TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: Why banks have begun picking our pockets (and more is still to come)

We need more straight talking on the status of Irish banking, writes expert Ronan Coburn.

Ronan Coburn

JUST BECAUSE THE truth hurts, is no reason to give truth a wide berth. Last week, Justice Peter Kelly, one of the country’s most senior judges, claimed that appointments to the Supreme Court are ‘purely political’. I would like to follow this with some other self-evident home-truths like – the Emperor never had any new clothes, he is naked.

No rescue

On a macro level, Germany and its two closest allies in the Eurozone (Finland and Holland) last week dashed hopes that Spain and Ireland could transfer billions in debt incurred through bailing out their banks into the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) rescue fund. After meeting in Helsinki, the German, Dutch and Finnish finance ministers said in a statement that ‘legacy assets’ would not be covered, in an apparent reference to Ireland’s €64 billion public bank debt bailout.

In other words, such ‘rescue-funds’ are not to be available to historical (self-inflicted) bank difficulties. Who could blame these well-run triple-A nations. We shouldn’t continue any longer to keep our heads down (in docility) and ‘keep with the program’ –  merely achieving highly patronising compliments from our Northern EU and Troika brethren, at the expense of our Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and Greek cousins.

Sadly but inevitably, the stage is being approached when even right-thinking citizens in Ireland should collectively – as inhabitants of what has been allowed to become a diseased country – consider engaging in their own austere counter-responses.

Picking pockets

On a micro-level, our bailed-out banks are still not lending to businesses. They are still not even helping themselves to stage a true recovery. Instead they are endeavouring to rebuild their depleted balance sheets by picking our pockets: by levying higher levels of interest, account fees and other charges on individuals and businesses.

These continuing financial extractions are being made in the form of loaded borrowing rates, penal credit card interest and overseas transaction levies. Mortgage arrangement fees have already been re-introduced and ATM card and usage levies are expected to follow closely.

Having amputated the profit-generating capabilities of many good businesses, Irish banks are now coming after their life-blood as well. Anglo Irish Bank, AIB Bank and Irish Nationwide require to be retrospectively culled, instead of having been propped-up and bailed out on the impoverished taxpayers’ overdraft in September 2008.

Banking cartel

Unfortunately, there will be little opportunity to avoid the new regime of rising banking-related charges. The days of the banking cartel will be back with a vengeance, and changing banks will not be an option for the majority of personal and  business customers. New charges for opening accounts are very likely, and such charges will be inter alia targeted at passing on the costs of more rigid regulation and anti-money laundering requirements implementation. An Post have already begun taking over everyday high street banking functions from bank branches that are being closed down.

The days of high interest current accounts and high interest rates on savings accounts are certainly dead and gone. There is little point in being a good customer of a bad bank (ie a bank that is behaving badly)

Ronan Coburn is a Dublin-based independent banking consultant, forensic accountant and expert witness. He is also a member of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland. Further information at thebottomline.ie.

Read: Column: Don’t like bank charges? Sorry, but they’re here to stay>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• But can anything be done, people are stripped enough. The 1% aib have put on mortgage variable rates over last few months, is costing me roughly 2.5k a year!!! How much further are rates going to rise. Do they care about defaulters or bankrupts ???

• Dermot last month was my first time not paying my mortgage. I have to admit it was uncomfortable. Its strange but I always kept up to date with bills and was even in credit with gas and electric. Now 2 years on after losing my job its too much. Its a small mortgage 80k but I have tried everything to pay the full amount and can’t. The government is doing nothing for those struggling. I got the 30% increase on trs last budget and it still hasn’t been passed on by Ulster Bank. This is an absolute disgrace almost a year later. So the conclusion is government don’t care so why should I go hungry to pay this mortgage. I know some will say well you bought the house and my answer is yes I did at an inflated price I had no control over. It was a falling down 80 year old council house I did all the work on myself to keep costs down. The banks are ruthless to us yet our government is handing them billions. I give up to be honest. Emigration is becoming less an option because of my age. I regret not leaving 20 years ago. Thank God I don’t have kids because I would have them gone out of here on the first plane. It even pains me to see nephews and nieces struggling to get a meaningful job or course and they years are ticking and every day they are out of a job increases their chance of not getting one. Soul destroying living in Ireland now.

