TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

In full: James Reilly’s letter to Róisín Shortall about Primary Care centres

The letter was released last night and details Reilly’s explanation for expanding the lost of 20 sites for proposed primary care centres to 35, an issue which has in part led to Shortall’s resignation.

Image: Photocall Ireland

A LETTER FROM James Reilly to Róisín Shortall, who resigned as junior minister last night, outlines the Health Minister’s reasons for expanding the list of sites for primary care centres.

TheJournal.ie has obtained a copy of the letter in which Reilly details his reasons to expanding the list of 20 sites for proposed primary care centres to 35.

The letter, which emerged last night, contradicts Shortall’s previous claims that she was left in the dark about the decision to add to the list of sites including two areas in Reilly’s constituency which led to accusations of ‘stroke politics’.

Shortall resigned as Minister of State for Primary Care last night with the dispute over primary care centres proving to be the final straw in already tense relationship with the senior minister in the Department of Health.

The letter outlines Reilly’s reasoning for expanding the list of 20 sites to 35 with the Minister writing: “You presented only 20 projects for funding under the PPP initiative. If I approved your position there was a high probability that many GPs would simply decline to participate and would in effect not be able to secure the minimum 20 proposals we regard as essential to meet the requirements of the Programme for Government.”

Reilly says that following detailed analysis and discussion with the Secretary General of the Department of Health, senior officials at the HSE and Cabinet colleagues who shared his concerns, he came to the decision.

On discussions with Cabinet colleagues, he said: “A very strong consensus emerged at Government level that identifying 35 locations would stimulate and encourage wider interest and participation in PPPs in this our first tranche of developments.

“In addition it was felt that the opportunity to ensure that Primary Care centres are major active 24/7 365 care and treatment centre should not be jeopardised by local conflicts of interest, the likelihood some GPs might decline to participate or be in a position to dictate the financial terms of participation and working in new Primary Care Centres.”

In finishing the letter, he writes: “I am also pleased to have your full support as we progress to implementation” and concludes: “I trust this brings the clarity and finality to these matters.”

Read the letter in full:

Read: James Reilly on Shortall’s departure: ‘Pressure’s only for tyres’

Read: James Reilly: I wasn’t told in advance about Roisin Shortall’s resignation

Read: Róisín Shortall resigns as Primary Care Minister

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• The letter doesn’t explain or what criteria Reilly used to decide that 2 primary care centre’s end up in his backyard. Which from my understanding is what Shortall was complaining about.

• Sorry, meant to click thumbs up for this comment and hit the other key instead!

I agree with you, Kerry. I can understand Reilly’s reluctance to proceed with a shortlist of 20 when the total number needed was 20 – leaves no room for manoeuvre. But that suggests to me that there was a lack of communication between the two ministers during the process leading to the shortlist. Not sure who might have been the more responsible for that, but as the senior minister, the buck stops with Reilly. . .

I also noticed that the letter isn’t dated properly, but that’s a pedantic quibble!

• Primary Care centre locations should not be dictated by persons with a conflict of interests and vested interests. He really did side step that issue didn’t he.

• He is a politican … They are incapable of answering any direct questions

• Why do I get the feeling that someone is being deceitful?

• The weighting and selection process as to why two sites in the ministers own constituency which were assessed and not in the initial top 35 were bumped up the list are not explained in this letter. His credibility is gone.

• The list of 20 follow a criteria. , he added more in his constituency not following the criteria , this letter avoids the issue about his stroke politics , the additional centres in his constituency wouldn’t have been in the 35 following the agreed criteria, shortfall has principles, something he is sorely lacking

• The Minister needs to explain two items:
    1. Why he didn’t ask for 35 locations in the first place ?
    2. Why different criteria were use to select the additional 15 ?

Using an updated / revised set of criteria calls into question the validity of the first 20 to remain on the list.

• Dear Dr Reilly,

Is there any chance you could go back to being a GP. Thanks, there’s a good man now, time to move along now.

• it would appear the minister is being backed by all and sundry and being the right hand of the man himself,the taoiseach ,
    is the minister ever wrong ?
    this minister has a lot of baggage and it would help if he came clean with some of it at least, especially when he is driving down to his country estate
    God save Ireland as he does not want to ….

• Emmet 27/09/12 #

Not to be cynical but should that communication not be on official headed paper?? I know it’s a copy etc. but if you release the communication would you not want it to look credible?? Also why was there not a standby list for the additional sites?
    I know of a few locations where planning has already been granted for primary care centres plus local authorities would only welcome all the charges they would receive from such developments

• http://www.fingal-independent.ie/news/population-statistics-2825988.html
    Fingal constitutes 6% of the national population.
    Seems reasonable for north Co Dublin to have at least 2 primary care centres.

• I duuno, in the private sector anyone who is constantly called to explain themselves whenever they do something is usually regarded as inept and shown the door.

• That’s tripe it doesn’t prove anything … Where’s the date where’s the headed paper and excuse my ignorance wasn’t it all about Reilly placing 2 in his back yard . Did ms shortall actually get this letter ?? Or was it typed up this morning .. Dr Reillys attitude last nite saying pressure Is only for tyres answers it all …

• She spoke against the power and got shafted as a result, those friends of her took one step back…..

