TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

‘We have cleared our backlog’: Schoolbooks.ie’s statements in full

Angry parents have been heavily critical of the online school books retailer as a backlog of orders has delayed deliveries ahead of the start of term. We publish the company’s statements and answers to our questions.

Screengrab of the Schoolbooks.ie website

SINCE THE MIDDLE of this month parents have been reporting problems with orders for school books that they placed with the online retailer, Schoolbooks.ie.

Despite repeated assurances that they would have their books before children returned to school there have been numerous cases emerging in recent days of parents who ordered books as far back as July who had to send their children to school this week without some of their books.

Ten days ago on 18 August, managing director of Schoolbooks.ie, John Cunningham, said the backlog would be cleared by Friday, 24 August but since then three further statements have been issued including one yesterday morning which said the backlog had been cleared.

So far Cunningham has declined a request by TheJournal.ie to be interviewed.

So we’ve decided to publish in full and unedited all statements issued by Schoolbooks.ie as well as questions we put to the company on Monday and the answers we got back:

Statement on Saturday, 18 August:

Schoolbooks.ie would like to apologise to any customers currently experiencing a delay in receiving their school books.  This delay has been caused by a technical issue at our warehouse, which resulted in a significant backlog of orders, which we are working to clear.

In addition to our regular 50 strong team, we have brought in 30 extra staff and are now working 24 hours a day, seven days a week to clear the backlog.  No families will be left without schoolbooks for the start of the school term.

We have processed and delivered 50,000 school book orders to customers to date and we currently have a backlog of 5,000 orders.  Half of these will be dispatched by Tuesday and we will have the remaining orders issued to customers by the end of the week.  Again, we will ensure that no-one is left without their school book order.

I am aware that our communication with customers over the past numbers of weeks has been far from satisfactory, but our focus has been on clearing the backlog.  Over the past 48 hours all affected customers have been emailed to advise them when their order will be dispatched over the coming week.

We will have this backlog cleared by Friday. Again can I apologisie for any unnecessary stress and the inconvenience this issue has caused.

Statement on Thursday, 23 August:

Schoolbooks.ie is pleased to report that significant progress has been made in processing and dispatching customer orders.

We have reduced our backlog from 5,000 orders as reported on Saturday 18/08/12 to 1,300 this morning.  These remaining orders will all be despatched between today and tomorrow to our delivery partners, and will arrive in homes on Monday and Tuesday.

We are continuing to work 24 hours a day, seven days a week to clear the backlog and we continue to have 30 extra staff working alongside our regular 50 strong team.

Again Schoolbooks.ie would like to apologise to any customers who have experienced a delay in receiving their school books.  This delay was caused by a technical issue at our warehouse, which resulted in a significant backlog of orders, which we will have cleared and despatched, as promised by tomorrow, Friday, 24th July, ensuring that no child will be returning to school without their books.

For those who have placed their order more recently, our usual delivery times apply.

Answers to questions submitted by TheJournal.ie on Monday, 27 August:

Q. One parent has told us they ordered books on 25 July, was told they would be delivered on 14 August but has still not received them. The tracking tool on the website says his order is “queued for picking” as of 21 August but he has been unable to contact schoolbooks.ie about his order to find out what is happening. Can schoolbooks.ie provide any assurance as to whether or not he will receive his books in the near future?

A. The backlog of 5,000 orders has been cleared and dispatched for delivery. In the event that customers have a query concerning their order our contact details are available on our website http://www.schoolbooks.ie/

Q. Schoolbooks.ie said that orders would be “cleared and despatched” by last Friday “ensuring no child will be returning to school without their books” but there is numerous anecdotal evidence that we have received as well as the case above that children are returning to school without books today. What is schoolbooks.ie doing to address this?

