TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: ‘Ming’ case demonstrates a profound misunderstanding of parliamentary privilege

The that fact a garda believes TDs are exempt from penalty points, and a TD evidently agreed, shows a basic misunderstanding of the purpose of parliamentary privilege, writes Eoin O’Malley.

Eoin O'Malley

THE REVELATION IN the Dáil last night that Deputy Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan used his Oireachtas privilege of ‘immunity from arrest’ to have penalty points wiped juxtaposes nicely with the eight month sentence imposed on the former UK cabinet minister, Chris Huhne, for perverting the course of justice in a case that started from misallocated penalty points. Huhne’s case is worthy of a soap opera, but Ming’s may be the comic relief in a tragedy. That a garda thinks that TDs are exempt from penalty points, and a TD evidently agreed, shows a profound misunderstanding of the purpose of parliamentary privilege.

Ireland’s constitution gives members of the Oireachtas parliamentary privilege through Article 15.13:

“The members of each House of the Oireachtas shall, except in case of treason as defined in this Constitution, felony or breach of the peace, be privileged from arrest in going to and returning from, and while within the precincts of, either House, and shall not, in respect of any utterance in either House, be amenable to any court or any authority other than the House itself.”

The purpose of the privilege is twofold

The second clause gives members the right not to be prosecuted for what they say in either Chamber, underpinning an important element of democracy: freedom of speech.

The first clause means TDs and senators cannot be arrested for offences that wouldn’t normally warrant a prison sentence (the distinction between felony and misdemeanour no longer exists in Irish law, but we can think of it as referring to indictable criminal offences).

Ming Flanagan’s case seems to show that parliamentary privilege is thought in Ireland, to place elected politicians in some way above the law. But the intention was never for this.

The purpose of such a privilege is twofold. One is to indicate that attendance at the House should supersede all other commitments. Second, and more importantly, it is designed to prevent abuses by executive authorities interfering in the legislative process. If the executive could organise the arrest of members, it could prevent them from voting. So it has something to do with the separation of powers.

Designed to thwart interference in the legislative process

The ‘immunity from arrest’ privilege dates from the 14th century in the House of Commons, when an MP was released having had been detained, thus preventing him from attending the House. This privilege from arrest was thus set in English law. The US introduced such a clause to its constitution (Art. 1.6), and we took ours almost verbatim from there.

Senators and Representatives “shall in all Cases, except Treason, Felony and Breach of the Peace, be privileged from Arrest during their Attendance at the Session of their respective Houses, and in going to and returning from the same.”

In the US there had been fears that members of Congress might be arrested and detained in order to interfere with the legislative process. It was adopted in the Free State constitution, which made a good deal of sense in a country born into civil war. Even in the less heady days whenBunreacht na hÉireann was brought in, it could still be seen as a bulwark to protect the Oireachtas and democracy. Although it is not something we expect to need to use in a normal democracy, constitutions often contain clauses that appear redundant until they are called upon to be used in extreme circumstances.

Who’s to say that the existence of the clause wasn’t important in the febrile atmosphere of Irish politics in the 1980s? Thus it would be better to leave it in place, but think about specifying when it can be used.

The law of ‘anticipated reactions’

As with many constitutional provisions we don’t know to what extent it has been invoked, because we don’t know what would have happened were it not there. This is the ‘law of anticipated reactions’. I may not prosecute because I anticipate that you will use a prerogative to defend yourself. Though the rule is never invoked, it is nonetheless important. A case brought against Senator Seán McCarthy in March 1990 was dropped at the request of the Director of Public Prosecutions because of an appeal to this privilege.

The privilege is seen as largely obsolete in other countries, but it has become a sort of accepted legal wisdom in Ireland (outside legal circles) thatTDs cannot be arrested going to or from the Dáil. The clause doesn’t intend that it is for criminal matters. And it was never intended that this provision gave TDs right to drink and drive, or drive while on their phones. Nor is it meant to give immunity from prosecution. The sole purpose was that one could not be detained or be threatened with detention which would prevent a TD carry out her parliamentary business. It arose at a time when to arrest meant to stop and detain someone.

I suspect if a TD actually tried to invoke this privilege in the courts she might find that the courts would assign the article a much narrower application than it is currently thought to have. Nor does it serve politicians well as it feeds into a cynicism that politicians feel they in some way above the law. That was never the intention of this constitutional provision.

Eoin O’Malley (@AnMailleach) is a lecturer in Irish politics at School of Law and Government, DCU. To read more articles by Eoin forTheJournal.ie click here.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• Increasingly it appears that each TD belongs to the same party “Mé Féin”.

• Caught with his pants down.

