TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Aaron McKenna: How we all missed the week’s biggest story

Roisin Shortall’s resignation dominated the news this week – which may be a relief for some in Government.

Aaron McKenna

TO READ THE news commentary, it was a week of high political drama and ground shaking revelations and resignations. Two cabinet ministers got caught up in constituency ‘stroke politics’ and one junior minister resigned, a part of the widening schism between Fine Gael and Labour in government.

The housing of one family of Travellers in Hogan’s constituency and the potential placing of two health centres into Reilly’s brings us back to the days of Fianna Fáil and gombeen politics writ large. The passive and sometimes aggressive relationship between coalition partners reminds us of the end of the Green Party. The splits in Labour remind us of, well, just about every time the left gets into government.

These matters are human and they are understandable. In the same way that we boil our multi-billion euro budgets into discussions of how many Special Needs Assistants this would pay for, the media and public tend to grasp the familiar. As we jumped from Hogan, the maligned bringer of the household charge, to Reilly, the guileless (alleged) practitioner of constituency favouritism, folks commented how relieved the former must be to have the heat taken off by the latest scandal. The common consciousness tends to have a one-track mind.

One TD’s assistant tweeted during the week that productivity had increased dramatically on his corridor of power after the appointment of Alex White to replace Roisin Shortall.

But amidst all this speculation about who said what to whom – where leaks of internal documents originated and who would be the winners and losers in the incestuous melting pot of Leinster House and its environs – there were somewhat more consequential things happening.

Wiped away

In Europe, the finance ministers of Germany, the Netherlands and Finland released a statement outlining their governments’ position that their cash, in the form of the European bailout funds for distressed countries, can only be used to solve future problems. In other words, Ireland’s existing debt and banking problems are not going to be wiped away by these funds.

With all due respect to Roisin Shortall’s stand against old-school constituency patronage and the political belittling of principled individuals, in terms of scale her problems are a small annoyance; like a fly buzzing in the room while a bulldozer is knocking it down with you inside.

In response to the German-Dutch-Finnish statement, our government did the usual: Flat out deny anything is wrong. These guys would stand in a burning building and insist on calmly drinking tea if their stated policy was that the place is fireproof.

The official line from Enda Kenny in the Dáil is that this was a statement by “merely” three finance ministers among 27.

Eamon Gilmore gave an interview to Bloomberg News that was vintage Irish political talk-around. “Between differences of language and so on and so forth, sometimes we can put a little too much emphasis on finding a particular word or phrase or a couple of phrases and reading too much into that.”

I dunno Eamon; I keep reading the statement and can’t seem to find those lines you’re reading between:

The ESM can take direct responsibility of problems that occur under the new supervision, but legacy assets should be under the responsibility of national authorities.

That reads to me a lot like “We’re not paying for your existing problems.” And coming from three countries without which the ESM won’t work – for they are the last remaining European bloc with an economy that’s worth a damn – it doesn’t seem that the adjective ‘mere’ applies.

Our illustrious government keeps to the line, like a whiney child, that an agreement was made in June and it’s just not fair that somebody should come along and change it. As per usual with domestic policy, they’re conflating their dreams and aspirations with reality and achievements.

These three countries don’t want to be dragged under paying for our existing substantial problems while even bigger ones could (and are waiting to) blow up elsewhere. Whatever we feel – quite justifiably – about the role of European banks in our present predicament, governments rarely make policy affecting foreigners based on goodwill and moral justice alone.

Pushover

The Irish government strategy of banking on this specious goodwill – by being placid negotiators, toeing the line and delivering the fiscal stability referendum – doesn’t seem to be a flying success. A third of the way into the term of this Government, the promises of ‘not one more red cent to bondholders’ from Fine Gael and ‘Frankfurt’s way or Labour’s way’ are well behind us.

A third of the way in, and their negotiation strategy has delivered the sum total of nothing, bar a reduction in interest payments that was secured because a bigger and more important player in the debt crisis was getting it. Not being a nuisance has won us plaudits, kind words, and a presumption of being a pushover come each and every new chapter in the crisis.