A. The backlog of 5,000 orders has been cleared and all have been dispatched for delivery

Q. Has the “technical issue” being resolved?

A. Yes, the initial software issue which led to the technical issue and resulting backlog has been rectified

Q. How many orders are still to be processed?

A. The backlog of 5,000 orders has been cleared and dispatched for delivery.

Q. What is schoolbooks.ie doing to address parents’ concerns about their children’s books not being delivered?

A. Schoolbook.ie has continued to work 24 hours a day, seven days a week to clear the backlog with 30 extra staff working alongside our regular 50 strong team, and has cleared the backlog of 5,000 orders.

Q. Is it schoolbooks.ie policy to take money from customer’s accounts before their order has been processed as was the case in the case I outlined above?

A. Schoolbooks.ie takes payment for all purchases upfront when the order is placed. This is for administrative purposes and is in-line with standard online retail practice.

Q. Can schoolbooks.ie provide any date when all backlogged orders will be processed and children will have their books for going back to school?

A. All backlog orders have been dispatched

Q. What measures has schoolbooks.ie put in place to ensure this does not happen again?

A. The software issue which led to the technical issue and resulting backlog was a once off incident and measures have been taken to ensure this does not happen again. In light of this issue we have also reviewed our customer communications systems and introduced protocols that will ensure more effective and consistent communications with customers in the future.

Q. What is schoolbooks.ie doing to address concerns raised by parents that they have found it difficult to get in touch through phone or email with the company?

A. We are aware that our communication with customers has been far from satisfactory as our focus has been on clearing the backlog. In an effort to address concerns raised by parents we have extended our call centre opening hours while also communicating directly with affected parents via email and text message.

Q. Has schoolbooks.ie any message for customers at this time?

A. Schoolbooks.ie would again like to apologise to any customers who have experienced a delay in receiving their school books. This delay was caused by a technical issue at our warehouse which resulted in a significant backlog of orders. All backlog orders have been completed and dispatched, and we have taken measures to ensure that these technical issues never happen again.

Statement on Tuesday morning, 28 August:

Schoolbooks.ie is pleased to report that we have cleared our backlog of customer orders, which resulted from a technical issue we had in our warehouse some weeks ago.

The remaining 1,400 orders from this backlog were sent to our couriers GLS between last Friday and Saturday for delivery on Monday, 27th August and Tuesday, 28th August.

Anyone with an outstanding order in this backlog can go to our website and follow the link to the GLS online tracking to find out the delivery status of their order.

Again Schoolbooks.ie would like to apologise to any customers who experienced a delay in receiving their school books.

For those who have placed their order more recently, our usual delivery times apply.

Statement on Tuesday afternoon, 28 August:

Schoolbooks.ie can confirm that between Monday 20th August and up until today Tuesday 28th August 5,800 customer orders were delivered, 800 more than the original backlog of 5,000. 720 customers have already received their order today and GLS will deliver orders to a further 1,100 customers up until 20:00 tonight, hence bringing the total numbers of orders delivered to 5,800 as stated earlier.

Based on our experience, we expect approximately 60 of 1,820 orders we attempt to deliver today, not to be completed due to various issues such as customers not being home or incorrect addresses being supplied. Any issues relating to these deliveries will be rectified and delivered tomorrow. Our dates for delivery are based on the most children returning to school on Thursday, 30th August.

Our helpline is open from 08:00 to 18:30 and if anyone has any outstanding issue regarding their order, please contact the helpline urgently and we will work to process their order for delivery tomorrow.

Again Schoolbooks.ie would like to apologise to any customers who have experienced a delay in receiving their school books.

Have you been affected by the problems at Schoolbooks.ie? Let us know  your story in the comments or email hugh@thejournal.ie

Read: Parents continue to report problems with Schoolbooks.ie

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• I actually had some some sympathy for this company, at the start. Then it just turned into an absolute farce. The media eventually turned on them then, because the company consistently turned down requests for interview. Let’s face it, glitches will occur – some serious, some not so but these guys took it to a whole new level by burying their heads in the sand. They have no one else to blame except themselves because they forgot the three most important things to do in a time of crisis …. ‘communicate, communicate, communicate’.