• they were only two words in that article that really needed to be written….”diseased country”

• Tommy C 04/10/12 #

If everyone struggling defaulted, what would happen??

• reading this has reinforced my decision to re-emmigrate. why dont we use more online banking here like ING for example.

• I have a full time job… For now but I am sick of bring shafted in a daily basis by banks local politicians etc that if I didn’t have family here in this depressing hole of a country I would be gone in the morning. There only so much waffle about having the craic and lovely green fields that I can take as a reason to stay here.

• My bank (NIB) have stopped me lodging cash and cheques at their branches for my convenience! Now I can lodge cash or cheques at the Post Office! I can’t lodge both though, my local Post Office takes cheques to my account while another one takes cash! Jesus H Christ I am in despair! Need an online alternative that doesn’t treat me like an idiot!

• If I didnt have to do an exam to get a skilled migrant visa for most countries I like to move to id be outta here years ago!

• Why not do the exam?

• Last one out turn off the lights.
    The only people left in this mad country will be bankers, tax consultants, politicians, and sundry financial advisors, asset managers and insurance brokers.
    Im no socialist but the nation is plainly being looted and the government is doing nothing to stop it.

• Why turn off the lights? Given that electricity bills are set to rise significantly this winter, I would happily turn on every appliance prior to departure just so as to leave them all with the bill !

• Ensuring that the “pillar banks” would be in a position to screw the Irish customer was and is government policy. It was and is a fundamental part of the whole approach to rescuing the banks and was announced as such by the outgoing government and by the incoming coalition.

People voted for this to be done to them.

• Bank in Northern Ireland and do all your transactions online. Sure, you’ll be giving your money to another country; but at least you’ll be kicking the a-holes in the teeth over here.

• Giving more public money to bust banks is not very popular so it Is best done quietly.

We learned yesterday that our Government is going to give half a billion euro to the ESM Bank bailout scheme on 23 October. The decision to double the first payment from €250 million was made last month in Cyprus. It was kept quiet in Ireland.

Thomas Pringle blew the whistle on them yesterday – fb.me/2lbizhxPx

T

• They are pulling funding for healthcare and the mental health sector.All these New charges are going to push some families to despair and possibly to a place where they will need help. when they look for these places they will be gone or closed. Welcome to Ireland … The banana republic

• The banks will continue to screw us, simple arithmetic says that if the government want the €64bl returned to avoid the tax payer paying for the bailout then the banks must recover this from their customers. How many bank accounts is there in bailed out financial institutions, divide €64bl by that and you will understand how hard the bank has to screw it’s customers.

• Red Ed 04/10/12 #

I’m in a full time job, I have a modest mortgage and I’m not in negative equity but every week I find I have less ans less. I spent a day last week checking drawers and jars for coins so that I could afford to get something for my dinner. I dread to think what people are doing with kids and big mortgages. It has left me with the abandon ship feeling and I have been researching for a way out to whatever country will take me. The fees my bank charges every quarter could pay half my esb!! I’m out!!! I can’t wait to go into my bank and withdraw my locked up savings (even if I’m penalised) and then hand them the keys to my house.

• Red Ed, I would love to get your reaction to today’s cover of Time Magasine. Enda Kenny propagating the myth that he is in charge of the ‘Celtic Comeback’, as reported by Catherine Mayer. Does it make your heart soar with pride?

• Years ago, I knew a rather eccentric girl who refused to have a bank account. She would cash her work cheque every month then transfer the cash to a biscuit tin under her bed. Oh how we laughed…:)

• This infuriates me, I have 1 loan, I bought a house when on 3 times what I earn today, 5 years ago. Never missed a payment, always worked and they continue to stuff me. I am done with banks, never again will I borrow. Me and cash from here on in and if I was self employed I would pay little or nothing to the government that does nothing for me.

