TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: The horrible consequences of telling men how ‘real’ men behave

As we head into a new college year and young men and women find their feet, Lisa McInerney writes about how far we have yet to go to allow males to be themselves… and not what TV ads tell them to be.

Lisa McInerney

I’M TOLD THAT back in my grandparents’ day – let’s say the 1950s, rural Ireland – a man could not be seen to take interest in the day-to-day care of his children. That he’d be assumed to be weak, should he be seen pushing a pram down the street.

My grandmother marvels at how much attitudes have changed for fathers in the last few decades, at how involved they’re ‘allowed’ to be in their children’s lives. Watching a young father out for a jog recently with his baby in an all-terrain buggy, she practically swooned.

“At the time mine were small,” she confessed, “we’d have called that man a ‘sissy’.”

It’s sad that in times past, fathers missed out on so much of the joy of parenthood in order to keep up appearances in a society that really could have used a bit more male empathy. But that’s all behind us now, eh? Men are not just there as stern disciplinarians, but capable of and encouraged to take up whatever role works best within their family’s structure. No one faints when they see dads at the school gates or out having an ice-cream in the park with their brood.

“A young man turned up wearing a bright pink t-shirt, prompting an elderly guest to declare him ‘cracked’.”

I was recently at a gathering at which there were guests ranging in age from toddlers right up to great-grandparents. One of the guests, a young man, turned up wearing a bright pink t-shirt, prompting one of the elderly guests to declare him ‘cracked’.

“Who is that lad?” she said in the tone of someone who’d found a used tissue in a birthday cake and was trying to extract it with tweezers.

As far as we’ve come with widening the definition of masculinity, we’re not entirely there yet.

One might think it’s an overreaction to bemoan the attitudes of older people on what is or isn’t sartorially acceptable for a fellow, but it all ties in with how we view masculinity and how potentially dangerous it is to confine individuals into some rigid standard of what maketh the man. The truth is that being a man maketh the man, as frustratingly simple as that might seem.

It’s not a love of football, or being unable to concentrate on what a woman says , or being browbeaten by harpies into partaking of spa treatments. Not that commercial advertising is seen as some sort of biological textbook, or anything, but we know that it’s the same shallow process that defines men as loutish, overgrown children and women as shoe-obsessed airheads. And though we accept that men are as entitled to spend time with their children, take up non-traditional careers, or fall in love with other men, it seems to be from the small chinks our prejudices seep.

“Mainstream ad campaigns would have you believe a man in drag is still the funniest damn thing”

A man can be a nurse, but he can’t enjoy a hot stone massage. He can go for a jog with his baby in a buggy, but can he stroll around the shops with the buggy instead, picking himself up a pink T-shirt while he’s at it? And as for men in drag, well. Mainstream advertising campaigns would have you believe that’s still the funniest damn thing in the world.

There was another expected guest at that recent gathering who didn’t turn up. Funny and laddish, he would have been sure to add a spark to proceedings and our host was bitterly disappointed he hadn’t been able to make it.

We later found out that he’d had a breakdown, and not of the vehicular sort.

No one had any idea that it was coming. If he was worried, stressed or fighting depression, he hadn’t been able to express it.

The week before, another local man had taken his own life. In his case, he came from a cultural background where it simply wasn’t done for men to talk through issues that might be upsetting them. Men weren’t supposed to get upset. The victim had experienced major upheaval in his life in the months before his passing, but he hadn’t been able to admit that he was struggling. With no one to help him, it is assumed he just couldn’t do it alone any longer.

Doubtless there’ll be a few reading this now who’ll have similar stories. No matter how far we’ve come with regard to validating the emotional needs and experiences of men, Ireland still has a significant problem with suicide, and it’s still mostly young men who go through with it.

“High-profile campaigns haven’t entirely reduced the stigma of mental health issues”

We might think we’ve figured out why. Men are taught by ‘banter culture’ to be always on the offensive and not to leave themselves open to ridicule. Many gay men are still afraid to come out to their friends and families, many men from traditional (and especially traditional rural) backgrounds still find it difficult to express themselves.

But our figuring this out hasn’t seemed to halt suicide rates. High-profile campaigns haven’t entirely reduced the stigma of mental health issues. The rise of ‘bromance’ – men simply being supportive of their friends – hasn’t encouraged every man to take up the offer of a shoulder to cry on.

