TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

James Reilly on Shortall’s departure: ‘Pressure’s only for tyres’

The Minister for Health showed little disappointment at Róisín Shortall’s resignation – who the Labour chairman said had the full support of party leadership.

Róísín Shortall and James Reilly brief reporters after the 2012 Budget. Reilly told a local meeting last night that
Róísín Shortall and James Reilly brief reporters after the 2012 Budget. Reilly told a local meeting last night that "pressure's only for tyres", just hours after Shortall quit as his junior minister.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH MINISTER James Reilly showed little sign of disappointment in the registration his Labour junior minister Róisín Shortall – telling a group at a constituency event: “Pressure’s only for tyres.”

Speaking at an event in Balbriggan last night, within hours of Shortall’s resignation being announced, Reilly remained defiant over his handling of the controversy surrounding the allocation of primary care centres – a dispute which appeared to have been the last straw for Shortall.

“There’s been a lot of controversy recently around certain issues in the public domain … but I’m pleased that Balbriggan is going to get a primary care centre,” Reilly said.

At the opening of the Fumbally Exchange office premises, Reilly commented that the best tactic for Ireland to emerge from its current difficulties was to build a sense of community.

“It’s all about supporting each other, learning from each other,” Reilly commented, before referencing the old Irish proverb, ní neart go cur le chéile ['there is no strength without unity'].

The minister, whose Dublin North constituency includes Balbriggan, said he had “absolutely no hesitation” in saying he would be as supportive as possible to the people of that town.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie as he left the event, Reilly conceded that he had not been given advance warning of Shortall’s intention to quit.

Shortall ‘had Gilmore’s full support’ – chairman

Meanwhile Labour chairman Colm Keaveney said Shortall had been given the full support of the Labour Party executive – including the party leader Eamon Gilmore – in recent days.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Late Debate last night, Keaveney said he had witnessed Gilmore’s “categoric support for Róísín Shortall on Saturday afternoon”.

The party leader had proposed a motion of support for Shortall at a meeting of the Labour parliamentary party on Tuesday, and at meetings of both the party executive and the party central council – which features delegates from every Dáil constituency – on Saturday.

“That’s the most important audience, with respect to the business of the Labour Party,” he said, saying he was “angry at the system” that it had forced Shortall’s departure.

Asked whether it should have been Reilly that resigned and not Shortall, Keaveney asserted: “We have voted confidence in James Reilly in the recent past.”

- Additional reporting by Paul Hyland

Read: Róisín Shortall resigns as Primary Care Minister

In full: Róisín Shortall’s resignation statement

Reilly: ‘I wasn’t told in advance about Roisin Shortall’s resignation’

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• Pressure is…… Waiting months for a bed in a hospital…

• Pressure is only for tyres, and integrity is only for other people…

• Pressure’s only for tyres – my god the man has some neck to throw out such an off hand comment regarding the registration of junior minister that he was meant to be working with closely. In a way it proves the man had no time for her or respect for that matter.

• pressure is only for tyres? You would have thought that a doctor was also aware of blood pressure. His government has been rasing ours for months now.

• Tyres and his trousers belt….

• Preaching unity, while looking after his own, is not what is required for a national leader.

Sad to see one of the few “big picture” people go. We need more of her type.

• Even for a politician he seems like a complete a-hole.

• Wonder how his creditors feel about that statement

• He really doesn’t have a clue does he, what an arrogant, ignorant and moronic comment to make!

• Why our old friend Diarmuid is back. He’s the guy that made up a lie about aged parents unable to pay the Household Charge that resulted in him losing the Third Level Grant!. It was all fabricated to make his political friends look great.
      Well Diarmaid any more lies today?

• Why would he be bothered ? He had someone question him about his activities and pushed her to make this decision. Now there is nobody to question him. Hopefully whoever gets the job next will continue to question his decisions.

• That man is digging a hole and I hope next time it’s so deep he won’t be able crawl out!

• is that you Roisin?

• This gloating baboon has to go! He is eating away at Enda’s credibility, the longer he stays the worse it will be for Enda. Hahaaaa @ FG won’t be long now, I can see gimp more doing a greens pretty quickly.