• I just don’t know what to say.. destruction by the leaders! I tell ya what i’m going to do..it will be hard but I’m moving into a one bedroom apartment with a family of 5.. if the Indians,philapino’s can do it ,so can I.. this stigma of a big family in a small dwelling is becoming reality… Just turned down on a AIB morgage therefore I’ll take my 60k saved buy a one bedroom apartment for cash.. no morgage, minimal bills , start massive savings of 3000k/month and buy my house for my family outright in 5 years! No more morgage for 15 years…Own my apartment and small house at the end! Serious times calls for serious views! Substandard.. only in the eyes of the beholder! Fecking banks!

• Resel 04/10/12 #

Aib is the photo used for this article and rightly so.
    All the banks have added transaction charges but most of them you can get around by how you bank. But that’s not possible with the way Aib restructured.

I went in last week and closed my account, telling them why. I was a customer all my life with a good balance. They said nothing.

• I think its high time for everyone in this country to withdraw all cash from these banks, and show the fcukers whose really boss, most bills can be paid in local po these days, the credit unions are still giving loans. so do we actually need the banks?

• Exactly right my friend. Also if possible do not borrow money and avoid as much dependency on banks as much as possible. Store your cash at home even though there’s a risk. Even consider starting local currencies like have happened in other countries to trade. Take the power away from them.

The government did not, and will NEVER do what has to be done – collapse these pyramid schemes. We have the Bilderburg blinded teacher on our side versus the Rothschild banking dynasty, not looking good for little Eire. And wait until cashless money systems come in, complete manipulation and control…

• credit unions don’t ( as far as i know ) give mortgages and would be slow to give big loans to businesses, which helps keep d economy depressed because u need to speculate to accumulate when u start a business.

• Eric cantona stupidly tried it in france a few months back… He made an absolute fool of himself it failed so badly!

• well how right u are. i was in the bank of ireland in Rathdrum a few weeks ago had a few words with the teller she told me i should move with the times. that was goog coming from a bank that still closes at lunch time; opens late on a wedensday for training. Agreat little country.NOW U CANT PAY CASH INTO UR CREDIT C ARD U HAVE TO USE A MACHINE. WHAT A BANK. THANK GOD FOR THE AVONMORE CREDIT UNION they are great

• We need to protest, at least let them know that there are voters wanting change, it’s not going to happen by itself, we need a plan to have strength in numbers, any rallies or groups out there I should know about?

• No one seems to want to do anything. We just complain…..

• precisely the essence of the Irish character. In the short few years that we have had control of the country we have proven, government after government, that we just have not got the experience, knowledge or selflessness needed to run a small state. We have shown the world however, that we do know how to wreck one. Remember this is not ‘them’ and us’. This is Irish people destroying their fellow Irish in the rush to the trough.

• Is it just me or has anybody else noticed that some shops and cafes are not taking cards these days?

• I set up a bank account with chase in 20mins when I was over in the states this Summer. I had a ‘personal banker’ who’s name, email and number I had. I also had a card in my hand and a personalised pin. Oh ye not to mention online banking. The standard of service over here by comparison is ridiculous

• We are great at commenting, but who is actually going to do something constructive? Did Irish Tax payers not bail out Banks? Does that not give us some say?
    What are going to do about it?

• Well said, but it starts with us all, the silent majority need to get their hands dirty, me included

• Well if we “own” the banks we can decide if we want to own an unprofitable bank or a profitable bank. If we want a bank to be profitable it will need to charge for the services it provides and be prudent in granting loans and make sure that they are are profitable with regard to the interest rate they charge. If we are happy to have an unprofitable bank we can have one that grants loans at low rates to anyone who asks, one that offers free banking to the majority of its customers and pays big interest on deposits. If we want this then we will have to have government cover ist losses because no one else will. This will of course mean an increase in taxes to pay for it……………. oh no wait we’ve tried that and its gotten us into this big mess that we are in.

• @ John – sensible comments. Thank you for that.