Heading into a new college year, in which many young lads will be stepping out onto their own two feet for the first time, it’s as good a time as any to think about how well we’re looking after those who have secured themselves a Y chromosome. Maybe a good way to start is to ask ourselves why we’re still relatively inflexible when it comes to this masculine standard?

Perhaps more young men than ever are aware that it’s now acceptable for them to be individuals, rather than the frontline infantry of life, but perhaps too they’re not quite ready to believe it. Mental health campaigns can raise awareness, but it’s up to us to implement that awareness.

For every step forward we make in recognising that men’s emotional needs are as valid as women’s, there’s a stupid ad campaign or TV comedy telling our lads that heteronormative jackassery is the only way ‘real’ men behave.

Read previous columns on TheJournal.ie by Lisa McInerney >

For information or support on mental health and suicide, contact the following organisations:

• Samaritans 1850 60 90 900 or email jo@samaritans.org
  • Teen-Line Ireland 1800 833 634
  • Console 1800 201 890
  • Aware 1890 303 302
  • Pieta House 01 601 0000 or email mary@pieta.ie

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• My father was born in 1916 in North Co Dublin. He was a subsistance farmer on a small holding and worked 10/12 hours a day. I have several superb photos of him with me and my elder brother where he is holding us or walking with us holding hands. He was a real man, an outstanding Father and never afraid to show his love or affection.

• Really great article , most of those ads infuriate my husband. It droves us both mad that most ads show men in a beer swelling, footie watching idiots( not that there’s anything wrong with drinking beer and watching footie) who are completely unable to take care of themselves . Women on the other hand are either self obsessed high maintenance bossy cows or domestic goddesses.
    On the subject of Fatherhood, during my pregnancy my dad,60,turned to my hubby and said your so lucky. You can be so much more involved than I was. It’s ok for your generation to push the buggy. My dad had five kids and although he was affectionate and loving , he never felt “right” doing things like nappy changes , pushing the buggy etc. as he put it he’d get nothing but stick from the lads.

• Great article. My father was one of those old brigade and changed his first nappy at the age of 68. It was my sister’s second baby – a boy – he could not countenance changing the first baby’s nappy because she was a girl. THAT’s how messed up that generation was. My own generation (men *slightly* over 50!) could do with copping on a bit. Thankfully my son’s generation (30+) are a much more enlightened crew. Not all of them, mind, but things are better than they were when I was younger.

• I blame the laziness of our physical education syllabus at our schools. What P.E should be teaching is what it says on the tin; knowledge about how to take care of our bodies.You know, teach lad why it’s a good thing to do squate, push ups, etc.Knowledge about how the body works, muscle groupings, what the right diet is, nutrition, etc.Instead, in my personal experience, all we got was a fat middle aged culchie who’d throw a football at us and say ‘go play football’.In a hall, with concrete floors.And he’d then sit on his arse for the next two hours.

Schools in Ireland still think that if a young lad isn’t into teramsports, then ye might as well forget about him.
    No wonder said young fellas would often get dismayed and instead would start sitting in their bedroom, listeningh to Nirvana and the Smiths.Great bands by the way, not slighting either at all. My point is, P.E should be expanded to include other forms of physical activity, be it judo, yoga, or just a basic regimen that ensures growing bodies are kept in shape.

Even at that rate, I know there’ll still be young ladfs not into any of that, but some sort of curriculum that has the option (not; not obligatory) of being a leaving cert subject will undoubtedly include more young fellas in the circle of the overall healthy and confident .

• Bahahaha! Well written! Love the: “Who is that lad?” she said in the tone of someone who’d found a used tissue in a birthday cake and was trying to extract it with tweezers.

• Very well written. Very insightful. No evidence of a man-hater as alluded to in a message that was posted. The point is simply we are sold two-dimentional cardboard cutouts of what it is to be a man. ? love hurling, ? hate shopping and ? have the dress sense of a colour-blind mountain goat, but lo and behold ?’m gay. ?’m out and very open, loads of lads like me that ? know feel compelled to stay in the closset. We see characters like Rory in Mrs Browne’s boys mince and simper across our telly screens and hear our family and friends roar in laughter at this. Why is such a character so funny. What does that say about our definition of masculinity. Why am ? not laughed at when ? on the field hammering the sliotar, but the moment ? make clear where ? stand on sexual orientation, ? have to brace myself for ridicule (but shur it’s only the craic). This craic has sent many a lad over the railing of a bridge. Being a man maketh the man. How true. Thank you for such an amazing article.