• My order is still queued for picking. Kids are back tomorrow. Yesterday morning they couldn’t say when I’d have delivery but then went on to issue press releases to say they had cleared the backlog. Blatant lies! I’ve ordered from them for 4 years but never again! If SuperValu have any sense they would completely disassociate themselves from this sort of a company.

• When did you order your books? People are far to quick to wish this company to go out of business they are employing 80 people that’s 80 family’s been supported. I hope they are still operating next year and have learned from their mistakes from what i can see they are a victim of their own success. I didn’t buy off them we got the kids books from a local shop trying to keep what jobs we have in our town.

• Another company that won’t be around this time next year! People just won’t tolerate this kind of nonsense anymore!

• I have ordered €700 worth of books for a book rental scheme I run in our school, and depsite the backlog “being cleared” my order surprisingly hasn’t being delivered….its status changed for the first time last sunday to “queued for picking” and has remained like that since.
    As for communications from/with them…. absolutely none, depsite my best efforts.
    So looks like a load of kids in our school will not have a full compliment of books!
    Thanks schoolbooks.ie

• Hey, here’s an idea, rather than sitting around thinking up reasons why new ideas wouldn’t work why not think of reasons why they would? If people sat around being negative we wouldn’t have managed, as a species, marvellous technological breakthroughs like the wheel.

• Time to go digital!

• Great idea David, so in place of €150 – €400 for books, parents will be required to pay €600 for a piece of iCrap that will break as soon as the first dinks bottle leaks onto it. Do you happen to work for the snake fruit company?

• Adam. 29/08/12 #

Completely agree with going digital! iPads + waterproof cases. All school books are already in digital formats for teachers to use on smartboards, no reason why schools shouldn’t start pushing digital technology for students!

• Culm, through the miracles of modern technology it’s now possible to buy waterproof cases for tablets. It’s like being in the Jetsons.

• Damocles

You missed my point. Technology is not the answer, for a couple of basic points I can think of.
      1. EU Competition law would not allow the Department of Education to specify only one type of tablet.
      2. How would you get around the charging issue? Imagine that the child or parent forgot to charge the unit over night & the battery ran down in class? Unless the tab can be charged in the classroom it would be useless, but who pays the electric bill?
      3. Finally my understanding is that the “new” iCrap machines will have a power supply that shuts down after a specified number of power ups, thus requiring a new machine to be purchased. I don’t like that idea for my 3 children.
      4. Finally the publishing industry will still charge the same price for the electronic version of the book, so maximising shareholder profit at the expense of parents.
      5. Finally who would own the product? With current iCrap products like the tablet & phone device, the rotten fruit company state in the small print that they retain the ownership of the product, and only their approved software may be used on them.
      I’m sure there are better reasons for NOT going “digital”.

• Oh culm. They are other cheaper alternatives to ‘iCrap’ products.

• Martin.
      I know there are cheaper alternatives to ‘iCrap’. I have a 10″ android tab & my 12 year old son has a 7″ child friendly one. Total cost for the 2 devices €292.
      What I am saying is the technology is not suitable at this time for school children.

• You seem to have a hate for apple products…

Also, I agree primary students might be too young to properly care for iPads. But it should be trialled in secondary schools.

• Martin
      I don’t like the business prictices that the rotten fruit company employ.
      If I purchase a device I want to own it, but with iCrap they retain ownership.
      If I purchase a computer I want to use the software I want to use, not the software that the computer maker tells me I must have.
      New iCrap has a built in kill switch on the power module that shuts down & cant be re-started, causing owners to purchase new units, even though the rest of the unit is perfect.
      I don’t like an american company recording what I am using my device for & where in the world I am.
      I could go on and on an on.

• Raukan 29/08/12 #

@Culm — please don’t go on and on. Your rant is so riddled with phobic inaccuracies that countering them with fact is too much effort … If you don’t like a manufacturer’s product just say so. Paranoid ravings just don’t cut the mustard.
      (Forgive my tone, Culm, but you really are talking shite.)

• Raukan

Give me a few minutes & I’ll send you the links that show what I’m saying is true. Why dont you give me links that show what I say in innacurate?