• My opinion is the government has not investigated and pursued legal action against the banks as any investigation will lead back to many politicians who are or were in government, who had loans, shares or any dealings with the banks. Self preservation. We need a third party investigation to expose all involved.

• There’s a government agancy called Gardai Siochana that perform criminal investigations into criminal activity following on to an arrest if a crime has been commited and can be proved. The criminal is then sent to another government agency called a court of law where the Gardai Siochana must prove his or her guilt and then a Judge employed by the government will decide on sentencing of this criminal.
      The government is employed by the criminal in this case.

• Taxi Tax 04/10/12 #

I just can’t understand this at all, if you are lucky enough to be employed your wages are drastically down compared to the time when you took out your home mortgage.
    If you are self employed I’m sure you have had to cut back on your charge out rates to compete for business and again your income is drastically down.

Then you are down further in your pocket with various cuts to Social Welfare that some people depend on such as Children’s allowance.
    Stealth Taxes are on the increase, (VAT, Property Taxes) again hitting your pocket.
    With next month’s budget I’m sure the Government will cut tax credits and our cut off points, increasing the amount of PAYE and Income Tax we all pay and as for the USC, it is a joke.

However all living expenses are increasing, (Gas, Electricity, Diesel/Petrol, Motor Insurance, Road Tax, Health Insurance, Mortgage Interest….The list goes on)

Guys the figures just don’t add up, can’t anyone not see this.
    Eventually no one will have enough money to survive on.

Would anyone agree that by REDUCING all taxes such as VAT, Vehicle Registration Tax, Income Tax, PRSI and Universal Social Charge, Import duty, Excise Duty and giving people more money in their pockets will actually stimulate this economy.
    People will have more cash in their pockets, will eventually spend more and in turn this will generate more VAT for the Revenue, stimulate more jobs therefore paying out less Social Welfare whilst bringing in more PAYE, PRSI and USC.
    Reducing VRT will reduce the price of cars and maybe even stimulate this industry again creating jobs and bringing in more Tax Revenues with greater sales numbers.

You can’t tax the people out of this situation, eventually everything will crash. (even more than it has done already)

• Lamb 04/10/12 #

Germany kicks US when we are down yet we buy their cars and spend money in their shops. We shop in Lidl and Aldi to save a few pennies, they only have a handful off staff in their stores and usually aren’t helpful. The more trade switches to these guys, the more jobs will be lost in Dunnes, Supervalu etc. as they employ fewer staff. Some of their fresh stuff is Irish but most of it comes from countries who want to support austerity in Ireland. And where do their profits go? The same place as the interest on the bailout loans, that’s where

• But Lamb its a vicious circle. Dunnes are dearer than Lidl and Aldi. People can’t afford to shop in Dunnes on Welfare. We just don’t have the money.

• From the German perspective, the Irish kicking them when the whole of Europe is down, by consistently and wilfully misinterpreting decisions at an EU-level to suit ourselves. The “evil Germans” is just an easy trope to be used by people to deflect from the real issues behind the economic mess we’re in; ie a series of Irish politicians unwilling to make the tough decisions that would help this country but would make those politicians unpopular with the voting public. The German government has locked up a lot of their pension reserves in bail-out funds, and of course they want to make sure this money come back. Of course they don’t want a write-down of banking debt, to do so would leave their tax-payers out of pocket. Maybe not fair, but their priority is to safeguard their electorate. Which is what our government should be doing for us. Why blame the German government for doing a better job for their people than our government does for ours? Lastly, no-one is forcing the Irish consumer to buy German cards and other products. The consumer was a wide-range of choice, and that is their choice to make. Company X is better than company Y. It would be sensible to look at improving how Company Y does things rather than lambasting Company X.

• I see your point Lamb, we should be supporting our own indigenous industries and shops etc., and I agree, but didn’t someone do a survey some time ago and find that Lidl and Aldi actually stocked more Irish made products than Dunnes? If you check the products in Dunnes how many are actually sourced here, as opposed to the North? I wonder how the suppliers to the various shops feel about it, those who supply Dunnes, Aldi, Lidl or Tesco, we often hear stories of suppliers being financially bullied by these big stores, if a chain is looking after our suppliers I’d like to hear about that too.

