level hovering around the 70 mark.

• Politics is about managing austerity these days. The 1% who really call the shots are unelected. There is little point in a political system anymore. I propose we set up a small unit of excellent managers to run the country and we close down the dail. In these times of global austerity political classes are unnecessary. If the Ula were in power they would have come up with a similar budget. If anyone wants to buy my vote it is for sale to the highest bidder like everything else these times

• Will that cowardly weasel Kenny ever go on live t.v and address the nation about where we stand economically and what our goals are long term as opposed to meeting and greeting world leaders as if he’s some sort of a statesman? We’re getting financially screwed year after year and this tool pretends as if it’s not happening! Seriously the man makes my blood boil! I suppose this is what happens when you put a school teacher in charge of a country!

• Sinn Fein will be getting my number 1 next time, followed by that new party.

Can’t bring myself to vote FF whilst any of the crooks that were in the government are still around, and FG and Labour have really let me down..

• Quit the EU and join the US!

At least we have a say who runs the show directly , and be able to print our own money

• More roundabout going nowhere shite from Aaron. He Didnt even answer the question in the headline!! But I’m sure he feels very important…

• Anyone who votes for Sinn Fein needs their head examined. They have zero policies except to say no to everything. And did anyone really think things were gonna change with FG and Labour? Firstly they have no choice but to make cuts and they always going to happen and if people think real change will happen in 2 years, they are delusional. Change like that takes years to implement

• john fox 08/12/12 #

we don’t. vote til me get change spoil our votes . bring the system down

• I’ll be voting independant, all the way, Sinn Fein have acknowledged the need for cut backs, but I don’t trust them either, existing parties have tried and failed

• Is there any truth on the rumor that Mary Lou McDonald is Mary Harneys love child?

• Some great hardship rhetoric here. Before you all throw yourselves off the cliffs of moher spare a thought for others less fortunate. And no I don’t mean some impoverished country. I am referring to Germany where I live, the country Paddy thinks us ripping him off. If I lived in Ireland I would pay less tax as a PAYE earner, married with children. So before you think you have it hard you have a better take home pay on the same salary as the strongest economy on Europe.

Add New Comment