• Liar, cheat and hypocrit…kind of sums up most politicians.

He even had the gall to try and put it out there as a measure he personally took to expose corruption.

Resign and disappear…you insult the people who live in this country with your prescence.

Also hand back all monies paid to you as a TD. You clearly didn’t live up to the contract.

• An Irish TD resign? Don’t think they even know how to spell the word “Resignation”

• Typical Irish attitude, the golden boy made a mistake, get him out of here now he’s a disgrace!!! Penalty points! He should be hanged from the GPO!
      Meanwhile other politicians are giving away the money and resources your children are going to need to raise their children and most are silent.

The fact that he actually gives half his salary to the people of his constituency and fights for and against important issues more than covers this, his first mistake, to me.

• When you come from the high moral ground and castigate the system Ming does what do you expect, he is the same as a lot of them once he got in he was above the law, not to talk of the safety issue. Shabby in every sense of the word after all his guff down the back.

• Mark if this an attempt at trolling…it’s poor.

He abused his position. End of story.

Like all others who do the same…they should be kicked out. This BS will always go on unless there are serious consequences.

Buuutt, if you wish to carry on living in a world where “Ah sure it’s grand!” Is the attitude then that’s fine. Why don’t you join the other cronies at the bar and drink to the demise of the little shred of credibility this country has left.

• John 13/03/13 #

Did any of the others live up to the contract?

• What we need is a Dail ombudsman who will keep an overview of the Dail to ensure that these type of things don’t happen and will be punished if they happen. That is the only way that we can stop cronyism and enforce the laws of the land on politicians.
    We have Wallace in the Dail who should be in prison. O’Reilly pulling strokes left right and center, and now Ming pulling a fast one to get out of penalty points. We all know nothing is going to happen to him.

• Well it’s ALLEGED (that was missing from the piece) that a Garda said he is exempt due to dail privilege. We are taking ‘Honest Ming’ at his word on this. Obviously his word is questionable when only at Christmas did he on a number of occasions deny that he had been issued any fine.

• Mr. Flanagan’s word is now in further doubt this afternoon. The Roscommon County Manager has just released a statement identifying himself as the ‘council official’ identified by Ming and putting an entirely different slant on the story. Official says he will staunchly defend his good name.

• All the bloody same..dail dosent waste time turnin young blood..even mick wallace turned on him…

• Ming your just another waste of space!

• jaysus he is such a dope, he’s like the leitrim version of the healy rae’s but without the cunning

• Hahahahahaha Ming you really are a joke!

• Excellent article!

• The other thing is that on both occasions, there would have been no arrest or detention and would have been free to go anywhere he needed to go. He would have got his fixed penalty notice in the post and it was a matter of paying the fine and accepting the points (or going to court to challenge it).

• Eoin, profound misunderstanding might be putting too kind of twist on it, surely some of them know how it’s meant to work but just go with the flow as Ming has done. It’s much easier to say “I’d didn’t realise that’s how it works” as opposed to “I knew it was meant to work that way but abused the system”. It’s getting allot harder to take any political figures word as being honest these days when so many of them are being caught out left right and centre but still fail to put there hands up and admit it. I’ll not bother with a list of examples but lets go with a TD from Tipperary as a starting point.

• Flanagan is “pointless” now more than ever.
    Flanagan as a politician? I think we all realise now that he was a g0bshite from the minute he stepped into the Dáil.
    He is giving the “left” a bad name – I had hoped that there would be a real alternative to FF/FG/Lab but I was wrong.
    I will never vote SF because they have never been truthful about their leaders’ roles in the Troubles – and SF Vice President MaryLou is of Fianna Fail stock (people forget!).
    That doesn’t leave me with a whole lot of choice – and I’m sure I’m not alone.

• If a Garda had been discovered to have behaved as Ming did, Ming would no doubt demand he be sacked and prosecuted for corrupt practice.

• Excellent article Eoin, many thanks for the clarification

• Have I missed something or has Ming, or any other TD for that matter, called for the abolition of this “Dáil business” clause?

• What a Plonker .. He should keep off the grass..

• Sorry Politicians in this country are not corrupt – just heard Bertie Ahern got 35 votes in the conclave in Rome

• Denzil 13/03/13 #

The only thing ming is sorry for is that he was caught !!!!!
    You haven’t a leg to stand on Ming

• If ming resigns then they may all resign. Dissappointed in him. None of them can be trusted to tell the truth. Is there one fair, decent, truthful TD in the Dail . Me thinks it’s doubtful. Donnelly of Wicklow might be the only one.

