TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: Yes, the media should report bad news, but cynicism mustn’t blind us

Of course journalists must hold politicians to account, writes Seamus Conboy – but Ireland needs confidence too.

Séamus Conboy

WHEN THINGS TURNED sour for the economy and for our last two Taoisigh, Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen, they repeatedly criticised their political opponents and the media for their negativity, for ‘talking down the economy’.

At that time, the hole in our public finances was expanding rapidly, and we were months away from the disastrous blanket bank guarantee. Public confidence in our politicians and international confidence in Ireland were in free-fall.

The tide was on its way out. No amount of talk was going to turn it back. But the point they made was a fair one. How could the public, international investors and the markets have confidence in us, in our capacity to get through recession and recover, if we didn’t have that confidence in ourselves?

Five tough years later that tide has turned. There are tentative signs of recovery. Unemployment rates remain unbearably high, but have stabilised. Jobs are being created. Our international reputation has been restored. The deficit is being reduced. We can look forward to wresting control of our national purse-strings back from the Troika in the next year.

And this brings the notion of ‘talking down the economy’ back into focus.

Survival mode

The response to recession for many was to batten down the hatches – individuals cut out unnecessary spending, companies let go of staff, many small businesses were forced to close their doors. As a nation we went into survival mode.

Consumer confidence plummeted when crisis hit in 2008, and while attitudes have improved recently, it remains low. People’s attitudes often trail behind recovery; they remain gloomy long after the first green shoots of recovery appear. And domestic demand suffers.

Similarly, unemployment usually lags behind recovery. After recession, businesses will be slow to hire new staff until they are confident about the prospect of recovery. Budding entrepreneurs might be reluctant to take the risk and set up a business. And unemployment rates remain stubbornly high.

Getting the economy out of this survival mode takes time, and it takes confidence. If we want to rebuild this confidence, we need to think positively.

Gombeenism

The decades of corruption, gombeenism and ‘golden circles’ that led us to the brink of collapse have left us cynical. And rightly so. We now have a heightened critical capacity, something which might help prevent a repeat of recent mistakes. But we need to be open to thinking positively, to recognising and embracing good news when we hear it.

The politics of opposition is cynical in nature. Politics itself is to blame, and all parties are complicit. Praising the Government for its successes won’t win an opposition party many votes. So it is only logical to nit-pick, to find holes, to focus on the negative. These days, the default reaction to good news is ‘the devil will be in the detail’. One opposition staffer described their budget week as ‘throwing as much sh*te as we can, and seeing what sticks’. It’s not pleasant, but it’s politics.

Although the current Government has the largest majority ever seen in Dáil Éireann, opposition parties were supported by 700,000 people at the last General Election. 700,000 people listened to them, trusted them with their vote. Many of these will still listen to them, and still trust them.

And they will continue to hear the failings and the criticism far louder than they will hear the successes and the whispered praise.

The media has a part to play. The media is not and should not be beholden to politicians; it has a duty to hold decision-makers to account. But it also has a duty to tell the good news story, and not over-emphasise the negative. Unfortunately, for many media outlets bad news sells more papers.

Drowned out

People have become so accustomed to bad news in recent years that good news is often lost in the noise. We have become cynical; we expect the worst of our politicians, expect their decisions to be the wrong ones. And some media outlets will play on this.

But if we let the good news be drowned out by the bad, we will stunt our recovery. Recovery won’t happen overnight. and it might be delayed if we allow a negative narrative to smother our confidence.

This difficult period in our history is not behind us yet, but we are getting there. There is hope. We need this hope, we need to be confident, if we want to get back on our feet. We can share this confidence or we can continue to pile on the despair. Whichever we choose, it will have a knock on effect on our economy, and on our entire society.

So before you sit down to write your weekly column, or give a media interview, draft a leaflet to send to thousands of constituents, or even sit down in front of the Tweet-machine, think carefully about the consequences of what you say. Challenge, critically analyse, but don’t be blinded by cynicism. The stakes are too high.

Séamus Conboy is Parliamentary Assistant to Michael Conaghan TD. He tweets @SeamusConboy.

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• Got to admire your optimism Séamus but do you not realise the amount of debt we’re expected to pay back. Just how long do you think that will take? Because at this rate all of us reading your article will be long dead by then. The only positive news I’d get excited about is if they told the bondholders to f*ck off, not news about some crappy concessions gifted to us by our EU masters for being a “special case”. Do you honestly think we can take budgets like this for the rest of our lives, watch our country’s assets and resources getting stripped away and still be optimistic about our future?