• Aaaaargh. “Technical problem” my hoop.

The problem here is they had no backup plan on place to deal with inevitable technical problems. It sounds like they still don’t.

They seem to think it’s ok to just shrug their shoulders, point the finger and carry on.

• I will never use this company again..every day I’m told it will be tomorrow but nothing.. I can’t get my money back and all the website says is que for picking.Schoolbooks ..ie were made aware my son was back at school since Aug 22..he is attending school with no books..so much for md statement “no families will be left without books for school return”..very frustrating

• i ordered the school books a month ago and still havent got it. i did the tracking yesterday. it is still in the picking since the 25th of august and havent been sent out yet. my children are back to school next monday. what up in the picking area????

• Our schools parents council purchases school books in bulk with funds raised through bag packing, fun evenings etc. They then rent all the necessary books to the pupils for 25 euros a year. The system works great, parents and pupils make sure the books remain undamaged and they are then re circulated the following year. Obviously this saves us parents a fortune in books.

• Adam. 29/08/12 #

Im really struggling to understand this “technical problem”.

If a piece of software was to fail, surely a technician could pull orders directly from their database and forward them on for picking?

• @Culm,
    Of course, you’re right. Let’s wallow in the pre-digital mire because of all the insurmountable problems.

• Why are school books not gone digital, kindle type device (rugged affordable version with a keyboard) for each child and affordable digital books. Less weight for kids to carry and if done properly will be cheaper. Most kids know their way around digital device these day. O wait the publishers won’t make a silly profit, ignore my idea.

• Why do kids in Ireland have to supply their own books? I know it may seem a stupid question, but in many other countries the schools supply the school books, is that so mad?

• Sounds just like Ulster Bank!

• How is taking the money upfront ‘in keeping with standard online retail practice”? Amazon is undoubtedly the gold standard for this sector and only debit on despatch of goods. Also wish they’d stop saying they’ve added 30 staff to their 50. I don’t believe they hire using the decimal system and real staff numbers would be both honest and more convincing.

• @weddingcars.ie. I’m delighted your child(ren) aren’t anxious about going back to school. I will do like you next year!!! Ordered 13th aug so by their own delivery time latest I should get them was 23rd (10 working days). Guaranteed by them last Thursday I would have books by the latest yesterday but hey guess what yesterday they couldn’t say when I’d get them. All I want is a date so I CAN tell both schools when I expect to have the books. Do you think that is too much to ask? I didn’t say I wished them to close or for people to loose jobs but like someone else here has said it is by their own ineptitude that this will more than likely happen and for that I feel sorry for the staff because they are just doing what they are told and saying what they are told.

• Lies lies lies my books are still in the queue to be picked off the shelf keep this story going I won’t ever buy from schoolbooks .ie again which is there own loss

• How difficult is it for every school in the country to submit what they need to Dept of education and let those forward on the quantities that need to be printed. Hold them in a central location and distribute from there? They have all summer to do it and it don’t sound like rocket science .this is the first year I haven’t got books for my kids and ordered well in advance. Govshites! :)

• Schoolbooks.ie are lying when they say all backlogs have been cleared. They’re also lying when they say that effected customers were sent an email explaining the delay. I have been lied to 4 times now by customer service representatives of this company (having dialled the number at least 30 times, each time, in effort to get through and then being on hold for 10/15 mins each time) who told me that my order has been dispatched, only to be told yesterday by another member of staff that my books had not even been “picked” yet! She has also turned out to be lying as she promised the books would be dispatched yesterday but my status remains the same on their site and I have received no email from the courier company (as promised on 4 different occasions). This is a shambles. At this stage I just want my money back – they suffered no technical hitch in taking that the day the order was placed!! I cannot get through to the phone number at all today and all my emails to them have gone unanswered. They have absolutely no respect for their customers!

• Secondary school students should all be using iPads or Kindles instead of heavy school books at school! The weight of those school books is ridiculous!