• soz, used wrong keyboard

? is capital i

• Fair play to you Ian. I agree totally. Being a gay man I have no problem being a man according to my own definitions and to hell with stereotypes and macho bullshit.

• I’m not saying it is right or anything, but he is a character most likely based on someone one of the script writers know. And there are a decent amount of gay men that are really camp and flamboyant. The problem is when the viewers assume that ALL gay people are like that.

In a comedy especially you need to be able to identify character by something that makes them different from the others. In rory’s case it is that he is a camp gay man. He wouldn’t be funny if they focused on the fact he is a mans man, that he loves to play hurling or anything like that. It is the effeminate nature of him that makes viewers laugh. I don’t see why this offends people.

Like Jack in Father Ted. He is a senile, alcoholic, sexist, mentally disturbed old man. You could assume all of these groups act like Jack in each way. But most people don’t because it would be stupid to think that.

The real challenge for LGBT community is to have characters in mainstream shows and movies where the focus isn’t on a gay character but it is on a character who happens to be gay. Like I don’t think I will ever see a Batman movie where Bruce Wayne is gay, even though in some versions of the earlier comics there were several hints at this.

• Dave 29/08/12 #

Chris, you were amazing in The Pursuit Of Happyness.

• Is the Carlsberg ad in question not more offensive to women?

The undertone I got was ‘look at all these crazy quasi-torturous spa rituals these crazy insecure and self obsessed women will put themselves through’

I guess they don’t expect such in depth and contentious analysis from their demographic of drooling loutish men…

• Excellent article…

• Totally agree, it’s very easy for guys to get typecast into out dated traditional stereotypical roles. I’m a male childcare worker of 20 year and have seen an increase of men looking a childcare as a career option. This year we at Men in Childcare Network Ireland running a pilot project in Kilkenny. It’s a FETAC childcare course targeting men looking to work in childcare. Men have a lot to bring to childcare and children need positive male role models to help them understand and see manliness can include caring. More info on the course at menicirl@gmail.com or http://www.facebook.com/meninchildcare

• Male role models are particularly lacking in Education and it is a problem. Most teachers are traditionally women.

• That ad still is very lame, that guy can’t even hold that gaming pad properly and pushes that button like a complete noob, also who in these days still plays on Psx (Playstation 1)? Sorry I know little relation to the article, but had to say :)

• An article full of codswallop and all the biases of a man hater unleashed and unbridled. “Humanity has advanced, when it has advanced, not because it has been sober, responsible and cautious, but because it has been playful, rebellious, and immature.” – Tom Robbins

• Your highness, I think you’re projecting a wee bit there. The author doesn’t say you can’t be masculine but that there needs to be a wider definition of masculine.

• It may have escaped your attention that the author uses the mental health issue as a device to disguise her prejudices which she indulges in with gusto as we can observe from the use of such phrases like “heteronormative jackassery, Men are taught by ‘banter culture’, who have secured themselves a Y chromosome, Infantry” (meaning belligerent). “Funny and laddish, he would have been, a love of football, or being unable to concentrate on what a woman says, he’d had a breakdown, and not of the vehicular sort, he can’t enjoy a hot stone massage” (I bloody well can)

I wonder how I can secure for myself a Y chromosome or how anyone else can choose one for themselves. It is no wonder that men are unwilling “to concentrate on what a woman says” when she is continually talking gibberish.

The really disgusting part is that it contributes no one positive iota to the mental health debate. If similar nonsense was written about women there would be an outcry and justifiably so. Wake up and smell the coffee Ciaran.

• Agree with Charles, more twaffle from Ms McInerney.

• medred 27/08/12 #

Another article from this two-bit journalist
      I get it you hate intolerance and masculine men… do you not get the hypocrisy

• Bromancing the stone!