• Au contraire, did Deputy Shorthall deliver a €200 million saving per year in a deal with the consultants?

Perhaps you prefer a politician that thinks you are like Fr. Jack and wants to take your bottle away!

• @ Ryan Not until the ministerial pensions kick in. They’ll hang on in the for as long as possible as the electorate has well figured out the party has no values and stands for nothing apart from re-election. It’ll be a very cold day in hell before many vote Labour again. SF must must be doing a jig of delight watching the biggest party on the left (on paper if certainly not in practice) fatally damage itself. It’s fate may be well deserved.

• Blathain “he’s delievered 200 million”.Ah no he hasn’t as most of these savings are to be achieved by a 30% cut to new entrants.Since their not recruiting no real saving is there?

• Norman Hunter, nasty things dem legal contracts. ’tis easier to put up the price of drink than engage in difficult negotiations that might actually achieve something.

• Blathain what about reducing medicine costs,would help alot of families not entitled to med card plus as big a saving to the state as the “200 million” you claim he achieved which i doubt will happen.

• Norman Hunter, so you denigrate someone for attempting to achieve something over an eejit whose cure for all our ills is to put up the price of drink! Reilly has infinitely more competence than Shorthall and some of us are willing to give him a chance at sorting out the mess in the political quagmire infamously named “Angola”.

• Ryan'O 27/09/12 #

@Lee
      Couldn’t agree more.

• Blathain would you like to point out where i denigrated Minister Reilly or is that a comment thrown out to invalidate any comment i make?

• Blathin,
      Reilly delivering 200m million savings? Really? 30% of zero is still zero last time I checked.

• Normin (sic) Hunter, touché I must have been reading other comments in this thread and applying them to you. Maybe it is because you choose to ignore that I was referring to a ‘deal’ (and even stated it explicitly) and go off on a tangent!

• Rommel good to see you are still fighting the past war and stuck there.

Press Association – Mon, Sep 17, 2012
      A breakthrough on Monday morning saw senior medics agree to revise working arrangements and rules on public and private beds following marathon weekend negotiations. The new hospital consultants’ contract will save 200 million euro a year and will mean more patients being treated quicker.

• The important there being ‘will’, so in reality, nothing has happened yet.

• Kevin O’Brien, very true but the successful negotiation of anything stands in marked contrast to Deputy Shorthall’s achievements or lack thereof. Thus we can conclude the right person resigned!

• @ Blaithin, he negotiated nothing to take away from his consultant buddies currently employed, he has went back on promises made publicly about not closing a and e in certain hospitals, has put primary care centres in his own constituency ( the area that was Shortall’s responsibility ) so he has achieved nothing except let the electorate know what an arrogant person he is. If Shortall was being overruled in her own area of responsibility by the senior Minister she was right to resign.

• Not true Toby cat but thanks for simple minded evaluation of the current political situation.

@Gerry McGuinness. The Dept. of health is a buffoonish nightmare to manage. It cannot be reorganised by the wave of a magic wand like raising the price of drink. O’Reilly has to be given time to sort out that Dept. for once and for all. In her time at the Dept., Deputy Shorthall did not demonstrate that she had the capabilities to sort out the mess. If O’Reilly fails then we have will have a worse mess on our hands. This is the primary reason of why he continues to have the support of both Kenny & Gilmore. (& my good corrupt self according to Toby Cat)

• censored 27/09/12 #

He should cut Blathín’s medication. It’s certainly powerful stuff, can make you believe in things that have never happened. But I guess FG supporters need their kool-aid these days.

• Pressure is also experienced by the sick and in-firmed who don’t have they same control over health policies of this country, as a man who by his own admission could not manage his own involvement in a single nursing home.

• Well said Philip

Pressure is also felt by those who are being bullied and who when they stand up to an unfair system, or something they feel is wrong, feel the weight of the ‘party machine’ as it attempts to squash them.

• This mans arrogance knows no bounds. P**ck

• the sooner he goes the better. he is still in contempt of a high court order but you wont see him in prison.

• I’ve always thought Reilly looks like Henry the eighth. Let’s hope the comparison ends there!

• One thing you can’t say is that he’s hiding his cards!