• Interestingly enough, the first time I went to Lidl here in Sweden I was confronted with immense amounts of Irish seafood, crabs, prawns, salmon – all at low, low prices! I never seen that much Irish seafood produce anywhere outside of Howth (in Dublin anyway).

• Dunnes used to offer much better value in the past than it seems to do today. I find it too expensive on most items. It is big Irish firms like Dunnes and Musgrave that need to look hard at their business models. They have had an easy ride for too long, not always giving the Irish public the best available prices. The competition is only highlighting this. Economic pressures will dictate where the huddled masses do the shopping with a sharp focus on value for ever diminishing income.

• @ Paul – I agree, Lidl and Aldi will source products and sell products were they can based on what good value to buy and where there’s a demand. I don’t think it’s very useful to call either Lidl or Aldi a German Company with a big G, they may have originated in Germany, but I don’t think they give a damn about a national agenda or instilling a sense of German National Pride. Like all good mutilation-nationals, nationality is irrelevant to them. I do find it funny though, how in German supermarkets Irish branding has a lot more value attached to it then I think Irish people would expect. I don’t know if it’s the same in Sweden, but in Germany Kerrygold butter is huge, Irish butter is considered the bet you can buy, an unfortunately costs twice the price as “non-Irish” branded butter. In short, it’s funny to see how the views other Europeans have of Ireland and the assumptions Irish people make about other European’s views on Ireland really don’t match up. Ultimately, when I want to know what a Swede, a Norwegian, a German or a Lithuanian thinks of Ireland, I’ll ask someone of that nationality rather than asking an Irish person what those nationalities think…

• “Mutilation-nationals” was meant to be “multi-nationals”. This predictive text throws up some funny/sinister things sometimes :-)

• There is no profitable well run bank going to set up for small business or general retail in Ireland. Potential is too limited given the risk factors. They may come in to cherry pick corporate and large exporter business. Someone some day may take a look at mortgages but only after a period of stability.

• What Id love to know is , if a profitable well structured bank wanted to setup in Ireland next week , where they would be in a position to behave competitively, would the Government grant them a license ?

I somehow believe , the Government would rather then didn’t apply for a banking license in the Rep.

• I once came into a small few quid – having met with 2 bank officials ( they were to advise me ) but all they wanted to do is sell various products which invariably would only help reduce my balance and obviously get as much out of me as is humanly possible…….They were stunned when I simply said ” if I can’t just leave my dough resting in an account and NOT have it working for me ..I’ll simply withdraw it all and throw it into a biscuit tin !!..as you wish sir.

• So much rhetoric, and too much precious time…wasted…

• What is desperately needed for personal banking customers i Ireland is some arrangement for ethical, free banking. Like the Co-Op Bank in the UK. The Credit Unions might be in a position to put something similar in place. Ordinary folks are fed up with the big banks, who have failed us utterly.

• In a comment yesterday in the papers, a spokesman for the Dept. of finance when questioned regarding the morgtage increases,replied mortgage rates were “commercial decisions”for banks….and here comes the killer..
    since the bail out, he continued a “relationship framework”had been SIGNED with the domestic banks,and the government.The spokesman ends the statement by saying,”We now dont get involved in “Day to Day” banking”..
    Talk about been thrown to the wolves…..

• My mortgage has gone up nearly €700 per annum since July. Bank of Ireland/ICS and I do not have a job. And their variable rate is now 4.55%. Plus I see that the fixed rate that they gave me is 0.5% higher than the rate they give new business! Where are the Government in all this?

• Ryanair should open a bank. Plenty of empty shops in prime locations and most people would transfer straight away.

• Pulled out of my local bank altogether. I now save in Silver coins. Gold is good too but a bit expensive. I feel great that the banking system cant gain on my hard earned wealth and I get extra leverage with the surge in asset prices as a result of US dollar or future ECB printing. Only issue will be 50% or more capital gains tax that desperate governments will introduce in the future.
    Silver is fairly liquid. If you need cash in a hurry any local jewelry store or cash for metal shop will take it from you. better than an ATM.