• Ciaran
      Did you ever try doing a tech graphics drawing on a tab?
      Also I don’t want the rotten fruit company knowing what my child is using his tab for, because at the moment they record everything including its location.
      Tab technology is not suitable for school work at this moment in time.

• censored 29/08/12 #

What’s the rotten fruit company? Sorry I’m not up to date on the latest luddite terminology.

• My two kids are totally panicked about going into school tomorrow with no books and I’ll have to pay a visit to both principals a hassle I could do without, disgraceful in these times to be given such bad service so for me and I’m sure many others back to the school book shop next year. Hate to say but for that level of service they don’t deserve to be operating in this climate.

• I’m sure your kids won’t be the only ones in class without them- the schools and teachers should be well aware of the situation. Would a note not suffice? Sounds like a pain in the bum going in to the principal over it…

• Barry 29/08/12 #

you know what your right,

let’s hope they close the company and then you can pay for the dole for all the extra people that will be unemployed

would you actually stop and think for a minute that problems can and do happen and often it can take time to sort out such issues,

yes its not ideal but at the same time its not the end of the world and its certainly not so bad that you should be wishing people out of jobs!

let’s get some prospective here people,

• Barry 29/08/12 #

you know what your right,

let’s hope they close the company and then you can pay for the dole for all the extra people that will be unemployed

would you actually stop and think for a minute that problems can and do happen and often it can take time to sort out such issues,

yes its not ideal but at the same time its not the end of the world and its certainly not so bad that you should be wishing people out of jobs!

let’s get some prospective here people,

• Siruao 29/08/12 #

Barry – you are so wrong – yes mistakes do happen, but lies upon lies upon lies upon lies is not the way to treat your customers. They will go out of business out of their own ineptitude, disregard for their customers and idiocy in their timing to upgrade their system.

• “let’s hope they close the company and then you can pay for the dole for all the extra people that will be unemployed”

Yes, Barry, it’s better that inefficient and inept companies be kept open than have Irish people become unemployed. Absolutely. It’s amazing Ireland isn’t booming with thinking like that.

• They can have mine Olivia

• censored 29/08/12 #

Barry, this goes way beyond school books. I’d love to see a competent and efficient Irish company being successful in this area. That won’t happen with the “Ah shure it will be grand” mentality.

• At 8:31am I checked the schoolbooks.ie web site for my order. According to the web site the status of the order is “All items have been sent to the warehouse for processing”. Considering I cancelled this order via email therefore in writing on MONDAY, this is very suprising. If the order does arrive it will not be accepted. If the money they took from my credit card is not returned by close of business tomorrow I will be contacting my credit card company & I will start a claim in the small claims court.

• Siruao 29/08/12 #

same here!

• I rang my credit card provider yesterday not very helpful in regards to this problem said I have to produce emails to prove that I did everything in my power to get delivery of the books another joke of a bank

• Alan

Like a lot of people I rang and left messages so I do not have a “paper trail”. However I have the order confirmation email from schoolbooks.ie dated 31 July. I also have a copy of my order cancellation dated 27 August. However knowing how useless the banking & by extension credit card companies are in this country I had anticipated them causing problems. That is why I will make a claim in the small claims court against schoolbooks.ie.

• @Culm Carty Of course students will continue to sit certain examinations using pens to complete written examination papers. I was responding to your statement “What I am saying is the technology is not suitable at this time for school children”. This is incorrect as many schools now use e-books, tablets etc as an alternative to books for some lessons. Many schools now find that this is a more suitable learning environment and in time I am sure that many examinations will not be taken using pens and paper. No need for thanks as I have not proven your point.

• I made a complaint to national consumer association Ireland this morning because I have waited over 30 days for delivery it has been sent to the commercial part of this organisation for consideration so send your complaints to http://www.nca.ie and let them know u are dissatisfied with schoolbooks.ie responses so far

• I bought books off them last year, and they were great. To be honest, the kids can feckin photocopy a couple of pages off their mates if needed until their books come.

This is not the worst thing that has ever happened on Earth ever, I can understand people being angry, but it is a great service, yea they fkd up but new businesses often do, it’s not the falling down that counts its the getting back up and proving yourself.