The failure to deliver a solid deal on the overhang of debt – peaking at 160 per cent of GNP while the economy remains, as the ESRI puts it, bouncing along at the bottom – will simply lead to more and more of a downward spiral. The government can’t face up to this reality. Their failure to deliver will see continued rot and eventual collapse of the financial footing of the state as interest bills mount on top of mortgage crisis, brain drain, eroding public services and all the rest. So they prefer to double down on their strategy and pretend nothing is wrong.

A junior minister resigning or a couple of senior ones playing stroke politics in their constituencies is salve for the mind of a government failing to deliver on the really consequential issues.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• We lost out bargaining power the minute we passed the fiscal compact stability treaty

• Not true tiocfaidh. One could argue the same point using the Maastricht treaty or any other subsequent treaty.

• We’ve never been without some bargaining power. We’ve been represented consistently by fastidious cowards who failed to use any advantage on behalf of the people.

Is there such a thing as negligent treason?

• We had some right melons over the last decade out in Europe. Will we ever find out the name of the Minister that fell asleep at an EU meeting of Ministers, or the one that used to go in reeking of drink. For many during the Celtic Tiger, a trip to Brussels was a week on the beer and a holiday. Made a lot of enemies. Unfortunately that is another reason they ignore us now, that said, it is a Franco-German show and it is all about their interest rather than the greater good.

• Now that the EU crowd have suddenly renaged on this latest deal to reduce our sovereign debt, it seems that default’s our only hope. We’ve played ball long enough, and things are only getting worse. Lets go it alone and make things better. What have the ordinary , honest, decent people of this country got to lose? I mean we’re all broke anyway. Why should we prop up the wealthy people’s lifestyles anymore? If we go, they’ll all go. Anyone that says we haven’t got negotiating power hasn’t studied the facts.

• Yes indeed, the real story of the week was snowed under by auld style parish pump stroke politics, is it any wonder we are despairing of our governments ability (lack of!) in dealing with the Troika in a meaningful way when we see these antics going on.

• Eric 29/09/12 #

It was always going to get to this point unfortunately. During the FF-Celtic Tiger era , the current coalition parties stood by and offered no critique or credible opposition, except by complaining about how FF policies didn’t go “far enough” with regard to tax cuts and so on. The Enda and Eamon show has just delivered more of the same and highlights the sickness within Irish politics. A cohort of grumpy old teachers doctors and lawyers making decisions on issues that are so beyond them intellectually that they can only issue tokenistic statements about turning the corner and so forth.

• Excellent article Aaron.

• iBob101 29/09/12 #

Lenihan decided that all bank debt must be guaranteed by Ireland to avoid the possibility of a bank defaulting on its debts. Now Noonan wants Europe to do the same for Ireland. But the 3 finance ministers have a different view of life. Why should anyone pay for anyone else’s past mistakes just to avoid the unpleasantness of a default?

• Why is the government afraid to give the Irish people a referendum on the bail out, on nsecured bondholders etc. It’s the least we deserve seeing as we’re footing the bill. They’ll give us a referendum on every other bloody thing, including Judges’ wages, but not this. What a country.

• ”In response to the German-Dutch-Finnish statement, our government did the usual: Flat out deny anything is wrong. These guys would stand in a burning building and insist on calmly drinking tea if their stated policy was that the place is fireproof.”
    Aaron . This comment sums it all up . The arrogance and power these follows exude is immoral , and it is up to us to bring them back to earth.
    Brilliant piece and well written !

• Our government is either incompetent or treacherous. One couldn’t be blamed for considering it to be the latter.

• The government is incompetent and treacherous, as you say, and it is also irrelevant in the overall European context. Also, they are opening the gates for Sinn Féin to sweep into power at the next general election because the people of Ireland will have, by then, been disillusioned by all the major parties, and those parties will have no one to blame but themselves.

• We need an election now, and to focus on getting for ourselves a government willing to do EVERYTHING it can, and attempt EVERYTHING it can’t, to save the people of Ireland, including future generations, from the immoral and insane world wide crusade to socialise bank debt & market losses.

• FG and FF are only treacherous to this country in differing ways. They are incapable of putting the country first.