• What a pile of shite Seamus. Unemployment has not stabilised people are still emigrating. Confidence in politicians? You must be joking we can see the carry on in Leinster house and the spin from both the government parties and the opposition. For confidence to reappear the people need to have trust in those who claim to lead them. Don’t blame the media for the failure of the Irish political class. Another case of shooting the messenger – typical of the political class in this country.

• Talk about such a misleading article if i didnt know better you would think enda wrote this himself ,public confidence in our political class is still in free fall corruption is rampant in political and judicial circles ,Ireland is a closed shop except for the insiders ,and Seamus you talk about the media giving them a hard time they are in bed with them ,i contacted all the newspapers in the country about a massive corruption case involving solicitors and banks none of them wanted to know, this is not a democracy we are run by the banks and the judges are there foot solders.

• Have to agree with you there Kerry, while the press do focus more on the bad there has been an awful lot of bad news from the government and to be straight with this, sweet f-a good news from the government. Not an ounce of standing up for their citizens in Europe and loads of pandering to them instead. If they did that Seamus then that is some good news I’d only love to hear.

Am I cynical I don’t think I am, what I am is a realist.

• If politicians told the truth,instead of “spin” what everyone else calls lies.I think people would be less cynical.

• tom 18/01/13 #

Respect and convenience is earned and facts speak for themselves.
    Is it not bad enough RTE does the government bidding. Without seeking the rest of the media jumps on the spin waggon.

• At the start of the downturn In response to criticism of Bertie Ahern by the Irish Mail, Eoghan Harris wrote ‘how dare an English newspaper try to bring down an Irish politician’

• Julie 18/01/13 #

What !!!!

1: when you force people into suffering and hardship and they are seeing no improvements only more tax and less money in their pockets then what else can they be , we do rem the budget only a few weeks ago.

2: to say that the opposition is just Nit picking is just total complete and utter madness Pearse d ,he is giving us some interesting truthful facts that he can back up with proof, all we hear from gov is waffle and the best way to avoid a question !

3: the media do not give us the full story, we have had to turn to social media as a way to get the truth,no coverage on two old people dying of cold ,too busy worrying about horse burgers than the unnecessary loss of human life. #boycott media

I will be happy and stop being negative when everyone has enough food to fee their kids, we are not paying 42% of eu debt, bankers and crooked politicians are in jail or at least not getting their big wages , when Enda starts representing the people of Ireland instead of kissing eu ass, when his salary is significantly lower than barracks , we stop paying un-guaranteed bondholders, making sly payments on promissory note and lying to the citizens, adding taxes on everything.

I see NO turn around in the economy, people still left with no money , we are fighting each other instead people at top, no jobs, no money, suicide on rise, emigration, 1 in 4 can’t pay mortgage, homelessness on increase so I will be negative when there really is nothing to be positive about

• Hear hear!

• Well said Julie!

• Well said

• Only when talk of additional taxes stops (property tax, water charges..), a reduction in current taxes, respect for those people who go to work everyday and keep our economy going and when the blatent lies stop, will confidence come back. Until then unemployment will remain high, and recession continues. On a side note, these subtle positive reports conveniently coincide with our eu presidency, and the fact that the government don’t want any reason to be pushed out before their pensions take effect in march. Which is another reason why the property tax comes into play in the second half of this year. They play the system well, but it’s same as every government, and I don’t think we can be fool any longer.

• Remember Bertie O’Slimey told us not to be so gloomy?

http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2007/0704/economy.html

“Taoiseach Bertie Ahern has apologised for comments he made in a speech this morning in which he suggested that he did not know how people who engaged in moaning about the economy did not commit suicide”

• Confidence comes with truth not spin. Spun truth is false confidence. Cynicism is called upon when the reality has been sculpted. This cynicism tips the balance back towards reality. I’d rather know the truth and work through the problems than live in a bubble of spin and PR.

• Cynicism is promoted by certain parties in the Dail. When you see The minister for education handing a huge job to Mrs Gilmore(I forgot her maiden name which she uses from time to time) without anybody else being interviewed, it makes people very cynical.

• Scarr 18/01/13 #

Hope? Confidence? We need change. Change in politics, in society. Where a person who works hard for a living is significantly better off than someone who doesn’t bother. Where people can have a decent living wage. Where we’re not taxed out of existence or at least get something tangible for our scandanavian levels of tax. We still have the home owner tax, water tax and 2 more austerity budgets! Thousands are still in negative equity or arrears and can’t get on with their lives. But sure there’s some green shoots, right?

• We cannot just talk of creating “jobs” without being clear that there are jobs that create value and resources and other paid activity that consumes resources that are cost that should be reduced.

• Constant negative thoughts do effect mental health.

• All thoughts are negative Tom……even the positive ones! All thoughts are “ego thoughts” When sitting alone we should have “no thoughts”.