• What a ludicrous suggestion, just the sort of comment that lends credence to the equally ludicrous notion that women are airheads… Except it’s true in this case. Sounds like you have issues you really need to work out with a therapist…

• I was listening to a medical slot on Newstalk this morning about prostate cancer. The guest said a couple of times that “men find it hard talking about this stuff”. I don’t but I’ve wondered if the reason I’ve questioned myself being able to talk about medical and/or emotional stuff is because I hear that kind of thing from men and women, professional and lay, all the time. I’m some how supposed to feel uncomfortable and I don’t feel that way: am I some how not quite a full man? It’s bullshit and we should change the language to change the culture. If we stop telling each other that everyone feels that way maybe we could stop feeling weird about feeling another way.

My own girlfriend assured a woman who was about to talk relationships but went to stop when she remembered I was there said; “It’s okay, he has quite a girly way of thinking about these things” apparently as meant in a complimentary way and meaning I won’t just tell her to suck it up, get locked and find some one to ride for the night…

• ECP 27/08/12 #

Ciaran McAoidh, you make a really really good point! Fair play for that, I had never recognised that before, its a nuance but is the crux of the new problem – telling men that most ‘men’ feel its not ‘manly’ to talk about their feelings. I agree that it is in the language.

• Enough with individualism it’s just turning everybody, man and woman into props for selling us tat we don’t need. Here’s to banding together and helping each other, like human beings have don’t and should continue to do. Individualism is just another way of getting us to hate one another.

• Excellent article. So much to it and the issues here. One of the most painful type of adds for me are the drink adds especially during internationals. It basically portrays men drinking and glaring like lobotomised zombies at a tv screen. All glaring like idiots while some fool hands them a pint in extra slow motion. Oh for F**k sake give us a break. the pubs are empty now and the robotised sports fans are a dying breed. Hopefully.

• “Not good, illegal and is just sick on so many levels.” Wrong all all three counts, sir. It’s good if you and your bro are attracted to each other; it is NOT illegal and has not been since 1993; the “sick on so many levels” just betrays prejudice and, ironically, prejudice is “Not good, illegal and is just sick on so many levels.”

• Great article. Thanks!

• @Chris I know where you are coming from but in fairness I think he was referring to brother as in the actual family relation. I’m assuming it was a bit of “humour” but he was right it is actually illegal to sleep with your brother :)

• Good Article.. anyone else see the irony in it being written by a woman ? :-)

• I agree. Women are more sensitive to many issues but men should be writing stuff like this. You’ll never break down gender bias in Ireland. Its too bound up with the Gaa and the Catholic Church. Young men living here will look to the usual macho role models in soprt and the media and any other guys who challenge those roles will be viewed as deviant.

• As a feminist, I would still absolutely love to see more articles by men about what masculinity means in this day and age. It’s an interesting discussion and one which should be led by men (as I know absolutely nothing about the experience of being a man!)

• I’m clearly just a little over 21 (lol!) fortunate enough to have had a Grandfather and Father who were loving, involved, could laugh & cry – wonderful as roles models to younger men in our family.

Ditto my uncles, think it’s not an issue of generation but of upbringing – bring a child up with love, respect and that gives them the confidence to live that way and so it continues through the generations.

It’s summed up by the poem which should come as ‘the instructions’ with every baby ……

Children Learn What They Live

If a child lives with criticism
    he learns to condemn.

If a child lives with hostility
    he learns to fight.

If a child lives with ridicule
    he learns to be shy.

If a child lives with shame
    he learns to feel guilty.

If a child lives with tolerance
    he learns to be patient.

if a child lives with encouragement
    he learns confidence.

If a child lives with praise
    he learns to appreciate.

If a child lives with fairness
    he learns justice.

If a child lives with security
    he learns to have faith.

If a child lives with approval
    he learns to like himself.

If a child lives with acceptance
    and friendship he learns to
    find love in the world.

#Realmenhavealwayslovedlaughedandcried

• Ábhar machnaimh !! ~ Great wee article Lisa…reminds us we’re always on a journey of development and that journey is endless but we’re on the right track when checked and such observations are made !!