• Sean
      Unless we control our own pursestrings it won’t matter a bit who sweeps into government next time round. FG will be hoping to have completed their part in the EU experiment by then and to be riding into the sunset with their rewards.
      More fear generation and more referenda to come. Watch this space.

• Its been a long time coming but the since of fear people had is been replaced by a since of anger .Constructive anger the feeling now that the guys we have elected to sort the problems in this country are a part of the overall problem in itself .The evidence is starting to become undeniable even for the most staunch defenders of this unwilling, time consuming puppets that is our Government.The reality is simple imobilize and send clear messages from mass protest through the Dail over to Brussels that the Irish people have woken up finally. The only way they can control our country is by the populations co-operation with unjust immoral laws that are been imposed upon us all from a 90yr old to a 5yr old.The whole Banking takeover is based on the idea that we are incapable of having a fair society and their way which see’s such inequality and worshiping of money, to such an extent that we are too busy worrying about it to actually fulfill our full potential as a species.Over the last 40yrs technology has advanced but the human race has been in decline and its greed over indulgance and consumerism that has fuelled it.It is now time to question are we really liking the world big Banks and Corporations have designed for us War more War Oppression Starvation Pollution Greed their is alternatives do we leave Pig Greedy Bankers/Banks decide how we evolve ?What will they do to future generations.Ireland’s woes are alot of countries woes by been aware of what is happening is the start of something positive in negative times.I appeal to anyone who has organisational skills and feels like the black whole is widening to start talking and discussing ways to come together to kickstart a unified show of people power to let the Government and invisible LORDS of the Banking system that people are good fundamentaly and the actions of a few who have never known anything but greed and intitlement should not be taken as the law of the World and its inhabitants.Fight back with your conscience.Time is ticking.

• Sham 29/09/12 #

Very well written but unless I missed something I’m not sure what you suggest. The logical alternative to the existing policy of “playing nice” would be to “play nasty” – how would you see that going? Seems like half if the article is missing.

• Not to mention the two, yes two, bypasses approved for Brendan Howlins constituency.

• But did Howlin approve them? Surely you are not suggesting that just because it is a minister’s constituency that nothing should get approved there? Although I do think the minister should recuse themselves of the decision making process so there is no conflict of interest

• You omit the fact that the two bypasses are “shovel ready” according to the NRA. Plus the Transport Minister would have had to nominate projects, and he is no fan of “stroke politics” based on his comments last week. I’d also imagine that the improved links to the port played a role in the decision making process also.

Brendan Howlin may claim it was he who brought the roads to Wexford but he merely signed off on the financing plan.

• Planning in Wexford is an interesting subject to raise, particularly former county councillor and current town councillor Lorcan Allen (FF) getting the Gorey bypass rerouted through his nonagenarian mothers land…

• Ben Gunn 29/09/12 #

Howlin allocated the money, twice.

• As ye bring in parish pump politics to derail a thread that is about the way discussion about the national slow motion heist we are undergoing is derailed by obsession with parish pump politics…
      Nice reading comprehension there…

• If we did not pay back the banks what we do not owe them. Then what would our defiecet be ???

• Think of it as a movable feast. Our biggest deficit is number of income tax payers – ie current policies keep booting people out of work & off PAYE. If we default on a few bonds & invest in people, a lot more people will be back working & paying PAYE/PRSI, which will reduce our deficit.

Also, our commitments all relate to a RATIO. The deficit could remain as it is, ad if GDP goes UP, we’re getting closer to our goal.

Problem is our current policies depress our GDP and rob us of decent jobs. Decent jobholders would spend & create more jobs & more taxes.

Let’s start addressing the jobs deficit & stop worrying about the money deficit. Money is only a symbolic representation of human activity.