• They have been in business for over 10 years.
      Hardly new.

• Sounds like Anna works for the company.

• Dear Anna
      Finally – a bit of perspective. It’s a delay in supplying schoolbooks people, not a food shortage. So your kids have to return to school without their books for a short time – so what? The teachers are no doubt aware of the situation – the kids can share books or – as you said – photocopy pages to tide them over the week or so until the books turn up. It’s hardly going to scar them for life – unless the parents insist on continuing to be hysterical over this.

Yes the company made a mess of things but let’s not start a witch hunt here. It’s only schoolbooks. They’re only a couple of weeks late. If that’s the worst thing that’s going to happen to your children in school then they’re lucky children indeed.

• Terry we have paid for these books and as of 11 am this morning they still cannot tell me when Im going to get my books. Thats what people are getting upset over. They tell you you will get a delivery tomorrow then nothing comes so they tell you another date and then nothing. If you paid for something and had no idea when it was being delivered youd be pissed off also.

• Seamus – you’re absolutely right. It’s extremely annoying and I’m sorry if I suggested otherwise. I’ve spent too much of my life waiting for tradesmen/deliveries that don’t turn up not to sympathise here.

However, it’s the “my children are crying themselves to sleep” crowd who are grinding my gears here. I’ve news for them – their children don’t care about the non-appearance of the schoolbooks. Or, if they are that upset, then it’s the parents’ fault for over-reacting to what is – in reality – a logistics c*ck-up. All I’m saying is that the hysterical brigade should calm down and get a bit of perspective.

As I said before, we’re talking about schoolbooks here, not food shortages.

• censored 29/08/12 #

No wonder all services in Ireland are so awful. This mentality is what leads to mediocrity, and then eventually a more efficient foreign supplier ends up with the business. Short sighted.

• Well that’s just great , now I have to go back to school ( no excuses now )
    Well off to bed now as my first class on the morning is at 9.15

• Seriously people would want to relax no school books for the first few days oh no the world is going to end!!! There are people starving around the world and if people put half the amount of energy in helping them the. They are giving abuse about such a minuscule problem. It’s sad and pathetic and listening to some of those parents speaking on the radio and fb let’s just say to hope they don’t teach their kids the same behaviour as they display.

• Still no books, yes its not the end of the world but its clearly lies the backlog was cleared when there are hundreds of parents still have not received books. Some kind of update would be of help, a real update not fiction. People don’t know if or when the books are coming. I’m on hold hours everyday, just to find out whats happening, cannot get through. If they are not coming fine, but I cannot afford to go out and buy books without a refund. Frustrating. Its a shame as I have used them every years since my son started school 8 years ago with no problems. I’m on hold 45 minutes as i type. I ordered mine later than others without knowing about the backlog but i did get through 2 weeks ago and was promised that my order would not be affected it was only older orders.

• just to add we are talking about a couple of hundred euro here, for people that are saying stop complaining, if you ordered anything else for this money and it hadn’t arrived a couple of months later, and you cannot contact the company, surely you would complain and look into it!! You would not accept this. If it happened on ebay you would start a dispute people are entitled to be upset.

• I has ordered my books on the 18th July and waited until two days before school was to start and no sign of my order so i phoned again and waited 20mins to get through spoke to a girl called Elaine and she confirmed that I could cancel order and refund would be processed in 3- 5 days and this is what I did. I then bought every thing again from my local bookstore which I should have done in the first place. That was 2 weeks ago now and no sign of my refund and I have waited an hour on the phone each day to get through to them and no answer.
    I think maybe the company have gone at this stage which does not surprise me!

• Culm whats with the “Tab technology is not suitable at this moment and time.” That is one of the most ridiculous statements I have heard in my life. Now is the great time to use these tablets with all the fantastic developments in modern day technology.

• @terrymcdonald apologies Terry. I guess I made a mistake, imagine! It is 7 working days however, and their commitment is 5-7 working days. Am I correct now. Oh how I hate not being perfect!

Add New Comment