• @king olaf
    I truly wasn’t offended. I just wanted to make the point that we, as an evolving society, should become more aware of the stereotypes being forced upon us. Lisa’s wonderful article has lifted a few stones in the mirey pond of masculine identity and I have enjoyed discussing openly these issues. Coming from a very poor background and a generation where you had the shite kicked out of you for any difference at all, I look at the evolution in Irish society with joy and pride, but I will push for more in my own modest way as long as I draw breath. You wrote nothing offensive. Just points that were worthy of closer scrutiny.

• Glad I didn’t cause any offence. I agree an awful lot of stereotypes are thrown upon us every day for both men and women. Things would be a lot better if people could live as they wanted without fear of being singled out because of it. I generally haven’t liked many of Lisa’s articles but I think this time she is spot on and has written something that will perhaps make people think harder about gender based identity. I agree with you that masculine identity does need to be discussed more openly, even if it just so someone we see we don’t all have to live up to the stereotypes.

I am glad society has improved a good deal for you, and I too hope that it only continues. On a side note, its nice to have a well reasoned and calm discussion with someone on the journal!

• @ Chris – I think Kendo might have been talking about having sex with an actual brother. Not just a bloke you are really good friends with. I don’t know about the legality of it, but having sex with a sibling is pretty sick and definitely not a good thing!

• Very true. But I’d be kinda surprised if the term “bro” was so literally interpreted. Suffice to say that I don’t support incest!

• Kendo don’t let a term dictate your behaviour. No matter what word they use just use your own intelligence.

• Men try to make men feel inadequate out of jealousy. Bullying is one if the lowest forms of life only eclipsed by peadafilia & sexual assaults.

• @king olaf. “a decent amount”… is this a measured statistic or possibly a misconception supported for so many years by such characters in theatre, film and television?

Whether we laugh at alcholics or uber-camp gays, humour allows us to approach subjects that we feel socially uncomfortable with. The humour in Carry On films based on the tongue and cheek attitudes to sex can seem stale and not humorous to people today. Why? Because there is a greater sexual freedom now. Society has moved on. Yet here we are in a country where drink has devasted families and still destroys lives, laughing at a drunk, sexist priest. Or, likewise, we live in a country where young people find coming-out so hard, that the option of suicide sometimes seems the best move.

it would be nice if we as a culture had moved on, but we haven’t. i am not telling people not to laugh. Far be it for me. ? am just pointing out that laughing at a character like Rory bespeaks a layer of discomfort with the very existence of such people in society that lies deeper that the okay-to-gay chant so often heard nowadays. ?f we are laughing at Rory and making comments about “a decent amount of gays” being uber-camp as if it were a given, then somewhere, possibly not so deep down, it’s not ok to be gay. Humour cuts through many layers and allows us glimses of what’s really going on.

• @ Ian – Apologies if I have offended you with my choice in words, it wasn’t my intention. I have no source or statistics confirming that there are a decent amount of camp gay men. I am only going on my own experience and yes, what I see in the media.

I think what you really are going to be getting into is the demographics a tv show is designed for. In a generation or so (hopefully) where being gay doesn’t define a person in the eyes of the general public, yeah, a show like Mrs.Brown just won’t be funny if it singles out a character like Rory. You just have to take into account that TV evolves with its viewers.

I am from a generation where being openly gay wouldn’t mean you got the shite kicked out of you in school, but you certainly wouldn’t ever come out and people would avoid mixing with you if they discovered you were. Where as people born a few years later than me could go through secondary school with relative ease about being gay. So Ireland is moving on at some pace, but I get why it can’t happen soon enough. Granted I can only speak for where I grew up and went to school.

I completely understand your point about suicidal LGBT young people and how negative images can influence them. I however think, that hiding stuff like that can be worse in the long run. There are always going to be people with a problem over someone being gay. I really think that having more positive role models in movies, books, and tv shows the suicide situation can be improved. Sorry for using these words, but nothing describes it better, they need to see more normal and average people in the media, who just happen to be gay . Not that they are in the media because they are gay.

• @chris Dunphy,

Maybe he is talking aout the idea of sex with your brother, as in incest like. I didn’t notice anything homophobic about Kendos comment.

• to put it simply, women are free and praised for taking on male type roles and can do it, for a man to be a home husband is humiliation an lack of respect from men and women, women mostly… women tend to be the biggest whiners and hypocrites on this.

• wrong keyboard!!! soz

? = capital i

Add New Comment