• Big fan of Donnelly’s but he claims 40k+ a year expenses just like the rest, for travelling from Wicklow??
      There is one north Dublin Labour politician who claims zero expenses, an outsider shunned by the political class for not lining his pockets

• The only reason #Ming was voted in at the last election was in protest against FF/FG/LAB/etc. He won’t get in next time #GombeenPolitics

• Thank you for clarification on sec 15.13 of Constitution. I feel that in spite of fact that outside of the Dáil chambers this section is seldom invoked, it is time that our constitution was reviewed and ambiguities such as exist in this instance were removed from it.
    Until this happens we are going to have politicians misunderstanding it for their own advantage and an electorate becoming more disillusioned with elected leaders.

• Wow, wish there was as much anger when FF announced Ireland will take on the private debt of the gambling elite, a whopping great 42% of Europe’s full banking debt that has bankrupted the state and the next two generations, caused this recession and caused thousands to emigrate. Nevermind, we have two low key anti establishment politicians in Wallace and Flanagan to be fed to the lions by the elite controlled media. Ireland, go back to sleep, your Government is in control!

• Itscalm 13/03/13 #

Remember the Fine Gael TD who tried to drive out the front gates drunk.
    The Guard stopped him from doing so,when she opened the drivers door,he fell out onto the ground.He could have killed someone.
    Yet no charges were ever brought,because of that outdated law.
    http://www.herald.ie/news/sheehan-issues-grovelling-apology-to-woman-garda-in-drinkdrive-row-27962393.html

• Here’s a question for all the boys and girls out there ; who is more corrupt do you think in your opinion ….
    Sean Fitzpatrick or Luke Flanagan !
    Red thumb for seanny and green for luke !

• Dermot its not about who is most corrupt.

Rather it the fact that the two people you mention were or are in positions of trust and took advantage of that for their own gain.

Not only that but have in the past actively and publicly denied their culpability.

• Fair point Mac but I was just trying to put penalty points , where no-one got hurt (except reputationally) versus Anglo …………. Re; Ming ….how was he going to expose the system without proof ? ….he’s not running away on holidays to Australia having sworn in front of our courts that he has only what was it 380 quid a month to live on ! …………..
      I get you point Mac but I will defend Ming in that I think his denials were based on his contention that he was trying to delay the story for maximum impact ….I believe him but I understand completely if people don’t ……….. and if he is proven to be wrong then I will admonish him , this is not over by a long way yet …………. this has the potential to be Annie Murphy to the Catholic Church ! …. what Annie did was “wrong” but her message was vital !

• It’s a pity Annie Murphy did Eamon Casey in. Had she had not done so, Eamon Casey would be Pope by now.

• In the first case Luke Flanagan acted within the law ….in the second case an official got his points squashed without a request from Luke Flanagan ……………..
    Just watched Vincent Browne ……….. I was impressed with Mr. Browne subtly mentioning defamation ….a law , in my opinion, that, because of the “burden of proof ” system we operate, is a joke ! ………

• Hang on, you watched VB and you still think Ming was in the right?
      He admitted that he wrote to the Gardaí requesting the points be removed. He didn’t have to, in fact, he shouldn’t have. For him to be trying to claim moral superiority is ridiculous, even in light of the fact he’s a TD.. The others don’t usually hang themselves out to dry..

• yep…… I believe that Vincent did a bit of a hatchet job on him …… one important point is that Ming said that he had accepted the points until the Sergeant told him it could be quashed …………… it was only after this that he tested the law and in fairness in the first case he was within his rights as a T.D. …………. the second case is more interesting ! ask yourself this shanti ……….. why did he hang himself out to dry ? someone has to say something and although he may be wrong all day long at least Ming wasn’t drunk in the dail and he fights for what is his Ireland ! I respect him for that , if he disappoints me then hey he can join a long list of former and current politicians !

• You hit the nail on the head when you said. “Ming Flanagan’s case seems to show that parliamentary privilege is thought in Ireland, to place elected politicians in some way above the law.” The trouble is MOST politicians seem to think it means they ARE above the law and given the record of prosecutions or lack of prosecutions against politicians it would appear to be the case and with a compliant police force who seem to split their loyalty between local gombeen politicians and Roman bishops it seems they are in no danger of ever having their dodgy collars felt by pc plod! Politicians in Ireland have always believed they are above the law and it’s not just politicians, add to that list catholic priests, bishops a even a cover-up cardinal, the bankers, developers, judiciary, town and county councilors and then there’s the legions of crony’s of the various TD’s and Senators the only people the law seems to apply to are the plebs at the bottom of the ladder who don’t have the connections or the money to get themselves a lenient sentence or dismissal of their points etc. Would your points have been wiped if you asked the Gardai to take them off? One law for all…. not in Gombeenland!

Add New Comment