• The sum total of the Irish talent available to defend us in the numbers racket that the EU has turned out to be is quite simply not up to the job.They have shown time and time again that they have not got the ability to deal with the professional politicians of europe. We have dragged in the like of Gilmore( A yes man ,for the sake of a place in gov.) Kenny (Another Yes man,more interested in his party and its internal politics than the country he represents.) Ring (poll topping idiot of the highest order. Outside Mayo he has not got a clue wtf is going on) Noonan (A shambles of a man trying to do a job he is clearly unable to do),The list goes on.Whatever you think,get one thing straight and let there be absolutely no doubt about this. There is not a single bright light in todays gov that has any chance of competing with the likes of merkel and some of her european colleagues,not one.We are a joke in europe,and for the future we shall continue to be a joke.Adams is sitting in the wings with his crowd.If you are feeling down and want to be cheered up and given a good laugh….read their Policy papers on Irelands financial woes and how they would deal with it.Seriously you would think it was written by a fkn chimp ( don’t go there,seriously they have not got a clue). FF…..well we know how that goes.The only solution I think is Default….take the hit….we will get over it a lot quicker and with a lot less pain then the current situation.The only real problem with default is that there is no political entity in Ireland today capable of managing the default scenario. I am making coffee now. Head hurts and I am dying for a pee…..have a nice day. (To much information..lol)

• Gone be the day when the media where suppose to provide facts and balance analyses to allow readers to make up their own minds and opinions. This article is far from that.
    I find it amazing when a report picks one paragraph from a statement an EU leader makes and turns into a “sensational” story and try to make out that one paragraph rules everything out. I don’t know how many times leaders within Europe have come out and said one thing and then done the complete opposite. Maybe it’s Time to stop with “we should have done it this way” or the “what if’s” or prejudging the outcome based on a 10 to 15 word statement on an exceptionally complex set of issues. Anyone who chooses to simplify this issue or any issues like it should not be given the time to present, their obvious, party affiliated views.

• Face facts, we are a very small player in a big high stakes game and while we are running a €25 billion deficit we have no bargaining power! I did not see this crucial point mentioned in your article and thus I would argue it is a poor analysis of the current crisis.

• Then write your own articles if you can do better, you always seem to have made similar comments about this particular author.

• “Vocal Outrage” is exactly what the author uses instead of pragmatic analysis which in turn makes me believe that “Vocal Outrage” is an alias of the author!

I am writing my own articles in small comments. Look further!

• It’s one thing making your absolutely best effort & not succeeding #BecauseSmall. It’s another thing entirely making no effort at all because your crystal ball tells you it won’t work.

We simply have NO IDEA how things would have turned out if we had ever had a gutsy #teamIreland playing their hearts out to give us a win. We’ve had to put up instead with players refusing to play, hoping for victory to come to them magically by being nice & conceding every single goal kicked into our net. I mean FFS!

Look at Iceland and your puny little #BecauseSmall argument falls apart!

• You don’t see the facts because you willfully ignore them Blathín. The deficit is mostly made up of bank bailout funds. The deficit outside of that is about 7bn. A lot no doubt but manageable.

The choice here is whether the ECB wants a periphery that will grow again or one that will be in perma slump.

No doubt we have little say or bargaining power, that is down to the nature of the EU. It is a Franco-German show. If we were stumping up cash for others at the moment we’d still have as little say.

The refusal of the ECB/EU to face up to the problems in Spain, Italy, Ireland, Portugal, Greece and lets be bloody honest here, French and German and Austrian banks means that the Euro crisis will continue to escalate.

The main course of Italy, Spain and France’s banks are yet to come.

• While it should be noted Blathín has 0 tweets, 0 following, 0 followers on twitter so maybe a paid political troll, it’s a fair point that the deficit of €25billion is the context in which the conversation should take place. Only ‘in your face’ doorstep protests outside parliments and key tourism spots in the countries like France,Germany, Netherlands, Austria will force those Governments to play with a straight bat as the now zombified Peter Matthews would once say.

• “Current Crisis”, is that what you call it. I call it “A crime against humanity” robbing peoples of their freedom, taxing everything that moves, taking money out of peoples pockets, less food on the table. Some have even tuned to suicide as a way out, four people each day in Ireland taking their own lives (160 per month). Yes, I think is fare to say “We have a humanitarian crisis on our hands in this Country

• “No bargaining power”. maybe Blathin you really are a troll. or worse still, as the poster above me pointed out “a paid political troll”. There are a few of those on here for sure.