• Al 27/09/12 #

they write to each other in letter, this government is 18th century good!

• The chairman of the property development company chosen to build one of the primary care centres in James Rilley constituency has donated to FG party, this development company A J Noonan donated €1000 to FG minister Lucinda Creighton . Hello!!!

• Has anyone seen the full list of 15 and not just the ones located in Reilly’s constituency?

I’d be interested in seeing whether they are in other constituencies where it could benefit the government electorally. For example, there’s no electoral point in giving pork to anywhere in Donegal or Cork North Central (no seats to be gained or lost), but money going into Waterford or Cork South-West could be money well spent electorally.

• that letter does not look like an official Dail letter to me ,just looks like someone typed it up on a sheet of paper ,there’s not even a signature on it ….James Reilly should of been the one who resigned …he comes across as a bully and he is a useless minister for health ,why did Eamonn Gilmore not grow a backbone and support Roishin Shortall ?why did two primary care centres which where not even remotely near the top of the list end up being in the minister for health’s constituency?these questions have to be answered as it was on this basis ms Shortall quit ….and i dont think she will be the last ,the house of cards is tumbling down ……shame on the Labour party ,shame on Eamonn Gilmore ,and fair play to Roshin Shortall for having the courage of her convictions.

• It seems a reasonable and balanced statement when judged as a single communication. Raises the question as to why ms shortall listed only 20 places or maybe she was not so restrictive.

• i don’t think she had a problem with him adding to the list , its the fact that he added not 1 but 2 from his own constituency that was the problem, one of the 2 was 143rd (i think ) in priority on the list, he could of avoided any confrontation and talk of ‘parish pump politics’ had he just added the extra ones in order of priority from the list , Reilly , like his cohort Hogan, is nothing short of a self interested bully boy, if he is so concerned about G.P.’s signing up to this list then let him resign and return to his post as a G.P. then he can lead by example and be the first to sign up, or would that mean a drop in his bank balance?

• When the going gets tough .. the though get going , going …. gone.
    We need these well paid TD’s to stay in their elected positions and sort out their issues for the good of the country.
    Penrose was the last one to take a jump when he didn’t like what was happening.
    Stay in the job, put up your reasonable arguments and you should be able to get things done.
    When your found out, put your hand up and say fair enough. I know it will never happen but if Carlsberg ran the country……

• When the massive waste plant starts poisoning the people of north co Dublin they will need more than a couple of health centres.

• This is a non-story. If he was putting the 2 centres in a rural constituency where he was TD, there might be something o it. The greater Dublin area holds 60% of our population so it’s reasonable to expect 2 of the 35 locations to be in north Dublin. Was he supposed to “punish” his own constituency to prove how impartial he is?

• No but he could have followed the same criteria as used for the other 30 centres. Those that he or his aids added are Ballaghaderreen ranked outside the top 200 locations, Kilkenny city was outside the top 150, while Darndale was ranked 43rd.

Swords BTW was ranked 130th and Balbriggan 44th.

• If a man walked off in a strop cause his boss overruled him, we’d all tell him to grow up.

• Seems cut & dried to me. Shorthaul didn’t like being told that she had screwed up by only listing 20. Cabinet had agreed on the 35 which effectively confirmed she screwed up so she had no alternative really but to resign.
    This media spin that it was a resignation “on principle” is laughable.

• Ger seeing it’s so clear to you can you clarify how 2 primary care centres end up in Reilly’s constituency? What criteria did Reilly use to move them up the ladder? I’d love to know because that letter does not explain that.

• Cut & dried? The only thing cut & dried here is the fact that they have both screwed up, but Reilly is never going to admit anything (personally I think he should go for what it’s worth).

The HSE specified 30 priority locations after Shortall’s initial list of 20 and then the list was increased to 35, justified by the suitably woolly statement that this occurred “after discussions with cabinet colleagues” . This still does not explain the criteria used or why 2 of the additional 5 were in his own constituency. Now the HSE had originally ranked a list of 200 potential centres in order of priority; the two in question Balbriggan ranked 44th and Swords ranked 130th. Incidentally, of the other three added, one was ranked 43rd another outside the top 150 and another not even in the top 200 (I wonder if these were as a result of ‘discussions with cabinet colleagues’).

The poilitics of the Parish pump are alive and well in Enda’s enclave.

• She was only in it for the “short haul”… alright I’m going

• Primary Care centres are being opened so that Reilly can Close More and More A&E’s We really Need A&E’s mote that we need the primary care units Primary Care units will be manned by G.P. Who works for the companies who di the out of hours service at night and weekend and most of the time they will be sending you (patient) on to the nearest A&E if we are lucky to be nearer than an hours journey and on fair roads not like Roscommon where folk have a 2 hour journey to the nearest A&E

• Bernadette,. you seem to be confued. It is Labour who are pushing the Primary care centre agenda. Shorthaul resigned because she wasn’t getting the support she felt it needed. You need to read journal.ie

• @Ger Foley. Very good; it wasn’t us, it was them. The sloping shoulders, shift the blame game, but you still have not addressed the issue of how the odious Reilly arrived at the additional 5 centres on the list (given that they were well down the HSE’s ranking)

Add New Comment