• ” just BEGUN picking our pockets” ? What planet have you been on for the last 30 years?

• @ coddler, I hope you didn’t type all that on a phone or else you will need a finger transplant ? :-)

• I wonder if I could survive without a bank account.
    Didn’t Bertie claim not to have a bank account when he was a minister.
    If it’s good enough for that clown it’s good enough for me…..

• Kings traditionally never carried money. It only worked for them because they had a rake of cronies around them who would pay the bills. I think Bertie carried on thus tradition, but it only works as long as your have enough cronies…

• Time to do what we’ve always done, bury our heads in the sand! The whole country needs to come together and stop what’s happening but that’ll never happen!

• I was with AIB until they inroduced personal charges, then switched to National Irish Bank. NIB are now to be known as “Danske Bank” and they have closed my local branch, are about to close the regional branch my account transferred to and have taken the “Irish” from the name. The service is crap, phone queues are from Achill to Wicklow and they charge plenty for it.
    Bugger ‘em!

• The Banks here will be in trouble for a long time. Banks are only as strong as the economy they are in. Multi Nationals and our own Corporates such as Glanbia cannot bank with our Banks becuase their credit ratings are too low, The Small Business community is in disarray and probably most could not replay new credit if they got it. There are 15% arrears and rising on mortgages when 1% traditionally would be counted as high. They have closed or are closing their overseas businesses. So they are now trying the only tactic they have left increase rates on existing customers and increase charges on their small customer bases. The government cannot object as they have told the Banks to get themselves back into the Black at all costs to justify the 65 million they have being given.

You would have set up new banks for a tiny fraction of the money.

• A new set of banks might be a good idea. We really have only two options; reform the current banking system or build up an alternative system from scratch, maybe by transforming existing credit unions into fully-formed banking institutions. We’ve been following option A. It’d be very interesting to see a serious study and a costing for option B.

• There was one submitted to Fianna Fail and then Fine Gael but they came up with Pillar Banks.

• Interesting. I’d accept if it was rejected if it was more expensive than reforming the current system, but it’d annoy me if it was passed over for “jobs for the lads” or “that’s too radical for the Irish”.

• I think it was passed over on instruction from the troika to the dept of finance to protect the pillar banks to allow them pay back bondholders.

• You cannot be serious, coddler??
    Although the idea of potential discomfort inflicted on the banks will please their detractors, of who there are many, it would result in innocent mortgage holders gaining bad credit records and losing their homes. It couldn’t be organised, not with the best will in the world. You see, that’s the BEAUTY of capitalism, the rich and therefore powerful hold ALL the aces and top cards. You cannot beat them. Even the government cannot win.this game.

• Graham,

Of course it could be organised. The powerful elite want you to believe you are powerless but it’s not so. We have huge strength if we unite in numbers. If 250,000 Irish people stood shoulder to shoulder and refused to pay their mortgages, there is little or nothing any of the banks, any of the agencies of the state or the legal system could do about it. We are governed by consent in a democracy. It’s time the people realised this.

• Its very easy to be populist when writing about the Irish Banks. They made huge mistakes and the country is bailing them out, leaving the tax payer to take the pain. They reward the taxpayer for this generousity by increasing rates and fees. Simple.

Or is it that easy ? Irish banks made huge profits in the boom years by borrowing money cheaply on the markets and lending it cheaply, mainly to the Irish public. In order to keep up capital ratios they took deposits from the Irish public in some cases paying morein interest than they were charging on loans. In the boom years banks tripped over each other to offer discounts on fees. Fees were dramaticly cheaper than anywhere else in Europe. As an example in one bank the fee for an unpaid cheque being returned to your account was €5 in its sister bank in NI the equivilent was £25.