• Bargaining power? Finance is part measurables and part perception. The EU need to be PERCEIVED as tackling the problem. Anything that destabilises that perception is a threat. Ergo Ireland’s bargaining power is greater than you would think but has never been utilised by this administration.
      Ps. I use the term administration as a government governs, something totally absent at present.

• Auntie Dotage, the English language is a standard by which people communicate, please try and not murder it and show you were not asleep throughout your schooling. Live in the past, moan like a barstool bore unable to make a contribution to society.

The Iceland myth is much in favour with the barstool financial geniuses. Iceland is in fact baling out its BIG banks and in actual fact it only let a few of the small banks fail. Iceland does not have as much FDI as Ireland or is in a currency union or part of a single market. Its 2% growth is easily achieved from rock bottom. However, keep on believing in that great god called BS. If you were a politician Aaron McKenna would call you “a whiney child”! Then for once I might agree with him!

• Eric_Howe, for a start you ignore the circularity in the economy. A €7bn deficit is not manageable if no one is willing to lend the country money. Your suppositions therefore rely on bankers developing a conscience (fat chance of that happening) and charitably donating money to a country not able to pay it back. Yeah Right!

• I would say that -#voteNo to Austerity- is living in Cloud Cuckooland as evidenced by the lack of public support for angry protesting trolls.

• Slap’stick Ireland, if tax is “a crime against humanity” take a case against the government to the International Criminal Court. I wish you much success and may you stay miles ahead of the men in white coats.

• Mark Salmon, I commend you for making some attempt at a cogent argument. We are small fish in a big sea. If we threaten and manage to destabilise the European economy it will only be only temporary as the financial and industrial might of our neighbours will see them through the crisis with only a few scratches. Our wealth relies on having open access to European markets. If they close their doors we are the big loosers. Either way it is a loose loose situation for us. Therefore time an patience are required. It would be great we had people in the media who could explain these complexities rather than playground name callers.

• You say ‘a vote yes for Austerity’ is a good idea, austerity measures designed to take capital out of our economy, thus stuffing the pockets of faceless Troll Bondholders? ! WoW You are so out of touch, a payed-up political troll. Who is Your paymaster?

• I never said any such thing Slap’stick. Give your self a slap and try and read what has actually been written and not what you imagine you see.

• Blathin, this is what you said,,,, “I would say that -#voteNo to Austerity- is living in Cloud Cuckooland as evidenced by the lack of public support for angry protesting trolls.”

And this was my response to that comment,,, “You say ‘a vote yes for Austerity’ is a good idea, austerity measures designed to take capital out of our economy, thus stuffing the pockets of faceless Troll Bondholders? ! WoW You are so out of touch, a payed-up political troll. Who is Your paymaster?”

Please let us not dance around the issue of ‘the meaning of your comment’. It says what it says.

• It has completely escaped your attention Slap’stick Ireland that —–#voteNo to Austerity—- is the nickname of the person who commented before you did. You use the phrase —You say ‘a vote yes for Austerity’— in single quotation marks which I or nobody else wrote and is therefore the product of your imagination.

To be unable to distinguish between text, quotations and nicknames shows that the appearance of men in white coats are not figments of a half baked wit.

• Well then, haven’t I been A silly bollix .

• Slap’stick Ireland, you said it and not me. Good to see the therapy is taking effect though.

• Damocles 29/09/12 #

We missed it? So some guy on this site isn’t organising a protest as a direct result of this news next Saturday at the Dail?

• Its interesting that you have decided that because three finance ministers made this statement that this is then the reality of what is going to happen. The actually reality is that most of this is still up for discussion and nothing has been ruled in or out. These statements come out all the time from different finance minister and leaders and are generally done for the consumption of their home markets. It’s classic political posturing and ultimately it means as much as people want it to believe.

And perhaps you might explain why you choose to believe their words over the statements from the last European Council. There is no doubt that differences exist between both statements. Interesting that you’ve decided that the latter statement trumps the former one. Could you perhaps give us your reasoning for this?

And finally Aaron how about some alternatives since you clearly don’t approve of the current approach. Or would that be too much to ask for?

Add New Comment