• Pressure is what out frontline doctors and nurses are under as reilly destroys what is left of the health system in order to make his figures look good.
    I foresee reilly under a hell of a lot of pressure very soon when his debtors pull the plug on him.

• Reilly is a real bully boy

• Maybe he said pressure is only for liars.

• Funny he should say that. The one thing thats abundantly clear from reilly is that he feels no pressure to reform our broken healthcare system. Shortall tried to apply some pressure, and now shes gone.

• Sadly ironic, that those who should likely stay, go; whilst those who should long be gone, remain!

• She will do a lot more good by going than staying .Lets hope the rift gets bigger. My only worry is that Labour turn out to be more like the Greens and leave it too late to act .

• Patrick
      The problem began when Roisin thought she was overlooked for a position in the Cabinet. From that day she became truculent and has achieved NOTHING within her brief. Remember the Junior Minister is fir window dressing anyway and she probably thought if she could raise a stink she might be moved to where she could shine a little more.

• “No strength without unity” is quite a facist slogan. Then again, Mussolini said Fascism should rightly be called Corporatism, as it is the merger of corporate and government power.

• Martin 27/09/12 #

Such are all right wing governments. Particuarly Fine Gael never in our history has an irish government displayed such disinterest in the welfare of the people, blatantly putting the banks welfare and the welfare of the international bondholders & super rich ahead of the welfare of the population. Reilly has to go along with Hogan and his racist boasting.

• “Unity is strength” is a Trades Union slogan and has been for over 100 years.

• I have just discovered one of the medications, prescribed by my cardio consultant, has been dropped from my meds, as no longer covered under The Drugs Replacement Scheme. This drug was prescribed to maintain Triglyceride levels following a cardiac procedure. Do I feel under pressure? Shame on you Mr. O’Reilly for your insensitivity. Decorum prevents me using the term incompetence. #health

• Muppet of the year award to James Reilly.

• I think Gilmore has more to worry about than Reilly.Reilly’s position is prehaps more assured than Gilmore.The grass roots of Labour support Shortall.

• Her sharpened knife barely grazed Reilly’s broad hairy back. I fear for the softer folds of Gilmore’s, he might be vulnerable if Shorthaul gets close enough to him, she has a taste for it after her skirmish with Reilly.
      The only way she appears to recover her political dignity is to take down a colleague. Failed with Reilly, but she won’t fail next time.

• just after listening to lmfm radio. glad to hear her ” colleague ” from Meath some guy called Hannigan , Labour party ! congratulating
    her , and then saying that ” of course i would like to work with minister Reilly ” with friends like that ! !

• Squeezing Blood from a stone protest

Date: Saturday 6th October

Time: 13:00

Enough is enough…

No more taxes until we’re back on our feet!

Tell Europe we need debt relief!

Tell Our government they work for Us!

We are being forced into debt to balance the governments books! What about Our books..

It will cost you nothing but could change everything!
    Make a stand and be proud you tried to stop the Lunacy!

Or do not attend and moan and suffer slowly until you end up eventually having to make a stand for keeping a lot less, you know this process will continue until they meet an equal force!

STOP IT NOW.

Don’t continue to be a bystander.. .

• i am greatly saddened Shorthall has resigned. That Reilly got support merely shows the male privilege in politics. Pressure is for tyres is a misogynist comment. along the lines of ‘women shouldn’t be in politics’. gilmore is a weak wally! There is much suffering i Ireland. Walking my dog today a woman told me when her uncle was in one of dublin’s hospital she was physically feeding old pateients who were not being fed. not enough staff. the situation for the sick, elderly and disabled in ireland is life-threatening and this government doesn’t care!

• alan 27/09/12 #

keaveney’s cringe inducing performance on the late debate last night suggests that labour are going to keep insisting that being in govt, even though it is only in name since they are implementing no socialist policies, is their preferred option. What a let down

• Full support is an unlikely story. A long standing member wouldn’t resign the party whip as an action of no confidence in poor leadership if they were in the ‘full support’ of said poor leader.

• And so FF’s no confidence motion claims it’s scalp.

• its time for Jammer to go!!!!!

