Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 28 September, 2016

#Europe

# europe - Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

# europe - Wednesday 21 September, 2016

Ireland's teenagers may not be as bad as all that

A new European survey shows that Ireland’s 15 and 16-year-olds are smoking and drinking a good deal less than their European counterparts.

Gardaí want today to become a lot like EDWARD...

That’s European Day without a Road Death to you.

# europe - Monday 19 September, 2016

From The42 Ireland crowned U18 Sevens champions of Europe in Romania Winners

Ireland crowned U18 Sevens champions of Europe in Romania

Stan McDowell’s men saw off France in yesterday’s final.

# europe - Wednesday 14 September, 2016

MEPs laugh at Jean-Claude Juncker when he says Europe is fighting tax evasion

Earlier, Fine Gael MEP Brian Hayes said: “Changing the rules, however appalling [they are], is not smart.”

# europe - Monday 5 September, 2016

'Unacceptable and false': French PM slams New York Times article about Muslim women in France

The women who were interviewed spoke of discrimination and “persecution”.

# europe - Thursday 1 September, 2016

What Does Your Favourite Destination Say About You?

We can tell you.

From The42 The 10 biggest moves of the summer transfer window Money Money Money

The 10 biggest moves of the summer transfer window

It’s no surprise that Paul Pogba tops the list.

# europe - Monday 29 August, 2016

Crime lab deliberately targeted in Brussels attack

No motivation or suspects have been identified.

# europe - Sunday 28 August, 2016

Your crash course in... Norwegian Air's Irish problem

Why has this story been stuck at the departure gate for so long?

# europe - Friday 19 August, 2016

From The42 Here's the kick-off times and TV details for your province's Champions Cup fixtures Europe

Here's the kick-off times and TV details for your province's Champions Cup fixtures

Toulouse will be in Galway on the opening weekend.

# europe - Tuesday 16 August, 2016

Islamic State is the biggest threat facing continent, Europeans say

However, many believe that spending more on defence is not the answer.

# europe - Friday 5 August, 2016

Dublin has become one of the world’s most expensive cities but is still ‘good value’

So says property group Savills which puts housing and office expenses in the capital at less than half those for London.

# europe - Thursday 4 August, 2016

Heroin the number one drug for hospital admissions as 'legal high' use grows

A new psychoactive substance has also been shown to be on the rise.

# europe - Friday 29 July, 2016

14 of Europe's most-wanted criminals have been arrested this year

And you could help catch more.

# europe - Tuesday 12 July, 2016

Angela Merkel can't promise there will be special treatment for Ireland after Brexit

But she insists there will be a special friendship between Ireland and Germany.

# europe - Saturday 2 July, 2016

How did Nigel Farage become so powerful?

Farage is the cat that got the cream this week.

# europe - Tuesday 28 June, 2016

"Why are you here?" - An EU chief wasn't impressed with Nigel Farage today

“It’s a pleasure,” replied Nigel Farage.

# europe - Monday 27 June, 2016

David Cameron's six years as prime minister will be solely remembered for this referendum defeat

David Cameron’s stint as prime minister has come to an unedifying end, dogged by the Europe question, writes Neale Richmond.

# europe - Sunday 26 June, 2016

Thanks to Brexit, the fragile peace in Ireland is under threat

Security expert Tom Clonan writes that a referendum on Northern Ireland may lead to sectarian tensions in the six counties.

# europe - Friday 24 June, 2016

From The Daily Edge The responses to this Dorothy Perkins tweet sum up how everyone is feeling today Wrecksit

# europe - Monday 23 May, 2016

Greece passes spending cuts and tax hikes in order to unlock billions in bailout funds

EU Economic Affairs Commissioner Pierre Moscovici hailed the deal.

# europe - Friday 20 May, 2016

Surviving Paris attacker facing prosecutors in Paris today

Abdeslam was tracked down and arrested on March 18 in the Brussels neighbourhood of Molenbeek.

# europe - Thursday 19 May, 2016

Ryanair cancels 74 flights across Europe due to French air traffic control strike Bof

Ryanair cancels 74 flights across Europe due to French air traffic control strike

Just two flights in and out of Ireland with the airline are affected.

# europe - Tuesday 17 May, 2016

Supermac's is launching another bid to sell its food across Europe

The company will be hoping to get the right to sell a full range of its products across the EU.

# europe - Monday 16 May, 2016

He once called the EU an 'evil empire' but Michael O'Leary thinks Brexit would be 'absolutely crazy'

The Ryanair boss also took a pop at Boris Johnson.

# europe - Monday 18 April, 2016

New campaign urges Irish people to vote in Brexit referendum

The campaign comes as a new report warns of the economic damage leaving the EU could cause Britain.

# europe - Saturday 16 April, 2016

The Pope has taken in three refugee families

“The pope has desired to make a gesture of welcome regarding refugees,” the Vatican said.

# europe - Thursday 14 April, 2016

# europe - Sunday 3 April, 2016

Young people will decide the Brexit vote as “leave” jumps ahead in polls

There have been considerable fluctuations in the opinion polls ahead of the 23 June referendum.

# europe - Tuesday 29 March, 2016

Can’t resist the deals at the supermarket? Here’s why we should be buying local

The state can no longer justify paying large subsidies to farmers whose produce goes directly overseas while refusing to support small scale local production, writes Fergal Anderson.

# europe - Saturday 26 March, 2016

‘A victory for Isis would be a Europe crippled by fear and suspicion’

A victory for Isis would see Muslim citizens even further reviled, harassed and ghettoised in European cities, writes Donal O’Keeffe.

# europe - Friday 18 March, 2016

Amnesty calls EU migrant deal ‘flawed, illegal and immoral’

Under the deal, all new irregular migrants arriving in Greece will be sent back to Turkey.

# europe - Sunday 13 March, 2016

# europe - Tuesday 8 March, 2016

Plan for Greece to send back illegal migrants under ‘one-for-one’ deal

The suggestion was made by the Turkish prime minister.

# europe - Monday 7 March, 2016

'Mama Merkel' rules out closing the 'Balkan route' to Syrian refugees

A meeting on in Brussels also saw Turkey trying to strongarm the EU.

# europe - Sunday 6 March, 2016

From The42 Arsene Wenger becomes Europe’s longest-serving manager after Armagh native steps down Resilience

Arsene Wenger becomes Europe’s longest-serving manager after Armagh native steps down

The Arsenal boss has been at the club since September 1996.

# europe - Saturday 27 February, 2016

Ireland shouldn’t have waited to jack up property tax, says Europe

A new report has criticised the government’s decision to delay property tax revaluations.

# europe - Tuesday 23 February, 2016

Mars is recalling a load of chocolate bars and boxes of Celebrations in Ireland

The main recall is happening in Germany and the Netherlands after a piece of plastic was found in a product.

# europe - Saturday 20 February, 2016

From The Daily Edge Everybody noticed this RTÉ reporter getting tongue-tied on the news last night I's To Cross

# europe - Thursday 18 February, 2016

Europe will try to convince Britain to stay in the EU today

The key sticking point is Britain’s demand that EU citizens working in Britain not have access to welfare benefits for four years.

1 2 3 4 5