Google “A course in miracles”, a real mind opener.

• How about journalists holding journalists to account?

Most of the journalists in this Country are fear mongers……………………..

• A realist is a cynic to a romantic.

• Please stop peddling this nonsense of “gree-shoots” that every corporate media outlet have been eager to do since the start of the year.

An economy is made up of material things. Wishing it back into life is a fantasy.

All the data indicates that recessions since WW2 have been progressively deeper and recoveries weaker. Added to that, the last few booms were built on certain bubbles like construction or the so called .com boom

With the debt from the last boom being insurmountable and no prospects of a new boom in the production of any material thing such as property, the only alternative is a radical restructuring of society.

• Government must be held accountable .No accountability no confidence.Cynicism stems from continuous lies .

• Started reading this. Got as far as “tentative signs of recovery” and realised it was a soft soap spin penned by a low level bullshitter suckling in the public teat. Stopped

• When it comes to cynicism there are few who do it better than the leaders of Labour.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2013/0109/1224328598604.html

• Richard 18/01/13 #

The message of this article should not be lightly discarded; it should be doused in petrol and burnt. The real corrosive cynicism comes from people who seek to dampen political criticism by appealing to the effect of what ‘the markets’ might think, and who seek to present ‘politics’ as something only a cadre of experts can get involved in.

Who, then, is this ‘we’ that the article wants to get back on its feet? Economist Michael Burke recently showed in a Politico article that profits for non-financial firms are close to their 2007 peak. The financial sector has had tens of billions in public money funnelled into it, and Bank of Ireland has just hired the head of banking at the Department of Finance. There are plenty of people who were never off their feet in the first place. What of the rest? The social effects of the bank bailout, of the prioritisation of the health of the financial sector over the health of the population, are proving disastrous. The government is pursuing a macroeconomic policy that seeks to drive wages downward, strips away what threadbare welfare provision Ireland has, and subjects people who depend on benefits to a regime of harassment and suspicion, and people in work to work longer and put up with more for less, for fear of losing their jobs. It writes finance policy in lock step with the same financial institutions that caused the economic crisis. Meanwhile, the mainstream media –which is right-wing in its entirety- supports the broad thrust of government policy: austerity, the transfer of wealth from the poor to the rich. And contrary to the suggestions made in this article, the IMF predicts that Ireland will spend far less on public services than even the US by 2017. The country is being remade into a starkly miserable place to live for the exploited majority, and a luxurious haven for financiers and privateers.

But here’s the thing: if you believe in a democratic society based on a decent life for all, you are not being ‘negative’ or ‘cynical’ if you point any of this out. If you talk about what the true effects of austerity are, and you resist the constant demands to look on the bright side and leave everything to the politicians and say nothing in case the markets are listening, you are taking a positive step toward a more decent society. Conflict is an essential element of democracy; it just so happens that democracy is something the markets –and politicians who claim to represent people while pursuing policies that destroy their living standards and hopes for the future- can do without.

• The truth is the truth. Is the Govt is doing a lousy job then we all have the right to say so. It’s hard not to talk down an economy that treats its Citizens with such contempt.

• give the people something to be confident about like jobs and security in things like there homes and for the love of jesus stop talking up things like the eu presidency that the majority of people bar the so called patriots and true political believers don’t give a shit about and maybe politicians wont be getting some much negativity. Also when you here weasel ministers admit on tv that they lie and say what the people wanna hear to get in power what do ya think the response of the people is gonna be “oh sound sure thats no problem we will just continue to take austerity till were finished completely off”.

• Naive article. Hilarious to say that unemployment has stablilised. Unemployment is fast becoming a way of life for many

• Sounds like a press release all the way from Leinster House. Even Joseph Goebbels would have been happy with that one. Thats not to say that I don’t completely agree, but its a nation of nay sayers and chances are that FG will not get re- elected next time around regardless of progress. Did I hear that FF are back up in the polls?- tells you all you need to know about the Irish constituent.

• CYNICISM BECOMES THE LANGUAGE OF FRUSTRATED TRUTH SAYERS WHEN HONESTY AND INTEGRITY LACK , CYNICICISM WAS A GREAT TOOL ENJOYED BY ALL THE IRISH GREATS TO GREAT AFFECT , WILDE , BEHAN AND DAVE ALLEN TO NAME BUT A FEW . LETS NOT STERILISE OUR WIT TO BECOME SOME MID ATLANTIC TWITS , JUST SAYING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpvxG7S0rbs AN IRISH TRUTH SAYER http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6REtMC4Rks

• Seamus just tell the truth and stay loyal to that !! Good piece well done .

Add New Comment