Naturally it was an unsustainable business model, the profits that they generated were really no more than sleight of hand. Now that the crash has happened and the proverbial has hit the fan we need to decide do we want profitable banks or do we want to bale them out on an ongoing basis. The world of banking is changing we need to change with it. No longer is it sustainable to maintain a branch on every street corner, to have a teller available for every customer in the queue, to use a paper based money transmission system. The world of branch banking, with its cheques and large cash transactions is over. In European terms Ireland is still the largest per capita user of cheques and in absolute terms only surpassed by the UK and France. If Ireland is going to have profitable banks then we have to allow them charge higher rates of interest on loans and bigger fees. If we don’t want that let’s stop talking and keep bailing

• Why am I charged for online transactions then? No one does anything exept me.
      If I run a business that is unsustainable, it goes broke and so do I. I think that is fair and it is how lessons are learned. Banks in Ireland did engage in unsustainable business practices and the government gave our tax money to Bond holders. How is that fair?
      If the government guaranteed customer deposits instead of guaranteeing bank debts there would be no problem. Set up a state bank, tell AIB to bugger off to Australia or Canada and tell the bond holders to suck our big green balls.
      This country would be fine if the government didn’t borrow money to pay debt. That’s like using a credit card to pay your morgage (which some people have been forced to do).

• Why are you charged for a local text, a local phonecall or to view a locally-based website? Same argument. These are services provided by a service provider who can choose to charge you for the service. The difference between a bank and many other types of service provider is out society and economy cannot function without banks. Despite what people are saying here, living and working in Ireland without using banking services is not possible for the majority of people. Cash-only business is extremely in attractive for my companies, both for paying and receiving payment. If we chose to give two fingers to the current banking system, we would need to have an alternative banking system to switch to. We don’t, so ultimately we only can choose between the existing institutions.

• Sorry ” in attractive” should be “unattractive”.

• My god the amount of negativity….it’s like a giant leech on this site. Get some perspective. Even on the dole in this country you are still in the top 10% on the planet. Would you swap all your money woes for the health of a loved one?

If you have a Sky TV subscription and a mobile phone you cannot complain about not having enough money as you choose to spend it on non essential items. If you don’t have these items and you don’t ever eat out and you don’t by new clothes every couple of months and you still have nothing left over you’re responsible for doing something about it – even if that means emigrating. just stop whinging about it. Your life is running out and when your dead, your dead.

PS – if your only response is to ‘red thumb’ me because you don’t like what I’m saying then you’re not taking responsibility for your own life.

• My proposal for a peaceful revolt would be a National Mortgage strike with two demands:

1. No more funding of the banks from the Peoples’ pockets for any reason.
    2. The People be reimbursed for the money already stolen from us.

Demand 1. Unfortunately a significant proportion of the bondholders have already been paid off at this stage thanks to the abject surrender of the last and present governments in the face of ECB demands and threats. There are however enormous sums still being being paid to bondholders on a daily basis and this haemorrhage needs to stop. Have a look at Bondwatch Blog from Diarmuid O Flynn (Irish Examiner journalist) so see the huge losses we are suffering every day. On top of this there is still the €31billion of promissory notes to be paid and the interest which amounts to €47 billion approximately. We can’t allow any of this money to be paid. Heaped on this again are the billions we have pumped into NAMA which is just another bank bailout under a different mask. All this looting of the nation needs to stop immediately.

Demand 2. The money we paid to date to honour the bank bonds had disappeared back into the global financial casino and is gone for good. But there are ways to recover our losses if the government was brave and radical enough. The figures are not entirely clear but since the banks extorted the blanket bank guarantee from Brian Lenihan in Sept 2008 there has been at least €67 billion stolen from the Irish people and pumped into the banks. On top of this is NAMA which has taken €72 billion worth of bad loans off the banks balance sheets. We will be very lucky if we recoup 50% of this, so let’s say another loss of €35 billion. That leaves a conservative estimate of €100 billion which has been extorted from the Irish people so far.

Even the right wind commentators now agree that the ECB exceeded its authority when it demanded that Ireland repay the bank bondholder in full. Ireland may have a legal case it can take to the European Court of Justice in relation to this. Therefore the first port of call for the government should be Europe with a demand for repayment for the banking debt that was illegitimately imposed on us.