• That bloated excuse for a Health Minister needs the air let out of his spare tyre.

• Just take that comment on its own and look at the context he said it? That tells me there is a Minister for health who is crude, ignorant and hasn’t the manner of a pig.

• “There’s been a lot of controversy recently around certain issues in the public domain … but I’m pleased that Balbriggan is going to get a primary care centre,” Reilly said.

apologies for this, not long out of bed, i thought this was 35 locations bidding for 20 centres?

did i miss an article where the 20 said centres were confirmed?

maybe im just being cynical?

• Katie “RED” Lynch put the final nail in Róísín Shortall coffin.

• Reilly’s been given a puncture by Roisin, well and truely thats why he dosnt feel the pressure . This self important windbag needs to cop on to himself and disappear. the sooner the better. Shorthall has years of experience in the Dail and this knob Reilly only 5 years and yet Kenny puts him in charge of the HSE, you have to question Dame Enda’s judgement on this. So good to see this government slowly unwind………..keep it up lads !!

• James Rielly hang your head in shame your party found a minister that believed in post and valued what she did she was pushed out she has my vote of confidence you however should walk before this country!s health shame make you fall so much for the protection preservation and value on life doctor Rielly

• even now he has to resort to plagiarism. when is the revolution starting?

• Ok Call me a cynic but so far as I can see this is all about self preservation on everybodys part. I am no expert but as I understand it O’Reilly has made some changes in the HSE which will result in savings but like all parts of this system nothing happens quickly and it will take time for anything to become apparent. Being aware of this he has pulled out the stops for his own constituency because after all these are the people who will vote for him in the next election.

Similarly Roisin Shortall has looked with one eye to a coming election and realised that the greatest losses will be for the Labour party so rather than being stuck in an unpopular ministry and facing the wrath of the peopel she has opted for the principled withdrawal so she can look her voters in the eye when the time comes and look for their vote for her integrity.

Sooner or later an election will happen. It will result in drop for FG, larger drop for Lab, drop for Ind. and gains for SF and FF. None of it will change the Dail significantly as the losses will be largely amongst the backbenches and within a few months we will be back where we started. We are dramaticly over represented by TD’s Senators and Councillers and until we get real political reform parish pump politics will always dominate and the mantra of “local strokes win votes” will remain key.

We need an end to the constituency system as we know it in order to take the Parish Pump out of politics. A smaller Dail should be elected on a list system based on the Euro constituencies. Middle Ireland needs to demand reform of its political system and not accept the shabby gombeenism that passes for policitics in this country at present.

• censored 27/09/12 #

Maybe. But surely she could have stuck with the job for another couple of months if that were true. With a ministerial pension in hand the outcome of the election would be of little interest?

• Resigning is always a cop out. She will soon be forgotten about as she will achieve a lot less outside of government. Kathleen Lynch seems to be well able for Reilly’s strong personality.

• @maurice, in your world maybe it is a cop out to have principles and be prepared to stand against injustice and forfeit entitlements in order to highlight same. I am with Roisin on this and I believe she is a fine example to us all and the type of person we need in public life.

• She will be remembered : remembered for standing by her principles, on the other hand O’Reilly will also be remembered, for single handedly brining down the HSE, and Lie’ing.
      And out of the two the former defiantly has my respect

• censored 27/09/12 #

It would be a good thing if more of our elected representatives would resign over integrity issues e.g. not paying your debts.

• i expect Shorthaul will struggle to gain anyone’s trust as their junior deputy ever again, given her selfserving efforts to undermine and backstab.
    Reilly is right. Shorthaul was not cut out for the reality of management in a deep economic recession. The stress got to her and she turned on those around her.
    Shame to lose her skills as a teacher in the challenge of reforming the health service, Dr Reilly.

• So you think that Shorthaul should abandon her left wing labour stance just to stay in government. Politician with backbones is what we need. She can’t do her job working with that man so she (and the people) are better off with her resigning. Now all Labour need to do is follow her and get back to their left wing policies and quit being mainstream just because their on a power trip.

• Goodbye the poster child for hypocrites! Roisín, don’t let the door hit you on the a$$ on the way out.

Add New Comment