Another way to recover the money robbed from us would be to take ownership of the bank’s Mortgage Book in return for the state aid which the banks extorted from the country. I don’t have the exact numbers but let’s say we have pumped €20billion into AIB/EBS at this point. The government could immediately take ownership of that €20billion figure in performing mortgages and direct the monthly income stream to finance the country and help reduce our deficit. The bond money has disappeared but there is still real wealth in the banks in the form of bricks and mortar which can be leveraged to help the people.

If the loss of some or all of the mortgage book results in the collapse of AIB/EBS then so be it. We will step in and take control of the retail banking network to keep the branches and ATMs open etc. We own the bank almost entirely now so we can take as much of the retail banking system as we need to serve the country.
    After the deposits have been moved to the new state retail bank he remainder of the bank can be liquidated and divided up among the creditors or sold to an interested party.

Essentially we would extract our national stake from the bank through the housing/property stock , take the banking infrastructure that we need to support the people and dump the rest.
    We need to stop the charade that the Irish banks are functioning financial institutions providing the normal banking services such as credit to the economy. They are not and they may never be again. This is an unprecedented crisis and we need to take complete control of the banks and exploit them to ensure the survival of the nation. What the government have done so far is to nationalise/socialise the debts of the banking system while allowing the banks to retain control of their assets. We need to reverse this position and nationalise the assets of the banks to save our republic.

The beauty of a Mortgage Strike is that it would directly target the Banks who bear the bulk of the responsibility for breaking the country.
    The recent property bubble amounted to a enormous theft from Irish people where hundreds of thousands of people have been saddled with huge debt just to put a modest roof over their heads (in most cases) An insider elite of landholders, developers and bankers became obscenely wealthy on the back of this bubble while the political class encouraged the stampede.
    This debt is now a millstone around our necks but it could be used as our most effective weapon to drive real change for the better in how this country is governed.

A Mortgage Boycott would force this government to finally begin to meet their responsibility to the Irish people instead of pandering to the infinitely greedy banks. This would involve a large number of people withholding their mortgage repayments until the government meets the 2 demands outlined above. As the Irish state now owns most of the Irish banking system, the impact on the government would be immediate and substantial.

The protest should insist on a mortgage freeze for the duration of the Strike so that people are relieved of the burden of paying their mortgages without any penalty until a satisfactory conclusion is reached.
    So for example if a person’s outstanding mortgage total is €200,000 to be paid over a 20 year period then this is the amount and timeframe which will apply when the boycott is over. The withheld monthly payments would not be transferred over to the banks at the end of the strike but would instead be paid at the back end of the mortgage term when people’s finances should hopefully have improved.
    The freeze would have the advantage of easing the financial pressure on the people striking while increasing the impact on the financial institutions and the government by depriving them of income for the duration of the strike and with no prospect of receiving the outstanding money until people reach the end of their mortgage terms.
    No penalties, additional interest or any financial sanction would be accepted from the Banks or the strike would continue.

Obviously, it would take a significant number of people to commit to the action for this to be effective but it might be possible to kick start the protest through the media, Facebook etc and sign up the necessary number of people for the movement. Momentum for the civil disobedience should be achievable with so many people already under serious financial pressure thanks to the greed and stupidity of our banking and political elite and other vested interests.

A reasonable target might be in the region of 250,000 mortgage holders who are prepared to sign up and commit. When the target figure has been reached the protest would begin the following month and continue until the government undertakes to stop rewarding the failed bondholder gamblers with our money and future.
    Our past and present governments have signed up the Irish people to foot the bill for the banking collapse to the tune of €100 Billion and counting. FG and Labour will tear the heart out of this country with vicious cutbacks and tax increases to pay for this robbery while our young people look at an empty future and emigrate in their tens of thousands. This is wrong and has to stop.
    It’s time the government realised that they rule the Irish people only through our consent and they do not have our permission to bleed the country dry to provide a transfusion to the parasite financial elite.

• Makes you wonder if your in negative equity why bother paying your mortgage

Add New Comment